Breastfeeding Support Group

MASSHIRO
I am buying pampers as nepia don't work well for my boy.. it leaks everytime... and the price is not cheap.

Thanks Stylobb,

I'm not sure what size leh..For Pet Pet and Drypers, he's wearing M so for Nepia, is M alright? How much is it after discount?

Hi Jas,
The problem with Pampers is must buy 3 packs at the same time..haven't tried before so dunno suitable for my baby or not.

Masshiro
Then M should be ok. It's $15.90 - for M, it comes in 51 diapers per pack. You tried the sample before?

Jas
I think Pampers P is great but am thinking if I should buy XL to stock up, the latest offer does not allow mix and match sizes right?

stylobb

My preferences or rather my girl's preferences:

1) Pampers Premium (soft, gd absorbency but ex)
2) Sealer (soft n mid-range price)
3) PetPet (value for money but at times leak)

Tried:

- Fitti Premium
Ok but tends to have skin redness at the tape area. Any mum have such problem? Now stuck with 2 packets of NB here...............

- Nepia
Good, soft n fitting but hunting for S sized is like mission impossible!!! But they do have home delivery service which can consider. But rather ex too

My girl is going over to ah ma's hse soon and will come back only for weekends. Tinking of expressing milk for her but not too certain how to store them.

- Each time my per pump is only pathetic 40ml. 3Xs per days, so can I gather the 3 pumps together into 1 bottle? Rather than 3bottles X 40mls in the fridge?

- How long then must I x'fer the EBM up to the freezer?

- How do I defrost the milk?

- How do I bring over the EBM over to ah ma's hse in the evening?

- My girl will only get to suckle direct during wkends, will the supply depreciate further though I will be pumping thru out the wk days when she not ard?

Thought of giving up BF since supply is so low.........but think positively is 'Have what, give what lor.....my EBM is small quantity but quality like bird's nest'...hahahaha

Hi Sahm

I'll store it in 3 bottles in the fridge then transfer it later on into 1 bottle after all 3 bottles have been in the fridge for more than half hour so the temperature for the milk is the same before I mix. Was told that cannot mix milk of different temperature.

I try to freeze EBM immediately after I pump or if I pump in office, will store in my cooler bag and freeze when I get back home. Some pple recommended to freeze EBM within 24 hours.

I usually place the frozen milk in the fridge the night before to defrost.

My girl also suckles direct during wkends and in the evening and night feeds on wkdays.

Do perservere on ... we'll continue to encourage each other ok?

Hi Absolut

Taken note.....'cannot mix milk of different temperature'. Tks

When u say freeze, u mean put inside the fridge, the lower compartment n not the freezer (upper compartment)yet, rite? If u put in the freezer, then cant mixed together any further addition hor?

Cooler bag, where to get? How much?

Ironical, me a 2nd time mum but so much questions on BF still. 1st time I totally did not have much ss at all n my boy cried in despair each time I latched him on. 2nd time, my girl was my pillar of strength. She latches on well despite my short nipples. Managed to have more supply, relatively compared to my 1st pregnancy. BUt due to stress in handling my toddler, my hsechore, my girl, my ss depreciates swiftly after my confinement left!!! Heartache.

2nd time mum is really tough n busy, especially if their age gap is close......overwhelming too

Yes, will perserve n turns to this thread for encouragement always!

sahm
you got the same preference on the diapers as me..
so you a 2nd time mum? how close is the age gap between your 1st and 2nd? You taking care of them alone, and helper?

Hi sahm

Yep .. fridge means lower compartment.

Cooler bag ... I've got 2 - one with the ameda pump and another, the avent bag. Think you can check earlier postings ... some people bought some cheap cooler bags.

I also almost gave up breastfeeding but managed to hold on til now coz of the encouragement I read on the forum.

How old is your first kid? We're deciding when to have our second kid although my baby is just a week away from being 3 mths.

Hi absolut, JasTan

Ha...gd news.........maternity leave of 3mths n lower maid levy for family wz children less than 12yrs old. Timely to get pregnant again!

My elder boy is 20mth n my girl is 7wks old. Personally, I found the age gap is a little less than ideal as my 20mth boy is into his toddlerhood now. He is at a phase of striving for independence, so to speak, want things his ways; Verbal frustration, alot of frustration when he is unable to convey what he wants, leading to alot of screaming. Rather nerve-wrecking for hubby n I, esp with the NB to jaga simultaneously. Also believe at 20mth, he needs alot of parental attention n coaching. This is the stage where he starts to develop negative emotions, must guide him closely to exercise control etc.

