Any 2009 mummies living in Punggol

Hi Miffy,

My gal is at Punggol end - 24th Ave. For pre-nursery, Dayspring had arranged for the children to start on different days when school re-opened in Jan. I was there during the 1st 2 days, some kids will cry non-stop but think the teachers were patient and handled quite well. Was glad that my gal did not cry and enjoys taking the school bus.

Heard that Learning Vision is good but not too sure about Punggol Branch. Go take a look at the childcare you have shortlisted then decide, no rush since your maid is coming soon right?

Hi Ling0,
Any mosquito problem there? I'm rather concerned as my girl has sensitive skin and the bites left marks on her skin.

My maid's coming next mth but no actual date yet. I'm keen to let my girl attends school so that she can get to socialise. She's very shy when there's a crowd. And I hope she can learn to be more independent and not cling to me so much. Anyway, I called Kids Kingdom to check and now then the admin informed me there's a very slim chance for my girl to get in even for next yr. Learning vision is full and there's no half-day. Anyway, see if my girl will like Kinderland. If not, I will just wait till May to bring her to Dayspring to have a look.

Hi Miffy,

Sorry for late reply, I'm sick since last week and haven't fully recover yet.

So far no problem for my gal, she has not gotten any mosquito bites from school (*touch wood!*). But I saw the teachers sprayed insect repellent for them before going outdoor when I was there.

Have you visited Kinderland? How is it? If your gal likes, can start soon before No. 2 arrives. Though my gal did not cry when going to school, she is still clingy and both my kids will fight for attention! Think kids this age are very clingy bah!

How are all of you??
Very busy lately.. just manage to log in this morning....

Hi ophelia,

Sorry, unable to provide you the amount for JG...
If not wrong its between $400 to $500....

Hi Miffy,

Noted. Thanks for the info....

Hi KyMi,
U are welcome

Hi Ling0,
Hope you are feeling better, do take care!

How's the class size for Dayspring? Sorry like keep asking u questions :p

I'm visiting Kinderland this saturday when my hubby's free.

Today, my girl told me she wants to go to school. And she said school bus. So I asked her "u wanna take school bus to school huh?" She nodded. Then I asked her "what colour uniform u wanna wear?" And she answered "red." I kinda expected it but when I heard her said "red", I felt so bad cos' my niece's uniform is red and white and I think she wants to go to the same school as my niece. But with a maid coming and CM's going to increase the fees in May, I can't afford to send her to CM with my niece. If only I'm a working mum......sigh!

Hi Miffy,

Thanks! I'm feeling better but still haven't fully recover...haiz...hate to be sick especially with kids around.

Hee...no worries lah, we are all here to share share info!
My gal's class has got 10 (3 boys, 7 girls). Think under MOE's guideline, pre-nursery can't take in more than 12 kids.

Good good, do share with us after you have visited Kinderland! I can understand how you feel! Sometimes I wish that I'm a working mum too, so that we can provide more for the kids. 1 income and 2 incomes make so much difference!

Hello all mommies~~

Wow it has been a long long time I've log into SMH.

Hope everyone has been fine.

Congrats to all the mommies expecting new bbs.

Have a great weekend!

Hi Ling,
Pls take care and u can try taking vitamin C to speed up ur recovery. I've been taking it after suggestion from a friend and find that it helps me to recover faster from flu & colds.

I took my girl to Kinderland today. I like that the CC has its own mini playground and a new sand & water play area is going to be set up. But the classroom is not air-conditioned which I wonder if it will be too warm & stuffy on a hot day. There's 3-4 fans in the classroom but only 1 fan is on.

Anyway, I'm still a bit hesitant to send my girl to CC but my hubby said to go ahead and if it doesn't work, then we would wait till my girl's 3 yrs old and send her to Dayspring.

Hi M3DP,
How've u been? Have a great wkend too!

Hi Miffy,

I've been fine, busy with some stuff and my kids.. especially with my girl as she is in P3 this yr, with new added subject (Science) and tons of activities, helping her cope with all the new load..

Hi Ling,
Miffy is right, u can try taking Vit C, it helps on flu especially.
Do take good care

Hi Miffy,
Thanks for the suggestion! Hee...will try but I'm not a "Vitamins Person"...took so much supplements continuously for almost 3 years when preggy and breastfeeding my 2 kids till scare liao! Haiz...my gal had high fever for 3 days, better le but passed to my boy now and I just lost my voice!

So when you starting your gal with Kinderland? Hope she will like it there, easier for you when No. 2 arrives!

