Woo woot @KWL ! I only just figured out my pump too, or rather, hubby did cos I was exhausted from almost 12 hr straight latch yesterday lol

Congrats, late the nurse do the work. U r paying the hopsital fee. . Catch up your sleep there. After come home, i have to do all the pumping n feeding of baby. No luxury to slee thru the night. At night ur breast will be enorged too.
Thanks @piglet02 , I did shed 2 tears after dropping her off at the nursery, but I remember all the hardships the mummies have been sharing here and on FB, and this is just the beginning of a long journey, better to conserve some energy while I had help.

You are right! Right boob engorged, quite painful and had to cold compress it earlier after pumping out excess. Now bubbles helping to clear it, slowly softening as I type lol!

I'm supposed to learn to bathe my bb today for the first time. Been observing and taking video. But weather is kinda cold this morning so CL says postpone the lesson to tomorrow :p She says since cold then better she handles it for today. Fast hand fast leg so bb won't be chilled.

Anyone started bathing own baby yet?

I haven started, the style that I learnt from previous CL is different. Then I learnt another style from my church friend which I had be using to take care of my no1... Think i will just use my method after CL leaves, if she looks at me I get stressed haha!

I need to recap tho haha!

Lol I'm sure you'll be a pro after one refresher lesson.

I can only monkey see monkey do and copy my CL style. But have told her I will improvise a bit to suit my comfort/beginner level. After few attempts then I guess I have more confident going full fletch.

Btw, does anyone know how long is confinement supposed to be? I always thot it is 28 days but I know some do it for 40days. 40days seems quite common. I want to know when j can start to drink cold drinks (craving gong Cha and icecream since duno how long!)

Lol so far I've no food craving but I think you triggered my gongcha crave (my fav pregnancy craving).

I always thought its 28days. But my mil confinement back then she drank LRD for 90days. I won't do that but I will stick to no seafood ("toxic") and yam (not sure why) for 90days.

Lol so far I've no food craving but I think you triggered my gongcha crave (my fav pregnancy craving).

I always thought its 28days. But my mil confinement back then she drank LRD for 90days. I won't do that but I will stick to no seafood ("toxic") and yam (not sure why) for 90days.

I heard yam is toxic too...

What kinda seafood? I just went Sushi Tei and ate some rolls with prawns, soft shell crab, crab sticks... So yummy! Haha!!

I heard yam is toxic too...

What kinda seafood? I just went Sushi Tei and ate some rolls with prawns, soft shell crab, crab sticks... So yummy! Haha!!
Seafood as in those in your tummy already hahah.

Prawn, crab, sotong, clam etc these kind. Of cos fish is excluded.

Candy moshi Wow u so fast end your confinement ? Envy ... I can't wait to get a hot shower .. Ya my mum also told me not eat seafood (exclude fish) for 100 days leh .. Cold drink is ok after 28 days

I just had my shower...shiok....been having shower after 12 days ...doing it alternate days

Oh ok I have eaten forbidden foods haha.

I showered everyday. Herbal bath for 10 days and normal hot water shower for the rest of the day. Just need to hair-dryer my hair.

Excited now cos can have Gong Cha and icecream soon! My confinement supposedly end today. BB was born thu 23 Jun, so today wed is last day ba! Haha!

Just went to The doctor. No progress in The dilation at all. She is suggesting 2 options 1) either 23 or 23 (Edd) July to have a c-sec or, 2) 25 July to induce (Edd +2). But based on my height n weight of bb now, she said 50 percent chance of natural n emergency c-sec. So I have to decide by today.

Right after I delivered my baby, I told my gynae to get my a KOI bubble tea (while he's stitching me up). He laughed and told me no KOI, Gong Cha ok for me not?!

Can't wait for my Confinment to end, but not for my CL to leave, so worried I cannot handle all the things on my own.

I just had my shower...shiok....been having shower after 12 days ...doing it alternate days
I shower with da feng cao & lemongrass water in late morning everyday. Hair wash every 3days once. Heehee. Gan1972 our baby full mth on 30july. Jia you. 1more wks to go.

Right after I delivered my baby, I told my gynae to get my a KOI bubble tea (while he's stitching me up). He laughed and told me no KOI, Gong Cha ok for me not?!

Can't wait for my Confinment to end, but not for my CL to leave, so worried I cannot handle all the things on my own.
U so cute. My gynae ask me want nos.3 when he stitching me up. I am already scare the hell out of the csect procedure. Hahaha

I shower with da feng cao & lemongrass water in late morning everyday. Hair wash every 3days once. Heehee. Gan1972 our baby full mth on 30july. Jia you. 1more wks to go.
Haha yes full month on 30/7.... I am doing the full month celebration on that day too.i kept thinking full month is on 1/8.

This is my second c section....seems like the cut is in the same spot ? Trying to lift up my flabby tummy to check...think I shld do the massage soon

My gynae also told me "now you can eat McDonald's or whatever you want" after my girl popped. Hehe because of my GD and I told him I had mcd meal plus apple pie, the night before the gynae appt which decided my fate. My blood sugar shot up (among other factors) thus he said better don't wait and was scheduled the induction that night.

