A fresh thread looking for JURONG mummys...

Hi buttewaffles,
monkey see money do? heehee.. i dun think at this stage money can solve my son's eating habit.. but I wish I can.. come to think abt it maybe I try to bribe him tmr...

btw, I brought my son to Kindermusik trial lesson today. He really enjoyed himself. Coz he likes music and he gets to mingle with other kids and run ard and dance.. but he still can't really follw the activites..

Butterwaffles
Yes if we earn that much, think most of us will go for the real good one.

To reach 922 has only 241 n 99, how come they open it such far in? Why not more central like my first skool?

Yes, for brand of CC, think only people in the industry or parents try a few CC will know. From the kiasu forum, someone commented it also depend on how each centre deliver the curriculum.

For this tarmarind, I had seen she comments in kiasu forum about this jur west PCF 66x and I also has a blog
about maid under this name. Is this the same person?

Little sunny,

Ya, I know the budget n convenient n caring + patient teachers are most important, with bright n clean environment.

ashwen, wow good! Then will you be continuing this kindermusik lessons for your boy? Your boy is still very young wor, keke, so of cos can't follow yet i supposed! But good to know he enjoys the music, at least he enjoys it! You got to sit in as well? It's not cheap hor? ^^ I understand, even my boy, not light for his age but sometimes when he refuses porridge or milk, i get worried too so i can imagine your concern when he goes childcare. From my personal experience, parents must be hard-hearted enough for the first few weeks, to allow time for the child and the teachers to get used to one another. I'm quite lucky as i think when my boy joined 922, he doesn't really know what's going on yet. He did cry on & off but he truly adapted within 2 weeks. But for older children, it will definitely take a few months so you have to be prepared that for the first few months, teachers might feedback that your boy refuses to eat. You will really feel the heartache but have to be determined enough else you might end up getting a nanny and sending him to normal kindergartens.

batbat, i think we are talking about the same tamarind! Yes yes, i think her gal is at the blk 6XX plus kindergarten. But that's a kindergarten and not a childcare ah, so i didnt really take note. If you go to http://www.pcf.org.sg and look at the locations of the PCFs, you will realised most of them are not 'super' convenient ie. not near mrts or lrts. And they don't really expand so fast, like My First Skool. Unless you fang xin let your maid travel with your boy, else it is best you aim for those within walking distance, because you have to assume you'll have #2 and #2 will go to the same centre wor. I agree, it's always the teachers. The teachers make all the difference. And we are talking about childcare centres, so the teachers don't only teach, they are like nannies as well, so they really have alot more to do, unlike teachers in kindergartens i supposed? I think communication is very important. Need to find the appropriate method to get our message and needs across, this is what i've realised since sending my boy to 922.

Butterwaffles – yeah, so my colleague is “forcing” her daughter to go for ballet and piano.. and he is actually telling me to plan what CCA I want my girl to do in future and start planning soon.. I was like thinking maybe should let her choose her own interest, but my colleague was very against it, saying that we should not let the child has a choice. Then tell her that she must do this etc.. Abit extreme but so far his daughter was performing very well in school.. Maybe depends on child too..

RE: Ladybird book
If you know the price let me know.. if ok then I don’t mind order and share shipping too..

Ashwen – erm, the Ichiban wont help potty train the kid unless we already started training at home. Meaning if your child can say or point that wants to go pee/poo, then they will bring.. they will not start off the process. This is what the principal told me as she said there are too many kids for teacher to potty train all of them.. And as for kindermusik, it will take a while for a child to follow.. Cos its quite repetitive for the welcome and bye bye part. So usually after few lessons, the child will be able to follow on and enjoy le..

