Breastfeeding Support Group

desert
I think 29 months is considered that it's become a habit rather than the bb is hungry or looking for comfort. I feel bbs should be trained to sleep thru the nite, maybe if they wake up once a while it's ok but not that it becomes all the time..my opinion.

Hi mums, I'm back in SG from the States and just got my cable inernet set up today. I'm so glad to read all your posts as it is very encouraging.

My bb made the 24 hr journey quite well. She's now 8 wks. She sleeps well in the night, usually from about 1030 pm til about 0430-0500 and then again til about 0830. But she's still very small. Anybody know a good pediatrician around Punggol or Sengkang?

My bb likes to fuss in the afternoons, often she cluster-feeds and doesn't sleep at all in the afternoons. Any of you have this experience? Is it just a growth spurt?

I look forward to joining all the discussions here more regularly now that my internet connection has been set up.

Priviledged
Welcome back!
SO did you get a lot of clothes from US? Baby Gap, Old Navy..drool...drool...
Could be growing thru a growth spurt, if she wants to eat, give it to her. I had this experience, it was in the evenings, I was so vexed, did not know what to do until one mummy told me it was cluster feeding. How heavy is your bb now?
You still b/feeding? Are you SAHM for now?
Seems like a long time did not 'talk'to you... my boy is already 7 months...got a loud voice leh.

Having a hard time catching up on postings here....

Stylobb,

Can I find out where you got the J shaped bolster?
I've tried normal bb bolster, but keeps slipping at the knee area.... Hope to train my girl to sleep on her own too

Soyabean/Jul,
I'm still taking anmum2.... Recently tried enfamama, think it def tastes better than anmum...
Not sure if it helps with supply, take it for the DHA etc....

stylobb
yeap, by now is gradually trying to cut down pumping... I presume will able to stop completely in about 1mth time.

my boy also can wake up crying, also don't know why. so when he start crying, just carry him and he will doze off to sleep again in the night.

StyloBB, my boy was born at 36 weeks; not too bad actually, but very small at 2kg cos of growth retardation secondary to my pre-eclampsia. Now he's 4kg at 2 months... still has quite a bit of catching up to do.

Giggler, must be difficult going on 2-hourly feeds still... keep it up! I've just passed the 2-mth mark.

Girl, are u the 'girl' in FBO?

Privi, how small is your gal? Why is she small?

JasTan, I read that it's better to pump for short periods frequently rather than for long periods each time. More efficient. Well at least it's true for me lah!

Hi jul, my bb going to be 3mths but still on 2hourly feed. Hope she'll feed more so that it can last longer. How often do u pump then?

Hi gals, need your advice. I thot of supplementing my gal with fm as my bm ss is diminishing. So what brand of fm is good? And which feed shd I supplement her with? Day or nite feed?

stylobb, I'm totally breastfeeding still, and plan to continue for as long as possible. I'm a SAHM.

I haven't weighed my bb for 2 wks now, but at 6 wks, she was 8lbs 3oz, which is just under 4 kg. I hope she has put on a bit more by now.

jul, my bb had a slow start in her first month. She lost quite a bit of weight during that one month. Only gained it back in the 4th week. Maybe cos my bm took a while to come in and also she is so active, always moving about and crying - doesn't want to sleep. Even now, she still has trouble sleeping on her own. I haven't the heart to persevere with her sleep training. She can cry for an hour or more until her next feed!

giggler, when I had to supplement my girl, the pediatrician gave us Isomil.

Hi Giggler,
I'm currently giving my baby Similac Advanced for the last night feed. He's on breastmilk for the rest. Maybe you can try that, so you can get some sleep at night, which is crucial to milk supply. Cud it be fatigue or work stress that's affecting yr supply?

Hi Priviledged,
Welcome back to S'pore.

giggler, I try to pump twice, if not 3x a day, morning, evening and one last time at abt 10pm after baby has nursed and gone to sleep. Only manage to store one or 2 feeds per day.

