Advise on Baby & Maid Exps

rachel,
afraid this is wats going on even though its unfair to the maid. i was also told by the agency if the maid is returned to the agency during her loan period she can say bye to her 2 mths pay.

Rachel,
Yes maid agencies are the real bloodsuckers. Some maids who wish to go home, but are forced to transfer by the maid agency, may do drastics things to themselves or to the families they work for. It's unfair to the new employer too.

Linda,
I never go over my maids things. I don't even search their bags when I send them away. Our valuables are all well hidden, and the maids are not allowed to enter the bedrooms without permission.

Lani,
I never treat my maids as "part of the family". If they are, then I don't have to pay them salary. Some people can be very ungrateful.

Dramaqueen,
It is not easy to find an honest maid. Even if they tell you what happen, they will make it seem like its not their fault.

tamarind,
even when i tell her the cup is not clean, she will come up with excuses just to say indirectly its not her fault. slightest thing also can be denial n argumentative.

i was just telling her last night. if everyday she still behaves like its her first day of work, she will end up going hm earlier dan she imagined. she gave me a totally blur look. i really wonder wats going on in their mind at all.

tamarind
I understand what you meant by never treat maid as part of family....Most of us will think, treat them nice, and they will be very appreciative....what i know, at the end of the day, its headache...thus, I never go to the extend of making my maid happy just because I want her to work better cos it will never work....

Rainbow,
Agree with you. My own experience is we must still keep a distance and make them understand the hierachy. Unless the maid is mature, I find majority of them don't seems to know where to draw the line when we are too nice to them.

Linda,
I use a remittance company that comes to my place to collect money. The admin fee is $20 each time. You need the bank account and the recipient's name. The exchange rate floats with market. So very convenient.

Regarding my clothes, food and personal documents, my maid was not careful when she placed the items back and so I could tell someone touched them. I played some mind games and made her confessed her mistake. Be wary of own family maids because we have three in the family. The other two experienced ones actually taught her about trying my clothes and taught her to make pocket money by lying about grocery cost. As my maid does marketing at supermarket, she did not have the chance to "makan" my money. I know about the other maids because their relationship soured over jealousy and my maid told me what happened and what bad things the other two maid did to my in laws.

Hi all mummies..
need ur advise...my maid is something like Lani's .. a fast learner,and not much issue.. its just the small2 mistakes that we have to close one eye..after all she's a human..only one grave mistake-she had left my son sleeping alone at home just to buy ginger from the mamak shop opp block.I was shocked & upset!ours not even a 2nd flr..but old estate & living top floor..imagine the time taken.2ndly,she already has 2/3 friends here..same vicinity.Recently,caught her sms-ing bangla guy..(which i periodically chked hp under "message box" or "call register"which she kept denying to my hubby when she was being questioned and tht hp is considered hse fone for me/her to call if the need arises.
Now,she wanted half her pay to remit home-no prob,sametime she "instructed" me to deduct $200 more to buy handphone..she's been "pestering/hinting" too abt the hp.Pls share your thoughts...
Im thinking to let her have one,but her hp would be considered house fone too and i have the authority to chk her msgs.How????
Btw ,she's working 1yr plus..
I feel more at ease,if wkends we go my mum's place..as she's quite close with my mum.On the other hand,she tends to give less respect to me just becos..i trust her to handle most stuffs at home.(am a FTWM)

reading all ur posts making me more wary of my maid now as she's quite smart!but we still give her the benefit of doubt as ..she shared her "conversations' with other maids..tht means she quite choosy with whom she mixes with as we have given our rules.she also prays,fasting (optional days)even shared with us how their "islam" religion is in Indonesia.She told me what kind of black magic and where normally comes from..and all stuffs lah..but am still worry to this day ..

nora_effendi,
You should never allow the maid to carry handphone. She will spend the whole day sms-ing to her friends and boyfriend, there is no way you can control it. Since you know she has bangla boyfriend, I would advise you to seriously consider sending her away. It just too risky to keep her. Maid with boyfriend can cause a lot of troubles.

tamarind,thks.
I am reluctant though to let her have a hp.
The bangla fella no more..only via sms they had communicated..but worry la ..she may have another 1 in future.
am thinking to install the cctv too..

