Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

Hi Cheer,
I know a number of my colleagues who are near 60 and they are still very energetic. So you will definitely not be a burden to your kids at that age !

You can withdraw your CPF at age 55. So if you have more than your minimum sum in your CPF account, you can withdraw it and use it for your kids' university education if necessary.

Anyway, we are expected to work until age 62. In the future, this retirement may even be raised to above 65.

The only thing is that having a baby near 40 may be very physically tiring for the mother. I have my babies at age 34 and 35, and I felt really tired chasing after them even at that age. It is important that you have enough help and support.

Hi Tam,

I hv been very busy. Going to phone interview my maid's cousin tmr. Her mum is working in Spore. She's into her 3rd contract now. Hope her daughter is gd as her. Direct hiring is also not cheap. Total cost abt $3k. The maid agency proposed that I get the maid to bear 1/2 the cost (side agreement when she is here). She is still bearing lower loan amt...other maids via agency gotta get loans btw $2600 - 2800. See how the phone interview goes tmr.

If she's ok....I m bringing her in 2 weeks earlier for my current maid to train her. That will ease my burden abit as its a bad time for me to take leave.

Hi Tamarind and mummies

Where in singapore can one get Le petit olivier? Wonder any spree on this?

My elder gal is down with fever again. This time her body and limbs are covered with rashes and she scratched so much it bleeds.... Just last week her mouth was covered with ulcers and i suspected it to be HFMD. However she did not have other symptoms. I guess the Sambucol did help in this case or she will suffer with all those painful blisters.

With the rise in HFMD, chicken pox and dengue, i really wish i can keep her at home. Now she is in primary one, i can no longer suka suka keep her home. Wrote to her sch to ask them to be more vigilant in fumigation work as 2 areas near her sch are listed as "black zones" for dengue. Since she started sch, she comes home almost everyday with new bites on her legs or arms...sigh...

Tmrw need to send her to PD, really quite scared if she needs to be hospitalised...keep my fingers crossed.

Anyway, have decided to quit by end of jun and do free lance. I need time for myself b4 the younger gal goes to primary one next year.

Take care everyone! Bugs everywhere, drink more water and pump yourselves with lots of fruits and veggie and vit c!

Hi Helen,

Oh no....hope your DD1 is feeling better now. Yes, virus is flying everywhere. I am getting my maid to boil cooling drinks for my kids every week.

You can try boiling 金银花 & wolfberries with Chrysanthenmum (add some rock sugar to taste) for whole family to drink. This has detox effect.

My DD1 also in P1 and yes, cannot suka suka keep them at home. So, giving them vitamins and lotsa cooling drinks to keep the virus at bay.

Now Dengue is also on the sharp rise....Urghhhhh

Hi Cheer,

I have 2 boys. I was blessed to be able to give birth to my 2nd one (after 2 MC) when I was 38+ and my first at 34 because I always wanted my first to have a companion and I have always enjoyed my pregnancy time (altho clumsy but felt very pampered).

I don't think it is too late if both you and your husband want to have another. Most importantly must prepare your biology and physical body for it. I agree with Tamarind that it can be physically tiring, needs energy and time and must have enough family help and support.

All the best to you.

Hi snowball

Thank you! She is better now, no fever but her body has not recovered from the rashes which caused her body to be very rough. I am keeping her home for this whole week so she can recover well and not go back and catch some virus in sch again. No choice if she has to miss anything. Health is more important. My mum has been brewing chrysanthemum and barley too. Making her take more fruits like water melon, hopefully the younger sister does not catch the bug as doc said it is contagious....

Hi Helen,

Yikes... hope your daughter recovers soon. Am staying indoors mostly. Also making kid drink more juice and water.

Some ppl move around when they're yet to recover from pox -- such are the things that freak me out (if we're on the same carriage/bus). It's very hard convincing the kid not to touch pillars, poles and surfaces!

He's more careful with carpets/floors now after falling ill one time after playing at Ikea.

What is le petit olivier btw?

Hi Helen,

I find that Sambucol really helps. When your girl recovers, do also bring her for the flu jab.

The haze is back....gotta take care.

I am looking for aqua shoes to buy for my kids....but, it seemed that not many places in S'pore sells such shoes. Any lobangs to recommend?

Hi cheer
I have just given birth to my 3rd child last dec at the age of 39. SShe brings lots of joy to our family especially my hubby. You'll enjoy this bundle of happiness. Not to worry too much.

HI Snowball

I think Sambucol really helps. when my elder gal was down with such a bad flu n "HFMD"(ulcers in mouth only), the young one is kinda "spared". i fed her with Sambucol twice a day, but the elder did not get 2 doses, at most once and she was down.

