Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

Hi Tam/Snowball,

I am confiscating all the tiny sweets until he learns to behave and not pour them out at one go! He’ll want to have the whole container (to play, open/close lid) so right now, no M&Ms or I’ll go crazy. He’s at the stage where he wants to crack everything using his fingers. He’s not really into eating it. My mistake thinking that he would take a few out and keep the tube shut. Which brands of cream crackers do you get for your kids (as in healthier choices)?

Hi Fairy,

Yes, I had a good laugh and took a few pics before I collected myself and thought of where to start first (clearing the bits). They were almost melting!

Hi Tam,

Hope these perverse parents will be disciplined legally. There’s a difference between harsh punishment (eg. caning) and perverted ways (eg. stripping children, filming acts). Clearly, he blurred the lines and lost reason. Quite sick to read about the guy who added stuff to his colleagues drink and filming them drink it!!!!

Hi Bloom,

You can read my son’s mind. He’s still checking the fridge but can’t find anything... hahahahaha.... I will leave a sweet ‘carelessly’ near the nearest shelf within his sight. If he eats it, that’s all for the day. Now he’ll say, “Sweet, no more. (Must) buy.” With the usual crumps, I get him to pick. With chocs, no, ‘cos he tried to run them over with his toy truck. My husband quickly brought him away from the crime scene for a shower. Will be no end if he plays with the melting M&Ms.

styloBB,
Welcome back ! Glad to read your post again

You must have enjoyed yourself in Sydney. You brought your kids too ?

I paid about $100+ for books, about $60 for 3 sets of school uniforms.

Is Jesse's school far from your home ?

Joy,
You can try leg warmers, I saw some warm and cozy ones at winter wear shops. Or you can wear knee length boots, very fashionable nowadays. If your down jacket covers until the knees, then you should be warm enough.
Years ago, I only wore jeans and track shoes when I went to New York in winter, check out my blog :
http://myamericanwinter.blogspot.com/2008/06/31-dec-2000-snow.html
I almost got hypothermia.

mumusings,
I feel really sad for that teenage girl, if she is smart, she should leave home as soon as she becomes independent.

styloBB,
I don't really like Chloe playing with Barbie dolls, but she received quite a few Barbie dolls as gifts from friends and relatives. She was not very interested in the dolls.
She prefers to play with our tons of Lego bricks since she was 1 year old. But she does not spend a lot of time playing toys, she likes to spend hours drawing and writing, and she also likes beading which is an excellent way of developing fine motor skills.
I recently bought a set of Knex :
http://www.knex.com/
These are even more interesting than Lego, and they fit together with Lego bricks. Both my kids enjoy building with Knex.

tam
I didn't bring the kids as my hb was working and that is really nothing for them unless one goes out of the city. Overall I feel there is nothing for kids, the weather was fine for only 3 days, it was raining on other days.
I enjoyed the time with my hb but I did miss the kids...

The weirdest feeling was when we saw CSI - SVU, you know, those scary stories about kids... hb quickly phoned home to make sure they are fine...hehe

I have the same opinion re Barbie, that's why till now we hv not bot any for them.

Not heard of Knex! Shall take a look - thanks.

Books/etc were about $150, uniform/PE attire came up to $90. No joke hor, imagine when the it's the twins' turn next time....

His school is not v far frm my home....

Chloe is really good... she will hv no problem at school all the way...

joy/tam
I love knee length boots!! hehe...

Hi Tam and stylobb
Thanks for suggestion.
Yes, coat is pretty long.
Knee length boots?I prefer high heel boots instead.hahaha.
I bought leg warmers from London, not sure it will be useful.I really cannot imagine wearing one layer and another layer of jeans...can be very uneasy.

bloom, thanks for your compliment

tam, where did you purchase the knex from? Which set did u have that can work with lego?

I hope kiasuparent forum admin will report that case to the police. If the police intervene, they should be able to track down the actual person's identity by checking the ISP records.

Hi Mumusings,

My kids prefer plain crackers to those with cream. For waffle biskuits, I usually get those korean brands....very nice but not so sweet.

For M & Ms/ Smarties, you can still give your DS lah....but, like what Tam and I did, give him a few at a time. They are at the age where they will pour everything out from the pkt. For pkt drinks, my kids can now handle the pkt drinks without squeezing the juices out thro' the straw liao (after months of training).

