Breastfeeding Support Group

Hi fishy..

mayb you wanna introduce pacificer to her? Or mayb rub some "ruyi" oil on her tummy? I did tat and is still doing it coz she seldom burps and has a big tummy...my mom says she's uncomfortable coz a lot of wind in her tummy..

finally back to work after my 3mths maternity. pumping during office hours is really challenging.

I only manage to pump 2X, ard 12-1pm and 3-4pm. After that, rush home, reach home at abt 8pm, engorged liao, bb doesn;t want milk, so has to pump out again. tedious, tedious...

my company isn;t pro-family, my colleague keeps telling me to :reduce pumping time so i don;t have to pump in the day, just feed in the nite. that;s wat she did before. Hey but i don;t want to be like her leh just want to keep pumping and keep up supply. bb only 3mths

the late afternoon pumping is the most difficult, coz; it is the busiest time of the day. yesterday, my computer hagged, called the IT dept, n quickly go to pump.

2 things to ask for advice
1) try to buy sterilisation tablets,but guardian out of stock. just pour hot water to sterilise, once, too rush, din even pour. will milk bec contaminated this way how do you gals sterilise the pump n bottles

2)i;m using avent manual, efficient but can be quite slow. my medala electric mini pumps faster, but there is no powerpoint in the place i pump and very noisy. any quiet pump to recommend that uses battery

Hi lis,

i'm also returning to work soon...hehe..think i wil face another set of prob...my colleagues are pro-breastfeedg but juz tat no place to pump..tink toilet is the best alternative for me...

anyway, for mi...i dunno abt the sterialization part...as for pump, i know tat medala pump in style is gd...quite quiet and uses batteries too...

anybody can advise me on how to 'cure' blocked milk ducts?

there is this lump in one of my breast and its causing me slight pain..after dignosis by the dr, it's supposed to be a blocked milk duct..i'm suppose to leave it alone and go back for a check up 3 months later but there is this pain that keep coming back..is there anything that i can do?

wat i did for my blocked ducts is massage n pump n latch to clear it. i also tried use the shower head (stronger water strength) to 'hit' the blocked ducts with warm water.

If it's very bad, may hv to look for lactation consultant to clear for u. the pain will go off after u cleared the blocked ducts

lis,

i am using ameda in office. i don't sterilise my pump parts coz no time. just rinse with tap water after each use, shake off excess water and use again. so far baby ok.

if you're concerned and have the time, yes, pour hot water over the pump parts and soak. it'll help kill germs.

hi Marble
tks for sharing! Think i'll be sticking to my avent manual, coz'i check medela PIS, wow, so ex...
ya, sometimes hard to sterilise my pump parts as well.Sigh...
btw, the other day i was pumping in the toilet, then the person in the next cubicle pass motion. What luck!

just wish to share my breastfeeding story..

I managed to latch my girl since birth. however, she got nipple confusion and bit me when i introduced a bottle to her during confinement. Hence I had no choice but to BF her directly. She take very long to feed. during the 1st month, she latch awhile and fall asleep before she is done and when i put her down, she wake up10 minutes later screaming for milk/ to be carried. End up, i was latching 1 hr duration every 2 hrs! so e.g. latch 9-10am, rest/eat/pump/shower until 11am, latch again!

I end up asking the confinement lady to cupfeed her with FM as i was sooo tired from all the latching.

Also, i realised that i wasn't able to pump out any milk! I can latch my daughter, but if i try to pump even with 4 hrs duration, i only can pump out 20-40ml during 1 hr of pumping!

Later on, lactation consultant say i react badly to a pump (I tried all on the market almost, avent isis, uno, duo, medela PIS). End up, i learn how to hand express and it turned out better for me, as I travel alot for my work and it really was not easy to pump when travelling. Hand express was a breeze as no sterilisation and i only need sterile bags.

Since i was not able to pump out anything during maternity, i latch my daughter exclusively for 3 months.

when i returned to work, so stressed over pumping. in office between 9-6pm, i had to pump every hr and accummulate 20ml by 20ml.. as i simply cannot clear my breasts with a pump! I had a tupperware where i throw in my avent parts and pour hot boiling water over the parts and cover for a while before i reuse it!

BTW, i pump in the toilet, cos office also no place for pumping. at that time, i was using avent duo and i had to pull an extension cord into the toilet!

Cos i had to pump so often, work was affected. and my boss complained about me. I tried not to take up so much time, ended up, i had blocked milk duct and claimed company insurance of 400 sgd for the removal of milk cyst!

