Breastfeeding Support Group

lee yan,

why would that happen huh? I thot they would be eagerly taking it. Now my bb is he yearns for it,but suck only like 5-10 mins and wither fall asleep or pull off and look elsewhere... I can always feel my breast still full.

edksd

if you can then just let bb latch on till self wean lo. For me, if I am at home, i dun pump at all, when its time, I just nurse my bb. Ony pump when i am in office away from bb.

Hi Lee Yan, thank you for your advice. I will do so. I also hope to be able to latch on, but my friend told me her c-sect wound made it impossible for her to do so. Honestly I am quite scared!

cuddles..

my elder girl self wean may be due to my 2nd pregnancy that changes the taste of bm...i suspected lah caused once she self wean, the next moment i was aware i already p...

as for my boy....dont know leh...his mood lor...hehe

rainy5,

dont worry on c-section..u know during my first x...i was pushed to delivery ward for natural but after a while due to bb heart beat irregular, they decided to burst my water bag...then realised water dirty, and told me my bb very 'impatience' (kidding manner) couldnt wait to be out and poo inside...so need to push me to emergency c-section. Once i heard this, i felt so relieved...haha..caused while waiting to deliver, i kept holdng on to inject epidural but pain lor..mainly i had my 6 senses telling me i may need to c-section so dont waste the epidural money...hehe..

what u can do is u need 2 pillows, one harder, the other softer. when u breastfeed, make sure u need to lean back comfortably against the wall so the hard pillow is used, or lean against sofa then dont need hard pillow..but usually after c-section, u may bf on bed...

as for soft pillow (some ppl use nursing pillow but i dont think there is a need to buy), u can just place on your lap (assume u lean back, cross legs or straighten, doesnt matter...) then place ur bb on top of the soft pillow, when u need to carry lift up the whole pillow..hmmm...u need to do some trying to get the best comfort.

btw, as long as is clean container with better material grade should b ok lah...just to your convenience..

rainy5

ya as long as its a better container, not the disposable ones.

I delivered naturally so not sure of the difficulties of bfg aft C section. But I had infection after both birth, was in so much pain from the infesction, the wound and the sore nipples, engorgement..

Hope that you not worry too much, if there's a will, there's a way.

I had my fair share of difficulties, physically and emotionally. But i ploughed on, keep challenging myself as I really wanted to do this for my bb.

When i had my 1st one, i had no encouragement and was easily swayed. A fren keep "pouring cold water" at me. I feel words from other bfg mums will help, thus here to share.

Hi all, wanna check with you gals how do you make sure that your baby gets to drink breastmilk when he/she goes out with your family members without you around??

Ann...

u will have to ask them to bring along ur ebm with proper storage, then feed bb lor..if need to warm then let them know but these may seem troublesome for them ..

if not...temporary substitute 1 feed with fm for their conveniency..

Hi Lee Yan,

Ya, it will be rather troublesome for them to bring the ebm and then to warm it somemore.. so there's no other choice but to substitute with fm.. haiz..

ann,

dont sigh....dont forget fm do have their own nutritious level. just think in these ways, as long as we have done our best to provide our bm to them, at times take others substitution can also 'broaden our kids' taste buds' mah..

i just wana give my own opinion to all breastfeeding moms...though we are die hard to give bm/ebm to kids, but we need to be flexible if other situations occur (eg. ss drop, like Ann's case, etc...), we have to adapt accordingly.

In this way, we will not feel lousy or upset that bbs are not taking our bm/ebm but fm...or even solid food.

need advice on increasing BM...
i delivered in May 2007, till now, my BM is very very little...
i have inverted nipples, bb was bottle-feed when in hosp, after going home, i try to use nipple shield to latch her on, she reject totally and got frustrated. i turn to pumping... now, 7wks liao, i pump every 3hrly, the max i can get from both side is only 30ml total, after 30min session, i took fenugreek, i drank papaya fish soup, still the same.

any advice on how can i increase BM?

