Breastfeeding Support Group

absolut,giggler

my menses came last mth, even thou i still bfg..not sure if its cos i was sick for 2 wks at that time, so menses came...hee..doesnt sounds logical thou...but the timing not so accurate for this mth leh...

lyn,

Previously u mentioned your bb got greenish stools, now still have?Did you managed to find out why?

My bb also started to have greenish stools a week ago. Was thinking if we are on exclusive pumping, is it still possible that it's due to foremilk hindmilk inbalance?

QSG, my baby had greenish stools, it is due to a bug she caught. My paed told me that fore/hindmilk inblance will only affect young newborn infants, older babies (1 month and above) will not be very affected. Another possibility of green stools apart from virus/bug could be swallowing too much mucus (if your baby has a blocked nose or caught a cold).

angelia, as long as u TBF on demand, no need to worry about future supply, your body will produce what baby needs according to her demand. You might not want to stimulate too much, will be a problem if you end up with too much bm like me. I've been trying hard to reduce the amount I'm producing.

Berry,

What symptons besides greenish stools did your bb have?How long did the greenish stools last?What medicine does your pd give?

I called my pd but she said its okay maybe the bacteria in the digestive system changing, that's why.

Hi angelia, then maybe you can try to apply breastmilk around your nipple and air it for sometime. I think maybe your bb really enjoy sucking?
You better don't pump out first cos you'll be discouraged with the amt you pump out.

Hi lyn, but quality also change at times leh. But I still carry on bfg lah. Maybe it's the food you eat that day that cause your milk quality to deteriorate?

Hi melody, my menses not here yet leh. Only have some spotting for one day last mth and that's it. Not even sure if that's considered menses.

Hi berry, that's good news to hear leh. You're trying to reduce amt.

Jul
Oh..did I typed wrongly? Yup, I mean its better to tbf and delay solids if u hv not started, coz its more convenient to just bf while on holiday.

For Fremantle, we went to the mkt and mall. Then, had lunch by the harbour and laze ard at the park beside the harbour. My boy had fun playing with the grass and seagull. For other days, we pop by perth city for shopping when there was spare time.
The weather when we went was cooling in the day and cold at nite. It was quite cold when there was wind. I dressed my boy in sleeveless romper, t-shirt + a sweater. For the farmstay, I added on one more sweater coz it was quite cold over there.
We went to caversham wildlife park. We regreted not going down to magaret river. U might want to add that to ur iternary.

Stylobb
Haha..its actually my 3rd time in Perth, I do like the laid back lifestyle over there, guess I am a lazy person. I like melbourne/sydney and gold coast too, though slightly diff lifestyle. My parents went to Perth b4 too, but they actually found the place boring.
BTW, how's ur sleep training with Jesse? Was it successful??

Pringles
My boy is on 2 solid meals a day. I bf my boy when he want to sleep, ard 2-3 times in the day. But for my trip to Perth, I bf him more, coz sometimes want to shut him up in the bus or car.

Hi Giggler

Some mommies' period came back around 4 months but mine is no where in sight. Some others didn't get period for as long as they bf. Think period is likely to come back maybe once we start bb on solids and pump less? Hopefully I cna get preggie before mine comes back. Really hate periods!

U planning on having a second bb anytime soon?

hi, all bfg mummies

wld like to chk with u all, i am currently pumping milk twice a day for my bb and supplementing the rest with fm .. intending to try to increase supply by latching bb on more often after i return home this wkend fm mil's place ..

wld like to know if yr bbs get hungry much faster fm drinking bm compared to fm coz my bb wants milk in abt 2hrs time even though the bm qty is the same as fm qty ..

for those tt pump their milk, do you get the same qty each time u pump? i usually get more fm the first pump of the day and alot lesser in the 2nd pump ..

also, those tt hv tried fenugreek before, any side effects on yr bb like diarrhoea etc?

thks!

absolut
you planning to have second bb soon?

littleprince
bb on BM gets hungry faster than drinking FM as BM is more easily digested. coz now I am only pumping two times per day, the amount is pretty much the same. However, when I pump 4 or 3 times, the amount at the end of the day (last 2 or 1 times) is much lesser, but the overall total amount for the entire day is pretty much constant. so now I only count on per day basis.

giggler,absolute
my boy already 7.5mths n menses yet to return. dunno when will it return? ss did decrease by 50-100ml but menses still not sight. guess will be soon?

littleprince,
the amt of milk u pump out depends on the time interval between pumping/last latch on. but sometimes can get more milk on 1 session than the other due to able to clear more milk ducts. like wat jas say the total amt in per 24hrs should be almost the same.

