Breastfeeding Support Group

soooo sorryyy....mia for so long. :p

yah, maybe i should jus learn to relax abit and wait till then i believe everything will come jus naturally...... yah, one of my fren also tell me not to bother my breast now as it will cause contraction! after listening, i stop doing tat immediately.

an really thanx so much for so much infor. and i guess i will jus let it be for the time being as no point stressing over for nothing now.

actually theres one question i hav in mind.... u c, its good to let bb latch on so to send signal to produce more milk as sucking and using machine to express out is different. so if lets say bb got totally no patient to suck at all, can we ask our hubby to help ? (since only he can help) ha!! do u gals tik it will work?

Hi littledevil, hahaha...... I never thot of asking hubby to suck on behalf leh. But I think expressing also helps in a way. I've got a cousin who tbfg her bb for 4mths by expressing her milk cos she got short nipple and her bb got problem sucking.

little devil,

u know what? my hubby actually joked that he can help to suck if I want. But joke joke only lah! don't think he will want to drink the milk.

My baby was the very impatient kind. So I had a lot of problems initially cos the flow was too slow. But I persisted and things got better in subsequent weeks. Just keep on latching on, or expressing if you like.
Don't have to worry too much and stress yourself. Just take it as it comes. Who knows, you may be having oversupply and don't know what to do with the excess BM.

Giggler (giggler) ,
yah, tat idea came into my mind as pp ard me says tat actual sucking and the machine is different due to the suction..... tats y i am wondering since tats the case if bb dun hav the patient to help building up the flow, perharps daddy can help, of course he has a choice to consume it or not lo.... ha!!!!

cclare (cclare) ,
ha!! ur hubby soo cute. no harm drinking also, content is full of goodness!
my hubby says tat he will want to try tasting it, jus wan to know how does it actually taste like. he even joke about if really supply too much, can use to make kopi!

Hi cclare, your hubby doesn't dare to taste the milk? Then my hubby very adventurous. He's the one who encourage me to have a taste. In fact, my milk tastes quite sweet leh. Yummy yummy.

Hi little_devil, shd ask your hubi to taste it lor cos it's something special mah. I think if you got a good machine that can sucks like bb then shd be ok. The Ameda that I had got the similar suction as bb leh. Hahaa can make kopi-c with it.

my girl is on TBF since she was born. she is now 5.5 months weighing 5.6kg.. i hv a problem: that is, my girl poo poo alot.. each time she poo, it will over spill out of her pampers.. and she does it almost everyday. her poo is yellow in colour and it is soft.. not watery though.. but it is so much..
she is drinking 150ml 5x daily.

would like to know if this (poo-ing so much) is normal..

giggler,

yah, he don't dare to. I have tried the BM before. It's very light and sweet. I like it too. I think it taste much better than formula.

Yvonne,

how many times your girl poo a day? If only once, it's fine. It's ok if the poo is yellow.
my boy may poo up to 3 times a day. Sometimes, he poo once only and also overflow out of the diaper.

giggler,
ya, i only signed up as member last mth when i purchased 3 nursing tops, a cooler bag and ice brick (for transporting expressed breast milk when i return to work) but when u calculate back, actually the membership fee is already more or less redeemed .. so, it depends on how much things u intend to buy fm them till end of this year .. but they do sell quite alot of stuff ..

their nursing tops can range fm $20+ to $30+ .. there was an offer pack which i bought at 2pces for $30+ which is quite cheap ..

little_devil,
yr imagination so good! i never thot of tt .. haha .. maybe can try ..

QHL,
how often ur bb poo before u tried the rubbing method? is the poo soft/hard? since my boy turns 5mths last wk he dun poo everyday. at first is once a day, then once in 2days. today is already 2.5days n no poo yet. he used to poo daily 1-3times a day. even now his poo is soft but not sure how come dun poo often. told my MIL to try rub his stomach n hope it helps.

yvonne,

I think they poo a lot when on BM. Poo tends to be more watery too. So don't have to worry too much. If u still worry, can check with PD during your next injection.

Hi Yvonne, I think her poo poo is normal leh. I wonder if my gal is overweight leh. She only 2mths but weighs 5.8kg liao.

Hi cclare, I not sure how fm tastes like but my bm is very sweet.

Hi littleprince, I'll try to go to their website and have a look then. Which breast pump u buy?

giggler,
i didn't buy my breast pump fm them, i bought the Medela Double Electric Pump fm Moms & Babes at Plaza Sin when they had a sale .. $259.90 including some freebies ..

but, u can see the prices of the diff breast pumps and accessories at their website .. i went to the outlet at Pasir Ris ..