and anyone has the receipe of papaya fish soup?
(wanna make sure my method of preparing the soup is rite)

i feel so dishearted whenever i see the amt i pumped. i feel like giving up... but cant bear, each day, i can only managed to pump 150ml in total, which is only enuff for my bb's 1.5feed. i feel like a bad mum for not able to provide enuff BM for her...

hi karen

dun be discouraged... just continue pumping. my situation oso quite bad initially. i only manage to pump ard 30-40ml ard second mth. very bad... so in the end, i got to give fm. i tried to take goat's rue... the situation got better slightly. now my gal 3 mths liao... she only take one fm per day, though my ss still low while pumping. dun dispair... try to latch if possible.
dun feel bad to give fm... must be more optimistic... 加油!

hi dylanmummy...

is me...the mom that time posted the UTI's case...hope u remember me haha..

if u really cant latch on, dont pressure yourself, do try gently if refuse stop, try again next round..

u may wana try:

for pumping, u need to be diligent for a start. can u afford to do 2hourly pump?

ur total 150ml seemed to be 30x 5sessions? if i supposed u pump at 8am, 11am, 2pm, 5pm, 8pm...u still can add another 1 session which is 11pm...?

please also make sure your pump is working effectively.

before pump, drink one glass of warm water, while pumping slip bit by bit water..drinl plenty of water per day.

make sure u TOTALLY clear your breast, after pump NOTHING, use your palm to squeeze the balance till really nothing..

eat more starchy food, like cereal, sweet potatoes vegetables, fishes ( i noticed i eat raw salmon my bm ss will increase).

dont feel lousy, i was in this situation like you when i had my elder girl...very depressed, helpless..but i told myself bit better then none..there was once i managed to pump 40ml..but accidently knock the bottle and all split on the floor...my immediate reaction was crying out loudly..haha...so funny now think back..my dh was shocked..!

do visit http://wendywater.multiply.com which i share my breastfeeding experiences there.

hi haystack,
thanks for the encouragement...
where can i get goat rue?
everyone was telling me that fenugreek works well, i'm already into my second bottle of it, still the same leh..

hi Lee Yan,
hehe very sorry, didn't really check back the UTI thread... u need any info, can just PM me... ^_^

pump 2hrly? hmm, not sure if my nipple can take it *LOL*
now when i pump 3hrly, my nipple already abit painful...
i eat fish daily leh... still the same...
the reason for me feeling bad is that, for my son, i didn't managed to BF, and he was kinda weak, always fall sick when young... so i was determined to BF my gal... who knows, i failed again...

hi karen

initially i oso try fenugreek. but i realised that it did not work very well for me. u can get goat's rue at tmc or vivo city. the branch at vivo city is called vitakids.

hi karen,

i thnk different things work for different people, for me, fenugreek works very well. i took it really obssessively for 2 days and my ss came back after tat. by obssessively i mean 2 pills when i wake up, 2 before bfast, 2 after bfast, 2 before lunch, 2 after etc etc... until i smell lik curry!

n i agree with Lee Yan, check your pump! i tot i had ss supply problem until i check the pump n realise there's something wrong with the suction so it's not effectively pumping milk out.

most imptly, relax relax relax

hi karen

i understand how you feel. Cos I too did not manage to bf my elder gal as I was concern about the trouble to go thru. So i ony bf her for 2 mths, stopped when I went back to work aft maternity leave. So i was extremely determined to do it for my son, he is 8 mths now and I am still bfg.

Although I am rather worried that it seems he is self weaning soon as he doesnt take to my breast for long.

Anyway, on top of all the good advice from the others, you have to pump and latch on. Its even harder with inverted nip but you have to try and try.

One more important thing is your mental approach. When you pump or bfg, you must think positive, dun keep thinking not enuff milk, no more, stopping..., it does affect the ss. When i was in the hospital, thats wat the nurse told me and i was thinking so weird, but it works!