Hi Rachel
Yes, agencies are blood suckers sometimes. My maid was transfered too, so she had to had another 2 mths' salary deducted. All in all ten. And worst still, the ruppiah she brought along with her from Indo, was taken away from her WITHOUT recording upon reaching. And some $$ given to her by her ex employer also kena makan by agent. Agent DID not tell us abt this $$. My maid only told me 3 mths after being with us... I count and count and confirm agent makan her money.

Hi Courage
Thanks. But the trouble is, my maid and her family members all no bank account leh. headache lor... I sent back her 50,000 ruppiah (my silly dad gave) in March to them, till now no news... wonder if postman makan liao.

Hi Tamarind
Thanks for sharing your thots... Going thru their things like very invasive hor? Hmmm... me no valuables lah, all them are locked. But just sometimes we do leave money in the house lying around....Then again, not big notes lah. Maybe I sld just forget it and let me continue thinking I got a good maid. hahahha

Hi Linda,

You are right, agencies can be very mean, my maid got transferred 3 times and have to top up the loan and in the end have to work another 4 months with just $20 per month. On top of that, also took away the $30 ang pow the previous owners gave to her. To them, this is to deter them from playing punk to get out of a family. However, it should be a case by case basis, sometimes it is due to placement error and not entirely the maid's fault.

Linda,
if sending money via normal post high chance postman makan. Even sending gifts I would use registered post. I travel to jkt regularly even now they ask for kopi money at custom. And If this can happen so blatantly in city, I cannot imagine the backward kampung!

Singmum,
The maid pays for everything she wants to send, call, buy. I rather give her money or gifts directly to reward good work for motivation. If we pay for things they want, it will become a case of naturally the employer should pay and the satisfaction is reduced.

Nora_effendi,
I cannot imagine your maid can leave your baby at home alone just to buy ginger. Since she has worked 1 year + she should know her priorities. The maid can spoil items in the house, give attitude, all these though annoying still can tahan. But if she once put the child in a dangerous situation intentionally I will not hesitate to ask her to leave no matter how good she may be in other areas. Imagine the child's fright to find no one in the house if he/she wakes up, crying in vain and no one answer. What if he trip, what if he get scalded?

courage,
yep we had reprimanded her on that.That was her 1st time..quite sometime ago..we reminded her that our son is top priority in any case.

Hi Jaci
yah...sometimes, they also subject to emotional abuse. My maid was so stressed at her previous household that her menses stopped for 6mths. When she first had her menses at my place, she was so damn happy. i was like HUH?? Then at the agency, they actually threw away her prayer clothes right in front of her into the rubbish bin. My maid said she cried cos that had been with her for almost her entire life time... and I think also cos she religious.

Hi Courage
Really huh!! Aiyoh, I still wrap the money (one piece) in white paper and then fold the letter around it leh. Still lost ah? Aiyoh, will registered be really safer? I mean will they also open registered letters? Since kampung kampung mah, if got registered mail sure means something impt.... wonder if the postman will lagi more interested to open it.

linda,
it's very common for the ppl in indo side to "makan" anything you mail there lah. that's why should never send money back via mail. can try registered mail lah, it should be safer but still not 100% fool-proof. i helped my maid send a whole box of items for her son, then when reached the post office there they informed her bro to come pick up. then when he picked up they told him gotta pay dunno what "fees" lah, and they anyhow quote him a figure. really very corrupted lor. so no choice he had to pay then they will release the package. so next time round when she wanted to send things back home i got it to be registered, and it reached her house safely.

i was also warned that sometimes if you send a package, some items in the package will go missing, and when you ask them why, they will say it's forbidden or restricted goods, so cannot send, so they "confiscate" lor...

you mean your maid's agency actually threw away her prayer clothes into the dustbin at the agency??!! that is BAD!! can you PM e agency name and address to me so that i know to AVOID this agency? thanks.