If I were to turn back the clock, I would conceive as when he is 18mths. When my bb arrives, my boy will be abt 2yrs+, passes the 'terrible 2' stage. He maybe able to understand things lots better, able to cope better wz a new arrival, able to even help out with the bb etc.

I am a SAHM who intend to look after my children myself. Unfortunately, things got a little out of hand at times. Eg...once when i was feeding my girl, my boy who was playing nearby, came to sayang his sis. Gd boy?! The next sec, he started to rest his whole body on his sis. There was also an instance he carried the whole packet of diapers and threw at his sis!!! Everything just happened too fast!

Finally decided to separate the 2 temporariy. Just sent my girl over to MIL today. How my heart aches n breaks! See how things go, perhaps will reunite the 2 6mths later.........

Just expressed a pathetic 20ml over 30min....me v demoralized liao...........

Ok, will do a search on the cooler bag later.

Gdnite

JasTan,

My son has got rather sensitive skin, so I am pretty selective towards diapers for my girl now.
My boy has used so much cream, Desitin, fucicort, hydrocortisone etc for his sensitive skin.

Besides the 3 brands that I mentioned above, mamy poko is good too!

absolut/SAHM
Planning already for second kid? So when ??
After hearing SAHM, you have got some point, but also received advice that beta to get another kid so that we dun have to 'start all over again' in terms of looking after NB. Really not easy.
SAHM
Can buy Pampers P now since on sale.

<font color="aa00aa">stylobb,</font>
thanks for the list!! Maybe i shld redeem my credit card pts for Isetan vouchers, then go get Nepia

will try Lot 1 NTUC again today, since am hving gynae appt there... muz get 1 pack to standby leh.

<font color="0000ff">9oz feeding bottles</font>
can i check when (ard whh mth) did ur bb switch to 9oz bottles? and how many 9oz bottles did u buy?

was wondering should i get 2 or 3

<font color="0000ff">nappy liner</font>
erm.. would also like to know feedbacks on the various brand of nappy liners

Thanks!!!

Hi sahm

Your son sounds like my little girl. She's only coming to 3 months but have already use Furicort and Cannesten. Rashes are come and go. It's so frustrating when you see other babies skin so smooth, and she's rashing away. Think it might be itchy too so she tends to use her hands to rub her face vigorously so no choice, need to let her wear mittens in the night.

Can't wait to hear the details of the reduction in maid levy etc. Will only know details on wed right?

<font color="aa00aa">absolut,</font>
i don't think they'll reduce a lot on the levy, cos now only $300+ rite? think at most cut $100 only...

Angelia
Welcome. But NTUC is having sale so cheaper to get there.

absolut
Allison has rashes on body? I didn't see you in church. We were at morning service.
So you planning for second child?

absolut
wow planning to have 2nd kid? Me still a no no for a 2nd kid, not until at least my boy is 2-3yrs.

sahm
wow really admire you... it's tough having to jaga both kids at the same time.

yesterday is such a day for me.. the fridge was spolit and MIL off the power then, and imagine the frozen EBM in there, I came to know when back from church around 9.30pm... I was so frustrated then, thinking of the frozen EBM. At around 10pm, faster bring them to a friend of mine staying near me, and store in her fridge. Imagine the stock of frozen EBM without refrigation for about 5hrs...

jas
Mil didn't call to tell you? So you left them with Hong is it?
How is Joel? Is he beta? Jesse is ok these days, we are enjoying our time with him.
Btw thanx for the info on Carrefour selling individual packs of PampersP, I am considering to get one L pack.

oh, okie, okie.. but provided i can find them tonight

erm.. no reply on <font color="0000ff">when to switch to 9oz bottles &amp; how many to get?</font>

Can get additional 2% off at NTUC on Tuesdays with senior citizens... so get parents to buy diapers loh...

My boy is refusing bottles... spent the whole day yesterday training him. He got so frustrated and screamed his head off. Fell asleep from exhaustion a few times... so cham... sigh... in the end only drank 60mls; threw away so much EBM over the whole day....

angelia
Sorry, quite busy at work.
Have you tried nepia before?
For the milk bottle, are u referring to the big one? I am also wondering if I need to buy, cos so far my boy takes 180-240ml.
If I buy, must get two, 1 for my mum's place, 1 for my own place.
Liner - I bot tollyjoy, my mum uses them for my boy during the day, no complaints.

sahm
How is it being a sahm? I still would not like being a sahm but I would like more time to spend with my boy. So sad to leave him in the mornings... I love it when he wakes up and gives us a big smile....

absolut
Has your maid come? How is it so far?

jul
Poor thing. First time he is taking bottles??

stylobb
nope, didn't. In the afternoon around 5pm before I left home, I feel that the fridge is not cold enough, so got hubby to tell MIL, and adjust the switch to colder. Yeah, left it at Hong's place.

