Anyone Staying at Bukit Panjang or nearby?

wah... hook, very chim leh.... u playing word games ah... i have to spend 5 minutes reading very carefully before figuring out who's birthday on which day!!! so we all virgos!!! hahaha....

hihi all! i've come back from my holiday.

actually if u ladies wanna organise amosco BP, can do here, it's ok. as long as you dun start a new thread to "jio" pple, and is within a current group, i think no problem ba...my dec thread often organise our own internal one leh.

oooh...i oso wondering abt childcare cos next yr, may wanna put hannah in half day sessions. there's one opposite my blk but dunno good or not.
there are a few at Cashew area and Almond Cresent (supposed to be Pat Schoolhouse affiliate), dunno good or not leh. I always see it whenever on bus 700 or driving out to highway..:p

hook, oh thanks so much for the info! aiyoh....really bad. i will feel so heartpain for my boy too. the teacher so bo chap! andi tot montessori is good? so what is MMI huh?

u very chim leh! hehhe so many birthdays so close bY!

bobianah, yah hor, my thread also organise a lot of BPs. think within thread is okie...

bobianah, pat schoolhouse is very exp right? i think $1800 per mth??!!! so almond crescent also around that price i guess.how much shld i budget for preschool huh?

can someone advise me on my qns above? whats diff betw preschool and childcare? and is it necc to send them to preschool? preschool is it same as kingergarten?

childcare,
ya, the one at my home downstairs are bad. like wat hook said,the teachers scold
the kids. i pity them.

sunnysun,
children network is at galistan avenue (opp phoenix lrt).
those 3 storeys pte houses. i would felt tat its quite near bukit panjang though
need to walk or take a bus.. when i enrolled my gal in, it was the promotion period.
thus i would only need to pay $450 after government subsidy.its quite cheap.
plus point is i like the teachers who look after rachelle. im quite happy with it.

buttons,
erm, im not sure wat the difference between the preschool and childcare.
i think childcare aso covers wat the preschool have. just tat the childcare
may be longers in terms or hours. preschool's hours normally ard 2 to 3.
tat what my nephew is doing now. cos he is looked after by my mum.
children network, i think got preschool too.. hehe. im not sure leh cos all i noe was tat its a infant
and childcare, which is good enuf to me.i can help u to ask if you dunt mind.

hui,
take ur time.. i doubt i can finish the asmoco tat fast too. since only
collecting on tis sun..

hui/buttons,

not chim lah...when i type also got confuse!

MMI - modern montessori international. they have alot of branches and there's one at ten mile junction.
preschool concentrates on teaching the child. Is like a normal school but the hours is short cos toddler's attention span is short.childcare...the child learn/eat/sleep there. normally they spend the morning (2hrs-3hrs) to teach / play. you have to check on the curriculum of the childcare, normally if your child is at childcare, they cover most of what pre-school is learning.

if mummies looking for preschool / childcare, MMI is not bad. but that only applies to certain branch. the one at ten mile is not bad but no outdoor play area. their swimming pool is on the top floor (rooftop).

i started looking around for schools for my son when he reach 1yr. went for number of trials / sit ins too. however, only time can tell. normally if i am fed up with the school teachers / system, i don't hesitate to take him out because my son adapt easily to new environment. current he is with St Joseph Church Kindergarten. he started there for his N1 and currently in N2. the teachers there are good and my son love to talk about them (children are more sensitive). Early this year, my son suddenly hate going to school and cries whenever he go on the school bus. i call the teacher and spoke to the bus-driver (and of cos, i went to school and peep at him for 3days, to find out the problem)..realise is some K1-K2 students that is too rowdy and scared my son. bus-driver transferred those bigger kids to another sch bus and teacher gives me daily writings on his progress in school. guess is their efficiency that won my trust. problem solved within a week and my son enjoy his school again. most importantly, its cheap. i'm paying $630/term. previously at Amazing Stars, i paid $580/month w/o subsidy cos i'm a SAHM. i asked my son everyday what he learn in Amazing Stars and guess what...he said EAT! i paid them $580 to teach my son to eat...guess the teachings is good cos my son eats alot now..