Hi lani
yeah... I told my maid the money prob kena makan already... But luckily, cos it was given as an ang pow, she like not very heart pain leh. But anyway, I will let her call home by next week to check if they had indeed received the $ and waiting to save up to open bank account and send details here or really money gone. Very diff for her...family members no accounts, house no phone. Can only call her brother's work place on weekdays during office hours... sometimes, we simply cannot find time for her to call thru Skype on our laptops...

Yes, cos recently I allowed her to do her prayers in her room and asked if she had the white dress which I have seen my muslim auntie don on before. She said it was throw away... Very mean hor? There are people who said tt if they want to come and work, they should expect it alike having to touch pork or take care of dogs....but personally i feel quite mean to throw it away in front of her...Couldnt they just pack it, keep aside and then ask the future employers if they shld be allowed to keep? Will PM you the agent and whether they throw in Indo or in SIN when she is out from her room...

linda,
yah it is very difficult when their family members got no bank a/cs or house phones. luckily my maid has both. her bro has a bank a/c and their house got phone, so it's easy for her to send money (which i do for her every mth) and call home every week. i think my maid's kampung not those very ulu kind, cause i know her 5yr old son attends kindergarten and his kindergarten even has concerts, and whenever he has concerts the teachers will bring all the kids to a beaty salon 1st to do hair and makeup! so cute!

thanks for your PM. yes, i do agree that it's very mean of the agency to just throw away like that, and to do it in front of her. they weren't just trying to assert authority over the maid, but it's an act that is VERY disrespectful to the religion too.

babycutie

Nothing much lah. As I was very sure she moved the things, I spoke with her with an "I know what you havr done" straight faced look and she confessed. maybe she thought i have cctv. I am sure the agency warned them before.

I'd like to know what are the requirements & procedures of getting a maid (e.g. what agency offers, maid loan etc). Never had a maid before & was toying with the idea for a long time. Due to my mum unable to take care, I need to get a helper. Also heard abt the 5k secutiry bond, but not sure is it we have to pay upfront or??

Din wanna read through the archives cos too long lah
Anyway thanks a billion.

Finally my new maid will arrv SIN on 3 May. I will let her stay and train in the agent house for a week before picking her up on 12 May 07.

Do I need to tell my current maid that she can go back on 12 May? She requested to get a luggage for her belongings. I told her will let her buy when the time for her to go is near. I planned to let her buy this coming weekend.

Also wanted her to wash the blanket we supplied for her (according to my mum, she only washed once. She has been with us for 1.5 years...OMG!!! What a dirty chap). After she washed the blanket, I will asked her to use her own if she feels cold.

My mum said no need to let her know. Just ask her to pack up on the day when she is returning. But what about her $$$? Usually they will change to Indo Rupiah right? Can I change for her and show her the receipt? I have recorded all her monthly pay and expenditures. I will show her the papers and brief her the amount she can get and the receipt that I have changed to rupiah after she packed up. Is this ok?

babycutie,
glad that your new maid is finally arriving.

actually your current maid already expect that she will be going home soon right, esp once the new maid arrives? if that's the case then i don't think there's anything wrong in letting her know this weekend, since she will not be taken by surprise about her departure. also since she requested to buy luggage, then of course you need to bring her out this weekend to buy her luggage.

as for her money, i think you can change for her. but before you do it sit down with her and show her the written records and what amt she has now, and explain to her lor. maybe you wanna ask her if her money she wants you to change to ruppiah or not? and whether she wants to carry it all back with her, or does she want you to remit some of it back home 1st just before she leaves. i think it's only fair to check with her 1st what she wants you to do with her money, as it is hers aft all.

i think some maids are scared to carry all their money with them, cause they scared wait in Jakarta the officers there will ask them for "coffee money".

also, before you buy her airline tix back home, check with your maid which city she wants to land in. because not all maids will choose Jakarta. some may choose other places like surabaya, etc cause it is nearer to their home. others choose not to land in Jakarta because they are scared the officers there will ask for "coffee money".

also, it is only fair to give her some advanced notice of her departure so that she can make arrangement with her family back home to pick her up from the airport/bus station, etc.

i think these are the least you can do for her since she is going home already. i don't think it's right to spring her the surprise on the day itself.

Lani,

Thanks for the advice. I will sit down and discussed with her abt her $$$.

