Any SAHMTBs?

Twins_mommy, don't worry, I'm sure everything will be fine. Keep praying for God's protection ya....We'll keep you in our prayers too! Seems like everyone is experiencing insomia....I've been surviving on only 2-3hrs of sleep for the past 3 days...keep waking up at wee hrs in the morning and can't go back to sleep....Well, at least the only consolation is it's TGIF tomorrow....yippee...

Don't worry twins mommy, we'll pray for u and your lil' Chloe to recover soon. She needs a strong mommy in order to fight the battle. Hope we are able to see her smiley face soon... May God bless u and your family.

Congrats Missbluey! Now u can go shop for baby boy's stuff. actually foir boys, u wont spend so much on clothes as there aren't many designs like girls' clothings, so can save a little bit there...

twins mummy
must be hard on you and your girl. hope chloe recovers soon and given the green light at today's review!

re: insomia
i hardly had time to have insomia.. how i wish i can sleep thru the night without having to wake up....

wawa:
thanks!! ya, cuz boys only got shorts/pants..haha...

twins_mommy:
hope your girl is better liao! take good care of yourself too!

Thanks for your prayers. My gal is back to her active, bubbly self already! I think she feels much happier without being fed antibiotics every few hours.

She doesn't require any more wound dressing at the clinic. Will only need to be review by the KKH surgeon in 6 week's time. *Phew* Thank God for that!

twins mommy, Praise God for li' Chloe's recovery! I hope you're also back to your cheerful self seeing your lil' princess back on track...

Do you have a pic of your twins? Why don't u post it up to let us see your 2 lovely and bubbly twins?

Bb jus slept - finally have time to log into this forum

Hi twins_mommy
Glad to hear tat Chloe is recovering well. Praise the Lord! Can imagine your anxiety n concern... BTW, how did she get the lump? Was it an insect bite? Or was it allergy?
Alexander past few days has been cranky - tummy upset?!So now got to carry him n sayang him more often. It is only recent tat he does not poo everyday - not sure is it due to the food tat i eat or jus his body system. My FIL suggested giving him prune juice but i am not sure how his body might react? Am afraid tat he will get allergy. Moreover, he is still so young (3 months plus) - i'd rather bb go on breastmilk (n formula) than feed 'this n that'. My MIL suspect he is teething - but not so soon rite?
Now i know wat u mean by 'time out' for ourselves - it is really tiring n stressful looking after bb - even my meal time are all topsy turvey. I only got one bb n i am finding it a challenge - i salute you for having to care for TWO at the same time.

You mentioned tat u had a bad experience at KKH? Oops - i hv been bringing bb for rountine check-up at KKH n so far - experience is ok. At which clinic did u bring yr bb to? How come she is being attended to by training nurse? Did u feedback to the senior staff in charge? I always tot KKH specialises in bb - tat y, partly, i chose to deliver there (partly - gynae recommended by my sis)

Hi Fayina
Thanks for including bb weight n height. Please help me to update - Alexander weighs 3.8kg n 50cm. So, how hv u been feeling? Went for yr check-up? Everything ok? Gotton all yr bb stuff? Or wating for GSS to start shopping???

Hi Missbluey
Bf will not be easy - but there are many mummies who have succeeded. i tried for about a week or so but in the end, express breast milk. So far, milk supply is ok. Now, Bb have been on total breast milk. But at times, i do supplement wif formula.
Aiyahyah - yr MIL has a very traditional mindset! Well, she means well but times have changed ... personally, i feel tat u have to be hygienic - moreover, u r going to bf ...
You can bath wif herb - if u do wash hair, need to blow dry immediately. Come to think of it : U can take her advise (partially) by not bathing when u r recuperating in hospital ... But wat is yr husband opinion? Most impt is to get his support.
Its a boy?! Are u happy? Yr MIL sure will sayang u more ... hahaha ... anyway, do take care rest well

Hi wawa
'welcome to my world'... hahahaha

Hi Puretulips
Looks like our meet up will not be so soon. Bb recently cranky ... u must be feeling excited ... jus one more month. So, how r u feeling? Do rest more n relax.

Hi tinklebell
Feeling excited too? Everything more or less prepared? Do take care

Hi tinklebell & all,
Here's a recent pix of my gals at the playground and one taken at KKH's PCC yesterday. In both pix, Gracia (twin 1) is on your left while Chloe (twin 2) is on your right.

788710.jpg
788711.jpg

My gals turn exactly 7 months tomorrow. Time really flies...

Hey twins_mommy, glad to hear that your little Chloe has recovered. Praise the Lord! Like what poo_power says, really salute you having to manage two babies. Now I begin to worry if I can take care of baby by myself when my CL leaves. Guess I'm thinking too much ya....anyway, enjoy yr wkend!

Hi poo_power, Don't think it's advisable to give prune juice to little Alexander since he's still so young..maybe u can seek professional advise from PD. Usually baby will start teething from 4 months onwards but it also depends on individual, some may start teething as early as 3mth + . Is his gums red and sore?

Oh ya...certainly excited with just 1mth + more to go...but at the same time also getting the jitters thinking of the labour! Just went for my check-up this afternoon and glad that my baby is growing very well now weighing at 2.1kg. How I wish I can "Fast forward" the time so that I don't have to countdown everyday. Time really crawls like a snail nowadays and with the backache, ankle pain, haemorrhiods, etc it doesn't make my life easier...

Hi poo power,
I'm not very sure but your MIL might be right. My gals had signs of emerging teeth from their gums at 3 months. It took another 2 painful months before their teeth finally "break free" and emerge. During those motnhs, they can literally flood my house with their drool. But I understand that excessive salivation can cause stomach upset due to the enzymes released. Perhaps you want to give Alexander some gripe water?