You can also practise "punishing" him to clean up the mess he made. I works for my kids.

Hi StyloBB - My DD1 now into Baby Alive....she enjoy the diaper changing, feeding and playing with her new baby.

They are also enjoy their mini-kitchen whipping out dishes for us

When my DD2 is older, I will get Playdoh for them to play.

Hi Joy - Its good to get yourself and kids thermal wear for such cold weather. Get those Cotton ones as they are not so warm (when indoors) and more comfy to wear than wool ones.

Article on Kiasuparent - Apparently the father is not right. Why must he strip his daughter naked in order to cane her? He ought to be arrested for such barbaric act.

So many posts today...

I must be the most unprepared among all of you going for Dec hols- we are leaving for Taipei next Thurs, and I am still overseas for work =(
Back on Sat night, then full day event on Sun- swim class + ballet performance + early xmas gathering, then work for 3 days with +++ deadlines, and off on Thurs. Have not even packed, have not thought about the itinerary for the trip...it will be super F&E!

Stylobb- you had a good time in sydney- its always nice to visit their supermarkets e.g. woolsworth to check out the grocery- many nice chocolates, biscuits, cookies, salad dressings, honey etc to buy back to S'pore- cheap and nice! I also like to read local magazines when I am there, and cosmetics e.g. Estee Lauder and Clinique is much cheaper and their gift promotion only need a purchase of <$50...super worth it!

Joy- I would wear jeans over leggings, I somehow feel jeans are more versatile...why does it not look nice with your trench coat? But what material is your trench coat- for Hokkaido- prob need a wool coat, rather than a mackintosh/ trench type...when you are there- you can also buy very nice and economical winter wear from Uniqlo- last Oct- I bought a red wool pea coat from Uniqlo in london, but wore to tokyo in Nov- only around S$100- not expensive...recently in shanghai- was very tempted and bought a burgundy coloured wool pea coat....I have more than enough winter clothing!

KS parent blog- I will also be traumatized if I read it, so I did not dare to read it...what a horrible dad! My younger gal attended one recent CC class- the teacher said if the child did not do the exercise correctly- the child must be penalized and say some words, he traumatized her and she cried! Later on- I smsed this teacher and told him off BIG TIME! How could he be so insensitive when teaching kids, I can lodge a formal complaint if I want to...

TGIF!!

Hi Snowball,
On snacks...

When it comes to chocolates, my son is a bottomless pit and will ransack for more because he knows they come in larger quantities. He won't settle for 3 pieces so it's either all or none. I am choosing NONE at the moment. Will go broke at this rate we're going.

His chocoholism started after my sis bought him a couple of Kinder Joy eggs. When he was smaller and shorter, we could give him one 'yolk' and eat the Kinder Joy in 4 instalments. Now he has to have everything at one go. I've told everyone to not buy this particular item 'cos it's expensive and an over-dose!

He's not interested in most sweets and biscuits, thankfully. Sometimes give him some Jacob's and tall-biscuits (those plain Pocky sticks). My son is so into chocolate that I've had to keep my private collection of Snickers and Almond Roca in tubs hidden in my fridge. Funny right? I guess he takes after me when it comes to snacking. I ate lots of chocolates, chocolate truffle mousse cakes and potato crinkles when I was pregnant with him. Quite a scary quantity I ate then

stylobb

At that age, my kids like puzzles and board games such as monopoly (disney princess version), my first scrabble

joy
Ok, knee length high heels boots... I used to own one pair long ago... hehehe

Toys - thanks for feedback, mummiees.
Actually all that you all listed my gals already play... only no Barbie for them so far. I don't see the benefit of Barbie...
Hvn't played Scrabble yet...

fairy
You are right! I went to woolsworth, coles quite a lot!
I didn't know EL or Clinique is cheaper there.
Anyway I realise I buy my stuff online that I hv nothing to buy at the shops! hehe...
Didn't see any gift packages less than AUD50. Saw the Coach + EL Pkg at AUD95 but I didn't buy cos I hv no use for it.
Their dresses cost like AUD200 .. super exp leh.

Btw do you suffer from jetlag each time u travel? This time round, I feel so tired after returning...

Shows at malls - happened to be at Taka yesterday and they had the Mr Men show but nothing much in terms of performance... walked around w/ the gals to see the toys, also nothing fantastic...

