Joanne,

No leh.. no mention of 2nd bt. the nx appt is on 13th oct for ultrasound.

DH and I also think that we din conceived thru IUI. Could be on D13. Btw, we also try to BD on different timings - sometimes in the morning, sometimes in the afternoon. This time round, we din BD at night - he thinks his spermies are as tired as he is (makes sense!!)

Anyway, this is only for reference. So, if any of the gals think they have BD more than me, but still no news, better start seeing a doctor to see what the problem might be!!!

Just Faith,
i don't hv those sore/tender breast systom, just feel that my stomach a bit cramping which is my AF symptom.

Regarding the hormone test, i did not do it cos gynae nv request me to do... Me not v well-versed in fertility issues..

I only know that i don't hv a lot of eggs, this is was gynae tell me after he did the ultrasound check. So he only give me clomid! With clomid, i've regular menses liao!

Just Faith - I heard that men are most fertile in the morning.. but so far haven't had chance to try and BD in the morning yet. :-s Everytime have to rush to work and my hubby is working shift so on weekends also may be difficult to BD in the morning.

hope 4 bb

i had researched very much into tat fertileAid for man earlier. Looks very positive. However, since it's not sold in SIN or kind of approved medication, i have my reservations. But i did hear that it did improve sperm count by triple. I've decided to get Tribestan that bb dust recommended. Since it's sold in local pharmacies (hospital somemore), i needn't worry abt the safety issue lor.

I am getting worried. I have light spotting for the last 4 days. On the 2nd day, I visit Dr Loh about this and he gave me a jab + double my duphaston.

Thought spotting has lessen, now like two 1cts coin. I wonder if I should see him again today or go straight to 24hrs clinic.

Just Faith,
you may want to give ur gynae a tinkle again or ask the nurse to inform ur gynae abt ur concern (there are still 2 1cts coin spotting).
May want to tell u my colleague spotting for the whole 1st trim, so she also take double dosage duphaston as advised by her gynae... But on n off, she will keep her gynae inform as she is always worried.

God will bless u & ur little darling!

Just Faith,
hmm if u go to KK no use de, cause they are medical officers... unless ur gynae is from KK. last week i spotting, went to KK the doc simply ignored me.

I would think its better u call ur gynae and tell him that u are still spotting. Though spotting is common during pregnancy but its a cause for concern too as what my gynae told me.

bb dust,

you are probably right. i m currently seeing dr loh of KKH... i think these MO will thik that i "xiao ti da zhuo"

Wow,this thread is indeed active.

Just Faith,

Hang in there.I know how worried u are.i had spotting during both preg.i worried until i'm crazy,i tell u.but u know,and i think we all know,besides being a good gal and taking ur hormone pills,nothing will help.Bed rest may help,but like wat Giving bb dust to all said,it's common,but it's a worry.juz pray hard.for my 1st preg,i was spotting since wk 5.worried like mad,went to hospital twice in 2 wks.i got married (the spotting stopped),but started again when i went on my honeymoon.i was so worried.cancelling my honeymoon was not an option coz i've already paid for it and i really wanted to go to the maldives.in the end,my baby pulled thru' and i'm very happy abt it.but alas,it's not meant to be.for my 2nd preg,i was spotting too.this time,i was less gungho.i stayed in bed,refused to walk except to the bathroom.the bleeding was a lot lighter than 1st preg and stopped quite soon.there's nothing much docs can do for u.u juz need to have faith,as wat ur nick suggests.

Gillian,

Can i ask if u already have a child? or u're still trying for no.1? Hiyah,if u don't want to help that friend,juz be a bitch and say no.i never feel guilty saying no to baby showers,b'day party,visiting babies in hospital,seeing my preggy cousin's wives.i'm really dreading this breakfast appt with my uncle and aunt.i don't mind if it's juz both of them,but i'm not sure if my cousin is coming.how can i possibly ask,right? i sound like a sore loser.but i know it's unavoidable coz they have been treating my parents to dinners,and this is our chance to return a treat.i don't want my hubby to go coz i want to 'protect' him.but it's not nice if my hubby doesn't go.i gues during this breakfast,there's no running away fr the topic of preg coz my cousin's wife should be spotting a big belly now.Gillian,ur hubby is good.he understands how u feel and allow u to be by urself.my hubby doesn't.anytime this topic is brought up,he will surely say i'm avoiding his friends.so we never bring up this topic unnecessarily.and now that i've started post grad lessons on sat,to some extent,i'm glad i can avoid all these sat baby showers and b'day parties.

