Breastfeeding Support Group

stylobb,

My husband and I wanted to name our bb "Faith" if it were a girl. Yeah, Jesse is a Biblical name too.
I use the Medela Mini Electric. Not too bad, esp when my hands get tired after using the Avent Manual one.

Hi Pink
My bb is 3 months plus old already. You mean avent has two and one hole teats? I just look at the month so not sure how many holes also.Your bb? You are still on leave? Your mom helping u to look after bb?

Hi Dutchness

Where can I get the sterilising bags you mention and how do I do it? Sorry I quite blur when it comes to this.

Hi lea
Thankyou. I will try but like quite hard to pump, sterilise bottle and entertain bb at the same time. Quite stress. Furthermore my bb rejects bottles now. I think not reject he just doesn't know how to do it. Up till now I still not sure how much he drinks.

moon

helena
Ya lor, must not anyhow spend now. I think twice b4 buying anything for myself, but so far no urge to buy anything for myself, hv been buying bb stuff so far.

Madeleine
Yup, he was already in tt percentile during the 1st mth check up. Meaning his ht is above avg, but his wt is avg. I want him to be more plump leh, so tell him to grow more horizontally, can stop growing vertically for a while. But I think he takes after my hubby who is also tall, coz my boy was already 53cm at birth.

Stylobb
I dun think I will wait until 5th month. I intend to try to feed him some solid after the 4th mth injection.
I think the cereal quite yummy. I tried a few sips of similac yesterday, coz my boy refused to take fr bottle again. I find the taste quite plastic, but then I personally dun like to drink milk.

Stylobb
But then my verdict not very accurate lah, coz I dun like milk at all. Just find the taste horrible. I did not even take milk during pregnancy. I dun know which brand is gd, I am still giving him similac at the moment. I still hv more than half a tin left.

StyloBB,
I give my boy Enfalac A+. Recommended by my old PD. Seems that it is very popular cos it's got an extra ingredient added.

Desert,
Was your bb's gestation 40 weeks? He's really tall!

First time joining this thread.
Would like to ask, how did you steriliser your pump? I bought the Medela Mini Electric.

My EDD is just round the corner..and anytime will give birth.

joy_apr
Mine is the medela mini electric plus (dual) pump.
I using the boiling method at my mum's place and the steaming method at home to sterilise the pump. If at office, I just use cold water to wash and later use hot boiled water to go over the pump.

stylobb
I also gave my boy Enfalac A+ SA.

hi styloBB
me also using Enfalac A+. My PD say the different brands doesn't matter. She discrible it as choosing between Mobile or Shell petrol.

helena,
you supplement your boy with formula? tot u TBF. so good your boy can easily switch between bottle n breast. what bottles do u use?

would like to know any babies who drinks breastmilk n is able to sleep thru the night? my hubby told me not possible for breastmilk-fed as breastmilk easily digested n they sure get hungry. so far only heard formula-fed babies able to sleep thru the night. currently my 6wks old boy can go without milk for up to 6+hrs at night. he usually end his feed ard 10pm. will wake up for milk again between 330-430am.

Hi Jastan,

Thanks for the info. I will try the boiling method and the office method as per your sharing. Thanks!

Hi jas

What is the steaming method? So you wash the pump with special detergent before going over with hot water? So you have a container to put the pump right? Then wash the pump then put the pump in the container then use hot water to rinse through ? The hot water is the one from the pantry hot water right?
Sori Jas I have so many questions cos a bit confuse.

Hi mini
My bb can;t go without milk for the whole night also. Will wake up at least once for milk.

Hi joy
All the best to you for your delivery.

Hi stylobb
How are you? Your pimple recover?

