Any Babies Only Drink Milk While Sleeping??

Hi CG, I think you should also continue giving breast milk. I've tried giving my bb more FM, but he didn't put on more weight lei, so back to EBM cos of all the nutritious goodies in it.

Mum05, you're right, I was also extremely relieved that other moms also have this prob. I went to see several lactation consultants, and they told me that it was unusual for bbs not to drink milk. Made me even more worried.

Eh, so can I add cereal into their milk and feed it to them in a bottle while they're sleeping or not?

wow.. cutebao... sometimes i can't help it but to belive in "pangtang" due to my experiences....

wat kind of vitamin is ur PD is giving to ur child coz me thinking of giving the beri protein to my 8 mths old child ... dun noe can or some professional say can

my child is even worse... due to bf, dun noe how much milk does she consume

Melissa,
I am adding brown rice into my baby's milk. I bought the Yu Ren Sheng brown rice powder and cook into a paste, which I pour into a thermal flask to keep warm. Will add about 20ml into the formula milk for 3 of his feeds. It's really good as he gained 500g in 3 weeks, even though the milk intake remains the same... But the drawback is he will get constipation. So have to increase water intake....

Happy Mummy,
I guess you should consult your pd on the vitamin thingy. If they say can, why not? I am also interested leh. If can, do tell us so that we can go get the beri protien too. By the way, where to buy it?

hi happymummy & all,
have u tried varying the positioning when feeding ur baby?
just realized that my baby now prefers drinking when lying on mattress/bouncinette (instead of cradle hold). so now must BF her lying down. I'm not complaining as long as she drinks her milk
*CROSSING fingers..hope she maintains her intake*

Yesterday, as we are late for home for my girl 8pm feed, I fed her in our car and half way through, she merlioned all the milk. Then I stopped immediatedly and keep the remaining in the vaccum container. After reaching home, she refused to take anymore milk and went to sleep. Then at 10+, she cried for milk and we quickly gave her. She only drank 70ml and went back to sleep. My husband and I tried all ways to wake her up but failed. She then slept throughout the night. So afraid that her in take is too little...

CG,
How much is your girl's intake for the whole day? I think if she is not taking the night feed, but drinking well for the morning feed, then it should be ok. My boy also refuses to drink during the night. He will scream or just simply refuse to suck. So sometimes the last feed will be around 9pm and last till 6am. The terrible thing is he will be hungry and keep waking up at night. But just won't drink lor. So very frustrating....

Poor CG, I can imagine how frustrating it is for you to feed your bb only to have her merlion everything out again.

My bb occasionally does that as well. My heart really aches that it took us so long to feed him and then it takes only 2 secs for him to vomit it out.

Yeah, 2 weeks more to weaning my bbs! Looking forward to it; hopefully they will put on more weight!

Chihuahua, thanks for the tip! Why did you decide to get brown rice powder instead of the usual cereal? How to make the brown rice into a paste?

Chihuahua,
I am also feeding my son the brown rice water. It is kinda thick as it has the small small particles which is quite difficult to go through small teat. U experienced that? I let in stand and gave him the watery part only. You? My boy more jiat liat, once last fed ard 10pm... I woke up at 4am to feed, he drank 40ml out of 180ml. Then he cried for milk at 10am. Hahaha...

Glax,
There is instructions on the Eu Ren Seng, add boil water or BM, FM, fruit juice(when your baby starts to wean), stir into a smooth consistency then add in more liquid and boil somemore. Have to read... hehe... forgot liao. My son loves Gerber mix.

missylan, tot u wanted to start cereal only when yr child's intestinal system is stronger? But I see that u're already giving him things which arent supposed to be given now leh keekek (he's abt 5 mths same as my girl rite?)
btw, Is Brown Rice "Chor Bee"? If so, I may have something to relate mums here :

