Advice pls: Starting on Solids

Need some advice fm u, my girl has serious constipation ever since she started solid. Her poo will b hard-like pellet. I hav tried giving her veggie n fruits but still the same, wat can b done?
Sori, i don noe whether I'm in the right thread, but I really need some advice regarding tis matter, many thx.

Hi weiwei,
So happy for you!!

Hi sp,
really! Think i will get it together with green peas. Hope she likes it!

Hi mumbb,
If its very serious, you might want to bring her to the PD. They will prob give her suppository if she didn't poo for few days. Or you can also try giving her barley water.

quakers,
i brought her to c PD, PD oni gave lactulose n cream to apply inside the anus, but it don solve the root of problem. One PD said give less veg n fruits, n the other PD said give more fruits n veggie. They r making me confused.
Will barley water too "liang", how much n often shld i give her.

Hi mumbb,

I think that time when my girl was constipated, we gave her twice a week. For one day, my mum made a small flask of barley water and we use that to make milk for her in place of water (that time around 2 feeds of 3oz each). It was quite effective because she poo after dat. You can try. You can also check with the medical hall when you buy the china barley. Hope it helps..

mumbb,
it would also help if you let the bb drink more water. It works for my gal. Alternatively, can try giving papaya or pear. good luck!

Does any1 know the difference between snow pea & sweet beans (shaped like snow pea but the pea/bean inside the pod is bigger). Both can be found in ntuc. Are sweet beans a cateogory of pea or beans?

Wan to give fresh pea but the snow pea is so small while am afraid the sweet bean will cause allergies cos I understand that beans are highly allergenic.

Also, is corn ok? How do u prepare corn for your bb? Also puree? Do we remove the skin of the corn & feed bb the inside flesh only?

hi L S M , Sweet Bean is also known as Sweet Pea.

My bb loves it cos it has a sweet taste. It was one of the first veggies that we intro him to.

Sweet Bean/Pea looks fatter than Snow Pea.

alamak, maybe i m too anxious about my gal's poo, i fed her 1-2 tbsp papaya, 2 milk feed mixed with barley water ysday. Her poo today is a bit loose, though the quantity is half than normal. And lots of wind in tummy, keeps passing out, smelly too. Anyway, has gv her gripe water before sleep....

hv stock up lots of apple-prune juice today. Thanks everyone for yr concern

Hi weiwei,
don't worry.. think shd be ok. i gave my girl fruits and barley water same day b4 too. my mum also believe in giving my girl gripe water everyday but she normally gave her after her morning bath. When my girl was like 3 to 4 mths, she has lots of wind too but she's better now. maybe it does help afterall.

my bb is 22 weeks.shes taking cereal. would like to intro porriage at 6 mths. what ingredients shd be added and muz blend isit? and if we use slow cooker, will all nutrients be gone?

L S M,
I haven't intro corn to my 7 mo bb, so I'm also wondering how to go abt it.

jkids,
porridge ingredients up to u. If u hv blender it's better to blend, save cooking time. for eg, yesterday I used slow cooker to cook brown rice porridge, guess how long it took? 7 hrs! can faint ah
. next time I'll blend the rice grains first b4 cooking.

why slow cooker all nutrients gone? haven't heard of this b4.

to all ladies who r gonna intro peas...

last sat I tried using fresh sweet peas to make peas puree. wah, very tedious & 2 packs of sweet peas only yielded 2 cubes
. next time I'm gonna use frozen peas.

Hi Ray

I am also switching my son FM from NAN HA to NAN or NAN HA to Similac or Enfalac.. May i ask if the mix as u mention above is necessary. Kind of funny to mix 2 brands together. wont the milk hv funny taste

To all mummies
I am also starting my son on solid soon. Sorry no time to ready the past threads. Could any kind soul pls advise on the schedule/qty to begin? Understand we start with lunch first.. do we give 1 tea(table)? spoon of cereal and milk..
btw, do you all give those cereal from medical hall or heinz cereal. Those cereal from medical hall do contain dong zong cao.. ist it okay. Could we mix giving bb both..

