A fresh thread looking for JURONG mummys...

batbat, i don't want to let my boy use walker partly because the previous maingiver was my MIL and she is on her own & at nights, i'm mostly on my own as well. I think if there is someone who can constantly keep an eye on the child, plus the child can sit and crawl well already, walker is fine else it might hinder the development for some children. I'm also influenced by my aunt bah, who used to be a nurse at KKH, now at Thomson. I have to say, she does influence me alot when it comes to my decisions about my boy :p I also insisted on no yaolan. I was tempted to give in during my boy's colicky days but i'm glad i persisted...No-one is born a parent! My husband also, no patience, haha...till now, he has only bathed and changed diaper for my boy twice. He hasn't fed my boy for a long time too. He used to help during my confinement but after that, no more liao. Alot of times, even thou he is home, he doesn't really help. Only when he is in a good mood and not tired, he will play with my boy. How to manage without help? It's NO CHOICE. I was on my own after confinement liao, take bus almost everyday with him ever since he turned 1 month old. My mum trained me lor. Recently she told me she was tough on me during confinement because she knows my husband won't be of much help. So really, mothers know best ;p There are times when i really feel like giving up but everytime i see my boy sleeping peacefully beside me, i feel renewed again, heh. He gives me strength...But you still want #2? I don't want liao, enough....My rate is $380 after subsidy but then again, i registered my boy very early, July this year i think...Looks like the school increases the fees at a pretty fast rate! You were asking the rate for which year ah?

Butterwaffles,

The rate is for end 2011 as my girl will be 18mths by oct11. Do you want to call and check whether the fee for you n cheese cake will rise in a year time? If not, then I will say very lucky cos it is really a good deal. But, it is not for me cos $100 is a great deal difference for me.

As for you to handle n travel with baby alone, really tough. Perhaps talk n educate to your bunny to help more often? I know it may be difficult to communicate such things but for long run, it is best interest for u n your boy where there is support, bonding n help.

My husband not very helpful too n I have to nag at him quite often. A few times also lose my temper.

batbat, the principal doesn't quote the rates by year of enrolment, now i remember, its at the point of enrolment. She told me i'm the first parent to enrol my boy for playgroup for year 2011 August and the school has yet to revise the fees so my boy's fee for year 2011 will be $380 and it won't change. I've already paid the first month's fee & deposit a few months back le. In fact, i wanted to enrol even earlier, i think May but she wasn't keen to start enrolment for year 2011 yet as she was waiting to see how many K2 will graduate, how much space she's really got left ah. She asked me to check with her in another 2 months so i called again in July. By then, she has just started to open registration for 2011. Meaning your gal and my boy is only 2 months apart! $100 is a hugh difference of cos. For my boy's IFC now, i'm using CDA to pay. At the rate i'm using, i think from N1 onwards have to use 100% cash already, lol. At least CDA, watever we contribute, govt contributes the same amount, for the first 6K ;p

Ney, gave up talking to him. If he really wants to help, he will. For now, he loses his patience very often because my boy is quite a handful. I foresee that my husband will only be more involved when my boy can run, can communicate...able to tell him that he's hungry, tired etc, then my husband will do more things. For now, he just finds our boy very difficult & naughty, he cannot take it :p That's why now i'm a parent, i really peifu my mum. SAHM with me and my younger bro somemore. I don't think i can be a SAHM, it's too tough!

butterwaffles,

You mean it wont change from 18mths all the way to 6yrs old? If it is, then it is really a super good deal. But, how come cheesecake is $420, if I remember correctly?

This is what i m worried for private CC, they just revised on oftenly.

butterwaffles,

Well, I also no patience.