Later on, due to sheer desperation and tired of carrying all the wires into the toilet, i realise how to hand express and suddenly, i do not need to pump every 1-1.5hrs x 1 hr duration for a pathetic supply!

Now, i travel with at most an avent isis pump and I use the medela pump wipes when travelling and inconvenient to sterilise in hotels. during meetings, i bring milk bags (avent liners, playtex liners) ad pump into them using avent bottles to support the liners.

I also travel with ice packs x 3. 1 icepack for my handbag's insulation bag for milk pumped on the go, the others for the trip home. I keep my BM in the small hotel fridge in lansinoh ziploc bags and once the 2 days are up, i ask staff to put into hotel freezer for collection when i check out.

Once i check out, it is straight to airport & up onto plane where i put the frozen milk into the fridge again on the plane.

Touch down = race home to dump all the milk into the freezer!

I still can pump 8oz in office today and my girl still refuse to give up latching and even though i am a working busy mum, i am still my daughter's favorite person due to our bond!

Do not give up BF please! I share my story to encourage all mummies who encounter difficulty, for i went through all of it (almost!)!

Hi, i wanna buy this fenugeek herb thingy coz my BM id depleting...

Can anyone recommend any good brands & where to buy/how much. DESPERATE! My bby's hungry!!

piglet, i can sell you my momsfairy handsfree kit ( the survival kit package) if you want cause i do not need it anymore. i bought it at $80 only just end last month, hardly used cause i still prefer hands express.selling at $30. contact me at 97413559 elaine if you are interested.

moms who are interested in the kit i am selling pls sms me directly and not place msg here.thanks.

nor, you can get fenugreek at GNC. or you can try goat's rue at www.homeonearth.com , fenugreek did not work for in, instead i had diarrohea. but it works for other individuals.

Is it possible to have menses and be able to breastfeed at the same time? I was on TBF for 10 mths, but recently went on partial and my menses suddenly came. Hope my milk supply will not be affected.

hi tare1919,
i think u could have latch wrongly and caused your crack, sore nipple. Apply nipple cream. Try latching the side which is not affected. If both affected, suggest either u expressed manually by hand, then wait till heal then latch on again. else try breast shields for sore, crack nipples. HTP.

Sorry to interupt.

I'm a FTWM and have been breastfeeding my baby for almost 11 mths. Had joined a spree and bot a bottle of "Motherlove More Milk Plus 120 vegitarian capsules" and it just arrived.

However, my supply is dwindling too fast (think it's because of my mens, it came back at merely 4th mth
so sad) so I had no choice but to start weaning her off.

So I'd like to let go of this bottle of more milk plus at cost ($56).

If interested pls PM me.

Thanks & all the best to your breastfeeding. U can do it!

Hi all!!!

How's the going for all bfg mummies here?

Happy to share with you gals that my boy turned one yesterday! We have been bfg for the past one year!!! I cant believe how i made it this far. With work, ebm, worries over pumping during meetings :p...aye...but We've made it!!!

SO all bfg mummies, YOU CAN DO IT!!! gambatte!

if you're latching on directly, the best way to rid block duct is to latch baby on. he/she is the best pump.

if cannot latch, then next to consider is use hot towel and massage the blockage, and pump-massage-pump repeatedly until blockage clears. time consuming so lots of patients and hard work needed.

not sure about colic baby coz i never had the problem : )

hi tare1919,

latching on will definitely clear blocked milk ducts. sometimes i need a few feeds of latch on to fully clear certain ducts. N i also realise changing the positioning of baby's suckle also helps. i know it sounds funny, but it works!

i just need to find out which part is blocked, then i change baby's feeding position accordingly. difficult to explain... but i find if i just placed baby's mouth opposite the part of the milk ducts, it will clear off after 1-2 feeds.

hello,

izit true that breast milk cannot be store in glass bottles? The nutrients or antibodies will stick to the glass?

Hi Mummies who are pumping at work...need some advise...

1) Do you start your pumping schedule like one week before you return to work?

2) For weekends, do you still stick to the same schedule or latch on on demand?

3) Which brand of milk bottle are your babies using?

Joshlyn

Am pumping at work, have been at it for nearly a year...time flies

1. i didnt. you should. it helps your body adjust to the pump (if it is new) and the new schedule
2. I didnt, dun think you need. you should try to latch on your bb as much as possible when you are around. coz pumps will never be as good in stimulating bm as bb suckling. so your ss may not be that fantastic if you only stick to pumping
3. im using pigeon glass (know all those things about plastic toxicity?) anyway, my bb rejected bottle for mroe than 8mths. he only recently started taking a bit from bottle. so have to feed him bit by bit...you can try spoon feeding or letting him take from cup if he is old enough.

