Any 2009 mummies living in Punggol

Hi Smile, Kids kingdom hv not got back to me leh....haiz..... but bright kids already asking if my gal was to continue, so i juz accept first la, in case can't get a plc in kids kingdom.

hi m3dp, i should be moving 2nd half of next yr. Oh we went down to peekapoo today but like u say lor quite small and a LOT of ppl inside. In the end my hubby say don't go in liao cos too pack so we went for a walk round the mall.

hi bluzcorner, yes better chop a place at bright kids first. I've read that more and more ppl looking for childcare but all full so aiyoo BIG head..

Hi Smile, Mayb u can bring ur son to downtown east explorer kids. To me, it's kind of ex haha but it's really big.

Btw, does any mummies here experience their kids waking up crying/screaming in the middle of the night?? My boy has been waking up screaming n crying for at least 30mins n nothing can comfort him for the past few nights. Quite worried if it continues haiz..

hi m3dp, hee hee we brought our boy to explorer kids at downtown east already, yep it's big and ex. Not bad especially the OSIM massage leg and back hahahahahahha. Yes it's ex. We went there only when we hv tickets or promo hee hee. About your boy screaming and crying at night, perhaps he is teething? If not it will be nightmare.

Hi Smile, I also planning to bring them there when they hv promo hehe the last round was so many yrs bk only with my girl.. haha
We guess he is teething too cos his gums are swollen but "bonjela" also can't save him le.. so we wonder if it could be something else.. not sure if its nightmare,hopefully its not... haiz hopefully he will stop screaming n crying soon..

Hi Ladies! I'm in Penang now for biz trip. Miss my gal n hubby......but will be back tomolo nite!

Hi M3DP, my gal sometimes oso woke up in d middle of d nite crying. I think is teething, then i gave her pacifier lor, at least got something for her to chew. Sometimes works n sometimes dun..... i can understand is quite worrying cos we do not really noe why they cry. But ur boy gets better.

Hi Smile, d explorer kids ex ar? how much is dat?

Btw, any of u all bring ur kids to kindermusik? My bro keeps recommending, but i duno whether tis is really necessary?

Hi cheekygal, welcome welcome. I dun tink any of us here is sending their kids to bridges monte. U enrol there already?

Hi M3dp, I plan to bring my kids to Polliwogs too!
Think your boy most likely teething his molars...happened to both my kids when they teething molars, think very painful cos really nothing much we can do except to carry and comfort them. But hor, my boy cried in his sleep almost every night during the 7th month.....

Hi Miffy, good good...do share your views after you have visited Dayspring!

Hi Smile, good to know that your boy enjoys himself at CC!

Hi Bluzcorner, maybe you can bring your gal for their trial and see if she likes anot? I only plan to send my kids for enrichment when they are around 3 to 4 years old.....
Hi Cheekygal,
kao_welcome.gif

Hi bluzcorner, my boy don't take pacifier that's y very hard to comfort him.. C him like that very heartache also.. Haiz he already screamed twice since he fell aslp at 11pm..only hope he will slp thru the nite n gets better each day..

Hi Ling, I'm bringing them to polliwogs next Friday.. Wanna go together?? Haha
My son gums are sore so poor thing.. Haiz
My kids don't hv that prob during 7th month but I try not to bring them out too late (to play safe haha) But I think if u r not superstitious then don't think abt it too much to scare urself.

Hi Bluzcorner, this are the fees http://www.explorerkid.com/club/club.aspxu may want to check it out. I have brought my boy to kindermusilk before, that was when he was about 11 to 12 month. We attended teacher Angle's class, she is very very good. But i didn't let my boy to continue due to high school fee since am not working. Otherwise, it's really great fun. My boy loves music, even until now i still sing those songs that he learnt from kindermusilk, he can still remember hahaha.. Well each child is different, no harm let your gal try and see if she likes it. Somtimes good things also have to depends on our darling, see if they likes it

Hi Ling, thanks. hee hee, he seems to be adapting well (cross my fingers)

Hello Mummies, so happy to found this thread. My gal born in Jan'09. Please to meet u ladies

Hello Ling, dunno whether u still remb me? I bought some pants from you recently and ask abt Mind Stretcher. I rec a reqt frm u but dunno what is it, so didn't reply you. May i know what is it? Something like facebook?