Batbat – yeah my gal previously from 922 IFC, was butterwaffles’ boy classmates for ½ mth only hehe.. now she is in Ichiban CC. My gal went to IFC at 8mths at LSH, fell sick very often and hospitalized twice. We suspect that its the change in environment and partially LSH was fully aircon and my gal is not suitable for that. We switch over to 922 at 14 mths old and so far she has not been sick except for fever after vaccine. Now at Ichiban, she’s just started last week so cant comment yet. But she’s down over the weekend with fever due to teething... haiz.. cannot eat anything at all.. My gal’s teething is very extreme, always come out 4 teeth at a go.. made her totally lost her appetite.. now its her 4 molars at a go.. I recall when I was having my molar, was so painful.. now she got x4 the pain, see already very heartpain..

Butterwaffles – the 922 CC so cheap ah.. then probably the fees i rem was before subsidy.. Aiyo poor mummy, you are really on your own.. I am on my own but at least my hb does help out, so am slightly better than u. I can rem after my confinement, I move home and was alone for the whole maternity leave cos that time my hb was taking part time course at night. So no choice, I have to handle the baby and bf at that time. Many times I almost gave up on bf so that I can have a good sleep.. but seeing my gal sleeping, I just preserve. Luckily my hb gave moral support saying that if I want to give up bf, its ok since I already tried.. Then when I about to finsh my maternity leave, he decided to stop his part time course so that he can help out with baby so that i can still bf when back to work.. Its only then he became more hands on with baby.. during maternity leave, he only knows how to feed and change diapers.. when I started work and then later when at LSH, I need to do OT. So he got no choice but to bath, cook and do everything.. now he is a well-rounded nanny! Haha,... but its still a very tough especially when my gal was sick that time, my leave was totally gone and we got to alternatively take leave so we can maximise our leave.. really cham cos I cant trust my in laws..

RE: Ichiban
The $380 is the current rate. By Jan 2011, it will be increased to $420. Then at Jul 2011, increase to $480. The principal told me that for new children, she will quote the revised rates which is $480. For existing children, the increase will be gradually increase to the new rates.

RE: Walker
PD does not recommend walkers but I got a few frens whose kids also manage to walk without tiptoeing from walker. So i guess its whether we guide the baby while in walker and not just leave him/her in it.. My gal also didn’t use walker too.. My FIL almost bought a walker for her, saying that she starting to walk le.. But I told my hb to stop him from buying.. since I am not planning to let her use.

cheesecake,

At 922, is it totally non-air-con?
Yes, butterwaffles, I really pei fu her.

For ichiban n some other private CC, they are all raising from $50 to $200 (spoke to a few CC on phone or drop by before)within coming one year. My paid had not been raised for past 2 years but cut n cut n cut. That is why I am so concern.

cheesecake,

Sorry, how come you didn't check out some other HDB CC (beside 922), nearby like Mother Well, Day Star & etc?

batbat, no lar it means when my boy joins the playground next year 2011, i pay $380 per month. For year 2012, unknown liao...Yes, private cc tends to revise fees pretty often. So you might wish to consider PCF ones, at least they won't shock you! Can understand the stress ah...Then i feel you shouldn't consider Ichiban anymore. You can consider PCFs, My First Skool or Little Wings...If i'm moving to Sengkang next year, i'm putting my boy at the PCF near my mum's place. After searching for a month, there is no cc in Sengkang or Punggol area that meets my expectations. Got 1, i think not bad but it's too far & i suspect it will get really expensive by the time my boy is in K1. I was from PAP and i think i turned out pretty alright ;p

cheesecake, how's your gal? I met gal A's mother this morning. She asked me my boy in ifc how long already. I can sense she was trying to find out because she must be wondering why her gal till now still cry so badly everytime she leaves her there...can sense her stress! At least your husband knows how to change diapers & bathe your gal ;p I do the cooking for my boy too. If my husband is in a good mood, he will help to wash up. At least your husband can take turns to take leave...whenever my boy is sick, i'm the one who will take leave because my husband cannot handle my boy on his own. Everytime my husband takes leave and i'm working, he will still put my boy with my MIL. Then he will sleep at home or go out play mj. He only plays with my boy ah...if my boy super cranky, he passes him to me as well. I think he's not suitable to be a father so one kid for me is really more than enough liao.