I'm glad to find a BFing support group here. I'm struggling w BFing. My baby latches on fine and drinks every 3 hours. But last week, one of my breasts got blocked milk ducts and became badly engorged. I had to go to KK to get it cleared. Damn painful. After draining my breasts and putting cold cabbage, my milk supply seems to have dropped to less than half what it was. Now, I'm expressing most of the time rather than latching baby directly because otherwise I dont know if he is getting enough milk. But expressing every 3 hours is very tiring.

My questions are :
1) How long does it take for the milk supply to stabilize?
2) One breast produces more than 3 times the other breast. Is that normal? Or does it mean I have blocked ducts again?

I really feel like giving up on breastfeeding but I really want baby to BF for as long as possible. I'm a SAHM so I have no excuse like "no time" etc. But it's quite depressing to have sore breasts all the time and instead of spending time w baby, to be cooped in the room pumping all the time.

Hihi....

i've got a question about breastfeeding and sleeping.....coz read in the babycentre.com about sleeping pattern, they dun encourage to breastfeed to sleep at nite.... but if i wake baby after a feed...i have great difficulty getting her back to bed...

do u mummies wake ur babies up after their nite feed and put them back to bed after that?

Hi Twiggy,

Been through that stage.
Yes, 3 hourly is tiring. I too had an oversupply and used cabbage leaves initially. In fact, throughout my bf-ing career (which has spanned a year and is still ongoing), I saw a lactation consultant several times. What I did initially was to latch on the baby and express out the excess 3 hourly, there is a need. Actually, latching is the best way to re-establish the supply. Since your supply has dropped, it is best to latch on and express right after to increase the supply again. After a few weeks, I lengthen the interval to four hourly and then to six hourly, just before I returned to work.

Milk supply takes about 4-6 weeks to stablise. Yes, it is common to have one side producing more. I still have that condition.
Perfectly normal.

Well, having breastfed for more than a year, I can say bf-ing really does benefit the baby. Would encourage to forge on. I too had thoughts of giving up when I had just given birth! But I had persereved, despite having had mastritis, milk lump, blocked thoughts. I never thought I could make it so far.

me now hor, one of the nipple is tore(the front part) and bb sucked some of my blood cos he puked a little bit of milk+blood. =P

Not vey pro in breastfeeding, had an unsuccessful attempt for my #1. Hope to succeed this time round.

Should I let my nipple recover first then attempt again? Or I can use the pump instead?

Thank you...

Hi missylan,

I had pumped out bloodly milk before too. Haha. Looked like strawberry-favoured milk. If it is not too painful, you can continue to latch on. In between the feeding sessions, you can try to apply some nipple cream. Depending on the pump, it can be more painful than latching on directly. The Avent pumps are usually more painful and gentle on the nipples.

If it is too painful to latch or pump, then have to resort to using hand to express. Regardless of the method, you still have to get the milk out somehow, otherwise you may have blocked ducts or worst mastritis

Betterworld,
Thank you so much for your encouragement. I hope it gets better with time. I dont mind the pumping and feeding 3 hourly during the day but it's the night feeds that are a chore. After feeding, still much massage for at least 10 minutes then pump for 30 mins. I can only go back to sleep 1 hr later. And the breasts are constantly sore so it's quite hard to carry baby to the chest sometimes.

Do blocked ducts go away after some time or is it an ongoing problem? I have to massage very hard before each pump or feed to clear the ducts and that's the part I dread most.

Hi Twiggy,

It will definitely get better wtih time. Actually, not sure if you have gotten the definition of blocked ducts correctly. Blocked ducts is when you try to express or when an infant (with lesser suckling power) try to suckle, no milk or little milk is out. If the breasts harden, it just means that the breast is full. Blocked ducts should not happen at all, if you express regulary and clear the milk fully. each time. If you find your breasts hardening very fast, this means that you should express more often.

Yes, the night feeds are harder to cope. I used to wake up at most once a night to entirely clear the breasts by expressing, but not three hourly. The rest of night, I just feed on demand. You find that after a while, when the baby is able to feed more and supply is slightly more stablised, you will be able to last throughout the night without having to wake up to express. For me, it is about a month later after giving birth.

Hey, what pump are you using? 30 min is really very long! By the way, since you are over-supplier, can take the chance to build up frozen supplies.

