Breastfeeding Support Group

went ntuc on mon n saw Mamy Poko selling $17.20 until 13oct. anyone tried huggies comfort dry? wondering is it good or not?

dunno has any mums face the same thing as me. my boy already 6.5+mths.. 4wks ago he rejected frozen milk n have to give him fresh milk. then since last wk he seem to reject bottles. when offered him bottle he will just drink abit n then dun want already. believed he should be hungry since last feed was 3hrs ago. at first i tot he reject avent bottle so bot NUK to try. but he cry after sucking the NUK bottle n even refuse to drink. so now MIL been giving him 60-80ml of milk each time at short interval. sometimes MIL even have to feed using spoon. but when he saw me in the evening he happily latch on n drank whatever in my brs. he will not reject will i offer brs. yo.. headache... dunno will this be just a temporary thing? hope he will take milk from bottle again. i find my boy will develop strange things...got once he dun really like brs for 2wks. only latch on 5-10min n start to fuss. but now he can suck n suck... then he also dun really like porridge, only ate a few mouthful. he likes cereal though. so have not replaced milk feed by solid yet. any idea what other semi-solid can i gave my boy besides cereal n porridge.

Berry,
u r doing fine in bf... just feed on dd. last time my boy always latch on for v long.. each feed can last from 40min-1hr. then at night even worst as he want cluster feeding. so can feed him 1.5-2hrs non-stop. but after tat he will sleep for 4-6hrs without milk. yar, he poo v often in the first mth too.. as many as 5-6times a day. can tell u more than half of a day is spent on bf. but 1 thing i m confident that i have enough milk for him. true enough n he is on tbf till now. just hang on to it n situation will be better when bb is 2mths old.

Hi Stylobb,

Yah..bought 3 packs of nepia and 1 pack of Pet Pet. Still got 2 packs of nepia left on the shelves. Yesterday last day of promotion so got to rush down to get. Very tiring.

giggler
what course? I didn't sign up any courses during pregnancy except for a slimming package. Is this the one you referring to?

stylobb
most likely will be coming unless hubby got recall that day. okay, thanks in advance.
ha ha... you being ice-cream seller... you can just tell her, yeah it's ice-cream made from breastmilk ..

sahm
this shopping trip a bit disappoint, only got a blouse for myself, tried so many and none looks nice on me... me look like a giant now... nothing for Joel coz not enough time got to rush and reach home by 6.30pm for my expressing... Maybe next shopping trip hope to have more achievements.

my boy got knocks and falls a few times liao... now he will use his head to knock against the cupboard or object lightly first to test out whether it hurts. so cute..

mini
Me already 'broadcast' MP promo... hehe...cos me MP and Nepia fan mah.
My boy ah, so far has ok eating habits... drink milk and eat porridge and fruits. Only he fusses when he sleeps and now wakes up earlier becos of hunger... I also give up..
Btw the mummies are coming to my place in TPY, you wanna join us??? 09Oct, 2-5pm.

Jas,
Your boy so cute! Still can test test!

Hi Mini,
My girl uses Huggies Comfort Dry...so far so good. But we find a bit exp so changing to Drypers.

hi, mummies here

like berry, i just delivered last wk as well and need advice on breastfeedg too.

after my delivery, i had a bad headache and backache such tt i had to stop bfg 2 days after my delivery. i just resumed bfg on 29th but my bb gets quite impatient with my bm probably due to drinking of formula milk when i needed bedrest. thus, i had to supplement with formula but wld really like to increase my milk ss so tt i can give bb more milk.

i am hvg my confinement at my MIL's place and she is always commenting tt i dun hv enough milk when bb cries while i am trying hard to latch on. so, i try to let bb latch on when he is not so hungry hoping he can help to stimulate, then i pump out the rest to let him drink during next feed. do u think i can still make it to get my milk supply back?

thks.

Hi Jas,
Your boy so cute...we'll see him testing stylobb's furniture this sat then

Hi Littleprince,
Take your time for your supply to build up. You just delivered and it takes a while before supply builds up. Old folks are like that, they always worry that babies dun get enuf to drink. You should try to let your baby latch on as much as possible. That's the best way to stimulate milk, and cut down on formula. There's always a tendency to turn to formula when baby cries but really you need to latch on more to stimulate milk.