Btw can we still feed them with Sambucol when they are on medication?

Adult aqua shoes are common but not kids'. my hubby said those who sell camp stuff have "water booties", or specialised water sport stores. u may want to check it out.

Hi Helen,

I still give my kids sambulcol when they are on medication. But give about 1 hr abt. So far no pblm.

Aqua shoes....I found the kids ones on Speedo US' website. Price very reasonable at below US$20. But they dun hv export service for their online website
Gmarket also sell only adults ones.

Was totally cut off from cyberworld after laptop crashed last week. Managed to find an inexpensive and compact replacement just today

Hi Helen,

Yeah, agreed mummies here are quiet.

DS only have upcoming term test, no mid year exam.

Hey, can I check with mummies here, which brand of nuggets is nice?Thanks.

Joy

Hi Tam,

Thanks so much for highlighting the fact that the chinese learning app is available! My son takes well to the app - we allow him to play games only after he revises chapters and completes the fill-in-the-blank tasks well.

He managed to learn very fast via the app more than the book. Can't write the difficult words yet (those with more than 6 strokes) and is now at chapter 4. Today was his second day using the siwukwaidu app.

To reinforce and 'test' if he can really read/write, I asked him to 'teach' my husband what he learnt
My hb even purposely wrote the wrong strokes just to see if he's really understood. Guess my son learns better when he has to teach his daddy.

Not too bad. He's able to write all 5 words from chapter one on his own this morning and point out my husband's 'errors' in reading/writing. Quite a nag - he told my husband that we'll end up taking the wrong plane next time if he cannot even sort out big/medium/small (da/zhong/xiao)...

I'm keen to let him recognise words by sight and do the writing part a little later since he's into cracking every single chapter and scoring 100 for the 'test' that comes after every chapter. Some words like papa/mama -- impossible to get him to write these at the moment and will definitely kill his interest. What are your thoughts on this?

Many thanks again, Tam! Will put up a comment on your blog too

Haven't posted pictures of food for a while. We've been buying fresh beef patties and sausages from Cold Storage to save time from having to mince/marinate. Sometimes will find 50% off deals if meats are close to expiry. To make it 'oriental', add a little soba sauce when frying.

Makes a quick and filling meal. Also great if you like cheesy foods like I do!

Husband cooked this yesterday for breakfast:
http://mumusingseat.blogspot.sg/2013/05/double-pan-recipe-cheese-with-beef.html

8438142.jpg
8438143.jpg

Hi Mummies, may I know after age 35, how long did u try before you conceive? Is it generally more than a year? I am 38 and hv been trying since I was 37 but with no success. My first 3 were conceived on first/second tries. Thks.

Hi Winx,

I didn't deliberately have a child. Just came naturally. Am also in my 30s by the way. I feel that it's best to keep a relaxed mind and healthy body and let nature takes its course.

The heat indoors is unbearable
Hope we get clear skies soon. Downing lots of chrysanthemum tea and fruits meanwhile. Take care, everyone!

Green beans are wiped off shelves! Jus like the masks and bp organisers are also overwhelmed by orders for masks. Most orders can only be fulfilled by next week.

Drink lots of water! Take care!

My sis ordered masks via Amazon.com. Some are eligible for FREE global shipping: http://mumusings.blogspot.sg/2013/06/home-mumusings-106-amazoncom-to-rescue.html

My mom was at Chinatown earlier in the week when PSI soared to 200+. She enquired about masks and the price was S$2.50 (firmer ones) each and so she thought she'll go for lunch first. After lunch, she went back and the price was $3.20.

As the Chinese saying goes, robbing others when there's a fire/crisis!

One guy at Raffles Place was selling N95 at S$10 each. Sickening to see how some ppl try to make a quick buck and preying on the insecurity/fear of fellow citizens.

Hi Helen,

ha...ha....ades mosquitoes suffocated to death by the haze.

I have been bogged by giddiness since the haze shot beyond 200pts. Tired & dry eyes too.

Hi Mumusings - My colleague managed to buy for me 6pcs of N95 masks @ $3.50 ea... daylight robbery byt bobian.

I also bought some kids N95 masks (fabric type - more comfy) from qoo10 from Korea. Received them this afternoon. Thank goodness.

Got this 凉茶 remedy from a friend (recommended by her tcm physician.

Boil chrysanthemum flower with a few ginger slices & brown sugar. Cooling effect.

Do try out this simple tea to beat the haze.

I came back from bangkok on thursday night. Regretted not extending the stay when i saw how bad it was. Whole house smell of burnt smoke, eyes itch and could not sleep properly. So glad yesterday started to clear.

