Breastfeeding Support Group

giggler, if you have blocked ducts, ie. a painfu, hard, possibly lumpy, region on your breast with no other symptoms, you can clear it by applying a hot compress on the painful area just before breastfeeding. I just had one today, cleared it with a hot towel and let my bb suck.

giggler
nope, not till my boy is at least 2yrs and hopefully i have found a solution on the caregiving of the kids.

stylobb
i got the same concerns as you have and seems like the new bb incentives didn't really addressed it.

lea
I thought we shouldn't mix them also.

Hi Priviledged, mine is not really painful but the bm just can't come out lah. Can still that my breasts are very hard after pumping for 15min. Guess I dragged too long to pump liao.

Hi Jas, I guess care giver is a major issue. I don't think I'll bear to leave my gal to maid. But then infant care quite ex. Lucky I've mom and mil to help me out now.

hi mini,

My boy also got pooing problems recently. Each additional he dun poo, his appetite seems to grow worse. When he release, that day will be 'bumper'day for his appetite.

I find that massaging intensively (for about 5min, and for a few times) + feeding him prune juice helps. Not sure which is the catalyst though. My boy only 4.5mths, but he can intake about 30mL of apple prune juice....though not without wrinkling his face at the taste first.

QHL,
do u dilute the prune juice with water? my boy dun like us to massage for him. can only massage for a while n he will fuss n push our hands away. also did bicyling motions with his legs but no output also. hope i can find a good way to make him poo regularly soon. quite heartpain to see him drink little as days progress. so how often your boy poo now? do u massage n give prune juice everyday?

Angelia, mini

U can get NB or S sized Nepia at Seiyu Bugis Junction. Got 2 pck there for my newborn. V cute....look so tiny but comfy n fitting.

U can check it out there...........

sahm
Very comfy material right... so soft and no cutting edge into bb's thighs...

Giggler
I stuck two pics of my boy at my office cubicle partition to help relieve my missing him sigh...sigh....

qhl/mini
Both your boys not poo-ing ah? So poor thing.. hope they poo soon.

jas
Yah lah, all the while, we are both 'in the same boat'...hehe..
I think my mil would not mind helping but she's working part-time now. For my mum, she already said she is too old to care for another bb.
Pray for some miracle to happen... who knows, maybe a nanny may be a good solution after all..

Moon
Yeah, I am still waiting to see LH's pics..! Still have spiky hair or not? How heavy is he now? Haha.. I try to upload my pics but so lazy and tired after work sometimes and the upload process is quite tedious...

lea
I never mixed them together but I dun know whether it's ok or not.

Priviledged
How are you coping back here? You SAHM? How about your bb? Does she still suffer from jet lag? Haha.. cos one of my friend's bb who returned from Europe kept waking up during Europe's timing.. the poor couple..

In case anyone's looking, NTUC at HDB Hub has M, L diapers and L training pants...I think more stock is coming today.

Hahahaha....Perhaps I ve painted a too pessimistic picture of being a SAHM here?

Being a SAHM has got its 'sin wei' feeling too. I am rather pleased with my boy's development in many aspects. He is tender loving, secured, confident, sociable, cheeky n humourous! Also interesting to see him growing each day. Eg, from fearless bb to today, beginning to be 'kia si' of this n that. Used to chase after cats n dogs, now he touches his chest n says 'scare'! Guess when we grow older n know abt danger, we tend to be more fearful of things?

Serene, my 2nd 1 is a girl. Just when she came along, I am too overwhelmed n feeling lost in handling two. Giggler, I should be ok after awhile of adjustment.

Stylobb is rite, now more 'xin ku', later will be much easier!

One fact is being a SAHM does not make you a definite good mum n a working mum is not necessary a lousy mum too. Working mums r v tough n weida too!

sahm
Wah, you make me feel very wei da leh!! Hehe... cos it's true we working mums have to juggle a lot of things. Sometimes I dun know where I have the energy.
They say that as a child grows up, their perspective of things get smaller cos they are more aware and know what it means to fear..
You won't be going back to work for a while huh?