You will get your supply back. Dun worry. Don't stress yourself out too much and try to rest as much as possible. Bf is not easy, esp in the initial stages. needs a lot of patience as baby needs to be feed very frequently. Take care.

styloBB,
yar, u r the broast caster for Nepia n Mamy Poko always update us on the latest promo.
am amazed by u mommies stocking up on diapers. my boy uses diaper slow as he uses cloth nappy in the day. so most of the time only 1 diaper at night. then sun will be more as we brought him out. i only stock up 3packs of pp premium L size. intending to buy anr cheaper brand of L-size for daytime use. any recommendation?

good for you that ur boy din fuss when comes to eating. my boy seem like fussy eater. must b like his daddy

thanks for inviting but dun think i will be joining u all since my hubby got night duty on next thu n fri night. so i guess he will spend sat sleeping. i cant handle my boy alone as not much strength to carry him for so long.

mon_mon,
is huggies comfort dry better absorpant than drypers or r they almost the same? how abt the materials? is it similar to drypers?

mon_mon
is the huggies comfort dry with cotton covering? I am confused with the dry and comfort dry type.

mon_mon/masshiro
yeah lor, if pain he will cry a bit. cannot tahan him, like to use his head to knock against any object but lightly.

Hi Stylobb,
Sory..ya..next sat. Aiyo after give birth, the brain cells like die quite a lot leh..memory failing.

Hi Jas,
My boy always hit his head against my head/face when I carry him. I can already feel the pain. I wonder if he feels the pain also? He jerks his head very suddenly so the hit can be quite hard. Scared it will hurt him.

Stylobb,
U must be looking v young, if not pple wont ask u if u put ice cream in the cooler bag! Siow mei mei ah?

Jas,
'Glad' to hear that u r a giant....me too!dun come after me hor.......heheehhheeh.....Nowadays, pple always say they fat, big but in actual fact, they r not. Lyn is 1 eg. Saw her photo, no wah...........me genuinely giantic....always tell my friends tt in my next life, I want my height but pls spare me the frame n flesh!

Bbs r smart....they know how to 'test water', check for risk, n later also a drama king....u wait n see......v cute!

Berry,
So long as PD gave assurance that the eye discharge is ok, then dun be unduly worry lor. Just apply the saline diligently.

My girl has a red spot in her eye. PD said it is rupture of the vein........sound so scary rite? Afterall it is eye, dun play play. But she gave assurance it will go off say 3wks to 1mth times n true enuf, it disappeared when we almost forgot its existence!

LittlePrince,
I am in no position to advise on the bf part but do rest more..........ur headache n backache must not be taken lightly.......

Hi Berry, Stylobb is rite. You're doing fine. I used to feed my gal every 1-2 hrs for abt 15min each side. Use your little finger to get her off your breast after 15min. I think you'll get cracked nipple if you allow bb to suck for too long.

Hi mon, I'll check with my PD abt her poopoo schedule. Hopefully it's not my diet that caused constipation to bb. I can understand how you feel leh. I always feel very heartwarming when I reach home and my gal smiled her bo gek smile at me.
Wow, your mil is early in toilet training leh.

Hi jas, ya I'm referring to your slimming package. So have u start on it? Any result?

Hi littleprince, I think the best solution is to let bb latch on direct to incr milk ss? Don't listen to your mil abt ss not enough. I always one ear in and the other ear out when my mom or mil makes such remarks.

mini
I think we cannot tahan when they are on promo and we quickly buy esp for Nepia, cos at original price, it's too expensive. And MP is now on promo, quite worth to get. For me I dun like to change brands, and since I know my boy will be using, so I just stock up lor. But now a bit too much, so gotta stop...

sahm
Yah, I think I become obsessed liao... hehe... no lah, no lah, where got everyday, only three days (sound innocent!) in a work week... hehehehe...... yah lor Masshiro wants to check out my stock but I told her I kept some in the office...
Hello?!! Where got look young, my cooler bag says "Haagen Dazs" on the outside mah.... ok, ok, those people in the shops and shopping centres still call me 'Miss' but my neighbour's kids called me "Auntie" the other day.. I felt quite weird....
You are tall? More than 1.7m??

absent for one whole afternoon so many posting liao!!!

in short.

stylobb, tks for the invitation but cant make it on 9/10 cos me flying off to BKK on 10/10 - will be back on 13/10. My aunt staying there- hvnt visit her since i goten married n didnt go with my parents to c her all these while - hv to give this gathering a miss.

