A fresh thread looking for JURONG mummys...

Mummypooh – yah i ask that question just now, but officer said apparently the place is very small, can only have one class of toddler and based on MCYS guideline, its 1 teacher to 8 toddlers so only one class..

For ichiban, there are 2 toddler class of 8 students each

Batbat – think my hb colleague should have higher chance.. cos my hb ask me to register online after his colleague told him and its abt more than 1wk later before I register.. wait for his colleague to call then i see whats his Q.. hehe.. but anyway, try to look for more CC thats suitable and put down on waitlist first..

Ashwen – agree with u.. esp my blk there, all young families.. surely tend to have more babies/toddlers one... but if they open more CC but availability is like this 648 then a bit not much use, cos can only accept so little children

Ironically, when I call to enquire abt toddlers class at Daystar. They told me tat there no demand for it, so no point set up a class for toddlers. But I tint d reason shld be they dun have d resources & capabiity for tat bah. Keke.

got demand!! I wan I wan!! It is beside my block.

<font color="0000ff">Toddler Ratio
MFS ration is 1:8???? Carpe Diem is at 1:6.. so my boy has 2 teachers for his todd class and at 1 pt in time, there were only about 10 students. that's effectively 1:5.

I prefer lower ratio, den at least my boy get more attention
but i heard oso long waiting list.

batbat / ashwen
ya.. fees at $420.. a little high.. nxt yr my 2nd boy oso going in le.. imagine $800+ on cc fees, den plus my maid salary... wah... 1+k gone liao

cheesecake,
When did you register? Actually I didn't know the new one there till last month when I saw "orange" building and went to their home page to check. I had registered the blk671 at 1 or 2 weeks earlier. I must had missed out back then.
Correct, think I must seriously source out of my comfort "zone" to further out like those Blk8++ and Blk9++ (beside 922). That time I randomly called a few but I can't really recall much of the information. Some ask me to arrange to drop by, some ask me to call next year?
My colleague say I very kiasu some weeks ago and cannot believe today when I told them of my "bottom" Q.

Lovemaxmax,
Yes, I remembered the ratio and saw from their website. The place is really nicer compare to brightkids n brightsun. Let see how it goes.

Hi Ashwen,

Ya lo, I also wana coz Daystar is also v near my blk.bt too bad they dun have toddlers class. Maybe we mummies shld call them, then they realize there's a high demand for toddlers class. Keke

batbat, your colleagues are mothers? Or they are those who have people to help out until their kids turn 3? I don't know about them ah but personally, before i decided on IFC for my boy, i already started searching for cc when he was barely 5months old, so effectively, i started 'enrolling' myself in the preferred schools like, 13 months in advance! But again, thou i visted sooo many schools, i only put my name on 2 and 1 of them is Ichiban. The 1 hor, till now boh news, super duper popular. A week ago, they emailed me to ask me to consider another branch near the original branch i was considering because there is just no space. But i doubt any mummies here will be interested because it's not near to Jurong. But anyway, its Learning Vision at Fusionpolis but next time will be damn convenient cos its just next to the future One-North mrt station.

ashwen, end up my husband did submit his name on waiting list for IFC at My First Skool next to Pioneer mrt. But i can tell you now, i won't switch even if there is a vacancy thou its much more convenient for me, because my boy now is doing very well in 922 and i really feel very assured leaving my boy there. I don't mind walking more, just take it as exercise lor, hehe. For cc wise, i've already put myself in the list for them to call when the new PCF at sengkang opens next year so next year, i'll be a 'sengkang' mummy already. By the way, i've managed to rent out my MBR, hope won't face any problems ah. This is just my personal opinion for mummies who already have children in cc and are considering to switch due to reasons not related to the children themselves &amp; the teachers. If the kid is doing well in school, has friends and is generally progressing well, plus the turnover rate of the teachers is low, it is best not to change school, unless this school is really super duper out of the way. Because i really think a school is nothing without teachers. No point changing to a school that is very much nearer to your home, only to realise the teachers are not up to standard but this is provided the current school's distance from your home is managable because travelling to &amp; fro to fetch your kid is very demanding too, esp if it rains or mrt breaks down (happened to me before!). As it is, its already not easy to get a satisfactory cc in jurong (but now, i've realised sengkang/punggol's supply of cc is even more miserable), so if any mummies here have already found 1 you and your child are happy with, stick to it better! As for the rest of the mummies who are still on the search, take heart, one day you will surely manage to find a centre for your child, just need to take more effort to monitor some websites closely and surf more regularly because i've realised some forummers here are really very well informed.

butterwaffles,
Haha.. they are either single or kids grown up. And, staying at north or east (none from sengkang/punggol/jurong west area where many young families).
Butterwaffles, did you visit Carpe Diem and Cherie Hearts? How do you find them?

