A word of caution for pregnant women

shmilyc

Pls pls pay the extra and get a scan done after birth....insist on it... it will save your life

sorry a bit lor soh but pls take time to read ...

i had my child last nov at mt e. with a female gynae natural birth no epidural...
everything seems fine but on the 5th day morning at home i was finishing my light business and changing my pad do a bit of cleaning up.. but i notice how come my discharge keeps dripping non stop which is abnormal the blood stain on the toilet paper is fresh blood not the usual discharge you will find in the usual cycle. i thought mayb if i sit a bit longer it will stop but it doesn't and the best part is something came out like a long strip of (nose) blood mucous. i can even use my hand to pull it out okay... i was afraid i shouted for my husband and my mum but both are in the room with the baby. end up i hv no choice but to quickly settle things and walk back into my room lying down on the bed quickly telling them that i'm bleeding...
i called my gynae but couldn't get her so i called the gp i usually visit (2 okay), both couldn't help as i thought my stitch came out, both say i had to get my gynae no matter what...
when i finally get thru her and she ask about my problem (stitch came out) know what she say... ask me to take cab down to her clinic esp. when i told her i'm bleeding non stop!!! she din ask for further depth just base on a layman's word, so much for a professional

i din take her advice as i'm really scared we called the ambulance the moment my husband carried me up the blood just came out like a dam...its really a blessing for me that after he placed me on the stretcher and on the drip the flow stop...

at the a&e when the gynae came & examine again & ask further in depth then she tell me its the membrane of the child still left inside and if its not clear up i may bleed again (i can just die) this time she apologise to me as she din realise it so serious. i was wheeled for a scan & realised that there is still some left in my womb and i had to go for operation to clean up the thing....what a nightmare....

the next day when i am due for discharge & when the gynae finally came,after lunch hour she says 'i count & count my patient but dun know how i miss out you' Imagine i was a special a&e case just yesterday afternoon??!!..

i am both emotionally and physically hurt as i miss my baby & was really worried if i pass away what is my baby going to do....
(Imagine besides missing my child and the desire to b-feed him, i have to suffer the pain after ops & the b-gorge & the leaks) i dun know how to describe the stress i am under...i had to pay for all this bills which i think if the gynae had take extra precaution to ensure everything has been 'pushed' out during labor... this wouldn't happen.....

hi Shmily,

Your case sounds serious..you should've sued ur gynae for making such a life-threatening mistake. Financially and emotionally and physically u have to suffer. You dont deserve it. So after ur op, is ur discharge back to normal? give urself some time to recover back, since u lost quite a lot of blood. Btw, wat is ur gynae's name?

Hi Shmily,

Sorry to hear about your case. Cannot imagine the kind of torture you went through. Glad to know that everything is find for you now.

BTW, I am expecting and is considering going to a gynae (recommended by friends) at Mt E, is it possible to PM me your gynae's contact? Like to see if it's the one I'm about to visit.

Thank you and please do rest well. God Bless!

all my colleagues here advise me so, even help me check out whether i can make the gynae pay for the subsequent cost but all wud advise a second opinion & even the 'professional dept'(can't recall something like 'yi yao xue hui') says they can check but only advise the doctor on this case and perhaps to act more professionally next time...the channels are not there for me to fight for my right so let go lor...

so far it has been back to normal... had to lie on bed for 1 week and continued on double dosage of iron tabs for 2 mths after the ops...having frequent dizziness but other than that everything seems/looks fine

sorry but i dun wish to affect her job can only offer advice for scan immediately after labor...
i think i will look for male gynae the next time as its heard/said that they are more gentle & understandable to female patients...

thanks for your concern....

hi emonster,

dun worry too much, even if it happens to be her, she shud be okay... u juz take the extra precaution at your end and everything will be fine...

emonster,

or if you are really worried perhaps you would like to try for other gynae like Dr Tan Hang Yang or Dr Fong Chuan Wee (Gleneagle). my colleagues have seen them & looks good...

same case even if you see them always ask for scan immediately after birth

Hi Shmily, so sorry to hear that u rec'd such treatment fm ur gynae. Do take care of yrself..

dun think u have mentioned the gynae's name rite?

so is yrs a boy or a girl?

Hi shmily,

So kind of you to provide a important advice..
Thanks for your info.. It will help for mothers-to-be to pay extra care of their health after birth. Will heed your advice when its my turn to give birth in future..

Best wishes

sorry, I'm a new Mom to be... what do you mean by "the membrane of the child still left inside"?

Sounded quite dangerous and disgusting....

If I were you, I will sue the doctor. My MIL will too.... This is a matter of life and death. Sueing her, mainly not becos of the $ compensation but to let her learn a lesson. The years of studies and her negligence will cause death. You might be helping some young mothers and their children....

sorry, I'm a new Mom to be... what do you mean by "the membrane of the child still left inside"?

Sounded quite dangerous and disgusting....