Recently, I've got flu n cough n though I wear mask when attending to my girl, but I have to take them off occasionally as she doesnt like to see me in it, so eventually she caught the virus from me lor. I have to bring her to the chinese physician again. Then since I was there, I took e opportunity to ask him when is the right time to give chor bee. He said should give ard 7-8 mths and not earlier. And he warned us that it is however, NOT to be given to every child. Some children can't take it(especially those who do not have strong intestinal system) and will result in falling sick, then it'll be like "Nong Qiao Fan Zhuo". He said that recently he had a case where a boy(a couple years old liao), went back to him for consultation on his fever Every wk and he was wondering how can a boy gets fever so often. Then, after checking with his mum abt his food intake, he found out that the culprit is Chor Bee lor. I also asked him if my girl can take it he said that my girl should 'belong' to the group whose body is 'heaty inside' and may not be so advisable for me to give her chor bee, even though it is good to give a 7-8 mth old that to build up e strength in their legs.
Seeing my concerned look, he told me not to worry as I can still supplement by giving my child more fish with her porridge when she reaches the age of 7-8 months old.
I thought this might be a good note for mums as I also find that alot of Singaporeans actually dun hv good intestinal system n that might be a result of these food intake when we were young.

mum05,
I gave him the brown rice water when he was having the milk strike. A lady from another forum adviced me so. I didn't give the brown rice, I gave him the water only. I gave him Gerber white rice+banana. Yup, my son is in his 5th mth. When is your daughter's birthday? Sekali, sama sama...

Thanx for the advice. I dun think I will start brown rice so soon also... My son is very happy with his Gerber mix and my own home made solids. kekeke...

mum05,
I think maybe that does not apply to all babies. My boy has been taking the brown rice cereal in his feeds ever since 6 months. Up till now, except for mild constipation, everything ok. And I think brown rice is really nutritious. Checked with my pd and she also mentioned that can feed brown rice cereal from 6 months. Just monitor. If baby seems to feel unwell after taking it, then wait for another month before trying. Else, should be ok....

missylan,
I used a M size teat (pigeon) when I add in the brown rice cereal. But of course, sometimes flow can be still too fast and he kena choked. As he is drinking while sleeping, the milk flow must be really slow. So sometimes, it takes about 45 min for him to finish 150ml....

chihuahua,
Wa... 45mins aah... ZzzZzz... i give him the brown rice water only.Think wait till he's 6th mth, I shall give him Brown rice paste, then see how he goes.

Hi CHH,
Actually I'm not frustrated with her, just feel xin tong that she is not drinking well. In addition, my BF ss is getting lesser and lesser and sometimes I really pump hard for the milk. So kind of like demoralise liao. Really hope I can give her the best for the first 6 months. During day time my mum says she drinks about 120ml. ie 4 feeds at 120ml and 2 feeds about 70ml. Total 620ml per day.

By the way, my girl is coming to 3 months liao. She weights around 4.5kg. Is that healthy? Is there any thing else beside milk that I can give her?

CHH, ya, as I've mentioned the physician has told me that not to be given to all babies, as some cannot take it, so that means it doesnt apply to all.
However, he has advised that it's better to be given ard 7-8 mths. He's a very well known physician in the Chinese medical field and being a Singaporean Chinese, I prefer to listen lor. Anyway, I'm only sharing e info I've gathered, as I tot it might benefit mothers here since most of us are asians
The decision to give or not at this age is still yours to make lor kekeke

missylan, my girl is born in late Jan... yours?

CG, it's not too bad liao, yr girl drinks 600+ per day, u know, my girl now also drinks only abt 500+ to 600+ per day(and I've to feed her whilst she's sleeping) , with juz a couple spoonfuls of cereal, she doesnt like to eat lor.
When she was having the 'growth spurt' at her 3 mths+, she could take up to 180ml per feed, so u can imagine my anxiety when her feed suddenly dropped to only 30ml each time we tried to feed her! However, as the PD said that it's common for babies to be like that after their 'growth spurt' period. So nowadays, I've learned to take it easy, as long as she's healthy, I'm ok liao...

mine mid Jan... Mine on 22nd. After the Malay holiday. I was admitted during the season... kekeke...

mum05,
Yeah, I understand. Sometimes better to believe. I guess mummies just have to see for themselves whether or not their babies suitable to take brown rice....
Also, mine can only take 500-600ml when he was about 5 months old. We got to feed every 2 hours of about 60-80ml each time...Very jiat lat... Mine also hates solids. Everytime can take 3 teaspoons already considered not bad.... hai.... We "tong ming xiang lian"... As what you say, as long as they healthy than try to take it easy lor....