Hope_4_bb,

I'm not sure abt IVF.Seriously,i'm scared.not the physical pain,but the emotional turmoil i'll have to go thru'.last night,i was seriously thinking if i should jump straight into it.but hubby seems reasonably co-operative these days.last night when i asked him to Bd,he didn't want.dunno y.i don't want to ask too,otherwise we'll get into a quarrel again.then i announced loudly i think i'm going to O soon.and he came to the bedroom.actually,i don't even know if i'm going to O soon.my last period was regulated by contraceptive pills.so i'm basing it on calculation of dates,and assuming my period is a 30 day cycle,like wat it always is.i've been using O strips,but i never get 2 lines.i don't know y.the last time i conceive and i used O strips too,never got 2 lines.Okie,let me tell u,u're not the only crazy one.i think i am too.everytime i c cute baby stuff,i really wanna buy it for the bb who is 'coming'.the reason i stop myself is coz i already have a cupboard full of bb stuff fr the stillbirth,and i don't want hubby to say i'm crazy.i even imagine taking my baby to the zoo,having my baby's 1st mth celebrations etc,basically,life with my bb.well,guess i call that positive imagery.haha! i truly understand wat i mean when u say u stil haven't got a BFP.though i had a stillbirth b4,i'm always thankful i had the experience to have MS,to c my belly grow,to feel my baby move,and juz to feel preg and be pampered,though it didn't end up well.

And dear ladies,

I think Just Faith is correct in her strategy.i'm starting to c similarities in those times when i conceived.both times,i bd on my supposed O day in the morn.and both times,there were 'mistakes' in calculation/doing something related to the preg.the 2nd time,i took the TCM herbs on the wrong day,coz i totally forgotten abt it.i think the 1st time,i calculated the wrong O date.WAt is urs will be urs.wat is not urs will never be urs.i managed to conceive even when my hubby's sperm quality is bad.i think if a random test of sperm quality was done on men,i wonder how many men will pass the test.

monstor,
i tink actly when u see one faint line and one dark line..is also considered O...

i got a frend who did nt have have a easy time conceiving for her first bb concieve very easily this 2nd time.

After her 1st preggy this time round, she just bd once when her strip shows one dark n one faint line and she BFP.

Wow, this thread is so active recently.

Just faith: must be careful when spotting, heard from my colleague a bit is ok, but when you see fresh red blood must quickly go hospital. I believe if u call the KK hotline, they will ask you to go hospital, cos the last time I called them to try to call Dr Loh, they tell me they won't call the doc unnecessarily, so best to go 24hr clinic. Take care.

monster: I agree with what you say, I also believe if you are happy things may come your way unexpectantly. Actually, I'm quite busy but one can be busy physically busy but mentally still worrying about other issues,ha. Don't think it's possible to free myself mentally, but will try to achieve balance in mind and body

Btw, not sure if u gals are superstitious, remember reading some fengshui article, which said it's inauspicious to buy baby stuff when you don't have one yet.

hi monster, nope, no child yet.. still working very very hard for no. 1... if i have 1, even if its girl, i will be happy like siao, and thanks god for it and wont be affected at all if any of my friends have 1, or even more..

actually the cause of unhappiness is because i learnt abt the other friends getting pregnant again when im still healing the pain of hearing another friend getting pregnant.. so i wont blame the one getting married, but will give her the prior notice that i have things on on her wedding day and night..

yes, i appreciate my hubby alot and really thanks him for bearing and being so understanding.. throughout the night he really kept by my side.. immediately saw tear flowing down, he will come forward to hug me.. and even agree that he will go alone to attend the wedding dinner. i know my unhappiness affected him too, because he wanted badly for a child too but i really can't stop the tears from flowing down. I can only tell myself accept and go on the path. i saw tears in his eyes when we watched the last episode of 'fated to love you'.. the 2nd time in my life seeing him tears.. first time is when i broke down hearing that the first baby won't be able to make it.

