Advise on SO-IUI vs IVF?

Joanne,

U usually log on so late huh ?

Just finished walking my Dinky.

I going to sleep le, tmr got to go SGH early morning.

Nite ladies!

Hi rinoa,

Good morning, actually hor i miss u gals alot...So i actually log on whole day using my iphone...
as i dun want my network pp to know i surf net to this url... And we cant surf for more than 5 mins too... I wish to get involve in u gals conversation so try to put some comment when boss not ard or when on the way to toilet... Hee... So my collegues oways laugh at me saying i keep hugging my hp when go to toilet as they dun know i am talking to my cyberfriend.. Last time i am using nokia n95 to surf net... Read at the words so small until cockeye... Then recently dh give me this iphone for birthday gift... It is really a impressive phone with bigger screen to surf net... Hope my eye degree wun get worse... So at nite when i surf net using my pc.. I will try type in some comment since faster.. Btw, i wish u the best on ur checkup today.. Dun worry.. Everything will be fine for u k...

Good morning to all ladies!!!

Morning Ladies!

joanne
U sleep so late.. wake up so early.. wait panda eyes le.. hehe

Rinoa
Euro countries, most medi n edu is covered.. bopian lah.. we born here. Here got advantage also mah.. at least u walk ur dinky at nite, dun hv to worry abt getting rob or wot. hehe

Good luck to u today!

eskimobaby/my sunflower
How come u all were brief on D5 transfer? Me nv leh.. during counciling? Cos I nv go for KKH council.. skip that since I did once outside jus 2 mths ago.

Morning everyone!

Sam,

Cheer up for your 3 musketeers ok? Be a happy mummy!!

Sunflower,

How are you? Hope you are feeling good!

Haze,

I also dun recall being briefed abt D5 transfer leh. I only learn abt it from this thread then asked Dr Loh abt it. Counselling also never talk abt it leh?

strawbearbi
is it cos we're the 'earlier' batch? Maybe the later batches got kana brief lor.

I wun hv thought abt D5 transfer if I hvn't fail 2x already... most ppl wun for the 1st time.

Actually I heard from the nurse, they r trying to change some system. I guess with ppl complaining q so long, waiting time so long n hving to jab extra jabs cos the lab can't cope, staff overwork, they wil start to do something very soon lor.

Somehow I thk they shd expand KKIVF, employ more nursing staff n also embryologists.

morn ladies

wow...alot for me to catch up.

sam
cheer up ok...rem ur 3 boys need you to be happy

sunflower
hw are u doing? I wish u well.

rinoa
i oso wish I can wear sexily when preggy ..hehehe

Good morning! Woah, you ladies talk about handsome gynae so excited har? I have never seen a handsome doc in Mt E leh. But I won't paiseh lah, just see cannot touch wat. Or maybe purposely cry in front of doc, and doc can hold my hands

Hi Rinoa,

Dr Foong is handsome?!!? Ehh... I see his pic on the clinic's website, ehh.... just another boring respectable Dr lah.

Talking about migration at old age, my point of arguement goes like this - if I have $ when I retire, then don't have to migrate right? If I don't have $ when I retire, how to migrate right?

Haze,

Yah mabbe lor. Maybe a lot of ppl asking abt it so they started to brief ppl abt it I guess.

Ruru,

Your theory abt migration quite true leh. But also must consider the standard/cost of living I feel, coz assuming u can afford to migrate, you can choose to stay in a place where life is better, slower n cheaper! Less stressful environment lor.

Ruru
If I stil dun hv kids then, then migration wun be a problem. But if there's family I hv to take care of, then that wil be a no-no.

But I stil thk living in ur birth country is the best.. wun be treated as 2nd class citizen at least!

I am ok. Thanks for concern.

Haze, how early was the earlier batch? Cos i first signed up in 2007 leh. I think its probably some nurse brief and some dont. Sigh, some nurses at KKIVF i have to say are not very thorough.

Haha Rinoa, i dont know yet. Wont reveal here and there but will just try to dress in style loh.

Ju, take care. Massage your head and neck abit?

ruru,

dr foong not handsome but the 成熟稳重 type lah. when's yr appt next week? maybe no need to go?

sam,

hope you're feeling better. think you're a bit emotional because of the hormone changes also. try not to bottle up till you explode, you can come in here to vent yr frustration, ok?

felixcat
U stil haf day ah? So confirm Apr byebye liao?

ju
I hate stiff neck.. maybe u can let Dr Zou know.. she can acu for u. I ever acu my stiff shoulders b4.. hehe

my sunflower
I started mine briefing in Dec08. Hmm.. I guess if u started in 07, then shd be diff nurse, say diff things lor.