I walked pass by the new CC (My first school) just now and saw some teachers do cleaning,took a peep inside.. Iam quite statisfied.. its clean and new and I think the CC is non-aircon coz alots of ceiling fans.
they told me the CC will open in January 2011.
Those who had registered, think we should received their call soon...

Hi yun,

D sch is all ready? Can't wait to take a peep inside, hopefully my boy can get in there. maybe one of these days will try to pass by there. Keke.

I am in a dilemma, As I'm planning to return to d workforce nxt year & employ a maid to help out as i have no support from parents or Mil. I duno shld I put my boy in half day or full day CC? @ least my maid will have sometint To do at hm. Keke.

mummypooh, what's the main reason for getting a maid? If your maid is alone at home, you ok? If your maid is alone with your boy at home, you ok with that? If your boy is at halfday cc, your maid will be alone half the time, and the other half of the day, alone with your boy. If your boy at full time cc, your maid will be alone all day long. If it's me, i will decide on full or halfday cc for my boy first, before i decide whether to get a fulltime maid or a part-time helper
If it's me, i will put my boy in full day cc and get a part-time cleaner to come my place twice a week. Problem is, if my boy falls sick, i have to take leave liao because there is really no-one else to take care of him. But i do the same thing even back then when my MIL was the caregiver because i don't trust her at all. So to me, its okay lor. If your job doesn't allow you the flexibility of taking leave when your boy is unable to attend cc, then yes you will need a backup person to care for your boy at home...

Butterwaffles,

D main reason to have a maid is to have a backup lo, since my hb will be buzi w his work & may be traveling also. If I find a new job, ESP d 1st few mths, I cfm can't take leave mah coz under probation. Wat I'm reali scare is if my boy kena fever or sick, sure have to fetch him bk. Since born, my boy's immunity system has been weak . whoever is sick in my family & d next one will be my boy. So I'm afraid if he go CC, he will fall sick easily lo. I also hope tat he has aldy built up his immunity after being kena so many virus at hm. Keke

mummypooh, then you really need a maid...i suggest you get a maid but you don't start work so soon first? Train your maid to handle your boy first...when your boy is ok with your maid liao, then you can start your boy on childcare already...when he's quite settled, then you start work. Else you will feel very worried de, too many changes for your boy at one go. I felt very worried & unsettled when my boy stared ifc. Now i feel alot more assured liao
Else an alternative would be to let your boy attend playgroup (few hours per day) first? So your maid can fetch him to & fro but also have time to prepare his meals. Then can progress to fullday childcare if you wan? But if fullday, then i really don't know what your maid can do at home, haha...maybe send her to your parents' place to do housework *oops*

Mummypooh,
Yes.. the cc seems ready le.. I can see all the toys and furniture inside.
Hope to hear from them soon

As for maid, I wont let my boy with the maid alone at home..I dont trust maid at all maybe because I heard too many cases liao.
If you really need a maid, I agree with butterwaffles.. dont start work so soon, train and monitor your maid. try to see her personality.. .I saw alots of maids at my area.. they will bring the babies down to the voiddeck as a group and chit chat or keep talking on phone..

Butterwaffles & yun,

Initally when im v stressed when taking care of my boy d whole day, my hb will propose to me to engage a maid. But im v reluclant coz hes still small. If I have a choice, I also dun prefer maid. Firstly, my hb & I felt awkward w a stranger at hm. Of coz the maid wun be able to take care or love my boy as gd as compared to own family members rite. Due to my situation, gota no choice but to employ a maid to relief my workload & also jaga my boy. But there r also good maids ard, juz pray hard d maid I'm going to engage will b a gd one lo.

I was also planning to employ a maid 1st & train her up until my boy goes CC at nxt mid year. As for my work, I can still wait either d maid is stable & my boy is comfortable w d new changes. Esle I too v stressed, gota to cope w new work, new maid & my boy attending new school. Keke.