Mon_mon
Yah...my boy used to comfort suck for a long time in the day too. But he stopped at ard 2 mths ++, guess got lots of distractions in the day. But at nite, he still comfort sucks.
I tried the pacifier for quite a few times, he will just open his eyes and cry.
I am thinking of weaning him b4 I go back to work, hopefully its successful.

Jas
Yup, the article is in Today's Parents or YP's baby. Cannot remember, this mummy talks abt tandem nursing. She said her boy stopped waking up for 2hrly feed at nite and she got pregnant.

Stylobb
Yah, I know its bad, but now quite difficult to retrain him at nite. Somemore I stay with my P and sis, if he cries, wakes everyone up.
I just hope he sticks to 1-3 times nite waking, coz I am ok with it. But sometimes he gets cranky and keeps on waking up.
I am thinking if I cannot train him, maybe I will try to wean him off the breast b4 I go back to work.

Giggler
Try putting her small bed beside u, adjusted to ur bed's ht, with the railings removed. Tt way, she's also like sleeping beside u. Tt's what I just did for my boy.

hi girl...
thanks.. will prob get enfamama then..

jas...
wow... admire ur patience to pump for so long... i already gets a bit tired when i pump for half hr.

hi priviledged...
cld ur ger be feeling hot? cos weather here v diff from usa... and its been reali hot tis one week plus and it hasnt rained for a while...

jul...
my stored BM starting to diminish... cos edi has been drinking alot these few days... sometimes he will cry again after being fed for less than 2 hrs... hv to start pumping more often liao...

Giggler
My boy's been taking Similac. We started with one nite feed (before he sleeps). They come in 400g or 900g, you can buy the smaller tin to try out first. There are two types: Advance and Excellence. Can't recommend other brands cos I never tried any.
You still express right? Agree that expressing is more troublesome than latching on... I used to latch on more than expressing...

Masshiro
How you getting on with expressing? Bb eating more now?

desert
Hb says he learnt from his colleague why our bbs huddle in a corner, it's for security reasons. They feel safe that they are near to something.
Anyway my boy keeps moving thruout the nite in his sleep lately, move again until his body is stuck in the breadth of the cot and legs all over the place....aiyoh... he will make a bit of noise and I will have to pat him. All sorts of positions, I think last nite I must have woken up 4 times - all briefly though. Hb says maybe we should just leave him alone but we are afraid scully he opens his eyes and then that's it! At least when I pat him, his eyes are still close which mean he is still sleeping or half-asleep.
Ivan must be so attached to you, how nice to be able to take time off to care for him for one year.

jul
Okie, dun worry, am sure he will catch up. Is he eating well? After 3-4 months, things get beta.. you going back to work?

girl
I wish I can tell you where... er, cos mine is 'home made'.... made by my mum. She made two, one kept at her place, one at my place. Even my boy's bean pillows are made by her, but end up me and hb like them so much we took them! Haha..!
I dun like those bolsters bot outside cos they dun put 100% cotton wool and they are either too hard or too soft.
My boy was quite noti, he shit once so we tried to make him shit further, then dun have, so changed the nappy, scully he shit second time!

jas
Did you have a restful weekend? Hb and I find it easier if we bring him out, more distractions than at home. Yah, I try to carry him and pat him back to sleep. Wah, me went to cook porridge, I never used to cook, so can you imagine me 'toiling' over the stove...hehe... quite funny.

soyabean
no need to admire me lah, I am using electic pump mah.

giggler
I am giving my boy Enfalac A+ SA for his nite feed if he does wakes up.

stylobb
not really have a restful weekends, quite tiring, in fact on National Day I am so tired out already and leave my boy to hubby to take care most of the time. Now my boy so active, moving about and really got to catch hold of him... now really got to admit old already...

I gave up cooking porriage for my boy coz he don't seem to like it, maybe I cook not as nice as my mum prepares for him on weekdays. Now I just gave him either sweet potato or potato or rice cereal for his 2 semi-solid feed per day, in addition to apples.