Wunderkids - Called the teacher Ms Hanna this morning. Now there are total of 8 - 9 kids, and still need at least 4 kids to start playgroup class next year Jan. Anyone interested to let your kids join Wunderkids?

hi smile, i didn't manage to bring my girl to Go-Go Bambini as she woke up late from her nap and it closed at 6pm. ok, maybe will bring her to Fidgets instead.

hi m3dp, same thing happened to my girl 3-4 times when she's younger. she kept crying in her sleep and i tried to carry her but she didn't want. nothing can comfort her. my hb and i could only watch her cry, we felt so helpless. now she's older, it only happened once and that time, i coaxed her with food and she managed to stop crying. for my girl's case, she's not teething, so i guess she's having nightmares

hi bluzcorner, ya maybe can bring your girl for a trial lesson at kindermusilk and see if she likes it.

my girl is attending wkend class at GUG. initially she seems to enjoy it but after 2 terms, she seems bored, sigh.

hi ling76, welcome to the thread! my girl also born in jan.

i'm interested in wunderkind but i have to work 3 times a week, so i can't bring her to the class.

Hi Miffy, yah we also feel very helpless seeing him screaming n crying but think most likely he is teething bah cos the timing of screaming is very near every night.. Hope it's over soon.. Haiz

Hi Ling76, welcome!! R u working or SAHM?? I'm the 8 in the name list in wunderkind haha but the timing of the class is yet to be fix and most likely it's not going to be 12-130pm.. So I'll only decide when the timing is fix.

Hi M3DP, Thanks. I'm working and both my kids are being looked after by my nanny at Blk 160+ (behind the bus-stop).
Are you the mummy who went to visit Wunderkids last Wednesday? I called Teacher Hanna last wednesday and she said she is expecting a mummy visiting the centre. And if she confirm, she is no.8
The last time i went to Wunderkids, Teacher Hanna said the timing might be 1.45-3.15pm for next year onwards. I'm hoping they will find enough students so can start the class next year Jan.

Hi Ling76, yah I'm the mummy!! Haha I did mentioned to her if the timing clashes with my boy's nap time, most likely I will not enroll him le.. She told me she will get the management to fix the time soon as already hv 8 kids and she will inform all of us in the list to let us decide. How old r ur 2 kids??

Hi M3DP, my elder boy is 5 yrs old and studying at PAP (behind Punggol Plaza). Both my nanny and me feel that this PAP is not good. My nanny also heard complaints from other mummies whose kids are studying there.

My girl is 21 mths now, almost 2 yrs. So looking for playgroup class for her. Checked Montessori at Punggol Plaza 4th floor and was shocked after seeing their school fee. They charge almost $1.2K for a term. Checked with Dayspring but they only accept from 3 yrs and above. So left with Wunderkids. And since Wunderkids only have classes till K1, think I will transfer my girl to Dayspring after 4 yrs old.

Hi M3dp, same lah...my boy also dun like pacifier so hard to comfort too! Actually I always try not to bring my kids out during 7th month except to visit in-laws and my parents. Hee...replied to your email on Polliwogs!

Hi Ling76,
kao_welcome.gif
Nice to see you here!
Yes yes, I remember you! You bought training pants from me and request to send to your office!
So your boy attends Mindstretcher's phonics class now? Hee...want put my boy with Wunderkind too, his name is no. 4 on the list! Hopefully the timing does not clash with his nap time and they able to start in Jan. Otherwise, will enroll him with Dayspring when he is 3 since my gal will be starting in Jan. Btw, I did not send you any request leh...think might be spam, really sorry about it!

Hi Ling0, Yes my boy managing to get a place for the phonics class at Mindstretcher. He has started class since August'10. Compare to the phonics class he used to attend at RC, I think Mindstretcher is better.

Your gal starting class at Dayspring next year? May I know roughly when do they start the registration? I also wanted to let my girl study at Dayspring instead at PAP when she is 3 or 4 yrs old. Maybe she will be classmates with all the kids here

Wow, the spam thing is very horrible. The email request has actually the same email address as your. But it also look weird. Thanks for letting me know

hi ling76, i'm currently a sahm but gg to start work ard nov. my mum will be helping me to take care of my girl when i work.

the wunderkind's timing is rather late. i thought preschool classes usually start in the morning and end by noon?

btw, i received a leaflet about a new indoor playground called bouncing kids. its at the bus interchange near to kovan mrt. anyone been there yet?