Jerald not gg cos he even tot he too can travel for free on SIA but NO NO he too young liao - maybe next yr.

Did i saw sahm mention my name!! me not giant mah??!! u saw my pixs on jerald's photo pages rite?? u shd hv c my size pre-preg dan u know the difference hah!!

thks for all yr kind words, i am trying hard to ignore my MIL's comments on top of my aches to feed bb .. hopefully, my supply will increase ..

Feeling very sad n loss of words now....MIL for the 2nd time, burnt all 4 of my Avent milk Bottles while sterilizing them (the last time, 5 of them).......it is so dangerous too...

How would u all react?

sahm, BURNT? how did that happen? She left them boiling for too long? If this is already e second time, maybe u want to consider using a steam steriliser, cause it sounds v dangerous to me.

Berry,
I am at a loss of words....it's her reckless character...left them boiling on the stove n went to sleep!

Once, the 'gas' delivery man came with a filled gas tank. Went to kitchen n exclaimed tat it's so stinko with gas! MIL earlier try to ignite but no gas, so just ignore the whole stove, nvr turned off.....the gas inhalation, all tks to her.........

Steamer for her? Think she will forget to add water n the whole thing gone again!

Hi Berry

Congrats on your newborn. Just to encourage you, my gal also had a lot of discharge from one eye initially after birth. Was quite irritating but found out from a booklet about newborn babies given by PD that its one of the common features that occur. Its caused by blockage of the tear duct. Its harmless and does not affect vision. Usually, will clear itself in 2-3 weeks. I was told by my PD to massage occasionally around the bb's lacrimal duct region of affected eye. It worked.

littleprince

Congrats to you too. Don't be anxious or stressed about the milk supply...just remember that supply is based on demand. The milk will come in as long as you let bb suckle when hungry. Meanwhile, eat well..fish..papaya...milk....etc...warm soups and hot beverages just before bfeeding also helps rate of flow at the start...gd luck!

pringles, thanks for your assurance, now I feel slightly better. I shall massage her tear duct and hopefully it improves asap

sahm, oh dear, thats really bad! Most home accidents are caused by such negligence, its esp bad when you have a baby around
How about getting your hubby to talk to her seriously about this?

Wow, so many postings.

SAHM
Ai yoh, what ur MIL did is so dangerous. I think its better tt u get hubby to talk to her abt it.

Little prince
U need to put in more effort, coz u offered the bottle to ur bb too early. For a start, let bb latch on as often as possible. If bb dun want, u must pump often to stimulate milk ss again. Can also try taking fenugreek, papaya and fish head soup and oats to increase ss.
Try lying down to bf with a pillow behind ur back. Its my fav position, I always use it when I am at hm.

Berry
I think most of the gals hv answered ur qns. Basically, in the initial 6 wks, its better to feed by demand. Once ur milk ss is established at 6-8 wks, feeding will be easier. My boy used to comfort suck a lot, but after he reach abt 2 mths ++, he stopped, coz more interested in other things. For the poo poo part, its normal for bf bbs to poo after every feeding, or up to a few times per day.

Stylobb
Wow, u can become promoter for Nepia and MP.
Ivan is cutting his top 2 teeth. so funny, bottom 2 teeth still not all out and he is cutting another 2.

Need some help. Hope someone could help me.

Which is the correct way to thaw bm. I read diff books n it gave diff ans.

I) To put in the refridgerator (at most 24hrs) then warm it
or
II) Take out fm the freezer and warm it.

2. After warming up the bm, how long can it be left at rm tempreture.

3. Life span of bm tat is being kept in normal freezer. 2 weeks or 3mths?

HI mommies
So many postings
Hi sahm
Wow your mil so dangerous. Anyone at home to help her out or remind her. So oyu have to buy new bottles again.

Hi desert
my boy also still sleeping with me. I uderstadn you are reading some books on bfing? Any good books to recommend? Your boy teething already? Does he bite you? Mine will leh. Though I warn him , sometimes when he fell asleep when feeding and he forget and bite me, so painful. Wonder how some people can bf bb for so long.