Hi Yvonne
I think should be ok. My bb at 5 months also poo sometimes 3 times a day and aometimes once. Every time also overflow esp if the way we carry help is upright or happen to like squeeze out the poo.
Hi Little prince
Thanks. What do you mean by redeem. you mean you pay 25 dollars and can redeem when you buy things from them. How thick is the bfing book?
How old is your bb?
Hi giggler
have you bought the marker? I think popular can buy leh,I saw it at popular at the bras basah.I think it just state OM 120. The thickest that you can find.

Moon

hi mini,

Before that, my boy went 4 days without pooing. Yesterday he did twice!! Quite strange, last time, his poo was watery and mustard colour. Nowadays his poo tends to be a bit darker (like Japanese curry...sorry to those fans out there) and more sticky. Not sure why.

We pumped him once before when he went 5 days without poo. That's when his shit started turning dark brown. Not sure if its cos the pumping affected his lining.

Anyway, his shit now is extremely smelly....and so are his farts. You won't believe it came from this 4 mth old.

All this time he is still on tbf. We now also give him some apple prune juice (either Heinz or Gerbers). My diet is still as per normal, just perhaps now I eat a bit more chilli.

serene,
think i used the wrong word "redeem" .. i meant like when u pay this $25 membership fee, u can buy things fm them at a discount and if u intend to buy quite alot of things, the discounts already add up to the $25 .. on top of this, u get the free booklet and attend talks / seminars at a discounted rate .. when u hv problems in BFg, u can also call them for help .. the booklet is not too thick lah, maybe btw 50 - 100pages but quite informative ..

me is a MTB, edd 20 sep, expecting a bb boy ..

btw, i saw some of u mentioning abt tandem pumping, can anyone tell me what does it mean? thks!

QHL,
thanks for sharing. ytr noon my MIL tried the rubbing method n my boy did poo ard an hr later. ytr my boy poo also abit darker like what u mentioned. but hor i did give him abit of brown rice on sun n mon so not sure is the poo due to tat. or mayb he is like ur boy poo colour changed. then for last wk i introduced rice cereal to him n his poo is watery but more sticky. so i tot mayb due to the rice cereal. but ur boy not yet eat solid n yet both our boys poo seem the same. hmm...mayb their digestive system more matured?

there is 1 period think in his 3-4mths my boy poo is quite smelly. recently feel tat not so smelly. so far he farts not smelly.

littleprince,
tandem pumping is pumping at the same time when latch baby on. for eg. baby drinking on the right br n u pump on the left br at the same time.

Hi serene, I haven got the marker. I'll go to Popular to see see tonite. OM120 is the model of the marker? Thanks for checking out for me.

Hi littleprince, tandem pumping means you pump at the same time as bb nurse.

Allo gals,
trying to toilet train my son now. But veri difficult. He likes to poo when he's nursing. So everytime nurse halfway, he farts I'll pull his pants off and tear the tabs off the diapers while running to the potty seat. THen once seated there, he'll look here look there, poo a little only. Sian.

Giggler,
can send me the info about the flashcard? my email is [email protected]
thanks alot

Hi mya, how old is your son now? Why not u let him wear those diaper pants? They'll be easier to take off rite? I just email u.

littledevil,
I am on exclusively expressing BM to feed my boy through bottle since he is one week old till now. Never thought of getting hubby to suck coz seems funny to me.

I have tasted and even drank the EBM when my boy can't finish, light and sweet, different from FM.

Hi QHL / mini ,

abt the poo-poo, i check with his PD .. He said is PREFECTLY fine with BB without poopoo for 7 days if he/she is on tbm.

Sometimes Ryan's shit/farts is EXTREMELY smelly too, PD said it is due to our diet.
if i eat well that week (no heaty/spicy food), he can poo very well .. Oh you started to give him juice ! do you add water ?? so Nathan still on TBF ?? how much he drinks ?

My bb is on TBF and now my EBM stock is running low ... i want to introduce him to formula for his last night feed. however when i try to give him FM, he refues to drink ... :-( me stress la .. do know wht to do ... any advice ??

i am actually expressing 5 times a day and each time i will get from 90ml to 180ml. i duno know why i can't build up my EBM stock.. any suggestion ...

styloBB
so far only bot 2 brands of diapers--pampers premium n pampers baby dry. my boy only using them when at night n go out. heh must learn from u ppl which brands are good. did tried out a few samples from other brands.

1. pampers premium
2. mamy poko
3. pampers bb dry

hi serene,

i read somewhere will hv tooth decay, my nephew is a good example. but old folks mistook it for "BM is not good enough, so teeth not strong" haha.

but also read that coz its their milk teeth (first teeth) so they dun feel the pain from decay. aslong as their "real teeth" comes out must take care will be ok. not sure true or not leh

Wonder if any of you have the same problem as me. My left breast is a bit painful and hard and when I tried to squeeze out some milk in the warm shower, white coloured milk came out from all the ducts, except for one which had yellowish milk.

