ADVICE NEEDED - How to Handle my MAID

pringles-
You bet! Children very precious in Singapore. I really hope our maids will not use our 'weakness' and pull any funny tricks! So far, my maid has been doing fine. I hoep things will get better or at least stabilise when I start work...

I think some of the rules set for the maid is not so nice as in HAVE TO KNEEL DOWN TO WIPE THE FLOOR... come on there is mop and can use tat to wipe y have to kneel down to wipe

YSL
how's your maid getting along? Sometimes i can really loose my patience when it comes to communicating with her! Sigh, advantage of having a simple myanmar maid from Falam is that they are obedient and timid (eg she doesnt talk to other maids outside even tho they try to approach her when i'm around), disadvantage is that they are not able to express themselves enough! Her english is still rather half past six and i have to repeat myself so many times to get a simple thing across.......do u face the same prob? My second bb is due sometime next mth and I really wonder how much can my maid help apart from routine housework and cooking. My elder girl still very much wants me most of the time, she doesn't allow my maid to do much for her at all. This is my maid's second mth with me.....haiz, at least i got her in 3 mths before my edd....but everything also have to teach her......so sian at times.

yakii-
I think those are only suggestions from mothers. You need not ask your maid to do things that way if u do not like it.

My maid uses MagicClean Wipes to 'sweep' the floor and the common mop to mop it after that. I do not expect her to hand wipe the floor...I wonder when she will finish the job...(hee hee

pringles-
I have started to teach her English (i am a teacher...) so that my 4yo does not pick up improper English. I agree that it is frustrating but I am thankful that she is not Indonesian, who probably would have given me more probs or Filippino, whom might have been too aggressive. My initial months with her were quite stormy too, when she drank soup I asked her to keep for my hubby...etc etc. Now I repeat and asked her if she knows what I want. Sometimes I ask her to explain to me what I want her to do. I also tell her to ask me if not sure or I will scold her.

I gave her a real serious lecture recently when she did not take care of bb properly at my MIL's place and she now knows that I am very serious when it comes to my kids. However, b4 that I had shown her my appreciation through gifts and treat. We are doing well now and she is into her 4mth with me.

I guess both u and your maid need time to adjust to each other. So give her some time. At least u get to train her b4 your bb arrives. I had to train her in the midst of my bb's colicky evenings!!!!! Ai Yah Yah....What a nightmare!

YSL
Yep! I teach her english too - her pronounciations, talking in proper phrases, conjunctions etc etc and even make her watch my gal's educational vcds! Have to keep forcing her to speak up! Even have to teach her simple things like greeting my parents and ILs when they come! Just imagine, my mom says hi to her and she just smiles like a dumb person with her mouth shut! She can tell me in Falam, they don't greet each other??!! She's more of an extra pair of hands and not an extra head to think on our behalf. I guess if she perfect her cooking skills and help me settle my meals independently by the time no.2 arrives, I should be contented enough.

My maid being a five year ex sin and speak very good english....Just sent my son to doctor and asked the doctor to speak to my maid about her eating habit....For info, my maid stand at a height of 1.55cm and weigh 55 kg when she came and now she weigh 50kg. Doctor asked her why she does not want to eat, she said she is on diet and want to slim to 45kg. I told doctor that I had gave her GNC multi vitamin. I am actually not buying anymore as her health, she should be responsible for it....My maid is smart and she is playing on my kindness....doctor asked me to continue to buy her to supplement her health....I am thinking, who she think she is, so choosy in food and yet I have to take care of her health....she is here to work or be miss indonesian.....Later, she pretend and asked me, don;t know why leh....sometime hungry but no mood to eat....I think she is mad.....

Joy747
I don't give my maid a choice of whether she feels like eating or not. Its her duty to keep herself fit and healthy. Just like her consistency to work properly daily, should not be due to her mood. I make sure she eats at least 3 meals a day, and drink lots of water(coz she doesn't have that habit). The quantity at each meal i leave it to her tho. So far she's consistent.

THANKS pRINGLES.