Hi Fairy, stylobb

Thanks the fashionable mummies...at times forgot that we are hitting the high end of 30s....That is what happen when come to dressing up for me.

Weather is getting cooler or rather colder?I initially wanna buy thermal but my boss, aka hubby says dont need.He doesnt see much different between thermal and cotton wear that we have.

What are plan for mummies today?

Hi StyloBB,

So far, my DD1 also do not show interest in Barbie dolls and leave it as it is. She is very into Disney Princess and Dora now, tho'. She has read the Disney Princess stories many times.

Brought my DDs to Dora show at Raffles City yesterday afternoon. Queued for almost 1 hr to get a place near stage. The show was quite good n my DDs enjoyed it very much. My DD1 asked to visit Dora at her house :p

Toys - Told my kids that no more toys for them until their next birthday.

Hi Tam - Where can we get the Knex blocks? I find that mega blocks not as good as Lego. The blocks loosen quite easily. But lego is very expensive. We buy only when there is Sale.

Hi MUMMIES,
Dec is here and I love this month the most.Bring back lots of memories during my younger days.

Can I check wif mums here, where can I buy nice black jeans, cannot seem to find one.I dont like Levi.thanks

Joy

Joy
Just read ur question abt Jeans over leggings. I learnt from my tour guide that denim is v loosely woven fabric, meaning lots of 'holes' for the wind to get to ur skin and I agree with him. There is basically no difference if u wore denim or normal long pants. If u can get a pair of wool pants in classic cutting. It would serve u v well for multiple trips. I think zara shd have some nice ones. But if u would still like to wear denim, I like mango.

Muffin

Thanks for the speedy reply.Appreciate it.
I would like to put on jeans now, cos already bought the leggings.

Will check out mango for the jeans.

Hi Joy,

When I travel, I like to wear cotton track pants. Lightweight &amp; comfortable. I have a few pairs which can last me a no. of years. I just bought a pair of Adidas Cotton track pants from RHS &amp; a pair from Elle at 1/2 price. They having 25% off total bill with min. $200 spending.

Jeans - I like Armani Jeans/ Polo Ralph.....I bought 2 pairs in the US factory outlets (about S$50- 60 per pair) which I have been wearing for about 10 yrs already.

Hi Mumusings,
Thanks.I like the prawn.

Snowball32
Very much like you, my cloths also can keep for the longest time.You wear cotton pants for winter too?
Actually am not a jeans person,more of a dress person, but no choice this time, cos its on holidays.

Hi Joy,

Jeans can really last a long time and gets more and more comfortable when seasoned. So, I am reluctant to change my Jeans.

I have not been to real cold winter places. I wore cotton track pants during my trip to Perth during Winter. Temp was ard 12 - 15 deg (at the Farmstay)....I was ok with it.

If temp is below that, guess you will need additional thermal wear.

Joy,
I used to buy wool pants from Zara for my business trips to the cold countries. Think they usually carry a bigger selection at the end of the year. Leggings under wool pants work well for me in sub 0 temperature. Was at Mango Raffles City yesterday. Saw black jeans selling for S$49. Don't sure if the cutting suits u.

Snowball,
Same pair of jeans for the last 10 years! Wow, that means u maintained your pre-pregnancy figure! How nice! I can't fit into any of my pre-pregnancy jeans/pants. my waist has definitely "thicken" considerably

Mumusings,
I finally had a chance to visit shengsiong, and I found frozen soft shell crab! Gonna try frying them next week when my dd return from her church camp. Can't wait!

Hi Aly,

How much were the soft shell crabs? Do let us know how you fry them!

Hi Joy,

Good jeans and cargo pants can keep forever
Enjoy yourself on the trip.