If I were you, I will sue the doctor. My MIL will too.... This is a matter of life and death. Sueing her, mainly not becos of the $ compensation but to let her learn a lesson. The years of studies and her negligence will cause death. You might be helping some young mothers and their children....

not really sure, guess its the 'thing' that covers outside the placenta...i'm guessing there cud be a tear somewhere...

usually after the birth of the baby, the next thing to come out is the placenta.. the gynae will usually check if it is okay, then the final part wud be to push out all the remaining 'blood clots'

Heard from my friend that her second pregnancy, her gynae oso say that there is something left behind from her 1st preg thus causing the 'water-yang sui' to be like drainage water instead of 'clear' water but her case was okay as the gynae says her birth will clean up everything...

Thot some of the blood clots is suppose to clear during the 1st 2 weeks after delivery. for me I also had some blood clots and water in my womb. Thank goodness my gynae made the effort to do an ultrasound during my post-delivery visit and had to re-open my cervix twice to make sure my womb is cleared up. She mentioned that my cervix closed too fast and had to take some oral medication to ensure the stuff all cleared up. She actually tried to remove it at the post visit but the clots etc were too far in to reach.

Spoke to another friend and realise that not all gynaes do the ultrasound at the post-delivery checkup. Well, I'm glad my gynae bothered to do it.

Hi absolut

My gynae also did the U/S scan for me one week after my delivery. Like you I have blood clots and lots of water...I also took oral medication to ensure the stuff clear up...after one week see her again and did another U/S scan...this time round she say everything cleared up already.

Absolut & aquarius,
I wonder why there is blood clot and water? I thot the nurse or the gynea will keep press the tummy to get all the 'stuff' out after we delivered?

My gynae also did a scan when i go back for checkup but my checkup is like 4 weeks later. wah if i have anything left in there than still in time to cure or not!

Hi Hong

I also dunno leh...she did press my tummy after delivery to push out the blood clots and water but think the rest should come out like menses type. That time after the 2 visits, I visited her one month later for pap smear too. Did you do the pap smear?

absolut, aquarius_888, how come ur gynae so gd did a scan on u??? Did both of u delivered @ kk??

Jus when back for my postal natal chk up on 19/7, the doc c me for less than 5mins, did a pap smear n ...bye bye....so is it normal/ok, he didnt do a scan???

but i remember after delivering my bb, he did press my tummy a couple of times to get the placenta out.

Hi lyn_tan

I delivered at Eastshore. It is normal that she ask all her patients to see her one week after delivery. This is also to check the stitches. My friend who has the same gynae as me also went back to see her after one week.

Nope ... delivered at Eastshore. Dr Heng is my gynae. Spoke to a friend who delivered at Mt Alvernia and she also didn't do a scan so I think it depends on your gynae.

Aquarius, is your gynae Dr Heng too?

Oh yes, my mistake i do go back a week later for a scan then 4 weeks later for a pap smear..

There's a public talk tomorrow on down syndrome by SGH O&G Dept. Thot you'd be interested.

Date: Saturday, 24 July 2004 (tomorrow)
Time: 2pm-4.30pm (1.30 reg)
Venue: Auditorium, 5th Floor, Revenue House
55, Newton Road, Singapore 307987

Fees: $8 per person
$15 per couple

If interested please call senior staff nurse (SGH) Choon Tee at 63265923 (8am-5pm)

2pm: What is down syndrome? What causes it? Who is at risk? Do they have special needs?

2.30pm: Screening tests for DS in pregnancy. Ultrasound? Blood tests? Both?

2.50pm: Diagnostic tests in Pregnancy-amniocentisis, chronic villous sampling

3.10pm: Putting it all together- which tests do I need?

3.35pm: Ready for "Newlife"?

3.50pm: Q&A

4.15pm: Refreshments

Hi aquarius_888 and absolut,
Now u 2 hv just made me so glad I chose Dr Heng as my gynae.....just readg the prev postgs scared me and I'm due anytime after Nat'l Day....

Hi radiohead

Just realised from your posting in another topic that Dr Heng was the one who discouraged you to use epidural. So surprising ... she didn't discourage me leh but maybe coz I told her I wld like to try my best to avoid it if possible. She said I look like I can go without it. But after seeing my miserable face during delivery, she said the next one you want epi?? That's when I told her .... I think one is enough. But guess what ... I'm already starting to think if I want another and when we should start trying.

All the best to you ... dun worry, you're in safe hands.

Hi absolut and radiohead

I think for my case Dr Heng encouraged me to use epidural. She kept asking me if I want or not. Guess it's becos my cervix not dilated so she would prefer me to take epidural then I can relax and cervix can dilate. But I am glad I use epidural cos after administering, my cervix is fully dilated in about 4 hours.