I leave the quantity of food to her too...I asked her what she eat in the morning...she will tell me bread, sweet potatos,veg and some cook food...the detail breakdown is one slice of bread, one tablespoon of sweet potatose, and veg and cook food , is just taste it while cooking for my gal.....so, how to measure in quantity ?sign

Joy747
Wah?? Hahaaa....your maid really sounds abit anorexic leh....keke. I suggest u scoop out her meal portions next time. My agent taught me this at the start and i find it a pretty gd idea

my maid doesnt even know what time my son drinks milk and what time he sleeps. I thought this is the basic?

hello

may i know what breakfast food u give to your maid? For me, it is bread......is it too much if it is bread everyday? Actually oni Mon-Fri as weekend, will dabao food from market. Heehee....when i think about it, think i m not too much hor since i myself have bread for breakfast everyday

Pringles

I am tired in asking and monitoring her...Even scoop up, she will say not hungry now and eat later, and you really do not know what she do to the food...I guess just forget it...sigh...very stress managing her...she can work, just that do not know when she gonna faint

How to teach my maid to be more careful in handling things? She has been breaking things in my house, almost every week she'll break somethings. Be it bowls, spoons, fridge magnets, plastic mob hangers (mounted on wall, yes, she broke it..i duuno how oso), candle stands..and that day more solid..she broke the pigeon bottle brush into 2 pieces! She's been with me for coming to 4 mths only! Everytime she breaks something I will tell her to be more careful next time...yet she still breaking stuff..how ah? The rate she's going, soon all fragile things in my house will be broken. Any one got any ideas to deter her from breaking stuff????

Hi sammi
Wow, your maid sounds like she uses alot of strength when cleaning with the pigeon brush and all other utensils. But i'll be quite angry if my maid does likewise. Have u tried telling her that everything is EXPENSIVE and if she doesn't learn to handle gently with care.....she cannot work for u in the long run. (coz she'll be a liability)Think gotta come down abit fierce on them for damages at home.

hsee
I also let my maid eat bread/biscuits mostly for bfast coz that's what i have too. On occasions she gets to eat nicer bfast treats like fish fingers/luncheon/egg/pizza or fancy buns if i happen to buy for the family. Basically,they should learn to accept watever we eat
So long as we make sure they eat enuf.

sammi,
You should tell her that whatever she breaks, she has to pay for it when you buy a new one. If she has no salary, record it down in a log book and deduct from her salary in future.

I also got one ex-maid who broke my pigeon bottle brush

hsee,
I give my maid a fixed allowance a week to buy her own food for 3 meals a day. She is free to buy whatever she wants. She always buy bread and margarine for her breakfast. It is not too much lah ! Back home in Indonesia this may be a luxury for them.

hi pringles/tamarind,

thanks for your replies....giving her an allowance seem to be a good idea.

hahaha...no need to worry my maid will not eat enuf. i bought ntuc loaf of bread n she can finish them within 3 days. :-0 Me juz let her eat lor since she osso need strength to do hsework mah

hi pringles & tamarind..ya lah..using her "gu" strength at the wrong place. Told her liao that not only r these things expensive, some has sentimental value and cannot be found anymore..still happened lor. I'm not sure abt deducting her salary part coz in the contract its stated "to refrain fm deducting their salary". I'm usually very stern with her when she reports to me she broke something...but still no effect leh. Guess the next time if it happens again...hope not tho...i will tell her i use her salary to buy the things liao..otherwise it will never hurt them!

pringles

I have decided to ban bread at my house.Maid is in the advance stage for her diet. Bread will usually make a person feel bloated and she takes two slice and can pull her through almost whole day....I will see if no bread, what will she takes....She will take something as no bread at home to keep her stomach bloated...just now, she can answer me healthy living by eating bread....

Will update what happen next....

Joy747
hahaa...
your maid is really one kind leh! Healthy living indeed!! wahahaaaa, so funny to read your post!

Hi joy747..why dun u get the agent to speak to her...she can't substain like that...she will hv no energy to do anything, and will fall sick easily. Can feel your frustration man.

