Advise on SO-IUI vs IVF?

Hi Rinoa,

Yes, you start BCP on D1 of AF, then you take for the amount of time your doctor prescribed. Once u finished the last tab of BCP, you will wait around 3-7days for your AF to start.

Woah, time really flies and u are now starting your treatment in SGH!

haze,

in this case, BCP no effect for me liao, since my AF reported.

I got to wait till next AF to start Antagonist, coz impossible to have AF occurring 1 wk after D14 of AF right ?

So tats y like no sense in taking the BCP if no BD for this mth.
I never take b4 my whole life, so very hesitant to take after seeing its side effects on Ju.

Hi Juliana,

Woah, 1week just flies by! Glad u are feeling good! If you want, you can actually test with HPT this friday 1st pee before next mon actual BT. Do u intend to do HPT or wait until 20th April?

Hi Rinoa,

Your current AF will cont' to come but you have to start on your BCP today. The purpose of the BCP is to suppress the hormones so that your womb lining will not build up for the next AF cycle.

I am not sure if the purpose of the BCP is to prevent you from being pregnant leh (from the IVF protocol point of view). It may not mean that if you are abstaining from BD this month that you can don't eat BCP. Please double-confirm with your doc 1st.

rinoa
If ur gynae ask u to take.. u better take. Cos BCP wil also 'clear' ur system so u'll start on a 'clean' sheet.

Like I said, it's to better 'time' ur cycle.

I thk ur AF wil stil come.. aft ur stop ur BCP. That's regardless of how long ur usual cycle is liao.. cos ur body's hormones already 'timed' with BCP.

Not everyone has BCP side effects lah.. I dun hv.

Hi Rinoa,

Starting BCP during this current AF cycle will 'control' the date of your next AF cycle. For your case since you are only eating 2 weeks' worth of BCP, then you wait around 5-7days for AF to report, so it is somewhat like a 21-days cycle rather than the normal 28-days cycle.

But we should not second-guess our doc's intention, so you have to check with Dr Hema on the purpose of the BCP and why only 2weeks' consumption. Different doc practise diff IVF protocol.

rinoa
if u BD, KKH stil say u hv to practice safe sex... even when u're on BCP. That's like extra extra precaution!

Lik wot Ruru said... if u're doubtful, call up the nurse to check.

I know I was told to take BCP at abt the same time each day, doesn't matter wot time.

Ruru,

i only take for 2 wks, coz Dr Hema will b away these 2 wks to conference.

Nothing to do w protocol.

Her timing cannot match w my AF timing, if not i won't b needing BCP

Hi Rinoa,

I c i c. Hmm... then you want to take the BCP so that you can start your IVF cycle in 3 weeks' time sharp? Or you want to wait until your May AF?

rinoa
Oh.. maybe that's why lor.. she want to 'time' ur AF.. so jus nice when she's back.. u can start ur stage 2 liao.

If u dun take.. means u can't gauge when ur nex AF wil come leh n u might mess up their schedule they hv for u. So.. I stil thk better to take, rite?

Ruru,
I have no guts no do HPT actually... Scared of BFN... lets see how it goes... but my HPT kit is not clearblue... normal strips... just like clinic used...

sam
Oic.. I tot u're at home liao.

Nvm.. treat it as 'hotel stay'.. good also lah.. force u to stay in bed most of the time n u wun itchy hand go do hsewk!

Ruru, Haze,

Pardon me coz I'm trying to check w u gals to take or not to take.

At first i wanted to start my antagonist today, but Dr hema not around during ER/ET, unless i dun mind other gynaes on duty. (GOD knows who?)

so BCP is the better alternative now, coz my May AF seemed like ages away.

I want a moo moo baby !! Hahaha...

Sam,

I think i'm glad i switched to SGH, at least no need to give birth in KKH, i heard a fair share of too many horror stories regarding delivery there.