Hi absolut and aquarius_888,
Dr Heng told me no need to use epidural, save money....and tt I looked brave enough! Haha. My hubby laughed n told her looks can be deceiving.....I'll see wat she says when I see her again on Fri. Thanks for the reassurance tt I'm in safe hands.

Herbal,

I've heard that a scan after birth is pretty 'common/normal', this is to check if any 'residue' is left in the womb and if your womb is back to normal, something like that.

Hi Shmily,

I would also like to know who your gynae is as I've just seen a female gynae from Mt E and am concerned whether they are the same person. Pls drop me a line at [email protected]

Would really appreciate it.

Hi Shmily

I am also abt to see a female gynae at Mt E and well was shocked from your experience. Perhaps you didn't want to affect that gynae's job....hmm... but the gynae I'm considering is Dolly Wee, maybe you can PM me or email me at [email protected]
if she is the same one. Just wanna have a piece of mind and not so panicky

Really appreciate your reply!
a million thanks!

Shmily, I also experience what you said.... "something came out like a long strip of (nose) blood mucous. i can even use my hand to pull it out okay... " but didn't think that it's anything that scary. Now to recall, luckily nothing happened to me. I was scared but didn't take it too serious coz I wasn't bleeding non-stop. However, my discharge did last longer than my first pregnancy.

I just gave birth to a baby boy. I think I understand what you all are trying to say liao. The "membrance" of the remaining stuff left inside our womb. After delivery, we will have blood discharge like menses but I understand that they aren't menses.
Over at the hospital, when I was pushed to my ward. Nurse came over to massage my womb. Wanting my womb to contract. I was told to massage whenever I can. 1st time, nurse massage and a big ball of blood dashed out. Looks like pork liver but not as solid. Feeling like a ball of clot blood dashing out of the vagina. Then for 2 days in hospital, I massage my womb myself. The 2nd dash of blood clot happened. So ladies, try massaging your womb after deliver.
I delivered my baby boy at TMC which I will go again for my next child. Super friendly and helpful!

Hey man it's not that the gynae is good if he/she were to do the ultrasound. You have to pay for it ok! It's not FREE!!! *)

Hi Shmily,

The same thing happened to my friend who just gave birth, if she had arrived at the hos later, she would have died.

Her Gynae says this can happen to 1 in 100 pregnant woman.

i also had something to share.I'm a mother of 2.After i delivered my first child,the gynae said,'oops!'then he said the placenta did not come out in 1 pc.My husband was suddenly shocked as he was looking at our bb.I was too exhausted to think of the seriousness.The next thing the gynae did was to put his entire hand inside my womb and did a clean up of it.
1 wk later when i went back to visit him,he did an ultrasound and everything was ok.However, i had discharge for abt 2 mths.
My 2nd delivery was normal.I even asked to have a look at my placenta and it was in a pc.
I guess in this modern society,giving birth is still as 'life treathening' as in our mother's time

hup, my gynae also showed me my placenta right after my daughter was born. Luckily your first gynae was careful. Actually I think that an experienced gynae should be able to make sure that the placenta is completely cleared from the uterus. That's why it is important to get a good recommendation. A GP I am familiar with, told me that there are some gynaes who must be avoided.

Tamarind,

Hi Inuovi here.. hey i would like t noe who is the gynaes who must be avoided leh.. can share by email me?? Thanks alot..

Inuovi, actually the GP didn't tell me the names of those to avoid. He asked me which one I was seeing, then told me that she is good. I supposed if my gynae must be avoided, he would have told me.

Shmily

Sad tp heard yr story. Is this yr first time delivery? I am now trying for 2nd one and have no result after 4 yrs. Feel like giving up. I am also "gynea hop" for my fertility preoblem. Changed many gynea and currently with a female gynea recommanded by a friend. Care to mail me yr female gynea name at following addr?

take care

Hi Shmily,
Can you email me at [email protected] for your gynae name? Reason being is that my gynae now is a HER and she's practicing at Mt.E. She is very popular and I felt frustrated at times because she can be quite ignorant during my check ups. Maybe too busy? Have been thinking to change gynae. Agree with one of the girls that a guy gynae maybe better. Thanks a lot beforehand.

To Missylan

Hi , am a first time mum to be, i read your post and is very keen to know how do u massage the womb. Was it the circular palm down motion? Do I exert force? Did u use any aromatherapy oil?

Hi, Shmily,
Can you share with me the gynae name? Cos my wife is giving birth in March in Mt E. Please do me an email at [email protected]

Hi Jane,
My gynae is also quite popular, but she is very patience towards us..... maybe care to share who is your gynae? Can also drop me the email to share.

Hi Jane,

It's important to find a gynae you are comfortable with. If she is very popular, you will feel short-changed and frustrated with her lack of attention.

My gynae is a guy. My 2 kids were delivered by him. Doesn't talk much but he will answer any queries you have. His clinic is at Central Plaza (next to Tiong Bahru Plaza). Mayb you you would like to consider him. He is under the Thomson Medical group.