Joel is okay now, he don't fuss anymore when bring him back on Friday. Except now as he is teething, he will fuss occassionally, so when he does, will apply the teething gel for him.

angelia
I got 3 bottles of 9oz bottle, only switch to this size when my boy is 6mth olds. So far only using two. I will bring the sets of milk bottle (big and small) to and fro my mum's place and my place whenever bring my boy to and fro over the weekends.

stylo, we tried using the Avent bottles to feed him EBM a few times over his first month and he had no problems then... stopped for about one month then he seemed to have forgotten! And everyone says he's too used to the breast liao.. sigh...

I used the Tollyjoy nappy liners initially, but they caused a rash within one day cos they are not absorbent and prevents the urine from getting to the nappy.. of course it collects the poo lah... we stopped using the liners and the rashes promptly disappeared.

U gals keep talking about Nepia, I'm so tempted but I don't see it anywhere... hehehe...

angelia,
when to switch to 9oz bottle will depend on ur bb intake. even though my boy (5.5mths) drinks 160ml but i sometimes use small avent bottles n sometimes 9oz bottles. if using small bottle will pour ebm to reach the bottle neck. supposed to use big bottles already but i dun have so many bottles to spare. total has 3 9oz n 4 125ml bottles. my MIL use 1 small bottle n the rest (3 9oz n 3 125ml) i have been using them to store ebm/use as milk bottle. my boy dun stay with me on wkdays n i need milk bottles when express milk in ofc n also at night/morning.

stylobb,
as for nepia diapers, is the cutting bigger/smaller/same as pampers premium? thinking of getting a pack of M for my boy but afraid the cutting too small. thanks.

nope, hvn't tried Nepia cos bb not out yet
but i got 2 samples from Nepia alr..

4oz = 125ml
9oz = 260ml
11oz = 330ml
so i guess u'r using the 9oz at the moment.

<font color="aa00aa">mini,</font>
i c. i will be using the plastic bag to store EBM if i were to express, so i guess i get 2~3 9oz bottles will be sufficient.. okie, set, will get 3 9oz bottles then.

<font color="0000ff">thanks gals for ur feedback on bottles &amp; nappy liner.
btw, anyone using Avent Magic Bottle Handle &amp; Spouts? was wondering are they any good
KS, wanna get everything 1 shot!!</font>

Absolut,
Ur girl having rashes on face? Please restrain or stop using Fucicort as far as possible. Prolonged usage can cause thinning of skin etc...My pd precribed Fucicort for my boy groin rashes but my GP warned not to use it too often, esp on face. He mentioned that Hydrocortisone is the only cream that can be used on the face. I understand ur concern, esp for girl!

Saw cooler bag when i hopped into Kiddly palace. Not 2 sure if i am expressing for long, so hesitant to buy. Close shop liao....no more 3rd 1, so think hard. Sayang to use it for a few times only.

Ur maid coming? Which agency did you hire from? reliable? Who will help to look after your maid during the day?

JasTan,
I will kan cheong like mad if such power failure happened at my premises. Imagine my EBM is like precious droplet collected over dun know how many days! Glad that u salvage well.....

Stylobb
Agree wz your frenz that beta to have 2nd bb earlier. I seconded this too but only when 1st kid is 18mth n bomb, i will conceive again : )
Indeed, those bb handling I am still very 'pro' n experienced (can still remember v well!). The trade off is got2b tougher at the beginning lor. But I look forward to when my boy is 3yrs old, my girl will then be 18mths..........quite fun n gd companion for each other. It's like get it all over altogether lor.

Pamper P on sales, izzit? I just bot a pck 1~2wks age at ntuc....abt $25+....izzit sales? hahahha........me sotong.

Hey all,

I also have a few friends that conceive again when their 1st bb is only 4 or 6 mths old!!! Amazing.............

I conceived (accidentally) at my boy's 9mths n thought sooooooOOOooo happy. My boy then was so manageable n I tot y not.....god's gift! Not when he enter the difficult toddlerhood n my tummy getting bigger. Imagine those hormones changes, mood swing, backache etc.....my boy demanding attention n needs........