CG,
Why dun you supplement your baby with some baby vitamins? It should be available in pharmacies... Last time when my boy refuse to drink, my pd intro me. I forgot what it's called liao... But the chemist should know.

Hi I am Elmo!
I chanced upon this website yesterday and was so relieved to know that I am not alone...having a baby who would not like to suck from the teat and drink milk.
My bb refused to take milk (bm, I pump out and feed via bottle since she was born) from the bottle. It started suddenly when she was in her 3rd month. She is now coming to 7 months and is still the same. The past 4 months were very traumatic for me and my hubby, We tried going to pds, lactaction consultants...and they all could not help. All told me that this is the first time they are seeing a baby who is unwilling to drink milk. My mum would say that I must be doing something wrong and that my bm is 'rotten'. All these made me feel very depressed. I changed different brands to bottles, teats but that did not help either.
My bb would only drink the milk when she is asleep. So bo bian....for the past 4 months my hubby and I have been rocking her to sleep and trying to feed her with milk while worried about her choking since she is asleep. On some occasions she would take 150ml and on other occasions 10ml. We struggled a lot to get around 500ml-600ml in her daily. A couple of times I broke down crying as she refused to sleep after 1-2 hrs of rocking and I am unable to feed her. Her weight gain is low...in the 25 percentile.

Bring her out is difficult as she would not feed outside and we normally spend about 1hr ouside only. As such she is pretty shy with strangers. It can be quite exhausting bringing her out as we have to rush back to rock her to sleep and feed her.

Now that she can take cereal, it is much better. She is ok with cereal though gets difficult to feed after a few spoonfuls but at least I can feed her while she is awake and hungry. She has been displaying the puke motion about a week ago and do puke when we feed her with something she does not like. I tried to spoonfeed her with bm but it takes too long and she gets impatient and refuse the spoon after a few minutes.

I am trying to get her to drink from a cup but have not had much success as the cups require her to suck and she is not willing to do that. Still trying...any good cups to recommend? Hopefully one day she will take from a cup.........

Hi mons,

Wonder my experience will help.

When my boy was about three months old, he refused to drink milk when I fed him every two-hourly. He would cry, choke and kick when I put him to my breast.

Later, I decided to switch to three hourly and he was fine. I finally realised that my boy was not hungry in the past when I fed him every two hours and that was why he refused to drink.

As I was so worried abt my milk supply then, I did all sort of things to increase supply. However contrary to my own belief, I had too much milk instead which ended up making my boy choke due to the rapid letdown.

Mabbe, can feed your baby later when he/she was really hungry. Don't go by schedule but by his/ her cries.

elmo:
hi hi dont despair... i was a baby who refused milk too... and well lets just say i grew up fine.

my mum told me that 1)i didnt like milk from birth 2) didnt like the bottle either. so when she fed me, i would be screaming my lungs out... like 10 houses down the estate can hear kind. after she managed like 50-ml with the spoon, i would throw up the milk that i had drank. feeding me was a nightmare.

by 1.5 months, i was already taking those heinz bottled baby food.

point to note:
my friend's girl ...she is like 2.5 yrs old now. she also likes to drink when she is sleeping and now she has to get her 2 front teeth extracted because of tooth decay. .. apparently from the suckling of bottle when she is sleeping.

Hi Elmo,
I can totally understand how you feel.... If you had read my previous postings, my son is exactly the same as your girl. He is also 7.5months now and has been drinking asleep eversince 3.5 months. As what you said, everytime we had to rock him to sleep every 2 hours so that he can drink. Sometimes, it takes us more than 1 hour for him to drink. The worse case is at night, when he wakes up very easily. So it can take us 1.5hours of rocking, putting him to feeding position, woken up when put down, and all over again. And cannot even get any milk in. And the going out problem too... Very stressful. Have to rush home every 1-2 hours because it's feeding time. I totally emphathise with what you are going through.