My parents home not ard jurong le, wait my maid get lost on d way there... Then I lose my deposit Liao.

Batbat – the 922 IFC only on aircon in the sleeping area. The play area is non aircon.. cos they wanna save electricity haha... thats what the principal told us. For me, when we decided to pull out from LSH, all the IFC are full. I was just randomly calling up IFC around our area and managed to find 922 with vacancy as they just opened one week ago. At that time no babies were in yet. When my gal joined, only another toddler of same age as her. And coincidently, that gal Z was also an ex-LSH haha..

Butterwaffles – oh the principal at Ichiban told u that your school fees will be $380? Becos on my gal first day, she told me that for students that was quoted $380, the fees will be increase in two phase, meaning $420 then $480... hmm, then I ask her again ba... cos I only paid the deposit quite early...

My gal today also refuse to eat cos her teeth are so painful.. that the CC called my hb to update him on it as I am in training whole day so cant on HP.. My poor little gal.. hope the teeth erupt soon then can eat normally.. now we are all having a hard time on her meal times..

For my hb, he was trained up becos of circumstances.. as I need to do OT during that time, he really bobian and he knew that he cannot trust his parents either so really its being pushed to a corner then die die have to learn kind.. but sometimes now, when he play PS3, also ask my gal to sit with him.. aiyo.. think next time my gal will be a gamer liao.. faintz...

Wah the A gal must be crying so hard thats why her mummy ask you that... perhaps can ask her mummy if she cried so much at home?

Mummypooh – I feel that if you really wants to have a maid as backup, the probably like what butterwaffles say, get the maid to be here before you actually start work.. At least he is ok with maid if he falls sick at CC

Mummypooh,
I understand your feeling and situation.
As I also plan to look for a job after My boy attend CC.
Same as you, I have no support from my parents and inlaw.
My parents stay in Indonesia, My mother inlaw passed away le and My father inlaw is too old to jaga my son.

So I can only look for either part time job or 9-5 job..

Hi Yun,

Yr hb can help u out, his working hrs r regular? But even for 9-5 job, sometimes if need to do OT, nobody can help to fetch our kid. Do part-time job like admin work ah? Another sianz part is duno whether still can go bk to our old job field after for so long. Keke

Hi mummies, may I noe wats yr occupation? Any suggestions for mummies who didn't work for a period of time? keke. Brain storming for my future career.

cheesecake, ya the principal told me because the fees payable are determined at the point of enrolment. If have to increase by phases, i'm fine as well...i'm also not sure when i will move to Sengkang also. Most likely next year liao as we prefer my boy to attend the same pre-school throughout. We plan to rent out the whole flat when our flat turns 5 years in November next year because we'll be staying with my parents at Sengkang anyway. If that's the case, my boy will go to the PCF cc near my mum's place. Got a new one opening in Feb next year. But hor, once gal A's mum leave the centre, gal A will stop crying. Jani say gal A cry like that at home also. The mum looked very helpless this morning again, jialat lor...I think partly because gal A is very attached to her mum.

yun, it's not easy to be a SAHM, really...i actually feel less stress and tired when i work! I find regular working hours is very important to mummies who have no other form of family support. Being able to work from home would be a plus as well.

mummypooh, i'm from the civil service. I applied for shorter working hours (36 hours per week instead of 42 hours) so that i can pick my boy up earlier and have time to bathe and spend some time with him before he zzzz. I've been with my current co for 4 years plus so i think that's why they approve my application else usually, it's quite hard to go part-time like this. I only applied for this part-time thingy until August next year as i expect that my dad will be able to help me fetch my boy from cc next year when i move to Sengkang. For now, i think you can start to do your CV and surf around to see what kind of job opportunities are available for mummies like us!

Hi, I'm new to this thread, but would like to enquire whether any mummies have put their kids in little wings childcare at blk 553 jurong west st 42.