Jurong mummies,
Other than the few we had discussed about the past few weeks, on the MCYS list, there are many others. Have any comments?

Learning Seeds
Little Wonders Montessori
Kidzone
Kanooka
Wonderplace
Motherwell
Happy Kids
Joyland

At Boon Lay, there are another 3 (Cherie Hearts Key Elementry, Vithya n Rainbow).

HI,
how abt Whispering Hearts @ 688?
Is it good?

I went to Wonderplace. I find it a regular CC. But is convenient for me, they told me have vacancy.

Motherwell looks a bit rundown and hot (morning sun) That day I went, heard the teacher shouting at the kids.

I am gg to check out tmr wif my HB
Daystar - try to ask if got tod class.
Wonderplace
BrightSun
Learning Seeds - my friend's son is there.. later I ask her more details.
ST Elmo

Little Sunny,

Whispering Hearts, I think also super long queue.
Long time ago I placed my name for IFC (last year). Never call since.

For Motherwell, I ever try to drop by after work but not allow to view and keep ask me to call the principal. But, a teacher told me their acedemic is good and some students have not issue when in P1.

I been to Vithya. The place is just as good but distance and air-con is one thing! However, it is within my budget at $300 range.

Lastly, I been to one more is Agape at Jalan Bahar on a sat. Also very nice environment (better that Carpe Diem) but it is $600??!!

Anyone has any ideal about the CC license?
I saw some had 6 mths before.
Is this due to child abuse, complaints, black listed, problematic CC?

ashwen, dun choose whisperring hearts lar...my mom stay there only and always see the kids very dirty running ard and always tell me wonder if they got bathe or not...and then always bring them out at hot sun to play at the playground...

cutiebb99,

I surf some of the old message.
Are you the one who's friend who in Kiazone near Gek Poh? She is a teacher there?
Is it good?

yes yes....batbat....shes in kidszone....class size quite big lar...she fall sick quite often de, she say need to always shout at the kidz...think shes teaching N2 and above

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Learning Seeds</font>
When i checked with them last yr, before enrolling my boy into Carpe Diem, they told me they dun have toddler class. Not sure about now. Anyway said they will call me, but until now no news oso.

My neighbours kids are there.. n he has positive reviews abt it, that's y i went to check it out. But coz the place is aircon and in the CC, i think there's limited space for the kids to run around. I tot i found the place quite cluttered and cramp. But this is juz my personal view</font>

Cutuebb99,
Oh, how about the curriculum? Is she happy working there? I called before, and remembered about 300+.

Brightsun and Brightkids only 200++, sometimes I wonder what makes other similar CC at $300+?

Lovemaxmax,
Then this learning seeds (in Gek Poh CC?)is almost similar to Vithya. Air-con within a building, which is one thing that I don't prefer and it's like confine without must nature air. But, the Vithya has a open play ground and a big field (for hockey).

Hi Batbat,
Yup lor.... actually cost is 1 important critical but there are other factor to consider, so sometime life is up to not much choice....

Hi Little Sunny upside,
My boy is in his last yest in cc next year (going to K2), he had been in MMI since the school started when he was 28 month, I din look around for switch at that time as the price i paid for the nanny and MMI is the same....
my little princess will be starting her cc life next jan, she is currently attending 2 hr playgroup at a centre near to my in law place.... as my in law will be expecting a new born in end march next year, i need to put her in a full cc next year... i was in the waiting list in little skool at 671 (abt 100++) before my gal, the centre told me that... so due to venue and time, i had no choice but already signed my gal up with MMI, she will start in Jan, whether to switch, i will consider at the later part as i can also switch next year, since then her brother will be in Pri school and i might change a job... haha... so everything for her is not firm but only next year....