Wow! Looks like all of you is having much fun.

Feel like bring my gal to 1 of these place too.
Will get my hubby to accompany her as I'm preggie now may not be convinience :p

Hi ladies, wow seems there's more n more mummies joining us now! Welcome welcome!

Hi Smile, ya, i think d fees r high. But quite tempted to try out, now sees whether my hubby wants or not.The first thing he complains is the location...haha....

Hi Ling, saw ur reply.. We can arrange another timing!!

Hi Ling76, Mayb u might wan to switch him to another kindergarten next yr cos k2 is quite important as the school plays a part to help to prepare the kids to P1. If it's so terrible, ur son might suffer as they din prepare him well enough for P1.

Hi Miffy, nv heard of that playground wor.. Mayb later shall do some research and explore since so near haha

Hi Ling76, good to know that your boy managed to get a place in Mindstretcher!
Yes, my gal starting pre-nursery with Dayspring next year Jan! This year they started the registration on 1st July, not sure if next year still the same anot. Yes yes, hope our kids can be classmates! Really sorry, think I have received similar spam mails for both my gmail and hotmail too!

Hi Miffy, yah lor...find Wunderkind's timing abit late...for Dayspring their last session ends around 2.20pm. Btw, I received the Bouncing Kids leaflet too and hubby suggest that we bring the kids there next week!

Hi Ophelia, you are in your 4th or 5th month liao? So know boy or girl yet?

Hi M3dp, yes yes, we shall arrange again!

Hi Miffy, does you mum stay near Wunderkids? Maybe she can bring your girl there?

I hope Wunderkids can change their timing too cos my girl nap around 12 - 2pm. If not have to retrain her napping time.

Hi M3DP, actually both me and hubby are abit lost about my son education now. My son is not really that 'quick' in studies type. That what we heard from his school teacher and weekend enrichment teachers. He takes time to understand certain things. At first, we wanted him to study at MeeToh or Edgedale Pri when he is Pri 1. But we also scared he can't manage the stress from these 2 schools. So we decide maybe go Horizon or Greendale which might not be as competitive as MeeToh and Edgedale. So we might still let him study in PAP for K2.

Hi Ling0, no need to feel sorry lah. It's not your fault. Just that nowsdays spam is so advance and scary. Anytime can kenna virus

New indoor playground at Kovan - I didn't receive any leaflet around my place. May i have the address please? Would like to bring my kids there since it's nearer to Punggol and just a few stops of mrt stations away. And playground is always a good place to tire the kids out so when they are home, they can sleep

Hi Ling,

I'm in my 19th weeks now, gynae still can't determine the gender on my last visit. I'm going for a detail scan 25th this month, hopefully can see liao.

wooow!!! Hi Ling76 nice to have u here!!! Soo happy to see more mummies joining us and soo much to catch up.. COOL!! new indoor playground, shall go and check it out.. Just a little intro I'm a SAHM still staying in Jurong but will be moving over to Punggol next year, boy born in march'09, am a new first time mummy. Very happy to know mummies from Punggol and find out more about Punggol. I have registered my boy with Kids Kingdom Childcare hee hee.

Btw, as i've mentioned am quite new to punggol and you have mentioned that Mee Toh & Edgedale Pri are quite competitive, which means they are so call quite a good school in Punggol ya. The problem is, there seems to be very little primary school in punggol hohohoho. I hope by the time my boy goes to Pri, will have more pri schools coming up.

Hi Bluzcorner, yess tempted leh..hahaha, go for the trial first lor and sees how is it. Ya the location is a killer but since u are staying in Punggol now still not so bad bah. Imagine we travel from Jurong *hair stand* hahaha

Hi Ling76, personally I feel that kids will still feel the stress when they join P1 regardless which school cos its different environment from Kindergarten and everything is different. As Meetoh & Edgedale Pri are older especially Meetoh, definitely much more competitive as compare to Greendale & Horizon due to their past results. My girl didn't manage to get a place in Meetoh, and now she is in Greendale, she still feel stress abt her school work as her classmates are comparing and competing for good results. Guess afterall, the stress still come from us parents haha cos we are so KS abt their school work. Y not try transferring your boy to other PAP like 172 or 174? Maybe better?