I thought maybe recently they improved ?
Or not?

haze,

Hope i can go home soon also leh.. miss my dogs very much leh..

The food here is good, not like those yucky food, the nurses are very attentive and caring and friendly also..

Doctors attend to you fast if you complain of any pain or watsoever here..

Quite surprise that the service they provide is really up tp standard lor..

Although cannot compare the interior finishings and all to pte hospitals but they are upgrading now to improve and renovation works are taking place at certain depts also..

Riona,
BCP starts on D2 of 1st menstration (9 Feb),I was on 28 days of BCP due to overwhelm at KKH... Started Lucrin on D23 Menstration. My menstration came again on 11 March - 3 days after I stop my BCP...

Hi Rinoa,

Hmm...based on my very superficial knowledge, the point of antagonist cycle is not to have any form of suppression (either by lucrin or BCP) done before the actual stimulation period?

If you are on BCP, then isn't it something like the normal stage1/2 protocol again?

Sorry if I make you more confused with the info.

Ruru,

Part of the reason y i hesitate lor, but if i want AF to report faster, no choice have i ?

Hope 2 wks not much suppression effect lor, usually shld take 3 wks at least right?

Gd morning.. It is the start of a long week again.. Super sianz..

Hi haze
Maybe u r rite.. I oso think maybe vi4 go for bt and now waiting for the result so that can update us the gd news later..

Hi juliana
U sound so positive.. Think u r really going to grad after this week.. All of us will be so envious and happy for u.. ;) in the mean time.. Rest well.. Do u hv sensitive boobs?? That is one of the very prominant sympton..

Hi rinoa
One more step ahead for u.. Good good.. Glad to know the tcm medicine had help u to bring forward the cycle date.. But mine no leh.. End up this cycle take longer as today is my cd32 and i jus ovaluate.. Not sure why.. SianZ...

Hi ruru
Can i check with u how frequent shd we take the complan drink?is it daily?? Thku..

Hi Rinoa,

U pop the pill liao? Then please ignore my earlier posting. I am also not an expert on antagonist cycle since only did once.

Hi Joanne,

Yes, once daily is enough liao.

Hi Rinoa,

Yah, maybe 2 weeks is considered short. Don't worry, your moo-moo cow dream will be fulfil shortly.

Joanne,

yours is typically how many days cycle?

For me i'm always accurate, so if no improvement to shorten my cycle, then proved his medicine dun work liao right ? hehe

Hi Ju,

Don't know leh, my 1st scan is this wed afternoon. Won't have m/s so early right? I thought around 7-9weeks then have m/s?

As of now, nothing much. Just sore boobs and this constant feeling of indigestion (even with small meals).

Ruru,
Just hope that everything goes fine for you and ur bb... i'm having sore boobs + the bumps ard the nipples and and kept eating alot...

Ruru,
very glad u have succeed... U my idol leh.. tried IVF many times... and finally succeed... Really envy you... U have the spirit...

Hi Ju and Haze,

Thanks! Won't be able to tahan so long without you ladies' support. So on the same note, I will be here to support you ladies too.

Hi ruru
Ok.. Thk u.. So u drink for full 2ww?
Hope and wish that u can see ur bb heartbeat by coming wed scanning.. Enjoy that moment...;)

Hi rinoa
My cycle usually 35days.. But i think oso depend on wht kind of medicine u request fr him? For my case, he want me to try natural this mth so my medicine is not abt tiao my cycle to usual length.. My medicine is to help me ovaluate and keep the bb after o.. How abt ur case?? U request him to regulate ur menses only rite? If yes then it means it work for u... ;) i hope his medicine can work for me too.., ;) one thing i notice different is i can feel slight cramp during my o day which is yesterday and i seldom can feel it so strong last time.. Hope this mth i can o successfully w/o any injection...;)

Afternoon ladies.

Sorry to disappoint you all again. I just dont have habit to go online at home. Unless good news then I will be very excited to share with you all.

