Any mummies feed their baby on expressed breast milk only?

Hi Meng:

I guess poko had shared most of her experience with you.
Like to share mine too.

>1. My baby is 8 weeks old. I have been pumping on average about
>800-1000 ml per day. Will the milk supply keep on increasing or will
>it stablise when baby hits say 3 months? What was your experience?

==> i got 800-1000ml per day too! i would sy one or 2 days increase but most of the time if you keep up the schedule will maintain around that quantity while if you haywire the timing abit for a day or so, your suppliy will reduce. The key is to keep up with schedule if you want to maintain your current volume.

>2. I think i may have an oversupply, coz my baby's intake is only
>about 750ml per day for now. Used to pump every 3 hourly, 5 times in
>the day, and one time in the middle of the night. I now reduce it to 4
>hourly, 4 times in the day, and one time in the middle of the night.
>But I feel very engorged all the time. How long will it take before my
>body knows how to adjust? I tried using cabbage leaves to relieve the
>engorgement, but don't seem to work very well. i also fear that if i
>use too often, my supply will drop too much!
==> No lah not oversupply. U simulate well that's why ur BM came so much. Keep the excess in freezer using glass bottle or milk bag and label them. My baby also drink about 750ml per day and the balance like brought forward to next day one leh, therefore I know like about 2 bottles per day I will freeze. When going out, bring the frozen EBM out instead of fresh one if you dun hv a proper cooler bag. People use cabbage when they want to reduce or stop their supply, but to me also no effect becos our supply too much. Forget about cabbage.

>3. When can I start to lengthen the interval between each pumping? 4
>hourly is fine now, but i fear that once i go back to work when baby
>is around 4 months old, i would not be able to keep to 4 hourly
>intervals. What was your experience?
==> Then you have to gradually change the schedule time from eg. 6 to 5x, then gradually reduce from 5 to 4x. There is no shortcut otherwise the result is engorgement. In work place, unless your company is very mummy-pro, else how to keep the 4 hourly interval? At least you need 6 hourly interval coz u need to travel to work and back from work, by the time you reach home is already way past 4 hours between the last pump. trust me this is my expereince lor.

For me I pump in the morning before work, then during lunch time (you gotta scarifice abit of your lunch time for your precious baby) & after reach home from work. Timing always around 6am, 12.15pm & 8pm (after dinner). Dun need to be exactly 8 hours, important thing is to let BR get use to the timing that's all.

>4. How long does it take for you to completely wean off breastfeeding?
>1 month?
==> Depends on baby and how you wean coz you also need to gradually change from BM to FM, you cannot change from 100% BM to 100% FM over night. If baby adapts well, after 3 days can increase the FM and reduce the BM.

Eg: BM : FM Ratio
Starts - 100 : 0
Adapt well, after 3 days - 75 : 25
Adapt well, after 6 days - 50 : 50
Adapt well, after 9 days - 25 : 75
Adapt well, after 2 weeks - 0 : 100

Of course above is only my simulation, you may lengthen your schedule if baby cannot adapt well to FM or seen having constipation.

My 2nd baby is already 1 year old i am still EBM-g twice a day, but the volume is already reduced of course. I still enjoy EBM-g but am going to give up soon because my baby is already on semi-solid so the nutrients are already there. For you, please keep it up as your baby is still very young! hope you enjoy EBM-g for the sake of your baby as long as possible.

Hi Peko and bitbit,

Thanks so much for sharing with me.

I freeze the milk, but i am running out of storage space soon. Can share with me what milkbag do you use? I currently use the blueegg milkbag. its self standing and has ziplock. but the disadvantage is it takes up a lot of space when frozen. shaped like a triangle from the side view. i can only stack alternate V and inverted V to save space. i just purchased some playtex liners, hoping that i can freeze them in a flat manner, then at least it would easier to store when frozen.

Another question is, do we feed bb the fresh ebm or frozen ones first? everyday i will have enough ebm to put in the freezer, and they are never used. i wonder if i should start to rotate them down, so that the frozen ones will be utilised....otherwise, if after 2 months still not used, then would have to discard them, very wasteful right? then again, frozen ebm would have some of the nutrients destroyed right, which means better to give fresh ones.. i'm in a dilema, can share with me your experience?

oh, and thanks for the tip to lengthen the interval between pumping for my breast to get used to it when i go back to work. very helpful indeed. i'm now observing my bb's feeding time intervals, and following that for the time to express. hopefully over time, i can achieve longer intervals and my breast don't feel that full or engorged.

Meng
I am using Avent storage bag, it can't stand so I will freeze it using a container and then after freeze will transfer to a storage box.