Butterwaffles,

Ya lo, hard to find a ideal job tat give flexi job hours ESP it's a new job. I dun mind less pay but juz hope to find a job tat I can go hm on d dot. Keke. To me, family is more impt than my career. After being a SAHM for almost a yr, I still prefer working. But I duno after having a kid & working @ d same time, will it be d same as i worked last time.

long time didnt come in here liao.
Back from my Jpn trip.
Went to MT Fuji, Disneyland and Tokyo City.
Surprisingly, my BB and niece took the trip quite well.
It was quite cold (ave 12 deg cel) but with jacket is ok.
But when it dropped to 6 deg cel on MT Fuji during evening time, was very cold and BB was shivering and complaint.
But other than day, was a good trip. They were both ok with the flight even the landing and take-off.
Expect lots of delay when you travel with kids- change diapers time, eat slowly, lots to luggage.

Food : Both the little fussies were willing to try some of the food there, rice, ramen etc. But ate quite little. My BB lost weight.
But he enjoyed the hashbrown and eggs from breakfast a lot.

Flight : Be sure to ask for Bassinet if ur BB below 2 yr. It was great coz for our night flight, bb sleeps very well inside. During take-off and landing, it is good to feed bb. So can relieve the ear pressure.

mummypooh,
My husband working hours not relugar. he need to do OT most of the times.. so all depends on me.
Good things is he doesnt travel alot..so at nite, he can pat my boy to sleep.

I also dunno what job to do. and not possible to go back to do my previous job coz of long hours.
suddenly feel useless lol..

Hi cutiest,

U r a SAHM too? Hws old is yr child? R u planning to work soon also?

I guess d life in Sg is reali hectic, we all have to slog hard for a living. Haiz. Dun tint tat way, I believe everyone has their strength, maybe yet to discover. Maybe we have to change a new job field & try sometint new. Even those uncles & aunties can adapt well to their new career at their age, so i tint we r still young & able to adapt well also.

Butterwaffles – Oh i see.. i shall ask the principal next time I see her then.. wow if you move to your parents house then good also, got rental income to supplement.. not bad hor! My hb went to the IFC on his way to Ichiban, so Jani told him that Gal Z just moved on to toddler class this week, but got bullied by the older toddler, so now dare not go there, always run back to IFC.. poor gal... then sometimes Gal Z looks at my gal’s photo in school, she will point to it and Jani said it seems like Gal Z missed my gal.. esp when she saw my hb, she looked around but didn’t see my gal.. cos she knew my hb is coming to pick my gal usually.. such a sweet little gal..

Mummypooh – you can try to look around for job with flexi hours that don’t require OT kind. Last year before my gal went to IFC, I took half day off everyday to take care of her before sending to my in laws place so that I can feed her before I go work.. as my in laws is not preparing her meals.. But I can tell you its very tiring... So you need to get prepared for that..

Ashwen – good to see you back! I can understand the delay part... but no choice also.. Mayb your baby cannot adapt to the different food so quickly so lose weight? But its a good experience ba.. last time when I took the flight, they said will give the bassinet but in the end also didn’t provide, but luckily my gal was ok throughout..

Cutiest – Dont think that you are useless.. its just that the priorities in our lives have changed.. now we gotta take care of baby, its a more meaningful “job” hehe..

Hi Mummypooh,
Can't count on My husband...
You know how much roughly to employ a maid now ? My neighbour told me its only about $300/month ? is it ?

cutieyunyun,

Maid = cost around $300 plus to $500 plus.
Please check it out at maid agency as I heard Philipinno was raised recently.

Hi cutieyunyun,

Indonesian, yes but a different by $10 or $20. (that was 6 mths ago when I source for maid).
The news recently mentioned for Philipino is $500 plus due to new govt ruling. But, I think somehow or rather, you may be able to get $300plus.

Mine is $360, with me almost 6 mths.