However, im fine by now, probably because i wont be attending the wedding which will make me unhappy and knowing i have this lovely hubby with me

Monster, i know that you are facing more tougher route than me, but we girls will all be behind you ya

Gillian, I so understand what you mean.

I just got over a friend getting pregnant and yesterday I learnt of another friend whose first trimester was just over. She got married in May this year. I think I have about 5 friends who are currently pregnant. :-s The thing is, most of them keep saying it's unplanned and all and some even seem quite unhappy that they will have to forgo things like buying a new car or a holiday. :-s They are like not thankful at all even though it happened so easily to them. They forgot there are others like us who have difficulty getting pregnant and are willing to do anything to get pregnant. I feel so angry when I see that. I especially feel angry when someone I know, who had gone for an abortion at least twice before marriage, got pregnant right after marriage. It's so unfairrrrrrrrrrrr. :-s She can choose as and when she want to have a baby? I cried and complained to my husband and he told me that perhaps she's being given another chance to make up for the wrongs she's done. But what about people like us right? *sigh* Why are we not given a chance at all? I know if I ever got pregnant before marriage, I won't abort for reasons other than medical.

Hi JC.
Any good news from you too? We need tons of baby dust here.

Hi Monster,
The injection is to thin the blood purpose (not progestrone) so that blood easy flow to baby... if blood too thick... it will not flow smooth to baby then baby not enough blood will not able to survive... anyway, think not all pp need this injection.. i hope you no need as is going to be very hurtful if to inject daily for at least 3months... sure kenna brusies all over...

One of my good friend also invite me for her baby full month next weekend. I say not free too... when she is in hospital..i did go visit her as that time i haven't do dnc so can face the baby... now is totally no way... i simply can't face baby now... will remind me of my lost... sadz...

spinsterella,

Why your friends sound like my friends???? haha. you are not alone. :p

I remember when I first learnt of galfrd who was pregnant for 3 mths (if u read my earlier post abt having to give up guest room that one)... I cry and cry... My temper was also very bad then.

Also lucky got her to "qi kek" me that i never stop trying for a baby.

haha... hvent test leh! Will shower baby dust to you all if I bingo!
Stay tune!

BTW, do u all hv Parent-In_Laws who are superstitious abt annoucing pregancy news before 1st trim! My 1st one, my MIL don't allow me to do so....but i hv to convince her that I need to at least inform my team-mate & boss so that they will understand that i carry heavy things..
Then she say no choice loh!

Joanne,
hope i can lend a shoulder to you now...
Cheer up, our turns r coming....

joanne,
dont be sad...at least u had BFP..means is not difficult for u to have a bb again..just rememeber to follow doc advise for next pregnancy

Hi Hope_4_bb,

I really don't know wat is happening.until now,there is no 2 lines on the O strip.like i've said,even when i BFP,there wasn't 2 lines.not even 1 faint line.i've also tried using the saliva test kit and even when it was proven i O (coz i had scans for the IUI),the saliva test kit did not show the fern pattern (fern pattern= O)

bb,bb,

are u my twin speaking? haha.y is it that u can say everything that's in my mind! i agree with u.i'm also physically bz,but that doesn't mean my mind is not engaged in thinking abt ttc or my chloe whom i lost thru' stillbirth.it's amazing,u know? it's more than 1 yr since my loss already,but not a day passes w/o me thinking of my chloe.i've been trying to focus on other things,but the only way i can get my mind off is if i sleep.and for me to do that,i have to really tire myself out physically.

Gillian,

Shall we be friends? my heart goes out to u coz i know wat u r going thru'.I think u r going thru' more than me,having been thru IVF.u r 1 courageous woman.Yes,boy or gal,as long as the baby is healthy,that's all i ask for.