As for Chloe's lump, the surgeon suspects she had clogged pores at the infected site. I hope this is the last time we need to have her go under the knife. She was warded at KKH when she had to endure the training nurses' "skills". I didn't want to kick a fuss bcos the poor nurse is also learning on the job. Plus, I was too tired to even bother to think. I also had sacarstic remarks from a staff nurse when I ask for change of bedsheet bcos Chloe's drypers leaked. Was very pissed but it was 5am. Not interested to create a scene then. I simply called my HB to bring me a pack of Mamypoko later that morning. And you know what? The ward didn't even have clothes for my gal, saying that "S" size is out of stock. My gal couldn't fit their "M" size. It just keep falling off her tiny body. And I can't fit her hands into her own clothings we brought bcos of the huge splinter & IV they tied to her arm. Sigh... I had to ask my maid to bring singlets in the end and wrap my gal in thick blanket. The aircon in the ward is really cold and it rained those few nights. I shivered in the cold, so I can imagine how my poor gal feel in her roomy singlet. Bcos my gal was in her own clothings, the training nurse mistook Gracia for Chloe on Sunday and almost wanted to take Gracia's temperature! *headache*!!!

Well, despite my complaints about the nurses, I must at least agree that my gal's surgeon is really very, very good. I think my gal likes her. And we love the staff at the Day Surgery. The private children's clinic's service level is not too bad as well.

People have varying experience at KKH, so I feel their service level is not consistent. Anyway, its not important anymore now that my gal is doing great.

Tomorrow is my OFF DAY! Looking forward to dining & shopping with my pals without my gals. Hopefully my HB can "survive" till I'm home. Hehehe...

Hi puretuplips,
Enjoy having your BB in your bump now. I missed those days when they were "indoor" and kicking me.
One month will pass by very soon with a blink of an eye. Keep talking to your BB, relax and rest well. Dun worry unnecessary bcos anxiety may lead to early labour. Just enjoy the pregnancy journey and go with the flow... No matter how prepared you are, you'll never be fully prepared for the big day when BB arrives, so don't think too much into it. Let it come naturally, then you'll enjoy every moment till the arrival of your precious little one.

Hi Twins_Mommy,

So glad that little Chole is recovering well.. hope she is feeling better today.. the pics.. your twin girls are really so cute... ; )

May God bless you & your loved ones!

Hi Poo_Power,

So nice to hear from you... guess u must be pretty occupied with your precious Alexander ; )

How is he feeling today? Better?

I think better not to give him prune juice.. he is still so young...

Have you check with any Pediatrician for advise?

May God Bless Little Alexander.. ; )

Sure, I will update the details. Thanks as well!

I'm feeling alright recently, just having too much dreams lately...

Can't wait to go for my next check-up.. just want to make sure bb is growing well.. is like feel more at ease loh...
My check-up is next week.. will update you again.. kind of tense up...

I haven't get any bb stuff yet... as I mentioned to u before, my sis-in-law will pass me some bb's stuff..

I will have to check my list & see what I need to get...

Ya, also waiting for the GSS... hee...hee...

Dear Mummies / Mummies to be,

Btw, are u all using / getting a bb cot or?

My Sis-in-law pass me a playpen.. another might pass me the yao-lan.. portable type..

I don't know which one should I choose...

but I hope to let my kid sleep on a mattress when she/he reach 2 yrs & above... so I don't wish to spend on a bb cot..

but as for newborn... till then... I really don't know...

What do u think? Any advise for me?

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD/Baby's DOB</TD><TD>HP</TD><TD>Home</TD><TD>Email Add</TD><TD>MSN Add</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB's Name</TD><TD>BB's Wt.</TD><TD>BB's Ht. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Faith</TD><TD>Twins_Mommy</TD><TD>33+</TD><TD>6-Oct-06</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Sembawang Drive</TD><TD>[email protected]</TD><TD>[email protected]</TD><TD>Twin Girls</TD><TD>Gracia & Chloe</TD><TD>_</TD><TD>_ </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeline</TD><TD>Poo_Power</TD><TD>32+</TD><TD>15-Jan-07</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Yew Tee</TD><TD>[email protected]</TD><TD>[email protected]</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Alexander</TD><TD>3.8 kg</TD><TD>50 cm </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kai Ling</TD><TD>Wawapiggyling</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>12-Apr-07</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>SengKang</TD><TD>[email protected]</TD><TD>[email protected]</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>TianLe</TD><TD>3.5 kg</TD><TD>50 cm </TD></TR><TR><TD>Charine</TD><TD>Puretulips</TD><TD>29+</TD><TD>27-Jun-07</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>[email protected]</TD><TD>[email protected]</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>_</TD><TD>_</TD><TD>_ </TD></TR><TR><TD>Evander</TD><TD>Tinklebell</TD><TD>29+</TD><TD>10-Jun-07</TD><TD>MT.A</TD><TD>Bukit Merah</TD><TD>[email protected].</TD><TD>[email protected]</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Lincoln Choo</TD><TD>_</TD><TD>_ </TD></TR><TR><TD>Paulene</TD><TD>Missbluey</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>Sep-07</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>[email protected]</TD><TD>[email protected]</TD><TD>Unknown</TD><TD>_</TD><TD>_</TD><TD>_ </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angie</TD><TD>Fayina</TD><TD>28+</TD><TD>Sep-07</TD><TD>MT.A</TD><TD>Jurong</TD><TD>[email protected]</TD><TD>[email protected]</TD><TD>Unknown</TD><TD>_</TD><TD>_</TD><TD>_ </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hello Fayina, Thanks for updating the table.