Hi Berry and Little prince
Congrats to both of you with your sweet hearts. I think berry you have got all the assurane that your girl is ok hee. Desert is right, I think is good to feed on demand until your supply is established.
Little prince, don;t give up. feed your bb on demand. Bfing for the initial months is not easy. Don't feel stress ok. Like what they say drink more that red dates water adn also papapya soup. Rest well.

Hi Val
I know what you mean different books tend to say different thigs. but that is wha tI practise:
1) I put ebm in the fridge for not more than 48 hrs. If bb wants to drik just take out and warm.
2) I read that can put in the freezer for 3 months but I din't keep so long at most about 2months.
3) If put in the freezer, you can take out from freezer a day before to put in the fridge so it is dethaw then you can warm up. The other method I read is to put under running tap water to defroze.

Hi mini
My boy also rejects bottle till now. So when I am working he won't drink milk at all.

moon

thks for the encouragement and tips, i tried pumping the first time and got only 10ml .. yest nite tried again and got 20ml, this morning tried again and got almost 50ml already .. glad tt its slowly increasing tnough my breasts do not feel engorged .. also, i hv started to let bb suckle my breasts first before giving fm when he starts getting frustrated ..

think the only position tt is good for me currently is when i am standing and carrying him to feed .. my sitting down seems to be diffc for him, will try more positions as my ss gets more established ..

hope i can cont'd to do better ..

moon
Yes, you can. Did chris send you the details? If not, let me know...
Your boy still does not drink when you are working? O dear... but he looks so tough.. he is taking porridge?

littleprince
Dun give up!

moon,
what does ur boy eat/drink when u r away since he dun want to drink from bottle? is it losing weight? think my boy really reject bottle. he will only drink from bottle in the wee hrs. my boy stay with MIL in the wkday n he can drink 150ml of ebm from bottle when he wake up for night feed. but it is so hard to feed him in the day. i fed him bottle this morning as need to pump out tat milk for early tmr morning. he cried n cried. end up have to use spoon
offered him brs after i pump milk n he happily latch on! aiyo...
my mum commented my boy looks thinner this wk
he also fussy abt food.. really dunno how.

Hi mini
My boy eat cereals and porridge and fruit when I am away. Though he does not eat a lot too.I will latch him on when I am back. he is not losing weight but his weight seem to have stayed stagnant. Not increasing much like last time. When I went for jab and when he fell sick we bring him see dr, the pd said ok, he is growing well. No worries. Maybe when he go for jab, you can check with the dr or you can weigh him yourself. My pd said sometimes babies like that. If they are hungry, they will eat or drink.

Hi stlyobb
I did not receive . Can send me.thank you.
moon

Wow....so many postings over the weekend!

Sahm,
Your MIL very scary leh. Maybe she can set an alarm so that even if she falls asleep still can wake up in time to "rescue" the bottles.

Stylo,
Talking about diapers...I bought 2 84-packs of Drypers on Sat. JL got 10% off plus 15% off for Women weekly readers....very cheap..only $15+ per pack.

Hi Mini,
I'm also not very sure what's the difference. MY SIL uses Huggies and she told me Dry Comfort is better cos softer. I immediately start on Dry Comfort, didn't try Dry. Now switching to Drypers cos cheaper and bb doesn't have any problem with it.

Hi Berry & Prince,
Must persist......just ignore those comments about not enough ss. Think all elderly say the same thing....I believed if you ask all of us here, either our MIL or moms have made such comment before.

Giggler,
When I checked with my PD, he gave her the stimulant for us to insert into her anal paasage to stimulate her to poo. He also recommended Frisovon, a powder for bb with constipation...it has more fiber. But we tried not to use the stimulant cos scare bb will rely on it too much. Frisovon doesn't seems to help. My friend suggested to give her Gripe Water and also some juice. After giving her Gripe Water and diluted pear juice for 1-2 wks, she poo after 6 days..that was Thur. Then this Sat she poo twice. Hopefully, she will poo again today. I also changed my diet to include more fruits....at least one type of fruits after every meal. Also hope your girl will poo regularly soon.

Little prince
Tt's gd news. "jia you", must continue to pump and latch on and ur ss will increase further.