Hi Betterworld,

Ya, I think I have blocked ducts from time to time. The breasts feel engorged but no milk come out when I express. I went to KK last week and the lactation consultant managed to massage the blockage and cleared my breasts. Now before each pump, I have to massage very hard otherwise again, no milk comes out. And when I massage, it will sometimes spray a bit then stop, and I got to massage again. That's why the whole process takes me 30 mins for both breasts. Is this normal? Despite pumping so long, I only get 60-80ml from one side and 10-20 ml from the other side.

Because of this problem, I'm afraid to latch baby because I can't see whether there's any milk coming out. Sometimes he suckles for quite long (more than 30 mins), then gets hungry again once I remove him. It's also hard to massage when I'm latching him so my milk flow could be decreasing because unlike with pumping, I can't do compressions at the same time to make the milk flow continuously.

Really desperate to overcome this problem because it's making me miserable and I suspect, giving me post-natal blues. It's an ordeal having to go through this painful massage process every 3 hours, especially in the middle of the night when tired. I refuse to talk to anyone now, even my husband coz I feel he can't really understand the problem. So tempted to give up breastfeeding but I know it's good for baby. But honestly, if I give up, it also makes me feel a bit of a failure since many others have successfully breastfed. My MIL raised and breastfed 5 kids succesfully so I don't think she or my hubby will be too pleased or empathetic if I give up.

Betterworld,
Forgot to mention, the left breast that only produces 10ml each pump, when I manage to clear the blockage, it will produce about 40ml. Does that sound like blockage or do I have an engorgement problem?

My breasts feel so bruised from all the massaging. Help!

Hi Twiggy,

Pat.. Pat... Don't feel so discouraged. Yes, it sounds like blocked ducts. I was so worse. I had a rather high fever that came with engorgement. After each pump and massage, do you feel that your breasts are soft and supple again? If they are not, then I am afraid that your massage and pumping are not very effective. You could try use the following:

1) Latch on the baby more rather than pumping. Don't be afraid that the baby is getting lesser milk. In fact the baby can get more milk out than any pump in the market. The baby is not exactly hungry when you remove him after a while. They like to suckle for comfort at this stage.

2) After each feed session, do your breasts feel soft and supple? Simiarly, do your breasts feel soft and supple? If they feel hard, that means you have not removed the milk effectively. Try expressing/ feeding at shorter intervals first, ie 2 hourly during the daytime and see if it improves.

3) Take lecithin which is known to help prevent blocked ducts. It is commonly available at any pharmacies. www.storknet.com/cubbies/breast/newmanprob.htm

4) Try massaging (without force) with warm towel and drink more warm water. Heat helps in prevention of blocked ducts.

5) Change your pump if it is contributing to your blocked ducts. I used to use the Medela Mini-electric and had to pump for more than 30 min and only had like 60 ml. It contributed to my engorgement. Once I changed to using the Avent Duo, I could pump 240ml!

Actually, I remember that my breasts felt sore perpetually too during my confinement. Sometimes, it is also our body system trying to cope with breastfeeding.
Let me know if the above help.

Hi Betterworld,
Thank you for being a great source of comfort and information.

Yes, my breasts do feel softer and "relieved" after each massage and pumping session. I'm in fact trying to cut down the frequency I pump because nipples get sore from pumping every 3 hrs. But if I increase pumping to every 4 hours, not sure if supply will drop.

I try to latch baby on at least once or twice a day. But one breast is producing only 10ml and that 10ml needs a lot of massaging to get out. So in order not to get him frustrated, I dont feed him from that breast. I'm hoping the supply will increase thru pumping regularly.

Thanks for sharing the link on lecithin. I'll try that. Hopefully it helps.

Hi Twiggy,

You are most welcome. Let me know if it helps.

Actually, you should try to let baby latch on to the side that is producing only 10 ml. With more direct latching, that side will be able to produce more. Otherwise, it is a self-perpetually problem.