It's mango season
The R2E2 cultivar is now everywhere and they are gorgeous. Check out the middle part. I do enjoy eating this portion more than the sides. I'm mango-crazy - wonder if any of you are too
Do share mango recipes if there are quick and easy ones please

4838512.jpg

A quick recipe for mango pudding easy enough for your kids to help do.

http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2010/12/desserts-mango-pudding.html

http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2010/12/fruits-mango-meal.html

Hi Aly,

I bought the Jeans when I went US for holidays about 10yrs ago before my marriage. I was quite "round" then. I managed to shed some weight to prepare for my wedding. Actually, I lose weight after birth to lower than pre-pregnancy weight. I put on some weight now liao....but, fortunately, still can fit into my old jeans lah

Hi Mumusings,

I am also a MANGO fan here...I like to eat the Mango-Sago-Pomelo dessert. Mangoes from Indonesia (the green-skinned ones) are superb....Now, Aussie mangoes in season, go grab some

Hi Snowball,

Yup. Had a feast on the Aussie R2E2 already last week
Just went to look for more but no more at NTUC. Cold Storage selling at $7.50 each!!!

styloBB,
Next time may be one of your twins can use their brother's old textbook ?
Chloe will not be streamed until P3, so this 2 years are easy for her. She will have a lot more competition in P3.

Fairyprincess,
That teacher is really insensitive, it is good that you told him off ! He seems inexperienced with teaching young kids.

snowball,
I really hope that the administrators at kiasuparents forum will report the evil father to the police !
I bought Knex from www.knex.com, the shipping charge costs me over $50 ! But total cost is still less than $100, cheaper than lego sets. Yes mega blocks is not as good as lego. The Knex has very small pieces, more suitable for kids 6 years and above.

mumusings,
My kids also love chocolates. I used to love chocolate but I dare not eat any now, because chocolates give me sore throat, and I cannot afford to have sore throat when I work.

Joy,
I am also not a jeans person, I prefer skirts. This time I am bringing fleece pants, bought from oldnavy.com. Fleece feels warmer than jeans.

snowball
It's indeed mango season in Aust. We bot 2 fat ones from Chinatown, along with strawberries and cherries.

joy
G2000 used to hv nice wool pants but I don't see much/any nowadays.

tam
I doubt they can re-use the textbooks...keke..
Yes I hear that P1-P2 is quite easy for kids...

Btw in sydney, there were many china nationals tourists ... they really hv that much purchasing power??
We hardly saw any japanese tourists...

Jeans - I am not really into jeans - prob. hv 2 pairs that I alternate, and jeans bermudas, and 3/4 capri...

Mega blocks - I think they are not good at all!

Hb bot a lego rc car frm Amazon... as we combined shipping again, the shipping cost for the 3 orders is about S$60 - pretty ok.

A Jap meal to share with all of you. Super easy to prepare. You just need to be a fan of Mentaiko (roe of pollock), Iwate's Wagyu beef, spring onion and Kikkoman sauce. My sis bought me quite some stuff from Isetan to cook. Heart pain when I saw that the beef cost nearly $30. I think it was only 200g - weight not stated but beef was sliced super thin. Mentaiko only $5. Worth buying. Anyway, those mommies going to Japan - this is the actual cost of meals if you're going to eat similar things in Hokkaido/Kobe/Iwate.

http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2010/12/food-rice-with-mentaiko.html

http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2010/12/food-teppanyaki-style-wagyu-beef.html

4840957.jpg
4840958.jpg

If my maths is correct, beef (10 strips) meal $12 and mentaiko meal $2. I used only 1/3 of both portions.

Tam- Knex looks very interesting- for older kids...how do you discover these interesting toys for kids- do you search online? Did you buy the version that includes battery to build something that moves? It seems very advanced and a good challenge for the kids!

Hong Kong- things to do for kids??
Any mummies have ideas?
I have been thinking, but cannot identify any interesting things for the kids to do in HK- they went to HK Disneyland 2 years ago, so its not priority to go this time, perhaps Ocean Park but I hear mixed reviews that the place is run-down even though its been revamped recently, and also heard its tiring for kids to walk around the large place...what else is interesting to do in HK? I will bring them to take the ferry and tram- they have done it before...def some makan and some window shopping, and perhaps checking out the markets cos they sell live seafood all day...what else?

Mumusings- your jap cooking looks good, am sure it tastes good too!

fairy
I would take the tram up to the Peak.
Yes, heard mixed reviews re Ocean Park, and heard about kid-snatching incident (not sure how true.)
Lei Yun Mun for seafood?
Snoopyland?
1 day trip /or overnight to Macau?
and to the outlying islands?
Heard also on air pollution...haiz...
Hb does not like HKG...keke... but I don't mind..

styloBB,
When I was in China, I regularly visited the high end department stores (window shopping only). Their prices are as high as the prices in Singapore, and I see lots of people buying.
I think probably many people in China are very successful doing business.