Yesterday i got brown discharged. I didn't do HPT at all. Today still very very dark brown discharged with clots. Called up the clinic, nurse said have to see Red then consider as 1st day though i told her the discharged is a lot loh. She still says maybe implantation discharged, but where got so much one. Though the flow is not like period, but still consider a lot to be just called discharged.

What worry me most is this morning actually temperature still consider high for AF to come.
So to confirm that I won't get etopic pregnancy, I will do HPT tonight and tomorrow morning just do BT to confirm BFN.

After reading your KKH experiences, I think if I wanna go IVF, will try SGH then.

Vi4n
If u hv faint +ve or +ve, then it's good to do BT n go back to c ur gynae.

Else for IUI, if AF comes full flow, dun hv to do BT liao rite? I didn't do BT for both my SO-IUI leh.

bambi, think u are right.. maybe she is a new nurse. but her crying really scare me. if she did not cry and firmly tell me she is right to inject 0.2ml, i'm still alright that she opened all bottles.

today i went for the blood test. i asked a nurse but she can't answer me what will happen if higher dosage is given to me. well, what can i do then. when i asked for the pregynl, the nurse checked and said they have yet to receive, but they have received a call from the nurse abt that issue. so asked me come back on wed for the jab.

ruru, haze.. thanks.. really hope it's as what u all have said.. duno if im xin li zhou yong or what, the cramp is more painful than the usual pain i experience after the that jab.

eskimobaby, ya.. a week finally past.. gonna wait for mext tue BT before this 2ww can end.

sam, kkh must have done something that cant be forgiven. for my case i also duno how to fight. if to fight, i will start from tps and all the way to 24hrs women clinic.. haa, like every dept i go sure got problem.

hi ju, so envy.. good that everything goes so smoothly. for me, at least the discharge totally clear. breast forever pain...cramp forever there..

hi rinoe, how come for ivf cycle, we can't skip the bcp and start the lucrine/puregon st. away?

vi4n, sorry to hear that.. u dont intend to take BT?

Haze, Gillian, ya. will do HPT tonight and if negative won't do BT. But if temperature still high, just to make myself and hubby 'an xin' then maybe will do BT.

hi,ladies.
Just back from India this morning. need advise for having lucrin jabs.In my 7 days,only twice i managed to have the jabs without pain and bleeding. The rest always so painful and now my tummy have those bruises left. Any suggestions to do it without the bleeding? thanks thanks a lot

elle
Welcome back!

U can use ice to numb the area b4 u jab.. and u hv to poke in fast.. take out fast, then u wun feel it so much.

If u hv bruise there, rub lightly with warm towel.

hi, Haze

How're u now? When will you do your FET?

I only use alcohol swab on the area before I poke. I rang up SGH just now and the nurse says it's because i poke on the blood vessels that's y it bleeds.And I should not rub the area after bleeding as it will cause bruises. Instead i should press the area till the bleeding stop. But it's quite impossible for me to know where the blood vessels are. Think I need to pick the place where i got the most fat then, to be safe.

elle
oh.. u're doing urs at SGH?

hmm.. yes.. no where u can tell here's ur blood vessel. I guess once we get used to it.. doesn't matter if we c blood or bruise liao lah.

I'll be doing my FET likely in end Jun/early Jul.. depends on when my AF comes in Jun.

Oh.. one trick is: once u find that spot that's pretty painless.. always jab around that area the nex time lor! hehe

hahahaha,I also thought so. But dunno why when I jab the same place again, it bleeds. That's y i was so scared. At first I thought could it be the medicine gone bad due to my travelling.Then when I try the next day, I managed to jab on the fat area, no pain at all.The following day, bleeding again. I feel like playing "tikam".Now every morning, my heart will beat faster, dunno will bleed or not.

Ya i do it at SGH as I dun like KKH.Having bad encounters there so decided to change to other hospital and my gf suggest SGH and here I am.

We jia you together so we will graduate soon