Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

Fairyprincess,
Sounds like you have a very good time in Taiwan and Hong Kong
Thanks for sharing, I may be bringing my mother there.

Been spring cleaning and was totally tired from bringing the toddler for hi-5 shows last week.

Here's a quick household tip for those of you who cook quite a bit and have oily bottles (cooking oil, soya sauce etc). I cut up a piece of very large and ugly shirt to make bottle grips (and the usual rags).

http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2010/12/home-mumusings-50-bottle-grip-and-rags.html

4898795.jpg

Hope this is of use
Do click on the link to see the ugly shirt. Really ugly... hahahaha... must have been insane to even wear it at home as pyjamas. Didn't realise till my mom made noise about it when she came over

mumusings,
Your blog is one of the most useful blogs that I know !

Dear mommies,
I will be going to Japan tomorrow, will be there for 1 week.

Hi Tam,
Do have a good trip to japan.Which part u going?
Its so cold here, and I begin to appreciate the weather that we have back home..too much cold, it kills...

Learned something from this hol, dont want to travel with any relatives anymore....kind of very roundy and kids are so hard to control esp when my children are with three other kids...they are those who are very roundy kind, spent and spent kind...despite money already not enough...for instance, five pm going to eat dinner, and yet at 4.30pm, they can eat macdonald, and when at 5pm,just run around cos too full to eat...this is something which i will never allow my kids to do.

Tam- have a great trip and tell us about it!

I am on a short break with my sis in Hanoi- really LOVE the weather there now and enjoying the quaintness of the place =)

Joy- what is "roundy" kids- you mean in size? Aiyoh- spoil appetite- that kind of eating- like not very controlled behaviour?? Yes- best to travel with your own family only- then its really up to you to schedule your day- no need to get any consensus- I do not even like to travel with my parents, to be honest...

Am bringing my kids to see my grandma in malaysia this week- so the kids get another short excusion trip! They are really enjoying their hols...

Tam - Enjoy your Trip

Hi Joy/ Fairy - I agree with you....that is why till now, I never agree to travel with my BIL who also has 2 kids whose age are close to my kids' age. We went for a 2D1N Malacca trip 2 yrs ago with my DD1 only and he brought both kids....Aiyo, wayang esp during mealtimes, spill water, overturn their rice plate (insisted to self-feed when they still cannot). My BIL actually suggested going Genting together during CNY....I pushed it away citing heavy traffic jam as excuse.

I guess, its the travel companion that matters.
My sisters have grown up kids (youngest already 9 yrs old) and we travelled with them to KL last year. We enjoyed that trip as my kids got grown up cousins to entertain them.

thank you mommies for ur feedback re the school...

additional problem..my parents do not want a helper..and hb refuses to move cos he is a miser with money (does not want to pay COV and we got our flat here at low prices so no matter where we live we will end up paying more) Moreover, FIL move to be nearer to us but so far never help though he always claim he will. same thing happen during my confinement (can u imagine i have to travel to his friends' place to collect confinement food when i was already travelling to kkh everyday to deliver ebm to my dd who was in scn and i have to take public transport? in the end i just order tingkat)

yawn yawn, the school near my place is within walking distance but i guess no school bus uncle will complain if i charter the school bus? :p but even with that, i cannot reach home on time...

i guess the best solution is to change job but my skillset really not marketable right now and its an industry which does not accept u just because u got a training cert (they wanted pp with hands on training, not just a cert)

muffin, i agree with u that the school mix is important.... unfortunately hb does not, and listen to those neighbours w/o school going kids that there are good schools around us...

tam, my ex colleague will be asking her colleague for help to bring back books when her colleague goes back to china during CNY..thanks for the offer...

actually, personally i dont like doraemon..at first still like it..then i notice that after watching it consistency, my gal becomes very whiney/crybaby..suspect cos da xiong cried so often to get out of his way.. tried to cut down on letting her watch it after that and it seem to work slightly...

fairyprincess, i think joy mean rowdy (like noisy, naughty?) i have to agree abt right company for travelling.. travelling with my sis and her DD (my niece) was OK last time in msia..(thank goodness) but i tink my niece dont like it cos she has to give in to my DD :p :p :p to be blunt, i even hate travelling with my hb... he expects us to follow his schedule rather than DD's....