Think my friends going to be tougher than me, perhaps!

jul
Dun know leh, my boy's skin is ok, seldom have rash.
Nepia - unfortunately they aren't available everywhere. The stock runs out fast at NTUC, that's why we stock up. I like it cos it's very soft and comfy for my boy, it does not cut into the skin unlike some brands. But I have not tried it for the nite, dun know whether it will leak. These few weeks is like madness, keep stocking up diapers.

mini
Can't remember the weight for the M-size but I think for L-size it's 9-14kg. How to describe it? The shape of it is more wide, not tall like the usual diapers. Is your boy the chubby type?

angelia
Sorry! Bb not out yet ah?? Ok, then for the 9oz, I have two. Sorry ah, I go by ml.
Guess what? I bought the handle and spout but both my boy does not like.

sahm
I thot what people say about 2 years age gap difference is it will be good when they go to school. But what you mention is also true, at this age, your boy's too young to know what it means to take care of mei mei. Anyway you will be xin ku now, later on should be a breeze. Did you used to work?
Yes, Pampers P on promotion at NTUC.

stylobb,

Yapp..heard abt that, 2yr gap gd bcos when they go pri school, both in the same session!

Yes...definitely.....me worked all the way till my boy came along!

Avent Magic Bottle Handle &amp; Spouts - have 1 at home but white elephant now. My boy does not like. He went straight from bottle to Muchkin water bottle.

Hey stylobb,

U oso a mum of 2? How is their age gap? Who look after them? U working, rite?

New here....so u may ve mentioned all these b4...sori......too many posting, dun know where to begin...so just ask!

Hi stylobb and Jas

How are you both? So long never met up already. Sorry stylob have not email you bb photo. So tired after work everyday. I really agree with you about now our boys are so much fun to be with and every morning I hope to play with him longer too.

Hi desert/blessed
Thank you. I went to attend the talk about dental care. Did desert you go? nothing much just tell us about tooth decay.

Hi desert
When are you going back to work?

hi sahm
you are a stay home mom? how long did you bf your first bb?your first one is a boy? How about the second one?

Hi masshiro

how are you? Are you still expressing at work?
Moon

Hi stylobb

Was at the later svc on sunday. In fact, I've been there for the past month. Surprising, Ally has been able to sleep thru the music. Usually sit right at the back (last row) coz she never fails to feed during sermon time.

Contemplating on second one since we already have a maid and that's a fixed cost. Only at discussion stage though. Dun intend to keep the maid for a very long time and this is the period we need help. Once the kid goes to childcare, perhaps we can release the maid. Yep, maid is here. So far so good. She seems experienced with babies. In the beginning it was tough emotionally for me coz once she started carrying Ally (think super comfy + shakes a bit), she tends to cry when the rest of us carry her when she's cranky and wants to sleep. But she's getting better these 2 days and surprising super well-behaved on sundays at service. Hopefully she's starting to recognise who's her mommy. hee hee!

sahm
Me mum of a boy, 7mths 3 weeks. Yes, working and my parents look after him. Another kid would be great but at the moment I have no one to look after another cos my mum says she can't.

Moon
Fine..not so tired nowadays tho schedule is packed. Yeah, I miss him quite a bit esp. in the mornings. So little time with him...

absolut
OIC... hehe, thot it's beta to let body rest for at least a year first. Actually I hate the shaking part, if my boy cries, I just carry and pat him. Thankfully Jesse's been sleeping well so we are up and about for morning service, which then allows us more time for the day. I used the cry room partitioned area for feeding when I was b/feeding last time.

<font color="aa00aa">stylobb, sahm,</font>
thx for ur feedback. guess i better save the $$ &amp; not get the magic handle &amp; spout. seems like the kids dun quite like it

<font color="0000ff">thanks again, gals... prob will hv more qns after i deliver

btw, went Lot 1 NTUC last nite. saw Nepia, but only has M, L &amp; pants.. dun hv NB or S
end up buying Mama Poko NB

angelia,
yar nepia dun come with NB n S size. actually no hurry to get NB size as hospital will give the remaining pack of pampers NB upon discharge. then have to depend on how big ur bb too. also who knows will friends give pampers or not. quite glad i din buy any diapers before hand as my friends gave me 2 packs of pampers NB. these 3 packs of pampers just nice to last my boy until the next size since he only using it a night n he is quite small built.

stylobb,
my boy is not those chubby type. he is only 6.9kg at 5mths.

need your advice. my boy has not been pooing n think this affect his appetite. he used to poo for at least once a day. but since 2 wks ago his poo gets irregular. at first is 1 day no poo, then wait 2days then poo, then wait 3days n today is the 4th day n can see he is feeling uncomfortable abt it. i tried massage his tummy but only work once, gave him banana but only work once too. just bot apple prune juice ytr for him to try today. hope he poo. u all have any suggestions to make him poo? usually what will u do if ur bb din poo? thanks!