Agree with you, it is easier to bring my boy out and time seems to past faster.

Stylo, I am on annual leave for 1.5months, then taking 1.5months no-pay leave. So baby will be almost 5 months when I go back to work.

My Sunday was terrible... had bad backache.. couldn't even stand straight so didn't carry baby much unless hubby couldn't handle him.

Hi Masshiro, I guess it's fatigue that caused my ss to decr.Also, I'm down with flu, could be fatigue too. I thot of giving either Similac Adv or Enfalac.

Hi jul, you managed to get any milk if you pump after u nursed? I don't get much leh.

Hi desert, I didn't get cot for my bb so can't adjust the height and open the railings. Mine is a playpen.

Hi styloBB, it seems like Similac is more popular than Enfalac. Okie, I think I'll try to supplement bb with nite feed if my stored ss is finished. I latch bb on as much as possible is easier compared to expressing.

Hi Jas, I'm deciding bet these 2 lor. Either Similac or Enfalac. It seems like nite feed is a better choice cos it can makes her sleep longer.

Giggler, I do agree it's easier to latch baby on than to express, store, wash equipment and have to go thru so much trouble to use the stored milk next time! I'm so used to the convenience that I hesitate to use my stored milk sometimes! (I try to use it if it's been about one month)

Initially, after nursing, I only got about 20mls, very demoralising. But I was only pumping one side at a time cos I was trying to get used to the pump. That time I was pumping almost after every feed except at night, so I could still store a couple of feeds a day (20 + 20 + 20 + 20... and so on becomes significant). But now baby wants to be carried more often, and also trying to get some studying done, so only pumping twice or thrice daily. Now I get an erratic volume pumping both sides together ... about 60 to 70 mls usually, sometimes 100mls! So still storing about 1 to 2 feeds everyday. The lactation consultant called me up at about 6 weeks and she advised me to tandem pump but I realised I can't really concentrate very well watching baby on one side and making sure I am not leaking milk around the flange on the other side... baby seems to sense my distraction and gets distracted too. So I stopped tandem pumping, though I could store one feed each time... imagine how much baby is sucking! *very efficient*

Hi jul, I tried tandem pumping last 2 nites too. And I agreed that it's more efficient leh. I seemed to get more compared to the amt if I pump after nursing. But it's a bit distracting lor. cos got to carry bb with one hand and hold on to the pump with the other hand. Your milk ss seems alot hor? Really envy u. Are u taking any supplement to incr your ss? You still studying?

Giggler, I'm still not the cow type lah... can just imagine my supply dipping after i return to work. I'm taking postgrad exams next mth. Taking essence about twice a week when I remember (hehe) and fish daily, which was my usual pre-pregnancy diet anyway.

Giggler, do u mind emailing me the flashcards stuff? Thanks.

Hi jul, at least your ss seems more than me.
Good luck for your exams next mth. It must be tough studying and taking care of bb at the same time.

Hi giggler
I am not sure about the size of the marker. I think is the biggest you can find at the shop. I theard form Maro can only get from certtain book shop not even popular. The marker at my mom place. Tomolo I go and check to see is there size then I let you know.

Hi stylobb, Jas, desert
Do your boys know how to crawl already?.Mine not yet. he still can't sit on his own, can sit unless he doesn't move around or else will fall.
Hi Desert
You are weaning your boy. How are oyu going to do it? You goingt o stop bfing?

moon

I tot I posted yesterday, now cannot find my message, wondering whether its in the correct thread.