Hi Bloom,

If none wanna give in, then you will have travel up and down lor. Did you consider Student Care Ctr for your gal when she goes Pri Sch. This is also 1 way to cut travelling time if you decide to place in Sch near your house?

Travelling with relatives with young kids - My other concern : go happily as a family and come back as "enemies"...that is worst, isn't it? I would prefer status quo, meet up for a meal, let the kids play for a while and say bye. That is better arrangement.

Oh, my kids only have 2 cousins but hardly see them, no gathering at all, don't even run into each other during CNY visiting, think they cannot recognise each other, not to mention travelling together.

So 100% of the time, my kids only play with each other, also good lah, play with relatives kids, if got dispute very troublesome and sensitive position

plus grandparent & older relatives always like to compare kids' achievements if they are around same age, not good leh, easily sour relationship

cartoons for kids

hehe, I'm totally hooked on 金田一's comics. Read more than 10 during this school holiday. It's in Chinese so my girl catched no ball. Told her too bad, she doesn't know what she missed, haha! She finds it amusing that I so 着迷

I think there's cartoons version too, I wouldn't mind letting my kids watch if I can find the cartoon version

Hi Yawn,

I have to be diplomatic lah. Like on Sunday, we went to my BIL's house for lunch (MIL celebrate 冬至). My BIL's kids keep playing with the bedroom door (open then slam close). I was so worried that my kids will get hurt. In the end, my BIL's daughter's hand was hurt when her bro slammed the door again. If its my kids, sure clash with my SIL one.

But, good lesson for my kids. They were still talking about the incident when we went home, while I reiterated why I disallow them to play with the bedroom doors.

Comparing, my DD1 and my BIL's DD born in same year & its inevitable that the adults will compare. I've been thro' that myself (My cousin and I born in same year too) and I agree that the feeling is no good at all. So, I also refrain from giving comments on my BIL's kids.

bloom

Primary school logistic is not your own problem mah. What is your hubby's proposal if don't move house? Ask your hubby to ask your FIL to commit to fetch since he lives nearby?

PIL also live near my previous house but absolutely no help because only babysit BIL's kids. If I on MC, hubby need to apply leave to help me out leh. PIL live so near also no use mah. So I fed up move to other end of Singapore since my mom can be on standby. PIL dare not protest because they didn't help out in the first place, no case lor

I thought most schools dismissal time at 6:30pm? By the time students take turn to leave class by class, usually another 10-15 mins delay. You can place your dd on BASC waitlist 1 year in advance, should get a place lah. Then your FIL fetch at dismissal time

snowball, ahaha..sometimes even going overseas with adults (no kids) can come back as enemies (eg, some pp who hog the toilet, shop too much and make everyone wait, or insist on eating only at exp restaurants...) hahaha.. good that the cousins injured themselves..sometimes nothing happen then ur kids will wonder why u r so strict :p

yawn yawn, my hb is those simply bo chap cannot plan type. his plan is just ANY school loh. Very funny, the schools that I am eyeing both dismissed before 6pm. Additional complication about FIL (i sound like taiwan series). MIL had passed away so I find it funny to have a man take care of my gal. And now he got a young live-in gf (young enuf to be my sister) and I don't know if suddenly I will have a new sibling-in-law....ahahahahah

tamarind,

hope you are enjoying your trip. It should be snowing heavily in hakuba? We are in shiga kogen. Was snowing heavily this whole day as we arrived... freezing, our shoes were all sinking into the snow and it was -9 deg. We ended up just playing with snow right at our room balcony. its quite big and full of snow so at least we can go into the room to warm up.

joy,

agreed! I miss singapore. -9 deg with strong wind, heavy snow is no joke.

mummies..

Merry Christmas!

Good morning and Merry Xmas...
Got back yesterday morning and was so busy unpacked and now back to reality...