Hi spinsterella,

Gal,how did u come up with this nick? so interesting.like u,i get really irritated that ppl complain they have to give up this,give up that,their house look like a warzone etc when they are preg or have no.2.WT???? like i've said b4,i'll give up anything to have a healthy,crying baby in my arms.doesn't matter that i won't get any sleep at all at night,i'll happily wake up to watch over the baby or to pacify him/her.i'm not sure if u have been following this thread,but i've mentioned b4 a friend of mine who is a medico and had 2 miscarriages wakes up automatically in the middle of the night to check if her son is breathing.ppl who are not in our shoes will certainly call us petty for being so angry/annoyed by wat others say.Even my hubby calls me that.sometimes i don't know how he can be so open hearted when he's the father of my chloe and the 2nd baby lost thru' m/c.other times,he is so happy when we get a chance to try (i'm not even saying BFP,merely a trying chance) or when i BFP.after my op,and i finally have the IUD taken out,and gotten my period,he was actually quite happy that i was bleeding.my hubby always say i'm jealous of his friends who are preg or who have no.2.i'm not so much jealous,but i feel if u don't treasure ur baby,y should u be given babies after babies? when i congratulated his friend on having no.2,he said," one more mouth to feed". WAT? how can anyone even say that! i'll be more than happy to thank the person who congratulated me and express my happiness.this is the same guy who wanted to give me his wife's HPT.btw,u're not the only one who cries or is ultra-sensitive to all these.i am too.but i cannot cry on my hubby.i have to cry silently.i wished my hubby was like all of urs.if i cry in front of my hubby,he will say i still haven't healed fr the loss of our 1st baby.how to heal? it will never heal totally.maybe 85%,but never 100%.i really don't get too much emotional support fr my hubby.i wished i had more,so i have to depend on myself and be strong.i keep telling myself it's all in the mind.sometimes i can do it,sometimes i can't.

Aiyoh Joanne,

If u ask me to inject myself everyday in return for a healthy baby,i think i'm more than willingly as well.i'm sure u'll do that too.the progesterone injection was painful,but nothing is more unbearable than emotional pain.btw,wat is the name of the injection? it may be useful for me for the next preg.as for ur friend's baby's 1 mth old celebration,juz tell her u're not free.and u don't have to feel guilty saying that.i never feel guilty not going to all these.but my hubby does feel guilty.so he can go 'stab himself with all the pain' when he goes for all these parties,visit friends in hospital etc.

JC,

i didn't tell anyone of my 1st and 2nd preg too.for preg no.1,it's coz i know chances of m/c in the 1st trimester is the highest,so i've decided not to tell anyone except my parents,in laws,and my sis.BUT! who knows,the 1st words that came out of my SIL is,"better have a boy 1st to take the pressure off".I was really really pissed off.i wished i could give her 1 slap.and she had everything to say when i was deciding on my baby's chinese name.in the end,the day after she gave my baby a present,my baby stopped kicking.i really hate her now.i avoid her coz i think she's 'suay'.i even mentioned that to my hubby.but hubby being her bro,of course will side her.i dont' attend her b'day din,i juz avoid her in general.told my hubby if i go give birth,i won't accept any prezzies fr her.told myself if she comes to the hospital to visit me,i make sure my baby is pushed back to the nursery so that she can't touch my baby.yah,i think it's impt to tell ppl who can make ur life easier.it's impt.my bosses & collegues were so supportive.they made special arrangements so i can go off early for gynae appts,they told me not to do certain procedures and to call them when i need help.i'm glad i have such a supportive enviroment at work,when i can't have such support at home.1 of my male collegue even couldn't stop saying,"it's good news" during the entire lunch time when i told him.

my AF report today too.... OMG.... I've given up! Won't be seeing gynae anymore... let's nature take it cause liao...! Weep Weep!
Oh! don't be mistaken, i'll still continue to TTC but now wasting my time to gynae n listen to their instruction anymore...

Monster: Ha, glad u feel the same way. I'm not your twin of coz, but I can be your "online sis", hehe.

JC: Not sure if you tried SO-IUI or IVF. If not, you may wish to consider?