So dun despair. There are other mummies out there also facing the same problem. Although there are no really constructive solutions I can give you, but at least there is support here. What I did for my boy was to add in brown rice cereal into his milk feeds. At least he got some additional nutrients into him. His weight gain quite ok after I did that.

Elmo,
By the way, you can try to upgrade the teat to a slightly bigger hole? I had been using the 's' size pigeon teat all the way till he is 6 monhts old. Then one day, I decide to let him try to bigger M teat when I started adding in some brown rice cereal into his milk feed. And he actually drank faster and more milk goes in. But of course, must monitor. If baby chokes, then got to switch back to the smaller size one. Initially, he does choke a little. But after which he seems to get use to it and suck better a few days later.

Elmo, how do you calculate percentile? My girl now 3 months also drink very little. usually about 620ml per day. Feeding her is like nightmare cos have to coax her to drink and she can take an hour to drink.

I am getting so frustrated!! I am having great difficulty feeding the morning and night feed for my boy. he is starting to wake up so easily whenever I pick him up from the bed to put into feeding position. And these 2 days, I have not been able to feed him at all for the morning feed as he woke up. Tried to put the teat in when he was awake. He just played with the teat, and did not suck. I guess he had forgotten how to suck it or he just do not like to suck the teat. Tried cup feeding, ended up in a big mess and an impatient little fella.

Hai... I think the time has come that he doesn't require so much napping in the day. And he is not sleepy enough in the morning to sleep through the feed. Die lah, like this he will be missing 120-150ml of milk, which I can't replace with solids because he doesn't like to eat solids too.

Any mummies here who succeed to convert their babies from drinking asleep back to feeding when they are awake? And if yes, how? I am thinking of trying to feed my boy when he is awake. My mum says they will drink eventually when they are hungry. So does that mean I let him be until he is so hungry that he just sucks? But last time when the problem started (he was 3.5months), he can 'tong' 6-7 hours on just 50ml of milk leh, and still refuse to drink unless he is asleep... Hmmm???? Any suggestions?

Hi Chihuahua

I hope you still remember me, we were sharing about this problem about 2 mths back. My 2 boys are about 7.5 mths now and (keeping my fingers crossed) have gotten over the days when they refused their milk. I no longer have to feed them while they sleep and they are back to the routine of at least 150ml every 3-4 hours, 5-6 times a day.

However, I have not really started them on solids yet as they were 6 weeks premature.

Like what your mom suggested, I eventually left the problem alone, only fed them when they were hungry and letting them drink whatever they thought they needed, the longest record was 60ml for 8 hrs.

Also, they did not like to be cradled during feeding times once they reached 3 months so now we prop them up on their pillows. Have you also tired figuring out whether he likes his milk hot or cold? Mine like theirs hot so they will spit out the teats once the milk becomes too cold for them. Fussy pots!

You may want to try these out for a week and see how it goes.

oh ya K&Y, I also realised recently that my girl sorta prefers her milk warmer...

hi mums, brought my girl for her 3rd dose of 5-in-1 yesterday(delayed for 2 wks as she caught the flu/cough virus from me! :p) then the PD said that her weight gain is not very satisfactory as compared to the last few months. Though it's stil within the 50-75 percentile, she said I have to give her more cereal, haiz.
She then gave me some cereal sample packs and also a tin of Follow-On Formula.
She told me that I can change to Follow On Formula now, don't hv to really wait till she's 6 mths old. She said that FO usually taste better and that might encourage her to drink more.

I told her that I've read from somewhere that Infant Formula is very nurtritious and the website contents actually advise us to give it to our babies for as long as possible.

When The PD heard this , she said the same thing as my gynae : Don't trust/listen/read into everything too much from such website contents. She said that FO is very nutritious and that babies need different group of nutrients at different stage. So, we should give them what they need appropriately.
FO contains more Nucleotides which is very good for overall growth and development, so it'll be good if I can start her now on it. She went on to say that even breast milk will 'change' in its contents too according to the baby's age, so the mother will also hv to take care of what she eat to provide adequately for the child.