I've bgt a cot for my bb but my sis just passed me the "yaolan" as my mum claimed that sleeping in a "yaolan" will help bb to develop a rounded head. Not sure how true that is but I guess I'll let my bb sleep in the "yaolan" during daytime and the cot during nite time so that she will not experience difficulties getting use to the cot when she outgrew the "yaolan". Maybe you can alternate between the "yaolan" and the playpen...

hi Puretulips,

Ya, they say "yaolan" can shape bb's head more round..
But do u have any idea that playpen is suitable for newborn.. sleeping.. ?

Fayina, playpen should be suitable for newborn cos I hv friends using it for their bbs. Tinklebell also has a hand me down playpen for little Lincoln. However, once your baby dev better motor skills ie. reaching and climbing, it will not be advisable for them to sleep in playpen since it's not as stable compared to cot bed.

Hey poo power, how's your lil' Alex doing? Have u consulted your PD about his condition yet? I hope he gets better soon.

I'm definitely getting more and more excited AND impatient as my EDD draws near. Should be almost there in my prep... already booked my CL and massage lady, got the nec breastfeeding stuff and standby NB and S diapers. Hopefully i can bf like u.

Twins mommy, u have a lovely pair of Gracia and Chloe! Hopefully we will hear more good news from u when Chloe goes for her review checkups. Just curious, how do u differentiate between the twins har? They look so alike! ;)

Fayina, looks like u're getting into the mood of bb shopping soon! You're fortunate to have many hand-me-downs from your sis. I wish i have a sis to hand down bb things to me. Personally, i feel u can evaluate your choice based on the durability and mobility of the bed - whether it lasts as bb grows and whether it can be easily transported. The bb will definitely outgrow the playpen after 6mos but we got it as a temporary nap/play area for the bb when he is small bec of its mobility as compared to a cot. It can be pushed to anywhere in the house. Likewise for sarong net and moses basket/crib/bassinet, the bb will outgrow them super fast. The only durable investment would be a cot/cotbed as bb can sleep in it till at least 3yrs old. I got a cotbed which will be placed in my bedroom where i prepare to train my bb to sleep in permanently. Cotbeds can be converted to a toddler single bed later as well.

If u're getting a sarong net and playpen, chances are your bb will outgrow them after 6mos and therefore u'll still need to invest in a bigger bed eventually. But why waste the money when u only need a bigger bed later? So just make do with the sarong net and playpen first. Just make sure the playpen comes with a higher level bassinet so that u don't need to bend over too much when u place the baby in/out. Also i heard babies can get too comfy with the sarong net that it can be hard for them to sleep in other beds. Hence u may need to train your bb to get used to sleeping in the playpen somehow. I still recall those days when my mum coaxed me to sleep in a sarong net, it was simply so comfortable!

Oh ya, thanks for updating the table! You're so hardworking... Looks like i'm the next one to pop in a mth's time.

Puretulips, wow your bb is 2.1kg now! Must be bec of the choc fudge cake u were eating... hehe... Are your checkups 3-weekly or 2-weekly now? Mine is still 3-weekly. Kinda getting impatient now as the kicks are getting harder.

Btw, i showed your maternity shots to my hb. And you know what, i finally convinced him to take up the free maternity studio photoshoot package i told u about! Thanks to your wonderful pictures!

Are we still on for our choc detox next week?

Fayina/Miss Bluey, you're most welcome to join us. We can bring u go bb shopping as well!

Poo power/Wawa/Twins mommy, not sure if you can get time-off from your lil' ones or bring them along, but it'll be great if we can all go for the choc detox together! We will most likely be going to a choc cafe at Esplanade.

Chat up on MSN later!

poo_power:
what is even worse my hubby thinks the same as her! double triple sigh. perhaps i can start planning when to sneak in a quick bath. wahahaha!

yup, it is a boy. uh, i was actually hoping for a girl lah, hehe. but what matters is bb is healthy and bouncy! =)

twins_mommy:
glad your little girl has recovered! and my, they are really cute!!

anyway just to update, i still having a little difficulty in getting to sleep these days. still having dreams on and off. haven't start on shopping spree for bb stuff, not sure whether mil will buy anot. doubt i will have hands -me-downs.

ps: i am on a tight budget, therefore might not be able to join you girls for choco feast! *sobs*

Hi mummies/mummies-to-be

Looks like the MTBs are having fun doing last min shopping and indulging in the finer things in life... go pamper yourselves be4 baby comes.. =)

i hardly have time to log on and post msgs as baby is keeping me really busy... and i'll be moving home thiscoming thursday.. how time flies... i wonder if i can cope when i'm home alone with bb... really a scary thought..

re: baby cot, playpen & yao lan
i'm using a playpen at my mum's home now and have a hand-me-down baby cot at my house... so having tried the playpen, i personally think that a baby cot that is meant exclusively for sleeping is still the preferred one as it is more sturdy. though the convertible playpen serves a dual purpose, i find it very stressful on my back when i bend down to pick up bb. but for me, this arrangement suits me fine as now bb sleeps in the playpen while im doing confinement, and when he grows older, he can play in it when i go back to my parents' home. As for yao lan, I've heard that it may not be so good for the bb's spine... but im not too sure if there is any specific prove, as i myself and my siblings grow up sleeping in them... but it does get dangerous when bb grows older, somehow they can wriggle their legs out of the yao lan. but the plus point is that the rocking motion soothes the baby to sleep and if u get the electirc ones, then mummy can do other stuff while baby is being rocked to sleep...

twins mummy
your girls really look sweet....they look chubby!

puretulips
i'm interested to see your maternity shots as well, if you don't mind showing me =).. actually i have thought abt doing it but just think think nvr act.. now all's left is a flabby buldging tummy that refuses to go away.... by the way. how many kgs have u all gained so far? judging by the pics in msn, seems that most of the MTBs are on the smaller and slimer side....

re: msn
apologies to those that i did not reply to on msn.. sometimes, i'm really caught up with my baby that i left the comp and only return hrs later or my siblings wld have occupied the comp w/o logging off my msn.

tinklebell, puretulips
so exciting.. in a mth's time, we'll have 2 more MTBs joining our mummies rank!! do keep us updated of ur bb's progress in the womb and when they pop!