As agreed upon, she will pay her own airfare since she did not complete her contract and it is spelt in my employment letter to her. I am getting the agent to get the air tixs for me. My maid told me that she will alight at Semarang airport. The agency just called and informed me that the tix costs S$450.... Wow! that's expensive!!! She said Semarang is far... Is that so???

babycutie,
actually i also don't know where semarang is. but you're right, the tix is very EX! maybe because it's a one way tix.

oh yah, i forgot she was the one that asked to end her contract early. yes, so it is only fair that she pay for her own air tix home. i also have that agreement with my maid.

btw, how much of her salary does she have with you now? is it enough to cover her air tix home, buy luggage, etc?

anyway, i don't think your maid is the type to sabo you or your family if she is told this weekend that she is going home already liao. she doesn't look like the type, cause she looks like the very timid kind to me. besides, i assume she prob will be quite happy instead, cause she is finally getting her wish to go home

Lani,
Yes, she is the timid type. Don't thk she will do anything. Indeed she will be very happy.

But I find the air tickets is very expensive. I have called alternatives and one agent quoted me $233 inclusive of airport tax. Think I will get from this agent. But I have to make a trip down. Its at chinatown point. Will go down after the maid agency confirmed that my new maid passed her medical test and everything is ok. Also I need to cancel her WP online.

After deducting her expenditures, she have S$3176.85. This amount does not include air ticket and luggage bag. Assuming total $ she needs for air tix and luggage bag is $260, she will get back cash of S$2916.85. Its sufficient enough for her. Its a lot of $$$ if exchange to rupiah.

babycutie,
the price difference for air tix is alot! i think your agent quote on the high side leh, maybe they take a cut?

anyway, once you confirm then just buy your own tix lor.

wow. she has almost S$3K to bring home! that's alot! then better ask her wat's the best way for her to bring home the money. it's definitely not safe for her to carry it all home with her on the plane and thru customs!

maybe can ask the other moms here how their maids bring home their money once they go home for good?

I decided to renew my maid's contract. Anyone can give recommendation which agency to approach to renew Indo passport, work permit and bond? I just asked my agent they charge $650 which I thot very expensive.

babycutie,
Semarang is in central Java, the distance from Jakarta, is roughly the same as SIN-KL. But air tickets to small airports generally cost more than to large international airports like Jakarta. Since your maid is paying, then don't care lah.

Last time my maid brought back $1000 only, I gave her in S$ cash. You may want to ask your maid whether she wants to use Western Union. Then she can collect from any Post Office there. But she has to pay the commission fees.

Courage,
I went to the following. They charge me around $300 for renewal of passport alone.

INDOLION CONSULTANT ASSOCIATES PTE LTD
1 Scotts Road Shaw Centre #26-11 Singapore 228208
tel: 6736 3038 6736 3328 Fax: 6736 3181

For work permit I renew on MOM website, costs only $10 I think. But I need to buy the insurance for security bond and waiver from NTUC.

http://www.income.com.sg/insurance/foreignmaid/

tamarind,
Can you give me the mom website where I can cancel her WP?

I will check with her how she wants her $$ to be "brought" home.

Got a burning question to ask. Do your maid use water or toilet paper after she poo? Currently my hse toilet have the tap for washing the butt but my purpose of installing the tap is for washing of toilet bowl.I realise since my maid came, she's been using the tap to wash her butt. I thought it was a little unhygenice as they'll be using hands but i dunno how to put it across to her telling her in chinese family we use toilet paper instead of water. how??

tamarind,

Another question. I suspect my maid might have tooth decay. She kept complaining toothache. I give her painkiller to take. But she said still painful, especially at night. As she will be gg back next Saturday, should I just leave it and let her seek medical when she goes back or bring her to a dental and pay the expense or bring her to a dental and ask her to pay the expense since she has "tender" her resignation with me?

I don't mean to be shrewd but she is gg back already. Is there still a need for me to pay for her dental fees?

When working in a company, upon tendering our resignation, we have no right to claim anything already. Even our bonus will be forfeited if we tender in the month that we are getting our bonus.