Travelling with kids and relatives.
I have very good experience this trip.I definately dont want this anymore.Very different mind set esp wif sil and mil.Think relative esp woman cannot travel together.
What I cannot stand is my nephew and niece upfront rude to me.BIL went to airport to fetch them and without me around, do u know what my nephew reply bil when asked how was the holidays?He replied I see xx mum true color(that is me).

Long ago, I do feel that there is education "difference'between people but not anymore .But, this trip, I do see it, maybe sil exposure is not there too.Its terrible.You see the way she handles thing, even towards the guide its the ganster way...she is illerate, as in not even O level.Not to disciminate.Maybe she feels small, so everything she did is like she wants to show the world that she is damn right...

The other woman, MIL, takes every chance to gossip,I try not to sit next to her.Poor hubby worst, whole night flight, sit next to her, she was like yak yak, trying to dig out info like how often your wife cook etc....When hubby talks about my boy, she will quickly boast about her younger son boy, how this and that.....
She also basically like a recorder, repeating things about different sil, gossip and yet try to put in diplomatically that its not a gossip...sigh....thank god, I only come that close contact wif her for that ten days...

All right, so much about that, nevertheless, Hokkaido is still a lovely place .

Joy

Seasons' Greetings! It has been quite a wet X'mas which rain in the afternoon.

Hi Bloom,

I admit I am rather strict with my kids. That is Y I decided to send both to fullday CC. My MIL is too softhearted and give in to everything the kids wants, esp when they throw tantrums....sweets, tv, biskuits, etc.....If I continue let her look after my kids, we will definitely head clash one day.

At home, I will scold my kids for playing with the door. Now, they have seen the consequences of playing with the door (luckily without getting hurt themselves).

Hi Joy,

Good to hear that you had a good trip. One thing good about Grouped Tour....you can choose to "ignore" relatives travelling along. It will be worst if you do it F & E.

Every1 has got their own thinking and mindset. So, its better to go own way without each other's interference. So far, I only agree to travel with my MIL & not with my BIL family. Do not want any wayang during the trip.

Hi Mumusings,

I like to eat fish maw but not my hb. I will pass your recipe to my sister whom can cook for me when I go to her place. You fried rice looks yummy

Hi Snowball,

Hahaha... I don't eat fish maw either but I must say the dish looks like it tastes great. Let me know if you know where to buy fresh fish maw. Most fish stalls don't have it or don't want to sell it!!!!

Been practising doing fried rice twice a week since lots of folks in the family like eating it on weekend visits.

Hi Muffin,

Indeed, it's been chilly these days. I don't miss the hot weather at all
So nice to be able to cook without perspiring and with the wind blowing all the fumes out of the window

mumusings
Just like to let you know that I enjoy reading your blog, I always feel like going Sheng Siong after reading your blog. hahaha. I like eating steam fish canto style too, but I am not good at steaming fish, always taste 'old' if you know wat I mean. Just cannot reach restaurant standard. Any tips?

Hi Muffin,

I'm not good with fish too! My husband's the one teaching me how to cook.

If you don't want the fish to taste old, stick to 'safe' fishies to buy. Cod, jade perch and the usual snapper and threadfin are great choices.

Also remember not to buy too thick a slice of fillet if you're not good with steaming. I always get thin slices... hahaha... so only 6 minutes is enough for it to be tenderly cooked.

The other things to note when 'seasoning' fish. (1) Wash it with some salt. (2) Add sauce only after fish is steamed.

I commit all sorts of kitchen travesties. Look what I did to a handsome piece of cod just now...

You see, I like fish meat and husband likes fish skin. I thought - just hack off the skin and fry them separately before I fry the cod meat. Skin needs around 8 mins so I add the meat-portion a few minutes after so both is completed on time. Will do a blog post on fish when I have time. I'm no expert either but somehow certain methods seem to be working.

Let's share fish-recipes. I've been experimenting with Shengsiong's frozen jade perch. Should be good for you to try since it cooks easily (and somehow won't taste overcooked) and has lots of Omega3. I'm only buying seafood from Prime and Shengsiong these days. I can't bear to pay for prawns and seafood at other places! More expensive and not as fresh. With SS, the prawns are so fresh that I pull out the head - the vein comes out together.