Hi Strawbearbi,

But you see, if have $, don't have to worry about the pace of life and the high standard of living right? U can choose to live life at a pace of life u want wat. Maybe just go and stay few months in another country but don't need to migrate right?

Hi Hazeline,

Yah, if I don't no children, should have alot of saving by 60yrs old.

One of my single friend was telling me that she intend to retire by 45yrs old. I guess it is possible as she is single and a high-flyer in her career so she can definitely save alot of $ to retire comfortably by then.

haze,

yep, still on half day. tomorrow will be last day, not need to come in liao since nothing to do. but feel very weird leh. yesterday we had our dept farewell dinner n suddenly i felt quite sad that i will not be seeing my colleagues anymore. most of them are either also leaving the company or moving to our overseas office. thot i will be happy but still felt loss...

Ruru
When u're young, it's ok to be alone n single. But when it comes to ur 50s, 60s.. u'll find it very lonely liao.

U can say u hv ur nieces, nephews, siblings n all that but they too hv their own family leh. U can't stick to them forever n expect them to take care of u when u're old.

So.. I'll check myself into old folks' home when I'm old n sick. I dun like to bother ppl one... makes relationship strain only.

felixcat
woah.. u mean whole co is split liao ah.. sad lor.. if u hv good relationships with them.

Nvm.. u hv something to look forward to.

Ur DS happy u'll be home from now or not? hehe

Hi FelixCat,

I am seeing Dr Foong next wed at 2.30pm. Will check with him about my case as my egg quality very bad, so with the high death rate, he cannot be overly cautious and give me low dosage of puregon as it can jolly well mean I have no embryos left for transfer. I will also ask me if need to run some test for me to see if can identify the reason for the constant failures as well. But I suspect he will 'blame' the failure on my PCOS condition as well.

Will update u ladies on what he says when I see him next week. I am still waiting for Ah-Kat to come back from her Shanghai trip to tell me more about Dr Suresh Nair's style (Besides the long waiting time of course!). I am keeping my opinion open and going to find a gynae whom I am comfortable with before continuing my IVF treatment.

Hi FelixCat,

Yah, a person can spend more time at the office than at home nowsaday, so leaving the colleagues will be quite a sad event.

But if you are only colleagues and not friends, then very fast will drift apart as the bonding is based on the office gossip and work communication. When I left my last co, will still make a point of meeting up with my ex-colleagues once every few months, but after awhile, I realize the topics will always revolve around the office politics and the bosses which is very boring for me as I have left the company.

Ruru,

True also, but most importantly you can choose lah. No $ no need to say anything.

True also about the single ladies can afford to retire early. My ex-boss is in her 40s and single. She has a few girlfrens in her similar situation, now no need to work full time, can work part time coz no financial burden, can do what inspires them and do what they love. Not like us, need to slog n slog just to make sure bills get paid. Can say envy or dun envy depending on your own situation lah. They have the freedom to do what they want, but also like what Haze says, when old will be lonely.

Retirement also not easy, need a lot of $$. That's why savings also very important. I also wanna go nursing/old folks home when I old and sick, don't wanna trouble ppl. And I hope I die b4 my DH so that I won't be so lonely after he die =p

Felixcat,

Wah so good tomolo last day liao. Can be full time SAHM liao =) U can still keep in contact with your colleagues, so don't feel so much loss ok? Also when you start to take care of your DS full time, you don't have the time to feel loss liao =p

I just called Dr Suresh Nair's clinic and the earliest appointment is in............ MAY 2009!!! How is that for a popular doc? My spectacles cracked man. I told the receptionist that I am seeking IVF treatment and she told me the nurse will call me back. Gosh, maybe difficult cases cannot accept becos he is too busy? The receptionist never give me an appt date/time.

Hmm... nevermind lah. Maybe no fate with him, will see if the nurse calls me back anot.

Ruru
Woah.. he so packed ah.. somemore stil c patients til so late... thk appt date wil drag further if he c them only during regular hrs!

U also mk appt to c Dr Hema rite? U c wot both of them says 1st lor.

strawbearbi
Everyone wants to die b4 the other leh.. hehe

I dun mind living longer if I'm healthy. But if I'm weak n sick, thk faster die better, dun trouble ppl.