So, I think I shall start her on FO once we finish this current tin lor(anyway, not too long to her being 6 mths old also lah ahahhahah).

mum05, I was given a free FO milk. My ped advice to mix scoop of 0-6mths and scoop of FO...

Going to feed him his FO this week, see how he goes. Anyway, I think FM/BM is very nutrious than solid. Babies will be more chubby. Dunno am I right?

missylan,
Hmm...i tink it depends o lor..for my boi's case, i feel dat he becomes chubbier now dat he's on more solid feeds. The initial stage of solid feeding, he lost some wt though.

CHH,
Well, i tried feeding my boi when he's awake but he's still the same. Mouth refused to open n he'll crawl away. U started ur bb on porridge? Mine dun fancy cereal so he takes porridge most of the time.

missylan, i think tat's another wrong perception lor(no offence ar hehehe) cos after talking to the PD, i think we're all toooo involved with the info we've extracted from the internet.
Hmmmm, can't really say that only milk is nutritious as we all, especially bbs, need different kind of food as they contain different source of nutrients. Thus, as they grow, we have to give them what they need according to their growing age/health. As for BM, our food intake must be careful and must be made up of the proper nutrient components, if not, i think FM wld not be a bad choice, cos at least we can be sure that the nutrients are adequately prepared liao.
btw, can u accept PM here?

I just get to know this website today and notice that there are moms facing the same problem as what i face new months ago when my boy around 4 months old. So would like to share my experience with you all, hopefully it might help.

My boy once refuse to drink milk too and we tried changing different brand of milk powder, using different type of bottle and teat, adding cereal to the milk, etc. And all this didn't really help, he still refuse to suck.

End up i tried spoon feed and he drink when spoon feed. Although it's a mess when spoon feed but at least he did drink.

Then my babysitter suggested how about enlarge the teat hole, seem like my boy lazy to suck from the bottle. So i went to buy the hole puncher and enlarge the milk bottle teat. Since after i enlarge the teat hole, my boy start drinking back milk from the bottle.

My boy really lazy to suck from the bottle, he will let the milk flow down by it self and just swollow the milk.

I'm using Avent bottle and i modify the teat by punching 3 large hole and 2 medium hole (using the puncher)

And he will prefers the milk warmer too :)

Fuimin,
You use hole puncher to enlarge the teat? I am really puzzled...what kind of hole puncher u are referring to and where did u get it?

Also, if the hole is too big and the bb not sucking, wont the milk flow n leak out.

Hi Chihuahua,

my son also drinks milk only when he is abt to fall asleep. He is 3.5months now. He started to refuse bottles when he was abt 2.5months old. I tried changing teats and finally settled on NUK. I have tried so many methods of feeding him and finally realised that the best way to feed is while he is falling asleep!!

I understand your frustrations and I am losing my patience now. Usually he takes an hr to finish his milk...he will drink half and then sleep. Have to find opportunity to push the teat into his mouth and get him to suckle while sleep. On rare occasions, he will finish his milk within 15mins. His weight gain is very little for the past month. I am worried and brought him to PD. PD did a check and said he is not ill and asked me to try feeding him more. I wonder how to feed him more when he simply refuse to drink milk when awake. Another problem is I realised that he seldom crys for milk. I wonder if he is ever hungry so we feed him every 3-4hrs even though he doesn't cry for milk. He is with nanny during daytime and nanny also have a hard time feeding him.

May I know when did your son starts having this problem and what leads to this? My son is on TBF now. It is very tiring for me to take an hr to feed him and also expressing milk during mid nite and the morning rush hours. I do think of giving up BF and feed him with formula instead...but many people told me to perserve as BM is still the best...