Giggler
I only put two lah and no one can see them except me.
Diapers - yep, even my hb commented so many! I say must ensure our boy got enuf mah..haha. Anyway on sale, so saved quite a bit of money. Me quite crazy lately, keep going to check on diapers..

stylobb, I'm settling in quite well. BB got over the jet lag faster than we did. Right now my girl smiles and laughs and 'talks' so she can be a joy to play with. She is still skinny but very active and 'hates' to nap sometimes, esp in the evenings. So cooking dinner takes careful planning. She sleeps 7 hrs most nights though, so that's a consolation.

<font color="aa00aa">sahm,</font>
aiya, i bought a pack of MamyPoko NB alr

Giggler, at NTUC, the senior citizen has to show his senior citizen EZ Link card for the discount.

I am doing postgraduate studies.

Lea,

Mrs Wong an experienced n very nice lactation concultant. She mentioned can mixed formula n breastmilk, rite? Below this babycenter article can give u further assurance too :
Question: Can I mix breast milk and formula?

Answer: While there's nothing wrong with mixing breast milk and formula in the same container, it is not recommended simply because you don't want to waste a single drop of your precious breast milk. A good plan is feeding her whatever breast milk you have expressed, and then following that up with couple of ounces of formula if you need it. If you mix two ounces of expressed breast milk with two ounces of formula, and she only drinks two ounces all together, then you will waste the rest of the breast milk, as formula must be discarded within an hour of preparing it.

angelia,

Not to worry, Mamy Poko is in my top list of gd diapers too. As miu mentioned here, other forum depicts Mamy Poko as the most popular. Furthermore, Nepia is difficult n cumbercome to get too, at least for nb n s-sized.

I bought 2pck for my nb at seiyu but later switched brand. Once finished, no time to go down town to get lor. And hunting for small nepia in HDB estate seems mission impossible! Went to 2 NTUC ta Toa Payoh, 1 at parkway parade......no luck

Giggler,

This article maybe able to clear your doubt?

Question: Can I mix breast milk that I pump at two different times?

Answer: Yes, certainly. If you are doing a lot of pumping, try to mix batches pumped around the same time. The most common scenario is pumping on Tuesday and adding it to milk that you pumped on Monday. If the milk is already frozen, be sure that you cool the milk down before adding it to what is already pumped.

In other words, if you have one ounce pumped, cool it, and add only that ounce to the frozen supply. Only add cold milk to cold milk or cold milk to frozen milk. Because you never want to waste breast milk, you might consider freezing it in relatively small amounts. This way, if your baby doesn't take it all, you won't be throwing it out.

Giggler, Stylobb

I recalled now i actually quitted from work when my boy was 9mth old, not immediately after I gave birth!

Yah, have been working all this while n now a SAHM. More of a choice than needs. Hubby prefers me to tend to our own children.

Working mum r busy but SAHM must find ways to maintain her sanity lor. Actually SAHMs are Domestic Engineer, without any employee benefits, on 24/7 shift! Tougher job, I would say. A lot of times, physical strain is nothing compared to emotional strain.

sahm
Never mind, you come in here, share, share and destress a bit.
It's good to look after own children but I still gotta work...maintain contacts with the world and also financial aspect.
I told you gals I bot MP to try but I bot wrongly, I got the training pants instead..so blur.

giggler
at least you have both your mum and mil to be the caregiver. so even you have a 2nd one still not much of issue. For me, my mil is out, left only my mum and she can't handle two.

stylobb
yeah, a nanny is another alternative but where to find that good and reliable nanny..

I also just stock up another 3packs of L size PP. Don't intend to stock up anymore XL size of PP, coz intend to wait for JL 15% + 5% sales then buy XL size Sealer diapers.

you really blur, but never mind as long as you got the correct training pants for boy, and not for girl, at least not that blur afterall.

jul
what postgraduate study you taking? Actually me at one stage want to pick up postgraduate study as well.

Hi styloBB, so you must have stock up a lot of Pampers P since they on offer?

Hi Priviledged, at least your bb sleeps 7hrs at one stretch. Mine will only sleep the most 3hrs at one stretch.

Hi jul, oic shd get my mil to go grocery shopping with us on Tue. I really admire u leh. I gave up my postgrad study once I preggie.