Hi desert

Your bb still rejects the bottle?

moon

Mini,
My boy drinks Enfalac A+ once to twice a day if I do not express enough for my mom to feed him and when I am out. It's still considered TBF since the ratio is so small. Just today, I latched him on but he was still greedy so I gave him Enfalac A+. My boy was introduced to the bottle when he was warded for jaundice. The nurses at TMC fed him Enfalac A+ together with my breastmilk. They and the PD said formulae could "flush" out his jaundice. I use Avent bottles. I just found out they have disposable ones too. Actually my husband used to feed our bb formulae twice in the wee hours cos I was too tired to get up to breastfeed and my boy still got up every three hours crying for milk. Mebbe he's got big appetite.

hi mini

My 9-week-old baby girl is on total bm and is not sleeping through the night yet. She is able to sleep for a stretch of 4-5 hours in the night after which she will wake for a feed. Your 6-week boy is doing better! I am looking forward to the day that she will sleep through the night too (at least from 12- 6am).

hi Serene,

not sure where you can get the bags,i guess places like robinsons shoud have. i only saw people selling on yahoo auctions. not too sure how it works also. i think you just put the pump in the bag and put in the microwave. then the steam generated in the bag will sterilise the pump. this is what i'm guessing....

mini
My boy is 3mths now, so far he's able to sleep from around 11.30pm (last feed) till 5am in the morning. If he wakes up in-between for feed say around 4am, my mum will give formula. When we brought him back over the weekends, my hubby will give EBM instead. In other word, on weekends my boy feed on 100% EBM, on weekdays is only 1 formula for night feed.

serene
the steaming method is using the avent steriliser which is actually steaming.

Yeah, I use Pigeon liquid detergent for bottles to wash the pump first. I didn't have a container to put in the pump and pour hot water over. What I do is that I first wash with normal tap water and detergent, after which using the just boiled water using kettle, I just fill up the pump bottles/container and overflow it with hot water for a while, then using hand holding the pump funnel and gently pour hot water all over it.

My boy is currently 3 weeks old. I am currently both latching on and expressing milk (for grandma/pa to enjoy feeding) at the same time. So my stock always end up depleted. Wondering how you 'stock up' for when maternity ends.

How often do you express? Is there any 'optimum' intervals?

Also for those who've bf your babies for a few months, does supply increase with time? I'm still only able to express about 60mL (after some effort) each time.

Thanks for your info

Moon
Pimple still there, getting better.. but haven't direct latched so far.

Jas
I already started the countdown to June for b/feeding...another ten more weeks...

QHL
Wish I can help you but my ss so-so only. The mummies here recommend 3-hourly. I am back to work and I express 4-5 hourly, gotta work, no choice. My ss went up and lately went down.. I am still pumping, just store whatever I can express lor...have to come to terms with it.. seems not everyone can produce so much bm.

QHL,
Actually I think your ss is not bad, condisering your bb is only 3 weeks old. I do not remember having as much as yours when my boy was 3 weeks old. Now he is 6 weeks old and I sometimes just obtain 70ml.

stylobb
Wow you started to countdown already.. me didn't really countdown, I prefer to go month by month.. now just waiting for my boy to pass 4mths. Looking forward to the day when you can stop breastfeeding?? I am...

QHL
I think supply does increase with time but of course you need to either latch or express. I do exclusive expressing and compare to inital 2 months, my supply does increase slightly but not very much. So now still able to provide enough EBM for my boy and sometime have extra to store in freezer.

jas
Countdown to motivate myself mah. At least have tried and hung on. Hubby gave me kudos for it cos he said many have given up. I have to give my bb more fm now cos not producing enuf. At least you still have enuf for each day. Even when he takes fm, it never goes beyond 3 hour, he will get hungry in 2.5 hours...only if he sleeps thru his feed, then at least can stretch the timing a bit. I am very tired expressing and getting so little... even when my brs become hard. One thing about latching on is that I know he feels comforted and secure. Whatever I express at work I am storing so that at least builds up the stock.