Hi Puretulips, Tinklebell & Wawa
Thank u so much for the advise.. ; )
Looks like I can use the hand down playpen & sarong net (portable) for the early stage only..
Ya, I also dun wish to spend that money for the cot first (shall see how it goes & decide later..)
I have not fix the playpen yet so I also dun know how low is the bassinet
I also worried I need to bend over too much ; (
I also sleep sarong net in the past heeheee.
Ya, right need to alternate both sleeping area day & night (sarong net & the playpen)
dun wish bb to rely on sarong net too much..
Actually I also heard that sarong net might not be so good for the bb's spine
My friends hubby insisted on a cot compare to a sarong net
So, I feel unsure about the sleeping part for my bb
Still.. I feel better after hearing from you ladies ; o

Ya, Puretulips & Tinklebell babies going to pop out soon ; )
Final stage liao.

Oh.. u ladies going for choc detox next week wont be joining you this time round..
I havent settle my list yet will go shopping spree next 2 months
Enjoy your choc session!

See u in msn later...

Fayina,
My gals alternate between sarong and cot during daytime. But both sleep in their own cot at night. I only started them on sarong when they were 5 months old bcos my friend gave her portable sarong set to me. Hence, they are not at all dependent on sarong. Me and my sisters (as well as my HB and his brothers) all grew up sleeping in sarong. None of us have spine issues, so we believe the sarong is "Spine safe". Hee...

While its not a bad idea to use the playpen for a start, I agree with Wawa that you should really take care of your back while using the playpen. It can be quite straining for your back to keep bending low. So take note, ya?

tinklebell,
I can't confirm if I can join in the Choc Detox next week. May I know which day that'll be? If I can make some caregiving arrangements for my gals, then I'll be able to meet up with you gals.

Hi ladies! *Yawning* Didn't sleep a wink last nite....so tired....

Hi FayinaSince your intention is to get your bb to sleep on a mattress, you can make use of the yaolan and the playpen for the time being till your bb outgrows them.

Hey Tinklebell Glad to know that you finally convince your hubby to take the maternity photos...kekeke..can form part of yr scrapbk too! Must share with us when the photos are ready. My check-up is now every 2 wks and I heard I'll need to see the gynae every wk when I enter 36wks. Kekek...my bb muz have luv the chocolate fudge cake...yup yup...how can I miss out the choco detox...looks like there's only 2 of us avail. Sms me when u fix a date and time.

Hi wawatinklebell and I will soon be joining the busy mama club too! Hope we'll still be able to keep in contact after we deliver to exchange our experiences and to lend listening ears to each other...kekeke We may need to seek advise from more experience mummies like u, twin_mommy and poo_power....Don't worry about not replying our msn msg...we are all understanding MTBs...
No prob, I will send u the link to my maternity photos via yr excite a/c. So far, I have gained 15kg, now weighing 58kg...gosh...wonder how I regain my figure after that...

Hi twin_mommyYour girls are adorable! Like Tinklebell, I'm also wondering how you differentiate your twins since they look so alike!

puretulips & tinklebell,
I couldn't figure out who's who initially. TMC tied 1 string to the wrist of twin 1 and 2 strings to the wrist of twin 2 to help identify them. The first few days at home after discharge from TMC, I tried to identify them by their ears which looked a little different. On the 5th day, we "discovered" twin 1 has strawberry veins (which will disappear as she aged) on her wrist. So that became the key differentiating item. However, they wore mittens most of the time, so not helpful after a while.

Having to look after them 24/7 after my confinement lady left, somehow I could just tell them apart. Everyone else including HB and maid still get confused at times. But the girls are quite different in terms of character, so you can sometimes guess who's who by their response and action. Gracia (twin 1) is quieter and gentle in her actions, whereas Chloe (twin 2) is louder, more bubbly and rough at play. To me, they are just 2 different people.

We used to play "Guess Who" everyday when my HB return home from work. It was really fun then cos he's wrong most of the time. Nowadays, he's better at figuring out their identity, so we stopped playing. Hee!

Dear Poo_power, Tinkelbell, Puretulips, Wawa, Miss Bluey & Twins_Mommy,

I went for my check-up today..
My blood test is alright..
Ask me to gain more weight.. (2 kg per mth)
Today is the day to check for bb's organs..
BB is not very co-operative this morning..
need to walk away for 15 mins & try again... bb's position slightly better..
Everything "seems" fine... except the whole face.. he cannot see the bb's face.. Doc. asked me to go NUH for another "FA" scan.. 3wks later (to double confirm the face (facial) & heartbeat) if results is ok then go back & see him in 4 wks time)
he didn't mention if it is not ok..
I left the clinic... & came back..
I called the clinic again to clarify regarding this issue & tell them I'm worried...
(after the assistant spoke to the doc. she told me not to worry, just go for the scan & see the results first..can always give them a call when anything is not alright...

I'm truly worried... and feel like crying..
I'm really afraid...
Can anyone tell me if my next scan is not ok (the heartbeat or face not forming well) what consequences do I have to face?

It's going to be 5 mths soon.. and now is like something is not right..
and if really is not right.. I really don't think I can withstand the blow..