I will choose to give him chilled BM than frozen one as the lost of nutrients will be more for frozen one. But I mix a bit of frozen BM to let him try end up he milk strike for 7hrs. So I also can't advise you on that...

hi meng;

I use glass bottle coz my baby feed exactly that little glass bottle of milk every 2 hours. I can easily de-freeze them in the fridge and put on the teat and feed. All glass bottles are steriled before pouring the milk for storage.

ya the problem is storage in the freezer if you dun own a big refridgerator. I face the same problem also, that's why we try to keep a minimal of frozen food as possible to give space for frozen EBM! What i do is buy a big plastic box to contain all the EBM inside, act like a pull out drawer, so your milk is all inside, stacking or whatever u wan to do, so that it will not fall out when u open the freezer door.

I have no idea about milk bag but i heard from an "alumni" member here (alm), think she bot playtex liners. Thok they are quite expensive right?

Usually feed baby fresh one first. But since you got so much stock, you may wan to rotate them before they "expire", then bring down a bag, de-froze and give to baby. U may like to up one bag of fresh one to replace the stock. Baby is drinking both fresh and frozen one, the nutrients he/she is drinking is still there, no problem with it. Juz dun mix fresh and frozen EBM at the same feed. Now you are still serving ML, I am sure by the time you return to work, your supply will reduce, therefore, dun think about having too much stock now. Me also finish my last frozen a week ago.

Can lah u sure can achieve longer intervals and no breast full or engorgement one lah. Juz remember not to do it suddenly or switching over too fast to aviod getting masitities (is a lumpy pain feeling due to too long interval din pump which is already off your pump schedule). I am a live example, i experience all these before.

Poko,
It just dawned on me that when we thaw the frozen milk using the avent or playtex liners, it can't stand on its own right? so how do you make sure it won't leak after its thawed (if put lying down)? or keep it upright in a container?

Bitbit,
yesterday, i alternate between latch on and pumping. bb feeding times were 8.30 am (latch), 1.45 pm (pump), 5.15 pm (latch), and 9.15pm (pump). i express out the balance for the 2 latch on sessions. somehow i feel that my supply is dropping coz my breasts doesn't fill up as previous times. i wonder if its due to not expressing the milk every 4 hourly. On the other hand, i think if that's really the schedule for my bb, then my body should adjust right?

meng:

As long as you upset abit of your "normal" (already establised) schedule, your supply is deem to reduce. Already warn you beforehand, so you dun even need to worry about too much EBM choking up the freezer.

By following this 6 hourly schedule (4X a day), you will definately get lesser than your pump 4 hourly, plus you already upset the BFg schedule (whether latch or pump), you will expect a reduction, body cannot adjust to it so fast. The milk in our breast is keeping on to produce, so the lesser time you pump out, the milk volume reduce, meng, every mummies face the same problem!!

opps. looks like i better be more diligent in keeping to schedule. today i guai guai went back to pumping 4 hourly. at least for now, seems normal.

i forgot to mention that i do pump in the middle of the nite when bb wakes up for milk. and that's when i get the most. sometimes double the amount of what i can get at any day session.

Meng the reason is you rest at nite mah... Why don't you latch at nite so bb and you can rest more? and Pump after you awake in the morning. Normally morning pump will get a lot too.

Hi any1 interested in the Disney On Ice, I have this 10% discount coupon to give away free.

Let me know.
1282212.jpg

love is better deal if you have the 20% discount from May Bank.

So far no one ask from me this coupons, sigh..

Maybe really too expensive and even 10% discount also expensive.

Got this from the TCS website.
Any one qualified???
My girl not qualified, over-age, haha

新传媒新剧【奶爸百分百】急征华裔女婴!新剧将从5月至7月进行拍摄。

婴儿必备条件:
华裔女婴,6-8个月,眼睛大,活泼可爱。

有兴趣者请寄一张女婴的照片到:

全方位工作室有限公司
MATRIX VISION PTE.LTD
100,GEYLANG LOR 23
#05-01, D’CENTENNIAL BUILDING,
SINGAPORE 388398
电邮:[email protected]

截止日期:21/03/08

chenoa

if I am not worng...dvd u can choose wat u want to watch but for vcd u got to watch from the begining...

natmm,
hee... that i know
actually, want to know if there's a diff in content. meaning, no need to get DVD just get VCD is the same?

westbb,
u got the Very Hungry Caterpillar dvd issit? how u find it?

my understanding between vcd and dvd is the resolution.

DVD is faster and clearer, like watching movie. Can wacth in only DVD player. It's in Digital Format
VCD is not so clear, can watch in normal VCD or DVD player if supported. Normal viedo in a compact disc, that's all.