Hi Muffin,

Sorry, forgot to compress the pics 'cos I just finished eating lunch...

I did the unthinkable act of cutting out the skin of the cod and frying it first before the meat. Steamed radish so DH's meal is with fried fish skin and mentaiko and mine with cod meat. Will cost A BOMB if you ever eat such a combination in anywhere!

4929832.jpg

4929833.jpg
4929834.jpg

Dear mommies,
Thanks for the well wishes. Everything went as planned. I am back ! Just returned to Singapore yesterday evening. We have a wonderful time in Disneyland and up in the snow mountains of Hakuba which are beautiful, tons of snow there ! I am very glad that we did not follow a tour group, because my kids dislike sightseeing, they only enjoy playing with snow or taking the rides in Disneyland and Disneysea. We only took a one day tour to see the snow monkeys, and then the tour took us to visit a temple and my kids did not see the point of going there. Definitely no tour groups for us.

Joy,
I agree with you that women relatives cannot travel together. Though I have not tried that before, I don't think I ever want to do so.
I only enjoy traveling with my mother alone, or with my hubby and kids.
Your nephew and niece really 没家教.
How many degrees in Hokkaido ? I love it when I was there in the summer.

mumusings,
Yes I love all things Cantonese, and I think Cantonese food is the best in the world. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Your hubby is very lucky to have a wife like you who likes to cook.

bloom,
OIC about doraemon. You can also look for Little Einsteins or other DVDs from Disney in local shops, they usually have options to switch to Chinese audio.
Or just let your girl watch Hong Kong TV series dubbed in mandarin, I think I learned all my mandarin watching these shows when I was young, I spoke only Cantonese at home. I think that Hong Kong TV series is many times better than local shows, and most series do not have any unsuitable scenes for kids.

How many mummies are still working up to these last few days of 2010? I for one, am working- not many days of leave left and many things to tie up these few days =(

Tam- sounds like your family had a great time! Yes- I think kids like simple things like exploring within the hotel room- switching on all the lights, then switching off; bouncing forever on the beds, check out the TV channels; playing tea-party with the tea cups + hot water kettle; checking out all the cupboards and every nook and corner of the bathroom and do writing etc using the hotel stationery- I had trouble getting the kids to leave the hotel room in the mornings for excusions! Thus, its the simple things that they enjoy....definitely no sightseeing and endless walks to don't know where...

What are mummies busy with in the last week of 2010? I have to to:
- get kids ready for school- books and uniforms and bags and schoolbus arrangements etc
- tidy up various parts of the house- sort out mail and throw out old toys and assessment books etc
- pack up the christmas tree which we hardly switch on after we put it up!!

Any mummies did any post-christmas sale shopping? Anything interesting? I have not gone for any yet- too busy...

Hi Tamarind,

You make me very tempted to bring my kids to Disney Tokyo

Hi Fairprincess,

My kids will NOT want to leave the hotel once they are back from outside....not even for dinner. They ask us to pack dinner back to eat in the hotel room :p

They enjoy exploring the room and enjoying watch their DVDs we brought along.

I am still working these few days....a good time to clear backlogs and tidy my workplace!

joy, ahhaha..when u mention 'good experience' i thot u enjoyed the trip with ur ILs :p :p :p anyway, IMO.. education is just one aspect..there are graduates behaving like uneducatd pp, and vice versa... thats why i believe strongly in the right company so that one can 'absorb' the right attitudes (and by right company i dont mean rich pp).

snowball, agreed that its better to be strict with the kids when they are young.. cos they can pick up the right things when they are young...

mummusings, i like the chiling weather too! how i wish singapore had such nice weather year round :p

tam, pictures!!!!!! how much per person does ur trip costs??? i never know local shops have little einsteins ahahaha

mommies who are planning their next holidays.. recently my colleague went for some taiwan package tour.. very interesting..the places they visit includes a safari with animals roaming around (he showed us this pic of a giraffe outside their room).

fairyprincess, yeah, i think hbs and kids love a nice hotel room more than anything else... :p no time for post xmas shopping.. i need to change my wardrobe cos alot of clothes wearing out...