I haven't tell any of my close fiends yet.. but first thing in my mind is to u all...
Now is like no heart to do anything else..
Just have to wait 3 wks later..
Won't be in msn.. feeling very blue... ; (

Dear Fayina, is today your detailed scan? Try not to worry too much and go for another scan first. Sometimes these things happen due to the baby's position. I hear of mummies who went for scans 3 or more times bec the baby's position was not ideal. Your baby can feel u too, so meanwhile stay positive and try to sayang your bb and let your bb know you love him...

We'll pray for u ya? Have faith in God, he'll hear us and tell your baby to be cooperative

Twins mommy, you're so bad confusing your hb when he was already blur in differentiating between Gracia and Chloe. I bet he must have had ???? all over his head whenever he went home to play "Guess Who?". It must be fun though ;) I guess mummies still know their kids best

Puretulips, Twins mommy, is next Tue/Wed, 15/16 May ok for us to meet up? There are 2 choices, either Max Brenner at Esplanade (rec by TCS 5 program "Sweets for my Sweets" hosted by Jade Seah and Michelle Chong) and NYDC (famous for their mudpies) at Suntec/Heeren/Wheelock. I'm more for NYDC at Suntec/Heeren as there r at least mummy places in the vicinity to shop before/after the detox, IF we r not too tired/full and they also serve good main course too if u feel chox is not enough ;) What's your take?

Let's meet at 1pm?

The rest, no worries abt not being able to meet up, i'm sure there will be many opportunities - Motherhood fair and GSS are both coming up!

Btw, Fayina and Missbluey, do let me know if u wanna get anything at Mothercare as i have a 15% voucher which i'll be using on this Fri at Vivocity. Puretulips, i'll get a box of milk storage bags (with zipper) for u if they have?

Fayina
don't worry too much. based on what you have written, it seems to be more of the detailed scan can't scan your bb's face due to the position..our hormones tend to get the better of us and we tend to worry and get depressed more during pregnancy (even after pregnancy as well and i can attest to that).. so it may just be another routine check... stay positive ok? furthermore, doc says to go back and see him in 4 wks time if results is ok, means that he thinks everything shld be fine. if not, i think he would have the professionalism to warn u first.. from the looks of it, it really seems fine...

twins mummy
what an interesting game that you play with ur family and it's only exclusive to you!. none of us can play the guess who game unless we have twins or even triplets..=)

puretulips
wow your maternity shots look very nice.. give me the feeling of a very cheerful and bright looking pregnant mom. thanks for sharing! how much did you spend to take the shots? your tummy still looks compact.. when were the shots taken? hmm.. no chance for me now...

all mummies/mtbs
so much for the talk on conflicts between u all and mils... i have a pending prob on hand making me quite sad. my hubby quite unhappy with the way my family takes car eof the bb (this story aside first)....as u all know, i am staying at my mum's place for confinement and hubby stays with me... as his job nature requires that he spends a lot of time away from home (like not coming back home for the whole week), he spends very little time with us...on a typical non-late night, he will reach home abt 8pm and get up to go work at abt 5-6am... everything seems fine except now that im ending my confinement... i'm moving back home on thurs and have to readjust to life again with my baby... i'm actually very afraid of looking after bb myself... think i cant handle.. right now, my mum and me alternate between looking after bb... though i may be excited to move back home, im still quite skeptical abt single-handedly looking after bb... so my mum suggest that i continue staying with them until bb is bigger (perhaps a few mths old)... she suggest us staying over on weekdays and moving back home when my hubby is not working (like Public holidays or weekends).. my hubby is a very easy going person.. initially he is ok with the arrangement but yesterday, he black-faced and told me we shld move back home.. reason being: he already spends very little time with bb and whenever he comes back to my parents' home to cuddle and play with bb, within mins, the bb will be snatched away from him.. i also obeserved this and initially i was very sensitive to his feelings and asked if it's ok for him... at the start, he was ok until last night, he suddenly black face and voice out his displeasure.. becos his parenting style is very different from my mum (who is the most experienced amg us), whenever bb cries, he'll talk to bb patiently and bb will continue to wail while he keeps his patience.. but for my mum, she'll take bb away from him and start to soothe bb (and it wokrs most of the time)...in fact, there are so many pple in my family wanting to carry bb that my hubby does not seem to have time alone with bb...actually i feel sad too but my mum really works wonder when it comes to calming down bb...much as i want to look after bb independently, i cannot deny that i cant do without my mum... now hubby unhappy but didnt show in front of my family and my mum is asking me if i have discussed with him on the living arrangement... on one hand, my mum's being a great help but she has made my hubby feel incompetent in looking after bb... on the other hand, my hubby's being very understanding but his patience is running out.. how how?

Hi Fayina, try to think on the positive side ok. Since the doc didn't mention anything I guess there's no cause for concern. It may be due to your bb's position hence he's unable to do the scanning on the facial features. Keep your faith and continue praying for God's protection. I'm sure your bb is gg to be fine. BTW, I didn't go for any detail scan cos my gynae reassure me that everything is fine so he did not see the need for me to go for it. Nevertheless, if you are still worried, I suggest you could seek for alternative opinion from private gynae. At least you can get the reassurance and not stress yrself up. Cheer up gal! Maybe you would like to join us for the choz detox at least to get your mind off from the worries....

twin_mommy You are so naughty to come up with the play the guess who game. Kekeke....I bet yr hubby must be so confused initially..Hey...Hope you can join us for the choz detox outing....

tinklebell How about next Tues at NYDC Heeren? Wow....you really can shop ya...I've stopped shopping already cos I experience ankle pain when I walk too much....Hey thanks but I decided not to get any bags to store my breastmilk since I'll be at home most of the time. I feel the avent containers are sufficient.