Hi M3DP,
Thanks! Hee...long time "no see"! I heard P3 got Science Spelling?! Btw, I finally brought my kids to Polliwogs last month but was an unpleasant experience for us. Haiz...an ang moh boy scratched my boy all over his face while I was waiting for him to slide down. Really heart pain!

Hi Joyce,
Welcome to our thread!

Hi Ling0,
haha yah long time no see... hmm, never hear my girl mentioning abt it but maybe next term? Oh my gosh, thats very bad for the boy to do that! I brought them to Kovan de, it was fun haha but tiring..
The weather is very bad lately, take care of the kids and urself too..

Hi Joyce,
Welcome!!

hihi exp mummies out there,
im a new mummy in june
actually im looking for infant care or nanny to look after my bb
after my maternity leave..anyone can adv me which one is better..infant or nanny?? then can recommed me gd caring nanny ?? cuz im staying in punggol central (coralinus) then its new estate..hard to find nanny

I've been busy as the maid has arrived. Maybe its my personality, I just can't feel totally at ease with a stranger in my house, like as if I still have to be "on guard" all the time. And the constant supervision is making me tired...sigh, duno if getting a maid is the right decision...

Hi Ling0,
How are u and ur kids? Hope u are feeling better.

My girl's starting school in apr but I will be bringing her for warm-up session end mar for 2 days. I'm just worried if she is willing to take the school bus to sch by herself.

Aiyo, ur poor boy! He must be frightened by the angmo boy. I had similar exp when I brought my girl to the kovan indoor playground. A boy came and scratched/pinched my girl's face and made her cry. He even tried to do it again despite the 2nd time my girl was sitting on my nap. And the boy's father didn't even come to apologise for his son's behavious. He just stood a distance away and acted as if nothing happened.

Hi Joyce,
Welcome! I'm expecting my 2nd bb in june. When's ur EDD and bb's gender? Personally, I pref nanny to CC as ratio is 1:1 or 1:2 where the nanny can focus on bb alone rather than having to handle a few bbs at the same time. And lesser chances of catching virus, illness from other bbs. However, u must be sure that the nanny is experienced and really loves children.

Hi Ophelia,
Congrats!!! Rest well & jia you!

Btw, Ling0, can share with me how do u cope with 2 kids, hsewk and cooking? My maid's only here less than a week and I'm already thinking of sending her back...but duno how am I gg to cope when my bb arrives in jun

Hi M3DP,
Thanks! Btw, I heard about the Science Spelling from my friend's sister cos her son same school with your gal and P3 also. Actually, can't blame the boy cos he is afterall a young kid. Hee...we have been to Kovan one, very small compared to Polliwogs but like it cos not crowded.

Hi Ophelia,
CONGRATS!!! Try to rest more whenever you can and jia you jia you!

Hi Joyce,
For infants, I would prefer nanny if can find good and caring one. For toddler, then personally feels that childcare will be a better choice.

Hi Miffy,
Thanks! We are all ok le but my boy still have a little bit of phlegm. You might want to start telling your gal about CC and school bus everyday now...cos that's what I did to my gal to get her prepared. I'm glad that she did not cry and willing to take the school bus on her own.

Aiyo, why the father like that one?!! My boy had more than 10 scratches (big and small) on his face! I dun blame the boy cos he is around 2+ years old bah but it happened when his mum was chatting at the cafe with her friends! I shouted for the boy to stop while my hubby climbed up but he refused to. Actually, was quite angry with myself for not being able to stop this incident from happening.

How is your maid coping? Better? Hee...my first priority is my kids so got to close one eye when comes to housework...really bobian cos my gal just turned 1 year old when I gave birth to my boy. I did get a part-time cleaner then till my boy was around 8 months old. Actually, my hubby helps alot with the housework whenever he is around and we usually do most of the chores at night when the kids are asleep. I cook for my kids almost everyday but for us, sometimes just ta bao. I did not have time to pump so fully-latched my boy that time till he's almost 1 year old. I admit it's not easy to take care of 2 kids on your own and it's tough during the 1st year especially during confinement. There were times when I'm so tired and stressed out that I will just breakdown and cried but felt better after crying. Things are so much better now, so whatever I have gone through were worth it! Determination and time-management very important and must stay positive! Dun worry too much, just tell yourself you can do it and you can, jia you!

Heya mummies

Anyone sends their 18mth/2YO to those 1.5hrs playgroups in Punggol?