Hi Hook,

After reading ur experience, I'm glad tt Amazing Star close their infant care svc.

Before tt I still tot Amazing Star is OK I dun know their childcare service is tat bad cos every morning when I bring my gal to their infant care,she'll always smiles at the infant care teacher.

Hi Jenny,
Wow, you really got it cheap, cos now I'm paying $600 after the govt subsidy @ Children Network.
Tomorrow my gal will be on her own, we need to go back to work liao

hi hook,
ya, it is hard to choose a good school. cos when you go there, everything will be like a perfect world. its only when you at there for a long time, then will know well. luckily you withdraw him early since its so bad.
i did thot of choossing infant sch near bukit panjang too. but then i did not like it.

hi agnez,
nice meeting you today.. Im sorry if i did not really tok to you as was quite blurred still esp in the morning.. still dazing..
by the way, im sorry tat tat time i told you children network - infant care only got 3 kids (including my gal), but actually there is another gal too. just tat her mum is going to put her there til June. thus i forgot to count her in. so sorrie about it.
dunt worry, your gal will adapt to the new place quite fast..

ya, i got it very cheap. thanks to the promo they have. actually its was by coincidence that rachelle went to this sch. my hubby's frd told him about this sch. so just out of curiosity, we went there with rachelle to view the place.
one thing we like is tat there is a big garden for rachelle to run about since she is active gal.
plus the teachers are quite nice and friendly. thus we decide to choose tat sch.

Hi Jenny,

I must hv got u by surprise tis morning

Me & my hubby reached there very early cos my hubby needs to reach office early... kind of rush so dun hv a chance to talk to u too.

No worry abt the head count, when we were there the principle already informed us that Cara is withdrawing soon & another new bb coming in somewhere in Sep or Dec?? Can't remember liao cos that time my gal was crying so badly just like tis morning

Bobianah, welcome back.

What is the sch name opposite ur blk there ?

Jenny,
Cheap wor, the fees u pay is a full day or half ? Now u still paying $450 per mth though the promotion period end ? btw how old is ur gal ? Help me to ask when the promotion start again leh hehehe . Me interested too

Hook, u got try the enrichment class at mmi railway branch there? Though of trying the weekend class for playgroup

Any gd female gynae or wif affordable antenatal package in the west side.. staying at BP & woodlands.. Thnx!

Anyone interested in mini pizzas from Amosco, still have 9 slots to be filled up.

Pls pm me if interested.

hi Irene (agnez),
ya, sort of surprise too. but main thing is still
im blurred in the morning..

ic, no wonder you and ur hubby put her there so early. cos i would need put my gal tat early as my hubby or me need to go office early.
no prob, i understand.. we can still chat later.

ya, cara is withdrawing soon.. rachelle and car get along well too. i was pretty worried and concern tat she would be bored as the other 2 babies are quite young.. hehe.. now rachelle got your gal to play with her. no worries, she would be fine soon as they adjusted quite fast.

have trust in her and yourself.

hi sunnysun,
its for full day. ya, im still paying for tat price for infant care.
but then not sure of the childcare.
my gal is now 15mths old. another 3 mths, she would need to transfer to childcare.
thus might be slightly more exp.. had yet to ask the teacher about the price (whether would
be the promotional price for childcare or the original price?
if i can see the principal, i can help to ask her for you.

buttons
ya, pat school house is expensive...
i'm not sure how much to budget for childcare/preschool. But I think, in the end if the teachers are good and program is good, i dun mind paying.

sunnysun
I think childcare near my place is called SHERWOOD EDUCARE

bobianah,
u went for holiday? where to? no wonder so quiet.. did u bring hannah too?? ma fan or not?? n so fast u putting hannah to childcare??

