Any Mummies in Sydney

cutiemax

Any mummies staying/going to Sydney ?

Our family will be going to Sydney by mid 2007. Hoping to get to know more SG mummies so that our babies could get together and have fun.

Hi Cutie,

I'll be going to Melbourne, not Sydney, with my husband and daughter in Jan 2008 for 2 years. Hope to know more mums in Down Under too.

Tweetie,

It is always nice to know more singaporeans while you are aboard.Afterall, we share the same culture and food.

Will u be staying long in Sydney?

kkh,
We plan to travel widely in Australia during holidays. Will hop by Melbourne, Carins and Gold Coast. Would love to ski either in Melbourne or Sydney.

Wat visa are u holding?

Hi Cutie,

I will be staying there indefinitely if I like and am able to adapt to the culture.

I m holding the skilled migration visa.

How abt u? U migrating there?

tweetie,

likewise for us, if we like it we will stay there permanently. My hubby applied for skilled migration visa and taking us along with him.

are u going there alone? any friends or family over there? we do have few friends already migrated there for a couple of years. they seem to like it and have no plans of coming back.

we have just been requested for police clearance and medical checkup. believe it will be approved very soon as this is the final stage of process.

you went for your first entry already?

Cutie,

Me following husband who's going for studies, err dunno what visa i'll be holding. :p

My girl is 10 mths old, i'm hoping to send her to childcare centre in melbourne if possible. but heard that the fees are pretty high... ard A$50 on average per day. At the same time, we are planning for no. 2. Unlike u, most likely we'll return to S'pore during the hols, but will still travel abit within the country.

How old is your child and why are your family heading to sydney?

kkh,

think your hubby is holding student visa if he is going for studies. student visa holders can bring along their family.

yes the fees are expensive in australia. i was told by an australian mummy that they have flexi childcare centre where you can just drop your toddler there depending on your schedule.

i yet seen any childcare centre but will look for one when we are there. if you have no 2 there, your baby still SG citizen unless one of the parents are PR or citizen. we are comfortable with just one at this moment. maybe with a more relax lifestyle we may consider no 2. my baby girl is coming to 15months. how old is your girl?

we wanted to try out a new lifestyle and we picked australia after some careful thoughts. we still love SG but would want to explore and try new things while we are young. if we like it there, we just stay put. if not, we can always find a place that suitable us.

sydney was only decided recently. we just came back from sydney last dec and many things have change. locals are friendlier and we feel comfortable, much better than our last trip in 1998 where we experienced some sort of discrimination.

how long will u be there? melbourne is much colder than sydney. it is also a beautiful place. there are much to see over there too.

Hi Cutie,

I made my 1st entry in 2004. In fact, visa is expiring Aug 2008. Due to some commitment over in S'pore, we are shelving it to the very last year, then go in.

Only me n hubby. No kids at the moment, so can come n go as I like now.

I dun hv any friends in Sydney and it would be good if we can get to know each other.

tweetie,

wow u got your PR almost 4 years ago. we thought of delaying till the 5th year like you but later changed our mind. instead,we brought forward our application 6 mths ahead. this was after much discussion with my hubby's friend in Sydney. Better to build career earlier than later.

For me, no difference as I will care for my baby just like singapore arrangement.

it is nice to go as a family unit. with someone beside you, it is much easier to adapt in a new environment. companionship is important to me.

hmm....u studied in australia before? wat make u choose sydney instead of other states?

it is always nice to know more singaporean when overseas. i don't mind meetup for chat before we depart. kkh can join us if she is keen too.

Cutie,

You and your hb are so adventurous. I wish i have the same kind of spirit as yours.

I do hope that i can further my studies there as well, if circumstances allow. That's why i thought of putting my girl in a childcare centre, if i haven't had no. 2 yet. If not, i will be a SAHM, something which will take some time for me to adapt to. You mentioned abt flexi-hr childcare, which will be quite feasible for my case.

My girl is 10 mths old.

Have your hb found a job there and accommodation?
We thought of renting a 1 or 2 bedroom apartment.

kkh,

my hubby will try to find a job before going there. if can't, he will go there first. accommodation should be quite ok, just need to zoom in exactly which suburbs to stay.

melbourne is cheaper than sydney. think rental about 300 per week is possible. for sydney, for better ones, we will need to pay about $400 per week. we hope to find a house, 2-3 rooms. we have a dog which we hope to bring it there too.

Hi Cutie,

Yes, I studied there before but was in Canberra.

Reason we chosr Sydney is coz its easier to find job there. Melbourne is slower in pace but not that easy to get a job, i heard.