Hi Snowball,

I saw N95 masks sold at 7-11. S$2.80 each so not too bad. Giant hypermart has those ear-loop ones at S$12.95 for 50-piece box. Thanks for the cooling tea recipe. Been boiling just the chrysanthemum with rock sugar and eating lots of oranges since they're in season and very sweet (Barnfield/Sunkist 3107 or 4102).

What do the masks from Korea look like? Can post a pic? Is Qoo10 reliable site - haven't tried this online platform before.

Hi Helen,

Yes, the haze stings the eye more than throat. So very hot at night even with some air-con and fan. Bathing many times a day just to stay sane and cool.

Hb just made a trip to Mustafa - N95 masks at S$1.80 each (or a box of 20 for S$36) and earloop ones at around S$7 per box of 75 or 100 (can't remember exact quantity).

Hi Moorspa/ aa,

I ordered the masks from Qoo10 on Thursday night and received the package on Sun afternoon. The shop selling is Star Shop.

I paid $16.90 for a pkt of 20pcs for kids and courier charge $5.90/ pkt. You can check out Qoo10 website to find out the price they offering now (sometimes they have time-limit sale).

The shipment is much faster than another company Golden Egg (I placed order for the fabric type masks and still have not received the order

Hi Leereiner,

I think it's safer to have at least the ear-loop masks at home. Useful when dusting furniture and cleaning the store room especially if one has sensitive nose.

Yesterday bought 16 pieces from Valu$ shop (8 for S$1.05) while waiting for the harder masks to arrive from Amazon.com.

Hi Snowball,

Thanks for the info! Will check out the site you recommended. Blur me - I didn't even know Gmart closed shop + changed name! I've never ordered anything from these places before because there are so many sellers for just one type of item/brand.

Hi Reiner,

Agree with Mumusings.....better to keep some masks at home tho'we may not get so serious hazy pblm henceforth. S'pore is too small n vulnerable to sudden wind direction changes...better be safe than having to rush for masks when u need them.

I heard that a Govt hospital increases the px of N95 masks to$100 per bx when there was islandwide shortage. I find its too much esp it is a Govt restructured hospital. I also understand that this incident was brought to CASE's attn. See what they have to say.....sighhhh

Looks like the haze is on its way back
Was pretty stuffy when I was out this early afternoon.

N95 aplenty now at Watsons! It's the smaller sized 3M ones that's more suitable for Asians.

Child abuse news are not new. Many parents chose not to blow up the issue. My own gal suffered under the hands of so-called "gd" tr who is now the supervisor of another centre. Mine is not serious compared to many others. It makes me shiver to knw that our helpless kids are under the torment of so called caregiver.

My gal is now much much happier in another childcare n looks forward to going to sch each day. She can even come back and tell me what she is going to learn. In previous childcare, she was so very unhappy. Am glad i made the right decision to pull her out from the private childcare.

Mummies do not be enticed by the curriculum offered by these private childcare centres. Curriculum pitched too high for your toddlers will only kill their interest in learning. It did for both my children. Being kiasu will give you short term results. Do beware of this.

Just my 5 cents worth

Good Morning! Anyone's kids enrolling for P1 this year? Oh my, many schools got less than 50% of places left after Phase 2A.

Hi Snowball

Yup. I registered her under phase 2C. the school is not as "hot" as others around the same area, so there is no balloting.:) Chose the school because of convenience--nearer to my home, there is a direct bus to the doorstep of the school and after sending her, I can go marketing as the wet market is just a stone throw away. heehee:p

Hi Snowball,
The City Harvest folks sure know how to spend! S$23million in 3 years! Wow! Amazes me ppl are still fanatically protecting these charlatans and giro-ing 10% of their income to their church. Whatever they try to explain about using secular music to read out to non-believers, I don't buy it. Just look at that woman's tarty image. They claim to use Satan-like music to beat Satan + her music is actually workshipping God... I really don't get it. Btw they own numerous apartments in that Horizon Towers (the highly publicised en-bloc sales case) --- where do all these millions come from?
Kong Hee 这次倒霉了。

facebook login [right click here to read]

Just wanna share with you if you are looking for coldwear to buy for the year-end holidays. I got some very deals from Lands' End website.

Bought 2 down jackets (600down fill) for my kids at around USD 25.00 each (ard USD 30.00 after adding shipping and additional 25% promo). Very good quality. Definitely cannot get such good quality coldwear at such price here. The shipping rates are also very reasonable esp. if you are shipping bigger packages as they calculate the shipping cost by value of purchases rather than package size.

Also bought a Down Vest for my hb at USD 12.00 :)

Do check their website out for promotions and sales :)