Babycutie,

last yr when my maid went back, we brought her to chinatown to change $2k to rupiah.. she brought cash back loh.. she said she will be hiding the $$ inside her socks.. that's wat she did..

Btw, does ur maid has heavy baggage to bring back?? Probably, u will like to standby some cash in case of baggage excess?? For my maid's case, we paid extra $90 plus for baggage excess.. afterall she finished contract with us mah..

jan,
this is a very sensitive issue you brought up. because for muslims, washing the butt (and all your private parts for that matter) with toilet paper is unhygienic and we are encouraged to use water and soap. this is especially impt if we wanna pray, becuase before you pray you need to cleanse yourself, and your butt, private parts, etc must have been washed with water before you are allowed to pray. fyi, majority of muslims wash our butts and private parts with water after we have done our "business". that is the reason most of our toilets we have installed that "tap" that you are talking abt, to facilitate the washing of our butts and private parts.

i don't think that it is unhygienic for your maid to use the tap to wash butt, but if you are uncomfortable with the idea, maybe you can get her a pail and ladle (you know, those very small pails with handles that you can use to pour water) and ask her to fill up the pail with water, and as and when she uses the toilet and needs to wash herself, to use the water from the pail with the ladle instead. hope this info helps.

jan,
I don't see anything wrong with using water to wash her butt. As long as she washed her hand thoroughly after that. She could have been using water to wash her butt before she come here to work with you.

hehehe u know last night when i was a young girl, i oso wash my butt after gg toilet, then use the paper to dry my butt. But I will wash my hands with soap after tat.

But if you r concern abt that, then u just tell her that the tap is not for her to wash butt but for washing toilet. Tell her that water is very expensive here so we don't use water to wash our butt. Ask her to use the paper to clean her butt and don't waste water. U will monitor the water consumption every month. Compare and show her the bill before and after she came. Then ask her to paid the difference if the amount still show the same next month. I may sound mean, but this is the only way to tackle such problem if not they will still go ahead to wash sparingly.

rainbow,
I am not particular with drying inside out or outside in. As long as my laundry and clean I am ok.

Opps did i said last night when i was a young girl??
It should be last <font color="0000ff">time</font> when i was a young girl.

Jan,
Washing butt with water tap is common thing in muslim culture. Maybe if you are unconfortable about hygience then remind your maid to wash her hands thoroughly with soap after that.

Tamarind,
Thanks I will go to the place you suggested $300 is more reasonable. Btw, if they do the renewal I dont need to go to embassy with maid etc. right?

Courage,
That place has a van to bring you and the maid to take photo first, then bring both of you to the embassy, transport is included in the price. No matter which agency you go to, you still must go to the embassy, my colleague used NTUC INCOME, he has to drive his maid to the embassy, no transport included.

courage,
for renewal of passport, employer MUST accompany maid to embassy. remember it has to be the OFFICIAL employer of the maid, ie. the person listed in the WP (not too sure if it's you or hubby). you must bring along your IC as well.

Linda, long time no talk, not sure if you still rem me. You got maid to take care of Tory now? Does your Indo maid ex-Sin? Me having headache now with maid issue. Got to find maid but very luan with what criteria I shd have now. Sigh...

What would you do when your kid told u that maid mop floor and accidently spilled the water into her plate?I question my maid and she just answered me, mop floor, water sure will spill out what....she did not even bother to wash the apple for her that was in the plate.....

rainbow,
How come water will spill to the plate? Yr kid eat on the floor?

If it happens, I will question the maid how come she did not clean the plate and apple? Oso will ask her if that is her plate and apple, will she continue to eat?

BTW, your maid should have the initiative to bring your kid with the plate to the dining table before she start to mop the floor. Isn't that logical?

Baby cutie
My gal was having her supper.She was sitting at the sofa...I question the maid like what you have mentioned....She said she never thought about it...at that time...I asked her was it very wet when she mop the floor...she answered me no.

Apparently she knows her mistake but as usual too arrogant to apologise.Anyway, I also scolded my gal for not voicing out to her at that moment.

Guess her hygiene standard is really not there tho she has worked for another sin employer for 5 years...wonder how they eat her cooked food for the last four years, and till final year, employer has to cater food for the family...