I have a friend who migrated there but came back again after 6 mths coz they cldnt find a job. Hubby quite well qualified, a master in finance but still cant find job, dunno y lei

Yea, i dun mind mtg up too.

tweetie,

think it very much depends on the industry u are in. for banking, australia has a wide pool of local talents. the first job is difficult but subsequent ones are easy based on wat i was told.

my hubby has friends in sydney and melbourne. one even found the job before going to melbourne.

where do you stay? i am staying in the west, near jurong east.

Cutie,

Yes, I m in bankg and insurance line and hubby is in IT line. So our best place to settle shd b Sydney.

I am staying in Sengkang.

tweetie,

every wed to fri, i be in orchard cos my baby is attending JG class in forum shopping centre. u working in town?

my hubby is in construction line. He finds Perth and Sydney better, more job opportunities.

Think for first job, can't be the ideal one. if possible, get something not too far behind, gain some experience and slowing build up the career. afterall, we lack local experience.

I was told that if you wait till the 5th year, u have to stay in australia for the next 4 years in order to meet the 2 out of 5 years requirement before you can get renewal. is it true? but australia won't be bored, there are so much to see in different seasons. ski in winter, swim in summer, hike in spring and shop in autumn.

kkh,
wanna to join us?

Hi Cutie,

I m working ard Tanjong Pagar Area, not really in downtown.

Hmmm... yes, both places hv more job opportunities. Yeah, 1st job cannot afford to be so choosy and it takes a while to adapt to the lifestyle there.

I m not too sure abt the 4yrs stay if u enter during yr 5th yr. Hv checked with my bro's friend who is an immigration lawyer there a few yrs back, he say u hv to enter AU be4 the visa expiry and stay there indefinitely for 2 yrs. Not sure if it has changed now.

I want to go ASAP but bogged down by a lot of financial responsibilities over here. So hv been delaying and delaying...

Not even sure whether to hv a kid here or go over there then say. A lot of uncertainties gg ard as well, mayb in the end, my hubby dun even wanna go.

tweetie,

for us the directions are clearer. we don't think SG is a ideal retirement place for us. for this,we decide to go "in search" of a place. it may be australia, it may be elsewhere but without taking the first step, one will never know.

the world is so big, surely there is a little spot just for us. just keep searching and i believe eventually we will find it.

u are right, the first 2 years are indefinitely. as for another 2 years, i think it is cos u should have spend 2 out of 5 years in AZ but if you go in on the 5th year, you will have "eaten" the first 2 years of the 2nd term which also require 2 years of stay. by going in on the 5th year, u will have to stay for 4 years out of bal 5 years in order to fulfil the requirement. i may be wrong but i was told this way by my friend's colleague.

initially, we thought of going there in our late 30s but my hubby changed his mind after talking to his friend in Sydney. Will leave upon getting approval.

haha, maybe given the lifestyle in AZ, u may want 2 kids by then....yeap, with so many uncertainties, one can't tell the future. just take one step at the time should make the directions clearer over time.

did you go thru agent to get your application done?

Cutie and tweetie,

Would love to join you all. I stay in Sin Ming and work in Hougang. Can meet anywhere.

Great since all are interested, we should find some time to meet up for chat.

we either do it next week or after CNY. as by end of Jan we will be busy with CNY preparations and spring cleaning liao.

dinner? weekday? weekend? share your thoughts....

After CNY will be good for me cos i'm pretty busy with work this month.

Maybe can meet on a Thur or Fri for dinner. Avoid crowds over Sat if possible.

Now we are all set to meet up after CNY....

Tweetie,

u undergo medical checkup and police clearance right? upon submission of these documents, how long did you have to wait before you get your approval?

u did the visa yourself or via agent?

Will they email you or send u an offical letter?

Hi Cutie,

We went direct and back then, my HB in S'pore and I was still studying in AU. So he did all the Spore clearance check whereas I did all the AU clearance check that needs to be sorted out except medical report.

Tink I applied in June 03, then in July, they sent us a letter to go med report and we got the PR in Aug 03. Super fast, i dunno y. I applied much later than most of friends over there but we got it so fast, didnt expect to be so fast and that's y sudden change of plans lor. Most of my peers waited abt 1 to 2 yrs for application to be approved.

They will email u when status is confirmed, followed by a registered mail.

tweetie,

wow that's really super fast. think partly because you were in australia studying then. they do give priority for candicates applying within australia.

who is the primary applicant? cos the person's job may be in hot demand which explain for the super fast approval.

we are guessing to get ours just before CNY....finger cross.

