Advise to resume breastfeeding

nana09

i stopped breastfeeding for a month now because of some personal reasons... however i would like to resume and need advise how to. i tried to pump several times but supply doesnt even reach 10ml. i tried motillum and fenugreek. still the same. any mummies who stopped and successfully resume breastfeeding? can advise me how? i tried to latch but my baby doesn't want... i think he used to bottle....

Hi Nana, Keep on pumping every 3 hourly.. i also stop breastfeeding when my girl was 2 months old, then resume back again. Now she's 7.5 mths old, i'm still total bfding her.. Take papaya fish soup, papaya milk/soya milk, oats & drink plenty of water will help..

Essentially, it should be a balance of regular 3 hourly pumping, good diet, rest, fluids, domperidone (if not motilium), determination and grit.

Remember Domperidone dosage needs to be as per the LC's recommendation, start with 2, etc.

I have even read of mothers who pumped till they are able to breastfeed their adopted babies when they arrive.

Hi Nelle, Domperidone is Motilium right? I'm taking Metoclopramide now. What is the difference between Domperidone and Metoclopramide?

From the little I know, domperidone and metoclopramide both increase the secretion of prolactin (the milk making hormone) from the anterior pituitary, but domperidone appears to be the safer drug as it rarely causes pyramidal (motor nerve) and side effects. Unlike metoclopramide, domperidone does not appear to enter the brain compartment to any appreciable extent and has few nervous system effects.

Personally, I preferred domperidone. But if in the event I am overseas, milk supply suddenly plunge, lost my slabs of domperidone and have no access to buy new slabs, I will take metoclopramide as a short term subsitute, as that will be in my travelling medicine pouch.

Since a couple of years ago, domperidone can be bought off the shelves in Sgp pharmacies. Previously, a scrip was required.

Was it your ObGyn or lactation consultant who prescribed you the metoclopramide?

Did they advise you on how long you were to be on it, and the dosages?

While I don't suppose the risk factors to be extremely high, it definitely would be more prudent to gain exact info and assurance from your practitioner. I figure you'd feel more secure that way too.

Hi Nelle, i got it from a mummy leh.. I did some research on internet, so far ok if taken less than 3 weeks..

Er... "got it" means do you mean she gave it to you or you had to pay for it?

What's the dosage(s) you have been taking?

How is your milk supply going?

Hi Nelle, i bought it from a mummy. $0.45 for each tablets. I took 3 times a day.

Now stopped liao. PUmping to maintain..

I'm all for the principles of free trade, and with all due respect to whoever sold you the pills and your relationship with her, I understand "willing buyer, willing seller". But if you had typed "S$0.45 each slab of ten tablets", I would not have been way too surprised; profit is understandable. Now that it was "S$0.45 each tablet", whoa... ...

I hope you are also aware that Domperidone is a Category C drug, while Metoclopramide is a Category B.

I also suppose you have read reliable concise literature on metoclopramide on credible websites and sources, so I need not say more. Caveat emptor.

Good to know that your pumping is getting on well. I applaud your commitment in trying to provide BM for your kid. My kid was on total breastmilk for 2 over years and she needed COPIOUS amounts; I remember how tiring it can be... but I'm glad I did what I could. How old is your child now?

Certain foods and habits help alot too to contribute towards better BM quantity (ml) and quality (thickness, richness, sweetness, etc).

Yup, $0.45 per tablet. It's costly, that's why i bought 2 week's supply only..

Wow, how you manage to bf for over 2 years? Yes, it's really tiring. Sometimes really wanna give in to formula milk! Any tips to increase milk supply using food?

If you had bought the safer and more ObGyn-recommended option Domperidone from the pharmacy (even NTUC pharmacy), I remember it was like 100 tabs (ten slabs) for just three dollars plus. The math is obvious.

There is at least one other thread somewhere on this forum on breastfeeding foods. You might wanna look that up.

Different things work different magic for different people. Green papaya fish head soup did wonders fror my SIL who's also a very successful breastfeeding mom two times over, while I engulfed my house with the massive stench of potent thick green papaya fish soup, guzzled three pots of that goey stuff and it didn't do a thing for me. Bullfrog was great for me, while my SIL would never ever be near a frog, what more have one in her mouth! At my production peak (yea, we actually kept charts and detailed records since birth, had KPIs and reviews too), the total yield per day was 1.9 litres (both breasts combined of course!). The daily yield two years plus later on was an avg of 900ml, which then dwindled down and down and down.. So, you see, even for foods that work, different folks, different strokes. Just gotta find your groove.

Typically, just to name a few foods that were good for me, kailan, threadfin, bullfrog (most spectacular results for me), sashimi. Adequate rest and fluid intake is impt too.

How many months already are you into breastfeeding?

I don't know i can get Domperidone from the Pharmacy! I thought must get doc's approval then can buy..

I loves bullfrog too =) Especially with lots of dried chilli..

I know high protein food helps.. My girl is now 9 mths..

Nice to meet another bullfrog fan! I love Kong Po Tin Gai! Then you MUST find the breastfeeding thread I mentioned! I wrote on my favourite bullfrog stall there.

Nine months old already? Good job there!

I love geylang's bullfrog! I forgot which lorong liao, only rem it's buy 2 free 1, buy 3 free 2 and buy 4 free 3! Yummy and spicy =)

Yes, hope to bf one year and beyond!

Which bullfrog stall is that? Does your husband know the lorong?

I havent checked out any stall like that with so many free frogs. It's definitely not "THE" geylang kongpo tingai stall next to the beef hor fun coffee shop. How much are the various pricings then? Sounds like a gd deal!