How old is your son now and for how many months has this been going on? I certainly hope that this is only a passing phase and not a long term thing...

missylan, sent u a pm :p oh juz note from yr profile tat yr bridal shots were taken by Bats Production!, which photographer, Simon? I've worked with him before ^-^
Oh ya, I called e PD this morning and she told me that there is no medical reason why we must add in the infant formula to the FO, the only thing why they sometimes advised that is that some babies are very fussy abt the taste and they might not wanna take if the taste is completely different.
But if the brand of both the formulas are different, don't mix - This is also advised by my child's "original" PD who is of e pioneer batch of PDs(according to my girl's current PD).

kckc, the hole puncher if i'm not wrong is by the brand - Pigeon. I've been given one by my sis but not too long ago, I've also bought one(even better designed) for my gf. It comes with 3 teat hole sizes(from M - LL). However, I find that the hole which we punch ourselves using this puncher, is slightly smaller than the one on the original nipple we bought. So it might be a good idea to use them as a 'transitional' change.

tiger, dun be overly stressed out by the bf decision. most of us from this forum, including myself has also stopped bfg or giving bm at some point of time(though my bm flow was very good then). Don't let this give u too much stress. If u think u have to give him FM, then it's perfectly alright. FM is made up of all the goodies these days and u can be sure of e nutrients pressence, whereas for BM, unless we ourselves are taking in all the appropriate nutrients, then will the nutrients be adequately present - we're like e food processor mah hahha...these are things which the bf campaign didn't highlight rite?
Last time, they all said that BM is no good, then now they said it's good, so who knows when will the next thing be rite? Maybe u can give both lor, that might also relieve u abit rite?
One funny thing to share, someone I knew told me that she gave her child BM for 3 mths only cos she's thinking 'what if they found out later the BM not tat good afterall, then at least I can rest my mind that I've also given my child FM' ahhaha, she's really very funny but it does make sense, doesn't it.
Hey, juz take good care of yourself n dun be stressed out, so u can take good care of your child

Mum05, where do I go to buy the hole puncher? Easy to use or not?

Tigger, my bbs are also like yours, needs to sleep before drinking. And then after they're asleep, they fall so deeply asleep that they stop drinking. Also takes an hour to feed. One of my bbs also not gaining weight. Still at 3rd percentile
PD gave me some supplements to add to the EBM (called HMF powder, can get from KK pharmacy, but need prescription).

As for EBM, try to persevere as much as you can, but if you find yourself too tired, then give up pumping at night. At least you have some sanity, and bb still gets some EBM (sorry mum05, but I'm an advocate of BF)

As for whether it's a phase that they go thru, I really hope it is, tho it's been almost 3 months already for me. But littletwinstars (another mom on this thread) also had that prob but her twins are happily drinking their milk now. So keep your fingers crossed and hope for the best.

Dear ladies,
I tried 'cold turkey' for my baby today. I fed him the last feed at 1pm of 130ml (while sleeping), then keep trying to feed him when awake. No solids also. Just water. And guess what, he can refuse the bottle all the way to 9pm!!! And still refuse to suck. Push the bottle away and cry. Poor thing, I guess he must be hungry cause he was quite fussy the whole late afternoon and evening. So just now bo bian, gave in and fed him when he fell asleep. Hai.... I think the "babies will drink when they are hungry" theory is not relevant to my little boy. So got to revert back to the old routine of feeding when sleeping.

But I guess what I will do is to start feeding him more solids. He does not like solids and we have to entertain him in order for him to open his mouth. So that way, we normally can feed about 3 teaspoons of cereal in the morning. So I thought maybe can try to feed him some more cereal as lunch and eliminate the morning feed. But that will mean a big drop in milk intake.... so sad...

Tiger,
My boy has been having this problem ever since he was 3.5 months old. Till now already 4 months. I can understand why you are losing your patience. Infact, I have broken down several times and cry like no tomorrow. It's simply too stressful to have to rock him to asleep and all tensed up, worrying if he will take the milk. And my boy also takes very long to finish is milk. Well, I am still learning and trying all methods. So all I can say is try to relax lor (I am also trying too). According to my research, a lot of babies also dun like milk and drink very little. True they have quite a slow weight gain, but other than that, nothing drastically damaging to their health. So I guess we just try to "fatten" them up when they grow older. I guess by the time they are more than 1 year old, we can start offering them a variety of delicious foods and I dun believe they still dun eat! (eg. cheeseburgers???)