Hi yun,

Mine too. Duno isit tat those men r bringing d bread & they tint tat we noe better as mothers. So always depend on us?? Hiaz.

Yup, batbat is correct. This is wat i gathered from d maid agency; Indon maids is cheaper than phillipines maid & philli must give 1 off day per mth if I'm not wrong. Indon maid salary range from $340 to 360 depending whether they have any experience. Dun need to give off day. Besides tat we need to pay d maid levy of $170 to MOM per mth. So in total add up to be ard $500 plus per mth & this excludes d maid insurance, chk up & etc which is 1 time payment. There's also a lesson for us to attend online but I a bit lazy to do yet. Keke. Keen to employ a maid too? Keke

Batbat,

Yr maid is from Indon? Does she has any experience? When I look at their Biodata, also duno hw to choose coz duno even d data r correct. Keke. Can share yr experience on tat?

Mummypooh,

Mine is philipino, "so-called" experience over there and she is a mother herself. That time also blur blur, just confirm after asking some questions. Took the online test and paid the rest of fees.

I ask things like if baby cry, how and what you do. How you bath baby? Know how to cook porridge, how? How to burp? Know how to use vacumme cleaner, washing machine? If don't know, are you keen to learn?

Bascially, first thing for me is she must (die die) be more patience than me and know how to care for a newborn, etc. The next thing is her attitude. Last one is whether can communicate as some indo don't know how to speak english.

One more to add on is Agency Fee around $100 plus few hundreds. Hence, first time payment could be $3k & above.

batbat, Sparkletots is under PCF (last time know as PAP) and Little Wings is under both NTUC and PCF. Little Wings centres are the combined 'effort' of PCF and NTUC lor. My First Skool is under NTUC.

bubblebee mum, i did consider blk 553 before
The principal is not bad...I nearly put my boy in the infantcare but i changed my mind when an infantcare nearer to my place has a vacancy. Else my boy will be there now liao. Have you spoken to the principal Cecilia? She is very experienced and has 3 daughters herself

re: maids
I have a friend, she also engaged a maid to help out her MIL because her MIL has to take care of her 2 year old niece, her newborn nephew and her nearly 4mth old gal. But the maid lives with her
I don't know how much she is paying thou...What i know is, engaging a maid purely depends on luck. I know of people who engaged the first maid and in a flash, the maid is with them over 10 years. Some keep changing maids or always encounter problems...And mind you, everytime you change a maid, you have to retrain the maid all over again & your kids also have to adjust to another stranger all over again. It can be difficult...

Batbat,

Yr maid is to jaga yr child? Is she alone w yr child or there's someone to overlook her? Ya I also wana find a patience maid coz I can get v frustrated w my boy sometimes.keke. Bt hard to find a patience maid coz can't tell from interview or biodata. Guess it's purely luck bah

Ya & Some agency can charges ard 200-300 bucks wor.

Mummypoon
My maid is either alone with baby or send to MIL place that is far far away.

Buttlewaffles
Wonder why PCF got 2 type? One on it's own n one collarborate with NTUC.

Cheesecakes
Since your baby at 922 longer, are the teachers and principal good? Open, caring?

cheesecake, you mean your husband on his way to work will need to pass by 922 ah?? This morning i bump into gal A's mum again. She asked me what time i start work, i told her 8.30am and that i work in town. She said she starts work at 8.15am and she works at Alexandra. No wonder 7am on the dot she sure appear de lor. Gal Z 'graduated' liao ah?? She's such a sweet gal and she doesn't seem to have a temper at all, hahahaha. She must miss your gal really because the teachers there miss your gal too
Now i only see 5 names including my boy's on the attendance list, don't know will have new ones coming in or not...now i know why, becos gal Z went over to toddlers' class liao. How's your gal at Ichiban?? Does she still rem me? That auntie who hung around with her for 2 days at 922? hahahaha!