BM gets hungry faster as it has higher water content n easily digested.

qsg, tks for ur concern. Jerald's stools now still got a bit of greenish but more yellowish like mac curry sauce but of thicker paste.

he nvr got green stools until his 1st 5-1 jab when he was 3mths old. according to my mum he got a bad scare...but after asking ard the thread and some read up - i think me myself at fault!! my bm quality is really inferior - like prorridge water - yet i still gave it to him

no matter how many times or how long more i express - my bm quality doesnt seems to improve.

now i only giave him my bm as water - and frm today on i'll gradually reduce my pumping session n stop bfg.

giggler - the food i ate everyday almost the same - not rice is noodle, not vegie is fish lor.

absolute, my menses came back last mth lasted only 3 days thru out is only spotting - came back after 25days last mth FULL BLOWN!!!today is 5th day - my bm quality v.bad - i think that's the cause for mense to be back cos body know i stop bfg soon?!

Hi absolut, wow you really hope to get your No.2 so fast??? I didn't have plan to have No. 2 cos I want to spend more time with Vane. My period also nowhere in sight leh.

Hi littleprince, I think your bb will want milk earlier as compared to fm cos they can digest bm faster. I feed my gal abt every 2 hrly interval too. I don't get the same qty every time I pump.

Hi Jas, me also the same leh. At first, I thot that I can get more by pumping more frequent. But I think my ss is established so I get abt the same amt everyday.

Hi mini, 7mths already and menses still not here. Hmmm that's good hor? Save lots of hassle.

Hi lyn, then you eat more healthily compared to me leh. I think I take quite a lot of meat instead. But I noticed that there's a diff in my milk if I take rice and noodles. The body so clever meh??? Can tell that you intend to stop bfg? So amazing leh.

lyn, how many months is jerald now? My mum also said bb has green stools bec of bad scare.
Did you try checking with lactation consultant what could be possible reasons for the change in quality of milk?

Jas, previously u mentioned your supply will reduce about 100ml if u reduce 1 pumping session,etc....do u mean as long as supply is established, u still get same amount in a day regardless of the number of times u pump?Am concerned how much my supply will reduce as i have started to pump only 4 times since yesterday.Got engorgement and chills.

giggler, too much BM is definitely not a good thing- my baby often chokes on my BM and sometimes its so trumatic for her that she just keeps crying and swallowing alot of wind. It also makes it v hard for her to latch on properly cause when she latches, the milk shoots into hr throat and irritates her. Plus, everytime I BF, I'll end up with wet bra and milk all over my baby's face cause she keeps latching and unlatching and latching and unlatching everytime she chokes.

<font color="aa00aa">giggler,</font>
hehee.. actually now i pump once a day when breast is quite full. this morning pumped only 1 side and got 80ml (actually am quite satisfied wif the amt at the moment), then bb woke up so i latched her on to the other breast.

<font color="aa00aa">berry,</font>
my girl nowadays oso get choked on quite frequently when feeding on the right breast. thinky my right breasst has more milk. even the massage lady says that my right breast is bigger than my left and ask me to feed on the left breast more often

btw, does anyone has such problem? 1 breast is significantly bigger and has more milk than the other?

giggler if body know that continous latching by bb will produce more bm i think the same applies when u want to stop rite??

gsq, chk with i think mrs wong frm TMC last few wks b4 i went overseas. she said either it's in our diet or it's just time to stop. situation different every individual.

not jus our mum - almost everyone i ask abt the green stools almost all said bad scare - only the prof tell me someting related to medical.... *sigh*

angelia, my right breast also has alot more milk than left one. very frustrating, the milk squirts right into my baby's throat and chokes her all the time

lyn, I dont think a scare will cause green stools, better play safe when it comes to the health of our babies.