Hey melissa, don't worry abt being bf pro, I'm not against BF cos I also gave my girl BM initially! It's juz that I think we shld all highlight the bf mothers that dur bf, our food intake must be 'correct', otherwise, our children wont be getting the right nutrients as well, then pointless liao, get wat I mean. ^_^

As for the nipple hole puncher, it's not easy to find them these days lor(dunno why, no wonder alot of new mothers dunno abt this item) but it's very simple to use, dun worry. The last time I saw it and bought for my gf was at Kiddy Palace Bishan Branch, cost abt S$6+, U may like to try there.

CHH, very tiring hor, haiz... anyway, all mums facing this prob... JIA YOU!

I also need to Jia You liao, feeling very tired these days... :p

Hi ladies, thanks for your encouragement! Sometimes I wonder whether my BM is nutritious enuff. Didnt really watch my diet. Only recently I take more hi cal milk to increase my calcium intake.

I will try to relax lah. Really feeling very stressed. Have vent my frustration on my hubby a couple of times liao cos cannot vent it on baby. I hope I dun go into depression becos of this.

CHH, I guess most of us here can understand what u're gg thru. Around 3 mths ago, when the problem had persisted for 1 mth+, I also gave way and cried suddenly one nite whilst trying to feed her and u know wat, she juz stared at me with a puzzled look but still din wanna take anymore haiz...(Not that now she drinks well when awake, I still hv to feed her whilst sleeping haiz... n worse, I couldn't let her take her nap whenever she wants to, I have to try my best to keep her awake which is very tedious cos she gets very grouchy. But no choice, can't let her slp too early, or by the time I wanna feed her, she'll be awake liao)...

tiger, relax, don't be stressed ok, we hv all gone thru the same stage, hmmm in fact, still gg thru ahhahahah...

Take in more milk(take those which are meant for bfeeding/pregnant mums), cheese, etc, if u wanna bf... Maybe U can scroll back the earlier page to see what I've posted(extracted info) abt 'ideal diet for bfeeding mums'.

As for bb's feeds, I've learnt to take it easy liao. Initially I was very upset too, but as long as our child is healthy, don't worry and push yourself of yr child too much.
Hey, at least u get to vent on your hubby, not everyone gets to do that :p

Aiya tiger, make it easier for u, I've cut n paste it here for your easy reference :

Diet advice for B/Feeding women:
The best diet for a breast feeding woman is well-balanced and has plenty of calcium. This means you should eat fruits and vegetables, whole-grain cereals and breads, meats or beans, and milk and dairy foods like cheese. You'll need to get enough calories--about 500 MORE per day than usual--and you'll need to drink more fluids.

A balanced diet that includes 5 servings of milk or dairy products each day will give you enough calcium. Talk to your doctor about taking extra calcium if you don't think you're getting enough from your diet.
Important note : U must NOT be dieting during this period when you are breastfeeding.

mum05, thanks very much for the info. I am also worried that if I force him to drink, he will get traumatise by it

hi KC & Melissa,

The puncher that i bought is Farlin Nipple-Hole Puncher (it has 3 sizes of punching bar, S, M & L). But I can't really remember where did I get it from. If you are interested, may be you want to try to find it from either Kiddy Palace / Kidsmall / Robisson. Because these are the places where i get most of the baby stuff.

Tigger,
I think really dun force him, scully he doesn't even wanna drink when asleep. But should always try offering the bottle when he is awake with water or some diluted baby juices inside to encourage im to suck. Although my boy up till now still refuse to suck even when we put those liquid inside, but I think more or less it's no harm trying. But of course, if he screams or tries to push away the bottle, then take it away lor...

And I have also vent my frustration on poor hubby too... So now try to take things easy. Whenever baby doesn't wanna drink and hubby is around, then I will pass the task to him. Let him rock the baby to sleep and feed. I will go off to take a break or eat something to de-stress (that's why getting fatter).

mum05,
Yeah, I also cannot let my boy sleep whenever he likes. The worst thing is he dun sleep when it's time to feed, then very jiat lat. Now I am trying to heck care already. Just feed when he sleeps, regardless of the timing. And if timing stretch too long still never sleep, I feed solids (but he dun take much lah. At most 1/4 bowl of cereal). Better than nothing lor.