My girl is not that age yet but just researching early as some places like Wunderkind said they may open up 2011 playgroup registration as early as mid this year.

hi ling0,
totally agree with u, i had a hard time now taking care of my new born.
She wakes up almost every hr & will norm stay awakw fm 2+am till 5+am. I have 2 latch her or carry her 2 stop her fm crying.
Though i had a confinement lady 2 help up i still prefer 2 take care of her my own.
Its very tiring but it worth it.
My hubby cldnt help much as he is doing rotating shift job & lots of OT 2 do 2. I keep telling myself 2 hang on as it will be over soon :p lucky my elder gal is sensible enuf & didnt give me much problem

Hi Ling0,
I sent my maid back to the agency after less than 2 weeks. Not getting a replacement but I'm really worried how I'm going to cope with a NB and a toddler
And what to do with dinner? I don't think I can manage to cook everyday but if I tapao everyday, its not that healthy. Now considering whether to order tingkat or not.
In the meantime, I'm actively searching for a part-time cleaner again. Let me know if there's any lobangs, thks...

My girl went for her 1st warm-up session at Kinderland today. I must say to leave ur kid at CC, u must really close one eye or can feel quite heartpain. I have to remind myself lucky she's there for halfday only and can get to socialise with other kids.

Hi Sarah,
Welcome!
Wanted to send my boy to Wunderkind but they did not start new class in Jan so most likely will send him to Dayspring next year.

Hi Ophelia,
I can understand cos my hubby works shift too but he took 1 month's leave to help me out during confinement as we did not hire confinement lady. Think newborns usually feel insecure after leaving mummy's tummy, it's a new environment they have to adapt. I'm sure after confinement, things will be much better so hang in there! You are doing great and good that your elder one is sensible!

Hi Miffy,
Oh yah, I forgotten all about tingkat! Initially, we did ordered tingkat from KCK and Neo Garden. Prefer Neo Garden's food cos KCK's food is bland but more healthy lor cos no msg, low salt and low oil. Stopped cos hubby dun really like tingkat...after that, I will try to cook dinner whenever I can, if really no time then we tabao. For lunch, I will usually cook simple stuff like porridge, soup noodles etc. Hee...now that my kids are 2 and 3 yo, I have more time to cook le!

I agreed with you, this is what all my friends who send their kids to CC said too - must close one eye and be heart-harded cos very heartpain to see your child crying for you. Dun worry, I'm sure your gal will adapts well!

smallonion,
I think it's Bouncing Kids at kovan, not polliwogs. It's located at the previous bus interchange.

miffy,
Agree that there's no time to cook. Now my kiddo is 19mths old, i'm still eating tingkat for my lunch. Saves me the trouble and helped to keep me sane with the active toddler and barking dog. Dinner hubby will tabao.

Hi Ling0,
hmm.. maybe different teachers different way of teaching.. nowadays school work really tough... my girl having a hard time to cope and i also have a hard time coaching her.. sigh..

Hi Ophelia,
Congrats!! Hang in there.. everything will be better after confinement.

Hi Miffy,
We ordered tingkat (Kim's Kitchen)too during my confinement (for my hb & girl) and 1 month after. I got bored of it and decide to cancel and cook myself.

not to worry abt ur lil girl in CC. Very fast she will adapt to it and have lots of fun.

To all mummies, wkend is here again!!

Enjoy and have a great one!

How is everybody???

Hi opelia,

Congrates....
My turn soon...

Hi miffy,

Yah, you have to close one eye when putting your kid to CC.... My gal is so sticky to me tat it takes one mth for her to settle down n letting me send her to CC before tat she only wants her dad to send her... I think she cnt part with me if i was the one sending her... Now she will say bye bye to me wheh she step into CC n will go to wash her hands n go straight to her classroom...

So fast i am due soon... Choose to go thru c-sect on 11 of April....

Hope everything will be fine.....

It had been awful and super tiring for the past days for me. My girl had serious vomitting on wed night and I had diarrhoea. We went KKH and I was told that I had to be hospitalised, as my stomach upset was triggering mild contractions and the doctor was worried that I might go into premature labour. I was given drip, medicine and injections. Anyway, managed to be discharged on Fri. But up to now my girl is still not completely well and not eating much. Worse, my hb had heartburn last night and went 24 hrs clinic and today he had fever. Luckily, my mum has been helping me taking care of my girl when I'm in the hospital.