Hi Smile, Thanks and Welcome to 'wu lu' Punggol

Hi M3DP, I think both my hubby and I are still living in the past, need to update more now
We always have the mentality that as long as it is normal neighbourhood school, then it will not be stressful. Just like when we were young. Guess it's not in this case now. I can't even imagine P1 students are comparing and competing for grades. Must be very stressful

I can't transfer my boy to other PAP cos it will be very inconvenience for my nanny to fetch him. Especially when it rain and she need to bring my girl along to fetch my boy. That why we are sticking to his current school.
Actually the funny thing happen over the weekend which made me think whether is the school not good or we (my hubby, nanny and me) don't like the teacher. When my son is young, he only know how to speak mandrain. He doesn't know how to speak a full sentence in English. But now he can speak in both languages which amaze some of my friends and neighbours cos their kids can only speak in english. So I guess maybe PAP is not that bad bah
Maybe when my son is in K2 and not under the same teacher, maybe I would not complain much anymore
Haha.. that what i think and hopefully

Hi Ling76, haha nowadays kids r very stressful cos of the education standard in sg.. Very scary.. I rem there's once when my girl was in P1, she came home telling me she was sad cos she lost to her frds when they r playing spelling games. I was shocked cos during that time my mentality was P1 will just run ard hv fun but my girl n her frds r playing games related to school work. Since then my girl will compare her marks with her frds. I believe all schools r the same stress. The only prob with new school is there's alot of new n young teachers n they r "inexperience" compare to those older teachers in matured schools. Mayb ur boy did learn alot at PAP but u din realise.
dun worry too much if next yr 1st term still no gd, still hv time to look for enrichment class to prepare him to P1.

Actually I think parents r more kiasu compared to parents in the past bah. So tis kaisuness is passed down to the kids. Then we parents scare our kids lose out to others. I hv dat feelings as well. Now scare my gal nv learn tis or dat althou she is only juz 13mths old. Haiz.....but now really too competitive la. My bro is a typical kiasu type as if want to groom her gal to be d next PM like dat. Haha...

Hi M3DP, told my hubby and he was shocked. Haha..
I remember my hubby always said our son need more childhood, need to play more instead of study more. Guess this concept need to change now

Hi bluzcorner, I sometimes have that feelings too whenever I saw some kids can do these or that, and my son still can't. I enrolled my son to zoophonics for weekend class when he is around 3 yrs old. After almost a yr, he still can't really speak proper english, although his classmates are already talking fluently in english. So we stopped zoophonics. Now he can speak both english and mandrain, although not that perfect (my english also not that good too
) but i think pretty good for us now. Just hope he can cope as he go higher

Marina Barrage - Went there over the weekend. It's quite fun for the kids, can fly kite and play with water. Not very crowded too. Can try it out if nothing to do over the weekend

Indoor playground at Kovan - Has anyone been there? Is it nice?

hi ling76, my mum stays in sengkang and she has to take care of my niece too. she will not be able to help me bring my girl to wunderkind

the education standard now is much higher than my generation. i remember when i was in P1, i was still learning to spell apple, pear, etc. but now nursery and kindergarten levels are doing that. i can't even answer some P3 and P4 maths and science questions. i told my hb next time have to hire tutor to coach my girl.

i have seen nan chiau & chij spelling tests, they are harder than schools like northspring and rivervale. so i guess if compared mee toh to horizon and greendale, mee toh definitively will be more stressful for the child. i'm not sure abt edgefield but heard its PSLE results are better than mee toh, so maybe as stressful.

hi mummies,we r living in punggol central n my boy 16 months.happy to meet all mummies in here
searching childcare for my boy for next yr when he reach 2 yo.will bring him to julia gabriel edu center before 2yo.

Hi Jess, Welcome!!

I also very kiasu one.. When my girl was 3 I sent her to alot of classes too.. My hubby was the one keep reminding me she needs some childhood haha I "let go" abit after I realize she is too young to rem the stuff she learned haha
I too very shocked with the things they learned now.. It's like 2 to 3 levels higher than what we learned last time.. Very scary.. No choice have to spend more on tuition to help out.. Next yr my girl P3 le, super worry she can't cope with the added science.. Sometimes think, dunno is I stress her too much or school stress her.. Haha

Hi Jess, Welcome. Which blk are you staying at Punggol central? 600+ or 160+? Me staying ard 600+

Hi M3DP, P3 have science class now? Thought is P4??

