Breastfeeding Support Group

Hi styloBB, you've got mail!

Hi Jas, I remembered you signed up some course during your pregnancy rite? So is it useful?

Hi Stylobb,
Can SMS me your address? Sorry, I can't seem to find it. Thanks. Like giggler, been so busy with work lately, and still so tired from my flu. Now my hubby is down. good that gathering postponed to next week, hopefully we'll all be well by then.

hi giggler,
Glad to know that your MIL doesn't have TB. Now you can relax.

Just brought my baby for his 5-in-1. Delayed by 2 weeks cos he got flu. Good baby, didn't flinch at all when dr. jab him. Maybe he taurus, so got "cow skin"..very thick thin. Dr. said he got high threshold of pain. Hope he'll be like that also for future jabs. The next jab at 6-mth. Can actually do at 5th mth, but dr advised to do later, so can achieve more during the devt assessment.

His weight gain not much, only 6.3kg and length 62cm. Think average.

Looking forward to seeing your chubby baby at Stylobb's place.

sahm
Sorry, sorry I re-read your posting and realised I misunderstood what you mean when you asked me 3 packs enuf... you wanted to tell me you have 3 packs while I thot you asked me if you should buy more 3 packs..hehe...thus I said it depends on how much stock you...er..... I beta not reveal my 'stock level' now....

jas
You coming for gathering or not? If you come, I can show you the size and pass you sample... no problem.... try first before buying.

Hi Masshiro, I was very happy when I rec'd my mil's results. It's really a relief. My gal still cried a bit when she took her jab early this mth. Going for her jab again this Fri. Hope to see you next week too.

Hi styloBB, waiting for your mail.....

hi Stylobb,
I'm better from flu..but not my supply. Only managed 60ml just now...bad bad bad..now my boy can drink like 150ml, and the poor mum's supply dropping drastically.

Hi Giggler,
See you next week. Gotto bring my doggie for grooming before going over to Stylobb's place. In her area also.

Share with you the joke of the day. As usual I took the MRT to work today. When I step into the train, a lady gave up her seat to me. I was stunned for 5 seconds...don't know how to react man! So automatically I just mumble a thank you and took the seat. My goodness....I must still looked pregnant when my bb is already 4mths old!! I was trying very hard not to laugh at myself.

Hi Giggler,
You are back! How's your bb?

Hi Stylo,
I'm keen to join the gathering...haven't meet you ladies before...no face to a name. You all sounds like you have gathered quite a few times already. Which area do you put up? Is it TPY?

hi Sahm,
You very funny....so we are always on your mind
You buy diapers at sales only so I put usual price high high so forever on sales...hehehe.

H Stylobb,

Yup..Annie's. You near her place? I need to buy diapers again...but now nepia no sale. Any brand now got sale that I can try out?

Hi Mon Mon,
Haha..imagine if you decline the seat..she'll be so embarassed. I also still have a 3-mth tummy...but usually I cover with cardigan or jacket, so not so obvious. It's tough trying to shed those fats...must learn from Stylobb. She even slimmer than pre-preggie.

Do join the gathering. It's more fun when you can put a face to the nick.

Hi Jul & Masshiro,
hehehe....yahlor....if I don't take the seat...the lady and me will be more mah loo right? Plus, I was stunned that i don't know how to react.

Maybe today I'm wearing a straight cut dress with a little tummy protruding out that's why give wrong impression

Masshiro/mon mon
HAHAHA!! So funny leh, it's good that mon mon took it, just to be gracious. Nowadays I give up my seat too, but must be careful, only those with really obvious tummies...
the other time I gave up my seat to this preggie,she saw my cooler bag, she asked me if I have ice-cream inside,I said no lah, it's my breast milk....

Masshiro
Yeah, the place quite near... cannot reveal here... hehe.... I'll email you...
Slim - wah, beta dun 'promote' me so much, scully they all disappointed when they see me!!
NEPIA is on sale at HDB, can buy!

MP also on promo at HDB at $17.20 for the diapers, can buy too!!!

mon mon
Come lah, click on my nick.. and I'll email you the details.

Jul/girl/lyn_tan
You wanna join?