Helena

hi aloe,

Oh, maybe his smelly farts due to me eating spicy foods. Perhaps should cut down on the chilli...thanks

Juice only when he cannot poo. I don't really dilute it cos he cannot handle too much water at one time. Max we gave was about 30-40ml.

Nathan's feedings depends on whether he poos and depend on timing (morning typically less, evening he drink more). If no output, he can take anything from 3-6oz. If there is output he can take consistently 5-7oz.

Blessed
Yup, I do enjoy bf him, will like to let him wean himself off. But like I mentioned, I can still take it if he wakes up 1-3 times, but he can wake up so many times, tt I lost count.
Tt's why, I say if he still continue to be like tt at times, I might need to wean him off b4 I go back to work. Anyway, I will monitor the situation and see how, will decide in Oct.
My boy dun really look for me in the day, as long as someone play with him, he's ok. He only looks for me at nite.

Moon
There's a talk on dental hygiene for bf babies at wdlands library this sat. It's by BMSG, maybe u will be interested. I din join BMSG, coz dun intend to get anything from them
My boy still no teeth, he shd be a late teether, coz teething follows the parent. Both hubby and I are late teether.

Giggler/Jul
Cannot remember whether its the 2 of u talking abt nursing wear. Anyway, I hv got a blue sleveless nursing top from angel bliss. Its brand new, nvr worn b4. PM me if u are interested. Price negotiable.

Little Devil
I read in the mag tt someone got the hubby to help her clear the blocked duct, so maybe its workable. Not too sure myself, coz nvr ask hubby to try b4

aloe
maybe you want to try change the FM to different brand, and see whether your bb take it. By the way, what FM your giving your bb now?

stylobb
you doing marketing survey or planning to switch job to sell diapers instead. Okay, my preference
1) Pampers
2) Sealer
3) PetPet

aloe,

Dun worry overly about keeping stock. Previously I was too caught up wanting to build up supply that I ended up with whole freezer full of ebm. In fact I was giving bb old ebm and storing new ones - instead of giving him fresh ebm everyday!

Ended up got to throw away many packs cos got a bit of smell. Now all that I express I give bb today/next day - any excess then I store.

FYI, my supply dropped by 1/3 last week after I came back from short trip (without bb). I latched him whenever possible - even if he's not hungry, eat more fish. Supply starting to pick back up.....

hi stylobb,

My preference:
1. Pampers (cos it doesn't use sticky tape)
2. Drypers
3. PetPet

I currently using Cosifits from Giant (JB) cos it only RM20 for super big pack. It's very plasticky but quite good to use (for that price, no complaints). My bb not a lot of output at night so his diapers usually won't overflow.

my baby girl didnt shit everyday since she's one mth old till now..
when to doctor for pumping, but after that she only shit once till now...

todae is already the 4th day..

by the way, can i no how to rub the baby stomach?
im worried...

any drinks for her to drink so that can make her ngng?

jas
Haha...no lah, I am just curious.
Anyway mummies, here are the top three choices from my 'market survey':
1. Pampers Premium
2. Mamy Poko
3. Nepia
(If I change job to sell diapers, I sure sell Nepia...!)

qhl
I dun like plastic-ky feel...

my bb has just started using Drypers. Now she seems to be developing a bit of redness at her nappy area. She used to use Huggies with no problem at all. Could it be the Drypers?

<font color="0000ff">anyone knows which NTUC outlet sells Nepia?? TIA!</font>

i thot CCK Lot 1 has, but i went that day, couldn't find on the shelves

hi priviledged,

why not change brand and monitor if redness subside - and the go back to Drypers to compare. different bums, different reactions. My frd's bb cannot tahan Pampers Premium!?!

Angelia
Stock runs out quite fast... you can click on my nick for my email and I'll send the outlets listing to you.

Priviledged
You try Nepia..it's comfy and soft, no rash for bb.

going
$5? Are u sure? It's about $18-19 for the M sized pack.

Angelia/Masshiro
I guess no need to email...cos the list is quite short. I post here.
16 NTUC outlets as follows:at Bedok North/Bishan/Bukit Timah Plaza/Eastpoint/Hougang Mall/Hougang Point/Marine Parade/Sun Plaza/Tampines Mall/Thomson Plaza/AMK/Clementi/Jurong Point/Lot 1/Toa Payoh(HDB Hub)/Whitesands. Isetan Scotts/Meidi-ya/Seiyu Bugis. I understand from Nepia that their stock at NTUC is very saleable. Plus promotion is on this month.
Masshiro, your boy wearing M size already? cos I never saw S size on sale.