Not sure if u gals read the Her World issue this month, there's an article on how a gal who failed all fertilty treatments and went on to adoption. I know it's an option most of us won't consider, but the reader's journey seems to resonate with some of us here.

HI JC,

*hugs* I used to be like u,so hang up on ttc until my life was eaten up by it.i will think of means and ways of ttc everyday.it came to a point where i tot i was being obessive.so i made it a point to do other things i've always wanted to do.however,these were physical activities and i knew they are going to be taxing on my life.but i still did it anyway.i told myself life cannot come to a standstill.and once i got onto organising all these,i got preg again.after the m/c,the tables seem to have turned.now,my hubby is the one saying all these.i was quite surprised when he said wat happens if i buy a bike and i get preg soon.wow! my hubby is saying this!!! it's like striking 4D coz he's always the unco-operative one.and for my 2nd preg,i struck after 2 failed IUIs.I was so tired of going to the gynae,i told myself i needed a break,and that was wat i gave myself.

bb,

hehe...i'm indeed 1/2 of a twin,u know? i think we are all 'sisters' here,right? we know each other's darkest secrets and craziest thoughts.haha.

Hope_4_bb,

I attend the NUH IVF talk on sat.it was not too bad.it was quite informative.i always wanted to know wat goes on in the IVF lab and this is the 1st time they showed a video of wat happens in the IVF lab.this is also the 1st time i c PC wong in a different light.he joked,he smiled,he was a lot more relaxed than during clinical sessions.i tell u,don't know whether it's an honour or embarrassement,all the nurses knew my name.i went late,hubby went in 1st,they could even tell me my hubby was waiting inside for me.and they could greet me by my name when they saw me.this is the thing i like abt NUH women's clinic.but i'm not sure whether it's only the emerald clinic that's like that.i think all the top notch docs are in the emerald clinic.let me know how u go along with ur IVF.

BB,
my hubby don't want me to go for such procedures (IUI or IVF)... cos he feel that we (ladies) hv to go thru too much torture...

Tat y i feel that you gals are couragous... hving to jab urself daily.....

Hi JC,

how old are u? is ur hubby 1 of those kind of men who is willingly to try until u get a baby? sometimes i think assisted conception is not a bad idea coz it does take some pressure off the couple.for me and my hubby,sex now is really making babies only.very very occassionally do both of us enjoy it.and i'm 1 of those sort of gals who enjoy sex.last night was the 1st time i really felt like a machine.i wanted the entire session to be over ASAP so that i can get some eye shut.

Hi Monster,
I'm 32 this yr. My hubby is willing to do anything for me but he just don't want to see me suffer... cos he heard it from his fren abt IVF. He went to do sperm count check when my gynae say maybe problem lies w my hubby n me... So far my hubby's side is very gd... no need any booster.

I've aso suggest to him abt TCM which i heard a lot of successful cases... he is supportive and he allows me to "tiao" my body, if need be, he will also "tiao"... But i heard TCM also X too...
Both my hubby n me not earning a lots... so we really can't afford to spend too much...

I do feel like a machine so we are doing it too often... hence maybe we are slowing down our pace liao... Do we we feel like it and maybe only OT on those ovulation days (which I've tested +ve)....

Hi JC,

I'm happy for u u have such a considerate hubby.I think it's already a blessing u have someone so dear to share the rest of ur life with.sometimes,i think this way.and i'm also thankful for the experience of carrying my baby for 7 mths.however,other times,i'm so angry with my hubby for not being co-operative and putting me so thru' so much that i think my aim of getting married is to have kids,not so much i have found a partner in life.

it's good there's nothing wrong with ur hubby.my hubby's sperm motility and morphology is not very good.and he blamed me for the stillbirth.sigh....and he also blames me for not being able to conceive so easily coz i have a uterine septum.but it has since been removed.hmm...many girls here are willingly to go thru' anything to have a child,me included.it's so sweet that ur hubby doesn't want u to take the jabs.my hubby didn't even come with me when i took the progesterone jab when i was preg.sometimes i wonder wat the docs think of our rlnshp.haha.

u can try TCM,i'm sure it doesn't hurt.i go to the TCM at Marine Parade.his charges are not ex.1 packet of med is only $10.so it depends on how many packets u need.the only inconvenience is that u have to brew the herbs.