stylobb
I can manage to get enough for the day for my boy now I think mainly coz his appetite didn't grow much. He still drink 120ml per feed about every 2.5 to 3hrs. If his intake increase, I think I will be like you, not enough to meet his demand.

hi serene,

i was advised by my hosp not to use microwave... better to use the tablet way.

hi mini,

i m on TBF, n my gal can kill me w her night wakings!! i seriously dun think she NEED milk, juz comfort suckling. anyway, she did sleep thru from 12am to 5-6am for weeks, then she change again n keep waking up

it is possible for TBF bb to sleep thru the night. my GP who TBF her gal did it. her gal slept thru the night, but hor must train. let them cry if they demand milk, coz they dun actually need it. so they'll learn to sleep thru. i cant do it coz my gal will scream her head off
....so now everyday i m like zombie

blessed,
How old is your girl? My boy is the same like your girl, wakes up in the wee hours for milk. And though my mum and I wouldl like to train him, we can't bear to let him cry. He cries really hard, with tears somemore. Very pitiful...

Hi Mini,
I think it shd be possible for BF bb to sleep thru the night. My bb used to wake up pretty often in the night initially in her 1st month but she slept thru one night when she was 3 weeks old and I was just simply overjoyed. Imagine getting to sleep longer! Anyway, after that day, I sort of refuse to feed her when she cries in the nite, instead I feed her water which she hates. After some time, she just lazy to wake up.
I used to feed her formula for her last feed at 11-plus thinking it'll last her longer so that I won't have to wake up in the night but for the past month, I have been feeding her EBM for the last feed and then feed her again only in the morning at about 8.30am

Blessed,
You are rite about the training. Sometimes I think it's more of a habit for bb to cry and demand for milk. Being a lazy mom and a person who loves sleeping, I had to train my girl to sleep thru. I had to tolerate my bb's crying for a few days and let her cry her heart out in the nite, and after that she was able to sleep thru the nite. I hope she keeps to her good sleeping habit for good, if not I think I'll also "peng san".

Hi Stylobb,

I really admire your perserverance.....mummy's love always the greatest. Keep it up. I will try to hang in there too.

Just that I think my MIL prefers if I bottle feed. At least it makes her cooking for me easier....and she will worry less that her grandson is not getting enough

hi helena,

my gal is 4mths old.

hi jellybeans,

i tried feeding her water in the night when she wakes for milk, but she cried harder n harder. like screaming her head off. how long did u let ur gal cry for, for each crying session? i tried feeding her water for abt 4 days, but she did not learn to sleep thru the night. u r right, she hates the water bottle!!! n cried with the bottle in her mouth.

can u share how u managed to get ur gal sleep thru the night and how long she cried (her reaction)? Thanks!

Helena
He was born in 39th wk, but he is not big size loh, just long. In fact, he does not look very plump, coz stretch out vertically.

Blessed
I cannot bear to hear him cry, coz my boy will also cry harder and harder, so I sitll let him suck at nite, even if its still comfort sucking. We hv been cosleeping with him for some time, so at least I dun hv to get out of bed to attend to him.

Moon
Yup, he still rejects the bottle, I actually fed him in the fitting rm last wkend. Now he is even worse, dun like to eat at all. After sucking for a while, he will start to talk and smile at me. Really worried whether he is getting the hindmilk, since he only sucks for a while.

Stylobb
My target for bf has been reducing. I wanted one yr initially, then changed to nine months. Now, I think if I can feed until six months, thats gd enuff. But now my boy rejects the bottle, makes me very stress

desert
Is it becos you introduce the bottle too late?? Like in Moon's case..
Guess what? I thot I could bring the single pump to office but I tried this morning and it was just so noisy and irritating! Ended up I lugged my PIS travel bag to the office again...

blessed
Indeed it's very distressing to hear bb cry and cry. For my boy, his reason is usually he wanna be carried but we got no strength after a while.