batbat, i don't know leh..what i know is the curriculum will of cos be different, as in, they will use different teaching methods. The fees differ too, by only abit thou. That's why if you search for childcare centres under PCF in the childcarelink website, both Little Wings and Sparkletots will appear in the search results. Personally, i'm pleased with the teachers at the infantcare side
2 out of 4 teachers feedback more to me but that's also because when my boy first joined, he has the most contact with the particular 2. When my boy had a fall, started to crawl, started to pull himself to a standing position by himself, i always get calls from them as updates. Recently the teachers told me my boy is very spirited, full of energy. Later i realised actually spirited can mean very strong-willed or stubborn. Hah!

Batbat – overall, my gal was doing very well at 922. Initially was even better, cos only got her and another gal Z (same age) so the teachers gave them full attention and can even bring them outside everyday. Subsequently when more babies come, they are more busy but also got more teachers. But I think my gal really learn alot in IFC like words (they can identify their body parts), painting, artwork, dancing, singing etc. What I really like is that the teachers do not really let them be idle or leave them alone for long time. Esp Jani (though less experienced) but she really took the effort to engage the little ones whenever she can. Eg when my gal is at a corner of the mat, she will call her and play peekaboo or read books or find something to give her so that there is interaction. Also, once when she was alone as the other teacher is on leave, she will bring my gal and Z along with her when she needs to change diaper for another younger baby. Principal is very hands on. When my gal first joined, Jani was also new, so the principal came in to teach her and guide her everyday until she can handle the babies. And the centre is very strict on checking HFMD which is really good as it minimizes the chance of having HFMD spreading. Conclusion, I am really very satisfied with the IFC. As for CC, I cannot comment much. From what I know, a lot of teachers left as they cannot handle the stress according to the principal.

Butterwaffles – oh my hb can either walk from his office or take bus to somewhere near 922 then walk in to Ichiban. So occasionally, he will make a detour to the IFC to see the Gal Z cos he likes her too, very obedient gal now.. and can say bye bye to my hb.. not like my gal.. don’t even look at her daddy haha.. Hmm, mayb next time you see her, she might rem you!

My gal now is also doing very well at Ichiban.. teachers love her too hehe.. the toddler class is on 2nd floor, so everyday she gets to climb up the stairs herself which she really enjoy.. now whenever she sees stairs, she don’t want to be carried, wanna climb herself.. Teachers said she rarely cry which is good.. But I am adjusting myself that I cannot expect a very detailed report of what she did in school everyday cos now its toddler class already.. unlike IFC, where they gave us a page of information everyday..

cheesecake, i agree with you that the 922 principal is very hands on
The teachers at the CC side help out too especially in the early mornings when Jani or Fidah is alone. At first i find it troublesome that they ask me to bring new cot matress covers and blankets everyday but now i realised its much better because it's too minimise the risk of germs ah. And they are more systematic, compared to the way i see the teachers do things at blk 533. For blk 533 infantcare side, the space is more limited, not as big as 922 so i think the teachers bobian also, heh. The few days i were there, i observe that the teachers will bring out stuff like paper, crayons, colour pencils or other play stuff for the older toddlers to experiment with. And Jani is quite funny actually, she is quite insistent on the toddlers to sit in a circle that kind and she will join in to draw or scribble on the paper or she will be at the side taking photos of them, haha. Your gal will be choosing bright coloured crayons only and gal Z will be busy putting back the crayons! Then gal A will usually be crying, hoping Jani will carry her heh. It's quite a sight
Sometimes i manage to reach the centre early i will quietly stay some distance away to observe what they do. If everyone is awake, wah really chaos, playtime liao, everyone running around, haha...But usually by the time i pick up my boy, only he and the baby are there, the rest all go home le.