Lee Yan

I had the same experience. Once while i was pumping in the office, that was during the peak period when DS was about 4 mths and take a lot of milk. I was trying so hard to meet his demand. Pump so hard to get 100ml and then spilled half of it! I cried on the spot...even called my mum and cried over the phone.hehe...

hi karen,
m not sure there's a max, i was desperate at that time so i just tried to take as much as possible. it's definitely not a long term solution though, i did it for 2 days and once supply comes back, i stopped.

Hi.. so glad to find this thread.

I am a second time mother. Just gave birth to my second son this May.
For my elder son, he experience nipple confusion which lead me to express breastmilk for 6 months before i stop breastfeed. Through out the 6 months, as i did not direct latch him i noticed that my milk supply is constantly around 32oz eveyryday. And no matter how frequent i express using the pumo, it was always 32 oz.
This time, i intend to beastfeed my younger son for longer time like one year and hopefully can have better milk supply. But because my elder son is jealous of my younger baby, i had to express my breastmilk again and this time round i have less milk supply. One whole day i can only express about 24oz.So, my baby is on formula milk at night cos he takes 5oz for each feed. And i am not able to direct latch my baby during night time cos my elder son wants my company when he sleep and he will wakeup to check and see if i am with him.
Any experienced mummies here can advise on how i should increase my milk supply if i did not direct latch my baby?

I heard from friends that if there is no direct latch, the milk supply will not increase even we pump frequently. I am using Avent manual pump.

Next week i will be going back to work and i am sending my baby to nanny's house. So, the only time that i can latch him on is around night time 8-9pm before we sleep. I have been sending my baby to nanny's house early this week so that i can get some rest. These two days around 8-9pm, i try to direct latch him and i noticed that he cannot latch properly as compare to last week when i always direct latch him in the morning. Feel very sad. What should i do? Anyone out there can help me? Should i just express my breastmilk for him or still try to direct latch him?

slee16,

ur situation quite similar to mine..my elder also jealous on the younger, thus i only latch on in the very early morning and afer my elder girl sleep.

the rest i pump from day 1. In fact, is not true that only pumping will not increase supply. we need to make effort in this area..sound 'stupid'? but from my experience is really need to pre-plan what we need to do to achieve what we need.

do visit my blog where i shared my experience in my 2nd time bf...much more success then my 1st trial. U may wana consider the method i used.

http://wendywater.multiply.com/tag/breastfeeding

Hi LeeYan,

Read your experience from your blog. I am doing almost the same as you. However as i did not pump out 2 hourly since first month, now my milk supply is stop at 1 oz per hour. Should i go back to pump once 2hourly to increase the milk supply? I will be going back to work next week and do not think i will have the chance to re-start again. How shall i do to increase the milk supply?
I was thinking of express breast milk at 7.30am, 11-12am and 4pm during office hour. Then 8-9pm to latch my baby. Then express at 3am. This is what i have been doing for this week. But the milk supply is still not enough to feed my baby for whole day. So, the night feed after 8-9pm is on formula milk for him. How can i increase the milk flow to enable him to have all breast milk?
My baby now seems to forget how to latch cos i only latch him now at 8-9pm. Once a day only.
How shall i proceed from here?

slee16,

if possible, these 2 days (sat and sun), you may wana pump 2hourly to stimulate your milk supply. do not need to pump long, probably 15mins will do. collect those ebm and store. beginning u will notice the total amount is the same as what u have been collecting so far..

but do note 2days effort is insufficient to boost the supply...at least needs 4days or more.
my suggestion is give it a try and see how it goes on the 3rd day when u back to work.

out of no choice, ur schedule will be 7.30am, 12pm, 4pm, 8pm..right?

take note if ur bb almost forgotten how to latch on...this may show that bb may not able to empty your breast. in this case, after ur latch at 8pm, do a pump for 15mins, then use hand to squeeze whatever u have till last drop.

If REALLY there is a need, probably wean bb from breast,and pump instead.

next, u still can pump at 10.30pm, and last pump at 12am..each short at 10-15mins..