Yup, just 3 mths to get your approval is too fast, how to be prepared. there are so many things to get it settled before moving over there. most important is mentality.

saw this thread and was very interested as I am also in the midst of applying for migration to AUstralia under the Skilled Migration. A lot of paperwork ya.

I have a daughter and she is coming to 1 year old in Feb.

Great to know all of you here.

I am also in the midst of applying for migration to Australia under skilled migration. If you are meeting up, I will be interested to join you all.

By the way,anyone taken the IELTS?

jsim,

nice to know you too.
my baby is 15mths now.
yup, there are so much to read and do. just filling up the application also took us a day, going thru again and again in case of errors.

hopeac,
sure, we can all meet up after CNY.
my hubby who is the primary applicant took the IELTS test. are u going for it too?

hi cutie,
Yes. I am the primary applicant, due to my job is in "Hot List". From the website, IELTS seems very tough. 8P. Do you know how he prepared for the test? You did the application yourself? We are going through an agent.

hopeac,

u can buy the past year papers to give yourself a rough idea on the type of qns it will come out.

u only need at least 7 out of 9 , not 8.

we DIY and is relatively easy. just got to do some reading. u can consider this as it is a cheaper alternative.

Hi cutie,

ya the filling in of the forms can kill. SO many different type of forms and needs lots of supporting documents as well.

As our agent suggested making me the main applicant due the demand for my job there, we both took the IELTS. However when we lodge the application for AEI, it was not successful as I am not a degree holder. Haiz...no choice so now changing to make my hubby the main applicant as his job is also in demand now. So now we are waiting for the reply.

Hopeac,

there are 2 types of IELTS - Academic or General. Usually, ppl take the General Paper. I had to take the Academic cuz of my job but Hubby took the General paper. General paper is much much easier than the Academic. You had better check which paper you are to take. Hope this helps.

hi Jsim,
I think I need only general.Where did you get the books to study ielts? We are also trying to certified by ACS to get extra 15 points to be really KS. ehehhehe

JSim, Cutie,
I have 2 kids, so quite worried about the childcare cost there.

Hi hopeac,

we nv buy anything. we are lazy ppl so we just look at the sample given in the booklet and then have a rough idea the format of the paper and off we went. :p

ya the childcare there is costly i heard. Hubby got a friend who is already there with his family. The wife is not working so stay at home and look after their daughter. he told us that the childcare expenses is very high. So i told hubby that I want to go and get myself certified as a babysitter then at least i can also earn some income. hehehe. But i have check how to get myself certified yet. Now too busy with my gal's bdae and CNY. Big mess lah

hi jawz,

care to elaborate on e lousy healthcare experience. I was thinking of going there then TTC for Baby No 2.

Hi Jsim and Hopeac,

Nice to be back. My baby has just been discharged from KKH due to severe diarrhoea, vomiting and dehydration. Was there for 5 days....

Jsim,
Is SG babysitter recognised over Aussie as well?

Jawz,
Were u registered as public or private patient in Aussie hospital?

Hi Cutie,

My baby was at KKH on last Xmas for stomach flu. Your girl got stomach flu too? As it was Xmas day, there was hardly any docs around and the doc only came to see her once and we were then on our own in the subsidised ward. Instructions were not laid clearly to us too.

Hope your girl is feeling better now.

KKH,

Wow, that must be a bad experience. How long were she admitted in KKH?

Doctor didn't say if it was stomach flu just that some bugs in her stomach causing all these upset. She was given antibotics as well as undergone blood and stool tests.

Thanks, she is recovering well. Just finished one big bowl of fish porridge

Hi Cutie,

glad to hear that your baby is better. My princess also got stomach flu 1st wk of Jan. Got to rush her down to KKH also. But after the anti-vomitting medicine that they gave her she was okay. just need to stay at the hospital for abt 2 hours for observation.

That few days she didn't want to drink milk not to mention porridge. For 1 wk she did just drank milk and once she drank, she passed everything out. Haiz.. as good as nothing. As long as your baby is eating, she would be on the road to recovery.

I am not sure about the recognition for SG babysitter. But read somewhere that can be a certified babysitter but cant remb where. Will read up and let you know.

Jsim,

How old is your princess? The doctor refused to give any anti vomitting medicine for mine baby. Maybe mine is only 15mths old.

Do you intend to let your baby learn CL2 in Australia? DIY? I am considering how to ensure my child can continue learning Chinese while studying there in future.