pending to daystar... actually they have high demand for 3 year old kids... therefore they prefer to take in older kids plus i remember when i tried to put my boy in that time, they told me my boy must be toilet train plus no formula before i can entrolled him.... in the end i din want to go back for my gal as i prefer my kids to be able to drink formula till that are 7 year old, which i think is good for their growth. and actually my boy was toilet train by his cc...

batbat - the ratio of 1:8 is by MCYS but some CC will reduce the ratio.. I register online around end Sept (if i rem correctly) thats when my hb colleague told him.. I only saw it building quite sometime later..

batbat, i visited Carpe Diem before and i found it quite alright but i find that it's not 'cheap' considering that its at the void deck. Right? Cherie Hearts i didn't consider before unless you are talking about Cherie Hearts Key Elementary. That one is very near my MIL's so it's out, hahahaha! But again, CH Key Elementary is not exactly convenient for me. For Carpe Diem and Cherie Hearts, they have many different branches all over singapore, like My First Skool, so i think you really need to try to get more reviews on the specific branch you are looking at. Else, visit the place and while the principal shows you around, try to observe the interaction between the children and the teachers. Frankly, teachers who don't smile to me, is ok with me, hahahaha. Cos if im a teachert and i have parents dropping by everyday 'just to take a look' and distract my kids and make it harder for me to teach, i won't feel like smiling really.

re: cc license
It depends on the school and of cos, the MCYS officer. From my experience, i think they like to spot-check and drop by when the cc is at its busiest, lol. Some officers are stricter, some give chance. I don't think the same officers will be asked to spotcheck the same cc all the time so i guess if you look at the extention of the cc license and it has always been 6 months for quite a long time, maybe there is something 'wrong' with the place, maybe some improvements to be done. I think the license may be connected with the lease issue as well. Private ccs may actually have the additional 'problem' of negotiating lease period first, hence the shorter extention of the cc license?

ashwen, Whispering Hearts has a long q, like My First Skool at JP. I can say those really convenient locations, you can forget about it unless you are looking at vacancies in late 2012? Then mayb you have a chance. Else, try for those newly opened ones, i think it's better ah.

cutiebb, yes i'm moving to SK liao, next year Sep...to my parents' place while we get another place of our own. I don't want to change cc for my boy halfway so it's either next year when he starts cc or until he finishes pre-school. We don't wish to wait that long becos my husband's working location will forever be around Loyang so no point...I no issue since i work in town ah. The only problem, is telling my MIL when we move to SK.

Lovemaxmax,
Have you seen Carpe Diem K1/K2 curriculum before?
Is it ok?
That time I request to see, but turned down as they normally don't do so??!! This is something i m not very comfortable at.

Poishes,
Yes, cost is a hugh factor. However, I do not want to pay something just for the brand name, marketing, nice environment/deco. I preferred intangible like nice (&amp; caring) teachers, qualify teachers, good structure of curriculum. Am I asking too much and wishing to pay peanuts?
I think so... Haha...

Fyi, MMI I got the rate is $871

cheesecake,
did your husband colleague get in?

butterwaffles,
I did visit cherie heart 721 last year when i hopping ard for infant care. They dont have it, peep from the window, it look like any other HDB CC. Just now i pop by after work (peeping also), still the "same" and having lift construction now. The prices is 420 same as carpe diem. But, when I call some days ago, the sup gave some insight that their teachers are trained and Cherie Hearts HQ do audit them &amp; etc.

ashwen, i hope you get a place at MFS next to Pioneer mrt! Oh yes, i think my area tons of potential, and i've noticed MFS is really very fast when it comes to opening cc so i think its just a matter of time where there'll be new MFS branches at my area you know...but as usual, it's timing!

batbat, i've never seen CH at 721 one before. Frankly, its a matter of luck when it comes to teachers, it is so hard to get real information isnt it? There is only so much we can do. For you, i think you should only look at those centres which offer transport, within walking distance or have direct buses. From there, can narrow down the choices even further by eliminating those that are too expensive. From there, then you see which ones are suitable. Because really, the more centres you visit, the more sian you'll be so it's really no point visiting those that are too expensive or too out of the way ah. If you multiply the fees by 2 and you realise you cannot afford it, then don't shortlist the centre, cos we have to assume that you'll send both to the same centre, bearing in mind that the centre may increase fees in future lor.