Your shipping charge is very reasonable. The merchant packed my toy in a big box

mumusings,
Wow that looks delicious. Is the mentaiko spicy or fishy ? We have eaten salmon with mentai sauce before, not sure if it is the same thing.

Fairyprincess,
I do a lot of online shopping, and I like to read the customer reviews. I usually go to amazon.com and look for best selling toys. I have read very good reviews on Knex, so I bought a tub for my boy's birthday. It is a pity that we cannot find good quality toys like these in Singapore, we am getting bored with Lego. Parents would rather spend hundreds of dollars on iphones, ipads, etc, for their kids, which I think have no benefits at all.

I have been to Ocean Park years ago, don't think it is interesting.
How about taking the very long cable car ride ? My kids love cable cars.
http://www.np360.com.hk/html/eng/front/index.asp
There are also some nice beaches on Hong Kong island.
Hong Kong still polluted ?

Hi Fairy,

Taking the tram ride to Victoria Peak is nice. But, nothing much to see at Victoria Peak during the day. The night scenery of HK from the Peak at night is very nice tho'. You can also visit Mdm Tussad wax museum at the Peak.

Ocean Park - Nice attraction are the Pandas. It is indeed very tiring if you try to cover the whole park. We took the cable car ride in the park which my kids like. Other than that, its the dolphin show which we missed during our last visit.

Can also consider visiting Lantau Island, take the cable car ride (subj to weather conditions).

Other than that, its shop and eat in HK and soak in the Xmas mood in HK....its nice

Hi Fairy,

Thanks. I’ve found out that Jap food is the easiest to prepare ‘cos many things are eaten raw, with Kikkoman, wasabi, miso and/or Spring onion. So these are the things to have in the fridge. For meats, teriyaki sauce, butter or salt. So easy there’s no skill needed. Just need to arrange things nicely and use a Jap ceramic bowl. That’s my way of making things look authentic.

Hi Tam,

The mentaiko is a little salty (taste like the sea) and not fishy at all ‘cos the one my sis bought is really fresh. Mentai sauce is flavoured with Pollack roe (should be the same fish?) - I've bought Daiso mentaiko-flavoured rice seasoning before. Those will taste saltier and more artificial for sure.

tam
I have read an article before of the super wealthy kids whose fathers started their own biz. They are the only kid, so the father splurged everything on him/her. In the end he/she gets bored and all he/she does is shop and spend, using father's money... quite scary hor...

I think many of them venture into manufacturing. My gf told me one such entrepreneur makes his millions selling pajamas!! keke...

I think Target again packed my stuff in a big box, awaiting for the arrival, the shipping charge is higher than the Amazon orders... at least Amazon came in a small box...but the items that I bot from Target, they are still overall cheaper than here.

I also don't like kids playing with iphones, and computer games... but rather common to see parents giving to them to play esp over meals.

Yes, was at the Taka toyfair and really saw nothing interesting.. same old stuff... the range is really limited.

snowball
If I ever go HKG again, wl def. go up the Peak.
My memory of Lantau Island is not v good, I puked big time due to the winding path, and also I rember the toilets were yucky!!! hehe...

fairy
Yeah, I wud like to know re the pollution, do update us on this... hee

Hi Fairy,

Yesterday's ST Life has got writeup on what to do and where to go in Taipei and HKG, you can check it out.

Hi Stylo - Lantau Island can take cable car now. The cable car ride is nice.

Hi Mumusings,

I used to make California Maki myself as I also like Jap food. Nowadays, too busy to make. My DD1 also very into Jap food. She love Chawamushi and also Grilled Eel Sushi. I will start making sushi again with her as helper
I also like the Jap Curry - just buy the curry mix from supermarkets and cook according to instructions - Mix vege/ meat all in a pot. The curry goes well with noodles/ udon/ rice.