hook, jenny, agnez,
its good to hear u mummies talk abt the schools nearby, good reference... but think i'll forget again.. by the time need to send my son, i'll ask u all again...maybe scenario changed due to teacher changes too...

loink,
welcome. how many weeks u into preg? bt panj gynaes i hear are dr douglas ong(@ten mile) n dr adrian woodworth(@cck). but if u go sunplaza, there's dr lawrence ang also very popular. dr lawrence ang's charges heard quite cheap, n he like very chin chai with money matters...dats wat i heard. i won't recommend my gynae if u r concerned abt $$ charges.

hi loinky,
u want to consider a male gynae??? got one at CCK-- Thomson Women Clinic.... quite cheap n reasonable....
i pay $550... from e 1st consultation to b4 giving birth... can visit him as many times as u need even when u r down with flu can also see him for med.
i find tat he is a Nice man.... but very busy man too.... cos got too many pts if u go at nite.

hui
ya, i went to sydney. :p not mah fun at all...just like being in SG, except that hv to pack more winter clothing, and bring bottles etc. Hannah quite ok with new environment. Australia easy to travel to with babies.

no la, i just KS, want to do research early rather than wait till last min. I think it's another year before i put her in childcare. hahah!! But then hor, good/popular childcare better book early rite?

bobian,
really?? r u still bfing? n icylemon actually booked childcare already!!!
u mean must really book dat early?? alamak... today's parents really difficult to be.

jenny,
called up children network just now. The person in charge told me that their promtion just end in apr. Promtional rate is $450 else will be $550. I told them i wait for the next promo then i signed up.

agnez, why ur is $600 leh ?

Lynn, u still wan the voucher or not ?

any mummies wan to buy gainiq ? I got 2 tins to let go at $23 each.

Hi Sunnysun,

Mine is full day infant care for babies 2-18mths.
Before govt subsidy for working mother is $1,000,
$600 after lessing the govt subsidy.

Jenny, no worry that ur gal will be bored when Cara left. When we were @ Children Network with my gal, we noticed rachelle is very independent & observant. Cara cried for her mother when she saw me pacifying my gal, so teacher kwan went over to pacify her. Rachelle was calm, she continued to play with her toys & at the same time observing us. She even went over to my hubby to do a hi-5 with him, very cute

hui
i stop bfg liao...ss drop until very insignificant!
I hvn't book la...:p just do research onli.
but really ar, be parents nowadays not easy...not like our parents time, so chin chye cos things were simpler then. Now everything so competitive!

Sunnysun,
No...i didn't try MMI cos they are full when i wanted to enrol my son. the next nearest branch is oppsite phoenix lrt (those private house) but i find it inconvenient so dropped the idea.

some schools required us to book early..especially those good school. Learning ladder is very good but always fully booked. i am on their waiting list for 3 long months but before they got vacancy for my son, i have already enrol my son into his current school.

Nice to meet the Bukit Panjang community here.
My baby boy is turning 11 mths coming 20th Jun 07.
We are putting up at Fajar Road Blk 425.

Currently as I am working full time, MIL is taking care of baby renxu. Can't wait to send bb to YMCA childcare under the block opp Senja LRT.
Anyone know how is the YMCA childcare centre? It is our 1st choice as it is very convenient for us. Hwoever, they only take in bb when they can walk, eat independently and are toilet train.

Think must wait long,long cos my son quite slow in his dev. Only start crawling when he turns 10mth, let alone walking:<

hi bee ling,
welcome. join us more. my son born dec 06. i just can't help thinking how come bbs born only few months apart can makes so much difference...

my son only learned flipping. not crawling yet. i gotta wait long long sigh...

bobian,
hannah learn to crawl already or not? or is it sitting first??

taurus, sunny,
i jus accidentally took a look at the overseas sprees then i saw u two regulars... n organisers somemore... so pro...

can i ask u something: i wanted to get a board game i like, but dunno how much it will costs eventually... can i help me calculate which is the best option?? whether via ebay or amazon vpostusa?? thanks muchy.