Hi sahm, I agree with you that it's a tougher job cos you don't have annual leave, mc, etc

Hi Jas, it's true lah. I still got backup if either one of them cant handle.

Giggler, Jas, I'm in healthcare. Training to specialise so gotta take exams. I can't give it up cos it's my life interest... hehehe... my profession is the only job I will do my whole life.

giggler,
I get my gal to suckle for me. Very effective! Highly recommended

I agree wif SAHM, try to let your bb finish the bm 1st then follow by fm is the bb is still hungry.

So funny, I never encounter no stock whenever I buy Nepia. Jus last sun I went to NTUC at AMK, all the shelves are packed!

Giggler
I can just pop by NTUC on my way to work to do market survey mah...
Haha, Jas stocked up more than me!!!! But true, I never saw so many diapers in my life!! So what is your gal using? I wanted to get one L PP from carrefour but the promotion's over.

Jas
You bot more??? Hb already commenting how come so many diapers at home!
Yeah, I forgot about Sealer, they are good too....wait till the sale comes, I might get. Any idea when is JL Sale?
I'm blur, but not colour blind....haha!!! When can our boys start to wear the training pants??
Does joel wear diapers whole day or does he wear the cloth diapers? Apparently my boy wears cloth diapers so my supply does not run out so fast.
Where got time to think about postgraduate study now???

miu
So you found the Nepia?? I think the stock just arrived but they fly off the shelves pretty fast.

Hi stylobb
ya lor I havent email you the photo. Always so lazy. I also anxious to see Jesse. haven't seen him for so long.
Hi Jas
Havent seen Joel for so long too. Time really flies. The 5 day work week will only take effect next year for us. how about you all?

hi SAHM
You mind I ask you what were you working previouly. Isn't it quite taxing with only one person working. I think I can oly do that if my hubby is earning a lot but then there is a risk of getting retrench too. You are to lucky to get a girl the second time. Is it planned or natural? I mean do you try methods ot get a girl?

Moon

Moon
Are u in the morning or afternoon session? Do u still express in the day? I am going back to work next Jan, I intend not to express in the day, but there will be a gap of more than 10 hrs, wonder whether it is workable.
There are actually mtds to get a gal, not 100% but will increase ur chance. I got the notes during my antenatal class at TMC.

SAHM
Really envy you, I am currently on 8 mths no pay leave. When I think of starting work, I feel really sad, coz I know I will miss my boy badly. I feel so tempted to spend more time with him, but then will hv to quit my job to do tt, so financially its diff to do tt.

Stylobb
The training pants can be used know if u want to, but I think they normally use ard 2 yrs, coz tts the time bb start to gain bowel ctl.

Hi Moon,
Guess u r 1 of the civil servant? In teaching line? Me was dealing wz operation co-ordinating b4 quitting.

It is v subjective as to how much then consider alot or enuff where income or money is concerned, rite? We r still managing well n comfortable wz single income so far. Perhaps we live within our means, live simply. 1 thing that we really sacrifice is CAR. Now that we ve 2kids, hubby contemplating to get a car but I am hesitant. Extra $800~$1000 per mth! WE can always make do wz taxi mah. So....just try to make do with what we can afford, dun stretch our dollar, then no prob lah.

There r also many higher-rank women giving up their paycheck for their kids, what's more for my peanut pay : ).

I heard abt method on trying to conceive certain sex for bb. I got some article frm my GP friend n also some ancient method, claimed to be v chun! The ancient method my friend swear by it but rumour said it was dug from grave blah blah blah. So funny.

My girl came by thru 'accident', unplanned n thus no method adopted. Healthy bb is more important.

Desert,
I envy u!! I would like to be in your shoe. On no pay leave, able to see ur bb grow, bond wz it and when 8mths is up, ur job is still waiting for u to go back!Best of both world!

Whatever, cherish whatever we have, cherish the presence..........

Stylobb,

U r so ticklish!! Stocking up diapers till blur blur bot training pant!! Hahahahahha........

After much observation, personal rating is that MP is better than Sealer, in term of absorbency. Sealer is gd when bb is crawling. It is soft n wont cause redness or slight skin 'abrasion' when they crawl. Oso i tink sealer is cheaper than MP.

