BEDOK mommies club

xin>nope. I only came across this thread when I was searching for reviews of the Talentplus playgroups near my place.

Welcome to the thread, TYL
I'm a FTWM with 3 kids. I've 1 girl 8 yo, 2 boys, 7 years old and 18 months. Are you working or SAHM?

Hi Ladies...

Howz was your long weekend? I am trying to pack my house and throw away much unused stuff...without much success! At least I have packed my maternity clothes and given away a whole bag of clothes. Now my wardrobe looks so empty.

Anyone has kid(s) or know of any kid(s) from MMI Bedok? I really need some feedback on the cc...

TYL...

Hi! I am a SAHM with 1 boy 4yo and 1 gal 16mo.

jun>I'm a FTWM. Only have a 9 month old son atm. I peifu you for having 3 kids!

Hi Fizz.

Hi TYL, I m a FTWM with a 6 yrs old son..

Btw anyone hv NB clothing for boy pls let me knw. I m asking behalf of my frenz...

Yawn yawn,
Got back report book liao. She maintained her class position. Heng... Ds has better results and school position than Dd. There is a boy and gal who topped the whole standard. So impressive.

Iwg26

you mean a boy and a girl shared 1st position in P1 standard?

My dd's class ranking same as last year, school ranking dropped 1 position

Yawn,
No I mean. The boy got first and the gal 2nd. Last year that gal was 1st in the P1 standard. She was from Tr Pearly's class.

Iwg26

Oh my, you are really very well informed, I'm super impressed ! so fast know all this info

Interesting, any idea who's that boy from which class? Last year top 5 all girls. This year suddenly a boy top the school

yawn,
My dd told me. The boy is a prefect. He's a top scholar + have leadership. Not sure from which class, I must ask her again tonight. His name is 'Tactom' (not exact spelling). At Pri 2 already so competitive.

Iwg26

Yeah, very competitive. I think I better buck up. Going to dig out my dd's Sakamoto worksheets to study and 'catch up' what I've missed. Already withdrawn her from Sakamoto so next year cannot be so handsoff liao. Her school ranking was affected because she underperformed during SA1. Hehe, I think dd & I are both too complacent. Told her no more karaoke during exam period. With the addition of another subject next year, my plate is full !

Your kids have tuition for every subject? What about Science?

Yawn,
Sorry, I correct myself. The 1st position is a girl, not boy. I mistook becos her name sounds like boy. She was 2nd last year, now improved to 1st. Last year's 1st is 2nd this year. My gal knows them that's why she knew so much. She even told me what class they will be next year. I told her she's one of the most informed (aka "kpo") person in the level.

My kids have tuition for Eng and Chinese only. I teach Maths myself. I asked my neighbor to coach her science also next year. With 2 kids to coach, really no time. I will focus on Maths. SA1 her maths was terrible so pull down her overall Maths results. SA2 we buck up and she just managed to get overall band 1. Phew... Ya loh, v competitive. A few of my neighbors are like 1st in class, 3rd in whole level. Can feel the stress...

Taurus>I'm also a Taurus born in May. :p

xin>you are looking for a dentist for yourself? I go to Ace Dental which is in the HDB flats opposite Vista 8. Bedok Polyclinic also has a dentist that my brother goes to but you need to wait quite long for an appointment.

Xin, my dentist clinque. Located @ bedok interchange along bedok library.. My son currently seeing Tis dental clinic.

TLY, I m a apr bb:p

tyl> my hb also taurus leh. may 17. hee.

ya for myself but if bb can go next ti,e also good. thks for e dental rec.

pap smear> think poly clinic do them too? so far i only went once to my gynae. next yr i got a free body checkup frm my insurance so shd b gg their clinics.

xin>your hubby's birthday is same as mine! so qiao. What year was he born in? wait same year and same hospital then we might have been neighbours in the nursery. :p

tyl> i thought i vaguely rem u two share same bday. hee. he born 1980. early in the morning. he's a really morning person. :p

Hello Mommies

How's everyone doing?
Long time never come here ...

My luck has not been good. Has change two helpers in 2 months

First one want to change employer after a month
2nd one ran away after 3 days. Her reason being don't want to take care of kids

Have chosen another one and waiting for her to come at month end, hopefully just before the school reopens.

We just came back from a short trip. My eldest enjoyed the most - probably because she enjoys staying at the hotel

When school reopens, my dd1 will be in Pri One and my ds2 will be in Nursery 2.

I wonder whether I will be able to cope well next year especially coaching my dd1 in her studies.

Yawn,
I do my Pap smear with a female GP doctor near my office for convenience and also I prefer someone whom I know well. You need not go to Gynae to do pap smear because the results all go through the lab. Only if the results is not normal, then you need a gynae's opinion.

Lee Tai,
Which school is your dd attending? Just buy 1 or 2 topical assessment books + past year exam papers will do. Btw, I think most schools is supposed to do away with exam for P1 starting next year. This year, my ds only have a final exam but he has many small topical tests throughout the year. Ting xie and Spelling are allocated marks towards the final year score. It means that parents like me must be more on the ball throughout the year and cannot wait till final year exam to chiong.