links:
ebay: http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ENCHANTED-FOREST-Treasure-Hunt-Game-from-Ravensburger_W0QQitemZ300106917817QQihZ020QQcategoryZ2530QQrdZ1QQssPageNameZWD2VQQcmdZViewItem

amazon: http://vshopusa.vpost.com.sg/aom/shop.php?c=9&n=166227011&i=B00001OK75&a=buy&m=New&p=1&x=Enchanted_Forest

bee ling

hui
hannah starting to crawl liao...not doing it "perfectly" yet, but getting there...she moves very fast to grab things she wants and even do "obstacle course" like climbing over stacked up pillows or legs (when we sit on floor) that are in her way. :p

bobian,
so fast!!! oh dear, my son still enjoying flipping. but gets tired aft too long. u put her where to crawl? bumper mat? or jus on the bed/cot?

how abt sitting? the older generation says: 7mth=sit, 8mth=crawl...

hui
think not fast leh...my dec group oso hv bbs starting to learn crawling...
Hannah loves flipping too, now that she's perfected it and can keep flipping multiple times, it's getting hard to change her! When i pin her down, she gets "angry" wif me and will cry. :p

bb learn to crawl best on firmer surfaces, so i place her on the bumper mat. but sometimes on the bed she also will try (will remove the comfortor cos it's too soft. Her cot no room for her to crawl. Sometimes I put her on dining table (we hv a big one)! She move extra fast on dining table... :p

Sitting now is still supporting herself with her hands. not yet totally uprite without hand support and back totally straight type.

bobian,
my son born 20 dec 06. any bbs in dec thread same b-day? n any bb not crawling or sitting yet in ur thread?

u looking for ergo carrier? i saw a 2nd hand one going for $79 at yahoo auction.

hui
i saw in the auction, but not too sure abt condition lei cos it's rather well used...
if condition a bit better i dun mind...

i think there are some bbs with same bd...i oso can't remember liao. i think most of the bbs are in the learning how to crawl and sit stage....not perfect la, just learning. Think oso a few not yet start.

Dun worry la...ur bb 20 Dec, not really 6mths yet. :p

Re: Childcare
I heard that Leaning Ladder is not good in terms of their hygiene.
I am also looking for CC now. My son is 14 months. MMI at Ten Mile is my first choice now but it is expensive and not much place to roam about for my child. Furthermore, dunno by the time my son is ready got vacancy or not

Re: Ergo carrier
I have been using it for quite a while until baby is too heavy for me to use now. It's really useful but i have some comments
1) it is too hot for our weather
2) i cannot roll it to keep when not in use
3) fat pple with thick waist cannot use, like my hb lor

How come nobody tried Patapum Carrier? It is almost the same as Ergo but it is cheaper, less pockets = less layers = less hot, can it can roll up to keep when not in use (easier to bring out)

http://sg.auctions.yahoo.com/sg/i:patapum%20baby%20carrier%20%28combi%2C%20lucky%2C%20maclaren%29:111559313

I am not doing a promo here but just giving some feedback. I have also not come across a patapum carrier before.

Hi hui,

Dun worry too much, u r not alone, my gal born 30 oct 06 (coming to 7.5 mths). So far, she knows how to flip very well but can't really sit firm without support, now starting to lift her bum n learning to crawl. Last weekend, we saw her crawling backwards a bit, so furni. I guess different babies develop very differently, cannot compare lor...

Soon when yr son know how to crawl very well, u will call for help loh.

jaline,
after hearing wat u said, i more relieve now. it must be real funny seeing bb crawl backwards... my fren also told me her son crawl backwards instead of forward...i hear already also can't help smiling.

bobian,
at first i also tot of buying babybjorn, or ergo carrier, or sling...then my hubby say i siao ding dong... waste $$...jus concentrate and specialise in 1 will do. ever since i bought him a stroller, i find putting my son in his stroller better than carrying him... at least both of us have hands free to eat. heeheehee...