Also buy till i cant keep track of px liao.

Good Afternoon to all breastfeeding experts,

Sorry to interrupt, but I need some advice on a 'stupid' question. How can I stop bf naturally.

My ss has dropped tremendously and is now terribly low. Thinking of stopping soon. How can do that? Can I just stop pumping. BTW, I've reduced the no. of pumping sessions and I dun feel engorged if i dun pump.

jul
wow, now i see... at least it's your interest and easily motivated to go through. It's good to be in a job/study that is your interest as well.

stylobb
yeah, bought 3 more packs, now I got total of 5 L PP and 3 XL PP. I not sure when is the JL sales, but i think should be soon, will wait for it. actually now can wear the training pants already. I seldom let Joel wear cloth diaper nowadays, as it's so difficult to wear it for him, he can't keep still. Wow Jesse still can wear cloth diaper, that's good.

serene
I am on 5-day week all along.

sahm
me got the same thought as you regarding getting a CAR. althought both hubby and i working but based on our income now, getting a CAR will means no savings. so i reject getting one and opt for taxi instead. morever got parents and PILs to support, and the bb, must really plan and manage the money well.

maple
yeah you can simply stopped pumping if not engorgement. if you do have engorgement, just pump to relieve it but don't empty the breast.

sahm
Me funny hah? I also dun know why I can end up buying the wrong thing...cos I wanted to get the MP diapers for nite use once I use up Fitti. Nearly kicked myself cos now I have too many training pants at home...haha...will go and take a look at MP diapers tonite. Yeah, lately quite obsessed with diapers... cos with the promotion, I figure I have saved about $60.
For me, can't stop work cos got the house to pay for..... and other stuff like insurance. I dun mind working but I would like more time with my boy. The two days' childcare will be good.

desert
I think it's really great that you take time off (1 year!) to look after Ivan. Seeing the bb grows is just so wonderful, we working mums dun have that privilege. Just this morn, after my mum left with Jesse, I phoned her cos I forgot to pass something to her and she came back, and I think he thot it was time to go home, looked all excited and he was flapping his arms and legs... I feel quite sad seeing him and not able to be with him.

Maple
I used to stretch the interval until two becomes one and I would monitor, if brs are hard, I will still express. However after a while, the supply is all gone... I think took me about two weeks.

jas
Me same as you again, still gotta have some financial support for parents. We use our mil's car sometimes. Otherwise taking a cab is also convenient. I think I have 4 L Nepia.
Giggler, see, I told you Jas has stocked up too!!

Hi styloBB, my gal can only use Pampers Dry. Tried Drypers and Mamypoko but kenna nappy rash.

Hi jul, then u still got time to study?

Hi sahm, I agree with u the healthy bb is the most impt.

Hi Jas, wow you also stock up diapers?

After seeing all of you stocking up on diapers, was so tempted to buy the 3 packs of L size for pampers P. Already bought 3 packs of M size which I haven't used on bb. The only thing that prevented me from doing that was that they only had 2 packs of L left. hahahaha!

jas
My mum says she helps me save money by using cloth diapers.

Moon
Hope to see LH's pic soon. I'm in the midst of uploading, when I'm done, will email you. So tedious cos I was doing some last nite and I was so sleepy... you aren't going for gathering? Too busy?

absolut
You are influenced by us ...haha.. actually it's becos of the promo that I bought cos quite huge savings and Nepia if not on sale is rather ex so I get more now. You only use Pampers P? For stuff like milk powder and diapers, I have to get more cos have to leave at my mum's place.

Giggler
I dislike Pampers BB Dry cos of the material. Is it that gal's skin is more sensitive? My boy so far no nappy rash, any brand also can but I wanna ensure he's comfortable so I like to use Nepia.

giggler
yeah, coz cheap mah for PP..

absolut
yesterday went to NUTC Tampines and they got a lot of L and XL size PP, but no more M... Too bad cannot stock up anymore, coz promotion ended liao...

stylobb
my mum also save on diapers, one day average uses about 4pcs

Stylobb,
Got gd lobang, gd promotion, must let me know hor....me not working, lagi need to stock up discounted essential things.