I think I was too kan jeong, I mean promo is on at NTUC...
the MP one is till 13 Oct....

sahm
You think of me when buying diaper? Hehe, so funny...looks like I become diaper mama ....

masshiro, guess after popping sure got one 'down period' depression or sickness due to many factors - hd my flu some wks bad - so heartache to pour away all my ebm
hope u get well soon.

mon_mon, u r not alone leh - but me not so 'luckly' cos no one hd since offer me seat after i pop?!? must work triple hard to get rid of that fake tummy!?!

stylobb - seems like u all hd many gatherings going on eg. hunt for sushi...now this one - all confuse liao??? tat's why i jus read the thread without posting.

Hi styloBB, I'll open my mail later.

Hi mon, my bb doing ok, just that she has not poo for 3 days liao. Gave my PD a call and she said that there's nothing to worry if she's still active. Come to the gathering lah, it's my first time also mah.

Hi Masshiro, how abt Huggies? I think they have sales at NTUC.

Hi lyn, got hunt for sushi event meh? I also interested in that one leh.

Thanks gals,

Dun think I'll use MP yet. Too expensive. Probably I'll buy pet pet. I still regret never take the last 2 packs of nepia..

Hi Lyn,
I very scared to get sick, cos I worried abt milk supply. I also realise when got menses, supply also tends to be affected. I continue pumping even when I'm sick. Think ok to feed baby cos can pass them the antibodies. I can't bear to pour away ebm. Too precious, also not enuf.

Come join us for the gathering. Fun to have so many babies together.

Hi STylobb,
Need us to bring anything for the gathering?? Let us know what we can do to help. Tks.

HI Giggler,
Talking about poo....my bb more headache....the last time she poo was 5 days ago and that was after 4 days without any poo. MIL, hubby and me very worried. If she don't poo again today, gotta give her stimulant to poo again. really don't want to give her that cos worry she might depend on it to poo.

lyn/giggler
Where got hunt for sushi event???

Masshiro
You can stock up Nepia when you come to TPY... on promo till 13 Oct...
Food - no need lah, I just prepare simple stuff, haven't decided what to get yet...
Haven't had a good nite's sleep over the past few days cos jesse kept making noise and does not go back to sleep till we pat him or give dummy...

mon mon
Sounds so chaaam... hope she will poo soon.
OK, I check my mail afterwards.......

Masshiro
Sorry, I'm really blur today. I mean Nepia's on promotion but I dun know until when, I can check out for you tomorrow. They usually have stock at the NTUC at HDB Hub.

giggler,stylobb i oso duno, so many gathering till i lose track liao. maybe it's in other thread - sorry for confusion.

masshiro, i pour away cos me afraid the medication no gd for bb.

Stylo, thanks for the invitation, but think I have to give this gathering a miss cos my boy is taking his 4-mth injection and my parents don't want me bringing him around when he might get a fever after jab. U girls enjoy yourself... busy today... no time to read postings. will come back if I can.

Hi Jul,
My girl taking her 4-mth jab next week as well.

Stylo,
Thanks for your concern..my girl finally poo today. MIL informed us. These days whenever she poo,its like a big celebration of all of us...PHEW

Hi Stylobb,
Poor thing. What's this dummy thing you give Jesse. Is it something for him to hug? Yah..sometimes wish that the bed is bigger can let baby sleep with us. Easier to pat like that. But quite dangerous leh.

Is the nepia promotion on at the other NTUC outlets? I will go buy if it is. I scared TPY no stock also by next Sat. Thanks for checking out for me.

Hi Lyn,
I always tell dr that I want medicine that's bf safe. But of course can avoid, I try not to take. I panic at the rate my boy wipes out my bm stock...stock maybe can last only 1 more day. sigh.

Hi Mon Mon,
good..your girl finally poo. Although everyone says that it's normal for baby not to poo for few days, but can understand that as parents we still tend to worry.