Hi Cutie,

my princess now 11mths plus. that time when we went to kkh, she was only 10 month plus a little. The anti-vomitting medicine just a very small dosage. almost immediately after she took the medicine, she could play and smile. initially, the whole morning she was all soft and cranky.

CL will most prob be taught by me. Both my hubby and I converse in CL. BUt with our little darling, we converse both languages. Then go in laws side will be teoochew. Like rojak like that. Hahaha.

Maybe b4 you go to aust, buy some CL books of different ranges for kids. Like start off with picture books, then proceed to story books and so on.

jsim,

I speak only English to my baby while my hubby will converse Mandarin with her. My dad hokkein. Hopefully she gets to learn 3 languages over time.

Think she be about 20mths when we depart SG, maybe will get some nursery chinese book and songs for her.

Still wondering if it is possible to teach her SG text(CL2, Maths and Sci) during holidays and weekends while she attends Aussie schools.

My cousin immigrated to NZ 8 years ago. Was told that NZ education is totally different from SG. No exams or tests. Children learn a new topic in every term. Eg this term it is all about flowers while next term is about space. No math or No science.I can't accept this system for my baby as I see Sci and Math as important subjects.

i was a private patient.. supposed to deliver at westmead private. encountered a lot of "tan jia" doctors. i had to book a bed but was told that
there is no space as nov is a hot mth...i finally got a bed but it was for dec whn i was due in nov!!!
the end i was pretty cheesed off n made up my mind to deliver in sin. so on my 31st week, i came back.

the 1st thing i asked my OB in kk is "must book hospital bed?what if my bub comes early?" :p

my overall exp in syd is bad-maybe im juz dam suay.dont worry.my colleague went to public hosp n she was happy with the service...so i guess it all depends

btw its not easy to look for a job. they discount ur previous experience, preferring "local exp"...do b mentally prepared

jawz,

yup, i think it really depends on whether one managed to get a good doctor. in all trades, there are some who are just there to pass time.

are u working there? SAHM ? think if one's job is hot in demand, it is pretty easy to get good deals. if not, got to tighten one's belt for the first few months.

my husband's friend got a job before going to melbourne to start work. within 6mths, he is promoted as his job is hot. according to him, his bosses are worried that they may quit so find means to retain them.he is really happy over there. but i also heard from one mummy here saying that her friend couldn't find a job, eventually returned after few mths. so it really depends on lots of factors.

hopefully, my hubby will face little difficulties....finger crossed. hee hee, i only need to take good care of the household and baby at this moment.

hi cutie

ur hubby found a job oredi? perhaps better to ask for a transfer, if that is possible. u prob have to stay home to look after ur little one as childcare is exhorbitant..unless u have help fr ur parents or in laws.

whn u moving to syd?

hi Cutie,
How is your baby now? My 2 kids were also down with stomach flu in the begining of the month. There seem to be a bug going around.

What industry is your hub's friend in?

Actually, pre-schools schools in singapore also do themetic approach. The maths and sci could be incoporated in it. Eg. For son's cc, this month is myself. But for them, they also learn eyes, how the eyes view things. And parts of the eyes.

Jawz,
Even if we are getting our parents or in laws to help, they cannot stay in australia long term right? The childcare cost thing is really bugging me. Both of us hope to work, was thinking of getting my mil over to help out. But was thinking, how to arrange for my MIL.

jawz,

we haven't got our PR yet. Now in final stage, should get it around CNY ....our guess.

we plan to go there between apr to jul, depending on how fast we settle our stuff in SG.

I will continue to be SAHM, just like SG arrangement. Will also put baby in playschool so that she can interact with the locals as well.

Which part of sydney do you stay? we love chatswood but it is very expensive. maybe will stay close to the airport.

U been in sydney long?

hopeac,

my baby is recovering well. thanks. wat about your kids? Ok now??

i am fine with themetic approach for pre-school but not primary school. i am unsure if this is the same for secondary students.

will find out more from hubby tonight and let u know....

hopeac,

nearly forgot to tell u this....

based on wat i read, i think you as the primary applicant is able to bring over a family unit. this includes spouse, children and parents or even siblings.you may want to reconfirm this....

if not, as tourist visa, your MIL will have to exit australia 4 times a year as the max duration is 3 mths per visit. can go NZ(cheapest) for a spin before returning australia. just like Johor and SG....

however, if you have already got approved, then u got to apply in a separate visa for your MIL.

SG childcare is about $900 per mth...isn't it quite similar to Australia?? S$41 vis AUD$50. also with bigger space, childcare in australia is able to accomodate more activities for the children.