3am is a must if u need to increase supply..

try out this routine and monitor your total collection after 1week..then decide how u should proceed. there may be slight increase..

besides this, try take oatmeal for breakfast, eat more starchy food like sweet potatoes,sweet potatoes vegetables, papaya, fish (raw salmon can increase my ss, u may wana try but take note not too much and the timing better 2hours apart from pumping).

drink a glass of warm water before every pump, drink sip by sip while pumping.

try stimulate let-down..for my case, i need to 'play' with my nipples abit, sooner will let-down so u need to know how to/do what causes your let-down..

after every pump, use hand to squeeze to totally empty your 2 breasts.

check your pump..make sure accessories attached well, suction maintain good..

if u are die-hard wana breastfeed for long, consider to get a dual electric pump, this will able to help u in stimulating and increase supply.

Hi LeeYan,

Thanks. Looks like really need to have hard work to increase milk supply. :-(

One more question: How do you sterilize your breast pump at work? My collegue told me to get a "lock-lock" container then put some water in then microwave for 3 minutes.
I am not sure if this is safe.
I do not like to use sterilizing tablet cos its chemical.
Should i just pour hot water into the container and soak the breastpump for few minutes before expressing?
May i know how you sterilize your breastpump at work?

Hi LeeYan,

which dual electric pump is good?
Avent or Medela or Ameda? Expensive right. Is it few hundred dollars.

slee16,

what i will do is thorough wash all the parts with running water. then use hot water and soak them as u mention.

then before express, i will use hot water to 'rinse through' again..

i am using Medela PIS Origin which is dual electric pump, to me this is the right decision i made to buy though expensive. (btw, i am selling my PIS..u keen pm me).

As for Avent, i only used the manual single pump, is a good product but for mum like me or others with poor supply (during my first child my supply was low due to many reasons), will be very tiring after pump. And due to desperate in getting out the bm...i pressed too hard and broke 2 funnels liao...haha..

Ameda...i have no comment since no practical experience.

tare1919...

have u ever thought of DIY your nightwear (do you mean pyjamas?)?

i did mine, though not presentable but save alot during these 4.5years..and i wear at home only seen by my mother, huby and bb..

what u can do is use your old pyjamas (the one u may wana likely to throw), measure along the centre of the breast and slit a vertical line down, long enough to open for bb to latch on. then use those buttons (there is a type small round silver buttons, dont know what this call..) and sew both sides for 'open' and 'close'.

another method is similar to what KKH's maternity dress..

also can use a old pyjamas, cut a big opening from your chest to waistline or bit higher.

Use another piece of cloth, by using buttons and attach this cloth to the old pyjamas to cover the big opening. so there are 3 buttons, 2 on left and right each to attach the cloth to the pyjamas, and one is below to unbutton and flip up for nursing...

I have been breastfeeding my baby for almost 8 months. It has been a journey with much drama, but I had persevered. I had to see a LC consultant four times for engorgement. My MILs fridge broke down and I had to throw the frozen milk kept there away. My $800 Avent Duo pump broke down on me twice. Electricity to my flat was almost cut off by the electrical supply contractor to do some maintenance, and I had to make plans to transfer the frozen milk to save them. I also made a few short working trips overseas, pumping all the way, even at airports.

Having came so far, I am quite determined to continue my part-time bf career to a year. I am due to make a two-week business trip to HK soon. It will be such a waste to dump so much milk away. Anyway knows where I can buy dry ice and Styrofoam boxes, so as to transfer the milk back? Thanks!

tare1919

lee yan really has got great ideas. For hospital, i reckon u ony need 1 set, perhaps you can pop by John Little and check out the button front PJs.

For me, at home, I will wear dress PJs with straps. To bf, I jus simply pull down the strap. Of cos, by the time my bb weans, dun think i can wear them anymore.

Betterworld

"Applause"... really admire your perseverence. I have my fair share of drama too, altho not as adventurous as yours. Also been bfg for almost 9 mths liao. I not sure where to get the stuff, perhaps you can check with catering ppl? or yellow pages?

I've been breastfeeding for 2 months plus now and am returning to work. It's been quite a journey as well because of latching problems but having perservered, I'd encourage all to press on!