But now being me, I started to worry if something likes this happen again *touch wood*, who is going to help me take care of bb? I don't think my mum is able to cope with 2 active kids and a baby. And I can't rely on my mil. Knowing I've just discharged from hospital and my hb and girl are sick, she didn't even bother to call and send her regards or ask if we need help (I can't help feeling grumpy abt this).

As for CC, I know I have to be a bit hard-hearted and leave my girl there despite her cries and pleas. But what I'm more concerned abt is the centre meeting my "health & hygiene" standards and the way the teachers handle the kids. While I was there at the warm-up session, I really have to close one eye and remind myself, the ratio of teacher to kid is 1:8, so can't expect the teacher to be Really able to handle 8 kids at the same time. Sigh......

Hi KyMi,

Oh, u will be seeing ur little darling soon, congrats in advance! rest well & have a great feast before ur confinement starts, hee...

Hi KyMi,

Thanks, I'm much better but nowadays after dinner, I will feel bloated or bit of heartburn like 1st trimester. My girl's much better too but she becomes extremely cranky and keep wanting me to carry her and not eating proper meals. I don't know how she will behave when she goes CC next week, oh dear!

I'm looking for a halfday nanny to help me cope with bb but seem hard to find one...

And how are u? Counting down to delivery day? Excited, have u done all the preparation yet?

Hi miffy,

Glad to see that u & ur family are much better. Maybe u can try eating lesser and more meals. I have that during my 3rd trim. Dont worry abt your girl crankiness. MY boy was sick 2 wks back and he only just got back his normal self and appetite. Give her some time to get back to normal.

Maybe u can get your hubby or someone else to send her to CC.
What is the timing u looking at for the halfday nanny? Maybe can help u ask ard.

Hi KyMi,
Congrats to you in advance.
Dont worry everything will turn out just fine...

hi miffy,
try get plenty of rest dun worry 2 much

which cc r u putting ur kid at?
Will put my gal in 1 when she turn 3 net yr,

hi kymi,
when r u due?
Time really flies nearly a month has pass since my bb birth.
Start 2 worry how my in-law handle my 2 monster when i go back 2 work in another month time :s

my this bb puke out milk alot almost every feed, does any1 know how 2 stop it?
Does any1 heard of 'apple tree' cc whr is it?

Can someone with kids in CC share their experiences with me?

- Does the CC check for HFMD and ask the kids to sterilise/ wash hands every morning when arrive?
- Is it common for CC to have kids more than the stated teacher to kid ratio 1:8?
- Does the CC separate sick kid from the rest of the class?

Hi M3DP,
My hubby needs to leave for work early in the morning. Ny girl is taking the school bus. I'm accompany her these two days but I don't know if she will put up a fuss when I leave her to take the bus on her own.
I'm also not sure the timing I require for the nanny yet, as it depends if my girl is ok in school. If not, then I will need someone from morn till evening to help me with the 2 kids.

Hi Ophelia,
I'm not sure how to stop bb from puking out milk. but my girl used to puke out milk from her mouth and her nostrils when she's a bb and gave us quite a big scare. after a few times, she just stopped doing that.

Apple tree, from what I know, it is not a CC but a preschool, short hrs lessons. There's 2 branches in punggol.

My girl is attending Kinderland in SK at the moment. Will see how she's doing there. In the meantime, I'm waiting to have a chance to view Dayspring.

Does ur child have nightmares when just starting school? Is it normal becos' of separation anxiety? Thks.

hi miffy, tks

does any1 has heard of any feedback of kids kingdom?
Search the net but seem like no1 had any comment about it.

Hi Ophelia,

Ya, there's no comments about Kids Kingdom when I did a search for it the other time. But Kids Kingdom has no vacancy this yr and the in-charge told me also cannot confirm got vacancy for next yr, as the waiting list's v long. I was actually on the waiting list......

hi miffy,
i am in the waiting list 2 :D
i was wondering how cum thr isnt any comment since it was in operation 4 so many yrs.
Since the waiting list is so long shld b not bad, but y no1 make any comment abt it.

Hi Ophelia,

I am not sure if a long waiting list means the cc is good, as almost all the cc in punggol is full and most have long waiting list. I feel that it will be better if u can conduct spot-checks on the cc urself and go for the trial before u decide to enrol ur girl.

chanced upon this thread. Am a punggol mummy too. My bb girl (2nd child) just turned 1 yo.

Hi Ophelia and Miffy,

Hv a friend whose son was at Kids Kingdom for abt 2 yrs. She said they keep changing teachers, I guess that's why her son not really happy there but she said no choice coz she gotta work long hrs and too much hassle to change cc.