After some experience with my boy, hubby and I decided to let our girl enjoy her childhood for now. Maybe will let her start her 1st phonics enrichment class when she turns 3.5yrs old since Mindstretcher foundation phonics class age limit is from 3.5yrs old. Haha.. she has not yet reach 2 yrs old and I'm planning for her 3.5yrs old enrichment class liow. Kiasu kiasu Haha

hi ling,we r staying blk 100+.maybe our punggol mummies can orgnize some program for all kids play n learnt together.play n learn.

Hi Ling76, yes now P3 starts science.. I also tot it's P4.. Haha for her P1 & 2 I teach her homework in cold sweat cos the standard is like wow n the way school teaches them is so different from the way I learnt last time so I tend to worry i teach the wrong stuff haha I told my hubby I give up next yr leave to tuition centre to do the job better at least I stress them on the result not myself hehe

welcome jess ma!!!

i shall declare that i am a Kiasu mum thou my boy is just 18+mth hahaha but then it's proven it works. However, i also believe that different child has their own pace of learning. Me quite KS, flip card to my boy since he was only 3 month and he watches "your baby can read" since he was 4 month (when he can sit). Daddy always say "aiyah no use one lah"...it's true my boy doesn't like flip card BUT he love learning frm the TV though i only allow 30 mins TV time. Guess what he can recorgnise the words when he was just 15 month, both my hubby and i were shock, he can read hahaha.

Having said that, since he show his ability, i think i can't help but maybe i will be even more KS especially as he grow older ooppss hahahah of cos, we will always give him all his play time..boys being boys..

Hi Smile, I have a friend who gave thumb up to "Baby can read". Just like your boy, her son can recongise words very early. But it didn't work for both my kids. They were either walking around or playing their toys when I played the CD. The only time they raised their head to watch the video is during song time. But their eyes will glue to the TV when watching Numberjack, Kerrwhiz and Mister Maker from Ceebeeies. Told my hubby save $$, no need to buy anymore CD

Hi M3DP, Agreed with you. Told my hubby start tution from P1 for my boy. No need to stress ourselves, stress the tutor. No stress = less winkles ;) Haha...

hi smile and ling76, where can i buy the "your baby can read" dvds? haha, guess i'm KS too.

anyone got reliable part-time cleaning auntie to recommend? i'm having a headache with the current one and planning to replace her.

Hi Miffy, you can buy at Popular or Kiddy palace. I have given my set to my SIL, if not can lend you. Paisay.

My friend and her sisters families are using this auntie called Auntie Meimei. They all comment her very good but her schedule is super packed. Her hp is 91613209. I haven't manage to book her before, hope you can

Hi miffy, you can also get it from the departmental store like Robinson, Takashimaya, Isetan etc. They might have sales. If you visit the Scotts Isetan at shaw, they play it near the cashier (near to baby room). You can try to show it to your girl heehee.

Hi Ling76, yep each child is just so special and different

hi smile, thanks. i will try finding the dvds at popular and kiddy palace first as its nearer.

hi ling76, thanks. i will call auntie meimei and see if i have the luck to book her.

hi mummies, just a little wonder...why is it that Dayspring Kindergarden is so good ley? Understand it's long waiting list and almost most of Punggol mummy wants to send their kids there. It's only a 3 hour session right? If compare to Kindergarden from a full day session / childcare won't they have more time in school and learn more? Of cos cirriculum plays a part..ummm

hee hee just a little question in my mind

hi, i got the "your baby can read" dvds from popular. i played for my girl to watch just now. at first, she seems interested but about half way through the video, she turned away and played with her toys instead...

hi ling76, i called auntie meimei and she's fully booked

hi smile, for dayspring, i read from other forums the parents commenting their children look forward to going to school each day and are happy in school. in addition, with the foundation they have built up in dayspring, they are able to cope well in primary sch. so i guess maybe that's why its popular with the parents in punggol. & why i'm seriously considering sending my girl there, haha.