Stylobb
I know what u mean, I've read tt babies go thro light and deep sleep, and they are easily awaken during the light sleep period. If they are awaken during light sleep, they will not be able to fall asleep again w/o some sort of security object. For eg, patting, bolster, nursing, etc.
I also noticed once we become mothers, we get disturbed by our bb's slightest noise or movement hor. I used to be able to sleep thro the nite w/o being disturbed, now always disturbed by my boy's movements/sound.
Yup, going to miss him a lot when I rtn to work. So tempted to quit and look after him till he goes pri sch, but cannot lah. Ivan quite attached to me, but only during nite. For the past few days, he has been crying when I went to bath.
But day time, he's still ok, will make noise when he dun see me, but can distract him with toys, etc.

Moon
I hv not decided whether to wean him, will wait until he's on 3 solid meals and see how. I'll just drop his daytime bf, coz my boy not so attached to bf in the day. For the nite time, I will try to keep 1st and monitor his nite waking. If too many times, will hv to wean completely. I've not tot of how to do it though.

serene
yeah, my boy can crawl a bit with support, now he is learning and able to crawl forward towards a object placed a distance away from him, previously he only knows how to crawl backwards. He is using the leopard type crawl, these few days he is learning to crawl on fours. He can sit pretty well since a mth ago.

Hi Serene, thanks. I think maro told me that can get from Arts Friend the other time.

hi desert, I also miss my gal alot while working now. How I wish I can stay home with her. sigh....

Dear ALL,
hello......... currently i am into my 34 weeks and planning to breast feed my bb in future, maybe for as long as possible.... but i am jus worry tat i may not hav milk to supply..... as i headr tat by now, i should be able to produce some liquid from my breast if i try squeezing it, but when i try, theres NOTHING!!!! oh my!!!! so does it mean i might hav a probem??!!

Hi little_devil,
U same case as me. I'm totally dry even 2 weeks b4 my EDD. don worry the milk will come naturally after some time.
U may wan to buy a can of Formuale at home to stand by. I was like u, totally for the idea of putting my baby on total breastfeeding. When the time came, i realise my milk ss wasn't enough to satisfy her hunger. Ended up my girl was all upset n kept crying n mummy all stress up n depressed, feeling i'm a bad mother who can't even provide with my child the most basic need.
What i recommend from my personal experience is to always let your baby latch on 1st when she is hungry to stimulate the breast. This will send signals to your body to produce milk for your baby. When your baby got upset after a while bcos he/she can't get enough milk from your breast, then u supplement him with formuale. I feel this is easier n less stressful for u n the baby. At the same time, u muz perserve to keep giving the baby the breast as often as possible to stimulate the body to produce more milk. Usually increase in milk ss can only be seen in 3-5 days. However for new mothers, do expect your ss to be stablised after 6 weeks. My girl is 1 month plus now n i have too much BM in my fridge now that i muz freeze them.
Don worry. U can do it.

little_devil, I didn't try to squeeze my breasts at all when I was pregnant... don't think it indicates if you will have adequate supply later, so don't worry.

Giggler
yah, will miss our bb hor. Tt time I just went dentist for an hr and I kept thinking of whether he is ok.

little_devil
Dun worry, I did massage and squeeze b4 delivery, also nothing came out. Ur milk will only come in ard 3-4 days after delivery, b4 tt is just a small amt of colostrum. Dun worry abt bb being hungry during the 1st 3 days, they got enuff reserve to last them thro the 3 days. It is also normal for them to loss wt during the first few days.
Regarding bf, I am those who do not produce a lot, but enuff to meet my boy's dd. I believe dd = ss, so just feed on demand. Remember to let bb latch on at least every 2 hrs. U can also pump after bf to stimulate more ss. It will be tough initially, but ur ss will stabilise in abt 6-8 wks.
Hope these info helps.

Hi little devil, I didn't have any ss before I give birth too. But I still able to total bfg my bb till now leh. And my bb is coming to 3mths liao.

Hi B2B3M4, I really envy u that u got so much BM leh. I'm going to use up my stored bm soon. Sob sob.

Hi desert, me too. Heehee I also kept thinking of bb all the time while at work. But I don't dare to call my mom too often to check on bb also.

little devil
don't over simulate your breasts now as it might trigger an early delivery. The ss will come in naturally after you delivery, don't worry.

hi pple. Any of you totally bf'ing and have bbs that are small with slow weight gain?