RE: 922 IFC
I really highly recommend that place, so if possible can let your child go there loh.. cos the teachers are really caring, going a further step to take care of the infant. And anything they noticed they will highlight etc.

batbat...my ger now not in any CC, i have withdraw her from LSH months ago...and so far havent got any plan to send her to any CC

morning.....

haha.... all mummies busy looking for cc hor.... well for my case... pretty confirmed case 妹妹 going to MMI.... haha cost is huge but no choice i got no better choice that .. as nobody to able ot help to fetch 1 at 1 CC... if not I will fainted rush in the morning and evening.....

talking about parent volunteer and RC.... it is depending on each individual.... for Jurong Area... actually there are not much school that have affliation so...... not much choice..... i was originally planning to do for Ruilang... in the end also never go and do... was told by my ex school mate... he did and was under ballot and din get in.... haiz...

butterwaffles,
For the ladybird series, let me see see look look first? Any where (like popular) I can see a sample n how much?

How about Leapfrog Learning DVDs 5-Pack? Where to get? Any roughly how much?

cheesecake, as much as i would like to dictate my boy's future 'hobbies', i don't think i will have the heart to. Even if i can force, don't think he can forced. My boy is very strong willed type, the 922 teachers say he really is a challenge, that the infantcare side is very quiet if my boy never come, wah lao eh! lol. My mum tells me to start to toilet train my boy now by periodically bringing him to the sink and asking him to pee. I will start when he can stand because i cannot hold him up at sink level and wait for him to pee, i cannot tahan his weight, hahahaha! Your girl how huh? At home she got use the 'urine pot'? My nephew is close to 3 years old already but also haven't kenna toilet trained as he is fully taken of by my auntie at home.

re: Ladybird book
So cheesecake and batbat interested?? I will go find out and PM you all. I don't know if Popular sells this, hmmmm. Maybe i will go JP and take a look first. As for the Leapfrog dvds, i've just finished watching Let's Go to School & Letter Factory. I'm impressed! The Letter Factory is good, esp for mummies who have no foundation in phonics! Now the song keeps ringing in my head, hehe. But i still can't get the pronounciation for some alphabets, they sound really odd to me. I bought from a spree organised by this mummy Bubuchan
I highly recommend this! I bought 2 volumes, i think total got 7-8 dvds with flashcards, for $105 like that. The 2 volumes i bought are mainly for English & Math. Actually no need to buy so early but i buy now because i want to learn also, so that i can guide my boy next time. batbat, you got robinsons card? Robinsons' post Xmas sale always have great deals, that's another time to get your kid's stuff if you don't want to order online ah.

cutiebb, your gal ok liao? No longer falling sick? I hope she is feeling better ah...

poshies, i can imagine the financial strain on you and your husband! But like you said, how to divide yourself into 2 and fetch 2 to 2 different cc everyday?! Unless you start work at 9am and end at...4pm??! *sweat*

Butterwaffles – test the teachers’ skills mah to handle your boy! Haha.. erm for toilet training, i prefer to start when they can understand that they pee/poo. Currently my girl can point to her diapers when poo, but its after the poo! Then she will point that we should go to the changing mat to change diaper haha.. Sometimes when she pee, she will also point but its after that kind.. So I tried once when she point to diaper, I put her on the potty but nothing came out.. think she don’t really know how to express yet. So I am planning to wait a while more before starting the toilet training. My SIL’s gal also not toilet trained until Nursery becos FIL didn’t take effort. Then becos early this year when she is starting nursery so no choice have to train loh..

RE: Books
If popular sells it, then we can use popular card to buy maybe cheaper.. cos now they having a promo 20% discount voucher in the Pop book.. anyway, later i going to book fair at Suntec, maybe I go and see if I can find it there.

Some of you earlier wanted to find out more about maid. This blogs gave some information and quite helpful.
Tamarind's blog about maid
http://singaporemaid.blogspot.com/2010/09/maid-broke-toddlers-bone-sep-28-2010.html

Tamarind's blog about Jur West PCF "E" kindergargen
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=72&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

Tamarind's blog about reading and phonics
http://tamarindphonics.blogspot.com/
(have not read)

Wow... anyone know her? She like a super mum? Working, blog, forum, resoureful and got 2 kids to handle?