Yawn,
Have you bought all textbooks? My hubby brought the kids down to buy the books on Wed. Some uniform sizes are already OOS. I haven't bought any assessment books yet. For Maths, English, Chinese, I plan to ask her to finish up those uncompleted exam papers. For science, will ask her to read the textbooks. After lazing around for the whole of Nov, now must slowly restart the engine. Btw, how many CCA did your Dd take part? My gal is in only 1 performing art CCA but I plan to enrol her for another one in P3. This year's top scholar from RSS scored 278, I heard from the teacher that she's an exco prefect. I'm still waiting for the overall school results to be published in the website

Iwg26

Only bought Science textbooks so far. Yet to buy uniforms. Intend to go bookshop last week of school holiday. Usually all books should be available then, learnt from 1st year experience, too lazy to make multiple trips to bookshop

She's only taking 1 CCA. Actually I hope she doesn't spend too much time on CCA. Which additional CCA you've in mind?

I psycho my dd to join Chinese club. Treat it as extra chinese lessons. I'm contemplating stopping her Chinese enrichment instead.

Hi Jun

My ds1 will be in St Hilda's.

Trying to get her to finish all the k2 assessment books with no success as she always say that she don't know how to do. She wants me to sit side by side with her which I don't have the time. So I won't be buying the Pri 1 assessment books until she complete all the k2 ones.

Each time when I want her to do the assessment books she will always give alot of excesses.

I can't imagine what wil happen next yr when she does not want to do the homework that the teacher gives ... headache

It is not compulsory till P3. At P2, I think it may be still optional (yawn, correct?). But both my kids I sign up CCA for them since P1. Since I'm working, I prefer they spend time learning some skills in school than laze at home.

winniebear

You're phrase 2B at St Hilda's? St Hilda's is a very hot school. PV also may not get in leh

Mine joined CCA since P1. I've no idea when would CCA be compulsory, so far no communication from school re: compulsory CCA

However, my thresold is once a week. Must 'control' my dd, she easily get carried away, everything also want to sign up. To me, 6 hours in school is long enough, I missed her already, haha!

Hi Yawn2

Yes enrol @ Phrase 2B. Balloting was conducted and luckily number was beling called

And yes, a lot of PVs didn't get in. Principal was very grateful to them for the work they had done for the school.

The school encouraged the parents to be in the school on the first day i.e 4th Jan. Also encourage the Dads to be in the school that day as well to support the MCYS's program.

So we will be going to the school with my gal from 12.30 to 6.30. The school had also informed us what are the books to bring for the first day. And also the items to be found in the school bag daily.

Seems like I am getting more excited than my gal

Leetai,
Welcome to the "primary school" club. Did you send your gal for any pre-prep classes? Does St Hilda has any exam in P1? Time flies, my ds will be P2 next year. I asked him if I needs to accompany him to school on 1st day next year. He said no need. See how it goes... I may still take leave on 4th Jan to 'visit' him during recess and send him off to school. Will be years before I do that all over again for #3. By then, maybe can "sub-contract" some work to dd1. Haha

Yawn,
Is your dd2 in P1 next year?

Hi Jun

Didn't manage to find time to send my gal for any pre-prep classes.
YOu seem to manage so well ... 2 schooling kids & 1 toddler. I don't know what's going to happen next yr when my gal goes Pri 1 ... don't know I can manage all or not

Not too sure the school has exam or not, will know it on the first day bah. The school will give a briefing to the parents what to be expected from the Pri 1 kids and what's their programme etc

When your #3 goes Pri 1, I believe your dd1 will be in sec sch. I am hoping that to happen too i.e. to delegate tasks to #1 to care for #3 when she is much older

Leetai,
Actually it was and is still a struggle, especially during exam period. But somehow will be able manage. Every night I have ~ 1 hour to spend with ds3. He sticks to me like glue once I'm home. Even eating dinner, he will sit on my lap. In between playing with him, I become octopus as I coach the older kids' homework and give ting xie etc. Of course, my hubby helps out too. Then, 9pm-10pm is dedicated to the 2 older ones. I read a book for them or just talk. All my leave have become v precious and reserved for exam period. But hey, now they still need me. A few years later, when they are independent, they won't want mummy anymore... and I'll be sad... sob sob.

winniebear

Go bookfest to buy some assessment books. You will know what is required of P1.

Hehe, having say that, I have yet to buy a single assessment book for my dd2. Plan to let her use the leftover ones from her sister. Completed ones also can read through mah, don't waste money lah. Buy new ones must nag her to do, more work for me, haha!

Iwg26

Yeah, P1 next year. Still behaves like a baby. She 敢敢 asked her jie jie to go to school during recess to help her buy food after the 2 weeks buddy system is over. Faint!

How's the science camp?