My hubby & I get so annoyed when relatives keep commenting that our bb is thin. When they see other babies that are fat and 'pudgy' they say the bb is so 'cute' and why is our bb so thin etc etc. Our bb is 9 wks old and only weighs 4.1 kg. She is otherwise very very healthy. She just gains weight slowly. Her elimination is very good, and to us she is the cutest ;).

Last night around 3 am my bb awoke and was talking to herself very loudly for some time. She didn't cry, though. I wasn't sure what she wanted so I fed her. Normally she has been sleeping through the nite til 7 am, so I didn't know what was happening last nite. Anyone else with the same experience?

hi priviledged,

Dun care what other pp say (although it does irk). As long as your princess doing well, it's ok about the weight gain (or lack of).

My boy gained weight easily - by 3rd mth, he was already 6kg...now pushing 9kg (4.5mths). Just think on the flip side, he's VERY heavy to carry....Sometimes I really dun like to carry him cos hand very 'sng'. :p

I think as long as your girl not crying, nonid to feed. Maybe she just playing with herself? or practising her speech for mommy the next day?

hi little devil,

After my boy was delivered, my supply was practically non-existent (as least as far as I can see). Nurse squeezed my nipple and after much pain, only 2 drops of colostrum could be found. I had to supplement while in hospital.

Anyway, after that, I perservered and total latch bb on, doing pumping after/during bb latch on. It took 6 weeks before supply came in. Then I had too much, didn know what to do with it.

At this point, just recommend that you learn how to latch bb on. It's really an art. I didn know how to at first and ended up with sore sore nipples.

hi desert,

if u enjoy bf'g yr boy, mayb u dun need to wean him off bf'g completely? its tiring to be waking up few times a night if working, but i think u'll get use to it
. my gal is coming to 8mths n she still wakes for night feed 2-3x. i m used to it liao. beginning when i ret to work, i find it stressful, but now really so used to it.

i still hv the prob my gal not really stick to me, or rather she does not at all! *sign* wished she stick to me abit more! that's y i m still bf'g her, coz when i bf her, at least i feel so close to her. otherwise, aiyo, she dun even want me

Would like to check with you all whether anyone is a member of the breast feeding supprt Group? Is it that we must pay to join as a member?

Hi blessed and desert
it seems that our bbs quite the same as mine also wake up for nite feeds. Would like to check with you both whether your bbs have teeth already? Won't they get tooth decay cos never brush teeth after drinking milk?

Moon

hi, serene

i am a member of the BMSG, you need to pay $25 (per year - no pro rating) to join but will be able to enjoy discounts off things you buy from them as well as workshops or talks .. oh ya, they give you a book abt BF for free when you join their membership ..

Very happy to report that my son has been passing motion these past 2 days. I used method that was shown on tv 2 nights ago, not sure if it really works (gotta try for few more days). For your reference if you want to try.

Rub bb's stomach in a clockwise manner for about 5-10 min. Apparently, our intestines are most active in the morning, so I did this to bb in the morning. Yesterday he passed motion twice, and once this morning.

Hi blessed, then who your bb stick to? My gal sticks to her daddy more than me. So sad leh.

Hi littleprince, does that mean if I pay now I got to pay for whole year but only enjoy benefit for these 4 mths till end of year?

I just went to the BMSG website this morning... very informative and links to the LLL website. The articles are quite good but kinda biased in a way, not as balanced as those on the LLL website. The nursing tops are cheap leh! But they closed the outlet in the west... I don't have time to go to the east to look see.

Privi, my baby was small at birth, 2kg. Now at 9 weeks, he's 4.2kg, similar to your girl. Total bf-ing also... don't worry about those comments. Your breastmilk will develop his brain more than formula milk can ! So long as the output is ok, not to worry.