I'm surprised that I'm continuing to breastfeed after going back to work as I never thought I'd come so far. However, I'd like to ask all if there's any good idea to transport the breastmilk? I take about 1 hour back from office and how can I keep it cool in the mean time? (I'm based in bangkok and the weather is really hot now!) I'm also afraid I will not have access to ice to use for cooling.

Betterworld,
you're an inspiration indeed! I also may be making workin overseas trips and I'm afraid I will have to stop bf then. You mean that you pump and dump all the milk?

hi J (suk)

When i was attending those hospital in-house short lesson on breastfeeding, one staff nurse told me she came across a mother who stored up 2 weeks worth of milk for her baby before she went for her overseas working trip.

Really hat off to her!

J,

ebm under normal temp 25degC can store for 4hours. but in your case travelling may have temp change and you need to have cooler bag to store the ebm.

for instance, if you are using Medela PIS, you will have the cooler bag + cooling element which u can store in freezer and when in need, use it.

Hi J,

When I travel, I try to store the milk and bring the milk back as far as I can. You just have to strategise where the fridges are. There was one trip whereby I had to take a flight in China every day for three days. With such a hectic schedule, there was absolutely no way for me to bring back the milk. I first travelled when my baby was four months old, and by then was pumping every six hourly. You will have to think what your pumping intervals are like and stratgise your flights around them. I have so far avoided pumping on flights. I brought back the milk that I pumped on the last day and cool them with ice packs and cooler bags. On the flights, I asked the flight attendants to help me put them in the fridge.

Where are you travelling to? Would really encourage you to continue bf as long as you can. I can say that my baby really looks healthier.

Hi focus,
Wow, 2 weeks' worth of milk. Last time, at the peak of my bf-ing career, I had up to 150 packs of milk in my freezer. Now, my supply had dipped drastically and I have only less than 10 packs.

Hi Cuddles,
Thanks. Really hope that I could get the dry ice somewhere.

All BFG Mommies

3 big cheers to us!

somehow, others will not fully comprehend what kind of sacrifices we make to bf our bbs today!

My mum and hb will never understand so i will content myself wth the fact when i carry my healthy bb and bfg him, i am giving him all the best i can. And bonus, bf bbs do have better skin.

Hi all...

Missing for sometime.

Wow, so many inspiring stories from bfg mummies here. kudos to all!!!!

betterworld,,,
wow...150 packs??!!!! i never never had that much!!! i pump and feed the next day...all of it. some of it gets dump coz my in-laws dun really bother loh...what to do.

mummies who travel...
must have been tough on you. even for me, working and pumping is tough eoungh. there is no facilities to express milk and i have to contend myself to pump in the showers. sianz.

j,
you can get fridge to go...quite good. im using it now...can last up to 12 hours.

hi all...

Thanks to all for the advice! It's really encouraging to hear from like-minded mothers.

Somehow, neither my mum nor my mother-in-law thinks I can last this pumping biz. They think the baby will need more and more milk as he grows. Is that true? I've a 2mth+ old and he is taking about 4-5oz per 3hr feed. At work from 8-5pm, i can only pump twice to cover 3 feeds, so I hope it's gonna make it.

focus bp,
2 weeks worth of bm! I really kudos tat. my little fridge only has about 8 packs now.

betterworld,
you really are quite persevering. now with the limits of amount of liquids on board, i think it may be tough to bring bm onboard?

Lee yan,
if I store in cooler bag when I am on the way home for about 1hour, and temp is about 24degrees, can i refrigerate it again when I'm home? ie. the bm goes from fridge (abt 4-10degree) to cooler bag (abt 24deg) and back to fridge (4-10deg). is tat alrite to last another 3-4 days?

ps. btw, if any of you come to BKK, there're some shopping centres with nursing rooms too. and pretty big comfy ones. ;]

Hi mommies, my gal is currently 6 months old and I realised my supply really reduced a lot and it could be due to stress or becos I only can pump 2 times at work. Anyway to increase the supply again or it is not possible already? Would really love to tbf till she's one year old or at least 9 months.