Hello all
Good morning.
Tam
I feel so happy that you use the word 没家教 cos that is something that i really feel.Glad that you have enjoyed your trip.How did you manage to move your luggage around?Did you bring many?My only prob wif free and easy is the luggage prob.

Bloom
Hokkaido trip is actually a good hol.Our tour group is 25 but only four groups.They are pleasant people.Very relax kind of trip cos i dont have to think.

Stress
Now, back to reality, coping my girl next year psle.Friend around me already finished next year math topics, super fast, I damn stress.

I kept telling myself pacing up is impt , not so much on who finished what first.Just one cent of my thought.

Joy,
We brought 3 large suitcases, and 3 carry on bags. I booked all hotel to hotel transfers by taxi, the hotel staff always move the luggage for us, so it was very easy for us. Cost of transport works out to be about the same as the cost of 4 return air tickets from Tokyo to Hokkaido. I think it is worth it because I don't think my kids can tolerate the cold in Hokkaido. Hakuba has tons of snow and it does not seem too cold.

bloom,
I am still waiting for my hubby to copy the photos to my computer. We stayed at the Tokyo Disneyland Hotel which is very expensive, airfare is also expensive this time of the year, we spent over $2000 per person including the trip to Hakuba, total 7 nights. If we stay at the Sheraton Grande Tokyo Bay Hotel near Disneyland, it would have been cheaper, but I love the Tokyo Disneyland Hotel and don't mind splurging. If staying in cheaper hotels, it should be less than $2000 per person.

snowball,
It is very easy to visit Tokyo Disneyland, especially for families with young kids.

Fairyprincess,
My kids are just like yours, they love to play in the hotel room.
I think I have almost everything ready for my boy for P1 next year, only have to buy his school shoes for him.
I don't think that I will be doing much shopping in local shops :p I just received my FitFlop sandals from Victoria Secrets, costs less than SGD70, impossible to find such good deals in Singapore. The sandals are so comfortable, and I cannot find the same style in local shops.

Hi Tam,

Sounds like you had a splendid time in Japan - good for you
Thanks for your kind words, I am also lucky to find a husband who can cook better than I do (and teach me how to do so!)... hahahaha...

Hi Tam,

Beautiful pics of the scenery and monkeys!

Hahaha... yea, I shall also make sure both my son and DIL can cook
I'm thankful that my husband likes details, neatness and cooking (like me) or else our flat will be a pig-sty. Have seen many homes without maids with only the wife doing all chores like centuries ago. Some men don't even wash plates!

Hi Bloom,

I am hoping everyday is cooling too

Hope all of us have fulfilled our 2010 resolutions and will be "older, wiser and better" adults (from Hugh Hector Munro's story The Lumber Room.

What will your 2011 resolutions be?? I'm still thinking...

Hi Tamarind,

Wow....I love the snow scenery and the monkeys taking their hot spring bath are so cute & carefree....unlike those fierce ones I saw in Bali.

Did you take public transport from Disneylang to Hakuba? Same as Joy, when travelling F & E, pblm is the luggage transfers.

Hi Mumusings/ Tam - My hb cannot cook but he is better at housework than me, esp cleaning floor and washing toilets. I have 1 more advise to add....when looking for hb, look for one who can do housework too

Hi Joy,

Dun get too stressed by what others had done, your DD is already doing very well...I am confident that she can make it very well.

Hi Mumusings,

2011 Resolution - Lose some weight (for health reasons), spend more quality time with my kids and hb. That simple

Tam- wow- beautiful photos! The best thing I like to do when I travel is to sit and absorb and immerse into the landscape e.g. in Hanoi- just sitting by the lake and enjoying the nice cool weather, or sitting by the roadside and seeing people go by their daily lives- I cannot imagine my children doing such things- I must constantly get them to open their eyes and see what is in their surroundings and what they can learn from observation...

Joy- your gal has been consistent so far, its a matter of balance between over-pushing her and letting her maintain her momentum...I know that you know what best to do...so all the best for year 2011! I also got my gal to do her P2 maths syllabus during this holidays- maths seems to progress slowly in terms of difficulty, and she is now finishing 2B part of the activity book...