By the way, any mummies have problems feeding solids? My boy really dun like his food. Most of the times, will turn away or keep his mouth shut. Have to coax, play, force then will eat a little bit. I have been giving solids ever since 3.5 months ago, up till now still quite a struggle. Any advice???

CHH, ahhhha i'm also getting fatter, been eating alot too haahaha ya, de-stress mah :p

My girl also doesnt really like her cereals very much, but i'm still trying... she's juz learning to take from spoon also, make alot of noise lor haiz...

Ya tiger, dun force, juz take it easy, as long as yr child is healthy, dun worry too much. Btw, how old's yr child ar?

mum05 & CHH, he is 3.5mths now. I feel bad forcing him too. Really dun wan to let him think that whenever he sees mummy, it's force feed time. Realised that I dun spend enuff time with him during weekdays. In the morning, first thing I do is trying to feed him. Then will rush to express milk, bathe and get ready for work. When I return home, have to rush to sterilise bottles & pumps and then bathe and express milk again. After that, it's time to rock my son to sleep so that I can feed him. So where got time to play with him? Feel so frustrated that I dun spend quality time with him.

tigger88,
My son is having this problem, drink ard 100-120ml then will stop. Another 4-5hrs then drink the same amount, the most serious case is after 6hrs, he drank only 20ml. I was worried that he will slim down, frustrated and waiting for him to be hungry again. I remember asking him what time will U be hungry? LOL... But I understand from many mothers and ped, that we shouldn't force them drink if possible. Can I know whether he totally refused drinking? Will he refused milk more than 4hrs?

My son is coming to 6th mth, he is slightly better. 120ml per 5 hours and the remaining 60ml will be place in the fridge then warm it for him after 1hr+.

mum05,
Yup, Simon is my photographer for the studio shot. My actual day had 2 photographers, Simon and another assistant. He is a funny guy.

Think my son not fussy about the FO (Wyeth S26 Gold). It seems like he likes the FO maybe he has been drinking Infant milk, sian liao! Have you start on the solids?

missylan,
He refuses to drink when he is awake. When he is falling asleep, I will try to pull out the pacifier and replaces with the bottle. Sometimes it works, sometimes he knows that I am trying to push the teat into his mouth then he will cry. So have to try a couple of times before he start suckling. In the day time, his feeding is 4hrs interval. I am asking his nanny to try feeding him more in the day. Abt 140-170ml each time. But realised that for 4hrs interval, sometimes he only drinks 4-5 times daily so the total amount is not really much.

Last nite, his feeding shd be at 8pm plus. But he refuses to sleep so I cant feed him. By the time he feels sleepy and starting to fall asleep, it's abt 9pm. I try and try till abt 10pm then was able to make him drink. He drank abt 90ml and slept liao so cant force anymore.

What is your son's daily milk intake now? I am also worried abt his weight gain. Whenever I weigh him, I will feel stressed.

Hi Mommies

Is there a guide about how much milk babies are supposed to take daily according to their age group?

How do you judge whether it's enough?

Tigger,
Hai....same sad story. My son also feeding every 4-5 hours. Each time the intake varies. Sometimes can take 185ml, sometimes 120ml. Everyday also about 5 feeds. Hence total intake about 720-750ml. But as long as he can drink at least 720ml everyday, I very happy already. Last time he drink only 600ml everyday. Somemore got to feed every 2 hours! Can feed 10 times a day! Can imagine how tired I am after all the feeding.
And got to keep trying for the night feed, coz he very sleepy and will cry once we pick him up to feed. Sometimes lucky take 20min, else can take 1.5 hours!

Re. milk intake:
I read from somewhere that babies who are starting on solids will need lesser milk. But the exact anount varies from baby to baby. On the average, I think for a 6 month old and above baby who are on at least 2 solid meals a day, 720-800ml of milk should be the amount.