We managed to have a short getaway. Stayed at Bintan Lagoon 4D3N. Hubby went for 3 round of golf at its adjacent golf courses. Supposed to be quite relaxing but somehow no time for afternoon nap, tagged along my kids to kid's club, babysit them at the poolside. Resort is much nicer after renovation, compared to our previous stay before renovation

Hi Yawn yawn,
DS and DD also have a stack of unused assessments and exam papers. Instead of making us both stress trying to finish it, I will give the P1 papers to my sister as her gal is K2 next year. Then DD's P2 papers can be 'inherited' by DS. This year, I didn't buy any assessments for DS. My DD complained that I buy so much for her so it means she will have to do more and Didi less. Anyway with Science next year, she will have more work to do!

Do you play golf? Or just your hubby? Good to do some exercise. I'm trying to get rid of my flabby tummy!

Iwg25

I put on 3kg recently, so terrible, looked like 4 months pregnant! I don't play golf, not a sun person leh. Although hubby has been bugging me to learn from him. I'm a potato on a couch, plenty of excuses to 'nua' at home, haha!

Did you go bookfest? Bought any science assessment books? I'm still very blur about this new subject. Oh, forgot what's your reply earlier - you plan to send your dd for science tution?

Hi Yawn

How I wish I can go to the bookfest ... I have no time to do so ...

Recently mum spent $15 to buy a stack of past year exam papers for Pri One. I said why spent so much? She said never mind lah, let her try out.

My gal was frustrated with those questions that she don't know the answer and was throwing her temper around. However became happy when those questions she knows are all correct.

But I am wondering are those exam papers really real?

Yawn2

have you heard of Contours Express? It is a female gym they have one branch at Bedok Central

Think is quite effective. After signing at my 3rd month maternity leave, I managed to lose all my pre pregnancy weight before returning to work

As it is a all female gym you won't feel pai seh.

Leetai,
My hubby gives them pocket money: $1.50. On days that they have CCA and need to eat lunch, he will will give them $3. They always got excess $ because he will pack milk/bread for them as well. Hubby xim tia they may get starved in the school.

Yawn,
I'm getting my neighbor to tutor dd1 science and English. Ds only have Chinese enrichment. My neighbor will go through the basic schoolwork and make sure she is consistent in her studies. I will mainly teach the kids maths. I've no time to tutor 2 kids all subjects + toddler. Too xiong liao. During exam period, I was marking papers non-stop.

re: science tuition
My neighbor suggests get 3 science assessments. 2 for weekly reinforcement and 1 set for revision (before topical tests). Anyway, unused ones can pass on to ds next year so it's ok.

leetai,
I suggest you get topical assessments rather than exam papers and go through topic by topic. Exam papers is tested on P1 after at least 6 months in the school. She may not have learn some of the concepts yet.

Iwg26

Did your neighbour recommend any Science assessment titles? I'm overwhelmed by all the Science assessment books, don't know what to look out for

winniebear

Thanks for sharing! how much is the monthly fees? any trainer there to help you pick suitable exercise equipment?

Agreed with Iwg26, buy those topic by topic assessments. I didn't buy those CA/SA type of assessment books, don't quite like the format. My dd didn't do any of those top school exam papers. She only did her school's past years papers given out by class teacher before exam, sufficient practice leh

pocket money - no fixed amount, usually range from high $2 to low $3. I will check how much is left from previous day, then top up additional $2 to $3 a day depending on how much left from previous day. My dd has a huge appetite, eats 2 plates of rice + extra dishes. She doesn't want to bring bread from home, prefer canteen food. She's so chubby that she can fit into some of my old clothes before I expanded sideway

I went bookfest yesterday. Finally bought 1 assessment book for my dd2. She's happily doing it now. Hope her novelty doesn't wear off too quickly, haha!

yawn yawn,
I didn't ask my neighbor. I just went to the book shop to browse then buy. But prior to that I went to Kiasuparents website to check out the popular assessments. Ultimate Science Guide seems to be very popular. The assessment books by Janet Sim, Helen Lee, Renee Chong and Casco are also highly recommended. I also ask the popular staff which assessments are the 'top seller'. The school is already using I-science worksheet so don't buy i-science.

Btw, you mentioned earlier on your dd attends the Chinese enrichment at CC. Is it good? There's a RC near my house that have Chinese lesson. Thinking if I should try it out.

Iwg26

Problem is if I buy all, my dd will scream murder, haha! So I'm trying to be selective lor
I finally make a trip to school bookshop today. Yipee, no queue! But some of the stationery are out of stock. Think I will buy when school reopens lah

CC teacher only covers creative writing, not the everything all-in kind of tuition so I still need to be very hands-on with her Chinese.
Nevertheless, it meets my purpose for 2 reasons
1. impossible to ask my dd to write compo at home so better to send her to class 'force' to write
2. very cheap lor

Hi Yawn2

I signed up for 1 yr membership, so monthly is $69. The gym is a circuit training where you workout from one station to another station. Each station is 45 sec and you will have to switch to the next station. The instructors there are very friendly.

There are alot of tai tais working out there in the morning and they will come everyday. And they are all very fit, more fit than me :p

There are trial lessons which you can sign up.

The instructors will follow you thru the stations on your first few visits. And every month, the instructors will take your measurements and change the workout program.

Overall, thumbs up