2011 Resolutions- 4 key ones for me:
- be more consistent with my jogging to lose some weight (3kg ideally!)
- get my younger gal ready for P1 in terms of English reading; maths skills and Chinese understanding
- ensure my kids can swim fairly well by mid year- this is one skill I want to ensure they are well equipped
- some other financial objectives type of decisions and targets to meet

snowball,
We took a taxi from Disneyland to Hakuba. There is shared taxi and the fare per person is comparable to shinkansen+train ticket. The taxi picked up and drop off at hotel lobbies, so the hotel staff helped us to move the luggage. We asked them to come to our room to take the bags. It was very easy for us.

I will also advise my girl to find a hubby who can do housework. Otherwise, must marry a hubby rich enough to employ servants hahaha

mumusings,
My resolution every year is to lose weight and save money. But never seem to be successful :p

tamarind

Wow, awesome pictures! Your kids look very cute in winter clothing, hehe

Haiz, me budget conscious leh. If whole family goes Japan, will set us back by at least $10K

fairy

Oh my, you're so efficient, already covered 2B of next year syllabus!

Comparing to you, I'm so slacked leh, my kids hardly touch assessment books this holiday. My dd2's enthusiasm in her new English assessment book extinguished after 1 day. Didn't managed to execute my ambitious plan to drill dd2 in Maths. They're happily playing & fighting everyday

I finally bought school uniforms yesterday. Must be one of the last few mommies to buy uniforms because the smaller sizes went out of stock! The uniform auntie said wear jie jie's old ones. Oh no, cannot lah, all P1 kids go to school with new uniforms, how can she wears old ones!

mumusings

resolutions - revert to my previous weight. For unknown reason, I put on 3kg the last couple of months. Maybe due to slower metabolism rate with advancing age, nowsday drink water also can gain weight??!! But I'm a potato on a couch leh, yet to come up with any weight loss plan

Yawn- it must be nice for mei mei to join jie jie in the same school next year! They must be looking forward to it!

Assessment books- I must push leh, then my younger will do. My elder is the self-motivated type- she completed the 2 books I bought for her within 4-5 days and said to me- "what next?" So I got her to read many storybooks this holiday- she must have finished around 10-15 of the enid blyton famous fives and st clare books...every day say to me- can we go to the library today? I warned her not to read too much- either wise will affect her eye sight!

I also put on 2 kgs- very bad- not sure what happened but it is very dangerous in my view- must try to lose the extra weight...did mummies read the straits times recently- the most ideal weight for lowest risk of chronic diseases is BMI< 21.5....something to work towards...

Hahaha, looks like most of us have a weight issue... For me - how to lose weight when food is getting cheaper and cheaper to cook???

I am just hoping to be able to maintain my stamina for writing and get back to reading books. Personally, just hope to continue doing good and be better in areas I am lacking in. Also, to be more patient with my son - he's 'opposition party' at the moment for the sake of being so.

fairy

Surprisingly my dd2 isn't exactly looking forward to P1. She prefers to stay home. I think she's too used to being carefree at home, lots of freedom to do whatever she likes at anytime (cuddle with me, read her favourite books, play piano, idle on bed, watch tv). Primary school is restrictive in her opinion &amp; she doesn't quite fancy being confined in school for 6 hours following a strict timetable

But she accepted her fate lah. Told her primary school is compulsory, no choice, haha!

Hi Mumusings/ Yawn,

Yes, think age is really catching up and its so easy to put on weight! I have put on 2.5kg in the past 2 months. How to lose with good food always surrounding me. I have made a resolution to go to the gym every morning before starting work.....MUST DO IT.

Hi Yawn - Your DD2 will adapt to Pri Sch very fast 1 lah....kids are highly adaptable 1. There are so many activities in school and time passes very fast.

Btw, where is Rona and StyloBB?

Time really flies, year 2010 is coming to an end. Seemed that we have been rushing and rushing and came to realise that nothing much has been done really.

Wishing all Mummies &amp; Family a Very Happy, Healthy and Successful Year 2011