Something to share:

Little girl and her father were crossing a bridge. The father was kind of scared so he asked his little daughter, 'Sweetheart, please hold my hand so that you don 't fall into the river.' The little girl said, 'No, Dad. You hold my hand.' 'What's the difference?' Asked the puzzled father. 'There's a big difference,' replied the little girl. 'If I hold your hand and something happens to me, chances are that I may let your hand go. But if you hold my hand, I know for sure that no matter what happens, you will never let my hand go.'

In any relationship, the essence of trust is not in its bind, but in its bond.
So hold the hand of the person who loves you rather than expecting them to hold yours...
This message is too short......but carries a lot of Feelings.

cheona, i like the stories. basically if u like eric carle's books, u will like the animation too. btw dvd is really very much clearer in terms of quality, watch also more 'shiok' hee.

how much is the little einstein vcd and dvd retailing here? I no chance to check out the stores. Found online price about USD14-17 for the dvds. wonder if should just get the vcd locally .... also, which titles are good?

hello mummies..went to check up today..doc say looks like is a boi but confirm a mth later during detail scan..sorry to disappoint some of the mummies..keke..

but i got no more black chicken soup to drink..boohoo...

cm if boi then u got a hao zi... gd also mah.... then y no more black chicken soup???? my first boi i still take leh.....

sheris - someone thought she got dil lor..so wanna tun for me..now maybe not liao..say no more black chicken soup for me! so xian shi hor!

me training to pump at this hour..haha..woke up 2am and feeling hungry..then cannot sleep liao..

thanks bitbit & natmum 8)

natmum - actually 2 gals oso good leh..will be close to each other..

natm
dun be discourage, u r still young lah, can try again mah. Beside, I love baby girl.

u noe I pamper my girl till extreme liao, my hb lie a finger on her I can scream at him. If he scream at octoboi I juz bo chup even he is crying. Then my hb say me black heart and veru imbalance.

If we have No.3, I wan a boi becos i only want my this girl to be mine to pamper, else how I pamper 2 girls at the same time. my hb say no more No3. abit contradicting ya..

When in the car, octoboi is always tie behind the car seat while my girl is always sitting in front carried by me.

There was this particular day my hb said : you cannot keep carrying her like that it's very dangerous and she might get hurt.

Then he insist and snatch baby away from me and tie her on the car seat. My girl starting cry and cry. Octoboi tie to the normal seat belt. Wah that day I heartache till dun wan to talk to him.

The first time when we put baby at my mum place overnight, way back home my tears cannot stop. Sigh... I really very very sad and always 舍不得 my girl at all, too sticky or too pamper her liao.

heheh bitbit latr octboi jealous... balance a bit k? my gals i also pamper till siao but strict till very strict also

bitbit

maybe yr girl testing patience liao.. cannot be too spolit ba.. i getting the retribution now.. Alden onli bullys me.. haiz...

As parents, we tend to think got children of both gender to be better, so 1 boy 1 girl is the best. But from the childrens' point of view, they prefer having a sibling of the same gender, as this means a playmate of similarity....less clashing of interest, like if bro likes cars & tains, sis like dolls and cooking... But I know that some boys also enjoy playing with dolls and cooking, while girls may also like Thomas train. kekeke

But I mentioned b4 lor.... mine girls so mean next time I no have 婆媳 problems. 嫁了女儿, 泼了水 。。。Me already dreaming of my freedom in old age!

bought a Little Einstein dvd from Laser Flair and it costs $21.90, much cheaper than getting from US. YY doesn't like it, she didn't even get past the "pat pat pat" in 1st episode, but enjoys watching the lengthy Disney trailers that run in the DVD.

JShoppers got free shipping on every order for 3 days, ending soon!

me: 咦, 这样臭! 谁放屁?
him: 我。
YY: 臭臭。
me: 你闻到啊?
YY: Yes. 臭屁屁......臭屁屁......
me: 爸爸放臭屁。
YY: 爸爸,臭臭屁。

(after a while)
YY: 爸爸! 爸爸放屁,臭臭。
him: 爸爸放屁臭臭?
YY: NO. NO MORE.

Profile Update>

Health: heaty, sore-throat, mouth ulcers, runny nose
Energy: (sleep) deprived
Emotion: unstable
Strength: can sling a 5kg infant across a shoulder and arm carry a 10.5kg toddler concurrently
Skill: can breastfeed infant and feed an active* toddler concurrently (*does not sit still, always on the move)
Life: (hoping) 50 more yrs

Alden now can call himself 臭臭 boy! Cos MIl teach de.. she always calls him tat... *speechless*

How come i still feel tat 1 child already way enough for my miserable life? lol.. He is Such a Monster!!!