QHL
Actually during ML of 2 months, I fed him direct so no one can say whether it's easier for them. I did introduce bottle to bb and thankfully he is not fussy about bottle or br. It's only when I went back to work that I started to express and store.

desert
Me too...I wonder sometimes why I still do it when ss is little... but dun want to stop now leh, at least press on till the sixth month..altho I wish I have lots of bm so that I can be more motivated..

Oh Oh here is the breast feeding support group ekkeek...

I have a problem with my baby....I going to cut and paste...

I used to let baby latch on to my breast for feeding but now cux i have to pass bb to my mother so i stopped latching him...

My mother would supplement him with formula milk at 140ml and by right, he should be very full..but after feeding he still fuss and refused to sleep...his mouth still wants to suckle as if he is not full...push him the bottle teats and he spit it out...but when i him suckle on my breast, he sleeps while suckling in 5 mins????

Now he seems very pathetic, cux i stopped latching him, i express my milk out to feed him. He cries after feeding, have to tap him to sleep for 1 hour plus then he sleeps but his mouth is still making sucking motions...he seem so "ke lian"

My mother say if i work, have to stopped latching him if not he will not get used to it...and cries more when he is bigger ...

I feel very sad when i see him cries and i cannot latch him on, so ke lian...but if i latch him on, he cannot curb the habbit and i have to go to work, it will be worst rite?

Nas

Nas
Maybe he is looking for comfort. Cos my boy also like to 'search' even when he is not hungry...hehe. But my bb not so fussy as yours in this, he takes both bottle and brs well.

Stylobb'

Very sad le, see him like his mouth sucking motions and then tearing..crying...even after feed...want to let him suckle but hate the fact that its gonna get worst when he grows bigger..and harder to curb the comfort sucking..

Hi Nas,

I feel you should feel honoured that your boy still wans to suckle. Its ok for him to suckle for milk, be it for feed or comfort. He is still a baby, he needs mummy's comfort. If you are around, of course he wans to suckle to be close to mummy. You shouldnt deprive him the chance to nurse lah.

When you go back to work, he will slowly adjust himself. Dun worry. When you are around, he can smell the milk so wan to suckle. So poor thing leh, wan to suckle but cannot.

I am a working mum and I also latch my boy direct till 5mth. When I pass him to nanny in 2nd mth, he was ok. But once I am around, he wans to suckle. He wans mummy's smell and comfort. So continue latching him on lah. I am sure you are the envy of many mummies whose baby refuse the breast.

Nas,

One main reason why mummies bf is to be close to baby. The bonding w baby when baby suckle is priceless. Not every mummy has the chance to do so. Moreover, direct bf gives baby all the required nutrients and antibodies, some of which are lost in EBM. No offence but I feel that since you made the choice to bf, you should latch on demand in the first 6 weeks. Then let your mum feed bottle maybe 1x a day. Slowly, baby should adjust himself.

Babies are born to us with a suckling reflex. They feel most comforted and secure at mummy's breast. Its the best thing you can give your child. Why deprive him rite?

Nas/Minnie
See, Nas, told you got good advice here...hehe. Minnie, I still let bb suckle at nite cos he like can smell me and usu I find he feels relaxed once he starts to suckle.

guess what?? Just as I was about to give up BF( I have stopped latching for 2 days) my breast started to feel very hard and achy, so I tried to express out whatever I have inside. I was so surprised to find that I have an increase in BM.

Funny..I tot the milk will dry out when stopped latching?? How come for my case is different?

hi mel,

good to hear that your milk supply is going up. how much did you express out?

good news for me. avelyn is learning how to take from bottle. now she can alternate between breast and bottle. babies do grow fast!! now she is cooing and smiles when we talk to her.

nas,
how are you?

Stylobb
No lah, I introduced quite early, at 2 wks and he has been able to switch between breast and bottle with no problem. He just started to reject the bottle suddenly. Dunno what's wrong with him. Guess I just continue to tbf him for the time being loh.