Hi wawa! Thanks! Just took the photos last Monday. It was a fun session but tiring though... I paid $188 for 2hrs session and I took a total of 209 shots. All the softcopies were returned to me. Find it's quite worthwhile as I've checked with some of the other studios and they charge at a much higher price and they don't return you the softcopies. Keke, you can consider taking the photoshoots for yr 2nd bb...kekeke Hmmm...looking at the problem, I can understand how your hubby feels. Maybe you can have a talk with your mum about "snatching" away bb from yr hubby when he cries. Since your hubby is spending so little time wt little Tianle, he'll definitely need some time to build the bonding with him. Instead of taking bb away to pacify him, maybe your mum can guide / teach your hubby along...at least your hubby will not feel so incompetent afterall he's the father of little Tianle. I feel you should move back home so that your hubby has more time to spend with bb. Of course, it'll be tough for you since you'll hv to adapt to taking care of bb independently. Maybe your mum can pop over yr plc to help out when she's free? Well, this is just my 2 cents worth lah...ultimately u'll need to feel comfortable about the arrangement.

fayina:
don't worry so much k...your emotions will be felt by your bb de..like what others mentioned, i am also sure your bb will be fine..

so far, i didn't go for any detailed scans excpet ultrasound scans (they are not considered right?)..perhaps i might need for my next checkup?? i have no idea..anyway, my next checkup will be at KKH liao..i forgot who is my gynae, only can remember his surname (Dr Tan)..later gonna collect the referral letter and my blood test results. =)

twins_mommy:
i think it was really fun to play "Guess Who"...hehe..

tinklebell:
hmm, i am still not sure what i want...still clueless..

wawa:
i guess the reason why your hubby is acting that way cuz he feels that he isn't carrying out his duties as a father since he has to work long hours...perhaps you can share your problem with your mother and see what she says? after all, it i s so much easier talking to your mother than mil ma..maybe your mother is oblivious to your hubby's reactions..maybe she thinks that guys don't really know how to pacify babies???
hope things will work out for you.. =)

fayina, must remember to smile smile hor!!

Hey wawa, looks like with the bb comes a new set of problems huh... But i'm sure this prob will resolve in time if all parties give in. It's normal for your mum to dominate the bb, esp when she has already built the bond with the bb during your confinement and seems to be the only experienced one in handling the bb. However she needs to be reminded that u and your hb are afterall the rightful parents to Tianle and therefore should try to coach both of u to be good parents, and not "snatch" the bb away everytime the bb cries. As for your hb, i agree with Puretulips and Missbluey that he is both feeling guilty and inferior that he is not performing his duty as a father so why don't you and your mum give him a chance? I'm sure your mum's skills didn't come overnight. Since your mum has the magical touch on Tianle, talk to her to impart her skills to both of u. I'm sure u want the bb to be brought up by u and your hb and not his grandparents right? Old folks meant well most of the time but usually couldn't express their good intentions in words, hence what may seem like "helping" to soothe the bb instead becomes "snatching" the bb away. Perhaps you can try probing your mum subtlely when she "snatches" the bb next time, by first commending her on her magnificent skills - like "Hmmm... Tianle seems to respond to you all the time. How do u do it mum?" When she feels good that you recognize her capability, she will be more open to share with u. And if your hb feels awkward to do it, u can in turn impart the knowledge u got from your mum to him. When she sees that both of u can handle the bb over time, she will soon let go as well...

However this means wawa, you have to be the middleman, which in this case, is kinda inevitable as you're both the wife/bb's mummy and the daughter. A bit siong, but try it soon, u never know it works or not until u try it.

Fayina - feeling better yet? If u do feel down, talk to your baby whilst stroking your tummy, you'll feel better and baby can feel u too.

Missbluey - you may not even need the detailed scan like in tulips' case, but try asking abt it as it will give u some reassurance and peace of mind to go for the detailed scan. You can even see the "dang dang" more clearly with the detailed scan. The scans are actually done with ultrasound as well but it gives u the scans in different angles and perspectives. Like i mentioned to u on msn, i actually saw my bb's "dang dang" sticking out in between his legs from the bottom view of the buttocks and thighs. That u can't see from a normal ultrasound scan.

Don't worry abt what to get, u still have plenty of time, esp with the GSS coming up as well!

Puretulips - actually i also cannot shop long already, my ankles do hurt, esp now that my feet are starting to retain water
But i can always rise to the occasion if u guys r game for it, a short one though. Don't worry abt the milk bags, hope that the cups can suffice. Btw, a salesperson told me the cups cannot be sterilized and used more than 5x, so do keep track of the no. of times u use them.

Twins mommy: Are u ok with meeting up on next Tue, 15 May, 1pm at NYDC Heeren? We could just either pop by Paragon or Centrept after that and it is also close to Somerset MRT if you're traveling by MRT. PM me or tulips your contact ya!

Dear WaWa, Puretulips & Missbluey,

Thank you very much for your moral support & encouragement to me..
I will try to be positive & look on the bright side..
Though deep down in me really feel kind of worry..
Forgive me for not responding to some of your woes & everything..
Feeling kind of loss... in a way... need some time to calm myself...

Missbluey,
"Detailed scan" normally done on the 20wks (it maybe earlier or later (1 to 2 wks difference) depends on the gynea)
Like Puretulips mentioned.. her gynea did not ask her to do "detailed scan" because her gynea reassure her that everything is fine.

Please take good care of yourself.
May God bless every each of us...

thank you all for the advice.. i'll try to work on it..like what tinklebell says, it's very true that older folks may not be very expressive with words and their concerned actions may seem intruding to us.. likewise, though i can open up to my hubby, i'm more reserved and keep things to myself when it comes to interacting with my family.. it's the kind of environment that i have been brought up in... parents raise their voice in the house even when they are not arguing....and a stern father who is very strict in discipling us... that's y when it comes to opening up my inner feelings to my family, it doesn't come easy...even my relationship with my hubby during courtship was only revealed to them after dunno how many yrs together =)..anyway, it's a blessing to have u all here to confide in.. feel much better and you all have shed some light in how i can deal with it...hope things get better.