1 reason that i'm not so keen on MFS is because when preschool teachers are bonded, they are usually sent to MFS to serve their bonds first. I'm not sure if anyone of you notice the ads in the papers where they call for people to join the preschool industry? They are all under NTUC campus. But having said that, there ARE parents who are satisfied with the teachers and because there are soo many branchs of MFS, surely there are plenty of senior teachers to go around...that's what i think lar.

butterwaffles,
Luck, yes I remembered we say about this too.
Just like maid, it depends on luck for what kind of teachers in CC.

Carpe Diem and Cherie Hearts are walking distance from my place (Pioneer Mall area). Of course, the nearest are MFS, Brightsun and Brightkids, that are super low chance.
And, I have been thinking just one kid will do for the time being. Dont hurry. The economic may not be as good as it paints and after election, inflation always go up.
Yes, my husband also say he prefer cheap (within budget), accessible is more important. Too hygenice place not necessary too good. He say many people (during our generation) did not go to good pre-school or primary. Yet, they still able to make it to poly, university.

Wow you really notice more things. New teachers go to MFS to serve their bonds. Hmm..

cutiebb,
How come your friend does not want to join big name like MFS? Or like what butterwaffles, serve finish bond and join private one?

I can't imagine next time go to P1 how?
The CC here already need to queue for 1 to 2 year. So maybe, we should start to volunteer now for the preferred primary school?

batbat, hahahaha, your husband cracks me up, no need to be too hygenic! :p The place must be reasonably clean lar. For example, 922 really cleans up. Really can tell, they are always cleaning and cleaning and cleaning. I'm not sure if too much of a good thing is a bad thing? Hehe. As for academic performance, i truly really try my best not to be sooo kiasu and pressure my boy. I guess, it is more important that we try to bring them up as self-motivated and resilient beings so that wherever they go, they can not only survive but perform? Same as you, we have a tight budget so no, i can't be sending my boy to shichida and the works, he'll just have to learn to flourish whever he goes. If CH and Carpe Diem are very accessible, i suggest you aim for these 2 first, see how. I don't know about you but i do find it quite xiong to carry so many things and carry my boy at the same time and when it rains, woah super challenging. It's times like this im grateful that i can walk home! Cos try taking public transport during peak hours with a child, your bag, his bag &amp; a wet umbrella! Faint.

For primary schools, take heart. You'll only need to start volunteering when your child turns 5 ^^ Some schools do not accept parent volunteer so u need to aim for a few schools first. So when your child turns 4, you can start to write to the primary schools already. I'm not sure if i will do parent volunteer, sigh. I might lor, damn it!

butterwaffles,

To me, cherie hearts is nearer than carpe diem. If rain, still can make use a bridge near the poineer mall. But, the place is kind of hmm... how shall I put it.. it look just like a typical CC. For those dropped by before, you will know what I meant.
If I recalled the phone conversation, their enrichment class is quite ex ($100)??
Anyway, I will arrange to view officially.

Primary school... I guess step by step.

batbat - my hb havent ask his colleague yet cos at reservist now.. let u know when he managed to ask him

butterwaffles - I think i saw you with your boy on my way to Ichiban at morning time.. I always seen a lady with a baby walking in front of me this week.. then today I saw the lady coming out from 987B lift, so I think maybe its you? hehe.. I do not walk the slope up that way.. usually its the flight of staircases (nearer to the Ichiban yunnan) cos my gal loves to climb the stairs and visit her "pet" cats there haha..

I agree with you absolutely on the part abt the raining! Its really a big challenge!

For pri school, I for sure will not do volunteer one, cos work is so busy already.. do not even have time to accompany my gal.. if do volunteer, then must bring her along haha... Anyway, even if got volunteer or not, also need to ballot so I dont see the need to do so lah..

batbat, i also not very sure lei...shes kind of halfway switch job de lor...haha...she went to study early childhood and then get a job there, thats what i know...haha...so far, she say the school oki, but i dun hear any comments before, so nv tot of sending my ger there....haha....

cheesecake,
Huh, you mean do volunteer work, still need to ballot?