But lookin at my age now, if I ever hv a child, duno wil live long enuff to c him/her get married n hv kids or not. Thk not likely... *sigh*

Hi Haze,

Haven't make appt with SGH as I want to see Dr LC Foong 1st to see what he has to say. I just itchy-hand call Dr Nair's clinic to see how long I have to wait. Hee...hee... U are right leh, if Dr Nair sees patients at normal clinic hours, then maybe I see him in Dec 2009?

ruru, strawbearbi,

yah, i see my colleagues for longer hours than my family. so feel a bit sad lor. hmm ... think we're also friends leh as we help each other on non-work related stuff also. even when buying car/notebook, will get their advice also.

but it's true that will drift apart after leaving the co. so far, i'm only contacting one of my ex colleague but she's also left the co. maybe will see her more often now since both of us not working anymore.

also, i realized that my job was giving me a sense of worthiness & pride. so not working anymore is like losing an identity as well. wait become huang lian po how? *sigh*

don't worry, will log on unless my pc dies on me. i'm looking at getting a notebook as my pc a bit xiao liao.

haze,

don't know leh. maybe ds will soon realise it's not so good to hv mummy with him 24/7. he'll hv more homework to do. haha.

ruru,

i'll be seeing dr foong next tue so won't be seeing you at the clinic. he's really a nice doc, hope you'll hv yuan fen with him also.

my stiff neck is killing me... headache...
no mood + cant concentrate on my work...
gosh.... just hate it!!!!

Can I go back now....??? I wish I could. Lots of thing on my table.... Tomolo I'm taking leave to go KKH for scanning AGAIN...

Ju
U go back ask ur DH to massage for u.. buy those muscle rub.. wil feel abit better. But then how... stiff neck hv to jus let it heal itself.

I go c doc b4.. only giv muscle relaxer n rub.

2molo's scan shd be exciting.. rem to ask how thk is ur lining n also ask nurse later to write down for u ur follicle sizes.. so u can compare.

Hope u hv many good size follicles n can do ur ER soon! Woah.. so excited for u leh!

felixcat
Thk it's a good time to spend quality time with ur DS.. else when bb is here, u'll be real busy liao.

ruru
Oh.. i tot u went to mk appt for all! haha

But sometimes things very funny one.. when u least expects it to... so I stil wish u a lot of luck!

Got radio at office?? Tune in to fm 972 now... Gynea chris chong is on air ay 2plus.., get ur question answer free and also listen to his tips...

Hi Haze,

No, just Dr Foong only as he is my 1st choice. If cannot, then will go see SGH, Dr Hema, then cannot, then go see Dr Nair (if he is willing to see me!). I am keeping my option open. No timeline. Have make an appt with a urologist for my HB also.

Ruru,

Wow Dr Nair's queue for consultation is even longer than KKIVF wor. He must be in hot demand!
Who knows, maybe you don't even need to see him? Positive thoughts ok?

Haze,

Don't be pessimistic leh. No one can predict the future so we just do our best lor.

Felixcat,

Hmm, you wont' be huang lian po lah. My sis is also a full time SAHM for almost 2 years. I think most impt you must still maintain your self-worth. Do things that make yourself happy. U probably won't have much time once #2 is born =p Of coz there will be times you will feel down (my sis does too), but at the end of the day, you are giving so much to your children that it's really worth it!

Ju,

Stiff neck most probably caused by too much computer lah. Haze is right, GP will only give u those painkillers n muscle rubs, no use one. The only way to get rid of it is to rest from the computer, do some neck exercise often, maintain proper posture. That's the long term solution lah.

Hi Angel,

Where do u come from, my lovely angel? R u doing IVF like me?

Dr Foong cannot see the egg quality by v scan lah. I have PCOS and thru' my 2 IVF cycles, the embryologist who culture my egg and sperms is able to tell me my egg quality lor.

I am not sure what "which CD' means? Can explain?

Hi Strawbearbi and Haze,

I heard from 3-8 source is that Dr Nair has a nurse who sits beside him to jot down the case notes eg. which protocol, dosage etc while Dr Nair speaks to the patient. Woah, that is what I call style right? No wonder Ah-Kat says he focuses 100% on his patient and will explain carefully if the patient is unclear.

Ruru
U mean like a PA? hehe.. i tot usually dr wil write his own notes in our file mah.

I guess u really hv to c it for urself lor.

I din do any sonogram today. Postpone next tues.

Coz just as expected, my AFC ultrasound scan came back w negative thing.

Gd news is i dun have reoccurrence of endo neither there is fibroid.

Bad news is my 2 tubes are swollen.
Especially my left side tube.

Dr Hema said could b due to infection, likely after a surgery. (KKH never tell me of swollen tubes b4)

So likely will affect my IVF implantation unless i had a surgery to remove both tubes or clip up both tubes via laprascopy.

So drastic right ? Hear liao really feel like crying.

I told Dr Hema i rather b on a course of anti-biotics n take the chance n to proceed w IVF cycle.