Hi Jul,
Yah..think you better let your baby rest after the jab. Safer for him. Can join future gatherings. If I were you, I would skip also.

hi hi mums..

it me again to ask for advice...

how often to feed the baby ? how long ?

my 2 weeks old boy often latch on for 15-20 mins then fall asleep..is he getting enough milk ?

any special diet for good breast milk ?

expecting_mum aka adeline

Hi mon, my gal finally poo according to my mom. And she pooed so much that my mom got to change the bedsheet. Wonder if this is consider constipation.

Hi adeline, congrats! I always feed on demand since bb is born. That is, feed only when she cries for milk. I guess it's ok for bb to latch on for 15-20 min. He'll know if he gets enough milk.

Mon Mon,
U R NOT ALONE!!!! WAT A COINCIDENCE!

2day went marketing.....met 1 young mum with her son. Excitedly we waved at each other n she YELLED across 'Ni hai mei you sen ah?' (havent given birth ah?) Oh NO, how embarrasing/mah loo mannn...............my gal is 3mth old!!!! N imagined those stall pple staring at me, they remember I gave birth liao....most know that I buy meat/fish/veg all for my ah boy, often have small talk. Some grinning n puzzled!Oh mine...........think I want to try accupuncture tummy slimming. chaaamm lah!

This mama also shared that she intend to tender n be SAHM. Frm November, she is sending her son to Julia Gabriel school, on top of her Shichida class for her son now.

On the way back, I ponder again, as a SAHM, am I doing enuff for my kids, besides gaining tummy, comfy enuff for my kids to lean on?

Diaper Mama (stylo)
Y not u have diapers' party during ur gathering? something similar to tupperware party?
Work out something with May frm Nepia.....hehehhe

Hahahahah Mon Mon,
U dare mark up price for those imported diapers.....many suay kuan Kiasu mummies here u know? Me 1st one

sahm
You finally appeared!! So paiseh ah, they ask you if you have delivered? Hehe...
Sell Nepia at home ah, sounds funny!!! Anyway I will stock up more MP cos it's on promo, only $17.20.. you wanna buy or not? ... I thot I saw S and M at NTUC...

Masshiro
Hehe...dummy is actually short for pacifier...! Hb thinks he is getting to reliant on it. He will bawl but once you put it in his mouth, he will be appeased. Sigh...dun know whether to continue to let him use. Sleep on our king-sized bed, dun want lah... we already trained him to sleep in the cot....
Nepia, should have it at other outlets... where do you usually get yours?

mon mon/sahm
Actually I'm curious as to how the Korean diapers look like, mon mon, you have sample or not?
About the gathering, the other mummies usually meet monthly, but me too lazy and usually their places rather far for me to go and carry jesse all the way... but this month, I volunteered my place cos the mummy that we are supposed to visit can't make it.

mon mon
Tell you something funny, last weekend my boy was sitting there playing, then I heard a fart and bad smell, pulled his diaper and saw a bit of shit, I carried him up and let him sit on potty, wow, he shit out so much! Still can smile at me somemore when doing his biz...poor mummy trying to ward off the stench!!

Adeline
I fed on demand lor, but usually about 1.5-2 hours interval. He would take 15 mins each side. Take note of growth spurt or cluster feeding, that is when bb will demand to be fed more frequently. Offer him the breast when he wants to drink.
Good breast milk? I feel sufficient rest and a good appetite would help.

Ladies, I just delivered my baby last week and am trying to establish my BF, I really need help/advise!

How often do newborn babies (1 week old) need to feed? My baby started off only needing to bf 15 min on each side and that lasts her for 2-3 hours. But since 1-2 days ago, she seems to need to feed more and more. My LC advised me to feed her 20-25 min on one side first to empty the milk (so she will also get the hindmilk), then switch her over to the other side, and she will prob nurse for another 10-15 min. But she seems to need so much more than that- she wanted to be nursed every 2 hrs or so last night, and each time up to a total of an hour. She seems to be unsatiated, and I dont tihnk its lack of my BM, cause after she drifts off to sleep I can still squeeze out droplets of bm if I want to.

So, how often is considered normal for newborns her age? How long exactly should I let her nurse? I don't want to nurse her for comfort for many reasons, and super sore nipples is one fo them. But yet, I want to make sure that I'm not depriving her of what she needs to eat. So how to tell whther she is really hungry?