Many many thanks in advance.

hi mummies.. my baby has not poo for 2 days after he started on cereal.. juz bought a bottle of Heinz Pureed Fuity Apple, hope it will help.. can anyone tell mi how much to feed as there are no indication stated on the jar? Do i need to mix the puree with water so tat it wun taste so sweet? Many Thanks

Hi Bel,

The last time i gave my bb heinz pureed apple, i mix it into her cereal but she almost want to puke so i didn't continue. For me, when i gave her bottle foods last time, i will divide each jar into 3 feeds since you can only keep max i think 2 days in the fridge. I think if you give her on its own, you don't need to mix with water.

You may want to puree apple yourself. I find that it tastes better.

hi quackers,thanks for ur reply
Ya, the jar food can keep for only 48hr after opening. How do we puree apple for a 4.5 month old baby? Will it help to his constipation? Will bring him to c his pd tmm if still din poo today : (

Hi Bel... I think the best food to overcome constipation is still prune, papaya and banana. Apple probably not as good.

Anyway here is how you prepare puree apple:

(1)Peel away the skin
(2)Dice the apple
(3)Steam the apple for 20 mins
(4)Mash the apple
(5) Serve chill

sp:
indeed v long! coz put in slow cooker for long will cause all nutrients to b gone, like cooking vege like that.

rice cereal:
can we put the heinz rice cereal pack in the fridge?

is the gerber brand like heinz also last for 28 days only? coz its not mentioned in the packet.

sp:what ingredients u use for making porriage?

sp/jkids
So we shouldn't use slow cooker for porridge huh? Was thinking to do that cos cook on stove must watch all the time and it takes so long for the porridge to get all soft (1-2hr). Very le-chey, so trying to find a easier way. Any tip?

ixwong,
I agree with u, very le-chey to use stove to cook porridge, so I'll continue to use slow cooker, but I'll blend the brown rice first b4 cooking to speed things up. Heard it takes only 1 hr if blend b4 cooking, sounds good to me!

jkids,
I find it hard to believe that using slow cooker will cause all nutrients to be lost. In that case, why do ppl use it to cook those herbal black chicken soups for "bu"?

If u r referring to water-soluble vitamins, yes, there will be some loss of the nutrients into the water & hot steam. As long as we make use of the liquid rather than throw it away, we will still get to take in some of the nutrients. Well, at least that is my hope lah, becoz I just bought the slow cooker & intend to make full use of it.

I didn't put any ingredients into the porridge becoz was "testing" out the slow cooker to see how long it takes to cook brown rice porridge. I'm still thinking what to use as the "stock" next time. Hmm...

just wondering.., when cooking porridge for babies, do we need to add seasoning? I tried it last Sat without any seasoning, just with minced pork and broccoli. My son didn't quite like it. (as can tell, I'm no cook :p )

sp
1 hr sounds good. Would u be blending the rice before or after u wash huh? My mum commented that should wash first then blend else all the small bits would be washed away....

I think the loss of nutrient should not be too bad lah cos only cooking the plain porridge mah. Intend to add in fish/veg only when the porridge is done. Anyway shouldn't cook fish/veg for too long cos not nice.

Emmie
i din add any seasoning cos salt/sugar no good for bb.

To all mummies

Seek your advice...tks...
I am also starting my son on solid soon. Sorry no time to ready the past threads. Could any kind soul pls advise on the schedule/qty to begin? Understand we start with lunch first.. do we give 1 tea(table)? spoon of cereal and milk..
btw, do you all give those cereal from medical hall or heinz cereal. Those cereal from medical hall do contain dong zong cao.. ist it okay. Could we mix giving bb both..

Many many thanks in advance.