Moon
Most bf bks more or less the same, I borrowed all of them from the library. My fav one in the one from American society of Pediatrics. I intend to borrow the bf bk by Dr Sears, but hv not reserve it yet.
My boy sleeps with me too, he is still cutting his 4 teeth, still not fully out. Yup, he bit me while dozing off, I think twice so far. Really painful.
but like tt difficult to tell them no, coz they do it unconciously.
Are u still expressing 2 times per day? What do u do with the EBM since LH is not drinking? Mix into cereal? I dun intend to express when I go back to wk. I intend to drop my boy's afternoon bf in 1 nov, then drop either morining/evening fd in 1 dec. If my ss is still fine or my boy is ok with my ss, I will continue to bf.

Mini/Moon
My boy also dun put on much wt now, but its normal, coz they are too active now.

Anyone knows where I can get Medela breast pump parts? Just notice a crack on the funnel of my Medela Mini Electric.

BErry, Moon, Desert, Mon_mon
Last nite went back to IL's pl for dinner. All except me (2 engrossed with my 2 kids)smell plasticky smell frm the kitchen n kept asking yyyy. She relate n revealed further that it was the neighbour that came to wake her up!! Oh mine....Dun think she can be 'frightened' n 'more on her guard'...afterall this is the 2nd time!

Hb talked to her? Only thing triggered him is 'maybe shd bring our girl back....'

Mon_mon, the alarm clk is a gd idea....hmmm...but hor she sure scare that my girl will be awakened by it n she got to get her back to sleep again

scary........unbelievable too!

masshiro
my boy also, so must be more careful and alert to avoid his sudden attack...

sahm
I won't come after you, don't worry. You giantic also... no sounds like leh... although I haven't met you before but my image of you is those of slim type, definately not like me like that... lots of extra fats hanging on me...

wow your MIL so absence-minded? it's so dangerous. like what other mummies suggest, get your hubby to talk to her.

giggler
me not started on the slimming package yet. will start when stop BF in about a month or two.

valencia
1) me put EBM in fridge for not more than 48hrs
2) frozen EBM I make sure they are less than 1mth old - about 3weeks.
3) I will take out frozen EBM and put in the fridge the night before so that it is dethaw when used in the morning.
4) warm up EBM can keep for up to two hrs (keep constant warm)

mon_mon
you can get medela breast pump spare parts from Mums and Babes located at Plaza Singapura. I got mine from there.

Mon_MOn,
Littleprince mentioned in another thread tis ' believe u can try to purchase yr spare parts fm Moms & Babes at Plaza Singapura or Novena Square as they are the distributor for Medela products ..'

Hope tis helps.........

Hi Jas,
Think we posted concurrently on the Medela query! Paisay....I so kpo. I happened to bump onto 1 of the thread while I scrolled dn the topics. Hehehehe...Jas, u were also the one agreeing with Littleprince that PS is the pl to get those spare parts then.

Jas....no...I am huge frame n fat. Think U r nowhere n nothing compared to me. Later me going for my accupuncture slimming appt.

sahm
no problem, yap agree with you. there's such things as accupuncture slimming? Got lots of needles poking on the body? Pain or not? Is it effective? How much you pay for each session and how many sessions to go through?

Hi Berry and Littleprince,
congrats on the arrival of your little bundles of joy. Like what the other mummies say, the initial part of breastfeeding is not easy but it all pays off. My son used to latch on and on and on, worse thing was he sleeps very little. Think stylobb had the same prob. but it all will be ironed out. I'm still latching my boy now. Initially plan to bf for 6mths. now 6 mths juz zoom past, and since he's refusing bottle, thinking of doing it for 1 yr.
Regarding the discharge from eye thingy, my boy had the same prob when he was about one or two months old. PD just advused to massage tear duct for 3 times daily. Within a week, it cleared up.

Jas,
Yes, there is n it is getting more popular. TCM practice reaches out to younger generation liao. 2 personal accounts opened me up to TCM.

After my labour, I had facial palsy n wat my neuorologist did was wait n see, prescribed steriods. 2wks later he shall be able to tell me if I belong to the 90% of pple with permanent damage. Issnt that scary? So I resort to accupuncture after reading up alot frm the web. Glad tat I made the rite move, I recovered.

Another eg, there was a free trial course at Ma Guang many years back. I opt for it n it did show gd result! My waistline frm XL went dn to M!