Fayina
don't worry, really. i also had a detailed scan at 5 mths and i thought it was compulsory???? 1st of all, i think u might have misunderstood that having the detailed scan means suspecting sth is not right in the 1st place, and it's made worse by the fact that your bb's position isnt viable for the facial details to be scanned... h/e, i went for it with the mentality that it is a compulsory thingy and to reassure that everything is alright, so dont worry too much and just relax.. bb can feel it.

puretulips,
really? u went for the shoot last monday? it's really cheap compared to the other packages that i have come across. did they give u hardcopy in an ablum as well? perhaps that's too much to ask.. haha... but ur tummy so nice... mine cannot make it lah... wait until 2nd bb?? now after the first, already so many stretch marks and loose/buldging tummy + dripping breasts ... i'm on the verge of giving up hope on regaining my pre-pregnancy shape..

re: choc detox
yummy.. do enjoy urselves gals.... i'm bringing my boy to polyclinic for injection nxt tue.... wont be able to come out and see the world so soon.. let me hibernate for some more.. heehee

Hi ladies, hope you're all feeling good today. Mother's day is approaching. Let me wish all mummies and mtbs a very happy mother's day! I've rec'd some comics from my friend and I find it quite hilarious! Hope it'll brighten up your day!
board-post.cgi

Fayina,
Cheer up and dun worry. I know its easier said than done. When I was in my first trimester, my gynae told us the triple test may not be accurate for twins pregnancy so I have the option of not doing it. However, my HB think we should go ahead and do it since it cost less than $100. And guess what? Result was 127 for our case (normally 1000 and above), meaning very high chance of getting down syndrome babies. Gynae said to wait till 20th week to get a detailed scan for further confirmation. My HB was very, very upset. We don't believe in abortion but I know the thought of having 2 DS babies was driving him nuts. I told him "not to affect my mood" bcos I need to stay cheerful for the sake of my babies. I prayed for God's protection over the twins and prayed against the test results. I don't know how my HB pulled thru those few weeks of waiting, but I had to hang on to my faith. And we thank God for 2 healthy babies now. I was told that even thru the detailed scan, the radiologist can only "guess" from facial structure that my gals are not DS babies. You have to trust God for His gift of life, ya?

tinklebell, puretulips and ALL,
I will try my best to meet you all at NYDC Heeren next Tue. Will check if my MIL and SIL can help me babysit next Tue. My maid won't be able to handle the 2 on her own. I've already PM my HP no. to tinklebell & puretulips. Once you received my PM, SMS me your contact no., okie? Thanks!

hello all,
i just collected my blood test results...even though i have asked doc, i still blur..
anyway, just wanna ask:
- what is alpha fetoprotein? doc said mine is a little high, but told me not to worry.
- and, what is LMP? (this i have forgotten to ask).

doc did emphasize to me not to worry..he got mentioned about what low risks, high risks..i really confused..but i will try to stay positive! ^_^

by the way, my gynae will be Dr Tan Thiam Chye (KKH)...will be going down in about 2 weeks time..

Wow, the thread moves very fast ... My bb now only nap for about half hour n the rest of the time, got to 'entertain' n play wif him. Really hv no time to log on the forum

Twins_mommy
Thanks a lot for your advise. I always feel much better after reading yr posting.
Your gals are so cute. They have mummy or daddy looks? My boy initially looked like daddy but now, more n more like mummy ... BTW, is it advisable to use flash when taking bb pictures? Will they get cross-eyes?
Alex is now drooling n i have to tell him "swallow yr saliva'. Sometimes he understands but other times, he just let them drip. Is it advisable to let him wear a bib now? Will it be too dangerous?
When did u start semi solid on your gals? Some say 4th month onwards can but others advise from 6 months onwards?

Hi Puretulips
Hey, how about emailing me yr photo shoot ... ya hor, y didnt i think of taking studio shots when i was pregnant? BTW, does yr photographer does bb shots? Thinking of bringing my Alex for picture taking
I checked my bb gums - sometimes red, sometimes not. So, not very sure whether he is teething.
Enjoy now while yr bb still 'inside' of you. This would be one of the most memorable time, moreover it is first baby. Did u keep a journal of your feelings? I hv a scrap book on bb scan n my feelings during pregnancy. Even now, i still take notes on bb developments but yet to set up a blog ... not a very IT person so will take some time to do so

Hi Fayina
*Hugz Hugz*
Will be praying for you n baby. Most impt is to be positive n like wat all mummies advise - do talk to bb, they will understand. I am sure bb can feel yr love n concern.

Hi wawa
I was in a similar situation as yr hb. My MIL is an expert in looking after bb n initally she thinks tat i cannot n do not know how to handle bb. She too did wat yr mother does - 'snatch' bb from me whenever he cries. As much as i try to calm bb, i cant. This got me very stress n i told my hb my concern. He agreed to speak to his mother to let me try - i am the mother - so naturally, i decide how n wat to do wif bb.
You have to be honest wif yrself : Do u think u will be confident in handling bb alone? Another factor to consider is yr hb irregular hours. Trust me, it is really no joke trying to look after bb on your own. Unless u can handle, if not, better to seek help. Personally, i feel tat u should stay wif your mother for another month or so. Of course yr hb would prefer to be at his own home but now, bb is the main concern. Let yr hb know tat it is short term but at the same time, u hv to be sensitive to yr hb n mother concern.
You have to highlight to your mother your concerns. Like wat twins_mommy mentioned - daddy n mummy are the parents of the child. I understand yr mother good intentions but mummy n daddy too need to learn.
Naturally yr hb will not know about bb as much as u n your mother but he has to learn. Give him time to know more about bb
Do decide wat is best for yourself, bb n yr hb.