Appreciate all suggestions. Thanks in advance!

Hi Aquarius_888,

There will be supply as long as there's demand. Try to feed your daughter directly after work. Babies are the best "sucking machine". Pumping twice at work will gradually reduce your supply unless you ensure that you always pump at least the same amount everytime. Good luck!

Would like to get some advise from you. I'm currently breastfeeding my 6 week old baby and I need to get back to work. My hair looks like a mop at the moment. Is it safe to colour my hair and rebond it while I am still breastfeeding? Also are there any precautions I need to take?

Hi Snuggles,

I think rebonding is alright, as you are not consuming anything. Only heard that our diet will affect the breastmilk, but haven't heard anything about rebonding hair.

I think my baby is having nipple confusion. Please help..

He is now 2 months+. During confinement month, i latch him but it takes about 1 hr cos he tend to fall asleep during latching. But after he is satisfied, he will sleep. During second month, i latch him only in the morning and the rest of the time, i pump out.
I just report back to work this week and send him to nanny's house. So, i can only latch him around 8pm. These few days, when i latch him, i noticed he will not open his mouth big and wide for my nipple. Also during latching, sometimes he is like wanting to vomit then un-latch. After that, when i want to re-latch him again, it will be difficult and he will cry. One more thing i noticed is that until now he still cannot "clean-up" my breast although latching for about 1 hr. Cos everytime after 1 hour, when i express using breast pump, i still can express about 1-2oz. I thought as baby grow, they will be better in latching and in shorter time.

Any experience mummy here can teach me how to help my baby to overcome nipple confusion? Or should i just express my breastmilk and forgo latching? I really enjoy my baby latching and could not bear to stop.

Hi slee

What teats are you using for your bottles?maybe you can use one that is closer to the shape of your nipples?not sure if that helps.

i think latching on is important to help you maintain consistent ss. you may have to work harder to wake him up everytime he falls asleep at the breast, or even take to night time feeding.

Something from kellymom.com...hope thismight help...

Coaxing baby to the breast
General tips
Your goal is to coax baby to the breast. Do not attempt to force your baby to breastfeed. Forcing baby to the breast does not work, stresses baby, and can result in baby forming an aversion to the breast. As baby gets better at nursing and is able to get more milk via nursing, he will grow to trust that breastfeeding works and will have more patience when latching.

Wear clothing that allows very easy access to the breasts. Baby may get very impatient in the split-second it takes for mom to lift the blouse and undo the bra. Spend time, if possible, in a warm place that allows both mom and baby to be naked from the waist up.

Lots of skin-to-skin contact can help your baby nurse better and even gain weight faster. Keep your baby with you as much as possible, and give him lots of opportunities to nurse (even if you're not successful). Get skin-to-skin with him, first when he is sleepy, right after a bottle feed (or however you're supplementing). This way baby has the opportunity to sleep and wake up happily, skin to skin at mom's chest, and mom is right there to catch the earliest hunger cues. If baby moves toward the breast and then falls asleep before even mouthing the nipple, or after sucking twice, then these are positive baby steps, not failures. (Read more about kangaroo care or take a look at the book.)
Offer the breast often. Try breastfeeding in baby's favorite place, in his favorite position, in the bath, while walking around, while lying down, with baby upright, baby flat on his back, in his sleep, just as he is waking, any time baby looks as if he might be interested, or any other way you can think of, i.e. any time, anywhere.

Avoid pressuring baby to nurse. Offer in an ultra-casual way and pretend you don't mind if he refuses (easier said than done, but try not to show any frustration - your aim is to avoid pressuring baby to nurse). Don't hold the back of baby's head or push or hold baby to the breast. If baby pulls off the breast, then don't try to make him go back onto the breast at that time - simply try again later. If baby seems frustrated with your offering the breast, then turn the pressure down and simply make the breast available (lots of skin-to-skin!) without offering. It can be helpful to have lots of skin-to-skin time with baby where he is cuddled at the breast with no pressure to nurse - give control over to your baby, so that baby decides if and when to nurse and when to stop nursing.
Carry your baby close to you (a sling or other baby carrier can help with this). "Wear," carry, hold and cuddle your baby as much as possible; carry baby on your hip while doing other things, play with baby, and give baby lots of focused attention.