Re: books

Hi butterwaffles,

I'm also interested in d ladybird books tat u mentioned.Pls keep me posted too. Keke.As for d Leapfrog letter factory, tat is suitable for hw old kids?Does Robinson sells d leapfrog DVD also?

wow... i had finish ready.... actually when i read the comment of mmi... that reminder me on when my boy start his mmi there which is very true... most of the mummies which the comment is truthful with their comment..... and there are times when i'm not happy with certain teacher... even my boy... but overall i can see his is enjoying his stay... and i personally see lot of slibling in the centre... which even tohugh their cost is high there are lot of mummies either able to afford or like me up with no other choices....

RE: Books
I saw the Ladybird books at Bookfair yesterday. It cost $4.82/book with 20% discount. Total is 36 books, so the cost will be $138.82

JTS :
Event : MPH Warehouse Sale Dec 2010
Date : 17 – 19 Dec 2010
Time : 9.00AM – 9.00PM
Admission: Free

Got time cn go check it out

cheesecake, it's not easy to toilet train a child unless the caregiver is very motivated and disciplined. That time i was talking to the principal of Pat's Schoolhouse, she was telling me usually, she gets kids whom are fully taken care of by grandparents or maids at home until 3, then when they come, 9 out of 10 are not toilet trained de, it is very common. Even more so, if the grandparents are caring for a few children at any one time. The bookfair you've mentioned is where ah?? I was telling my husband yesterday about the books and he suggested we don't buy the whole 36 books first, maybe can buy the 'a' series first, like 1a 2a 3a etc first. Hmmm....

mummypooh, the Leapfrog dvds, i think suitable for children aged 3 and above? But i think it's alright to buy earlier and watch yourself first? Hahahaha...that's what i did lor. Im still trying to figure out the correct pronounciation for some alphabets. I have no foundation in phonics at all, so am hoping to learn myself first because it seems like kids should learn their phonics before they embark on reading simple words. Robinsons does sell the Leapfrog dvds but i think the variety is not alot ah. I might be gg to Raffles City Robinsons later, i check it out and let you know :p

batbat, i don't personally know tamarind but i think she is a SAHM? She is very disciplined i feel, when it comes to teaching her children to read. Did you see the kind of materials she prepare for teaching phonics to her kids? Amazing....

poshies, are u using any funds from CDA to help pay your kids' childcare fees? Your elder one how old already huh?

cutiebb, looks like your gal cannot be in aircon for too long? Last night my boy was whining on and off half the night, then i realised the aircon might be too strong. I quickly switched off and he slept throughout after that, never wake up for his 3-4am milk feed, hehe. Think children really more sensitive to temperature. So what's your plans? Maybe let her stay home until she starts N1?

ashwen, great info thanks! Do you plan to go?? This weekend i'm hoping to go IKEA at tampines, so i might have time to go Expo, just not sure if i should drag my boy there.

Ashwen – wah the MPH at expo.. too far for me le..

Butterwaffles – the Popular bookfair is at Suntec convention centre. Maybe I will also buy a few books for now too.. Think if later lunchtime my colleagues wanna go there, then I grab a few first..hehe.. U want to buy? Maybe I can help you buy if I am going...
Yah, the toilet training really takes effort. Last time my mum really took pains to train my younger sister, cousin under her care. And they are well trained way before nursery..

cheesecake, the bookfair until when?? I can go during lunchtime too but today cannot because im having lunch with my colleague at Raffles City ah. Eh, if you buy first, make sure you buy those that says Keywords Reading Scheme, the Peter and Jane series one. Thanks for offering to help me buy! Hehe...so nice of you, its ok, i can go recee myself tomorrow lor...think i might buy a few first, on the advice of my husband, hahaha. I have no Popular card, meaning no 20% discount for me right? Hmmm...i wonder how to start. As in, i don't pee standing up so i really don't know how to guide my boy. Wuhahahahaha.