Cutiebb,
Is your child in any CC now? Or you also waiting for MFS?

So far the mummies here that I know of has good review of 922, ichiban monestossri, n Carpe Diem.

batbat, then u have to decide liao wor. Deciding on a centre is difficult cos we are talking about our kids getting their pre-school education there as well. Must consider properly ah. Yes, even if do PV, might still have to ballot because it depends on the number of vacancies and the applications mah. So it depends also. Personally, if a primary school is so popular, i mostly likely won't go for it unless i live within 1km and success rate for balloting is high, like at least 70%.

cheesecake, the lady u saw carrying a blue backpack isit? With a baby carrier? Heh. That would be me liao, keke. I cannot climb the stairs, my legs will break into half, lol! Ya man, sometimes the rain is soo heavy i take the bus home with my boy and my poor boy will have to squeeze with so many people and the bus is always aircon, so nowadays i always pack his raincoat and a pair of socks inside his bag, if it rains, the teachers will put socks and raincoat on him.

re: PV
We must calculate our chances first, cannot go PV blindly lor. And yes, for FTWMs, how to do PV unless we take leave? But i belong to the category where i will take leave if i know i have a good chance at balloting if i do PV, hahahaha! For now, am really considering whether to get my next flat at a location where it's near to a few primary schools so my boy has more choices or just get one near my parents. It's hard to decide.

Batbat – Unfortunately yes.. though volunteer also balloting esp around our area... so for me, I will just choose a Pri sch nearby to ballot.. since no matter where, also need to ballot as my ex pri sch is too far away for me to send my gal too, so no choice lah.. somemore we are not planning to move house so just hope for good luck only..

butterwaffles – Yes! But only saw your back view, so wont be able to recognise you if meet you though hehe.. I have seen you few times le but you will walk faster than me, cos my gal walk very slow one.. Maybe next time you walk and turn behind, you will see me haha... but next mon and tues Ichiban is closed so wont see me.. Actually I also prefer to walk slope but my gal simply loves the stairs, so everyday I will climb stairs with her.. then she will wave to her two “pet” cats there then continue walking to school. Now at Ichiban, I don’t even have the option to take bus.. die die have to walk.. so I will carry her on rainy days, cos the ground sometimes muddy and she likes to step on the water puddle.. I also brought the raincoat too.. else really cold.. if my hb fetch, he will go home bring stroller cos can use the rain cover, then confirmed wont get wet

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Batbat</font>
oops.. it didnt occur to me to see the K1/K2 curriculum...
but from what i see, they seem to place much emphasis on mandarin leh.. i always see the kids in mandarin class de. Their main teacher is their mandarin teacher, same for my boy's todd class. This area i'm quite happy with it, coz i find it easier to pick up English den to pick up Mandarin. Ok, at least for my boy lah. coz we tend to speak Eng at home. Only my ILs speak to my boy in Chinese.

I've brought my boy to both Cherie Hearts and Carpe Diem before deciding on the latter. He seemed to be more at ease and enjoyed himself more at CD as compared to CH. Was willing to walk around on his own to venture stuff.

But this might be coz I went at different periods. He was barely 1 when i visited CH and about 1y3m when i went to CD, so mayb the age difference made the difference?

Reason for choosing CD was also becoz my IL's shifted. They were originally staying at Blk 710, den shifted to near Gek Poh.

<font color="ff0000">Re: Brightsun</font>
I've got a colleague who's son is there, nxt yr K2 liao. Her only complain abt the sch is tat they dun have much outdoor activities and the sch is forever changing teachers. Her son has commented to her on numerous occasions he got new teacher again. so-and-so went on course, blah blah blah..

oohh.. n they will watch tv everyday

There's another something-Montessori at Westwood Crescent i think.. but think ex ex.. coz at private house de.