Hi absolut, I didn't know that bm can't be mixed with 2 different temp. Thanks for the advice. So fast u think of 2nd child? Really brave of u leh. I think our bb can recognise who's her parents leh. My gal will definitely smile at hubby and me once we look at her eyes but not so for the rest of my family.

Hi sahm, you can buy the cooler bag from Yahoo auction. But my gynae's advice is to have 2nd kid one year later so that there's a 2-yr gap. However it seems difficult to handle for your case hor? You got used to life being SAHM since u've been working all along?

Hi angelia, I only have one 9-oz bottle and it's given by a col. I like Pigeon's nappy liner. I'm using storgage bags to freeze my EBM too but it can really burn a hole in my packet leh.

Hi jul, the senior citizens' offer is only on today? Why u didn't freeze the extra?

wyverns

Oh dear, I is rejecting the bottle too....
Can understand how stressful that can be.... Fortunately you'll be home till he's 4 months plus, so can hopefully train him

Read your posting in Jul thread about NUK teats. E prefers NUK to Avent, but didn't like it when started rejecting the bottle. There is a difference in the different types of teats, cos it affects the flow rate.... Should take the medium hole for normal milk. I'm using the latex type cos it's softer and E likes it better, but got to change v often

angelia
I didn't use Avent Magic bottle handle and spout, I got the Nuby bottle and handle and spout instead.

serene
yeah, haven't been able to meet up since gathering at hong's place. So you will be working 5-day week next year?

sahm
my facing the same problem as stylobb, not one to look after the 2nd bb.

stylobb
so funny, last week one of my male colleague told me he dreamt that I have another baby girl.... I look and ask him, so in your dream do you know how old is my boy???

angelia
Actually I did not try other brands for NB, only used Pampers P for NB cos it's good. How come you did not buy Pampers NB?
Btw they shit quite a lot during the first couple of weeks.. When are you due? You got most of your stuff?
Feel free to ask questions here..no problem.

jul
You see ah, me very blur one, I never go and compare how much is each one until you gals mention. I just find that so long the diaper is good, I use but of crse Pampers P is most ex without promotion. Of far am ok with Fitti and Nepia. I bot one pack of MP just for trial since it came up as second choice from mummies.

mini
I also receive the PP NB when my relatives visited..which I think is such a useful gift.
For Nepia - I think you can get one pack of M size to try. I find the elastic around the thighs very comfy and soft for bb and does not cut into the skin.
About pooing, I know everyday my mum will put him on potty and makes sure he does his biz. But on weekends at my place, when we try, he just does not do it so for two days he did not, but once back at my mum's yesterday he shit a lot ... of course lah, he ate so much over the weekend...haha...

Giggler
It's very nice when bb smiles or chuckles at us right? Such a warm feeling..

jas
That's a clever question to ask your coll! Haha!!
The caregiver issue is still bothering me... now so busy here and there... really wonder if still have energy/time... not to mention money...

Giggler, the senior citizens' offer is on every Tuesday. We couldn't freeze the leftovers in the bottle we used to feed my boy... initially thought there would be no problem so poured 60ml. Then poured 30mls, then 20mls... argh...

Girl, will have to bear the heartache and train him everyday. Otherwise how can I go for my exams knowing he will be starving? The latex teats will definitely wear out very soon if we sterilise a few times a day next time. My hubby is still hoping my boy will revert to the Avent teats.

so long never come in here...

Ever since I had blocked duct on the left side of my brs. I seems to experience blockage on the same side quite easily/frequent. Lately, even worse, I experience sharp pain whenever I latch on my gal or when Im pumping. Anyone has solutions/advices for me??

Couldnt be I latch on my gal wrong cos' I dun experience dat kind of pain when i latch on my gal on the other side of my brs.

Never know Nepia is so popular. From another forum, seems dat MomyPoko is more popular.

Hi stylobb, ya I can't bear to come to work most of the mornings cos of her smiles.

Hi jul, I didn't know there's such promotion leh. So the senior citizen got to be there to pay for the items and show their ic? What are u studying now?

Hi miu, how do you solve your problem regarding blocked duct?

do you happen to know if we can mix breastmilk with formula? all along, i thot tt we shouldnt but my fren heard from mrs wong tt it's ok. i plan to add it into my gal's formula milk if it's alright coz she doesnt like the taste of breastmilk. thks.