So i'll start Antagonist protocol after she back from switzerland on 27 Apr.

RuRu
no I need to build up my health 1st but would like to find out more abt IVF. U started yr IVF treatment with Dr Foong?

CD = cycle day of AF

I am new to this thread and hope someone can share with me their stories or encounter.
I have fibroids and trying to conceive for some time already but to no avail. My doctor advised me not to remove it yet and hope to get pregnant naturally. I am planning to go ahead with IUI, if worse to come, to remove the fibroids before IUI.
Anyone has the same problems and ttc-ing as well? please share with me.

Fei Dim,

I guess u have several fibroids?

Fibroids are best removed before u try natural or even IUI, especially u tried for sometime w no result.

Even can complicate pregnancy as it might grow.
I have heard of cases where fibroid grow together w pregnancy and had to be surgerically removed during trimester.

I had 4cm fibroid removed via laparascopy last yr.

Rinoa:
really very sudden news. But the tubes will affect IVF? I thought the procedure will by-pass the tubes so anything to do with the tubes will not affect your IVF chances. I remember reading that this lady from my dr's thread that she removed both her tubes but she gave birth to a baby girl thru' IVF.

Fei Dim:
welcome to the thread.
I had 2 fibroids removed last Sept and embarked on my ttc journey this year. My dr then told me that it'll be advisable for me to remove the fibroids so that they won't hinder my chances. I know some drs will not advise to remove fibroid. I guess, it all depends on the size etc.. really not sure.

My colleague's wife who just gave birth only found that she has fibroids when she went for her preg scan. In the beginning, the dr says all was fine 'cos baby's already bigger than the fibroid. Then when about EDD, dr says fibroid blocking passage way for baby to come out. In the end, she had a C-section. Just FYI.

DH sperm binding assay test result is out, only 43% can do binding, passing rate is at least 50% n above.

So Dr Hema say my eggs will b undergoing 100% ICSI not natural IVF.

SGH SA seemed a bit stringent too as DH morphology is only 5% compared to KKH's 6% over a matter of 4 mths interval.

Yve,

Months ago b4 my 1st IVF, my acu TCM ever comment my womb felt swollen to her .
I never put much thought into it.

After tdy findings, I suspect all along been infected since my op. Coz my op. wound r healed w dark brown marks instead of pale white.

Maybe SF loh knew all along thats y strongly recommend me to go for IVF last yr after op review.

Infected tubes will further reduce implantation rate compared to no tubes at all. Thats y best to remove.

But i believe my tubes not there severe damage, so i won't get it surgically removed.

Looks like i got to go on long term veg diet dun eat meat to cut down infection.

I juz hope next tues sonogram dun come out w infected womb findings.

Then i won't even be a good candidate for IVF liao.

Rinoa, Yve and Angel,

Thanks for your sharing. Seems like it's still better to get it removed. My doc mentioned that after removing and if so lucky get pregnant, she is afraid there will be complicated pregnancy or the womb may even "tear" if expanded too much. that's why me and hubby hold on to the idea.
I got 3 and the biggest is 4cm. the rest 2cm.

Angel, will you be removing it anytime soon before you ttc?

Fei Dim,

I had a 4cm fibroid tat time, n my womb (normal size around 6cm) was already distorted beyond recognition coz i had color pics of it taken during laparascopy.

imagine u have 3 now, its a lot of burden to ur womb!

Most doc who dun recommend u to remove its bcoz they dun have the skill to do it for u, thats what happened to me.

PLs look for a consultant gynae who specialise in laparascopy to have a 2nd opinion.

Its my best advise to u

Hi Rinoa,

Hmm... sounds serious leh, would u like to seek a 2nd opinion on the swollen tube issue? Or can you ask Dr Hema to let u start the antibotics now and u re-do your AFC ultrascan before Dr Hema leaves for her Switzerland trip?

Yah, maybe can see the Marine Parade TCM to get some TCM to eat to improve condition also.

Hi Angel,

Ehh.... no leh, I just make my 1st appt to see Dr Foong next wed, before that I have done IVF under another doc at Mt E.

So CD = Cycle day. Hmm, if u are consulting a fertility specialist for the 1st time, ehh... usually the gynae won't start u on IVF start away. The gynae will run tests on the wife and husband, for the wife, she is to go for a CD2 blood test to test for hormones profile, and the HB must send in a sperm sample to do a sperm analysis 1st.

Thanks Rinoa! which doctor did the surgery for you? Actually my doc didnt really explained the location or how it affect my womb that's why i am so ignorant abaout my own womb.

I just started accupunture 4 weeks ago. Probably give myself another few more months.

Rinoa, how come your tubes infected? please take care.