<font color="ff0000">RE: Primary School</font>
My colleague (the same one whose son is in Brightsun) told me last yr for Westgrove Pri, she got a neighbour who did volunteer work and ended up still didnt get a place coz had to ballot. like so 'yuan wang'. spend time to volunteer yet still not guaranteed a place. I think i'm gonna put my boy in Pioneer Pri. Just behind my hs. no need to volunteer oso</font>

cheesecake, you know gal A's mum? She stays at 986B. How you all carry your kids without carrier really buffles me, i really cannot. Gal A is so much better now, she will wave goodbye to her mummy with a kiss nowadays! The teachers have also commented that my boy plays with gal A. Gal A's mum also carry her on her arms. Ichiban close for cleaning ah? Actually, i've thought of the stroller solution as well but by the time i reach home get stroller and go back to 922, don't know what time already...so your gal enjoys going to school? Heh~

re: K1/K2 curriculum
If the centre is not very willing to share, can ask to look at the recent works of the K2 kids. I'm sure that's allowed?? Looking at the works of the K2 kids can already give you a good idea of the 'standard' there. When i chose Ichiban, it's partly because i find that there is always homework, it's pretty adcademic based when it comes to K1 &amp; K2. So mummies here can take note, can ask to see what kind of stuff the K2 kids are doing.

For primary school, I heard another method is being an RC member may help.

Don't know leh, for Carpe Diem or Cherie Heart, though I not too sure how good due to its brand, I guess no matter what there must be something the CC will follow its HQ structure, curriculum, etc. Compared to private CC (budget type) where its run on their own?? Unless the business owner or principle is very up to date, well connected or indepth to the industry?

Butterwaffles – nope, I haven’t seen her mum before. So we all actually stay very near each other hor! Good leh, at least she can say bye bye.. hope she don’t cry as much now! Glad to hear your boy is also adapting well.. I missed Gal Z cos she’s such a good gal.. Maybe my gal is light (8.88kg @ 18mths) so that why I still can carry her with my bag plus her bag and walk all the way. Only when change to Ichiban then she will walk all the way to school.. so much more relax now, but its very slow.. so when I leave house at 640-645am, can reach only at close to 7am. You can leave the stroller in school.. when you send your boy to school, just put him in stroller and leave it in school, then when fetch that time, just go to school then use stroller to bring home.

Yup Ichiban close for spring cleaning and teachers’ training.. So far my gal seems ok.. and perhaps more exposure, I seem to feel that she is much more vocal, can say more words and recognize ppl and things around her. But everyday when I drop her off, she will pretend to cry. But moment I walk off, I only hear her cries for less than 1 min then ok le. When I came to fetch her, she will point that she needs to go and collect her bag. Then sometimes before teacher came, she will drag her own bag to the entrance where I am waiting for her.. And she actually knows which one is her bag. Haha..

RE: K1/K2 curriculum
Actually the curriculum at Q-dees at the Yunnan is not bad too. I looked through their workbooks and find it quite good. Only thing is the place seems overcrowded which made my hb feels a bit uneasy..

cheesecake,

If I remember correctly, Q-dees is the most ex compare to both ichiban. Maybe really 1 fen qiang 1 fen hou (my han yu pin yi is lousy).

How about bathing? Do you like all queue up to bath or gather a few to queue while the rest playing/reading n wait for their turn? Mix gender to bath together? Aunties or assistant teacher to bath instead of main teachers?

And, eating, do you mind to eat, sleep, study at same area? Or prefer, eat at a specific area?

batbat, you are right, being a RC member can up your chances heh. Personally, i will go for primary schools that have affliation to better secondary schools, won't really choose primary schools based on PSLE. Also need to see if the primary school has suitable CCAs for my boy or not....I feel that Qdees uses the drilling method. But it works for some kids so these kids will do very well when they go to primary 1. It really depends...some children do not do well under the drilling method ah.

cheesecake, gal Z now 100% in toddlers' group liao, keke. So cute right she
Your gal seems to be developing well in Ichiban! Good to know that she is making progress ah. So nice to see the kids learning new things and becoming more independant right...Just now teacher called to tell me my boy fell again ^^ He is soo naughty sometimes i really cannot take it leh. He spoilt my laptop keyboard. Bang on it so hard some of the keys fall off, his father is going to be so mad when he is back in sg next week!

Batbat – yes, Q-Dees is more expensive. Their curriculum was developed themselves, so the books and materials are all printed for their school use only. I was quite impressed by their workbooks haha.. but whether it works or not, I really don’t know lah.. just seems very “wow” to me..