Also, how many poo diapers a day is not too much? She is feeding very often, and she poos almost after every feed (which is every 2-3 hours), should I be worried?

I know I can go online and find some related info, but I have no time to do that, so I'll really appreciate any advise given, thanks in advance!

Berrywife
First, I like to offer my congrats! Finally after all your postings, you delivered! So glad for you!

I hope I can answer some of your queries, I believe the other mummies here will be glad to help.
- Actually for nbs on tbf, feeding on dd is encouraged. Dun start thinking about when was last feed and how come she wants to drink again? Offer her breast whenever is needed.
- I think each side should be 15-20mins, at least that was from my own experience. But let's hear from other mummies... cos my bb quite joong, after 15 mins he will stop and I would give him the other side. Try to unlatch by putting your little finger between your nipple and bb's mouth.
- FYI I used to nursed my boy every 1.5-2 hours so it's alright.
- I think for nbs, should be 8 diapers a day. It's normal to poo often, dun worry.
I try and go back to search for more info for you, ok, dun worry, you are doing fine!

Hi Giggler,
From what I read, as long as the poo is sound, its not consider constipation. My girl only poo every 4-6 days so we very worried. I actually read so much about constipation from the web.

My girl also poo today...after 5 days!

Sahm,
Wow today got a lot of coincidence! Giggler's and my girl finally poo today. You and me got mistaken for being pregnant. Must go buy Toto

Stylo,
You got mail again. Maybe I'll bring some of the diaper samples that my SIL brought back to the gathering, provided MIL has not used them yet.

Your boy very cute leh....can still smile while poo poo. My girl usually have squeeze like hell even though her poo is soft.

stylobb, thanks for your reply and assurance, I'm doing my best to establish bf, I finally understand how tough it can be! But still, will try to hang on to TBF for now

BTW,

Berrywife
Ok, I checked.
If bb falls asleep after feeding one side, just leave it. Feed her the other side at next feeding(or I think you can express).
If you find brs engorged, express and store the excess bm.
Take note there may be growth spurt at 6 weeks, and again at 3 months, bb will demand for more.
The more bb suckles, the more your body will produce as the brain sends the message to body.
You also need to drink more water.
If you have sore nipples, you can use your bm to dab it. I used the purelan cream the last time.
B/feeding is indeed not smooth sailing for everyone, but as mummies, we try our best yah?
I think after a while, the feeding schedule becomes more fixed... I used to wake up thrice at nite till morn to feed bb..but the good thing in giving direct is no need to prepare milk and sterilise bottles!
One mummy told me when I said I felt very tired feeding that at any time in the nite, all around the world, many mummies are also up feeding their bbs so you are not alone!

styloBB, wow, thanks for all this info!! I like what you said about other mummies all around the world feeding their precious baby at any time of the night. Very true indeed, and very heartwarming to think of that.

Stylobb,
Jesse sure is cute...smiling along as he poo! Like mon Mon's gal, my gal will 'squeeze' hard n cry when she poo, usually during her milk time. Got input then must have output? Fussy, once poo must change immediately. Once release the diaper tapes, she keeps quiet liao.

got 3pk of M PP n 2 pk of M Nepia.....dun think want to stock up Mp liao.

Mon MOn,
Ur girl constipates or poo after days....can feel your 'joy' when she finally poo! My boy used to poo 5Xs per day, shiong, kept changing his diapers n sure was messy. He was then abt 9,10mths? Think teething period.......bowel tends to be little watery n more often. I was so concerned y he was as such n PD replied '5Xs per day better than constipate for a wk!' Think poo too often n constipation r equally of concern!

Berry,
How r u? Remember to lie dn as often as u can. Keep ur posture right to avoid backache, yah?

Congrats..........Faye gd girl?

I am a new comer. Just gave birth last month. Have been experiencing some difficulties in breastfeeding. Currently, I can only express out about 2oz after 2 to 3 hours interval. Few weeks back, at least still can express out 3 oz but still can't meet my baby's demand....I do not wish to give up breastfeeding but it's so depressing to see so little milk and my baby now already drinking about 4oz every 2-3 hour interval......if I latch him on, he will feed for nearly one hour and wake up every 1-2hour...what can I do? Can I still increase my milk flow?