Butterwaffles – Yup, I saw the peter and jane range yesterday.. Aiya no prob.. we live so near each other so ok lah.. book fair until 19 dec. If possible go on wkdays, cos wkends super crowded.. Oh about the 20% voucher for members, its to be used when buy at bookstore. If buy at book fair, no need voucher, can get 20% off already.. Yeah my colleagues confirm going, so later i going to buy a few.. tonight can tryout on my gal haha... Erm, then toilet training must leave to your hb liao haha...

butterwaffles...i tink lstly is my ger not suitable to aircon too long, like wat u say cos since young i seldom let her sleep in aircon room de...2ndly i tink LSH really got fengshui pblm lar, and i think alot of students withdraw liao...cos i got a gf she nv register just call up and enquiry and at that time, LSH told her wun hv any place for her son till many yrs later...so dun need to be in waitlist, but she received a call recently lor...surprise right...haha

i hv enrol her to nearby playgroup for N1....for 1 yr and then will find another school for her to start her N2 onwards...hehe...next yr will be headache...hehe

Cutiebb – your gal same as mine.. when I pulled her out of LSH to non-aircon IFC, now CC.. she is ok.. but for LSH, don’t really think its fengshui problem.. i feel its the ventilation. Actually the place is very clean but just lack of fresh air becos there is no window except the IFC area, which they seldom open too.. so though the place is very clean and mop the floor 3 times a day, the “stale” air is still in the environment.. this is what i feel, cos got an IFC teacher, her own daughter is in the CC.. she also told me that her daughter is sick almost every few wks but she got no choice so have to let her stay there..

My comments about CC after all my visits. I don't want to name them. Some on weekdays when I pop by while on leave, where some are on sat, some after work. Some are some weeks ago, some are the past few days.

China auntie use her hand to "push" the forehead of a boy and ask him what are you trying to do (if i didn't hear wrongly).
Nake boys and girls (from 18mths to 6 yrs old) running around while waiting to bath. I see from the windows outside!!
A teacher "scold" a newbie unkindly.
While waiting for their meal, students make a lot of noise, with one put up his/her leg and another beating the table. (kind of no manner and rowdy to me).
Those K1 or K2 girl open leg big big (till can see ...) when sitting on the floor. Teachers seen bochap to correct their posture.
Meal serve is so-so.
Dustbin got ants crawling out.
Toliet is smelly.
Toys are old (n some broken).
The place is a bit dark as in the lightings not clean for some time or not enough lightings?
Place is messy.
Got one (think K1 or K2) open the door and walk out her own.
One principal her table n chair is high and I "felt" small when sitting at the visitor chair.
A few N1 or N2 looking out the windows at the playground and seen to envy those children outside playing at the playground.
Some principal/Sup seen aloof, keep a distance and don't feel like to "entertain" me.

One comment thing I realised, all teachers scold the students when mis-behave, naughty or not lisenting.

Conculsion : Cherie Heart
However, they also have a few of those negatives above but acceptable to me as I realised there isnt any perfect CC (within my budget range).
Why I choosen them is mainly due to distance (for >5 mins walk or park the car at own carpark and walk over) and there is "shelter" in case of raining. Open till 730pm. Students are more well behave. Communicate with the principal and Sup is better. More importantly, I prefer not to eat, sleep, n study together (if I have a choice).

I had choosen Cherie Heart over Carpe Diem due to the distance and opening hour. I would say Carpe Diem is really a nice envirnoment to be. From my place to there, it is 10 mins walk, no shelter and car must drive to there (instead like cherie heart where we can park and walk over).

I do not know how really good the cirriculum or the teachers are nice or caring or how they delivering the subjects. All I can say is only upon in it, I will know then.

For 922, the distance is a problem and no direct bus. Just too bad for me. Thanks to cheesecake and butterwaffles for their advise and encouragement.