giggler
I think the ss would have established after a few months and pumping more might not make a difference. For me is this case lor.

qsg
for my case, I get 600ml in a day from 3 pumping session, so I reduce to 2 pumping and get about 500ml, so the reduction is about 100ml, instead of 200ml (if based on mathematical calculation). that's why I deduce that once ss established, pumping frequency might not have that much impact on the increasing of ss. So till now, I see no point for me to increase my pumping coz the differnce not much and morever I am planning to stop BF within these two months.

initally one or two days when reduce the pumping session, will get engorgement, but after that will be fine.

Hi berry, hahaha.I can imagine the milk all over your bb's face as you bf. Why not u try to pump out a bit before you latch on?

Hi angelia, 80ml is quite an achievement liao leh. I only managed to get abt 20-40ml when I pumped during my maternity leave. I don't have the same problem as you, my breasts will give me the same amt of milk each time.

Hi lyn, you're rite hor. You stop latching on during your holidays rite?

Hi Jas, I think my case also similar leh. I seems to get the same amt everyday regardless how many time I pump.

berry, anything concern my bb got my full attention!! no joke, no laughing matter!!

giggler - actually i already got intention to stop but dun hv the heart to do so (my son most VIP now) everytime i pump i tell myself it's for the good of Jerald - but really either too bz shopping/eating during holiday cant maintain my pump schedule.

so now i only express b4 i go work n b4 i go to bed. maybe frm next wk i may oso stop the nite pump session.

all mummies!! read in streats today page 32 on chilled bm is not very gd for premie!! the antioxidant level delcines as it continue to stay in the fridge/freezer.....

I felt very unwell today, got chills in the middle of last nite and now also. Is it related to cutting down of pumping sessions? Am afraid i am getting fever too. Do you cut down the sessions one by one gradually? Dunno if i am too drastic, i reduced from 7 to 4.

hi Ladies,
i m now currently doing my confinement for 3wks plus already. But my milk ss is still very low. My each pump is ard 50ml only n i pump 3 times daily.
did anyone of u during ur first mth the ss is like me low, but catch uo with alot? how did u did it? can share?

giggler, I am not supposed to pump in addition to latch, cause this will only stimulate even more milk and worsen my problem.

Desert

Thanks for the info. At least i have an idea what it'll be like whn I bring bb over for holiday.

angelia

1 breast bigger than the other is common...same for me....my gal prefers left breast thats why the left side produces more...but its ok....when we stop bfeeding....they will go back to normal

Hi Giggler and Jas

Haven't actually started trying but hubby very keen to have 2nd one. Anyway, it's not as if I'll definitely be able to get preggie so fast so see how. I would also rather have my children to be quite close in their age gap.

gsq, hope u r all rite now - must take care of ourselves b4 we can take care of bb - think u r just tired - nothing to do with the reduced pumping session - otherwise i'd oso gana. b'cos now i only express once a day - that is b4 i go to bed.

blisse, maybe u shd increase ur pumping session n let bb latch on more often? otherwise try the fish n papaya soup.

lyn, i had fever since yersterday afternoon and have been taking panadols.Think could be mastitis.

Did you have any engorgement now that u have cut to pumping once? How much did u manage to get from pumping once?

Hi there..

Was wondering if you gals can give advise. My left breast also produces much less. But its sooo much less 20-30ml compared to the right breast which is 60-80ml. Is this normal? seems such a big difference. Always make bb latch to the left one but it's been two weeks and still the same. (bb is 6wks old) am I producing a normal amout of milk?

<font color="aa00aa">berry,</font>
mine oso choke more when i gave her the right breast. makes me wonder if i din latch on correctly when feeding her on the left (cos right handed so right hand manipulate better mah

guess <font color="ff6000">giggler</font> meant to pump out a bit b4 u latch bb on is juz to reduce the flow a bit so it won't chock bb so much

<font color="aa00aa">poontang</font>
i oso try to latch my girl more on the left hoping can increase the amt, but dun think it helps
think mine oso left breast will hv abt 10~20 ml lesser milk than right. and right breast always seems to be full, so my gal oso seems to enjoy sucking more on the right!!