Grilled Eel Don also easy to cook. Just cook the Nishiki Rice, place the grilled eel over the rice together with beaten eggs w/ shredded onions when rice is about to cook...that's it....yummy with a bowl of miso soup

styloBB, no lah.. 5 elements is not high class (in real life ahah)..ur sydney sounds short but nice (got shopping :p!) I dont let my gal play barbie.... I hope in laws wont get her any barbies (they are very conservative and think gals should be feminine). She played with everything else, coloring, glueing, soft toys, lego, etc

mummusings..ahaha. think u better stop buying M&amp;Ms for the time being...

tam, leaving home is not a soln too..there are predators out there too....

re xmas shows nowadays.. strawberry shortcake, ben 10, dora.nowadays they use this big costume with a person inside, i know its replica of the cartoon character but tat big fake costume certainly look strange and weird.. why cant they just let a human don the clothes the character wear and then wear a wig or something? afterall, u dont see the disney princesses/other humans in disneyland looking like a big cartoon character right?

mommies, any recommendation for english tuition/enrichment? my sis is looking for one (preferably with branch in yishun) as my nephew's english is bad and my sis cannot help much. I know reading more books will help but she preferred the tuition option.

one thing i dont like abt eel is that they have alot of bones!

Hi Bloom,

My DDs were very surprised and commented that Dora and Boots are very BIG.....heee....heeee. But the show was quite good tho'.

I am very down ., Sabrina myopia went up again Now reached 500 degree . Advise no book no TV no computer no iPhone just outdoor activities . I am lost . We both cries after the review . I don know what to do ?

bloom,
The only English enrichment that I recommend is Morris Allen, because their teachers are all native speakers. Singaporean teachers can never speak English as well as native speakers.
If parents do not put in the effort to teach at home everyday, then even if they spend thousands of dollars on tuition, it is not going to help.
It is actually very easy, just take any good English story book, and ask the child to read out loud for at least 30 minutes everyday. If the child is less than 6 years old, then 15 - 20 mins will do.

sharon,
That is surprising. How many hours do Sabrina read everyday ? I cannot imagine no books, 30 minutes a day should be no problem right ? Just make sure that she sits up right and has proper lighting when she reads.
Does she use the computer and iphone a lot ? Both my kids are allowed only 1 hour a week.

styloBB,
Not only super wealthy kids, even for average income families, the parents will scrimp and save and then splurge on the kids.
I am quite disappointed with the types of toys sold locally, the quality is bad except for Lego. I don't think I will buy any toys for my kids in local shops. I will probably just buy them one or two sets of good toys from USA each year.

mumusings,
Thanks for the info

Hi Snowball,

Thanks for the Jap cooking tips
Will try doing the eel with egg for hb.

Hi Bloom,

Yup. No M&amp;Ms. We went to Bossini that day and the staff gave my son a mini pack of M&amp;Ms. The weird thing is, he didn't pour the chocs out. Maybe the tube ones are just too 'fun'??

Sharon:

Do both you and hubby have severe myopia? From a young age? It may be hereditory- cos Sabrina is only 5 years old...did the opthamologist comment on what can be down to slow it down??

Mummies:
What do you do with a child who is constantly fidgeting and cannot concentrate for long periods? My younger gal needs to be watched like a hawk to get any amount of work done...e.g. assessment books- after each question, she will get up from her seat, walk around, eat some food, talk to people, then when we ask, then she goes back to do the next question, and the cycle repeats itself!! I have tried to reason with her to take a break only say after half a page or one page, and talked to her to focus on her work...my elder on the other hand, has super long concentration and very determine to finish any task...so I find it very hard to train my younger...my younger has a "lazy streak" in her- everything also say cannot do but if we push- she can do it e.g. read 7A of Peter and Jane- she said " huh- so difficult!", then I sat with her- she can read quite smoothly maybe 90% of the words- so she can do it if we give her TLC and coax her- but I am not with her every single moment of the day and night to encourage and support her leh- how??? Any tips, comments, advice???

Ahhhh...everything is getting so festive now that xmas is approaching- any mummies doing any shopping or buying of presents?? Just went down to orchard road- very nice!

joy747
not yet on ortho k lens..

tamarind
She read almost every minute le, eating also must read le, she said only eating nothing to do.
so I let her has the habit too.
Think is was my fault.
actually she seldom on computer, everyday also one Dora VCD time.
Last time round we also increased the no. of lights on .. we almost on the whole house lighting le. I also don know why .. she could increase so much..

fairyprincess
yes both I and my HB have myopia..
My own family got history..children all wear glasses fm young..
I, started at P1. HB P6

Doc said "no reading, no focus on near activities"

Anyone know about "Atropine" ? They give me a notes asked me to read about "Atropine" , Will review in 3 months time again. They may put her on medical treatment "Atropine"

Haizz....Doc commended her increasing of degree is not normal.

sharon,

throwing some thoughts...

are the light reflective.. u know ..some lights will just bounced off the book and form a 'pool' so the eyes have to focus more (thats where that advert about 3M lamp)...