I met gal A's mum today again and we chatted at the mrt for a while. Her elder son is at LSH heh. Yes yes, funnily the toddlers' class at Ichiban is on the 2nd floor but the principal told me she prefers her toddlers to stay on the 2nd floor because of the restroom, it's inside, not like the washroom on the ground floor, it's sort of outside lor. Did you manage to view the new area? I think she opened up a new unit next door you know? I agree ifc will be more detailed...for toddlers, hard to be detailed ah, so many more kids liao, the ratio is different le.

Butterwaffles – Me too, at first I find it a hassle to bring so many things everyday but feel its better too.. after a while, also get used to it liao.. haha.. Oh, then how come Gal A’s mum don’t let her go to the IFC at LSH, easier to fetch together mah...

The Ichiban principal told me that she purposely place the toddler class on 2nd flr also becos she wants to let them have a chance to learn to climb stairs by themselves as rarely got chance to do that outside, which is very true.. I haven’t got a chance to see the new unit there yet. Is that for toddler or older kids? Usually when I was there, that place was closed.

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Re: maid</font>
I find that besides their monthly salary, oso got alot of 'hidden' costs leh.. still gotta provide for their meals and necessities. All these add up also, besides the usual levy and medical checkups...

<font color="ff0000">Re: Job Vacancy</font>
I'm currently sourcing for a sales coordinator / Administrator.

- Indoor sales (no need to go outdoors)
- No quota to meet
- Office Location: Tuas (192 direct bus from Boon Lay Interchange)
- Working days: Mon - Fri (9am - 6pm), Sat (9am - 2pm)
- No OT (my colleagues all leave on the dot. latest 610pm.)

Just thought I just ask my fellow Jurong mummies.
Anybody keen can PM me. I'll take this offline.</font>

ILMM is right, I think got lots of hidden cost for maid.
Will u guys bring ur maid along for outings/ travelling or will u let the maid stay at home alone?

If bring to travelling, imagine the cost!!
recently I asked my friend to go watch walking w dino with me. She said no, coz she + kids + maid tickets add up to > $300.. i told her don bring maid lor.. she said cannot handle her kids if she alone.. so need to bring maid.
She also brought along her maid for overseas travelling.

Yes, got many hidden cost for maid.
So what to do?
Either you got enough $$ to bring her for outing/travelling or you don't bring her (leave alone at home) or all don't go.
Alternative for travelling, think can bring to agent there (if no relative/friends available)at some fee.

butterwaffles/cheesecake,

Looks like both 922 n ichiban is good.
I think finding a good CC is almost like finding a good maid, depends on luck?

ashwen, good to know that your boy enjoyed the trip! So lucky, so young already been to japan, hahahaha! By the way, how do you know your boy has lost weight huh? You always weigh him isit? I'm hoping to bring my boy to HK Disneyland or maybe Clubmed Bintan when he is older...like 3 years old or so, haha.

cheesecake, gal A's mum said it's because there is no vacancy at LSH for infantcare. She said her elder boy at LSH is very happy and well taken care of. So yes, every child is different, it really depends on the child as well, not just the school &amp; the teachers. I've not been to the new unit as well ah. What i know from her when i registered my boy was because of the new unit, she is able to take in more toddlers but it also depends on how many K2 kids will graduate. But i was thinking got such thing as K2 kid 'fail' K2 ah? Heh~ I've just put my boy's name on the waiting list for the PCF near my mum's place. Hopefully when it opens in Feb/Mar 2011, i can register my boy liao. Then will have to give up Ichiban. I'm so sad...to think i chope a place so early and now this...ZzZzz...

batbat, i personally am pleased with 922 lar. Hahaha...Actually, being a childcare teacher is really not easy. I really salute them ah.

IloveMaxMax, wow the working hours are abit long wor? I assume its 1 hour lunch? Sat got lunch hour? If got, per week is 44 hours? I think most, if not all, childcare centres open from 7am-2pm on Saturdays wor. I don't have to work on Sats, sometimes only heh.

butterwaffles

You have place registration and deposit to Ichiban M? If really going to Sengkang to stay, then it will forfeited?