<font color="aa00aa">giggler,</font>
ya, i'm not setting a high target right now, else i'll prob be very discouraged to pump.

btw, when u gals pump, how long do u pump each breast? cos i keep pumping, it still will hv milk coming out. so when is the time to stop??

actually when i pump, i try to "dry" my left breast, but right breast, i don't empty cos i trying to "balance" my both breasts lah. should i be doing that? cos my right breast is really significantly bigger than the left

after tmr, will not need to give my girl EBM cos tmr is the last day of massage!!! yeah!!!

Hi Jas
You are going to stop bfing in two months time?

I wonder is it true that after 6 months, the qaulity of bm reduce. I recently met a friend and she was shock that I was still bfing as she said her gynea told her that.

Hi absout
You mean when menses not back yet also can get preggie? my menses not back yet too. How are is your bb?

Hi Ruffy
How old is you bb? You mean the swimming lessons is very interesting? They teach the flipping? I don't really get that part.
Hi desert
Can check with you/ During the day do you direct latch yourbb? Is he drinkimg from bottle? Mine totally rejects the bottle. When I am not around he totally never drink any milk only when I am back then he drinks. I wonder how to stop bfing? Are you planning for another one?

moon

Moon,
My bb is 7mths. Yeah..Ryan finds the swimming lessons very interesting and he enjoys being in the water. They teach the bb how to be confident in the water. He knows how to flip over and float in the water by himself if he gets dunked in.
Masshiro,
Just went to try the Aquaducks trial..quite okay but I don't like the fact that it is a hastle to find parking since it is located at Suntec and the place is v.crowded on weekends. Changing facilities wise they are like those public pools.. no bb changing table etc.. so won't sign up with them..may decide to teach Ryan on my own.

gsq, if u suspect its masitis, dan shd quickly go c doc. engorement is common when we bfg. now that i want to quit no choice - hv to tahan engorement lor - hopefully body will send signal for ss to stop - jus finish express - manange to get usual 6oz?!?! prev 2 session oso 5/6oz - quality still same - like porridge water.

poontang, jerald luv my left side but cant take right side?!?! i think its the way i carried him that he dislike?!?! so now when express my left is oways less than right. think its normal.

Angelia
Yeah me too but only a little bit more milk even though always on left breast.

Lyn
The funny thing is my baby luvs my left(empty) side and get very angry with right side as she chokes and coughs when there's letdown then starts crying.

How's everyone? Was very busy last week so didn't really have time to read the postings.

Lyn,
Read some of the postings and understand your BM still the same? Was looking for you last week cos my sis told me Friso is having promotion...but 3 get 1 free. I'm not sure if you know about this already.

Giggler,
My girl also poo every 2-3 days. Occassionally, everyday...so irregular. As long she is happy and her stool is not hard, i think should be OK.

Ruffy,
The swimming lessons sound really good. bb so young can do so many things already.

Jul
No leh, not hot in Perth, maybe in other states of aussie. Even if its hot in the day, it can be quite cold when the wind blows. So, for bb, better to hv at least 2 layers. Oh yes, very drying, do put moisturiser on bb, I did not put and by the 2nd day, his checks and skin were red and dry.

Moon
Yup, he rejects the bottle too. I latch him on direct. I also dun know what to do with him. Recently, he has been taking less solids and more bm, dun know what to do with him. My PD says bm is not sufficient nutritonally after one yr. I've read in bks tt bm is still gd after 6 mths, after a yr, its more for the antibodies, not the nutrition.

Hi Berry, I meant pump out a bit so that your bb won't choke when she latch on.

Hi absolut, for our case, we not so keen cos we want to focus more on Vane.

Hi angelia, I not sure abt 'balancing' both breasts leh. But I usu pump for abt 15min per session.

Hi Serene, your menses still not here yet? So I don't need to worry too much abt menses lah.

Hi mon, I brought her to doc last Sat. Doc said tat she didnt have enough water, that's why she suffered from constipation. He kept saying that even though I tbfg, I still need to feed my gal with water. Sigh

Giggler,
Nice meeting u on sat. Ya, agree wz Jul, really doubtful that bbs need water??