Am oso looking for cc for my bb when she turns 18mths but so hard to find a good one in punggol
Also, all have long waiting list....

hi rosydimple,
nice 2 have u here.. This thread seem like quiet down alot.
So how old is ur 1st child?

Is ur fren child still in that center?
Is it oni the teacher that teach his grade keep changing or other teacher also change?

Think punggol had 2 many young working parent but not enuf full day cc.

Hi Ophelia,

I had delivered my boy boy on 15 April.. thanks....
c-sect with epdi.. baby is 3.1 kg...
he have 6 fingers on his right hand....

How is everything?

long time din log in...
just manage to settle down after my delivered...
coping with my gal going CC & breast feeding my boy boy.....
& my wound... thats killing me...
& also the breast engorgement which go till my armpit... lol....

Lucky thing got CL & a understanding & loving hubby taking care of me.. :)

hi kymi,
congrat.. i hate engorgement 2 :s
esp block duct. Thr is once so painful that i cant get into sleep, keep pumping also cant clear it

try latching ur son in the sleeping or football hold position, so it wont hurt ur wound that much.

It really make a great different when hubby is ard 2 help up

How are u doing? I'm feeling sooo tired, as my girl has been having nightmares ever since she starts school. Anyway, I'm transferring her to a new school in May. I hope she likes the new school and be happy there.

btw, can I check with u if we need to apply for a work permit or social pass for the confinement lady?

Hi rosydimples,
Welcome! Are you a working mum or SAHM?

Hi KyMi,
Congrats once again! Me3! I also had problem falling asleep when I had engorgement. I got a malay Jamu massager to help me clear my blocked ducts.

hi miffy,
tot u juz put ur gal in that cc not long ago oni?
She dont like tat sch uh or is it 2 far fm ur hse?
Whr u transferring her to?

I didnt apply any permit 4 the CL, mine is fm m'sia, they r now able 2 stay in s'pore 4 a month as a visitor.
Any longer they had 2 go back m'sia & cum back in again 2 re-chop their passport so as 2 extend the stay.
That's what my CL told me.

I had a massage lady also, but i oni did it 5 days so she wasn't thr when i had block duct

Hi Ophelia,

Both my girl and I don't like that school. For my girl, I'm also not sure whether she doesn't like the school or it's because she misses me and doesn't want to go there. But she cries every night when I put her in the school bus and has been having nightmares almost everyday. I'm letting her attend my niece's school. Suppose to start today but she's sick...anyway, will see if she will adapt to the new school and like it. If not, I also not sure how...sigh!

I'm also not sure why my CL keeps on asking me to apply a permit for her. I ask my friends, their CLs also do not need any permit.

Btw, is ur labour time shorter for ur 2nd child? I wonder if I have time to wait for my husband to pick me up from hme to the hospital or it will be better if I take a cab to the hospital myself.

I am also 2009 mum. My baby girl is born in Sept, exactly same date as her daddy.
Currently is placing her in a playgroup (just 02days ago)

I was wondering any mums sending her child to childcare only when he or she is 03 years old or older?

miffy,
mine is induced labour, they actually control the timing of my labour.
I was induced 12am, cld feel that the bb is pushing her way out at 4am, call 4 the nurse. Who knows instead of deliver the bb the adjust the drip & epidural 2 slow down the contraction.
End up they oni start deliver the bb when my gynae came at 7+am. Was so pissed off by it, waste my whole nite in the ward waiting.

Hi hui ming,
r u staying in punggol also? I intend 2 send my gal 2 cc nxt yr when she turn 3.
Actually wanted 2 put her in cc this yr but cldn't get 1 in punggol. Also as im expecting my 2nd gal 2 arr this yr i'm afraid my elder 1 will have the wrong idea that i dun1 her any more since her little sis arr. So i delay it 2 nxt yr.

Dear Miffy,

That's why we being mother sufferred alot of hardship since conceived which no husband can ever understand...

Yes, I'm staying in Puggol very near to Punggol Plaza. Which cc u intend to send ur child over?

HI miffy & Ophelia,

Thanks....

Hi Miffy,

Just got a chinese lady to massage for me... & she thought me to use milk bottle to massage my armpit engorgement....

She also help me to unblock my duct.. it really helps in increasing the Breast milk... (thumb up)

I had also found out the reason why your CL wana you to apply work permit as she might be working with agency too...
the different is that if you contact her she earn 100% of the salary if thru agency she got to give $500 to the agent.

Hi Hui Min,

Welcome, I also staying very near to punggol plaza....