Butterwaffles – for Pri sch, my colleague was telling me better to let the child have some special CCA eg like piano, ballet etc. At least if go sec time, if the grade cannot make it into a particular sec school but if the CCA is what the sec sch wants, may get a chance to get in. My colleague term it as “insurance”, which I personally feel is very true. Haha..

Hope my gal can continue well at Ichiban lah.. Yeah its really nice everyday to see our little ones slowly progressing and giving us surprise with their new founded skills. Aiyo, your poor boy.. hope no more bruises this time.. wah your boy so “fierce” that the keys can fall off! Kids are by nature naughty huh? My gal too, everyday cheong here and there so much, her legs are full of bruises too. Then also like to disturb her daddy’s stuff but at least she didn’t spoilt it else sure get scolding one..

butterwaffles,
You are really well in advance. Even primary shool, you also know something about it at this stage??

What does RC member do actually huh?

Drilling method is what? Work on worksheet only?
I know learn thru play is teachers will use "real things to count" like to have 4 pieces, need to cut 1 banana into 4, something like this.

cheesecake,
Maybe that is their "selling points".
Hence, for CC, we need to find what is the selling point and whether this is what we want.

I can't wait for my baby to walk, talk and play with her peers. All the nice arts and craft she will be doing and when proceed to higher level, to study and get "good and reasonable" result.

batbat, i'm not exactly sure what a RC member does but i do know for sure the level of committment is much higher compared to PV because for PV, only need to fulfil 40 hours. This RC member business is abit trickier. You have to serve as RC member (must at least be an exec member) for a year before the cut off date (usually a few months before P1 registration i think). Also, i think you have to check if your targetted school falls within the GRC you'll be serving else no point. I supposed RC members have to get involved with community work, block parties, dialogue sessions? It's really 'worse' than PV, hahahaah...Also, suay things may happen. If you happily volunteer for a particular GRC, end up gahmen decides to redraw the lines and end up your targetted school falls outside your GRC, you also lan-lan. If you choose to go via the RC route, you still have to bear in mind that your child is still under phase 2B, same as other children whose parents do PV or are members of church/clan directly connected to the school.

To me, drilling is like, repeating again and again and again. My primary school teachers use alot of that on us and it actually worked really well on me, hahahaah! Because i'm the sort who needs alot of examples and need to practise a million times before i will finally get the concept but i really won't know what i'm doing at first :p So i won't say it's not good lar. I remember some of classmates really suffering under this method thou.

cheesecake, this special CCAs thingy your colleague mentioned, it's true. Like my bro, his PSLE wasn't good enough to enter the sec sch i was in and he ended up using his primary school CCA to get in after i approach the coach for the male team for help (we were both from the table tennis school teams, hah!). The coach decided my bro is useful enough so managed to pull him in. So yes, if so happens your child has some sort of skill that the school is looking for also, it can help the child get into the school but it doesn't guarantee the child can remain. The child must still perform academically also. But usually is ok one because really, peer pressure works. My bro ended up performing even better than me and got into a better JC than me also.

I am back to report on my 'visits' to the CC today.
We went at wrong time 12-2 pm, so everyone napping, can't see much.. but at least the teacher are more relaxed and free to talk.

All are full, must put on waiting list.
Visited
Learning Seeds @ Gek Poh - 50 plus waitin list. So I didnt bother to put my son's name in.

Wonderplace - 5 in waiting list.
Fees after sub. only $250

ST Elmo @ 610 - 20+ waiting list.
uses letterland phonics

Brightsun @ 635 - generally seems ok. teacher seems nice. But cant really see inside as curtain was closed.

Called :
Motherwell - talked to principal - sounds nice and sincere. She said classes are full now but by next yr Mar might hv place. So ask me to call in Feb.

Kidzone @ 862 - talked to principal as well. sounds very nice. She said the curicum. include some montessori stuff. She has 20+ in waiting list. She offered to intro trained / retired CC teachers who is doing home-based nanny service if I want to consider nanny.

PCF waiting list = 10+

Ichiban Montessori - told me have vacancy and ask to go and make payment to secure place. But fees $480 too ex.. HB dun wan..

All mentioned will help to potty train kids.
For me, my concern is the timing. Coz I need to get a place for my son by next yr March. So now is anyone call me with a place, I will grab liao..

ashwen, good reviews there~! When you mention PCF waiting list 10+, what do you mean?? I thought all childcare centres will toilet train the kids? I hope you will get MFS next to the mrt thou. I think the location is really much easier for you since you'll be the one who do most of the fetching.