Are you a SAHM?

I need to ask him abt the stall =) I only rem it's near the end of geylang to kallang. Got 1st & 2nd storey and it's air conditioned. I think it's $8 per bullfrog, good deal right!

Nope, i'm a FTWM. Feel like quitting and be a SAHM, but can't afford to do so.. You?

I have not eaten there before. Got air con somemore?! Is the taste and texture of meat as good as "the" geylang stall? When you know where you let me know k?

SAHM. In fact, I stopped working before we had kiddo. My husband doesn't like me working coz I have a workaholic streak in me and I'd be in the office from 6+am to as late as 11pm, which is not good work-life balance. He hates it when he tells my p a to have me return his call and I forget. He then started bringing my dog to pick me up and THAT dog of mine would stand at the reception counter SHOUT SHOUT SHOUT BARK BARK BARK till I apologise, pack up and go. She is VERY LOUD, and has a very strong character. But things did get to a point where he said he had enough.

Nowadays, sometimes he would jokingly threaten, "Send you back to work then you know..." and I would retort "OK! Good idea!". I do think working is not a bad idea. But he knows I'm very attached to my kid and that I intend to be around, to spend time, to guide, protect, teach, have fun together, etc.

I think it is a good thing for women to continue working, and for those who juggle motherhood and career, I have a deep sense of respect for them. Working is also good that you have clear KPIs and appraisals and extrinsic rewards. The sense of achievement is very tangible. But for me now, I know that I can't exchange these for my kid's smile, hugs, being around always when needed, etc. I always remind myself that though I'm a SAHM, i must actively be engaged to ensure i maintain a sense of relevance to society and be able to contribute and grow in whatever way i can while not compromising family time (I often fall short...).

If I had been working, I know I won't have been able to provide total breastfeeding for 2+ years. So you're doing good at nine months! How do you juggle everything? How do you work out that and home arrangements and all?

Yes, it's so shiok to eat the spicy kung pao tingai in air con! The taste is superb, my hubby and i ate 5 bullfrog with 2 pots of congee haha.. Then we downed coconut water, blissing =)

So good your hubby can afford to let you be a SAHM.. My hubby and i are earning very little, wanna start up business also no capital. I rather be a SAHM and do housechores, look after 2 kids then have those appraisals and extrinsic rewards. you're right, nothing can exchange for time with our kids.

It's tough to total bf while still working =( Gonna find time to express while at work. I bring homecooked lunch to work in order to save time and money. Usually i settle lunch within 15-20min, then use remaining lunch time to express. I knocked off at 5.30pm, but i will stay till abt 6.15-6.30pm to compensate the time spent for expressing. When i got home, it's 7pm plus. After i shower, have dinner and pack stuff, i got not enough time for kids at all! I hate all these rushing here and there, but can't resign!

Whether finances are enough to go the single income route is very subjective. Some men earn twenty k but say no money to have kids, some households earn two k yet can support four kids.

I think with both parents working, it's easier to be liberal with purchases and financial decisions. Pros and cons, really.

But also, when some (note I said "some" only) women "work", they have the potential to spend more than they earn (must have new wardrobe, new hermes bags, new watches, new makeup, new car, must go spa de-stress, etc), ending up in a lose-lose situation when the husband still gotta pay for her new purchases, childcare and maids while she is always away from her kids. But well, different folks, different strokes. Some people want it that way and are happy with that.

Do you stay near your workplace? Getting home at 7plus is not that late (depending on industry/sector).

Does your company have a room for you to express BM? How do you transport your BM?

Homecooked lunch is very healthy. Who cooks them for u? And who looks after your children when you are working?

I'm working near bugis and staying in bedok. My position is admin, there's no OT one, so to me, 7 plus is late.. i felt so guity to be away from my baby for more than 12 hrs..

To me, i don't need new makeup, new wardrobe, all my income goes to housing loans, maid levy, maid salary, groceries, bills and my transport. Usually i don't have any money left by around 20th.

I express in the toilet, there's no room for me. I transport my bm using avent thermal bag with ice block =) Homecooked lunch can save me lots of money, usually i prepared myself, if no time then i get maid to prepare. I need to have a maid coz there's no one to look after my baby.. So i'm working to support maid haha funny right..

Yea, for admin positions, 7+pm is quite late. Moreover, they do not pay OT. That must spur you on to work fast and good so you can get home early to your baby!

I think homecooked lunch is a very good idea. Healthy too. But I don't see how it can be cheap, Everytime when I cook a meal at home, it adds up to so much money (not even factoring in the trouble) that we concluded it is better to buy takeout.

Maids are more expensive nowadays, arent they? Levy plus salary adds up to like $800 I suppose? And throw in their living expenses and this n that.. It's not too bad if the maid is good, one of our fears is having one of the trouble-giving maids...

But really, given all that you are doing, I think you still pumping at nine months is very applaudable!

Thanks for your encouragement Nelle! I hope to at least bf until my girl is one year old. Or even two years old =)

Actually groceries is not cheap at all. One time to wet market or supermarket can cost more than $50 for the veggies/meat, and it can only cook 2-3 meals. But bcoz my maid cooks dinner, so i usually pack the leftovers for next day's lunch.. So i can save on lunch money.

Yes maids are expensive nowadays.. Around five hundred plus. But plus her expenses on stuff, it all add up to quite alot(to me). I can said my maid is so far so good, dote on my girl very much. But once her contract is finished and by then my girl is abt 2 years old, i will have to terminate her service and send my girl to childcare centre. I hope w/o the maid, our finanical won't be so tight.