I dare not take any pills, cant take hard selling frm beauty salons, too lazy to exercise. Accupuncture can help to adjust/correct our internal chaos, yielding a healthier system. The needle poking is not painful at all but the tummy massage is scary! I imagine myself a 'sow' lying on the bench, being squeezed so hard! hahahahahah.......

I am currently looking into this 10 course package of $380~$650.

Need to check with you whether you have started your babies on cereal? My bb is 4 months and 1 week old. As she's still on total breastmilk, didn't intend to start cereals til she reaches 6 months but PD said her weight gain is quite little for the last month and asked me to try cereal already. Her weight is 5.77kg at 4 months. PD says she should have reached 6kg.

Quite unwilling since bb's skin has been quite sensitive and been rashing quite often ... heard that if we start solids later, there will be less chance for her to develop an allergic reaction.

If I were to start her on 1 feed of cereal, then do I reduce one milk feed or still continue with her 5 feeds?

Do you think my bb is drinking too little? She's drinking 170ml per 4 hours in the day and has a total of 5 feeds (out of which 2 are direct latch). I've just increase her feed to 180ml today ... will have to see if she will finish her milk.

sahm
sounds very effective leh... but you need to control diet as well right?

absolut
you can try to mix some plain rice cereal into the milk feed and feed through bottle. I started with this when my boy is about 5mths old, and start feeding him bananas and apple using spoon. It's only when my boy is about 6.5 - 7mths old that I gave him porriage/cereal as meal replacements.

Hi Jas,

Want to check out the rice cereal as my baby coming to 5 mths. May not start until he 5.5 or 6 mths, depending on his appetite. Which brand is good to start with? Can put rice cereal in breastmilk and mix, will it dissolve? And need bigger teat? Sorry so many questions. Thanks

sahm/jas/mon mon/masshiro
Did not post cos on leave, brought my boy for his nine-month assessment. Everything is fine, he is 9.3kg, little weight from the last time but has grown to 75 cm which the nurse said is considered tall..in her words, 'everything is big'.. but we dun find him tall. Anyway he has been rather fussy the last two days, we also dun know why, refuses to let us out of his sight... I think my hb's patience level finally hit the limit... (mine long gone eons ago!)

mya
Oooh...right..my boy hardly slept last time. But in terms of eating he's ok.

moon
If you are reading this, I'll pass you the instructions tomorrow.

absolut
When your PD said gaining little weight, is her present weight considered ok?

masshiro
Heinz is recommended but I bot Nestle...so far ok, of course I still make porridge for him...think he is so hungry so making noise whole day, just now I fed him quite a big bowl of porridge and half an apple and he guai gaui finished everything..he seems perpetually hungry...but he is noti last two days, kept crying and wanting us to be physically around him... after looking after him for three days, hb and I are exhausted... hehe..

sahm
Hello... will reply to your email later.
Going to stadium now with hb/bb...

Stylobb,
Did u bring Jesse to the PD u mentioned ard ur hse for his assessment?

My boy only went to the 1st few rd of assessment, thereafter didnt go as we found the check so superficial, the waiting was so long 1hr+..........maybe my pd not as gd? Now found my girl is so petite, may have some concern abt her rate of growth/development.

Absolut,
My girl is 3mths old n just went for her 5-in-1 jab n found she is underweight...25% percentile only!! She is mere 5.3kg whereas her bro at tis time was abt 6.5kg+.........understand ur concern...me concerned too. She is on 120ml per 3~4hrs feed. Her bro was 100ml per 2.5hrs feed.

I wouldnt start my bb on cereal any earlier than at least 5mths tho ur pd recommended. Think ur bb's milk intake is not too bad leh....Is ur gene of small built? Maybe can boost up the frequency, lower the ml? say every 3hrs 120ml~150ml?

Masshiro,
I add 1 scoop of Nestle rice cereal into FM for my boy in the usual Avent teat bottle. No need enlarged teat. U may try cereal frm FrisoXXX, 2~3scoops (spoon to mouth feed)...I started on every wkends frm the 5th mths onwards......

hi hi mums..

last posting..i mentioned that my baby boy only latch on for 15-20 mins then fall asleep....due to that...he is not full and tend to have very short nap....sigh..i afraid he is always getting the foremilk with just such a short feeding time...wat to do ?

another thing...due to the bf, he poo a lot...with that his buttocks has rashes....i put nappy cream everytime i change diapers...but the rashes still there...any advice