Hi Monster,
Ya... I really feel blessed w a gd husband... During my TTC, he also took leave to go w me to see my gynae even thot i'm not pregnant.. He also willing to take sperm test (which is quite embarrass for him cos he need to eject in the clinic), which he feels that maybe he aso hv prob n may need to take booster.. Thank God, he has not prob.. it's only me who do not ovulate tat often n eggs not a lot...

BTW, did u gynae prescribe booster to ur hubby since ur hubby also hv some problem? I always feel that hubby's support is very important. And we should let our hubby knows that we have suffered many times more than them just to hv the kid.

Also how old are u n ur hubby? I think age is a factor too... I'm only 32, yet my egg is getting lesser..

Would also like to check if anyone of u hv tried this TCM:
Zou Yu Min TCM Physician & Acupuncturist (called to make appt)
Block 505 Ang Mo Kio Ave 8 #01-2670 Singapore 560505

It's nearer to my place as i'm staying in the north area. Marine parade may be too far for me....

monsotr,
i have start my ivf la...using nov menses...doc say since huby motility only 3%..can go direct ivf..do u remember yr huby sa test what is the motility and morphology?

so after the ivf talk..wats yr plan abt ivf? if wan have to consult prof wong early so that can bk the ivf time slot else have to wait dun know when...+ he may be on leave.

Hi hope_4_bb,

Do u mean u're already on the IVF list? juz using ur Nov menses day 21 to start ur jabs? I'm really undecided on IVF.like i said,i'm scared coz i know i'll be going thru' all these by myself.i'll go for appts by myself,i'll jab myself etc.the only thing my hubby will provide is his swimmers and CPF.haha.i spoke to prof wong after the talk.he knows who i am.he said wait 3 cycles then try.i got preg twice naturally.i know IVF is only to take the stress off me having to bd.maybe i should really go for a consult 1st and place myself on the waiting list.my hubby's motility is poor,can't remember.morphology is even worse!

JC,

yes,i have heard of Dr.Zhou at AMK.A lot of ladies go to her and sing her praises.i'm turning 29 next mth and my hubby is 31.however,given my history of foetal loss,i'm juz fearful.i don't know how many times i have to get preg in order to have a take home baby.getting preg is already difficult enough for me,i need to trust my body to hold the baby until full term.

Hi jc
yes.. She is my tcm doc for past one yr till now.. She is a motherly doc.. Did my accupuncture at her place too.. Waiting time is short.. When i succeed iny iui, can sense her happiness fr the phone.. I call her when my bb doesnt grow and she asks me to relax.. She gives free consultant and only charge for medicine and accunpuncture.. Sometime i call her to asks her questions and she is nice to answer all ur questions..;) i like her and her charges not so expensive like eu yan sang.. Affortable rates.. Many woman went to see her..
Today is my first day of work after all the procedures.. Like a restart.. Luckily i jus say woman problem to my collegue and they didnt say or asks further.. Will tcc again after three mths, need to tiao and bu my body first..

Hi hope,
good luck to ur coming ivf..;) rest well, eat egg white and h2o drink after u hv did ur embroye retrieval (ER)..

Hi monster
u take care too and hope u will know ur next step after seeing dr wong..

monstor,
oladi book nov time slot with prof wong. But I havent went for any chr counselling coz prof say closer to date then go which is after my trip as he suggest..else forget everyting when i come bk

thks joanne, that is my last hope already..i just hope everyting will goes well for me.