Sleep near your baby. If baby sleeps with you, you'll get more skin-to-skin contact, plus baby has more access to the breast (see this information on safe co-sleeping). If baby is not in the same bed, have baby's bed beside your bed or in the same room so that you can catch early feeding cues, breastfeed easier at night, and get more sleep.

Nipple shields can be helpful at times for transitioning baby to the breast. Talk to your lactation consultant about using this tool.
Comfort nursing is often the first to come, followed by nutritive nursing. Offer the breast for comfort any time you see a chance- at the end of a feeding when baby is not hungry, when baby is going to sleep or just waking up, when baby is asleep, and whenever he needs to comfort suck If your baby is actively resisting nursing, then try encouraging comfort nursing after baby is comfortable with skin-to-skin contact. After baby is willing to nurse for comfort, you can then proceed to working on nursing for "meals" as well.

You are working to seduce your baby back to breast. Again, coax, don't force!

Hi l'l CY,
Thanks. I think i might have stress my baby cos he was crying yesterday after latching for a while and refuse to latch again. Bf is really tough...

hi slee16,

nipple confusion is tough to handle. u must be patience and persistence. since u fix ur routine every evening latch on, when time up, u hold your bb, talk to bb say mama going to latch u...blar blar..

maybe for a start, u hold bb very close to ur breast, then slowly tickle bb to open mouth..choose a quiet cosy place to latch, with no other disturbance.

if bb start to cry, dont force, just relax talk to bb...try again. u have to give some time for bb to adjust and urself..dont push too hard.

ur anxiety and anger emotion will further caused your bb to 'reject' ur breast cos bb can sense the mother's mood...so relax, give time.

hi babyjan

heee...of course you can...are you working? full time or part time?

Another resource from the same website...
http://www.kellymom.com/bf/start/basics/latch-resources.html

the only problem you might face with a 6mth old is that they are notoriously distracted. with that, you might want to go to a quiet place to try latching her on the first few time. or try it at night. i find it way easier to nurse my little busybody at night, when he is sleepy and wants to snuggle.

Dont get discouraged if it is not working well. she might need sometime to get used to it. with bottles, bbs can watch the world and observe all that is going on around them with the bottle still in their hand, but not for bfg. so may seem more reluctant at first. no worries....if you persist, im sure she'll get the hang of it, and with nurse like a pro in no time.

Hi Lee Yan,

Thanks for advise. I will try few more days and see how. If really cannot, i will just express milk out. can't bear to see my baby cry.

I have another question:
Before coming back to work, i have freeze some of my breast milk in the fridge since end of May cos i thought i should keep some for backup. As my milk supply is only enough for 4 feeds out of 6 for my baby, nowadays after express the milk, i will keep them in the fridge but not freezer. Then bring to the nanny's house the next day or the next next day. Cos i heard it is ok to keep the milk in fridge for 48 hrs.

Now that it is already jul, and i heard milk in freezer can keep for only 2-3 months. In this case, should i start to give my baby milk in freezer so that come end jul, i do not have to throw the mil away. and then for the fresh one that i just express, i will freeze them.

Is this correct? Should i just freeze all my express milk and give the nanny the old one? or should i give the fresh one in the fridge? I am confuse.

slee16,

try longer but monitor any improvement. i couldnt remember how long i tried on my girl, but was really taxing and test my patience..eventually she was back on my breast..

first of all, u have to make sure when u keep in freezer, u have to store properly. meaning, is it deep in? freezer compartment always open and close?

ebm in freezer can store up to 6mths with proper storage.

my personal opinion, if i were you, i will give my bb at least 2x fresh ebm, the rest frozen ebm. Reason is fresh ebm is much nutritious then frozen, though frozen does contain the nutrients..