Little Sunny,

I prefered not too.
Cos it just happened I saw some of it unintentionally.
Maybe Cherie Heart also got something that I didn't "catch"?
But, the 1st one is really unacceptable for me lor.

Yes, booked.
I can say the place is not the most ideal among the rest due to its typical HDB CC flooring, deco, a bit messy/dirty and lift construction. The distance and opening hour is a plus point and I feel comfortable with the principal and supervisor (can't say they are real super good or nice but feel more better compare to the rest).

Hi batbat,

I didnt booked Cherie heart partly becoz of the upgrading.. tot is quite dusty..
But I think by the time ur gal joins .. shd be ok already.

Little Sunny,
Yes, it is dusty but not that bad. I saw lift external is already build up. Think they are doing the internal now, hence maybe another 3 to 6 mths?

I remembered you mentioned you need to place your son in by Mar11? Any reason why? If it is urgent, I guess have to book soon to aviod delay.

Hi batbat,
my MIL who is taking care of my son now will go to stay in Yishun to take care of my SIL's new bb edd Feb-11

my mum will take care of my sis's new bb in toa payoh edd Apr-11

I place my son in waiting list for abt 5-6 centre. I am now casting the net to see who wants to take him in.

I don wan to bring my son home only on weekend, and I really don think we can travel daily to Yishun / TPY to pick him up.

Hi batbat,
tat time i visited CH.. abt 2 mths back.
I could smell the raw wood smell. while talking to the teacher. I kept sneezing.. but i got sensitive nose.. my son like me.

cheesecake, how? Managed to get any books for your gal? Im hoping to teach my boy phonics first before starting him on simple 3-letter words but my phonics suck, still trying to master it.

batbat, so the CH you've booked is the blk 700+ one ah? Don't worry, no matter what, your child will decide if it's the right cc. We can try our best but if it's not suitable for our children, then we will change. It's really hard to get a perfect cc, like you said. That cc sounds terrible ^^ But i know for some 'terrible' ccs, its because the parents don't want to switch anymore, the kids already nearly K2 or something so have to tahan.

ashwen, don't worry, initally i was quite worried about my boy falling sick very often too but so far he is okay *touchwood* But i have to say its because there are windows and they are always open. But behind got carpark undergoing upgrading so it can be very dusty too...I hope you can get a place for your boy at MFS next to the mrt. Taking 2 days leave is nothing...so far my boy has fallen sick twice (2nd time false alarm, doc say its only sinus) and every time he falls sick, confirm 3-4days gone for me. Now that i know why he always have runny nose, i don't feel so worried anymore, at first wonder why he is perpetually dripping mucus. So young already sinus, i also don't know how. Doc say if he has sinus, it's very important to keep his nose clear. He's reluctant to give antibiotics to my boy as he is still young so he only give a mild flu medicine. Now you starting your boy on supplements already? Since he has to go cc in March liao?

Little Sunny,

IC.
But, you have to let your boy to start earlier in case not used to environment n sick often.

If really by then, dont have how?
I just remembered I know a Jurong Mummy whom is a nanny too. You keen to find out more from her while waiting for CC? Or maybe you already know her, think last time she also chat here.

hi butterwaffles,
I also really hope ny son can go to MFS. But I am in Q 40~50ish range... how to get in..

Supplement- I give him colostrum in milk powder form and Delrosa. I tried to give him Scotts Cod liver oil (plain) He found it so disgusting, he puked immediately..made him heartache.. so nvr give him. He dun like sour stuff so did try the orange flavour. now waiting to let him try the gummies Multivit gummies ILMM intro.

butterwaffles,

Yes, the 700+ one, I staying opp, near Pioneer Mall, hence can make use of the nearby traffic junction or overhead bridge to walk over. So ultimately, this is the one after much consideration. It is a over budget as initially I calculated and we felt comfortable for less than $350. But, this is not possible as MFS is low chance and 922 is far away from us. After calculating, top up another approxi 100, i hope it is worth it.