smurfy
u'r rite, the patapum is similar...but not much cheaper leh. Cos Ergo BP price is a few dollars less in fact.

u not using ur Ergo anymore? Still in good condition? lemme borrow to try or sell to me? Heehee! :p
cos if really too hot for our weather hor, i oso dun wan... but patapum really not as thick ah?

bobianahh,

ya, i not using anymore cos he is 10kg now, my shoulders cannot tahan already. Furthermore i keep thinking that his urine leak and keep touching my stomach to feel the wetness. But actually its becos both of us are sweating profusely due to the heat :p

Sorry, my Ergo carrier was lent to my friend alrdy.. but i can recommend you a person who rents if you want. PM me.

I have not seen the real patapum thing. But from wat i seen from the pics, it seems to be better than Ergo. Less pockets, more compact. Seriously, i have never use the hood and the pockets attached to it.

Hi Hui & Jaline,

My gal (born in Oct 06 too) also starts to learn crawling when she is abt 7 mth +.
At first I tot she will skip the crawling process as initially she only does "push up" & move backward instead of forward.
Only recently then she decides to move forward

Now hv to be careful what I put on the floor especially the table fan as she always move toward the direction where the fan is.

Angez,
$600 should be quite reasonable right. I visited there on Wed. No air con one ar?

Hook,
Teck whye there got MMI meh? I thought only 1 at Ten mile only. So now where is ur boy sch?

Hui,
I also new bird there, only organized 3x BP, 1 is the Old Navy another is Gymbroee and current one is the CCT. Is best the u jo the mummies to buy together in order to share the shipping fee Vpost charged. Vpost actually charge according to the weight or the size of ur item so u need to check with the supplier the weight n dimension of yr item. I haven try order from ebay or amazon b4 maybe u can ask at the overseas sprees there whether any mummies interested to buy those things u mentioned and organize the spree and u can tobang thr.

sunny,
thanks. i dun think anyone would wan to buy the items i interested. cos board games are abit bulky n heavy... i siao abt rekingling my childhood memories nowadays... must b too old liao...something wrong.

agnez,
oh, so i gotta be careful of the things ard him next time... got so much to clear then, house messy with things here n there.

bobian,
saw u very ON in teaching your bb... can share? i dunno wat to do with my son leh.. jus let him eat sleep play.

bobian,
ur gal using nepia? if u wan to exchange with ntuc voucher, can consolidate with my 2 miserable ones? btw, send to: Nepia distributor with name n other details....Raffles city PO box 1783 s911760...tel: 62262650

hui
honestly, i not very on la...actually i think i quite lazy liao. Some ppl when do the GD method, follow very religiously, like must do 3 times a day etc etc. I will close one eye lor....and weekend sometimes i a bit slack. But as long as my ger enjoy, its ok. And when she enjoy i oso happy mah. I think using GD or other flashcards, no real diff ba...just bonding time with bb. And for something to do lor...else i feel very funny just eee eee aaah ahhh wif her...:p

Hui,

Same here
my hse is a mess too.
But it's impt to baby proof the surrounding so that hv less worries when they're learning to crawl, walk etc...
I'm now looking for contractor to install window grill before my gal learns to walk & climb.

bobian,
u mean u jus show her flashcards? how do u know whether she likes? or does she register what's dat on the cards?? i saw abt multiplication n division etc... so young know or understand multiplication n division meh??
kao_dizzy.gif

agnez,
when we did our flat, i like the windows clear from grills...but hubby insists to put grilles, now i cannot agree more with him...especially if we r living more than 20 storeys high...

hui
i show her flashcards. can tell if they are interested or not. if they interested, they will look at the cards, sometimes smile, look at u, if they not interested, will look away lor.
bb quite clever one, it is us who think they dum dum...if we teach them they will learn, if we dun teach them, they dun learn lor.

anyway, we are not out to test them. the main purpose is to bond with bb and cultivate love for learning. And of cos, stimulate them and increase their learning capacity. That's why so many parents cannot do flashcards, cos the objective is wrong...