I ever let agent talked to her one time...but does not work.Her excuse is always no mood to eat. She is able to substain till today is due to me giving her multivitamin from GNC. Before that, she already sick for many round...I will stop giving her once my boy is big enough and no need her to attend to him anymore...guess its time for her to go home then.....

Pringles, something more funny...I make her right down what she eat...and my advance stage is asked her used her ruler and measure how long is the plain brigatte or how many tablespoon of rice or sweet potatos she is eating...Last night, we scoop around three tablespoon of rice for her and she kept complaining, saying she cannot eat other thing...I asked her what other thing...she says jelly...which is full of nonsense....

I have been kind enough to her...Just saw her asking me to buy bread....I will show her what is BREAD...If I do buy, it will surely once slice that gives the hightest energy level, or calories....guess usually its those with plenty of fruits....or nuts

wah joy747, your maid really go on DIET. y u never consider changing her?? Like tat very stress leh

Hsee

I guess every maid has its own set of problem. I think I still can manage this issue though its very stressful...I yet to see her being impatient with my kids....She knows her routine well and I may just use her till her contract ended unless she fainted....

Stress?Definately, but I am taking this as a challenge...will shop in NTUC later and keep you all updated, what is the most calories dried food I can feed her with small amount tat she is eating or something small portion will never get her bloated..looks like I am on the way to open a school to stop maid from dieting ..hahahah

hello joy747,

understand wat u mean....if she is gd in her work n u still can manage her 'eating' patterns....guess no pt changing maid.....

Joy747
Wahaaa..measure the length of the baguette she ate ah??aiyo....keke. But its true, if apart from her strange eating habits, she does her job well and has great attitude, we just tend to close one eye and hope they can work till their help is not needed. Their health is really their own responsibility, we can only advise them. When she falls ill in the past, wat precautions did u take to prevent her from spreading the germs to your kids?

btw ladies,

how many of your maids are having off days and how often? So far my maid has only completed her 2nd mth with me so have not started off days yet. But i just wanna know what do u all let them do on their off days and how much do u let them socialise?

Hello pringles

I am back from NTUC and make every effort to choose the food for her....Hahahah, its a very high calories cake bread...she was so happy when she sees it .I guess she is choosy and has a sweet tooth as well.Sugar will provide energy, so be it...Cost more expensive than plain bread...but its fine as she is small eater anyway....

I make her wear mask when suspect she is down with a cold. She has sinus problem, so upon thinking its flu, I make her wear it. Feed her multi vit, vit c and cod liver oil as well...
I do not believe in letting maid off esp my maid as she is easily influence and does not have a mind of her own.

Maybe, the more mature type maid will deserve a break.My friend's maid took her day off to take up course offered by the embassey.

Hi pringles...my maid has no off days, i compensate her with $20 instead for the 1 day off entitlement. Didn't wan to go thru the hassle of giving them off days, not only they get influence by other maids, i oso stress as hv to take over all her duties for the day. My previous maid has 1 off day but she abused it by coming back late even on her 1st off day, come back face full of make up and all, and in one of the off days, I found she stole my clothes to wear loh. So becoz of her, i decided not to be so kind as to give off day, dun wan to get angry n frustrated whenever they come home late and give a whole list of excuses...

My present maid has no off days so whenever I'm out shopping I will try to bring her out so that she dun feel so cooped up oso.

Hi Joy747..u really patient with your maid...ya la trick her to eat fruit cake wic is very fattening!!!

Hi Sammi

Thanks for contributing...I am very into calories counter....will read more about fruit cake energy level....but on second thoughts, she will only take small piece...so must go for that type, tear one piece and has to finish all type....Maybe fruity bread...but, went thr the calories counter, not so high as the one that I bought today

Joy747 & Sammi
Thks for answering my question on maid off days. So do u actually ask the maid whether they want off days or u simply tell them that they are not entitled to off days but you will compensate them the money?

And do they get to talk to anyone else apart from your family members in Singapore and the letters / occasional call back to their home? Do they get to talk to any friends in Singapore?

My maid was under the contract six months ago and it was agreed in the contract no off days...no money compensation negotiated too....

I cut all communication for her except her occasional call home now as she has not much money with her...pay loan.