Enjoy your choc-detox ladies. And i hope to meet up wif all of you soon

Take care

Dear Poo_power, Tinkelbell, Puretulips, Wawa, Missbluey & Twins_Mommy,

Your words of encouragement & moral support touched my heart... really...
Though u all are far away & we hardly know each other... I felt the warmth touch u girls have been giving me..
Once again.. Thank you very much.. my dear pals..

I will try to be positive & look on the bright side..

Hi Missbluey
Maybe u shd bring hb wif u to attend antenatal class. Then he would better understand the situation - esp in terms of hygiene! But then again, cant blame him since he is brought up by his mother (n of course they share the same mentality ... hiak hiak hiak!)
But during confinement, most impt is yours n baby well-being. Others opinions n viewpoints are jus guideline.
BTW, will u be seeing the same gynae for every visit? Mine is Dr Loh SF at TPS
In 2 weeks time when u go down KKH, u can ask Dr Tan wat AF n LMP means. After all, u pay to see them

Hi Tinklebell
Have not been to PD yet. Initially when Alex could not poo for about 3 days, wanted to bring him to PD but luckily, he managed to poo poo. I am still trying to find another nearby PD. The previous one tat i saw near my place, not very good (although she specialises in bb). She seems not tat helpful n impatient when i bring bb to see her for eye infection. Jus only 5 mins n it cost $70. So expensive. I find $$ not well spent. Maybe because she knows bb main PD is at KKH ...
Enjoy your indulgences n happy shopping

poo_power:
i guess i will bring hubby to attend the antenatal class, provided if he is able to take leave. i hope he can..
yup, i will be seeing the same gynae..
still hoping to convince hubby regarding about the confinement..haha..

fayina:
glad that you are thinking positively..remember your bb can "feel" you. =)

Hello wawa, ya the photos were taken last Monday, before labour day. My hubby took half day off specially to take the photos..keke..yes, they are having a promo now and it comes with a free photo album but they hv run out of stock hence, my photographer offer to give me 5 hardcopies in return. She's a nice lady and I would recommend her if any 1 of u is keen to take photos.

Hello poo_power, will forward u the link via email. Yes, they do take bb shots..you can log on to their website www.fotu-u.com and check out the details. My photographer is Wai Peng, you can take a look at her works. Well....it's still not too late if you still wanna take maternity photos...like I told wawa, you can plan for your 2nd bb. kekeke...I do keep a so call diary in my laptop but all the data were gone when my laptop crashed 2 mths ago. I even have a photo of the pregnancy kit that says : Pregnant! and now it's all gone! Should have kept a backup copy!!! I do hv a blog but it's not a diary for bb...it also includes my daily ramblings and problems..keke but I do intend to create a scrapbk too...hv bgt quite alot of stickers and waiting for my bb's arrival before I can start working on it....BTW, if your bb's gum still red, maybe can apply some soothing gel to relieve the pain.

Hello twins-mommy, hope to c you next Tues ya!

Hi Fayina, I agree with twins_mommy that the tests are not 100% accurate and sometimes it may cause undue stress to us. So continue praying and keep the faith. I'm sure our father in heaven will watch over our little love ones! Glad that you're now feeling better. Remember we're all here to lend listening ears and support to each other so just drop us a tinkle anytime!

Hi Puretulips
*** Envious Envious Envious ***
Yr maternity shots are so well taken! You do look gorgeous n my my, arent u a pretty gal. I love the last ten shots - so heart-warming n i could feel your love for your precious one.

Hello poo_power, thanks for the compliments ya! Guess I should thank the make-up artiste for doing a great job in hiding my flaws (dark circles and scars). I really enjoyed the photoshooting session. Can consider bringing little Alexandra for the shoot when he's older. I think I will bring my girl for the shoot too!

puretulips,
i agree with poo power that the last few shots were wonderfully taken..actually the website is www.foto-u.com.. think there's some typo error.. such a small world..i've met up with Benjamin of the photo shoot company to discuss my actual day wedding shots just a yr back...so tempted to take family shots with bb and hubby! =)

that gives me an idea.. why don't we share our online wedding photos with each other? i shall start the ball rolling.... that will give me a better idea of who is who as for now, i can only recognise puretulips (yuting) and tinklebell....

studio shots: http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2105800511

Hi wawa, your wedding photos are beautifully taken! So envious...mine is nothing compared to yours leh...wah...u luk slim and tall from the photos...U look like that tcs / Ms spore universe Jamie Teo?? in 1 of the shots..so pretty...I may take some time to post my photos. Hv to dig out them out and scan manually...guess the technology still not so advance during my time lah...which was like 5 years ago...so who's next to share their wedding pix?

Hi wawa
Your pics are so beautiful - U love the camera?! U r very photogenic. U n yr hb got "fu qi siang". Loved the backdrop too. BTW, how much did u pay for yr photos / wedding package? So, u n puretulips went to the same studio? Then, i must bring bb to foto-u ...
Like puretulips, my wedding was taken in 2003 n tech not so advance. Maybe when we meet up, we can bring our photo album n share wif everyone
Do take care

Bgt toto today? heard it is 1.5 m. How about each of u give me a number n when there is $1m (or more draw), will buy our numbers. Maybe wat we can do is each of us take turn to buy our number. I got a 7-11 jus downstairs my place tat not only sell vegetables but also have a 4D outlet

Have a terrific weekend everyone n <font color="0000ff">HAPPY MOTHERS' / MOTHERS'-TO-BE DAY</font>