Anyone reg online before for Brightkids?
I did 2 months back. Just now I called they say dun have any records. Ask me to reg and Q again.

Batbat- aiyo, what you saw is really terrible leh.. makes me wonder if my current CC also like that, just that we are not aware...

Butterwaffles – Guess what? Ended up I bought the whole set! Haha.. I was with my colleague, then she was saying since got 20% off just buy loh.. So, I carry one big bag of books back to office! Later still gotta bring it to my mum place cos my gal is over there as Ichiban closed. Luckily my dad is driving me home tonite, else duno how I going to bring back.. I also think my phonics sucks too.. So far my gal can recognize some words, don’t know is it becos from watching DVDs or learn in school..

Hi cheesecake,
wow ur gal so 'li hai'.. my son bo chap me whenever i try to teach him with flash card or book.. he dun wan to see, he only care or get excited when there is car/ airplane/bus/bicycle/cart/ basically any form of vehicles/ transpt etc with wheels in the books / cards so typically boy. Our flash card session always turn into tug of war session or flying card session.

now everyday he just wait for me to come back so I can carry him up to see the car model collection his daddy owns... always aim that we open one for him.

cheesecake,
I think no one can say which CC does not have such thing. If today does not happen, it does not mean it will not happen in future. Example the CC employ new teacher and she "abuse" the kids? Or the hygenie standard drop due to high cost to maintenance?

Guess we need to be in it, then we will know how good it is or how well the principal/sup/teachers handle when things occur. Just like 922 infant care, only after yourself and butterwaffles gone thru and know it is recommendable to the rest.

Ashwen – when younger, its very easy to use flashcards.. but when gets older, think after 8-9 months its harder.. so after that I don’t flash cards anymore.. but she loves to read books and watch those educational DVDs, so not too bad lah.. so nowadays my hb and i don’t mind to invest in books for her.. also becos she don’t really like toys, weird girl hor! Only like things that are non-toys, like boxes, paper and recently her daddy hp pouch.. I tried to give her another one, but she can sense the texture is different then took that pouch and throw in dustbin somemore.. faint..

Batbat – yeah, thats very true.. only when really got experience then know

Hi Cheesecake,
ya I agree now very diff to use flash cards.
I bought math dots and chinese card hvent even open to use yet.

haha.. last time my niece also dun like toys.. she like the plastic bags. If u give her a new item in the wrapper plastic bag.. she will remove the item promptly toss it aside and play with the bag..we use to joke that so easy can save $$.
Now @ 30 mth old, her toys are iphone, ipod touch and recently ipad!! .. no more save $$
when her daddy come home she will jump up and down.. shouting ipad ipad

cheesecake/butterwaffles/little sunny,
I just hope i make a good choice bah.
Done my best within my means and hope for the best.

Ashwen – no wonder the books always say must start flashcards early.. really makes sense.. at least yours is bought.. mine I made myself.. felt like super waste of my efforts haha.. nowadays kids are funny, prefer “special” stuff.. my gal too, if toy is in plastic wrapper, she will hold the wrapper and play with it. But if you took the item out of plastic, she will throw away the item.. Think kids now are very good life hor, all the IT gadgets.. wah.. your niece still can shout ipad haha..

Batbat – don’t worry so much.. everything will work out

My niece is nickname Gadget Gal. She can operate all the electrical gadgets at home. She knows how to switch on dvd set, swtich the TV set from SCV mode to dvd mode and play the dvd.
Also can operate hubstation to playback the pre-recorded cartoons.
Can recognise and remember which phone model which relative is using. once we brought her to Singtel shop she name each phone displayed and who is using. my phone is white, but the same model on display is green. but she knows and point to it to say Ah-yee... we were super duper amazed. My mum even tell her she is wrong. But she still insisted the phone is Ah-yee.
She can now operate iphone, ipad etc without much help to navigate to the app game she wants.. more super than me.