JasTan,
Understand. With so much commitment, sometime got to weigh essential over luxury lor. Watever we can make do with, just compromise lor. C if we buy a car, then no saving, in future our kids cannot afford to go for gd enrichment classes, cannot afford to eat HaganDas Ice cream etc...what's the point?

Stylobb,
How much did you buy that u saved $60 so far??? Alarming, mz be in bulk mann...........

How much is Mp now, $18+? How much is PP now? $25+? Usual price?

Sori, I dun really notice the actual price of items that I buy. ...especially if it is essential things. I only take note of the discounted price! So dun know how much I actually save.

Hi sahm
ya I agree with you . healthy is more impt when I see cases whereby bbs with illness. true if I would to stop work we have to forgo the car. I guess we got to sacrifice somethings. yes cherish whatever we have.

So what do you normally do at home? Sorry I forgot how old is your gal and boy?

hi stylobb
most prob not going cos busy sat also must work. you?

Hi desert
I am in the morning session. I express two times at work. express very little only about 160ml or lesser after 3 hours break. Wonder is it normal that supply flutuate? Can check with you are you the one who bought the Dr sears breastfeeding book? Is it useful?

Anyone here had bf for about 8 months and menses still not back yet? Is it normal?
Actaully my bb use the diaper which are considered very cheap hee. we tried all types and only use PP, Pamper dry and sealers for night time and for day we use pamper dry and EQ. may consider getting baby choice. Very cheap, ten dollars for 48 pieces. Wonder is it ok?
Moon

sahm
Ok, will tell you but I'm normally also quite blur, I learn from other mums. I also dun really remember or compare prices but I know PP is rather worth getting when on promotion.
L MP is $18.90. PP back to normal price, around $25-27.

Moon
Dun think am going cos my boy's down with running nose and a bit of cough, in fact whole fmy is having it....

stylobb
MP normal price is around $19-20. the price you quote some promotion price. Normally promotion price is either $18.90, $18.30 or $17.90

Moon
Aiyoh, still need to express, I am hoping not to express at work and still be able to bf him.
I think I will try out end of oct and see how. No, I din get the bk, the one I borrowed then was on fussy bb. I think u dun hv to buy the bk, the library has got the quite a no. of titles under Dr Sears. BTW, I just borrowed this bk on nitetime parenting by Dr sears, hv not started reading yet.

Stylobb
Wow, Jesse is so excited on getting home. Kinda of mixed feelings for u I guess, both happy and sad to see his excitment.
Ivan is less fussy at nite nowadays, hopefully he will stay this way.

Stylobb/SAHM
Yup, I do cherish my time with my boy a lot. But I cannot help feeling sad when I think of starting work, and not being with him all the time. I guess I will hv to take some time to adjust to it then.

Hi absolut, I also tempted to stock up on Pampers P after reading that everyone is so crazy abt it here.

Hi styloBB, my gal uses cloth diapers in the day too. My gal's skin quite sensitive, she can't use Drypers and Mamypoko.

Hi Jas, offer ended liao? Too bad can't stock up Pampers P.

Hi desert, you still got time to go library? I've haven step into library since I delivered. Don't worry, you'll get used to working life one. I missed my gal when I started work 2 mths ago but now more or less got used to it liao.

giggler,
not sure if the pampers promo ended or not. can try cold storage group, ie. shop n save &amp; g-value. last sat i went to g-value to buy n it state promo will end 31aug. but not sure any changes since din go these few days. find this promo a good deal.

NTUC offering 2 packs of PetPet at 24.95. Not sure if there are different pack sizes - anyone has any ideas? It seems really cheap

QHL, the offer for PetPet applies to M and above only. Works out to 17 cents per piece.

Giggler, the Pampers Premium $58 offer has been on and off for a few months already... just watch the papers.. I'm sure it'll come by again!

Wow, desert, u still go to the library... *envy*

JasTan, one cannot practise Medicine if he/she has no genuine interest in it.

maple
don't empty brs will signal to the body that not so much milk is needed and gradually body will adjust and reduce the milk production.