Hi Lani

Btw where do you buy heinz cereal.. besides the shop at tanglin mall, is there any shop at united sq

Hi Lani

Btw where do you buy heinz cereal.. besides the shop at tanglin mall, is there any shop at united sq

ixwong,
yep, will wash the rice first then blend then cook, hopefully 1 hr will be ready, keke. what veg u plan to put ah?

emmie,
if u read my postings u'll realise I'm the worst cook in town, haha. agree with ixwong we shld not add salt or sugar. maybe u try other vege?

lani,
we miss u, hope u hving a gd time in MEL.

sp,
heehee... maybe we can fight for that title of Worst Cook... think i will try carrot this weekend... hope he eats something.

emmie:
i read that putting ganbei, 1 hongzao(in case heaty) or ikan bilis will make the porriage sweet. if u scare the ikan bilis got bones, u can put it in a bag b4 putting into the slow cooker or stove. if i m not wrong,after 1-2 yrs then bb can eat seasoning .

sp/ixong:
about the losing of nutrients, i read it in ST under the healthcare section last yr. but i do agree it saves time, no need to stir eveytime. haha, im using slow cooker anyway lah.

sp:aiya ...i worse cook than u lah. i hate to cook, no interest yet now i have to crack my mind over what to give my bb...stressful! i cant imagine myself doing the cooking... so when u blend, u add in some rice water to the uncooked rice right? then put in slowercooker?

mummies:
can share your weaning daily schedule? my bb coming to 6 mths, how many milk feed and solid feed should there be a day?

wen we 1st introduce brown rice powder and puree veget/fruits, should these be given on its own or add to milk?

does gerber brand, like heinz also last for 28 days ? coz its not mentioned in the packet.

wen should we stop giving plain rice cereal to bb and switch to cereal wif more variety?

UGENT!!!
where do i get the ice cube tray with the cover?
like to check my daughter is 6.5 mth when i give her solid do i still mix with formulae or water only?

currently she only taking 3 tsp of rice cereal (once per day) with 4 time milk(200ml)...

if i intro fruit do i give after the cereal or mix in with it?

thx for advi=ces

Sorry to 'cut in', just would like to suggest that if you have the time, do go to the library to get some books on starting solids for your bb. You would feel less stressed about it, when you have an idea of what to expect or give. Unfortunately, so far, I've not been able to find any English Language books for Asian babies, so you will have to factor that in. But overall, the guidelines are there.
Some books I used when I started my baby on solids
1) Super Baby Food by Ruth Yaron (very thick book, but very comprehensive)
2) First Foods and Weaning
3) Better Baby Food
Any other book from that section should be helpful. Hope this helps!

becky_cat
Initially, i gave my bb fruits on its own. Just to let my gal try the actual taste of the fruit. When I see that she is accepting well and no allergy I mix into cereal and give it altogether. Not sure if the other mummies are doing the same.

When i give my gal cereal I add formula milk. In fact I put 1 to 2 scoop milk powder into cereal then I add water.

Ice cube tray
I got mine from those HDB household shop.

becky_cat
where u stay/work huh? I got an extra set of BN ice-cube tray that can sell to you. Bought at $2.20 and will let go at that price if we can meetup. Comes in 3 single-row trays w cover (7 cubes each tray). PM me if u interested.

hi ixwong,

may i check is the cube in the tray, individual covers? or one cover per row?

by the way, if they are not , are there any where that sells this item?

thx

Can I check - for fruits that you give your baby, other than papaya, banana, apple, melon, pear, peach, what else can we give?

And for fruits such as apple and pear when you start giving your baby raw, do you find that it doesn't blend easily? I find the texture still quite 'rough' after blending. And how do you give peach?

My baby is 5mths and has been eating cereal for more than 1 week. Currently, I am giving her 2 teaspoon of plain rice cereal after her lunch milk feed. When shd I implement the tier method? And I can add veg puree once she is eating 4 teaspoon of cereal?

becky_cat
1 cover per row. I got them at neighbourhood houseware shop. U want? else got another mummy who would like to have it.