I do not allow any local call and she is not allowed to pick or received calls...

Missk...good questions....I had that in mind initially....I observed her and I know that she has a good heart, employer said the same thing. She loves my boy.Of course, after scolding her, I will saya my maid back...hahahah

My maid was under the contract six months ago and it was agreed in the contract no off days...no money compensation negotiated too....

I cut all communication for her except her occasional call home now as she has not much money with her...pay loan.

I do not allow any local call and she is not allowed to pick or received calls...

Missk...good questions....I had that in mind initially....I observed her and I know that she has a good heart, employer said the same thing. She loves my boy.Of course, after scolding her, I will saya my maid back...hahahah.She also knows that I have camera installed everywhere...Of course, I told her the purpose was to prevent theft from outsides, but the main intention is to see how she treats my boy...

Joy747

I have the exact opposite. My maid eats A LOT! She finishd half a bottle of my kaya in 2 days ah. I took almost one month to finish that half bottle, she only needs 2 days. And the thing is she does not like to eat food left in the afternoon. Whats worst, she dun like to eat overnight rice. i already told her not to cook so much, yet she always cook a lot and in the end left over. i refused to let her throw way the rice , and I suspect she did that a few times.How can she finish so much?

AIYO...really problem huh...Then, you tell her this amount of food is for her one week supply...if more than that, she pay for it...

Just went around to check my maid work...wow, slack alot,....dust everywhere...I told her pls take pride in her work like she used to be. Toilet floor she claim she used dry mop but I managed to sweep out sands and hair show her...went around and show her all the dust gather everywhere and told her off...

hello joy747

can understand wat u mean...tis is my current maid's work standard....get agent to talk to her few times n still no improvement..:-( talk until now i osso sian to tell her off liao...she showed black black face somemore...

pringles
Hope u r doing fine.

My maid gets 2 days off in a month. She long time maid working in S'pore, those experienced type. She used to get weekly off but I told her when we employed her that we can't afford to give her off every week. I dun interfere much with her work so long as she does everything well and takes care of the twins well.
I think we alreadi treat her well.
Like for july, there were five sundays, I let her go off in the evening last sunday to attend church service. She was happy.
I dun mind giving her off as I feel everyone deserves a break from work, we all too rite?
With the new rules, I think employers have to give mandatory 1 day to maids when they next renew the contract?

If ur maid is the new type, a bit tricky cos she may be naive and mix with the whole ppl.

Phonecalls - I think my maid uses the prepaid card, again she is v auto, she only calls in the nites when she has finished everything. No phonecalls daytime and I had no problem with her.

can i find out if any one of you here actually checks on your maid, as in, watch her mop the floor or clean the toilet to make sure she does it the way you have instructed?

for eg. my maid wakes up about 6am every morning, and her day begins with sweeping and mopping the floor. i have told her to mop the floor first using Magiclean, and then again with water. but, i have no way of finding out if she actually does it the way i told her, cos by the time i come out of my room at about 7am, she'd have done the mopping oredi. i guess unless i wake up at 6am and watch/monitor her do it, i'll never know?

also... how much food do you actually allow yr maid to eat? so far, i've allowed her to eat any amount she takes from the common plate. usually she'll eat after i'm done with dinner, but before my husband who usually eats his dinner as supper. i noticed that she eats the same portion of fish as she left behind for my husband... hmmmm, dunno if i sound stingy leh, but fish v expensive wor...

should i 'close one eye' or dictate how much she gets to eat? i feel that if i have to do that also not v nice right...?

gummie,
I don't check how my maid does her work, except the first few days when she arrived. So long as the floor is clean, I am OK. I only check when there are problems.

I feel that employers should always take out a portion of food for their maid. They should not allow the maid to take whatever they want.

In my case I give my maid a fixed allowance every week to buy her own food for 3 meals. So I don't have to worry how much she eats.

If we eat outside, she will never take any food herself (trained by her previous employer). She will always ask me to take for her.