Hi hope_4_bb,

aiyoh,dunno if i should really go straight for IVF.IVF = short cut for me,coz anyone who has been trying for the longest time knows how difficult it is to bd.maybe i should book a time 1st.btw,wat's the waiting list of IVF? if i get my period this time,can juz go direct to PC wong and ask to do IVF? i think the last time i asked him,he didn't mention any waiting time

I feel so sad when i hear u say it's ur last hope.pls don't say that.my gynae Chris Chong whom i also see always say this to me,"when there is life,there is hope." seriously,i think it takes a very optimistic person to be a gynae.mary rauff also tells me that all the time.i asked her how come she can be so hopeful for me and she said she's a born optimist.it's all these ppl who keep me going in tough times.i hope this thread and ladies in this thread can keep u going.hang in there!

monstor,
i think waiting time usually aorund 2 mths. you can't go this mth and say u wan to do ivf next mth. got to wait for another month coz they only take in a limited no for each mth...

ya..i tink becoz of my preexisiting condition for past 13 yrs..more or less has make me pessismtic...+ my specialist told me..someone of my condition are harder to conceive.and higher chance of m/c even if preggy

I'm new here. Have been a silent reader, and really admired your strength and determination.

We have been TTC-ing for abt a year, and think it's time to do some check-ups. May I know

1) how much does fertility checkup cost?

2) which hospital/gynae will be cheaper?

3) at this stage (normal fertility checkup), do we need to visit as private patient already, or still can be sibsidized by getting Polyclinic's referral 1st?

Sorry for having so many questions. Hope to get some help from you ladies here. Thanks!

Hi Plush,

wow! i like ur nick.tis is my opnion (pls note,it may not be true,but this is wat i perceive):

It's better to be a private patient.though u pay more,u can choose a more experienced doc eg.senior consultant/head of department.to me,when ttc,it is impt to choose a more experienced doc as he/she would have seen more cases.with experience,knowledge comes.i'm sure u can still be seen as a subsidized patient.but u will usually be seen by MOs (mdeical officers) or registras.MOs means they have passed med sch and are posted to hospitals to work (usually gov hospitals).they are not specialists in their field.registras means they are training in the field of O&G,but not specialised yet.i've been treated as a subsidized patient at KKH.1st appt,u'll see a consultant (fully qualified specialised),but subsequent appts wll not be with the consultant.there is no continuity with ur case.unless u r very sure and have the medical knowledge of wat is done/wat is to be done,it's better to have 1 doc see u thru'.

i paid a lot more to be seen as a private patient at NUH coz i wanted to see a particular doc.and i never looked back.i fully trust my team of docs taking care of me.

if u go to gov hospitals,they will be slightly cheaper than private hospitals.and beware! in gov hospitals,docs get a fixed salary and they don't earn by the no. of patients they see.i feel sometimes in private hospitals,the gynaes are quite pushy.in gov hospitals,i know whatever they want me to do is for my own good,and not for the $$.

comparing hospitals,i prefer NUH over KKH.I've decided on my choices of hospitals based on the neonata care they provide coz i'm absolutely paranoid abt my baby needing neonatal care.KKH and NUH have the best neonatal unit in s'pore (again,that's my opnion).i was seen as a private patient at KKH too,but i decided to go to NUH coz of a particular doc i wanted to c

hope this helps.it's good that u're looking at getting help at an early stage,rather than wait.

I'm new here too. I'm TTC for almost 8months. Recently went to see gynae and diagnose that i have adnormal shape for my uterus. It's bigger than normal. Would like to know if anyone have met this problem before?
Also, wat are the way to solve this problem. Thanks!!!

Hi Plush,
i'm private patient under a clinic in TMC. My gynae is previously a KKH snr consultant. I like gog to private hosp cos the waiting time is not so long...
Sorry, but i really don't like the long long waiting time in govt hosp!

Gals gals gals!!

I am back to this thread.

Really tiring.... think DH & I need a break from all these TTC, disappointment etc.

Will fill in more details when I have mood and time.

Hope 4 bb: Good luck for your ivf. Don't feel pessimistic, try to at least don't think about it if you can't feel positive. I know it's not easy but must try.

Monster: U r still so young! I think given your age, you should give yourself a break and just try naturally, or at most SOIUI one more time. Then if 1 yr still no success, then consider IVF. For most of us, we are approaching mid 30s, so no choice.