- lazy eyes or some other similar issues (the doc never say anything?)

- maybe bring her out for more distance-viewing

Geeezzz. I also got shortsighted before P3..

At one time got those pinhole glasses fad.. or other similar stuff (got one use a machine who show dots or something). not sure if it will work

Hello all.

Just hope to check some details with mummy has travelled with a package tour before.This is my first time.

Is it a norm that agency fix a fixed charges per head for paying tour guide.Also, must pay if dont want to go to certain place?Not in itinary.

mumusings/snowball
Now that we are talking about sushi, can I ask if there is an easy way to make sushi rice?

As jesse's school is in the morning, they have another break time (after the recess time) near to lunch to let the kids eat their own food before they are dismissed. Am thinking of doing sushi rice on some days for him.

bloom
No... I didn't shop at all in that I didn't buy any shoes or bags as the prices are ridiculous. AUD150 for a pair of shoes, and AUD170 and above for a dress!
Suddenly the things in S'pore look to be cheaper...hahaha.....
Rembr last year I bot Oroton bag, now that I can order online and it's cheaper (less tax for non-Aussie), I will wait for online sale to buy...hehe
I bot some sunblock with the spray as I dun see such in S'pore.
Had nice meals like parma ham/rocket pizza, tiramisu, chunky meat at Korean BBQ, yummy Japanese salmon/tuna on rice, and chunks of soft shell crabs, steak was so-so this time.

I'm sniffing again... not sure if it's the weather or am I allergic to sth. I notice that my maid has been using too much dynamo/softlan on our clothes, when I wear my dress, I feel like a walking washing detergent! Hv already asked her to cut down on the quantity to use....

sharon
Wah, your gal's degree is high leh... Vit D (outdoors) will be good for her eyes, so let her go out when the weather is fine....

tam
Yeah, I agree re the toys.
Got the Lego RC car, wlbe pressie for jesse.
Do share when you come across good toys.

fairy
Actually I am v scared of the crowds during the festive season...
Need to get pressies for the twins... separate ones lah...

My T2 is stimes like that, wl meander when it comes to doing her worksheet. I dun hv any advice for you.. I wud like to know too.. keke

joy
Not been with pkg tour before.. but I wl tip the driver/guide when I go for the local tours.

Mummies who DIY colour ur hair, which brand is good? I can't keep going to the salon every month - too exp!

Btw I mention the Hada Labo cleanser before, am using the moisturiser and make up remover, all is good, I recommend them! Available from Watson's.

Apparently Tsubaki (hope I got the spelling correct) shampoo and conditioner from Shiseido are also good, Watson's has brot them in..

Sydney - I notice the women there wear v v high heels....

Sharon
Don't be sad, just take dr advice. Reading even when eating is a not a good habit (I am sometimes guilty of too). Both my HB and I have 'special' eyes, he is severely myopic and I have high astigmism and slight lazy eye and both of us have catarat. We tell ourselves that we should try as much as possible to delay our kids' myopia. So I try as much as possible to bring the kids to playground every single day. Outdoor play, not indoor like shopping centres etc. If I can't bring, the helper will take over.

Stylobb,
Aussie stuff not v nice, abit too 'cowboyish' also hahaha. With AUD so high really not worth. Hair colour, 'liese' looks quite nice and easy to use.

Toys,
Another headache. My HB started the tradition of asking the kids to cut out wat they want and put under the tree so that Santa will know what they want. My DD chose something that I am not keen to get, so...still scratching head on what to get.

Joy,
Have not been with a package tour for a long time but like stylobb, we will tip the driver and tour guide. Esp the tour guide and give at the start so that he/she will take better care of us. They are human after all. Perhaps Sporeans are lousy tippers so they implement this fixed amt of tips rule.
For your 2nd qn, I only hear that you have to pay if you want to go to certain destination, not the reverse.

Muffin and stylobb ,
Thanks.I will tip the guides too.
But, the prob here is, the agency fix a fixed amount even before we starts the tour for the tipping part.This is first time on a tour package, so really wonder is it a norm.Thanks again.

Rgds
Joy