By the way, what pump are you using?

hi betterworld n twiggy

i have breastfed my 2 elder kids for a span of 3yrs.. yet for this #3, i m still learning! different bbies really have different style.

twiggy, for block ducts, i used to have it often for my #1 coz i did not empty my breast enough, and once u get it, it will come back! the best you can do is try to empty ur breast every 3 hrs.. otherwise at the very first sight of harden breast, latch bb on n keep pressing/massaging on the harden spot... bb's suckle will help unblock very fast. its painful, but no choice. i din get it for my #2 coz i kept emptying my breasts.

try to keep emptying ur breast (meaning latch or pump) at 3 hr interval for these crucial 6weeks. my experience, when i stretch pumping time, my ss will definitely drop.

talking abt pump, i have medela PIS and avent manual pump... PIS can be painful though convenient.. so now i m solely using avent manual pump to empty my breasts after a feed or if i feel i hv excess... my prob now, which i nvr encounter b4 is a IMPATIENT baby... he seems to expect the breasts to produce milk like a tap.. very impatient...so sometimes struggle with him when latch on, i hv to keep pressing my breast for fast milk flow... my elder kids nvr behav like this, they will happily suckle till they get milk. anyone has similar experience as me?

i m quite puzzled, coz if i pump using avent manual pump, less then 5 mins i get quite alot n the flow is very fast, i m not sure what is he fussy abt?? i think he is getting enough coz he has freq wet/solied diapers. and i nvr gave him any bottles b4, so he only tasted the breast, y is he expecting to get milk from the breast like a tap?

i have tried fenugreek, papaya soup, more f;uids, latching bb on, pumping, changing pumps and yet i can only get 20ml per session.

of cos bb takes more FM cos of this...i really wonder if its any use giving bb 20-60ml of BM a day and the rest FM feel like giving up...seems i just cannot produce milk.

Hi Betterworld,
Ok, I'll try doing so. Was afraid he'll get frustrated sucking and not having much on that breast. I'm using the Ameda Lactaline.

Blessed, I'm now pumping and emptying my breasts every 4 hours. Is that enough or do I need to increase to 3 hours?

tare: dic told me as long as its not high fever its ok to bf even if you are having a cold.

alot of medications are safe too.

need advice here. my boy is 6mths + now, i'm still bfing him. he's teething now, so sometimes, tend to bite my nipples, how to let him know tt it's painful & not to do it again?

hi twiggy,

according to lactation consultant, they called me when i had my #2, from TMC< very good svc hor... she say these crucial weeks (4-6weeks) she reco every 2.5hrs to empty breast!

i listened n i had the most milk for my #2 loh... this #3 , supply up n down.. but still enough... i din empty every 2.3-3hrs, but i will feed max 3 hr interval but wont use a pump all the time to pump put extra... coz i m very tired liao.

ooh twiggy, forget to mention... to me 4hrs is too long u know... but i know of some mothers alot of milk 4 hrs is not a prob to them.. but i KS one, definitely wont go 4 hrs

hi bunnybluey

u hv to say "NO biting" very firmly then unlatch n put him down. this is to signify he cannot nurse if he bites, but dont scare him ok.. if not he associate breast with unpleasantness, will go on nursing strike... just b firm n end nursing to send the msg.. then awhile put him back to nurse again

hi twiggy,

yes very tiring loh.... no joke, coz i pump 3 hrly when my son in hosp for jaundice... wahbiang can kill me.. like i wake up 3am to pump, by the time i can fall back to sleep is 4am.. then 6 am need to wake again.. shiong... btw y are u pumping and not latching on? pumping round the clock very shiong leh. and latch on stimulate the breasts better

Hi Blessed,

Is your son less impatient now? yes, different babies have different styles. Mine belong to the aggressive kind. She was turning towards the breasts regardless of whom was carrying her, up to a few weeks old. haha.

Twiggy,
Any improvement so far? I have not used the Ameda before, as I am a big Avent fan, but the Ameda should be a good pump.

blesses, betterworld,
my 2 wks old gal also getting more n more agressive liao... sometimes i very scared my nipple will be gone. sometimes she stretched herself while latching on, so i gotta quickly 'protect' my nipple.

my massage lady advise me not to EBM now, jus latch on.. she dun wan my breast to over-supply. she noticed one of my breast is always blocked due to over-stimulation now.
But i intend to EBM for future use.. anyone latch on and EBM at the same time???? any problems of over-supply or blocked milk ducts?

can we stored EBM in the fridge, then accumulate EBM from a few days ... then trf to a milk bag to the freezer?

anyone know of any nursing rooms in raffles place area?

Hi Happi,

About latching, you just have to make sure that you are latching on correctly.

I did latch on and pump as I had over-supply in the first place. The folks usually say just to latch on, but I think it really depends on the individual's body. If one side is an over-producer in the first place, and you just latch on, then it will be always blocked. I chose to express out the extra one. In that way, I also managed to store up to 150 packs of milk in my freezer during my maternity leave. Haha!

You can accumulate the EBM, but they should all be fresh, ie out within a day.

Sorry, dunno of any nursing room in raffles place area. The nearest I know of is in Raffles City.