Nas
Babies suck for comfort too, my boy always sucks himself to sleep, even if he does not need milk. In fact, whenever he cries, I just hv to offer my breast and he will stop, its a source of comfort and security for them. There was once when he had to hv some blood drawn for the liver test, the nurse also ask me to put him to my breast, coz it will help to lessen the pain for him.

Mel
Good to hear that, but most continue to latch on or express to keep the ss going. If not, it will run dry after a few days.

stylobb
I am feeding BM + FM for my boy. Since 2nd mth onwards, his poo is not that watery anymore as compared to 1st two month. My boy poo will be slightly watery initally and later will be soft semi-solid type. My boy has not poo for past 4 days already... must get him to do his 'business' coz it's not normal. He usually has poo once every 2 days...

nas
I didn't latch my boy on since he is 1 week old, been doing expressing till now. My boy so far after feed will be okay didn't fuss around. But he also make 'sucking motion' during his sleep, I find it quite cute...

Expecting my BB soon in end June n was wondering if anyone out there can recommend me a good breast pump. Can't decide whether to get Medela double electric or PIS. During my ante natal class, the nurse even said she did it by hand alone wif no equipment, is it really that easy? Her colleagues r using Avent manual n she think that is good enuf'
So, me getting very confused.

I'm another MTB asking abt manual breastpumps, so far considering Avent (the set that comes with taller bottles which has removable bottom for easy removable of breastbag after pumping). Am planning to store using breastbags instead of bottles. Any feedback or advice?

Which brand teats would anyone recommend for newborn? I know should latch as much as possible, but if at any stage I want to introduce bottle-feeding of EBM?

Hi all ladies,
I have just gone back to work and am trying hard to maintai my milk supply. I have problems sterilising my pump at my work place. What I have done is to wash it and go over it with hot water. I am thinking of using sterilising tablets. Is there anyone out here who has used it before and is ready to give me some advice or feedback? Thanks.

Dutchess,
How have you been?

jast
You mentioned in the other thread about bb getting sick. I wonder if it's becos of ebm, somehow I guess best to feed direct, fresh and at right temperature..hehe.. I still latch on, but at nite I give the ebm, gotta make sure it's well thawed...
Bb's tiny mouth in circular movement is very cute right...

B2
Many swear by the manual pump but I'm so lousy at it I dun use it...maybe I am not used to it.
My friend lent me the medele electric,so noisy! Now I use the medele travel bag model, quiet and efficient..hehe..

StyloBB,
Do you need to sterilise your medela electric pump? It is expensive right?

Helen
All the while I use the medele travel bag model, it's on loan to me by a friend. Yah, it's the high-end model.
I use the pigeon cleansing liquid to clean the pump and bottle, wash with cold water, then rinse with hot water, no choice, that's the best I can do at the office, but when I go home, I immediately sterilise them with the avent steriliser.
You pumping twice at work?

MTM
I use Avent teats when I am not latching direct. Was advised that Avent teats are made shaped like br so that bb won't have difficulty. But for some mummies, their bbs reject after a while. Was told that Nuk brand is also good.

StyloBB,

I'm also using the medela pump too, and using combination of avent and NUK bottles.

Do you pump and then transfer into avent bottles?
It's quite troublesome since avent bottle size different from standard size.... Wondering if there is an adaptor available so that we can pump direct into avent bottles

Girl
Hi. Actually I dun know about the other medele models. Since this one is loaned to me (it's a travel bag model with dual pumps and icepack compartment) I happily use it. The other single pump model sounds terrible, I think I will have a headache if I use it!
Nope, I pump and transfer into the disp bm bags. Dun have so many bottles! My hubby says these manufacturers all very smart, have their own system so when you buy one type, you gotta use the rest of their stuff. Anyway if you read my earlier posting, I had torn skin around a duct which I think is fully ok now so I hope to latch bb on both sides instead of one again.