JC: You are lucky your hubby is so caring to you. My hubby is quite supportive in this TTC journey, but I think he doesn't see/visualise the pain of IVF. He keep telling me to go IVF since we tried for quite some time and no success. Cos to guys, they just need to produce sperm, they dun understand the fear women have to go through, and also the inconvenience of taking time off and mc. Well, I think it depends on how much you want to have a child. IVF is no longer taboo. If you seriously want a child, and can't conceive after 1 year, I think you should try assisted reproduction. When I go to the IVF centre, I saw a lot of couples who look "normal", not ultra fat or stressed up or very old, but these pple also need help in conceiving.

Just faith: Hope you are ok, take care.

hi justfaith
Dis is roxy here... forgto password to old account.. using new one..congrats on your preg! Am so glad you made it!! if there's spotting, no matter heavy or light, its best if u can call/see ur gynae immediately esp in 1st trimester. No doubt spotting is very common but cannot ignore it also. Best to be on total bed rest. I had serious bleeding for no 1 and 2.. and till now, so far so good!

BB,
i tot of gog to TCM treatment at AMK... Heard a lots of gd feedback abt the physician...

My hubby feels that since we already hv a girl le... if possible would like to hv another one... If not, he is grateful enuf to just hv 1 daughter...Hence gog thru IVF torture is not necessary. Maybe i'm useless too bah... v scare of jabs....

However, I do feel that u gals gog thru IUI/IVF are great pple cos you r willing to go thru these sufferings for your child. I'll give u moral support... Jia You!

Hi justfaith
are u ok? Hope u r doing fine and dun stress out too much.. I think am too stress for my first two pregnancy.. So disappointment after that.. Think will try be relax next time though not easy.. Rest well and take care k..

hi Just faith,

I'm assuming the outcome of ur preg was undesirable (i don't know how else i can put it,there are no consoling words).Pls take care of urself.u may want to try TCM? like me? I was running out of options and I tot since it won't kill me,it's worth a try.i got preg the 1st round i took TCM.that's y i'm going back to TCM now.

bb,

I'm young? for how long more? I get preg every yr,but i still don't have a take home baby.if both my pregnancies were successful,i would be a mummy of 2 already.

I was juz wondering...I was chatting with my good friend who came back fr europe.i was asking her if she missed her little boy (he's 7 mths now).Suddenly,I tot to myself: how does it really feel to be a mother? I sometimes fantasize how it'll be when i give birth,the scene in the hospital,the scene when my hubby kisses me to thank me (haha! this is realy fantasizing,doubt it will ever hapen).Hmm...i'll probably only know when my 'one day' comes.hopefully it'll be soon

Hi Monster and JC!

Thanks for your replies! Think I'll follow your advice on being a private patient. Just worried that if need to perform any removal of fibroids/cysts or wat-not (touch wood)after check-up, the bill will kill us.. ;) Pay all those income tax to govt, and yet didnt enjoy any subsidies.. sianz...

So do you ladies have any gynae recommendations? Is there a differentiation among gynaes? e.g. between the usual gynaes (for pregnant mums) and those that specialise in fertility? Went to a few threads, but I can't tell which is which...

Hi Plush,

Yes,I know wat u mean.let me run u thru' the amt of money i have paid for all the treatment so far.

1) usual gynae fees for preg no.1
2) 3K+ for stillbirth - including post mortem
3) money for consulation and investigations (x-rays,blood tests etc) when i changed to gynae at NUH
4) 2K+ for 2 failed IUIs - pls note i paid less coz the doc gave me a discount as i'm in the healthcare profession too.but the amt i'm giving u is b4 discount
5) Can't rem how much i paid for D & C (less than $500,i think)
6) 3K+ for ressection of my uterine septum

u add all up,that's a HUGE amt of money.but at least it's not all at 1 shot.it's fr the past yr till now.it's a small price to pay.and the amt i'm giving u is only seeing gynae at NUH.i also took hubby to see a private gynae and paid $500+ for testosterone.and hubby said if spend all this money can get a preg,he's willingly.

u need to see a fertility specialist.beware when u go private hospitals coz anyone can call themselves fetility specialists.but in the hospital,fertility specialists are those who really deal with infertility.

i see mary rauff (normal gynae) and PC wong (fertility specialist).they are both at NUH