<font color="0000ff">re: Ladybird Key Word reading scheme (Peter &amp; Jane) series</font>
Any mummies interested to share shipping with me? I'm considering to buy the series online, a total of 36 books.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Key-Words-Reading-Scheme/108334112521640

If any mummies are interested, i try to see buy from amazon cheaper or not. I've never bought anything from amazon before thou...zzz....It says this series can be introduced to children aged 3 and above.

buterwaffles,
It seen being RC need more commitment than PV.
And, it does not mean higher chance!

litte sunny side,
Looks like you also on a budget hunt like me.
But, I am seriously now looking at Carpe Diem and Cherie Heart now, that is walking distance to us. It cost approxi $20 per day ($420 / 22 working days). I guess no matter what, like I say earlier, there must be "something" behind the brand that may be better than those small player. But, I believed there are some good small player. However, we are not in this industry and kind of "ignoral" to choose the right one.

For 922 PCF sparkletots, I really like the place too. However, it is kind of far (&amp; further in) for us, which we may be late at times and very rushing. No direct bus from my side too. With good recommendation from cheesecake &amp; butterwaffles, very new/clean and affortable, it is pretty wasted. Same as blk 404 little wings, which is partial open, partial clasroom.. well..just too bad or unlucky for us.

See how it goes..

hi butterwaffles,
I mean the 922 PCF waitling list for tod class is more than 10..

potty training - Poshies mentioned daystar's kids must be potty trained.

hi batbat
for me :

criteria is convenient - prefer along the route of co bus and got direct bus home.
(co bus - Pioneer Rd nth - JW Ave 5 - Gek Poh (JW St 75 - JW St 64 - JW Central (Frontier CC)
Direct Bus home : 185, 192, 193, 241, 255, 257, 179,

fees less than $350,

bright and clean enviroment with good ventilation, shd not hv funny smell.. haha..

regarding the 'brand' of childcare -
I also wondering what makes the 'branded' Cc better than the regular ones? Will they make my son smarter?

I need a patient teacher, esp when it comes to meal times - coz my son is a very fussy and messy eater. He doesnt like to use spoon, like to use his hands and will brush everything off the table or overturn the bowl to play with the food etc. I am worried that they are angry with him and keep the food.. then he got nothing to eat. He already very skinny liao.. so worried.

batbat, i know how you feel, about the 'wasted' part. My boy nearly cannot get into 922 infantcare and i was quite disappointed too but luckily the principal really tried her best. For 922, it's pretty inconvenient because only buses 99 and 241 goes there. The frequency is pretty high too, i never had to wait too long for 241 or maybe i've been lucky so far? I do remember the fees is $288.50 after the govt subsidy for childcare, i rem seeing it in the handbook. But again, yes, you have to look at those there are convenient enough, we are talking about travelling to the centre on a daily basis, rain or shine.

ashwen, i see i see, actually PCFs all along have been popular due to the more affordable fees. Last time i won't consider but i feel that the newer centres that open from year 2010 onwards are quite different. The layout and the syllabus. Again, we need good teachers else no matter how impressive the environment and curriculum are also no use. Don't worry about your boy's eating habits because seriously, monkey see money do. I felt very worried for my boy at first also but now he has adapted so well, i'm very thankful. I think somehow in a school setting, the kids will really behave better. Now my boy at home, still screams in the highchair but he has no problem in 922 *faint*

re: brand of CC
I don't know also...if i earn 20K a month then yes, i'll be more picky about the centres because money is not a problem. I actually really like Pat's Schoolhouse. They really have quite a well rounded curriculum and we are talking about 'enrichment' stuff being included as core programmes so it's like a one stop kind of thing for parents who can afford the hefty fees. Weekends no need to bring the kids for enrichment or whatever extra programmes liao because everything done in school! But for mere mortals like us, how to afford right....we'll just have to be more hardworking and DIY more. I follow this mummy's blog on how to teach our kids to read because i reckoned that i won't be able to afford to send my boy to extra classes...so share with you mummies....hence, my interest in the ladybird series.
http://tamarindphonics.blogspot.com/