Hi cFaith,
If you are expressing on top of latching on....2-3oz is not that bad. Usually your milk supply will be alot while your body is trying to establish the supply. So once that's over, it will drop quite a bit but will increase over time as demand increases. Try to latch him on for most feeds as they are better at clearing the breast so your body knows you need more milk and will increase "production"
To have to feed every 1-2hrs for a one month old is very common...I remember I just do nothing but feeding and changing diapers all the time. If you still feel your ss is low, try taking oats. I take that for breakfast daily...think it helps.

cFaith & Berry,
You may like to read up on the points that Shook posted some time back by looking at the "Archive through September 23, 2004". There's one post that is VERY long...very interesting info about breastfeeding. Hope it helps.

Hi Sahm,
Yeah...poo too much we worry, don't poo also worry. *sigh* Many things to worry for bb.

Think my girl is starting to recognise me as her mommy, someone important in her life. Yesterday, when I reach my MIL's place, MIL was carrying her and I kinda say hello to her and I walked into the kitchen. Then I hear her crying cos think she can't find me. So I went back in to the living room and she immediately give me that wide smile when she see me again. Aiyo so heartwarming. Finally, my hardwork pays off.

Think I agree with you on bb taken care by MIL tends to be toilet trained earlier. yesterday MIL told me once she found out my girl poo, she took off her diapers and put her on the potty to continue poo. My girl only 4th months old and already started her training

Jas,
How was your shopping ytd? Got anything for Joel? For urself? Or ended up window shopping only?

U were saying that U got weight to shed, so it may not be a gd idea to buy any baju for urself now? I always tell myself dun buy first, got so much weight to lose.............ended up my wardrobe is kinda no new stock for so long cos ALWAYS got weight to lose! hahahaha

Mummies, gd day! TGIF

Morning Mon Mon,
Gd thing abt 'old' pple looking after our bbs are the toilet training part....most obvious part. And they r really 'on' n effective! Hehehehe.....but watch out the crawling/walking training part ah. They see the bb bump, trip, they will quickly 'scoop' them up n v protective.

Ya, our bbs definitely will recognise us by look, voice n smell! Natural bond? More heartwarming moments she is lining up for u Mon Mon................v sweet n u really appreciate this precious amazing creation!

Hi Sahm,
Think my MIL is Ok with the bumping and tripping. When she was looking after my SIL's boy, I will see that he has "bah loo gu" at times due to his falls when we was crawling and walking. Hope my girl have chance to go through that so she can learn faster.

I may drop by TPY NTUC during lunch time...any special promo to look out for?

mon, my boy also recognises me and his daddy liao... he fusses whenever we are ard and other people are carrying him! The minute he is handed over to us, he keeps quiet and starts smiling. Hehehe... also starting to throw tantrums in front of me cos he knows I will sayang him... aiyoh...

Think no point potty-training so early... nature wasn't designed in this way... first develop muscles from head down and then outward towards fingers and toes.... bowel and bladder control will come last no matter what. Haven't heard of any studies showing early training actually makes them control their bowel and bladder sooner!

Jul,
Since MIL insisted on training her, just let her do it lor....don't think I'll do it at home anyway. I rather let her train then to spend time trying to convince her that it doesn't make any diff. You know old people always got some sets of beliefs they had when they bring us up.

jul
I went to NTUC and saw the MP offer. Unit price varies, depending on which size you intend to buy... M48/L40/XL36..

Masshiro
So how, did you manage to grab the Nepia at NTUC HDB Hub??

sahm
I was raring to go NTUC this morning but scully mil lent hb the car so he gave me a lift to work... so no diaper viewing today!!! Saaaddd..

sahm, I'm slowly recovering, will be well in no time! Its tiring but I'm really enjoying Faye

My baby's right eye has some slight discharge, the paed gave me a small bottle of saline to drop into her eyes. Anyone's baby has that? Its been a couple of days and there is still discharge, how serious is it? So far, no redness or swelling or anything, only discharge.