Hi pringles...I told my agent that i want a maid to hv no off days, so they asked her over the phone before she came and she agreed and we pay extra $20 for the 1 off day entitlement. She has a hp wic she will sms or call her family in philippines or call her sister who's working here. Sometime i allow her to let her sister visit her to pass her things only when I'm in the hse.

stylobb...yes with the new law, all maids are entitled to 1 off day at least or cash in lieu. I oso understand that they need a break, but when the maid u employ is new and naive, they get influence very easily...then all sorts of pattern will come out. I might consider giving her 1 off day after she works for 1 yr and subject to her performance...

hi gummie...i will do occasional spot check, ie, i will do the finger test to chk for dust.For floor, my feet very sensitive...if not clean i will noe and i will tell her to mop again.

For food, i will always take her portion out, except for soup, wic i tell her to take her own portion. So far, my maid not a big eater and will keep leftovers for next day's lunch.

hey tamarind, how old is yr maid? did she have any experience working here before?

my maid is 35 yrs old, she is experienced and knows Singapore quite well. i tend to give her some leeway as she has been quite ok in terms of handling household chores n taking care of my bb. she also demonstrates initiative, which i really appreciate.

i guess that's why i thot i shd jus leave most things to her as long as she doesn't cross the line. if i were to change things now, i'm not sure how she'll react...

Tamarind and other ladies,

If I want give allowance for meals for my maid, so that she can buy her own food, what would be a reasonable amount per week - assuming she has to buy for all her meals?

Thanks for the advice.

thks for all your replies to my question

Joy747
I created an appraisal list on housework/childcare/personal social aspects so that i can grade the maid's performance every month. She keeps a copy too. I find it useful coz it keeps her on her toes in performance.

Stylobb
I'm getting on ok. Counting down to edd and bearing with the slight discomfort. Thks!btw, saw the pic of your twins, they look very chubby and sweet

Guess i will have to use my discretion on off days or not for my maid. But so far, i think she's pretty happy without off since i bring her out with me alot. She also uses prepaid phonecard to call home about once a mth. She writes letters more. Thks for the tips.

chin,
I give my maid $25 a week to buy her own food, she is very happy with this amount, so I supposed this is more than reasonable. My mother says she herself can survive on $20 a week.

gummie,
My maid is 30 years old, she has worked for me for 2 years. Before that she worked in Singapore for 2 years for another employer. Her ex-employer is very strict with her, which is good for me.

Thanks pringles for the suggestion.I think apprasial does not work on her as she is already an old bird.

Just make her wash the car porch to let her exercise a bit or her brain is sleeping after six months...Spoke to friends, and many told me that once we do not monitor them, their standard of work will drop cos they are bored in what they are doing...

So, in order to add spice in their lives, I will on and off to check on area has been dust free or not...or has been sweep regularly...if not, she will in return think that I am sleeping all this while....Me got a bit of time in hand as baby just past one year old...so easier to manage now...

My new maid is with me for almost 2 weeks. She has worked here before for 3 yeard. Then this year she worked for another employer for 2 months, got caught for mixing her clothes and the employers bedsheet in the washing machine.

NOw that she is with me, i find her very "jing".Each time i come out from my room in the morning, be it 7am, 8 am or 9am, she is always in the toilet. Asked her what she is doing, wash toilet. Then I spoke to her after 1 week regarding her work attitude. She seldom do that now but nowasdays, i go to kitchen, she will always to washing hands.

Furthermore, she doesn't seem interested to take care of my baby. Once, told her to keep an eye on my bb when having dinner with hubby, went to take a peek. Baby was making some noise, i thought she was playing with her, but then caught her staring out of the window. didn't even bother to respond to my bb.

Not to mention, she eats a lot. Pianz. And she waste water and electricity. Don't use pail to wash toilet, use the shower head to spray.

also she close the door when she sleeps. Should i allow that?

firefly, sack her. I cant tolerate irresponsibility when it comes to my child. well, u can try talking to her first. see if she would change.

Emma,
It's not necessary to give the maid allowance if you always eat at home together with her. You can just cook more, and take out a portion for her.

In my case, I don't eat at home everyday, that's why I give her an allowance which includes 3 meals and teabreak.