Remember I firmly asked my busy PD if bbs need water, esp so many grandparents n even young mums r feeding water.......I vivdly remember reading frm some books or somewhere that bbs dun need to be fed with extra water, as bm or even formula consist high water content!! PD 'scared' of my 'cornering', said can do but small amt at each session. 30ml 2xs per day.

I nvr give my bbs water at all...no gripe water too........

lyn_tan
what is premie?

qsg
I don't think is due to the reducing of pumping session. Maybe you caught some virus and just happen at the same time.

blisseblisse
did you latch? Try to latch bb on more. If you didn't latch and just depend on pumping alone, just 3 times per day is not enough.

serene
Not two month's time, but in about 1 month's time when my boy is 10mths old. Me seriously need to get into diet, coz my mum and mil comment that I put on weight already....

I am not sure whether the quality of BM reduces after 6mths but I know that after 6mths bb can't feed on BM alone coz not enough nuritents, bb need to have the right kind of solid meals to get the required nuritents.

sahm/jul
I think is really depends on individuals, for me I still feed my boy water although I know give BM don't need to give water. I just feed water to let my boy get used to drinking water so that when he gets older, I will not have problem of trying to get him to drink water. The massage lady that I engage during confinement told me she BF all her 4 children, for the 1st one she didn't give water and she got such a tough time trying to train the 1st child to drink water, so for her subsequent children, she feed water even she BF.

monmon, ur sis kid still on friso?? i realy duno abt the promotion cos didnt visit thier website for sometime. Tks for sharing the info.

poontang, why dun u tried expressing out a bit of bm dan offer to bb - so that the flow wld b jus nice when u latch him/her on?? (sorry aunty senile liao 4got u hving boi/gal)

qsg, how r u today? any better?

jas, premie is short for premature baby. i didnt invent it. but learn it frm the thread.

lyn, fever went down already but still not comfortable with pumping at 6 hours interval due to engorgement.Tomorrow starting work but have to wake up in the middle of nite to pump, dunno how to concentrate at work if not enough sleep. i tried not waking up last nite but cannot tahan so end up pump at 5.30am instead of 6.30am the time i need to wake up to prepare to work.

can share how did u reduce to pumping at 12 hours interval, i.e. only morning n nite?

Hi Jul, the doc is an old GP. He's my mil's family doc lah. He even tell me that I can start semi-solids now as bb already 4mths plus. Sigh

Hi sahm, ya lor.. Now the whole world blames me for not giving Vane water.

Hi lyn, I saw that article too. And it stated that frozen bm is still better than fm for normal bb leh.

Hi Jas, did u engage Mdm Zu for your massage too?

Giggler,

You not bringing your bb to see pd anymore? I thought you mentioned before your bb sees Dr Agnes at Jurong Point?

Hi Jas, ya cos I remembered she got 4 kids. She quite good hor?

Hi QSG, I didn't see Dr Agnes this time round cos my mil insisted that we see her doc. Sigh... In the end, her doc is an old GP who is not updated with the new changes.

jul, giggler of course if u compare bm to frozen bm of course bm is good but if you compare frozen bm to fm of course frozen bm better lah. just to point out the article - so that every mum here got better understanding.

qsg, i oso tahan a lot of pain when i wanted to stop expressing!! try to keep urself occupied. Put on breast pad to absorb any leakage. Use hot towel to relieve engorement.

Now since last saturday i only pump b4 going to bed.

Hi jas,
How r u? Long time no tok!

Huh? Drink water needs to be trained? Then I am lucky...i mean I am ignorant....I just follow those books n info read that say bbs dun need to be fed extra water. Then I bot colorful muchkin water bottle for my boy to try drinking frm straw. N he just took water frm there...no need training leh. I tot if u place some1 in the desert, if he is thirsty, he shd want to drink rite? Y need training? Maybe my boy is active n perspire alot....he ASKs for water...one day 3 bottles..........

Now my 3mths old girl, no water fed till now 2.....hope everything is just as fine.