Past days have been the start of "tonic" phase. My CL made chicken essence from black chicken and Dom. Drank before sleep. The next day she asked me if i slept well. I have forgotten about the essence but I said I couldn't sleep well because suspected aircon spoilt. Because I was sweating mad in the middle of the night with aircon at 25degree. Then she reminded me ya the essence will make my body very warm. Haha no wonder. Still thought why aircon system so new so fast spoilt.

My gynae also told me "now you can eat McDonald's or whatever you want" after my girl popped. Hehe because of my GD and I told him I had mcd meal plus apple pie, the night before the gynae appt which decided my fate. My blood sugar shot up (among other factors) thus he said better don't wait and was scheduled the induction that night.

Past days have been the start of "tonic" phase. My CL made chicken essence from black chicken and Dom. Drank before sleep. The next day she asked me if i slept well. I have forgotten about the essence but I said I couldn't sleep well because suspected aircon spoilt. Because I was sweating mad in the middle of the night with aircon at 25degree. Then she reminded me ya the essence will make my body very warm. Haha no wonder. Still thought why aircon system so new so fast spoilt.
Sweat it out.

Haha yes full month on 30/7.... I am doing the full month celebration on that day too.i kept thinking full month is on 1/8.

This is my second c section....seems like the cut is in the same spot ? Trying to lift up my flabby tummy to check...think I shld do the massage soon
Haha me too thinking full mth is 1/8. I doing the celebration on Sunday. But the prayer n haircut I doing on sat n I can go out on that day. Can wait for that day to come

Can we breastfeed after the tonic? I have a bottle of Dom but not sure how long I must wait to express my milk out if I take the dom chicken

Hi all, I have just delivered my baby on 13 jul and hoping to join Facebook thread or WA group for support and sharing. Will anyone be able to add me? Looking forward to hearing from all the new mothers! Thanks!

Can we breastfeed after the tonic? I have a bottle of Dom but not sure how long I must wait to express my milk out if I take the dom chicken
The Dom is cooked for hours with the black chicken so it's ok to consume during bf. But if you drink straight from bottle then I guess must wait. But I'm not sure how long.

Hi all, seems like my bm isn't kicking in well.

I tried to hand squeeze yesterday until boobs pain. I switched on the pump last night for the first time but almost nothing came out. In my hurry, I pressed the highest intensity and now my boobs are so sore. I had a drop of blood in the milk as well. Gosh.

My baby had no choice but to drink formula milk last night as she was wailing non stop! My CL told me that my baby drinks little but requests for milk multiple times. I know what she means as I have been feeding her non stop in this manner when we were in hospital.

I decided to rest and completely stop breastfeeding since 10.30pm last night. Cos no point forcing when I don't have a good supply using breast pump.

However, if I let the little one suckle, I am able to "satisfy" her for a short while. She usually dozed off after I feed and cry in 1-2hours time again for the past few days.

What should I do now?

Today is considered Day 4. Boobs are considered soft, but with sore nipples only from yesterday's incorrect use of breast pump.

Should I Continue breast pump?

or let the little one suckle on demand during the day and only express at night?

I am pro-BF mum. Please advise this noob mum

Dear kwl

Apply nipple cream at least half an HR before u pump after. Continue to pump every 3hrs but change to massage mode or the lowest mode.

Don't latch for 1day.

Reactions: KWL
KWL that sounds so painful. Interesting to hear mummies' advice here on your situation as I'll be clueless too if I were to encounter the same.

My milk only came in on day4 IIRC. It was because my bb was admitted for jaundice then I decided to express with pump. Hang in there.

Reactions: KWL
KWL, my bb is like your little one. Cried for milk 1 hrs plus after latching. My CL will give ebm (if any), if not then will give formula. I'm using medela freestyle, usually I will use to letdown function first ( press 2x if needed) then change to level 3 to pump out the milk. I find that level 4 is too strong for my liking.

For increasing of bm, the LC in hospital recommends eating supplements like fenugreek, drink papaya fish soup & have enough rest and don't be too stressed cos all these will affect bm output. Some of my friends said must drink at least 2 litres of water per day to get decent amount of bm. Hope all these helps :)

Also scroll through your bb photos when you pump. I have just learnt this. It's like a signal sent to our body to produce what's in demand. My CL told me her second daughter will experience a let down whenever she is outside and hears babies cry.

Any of your babies want to be carried to sleep?? Gosh my princess has been fussing since 430am... On.y doze off when carried...once put down, will start crying within 5 mins!!

U can try baby wearing...

There was a period w my elder son that he has to be carried to sleep. So I swaddle him and put him tummy time on my body. And took an HR long nap. After that he was Abt to sleep on a prone (tummy down) position and doesn't need to be carried to sleep. Still need to carry to rock him drowsy tho..

My no2 had this phase last week. CL carry whole nite... And only put him down in deep sleep... One tip was to put my hand on his chest after trnf-ing him to bed and wait for him to settle down... I find it helps sometimes.

Last resort is to babywear him while j do ur chores... At least free up ur hands and weight distributed to both shoulders...

Hi all, seems like my bm isn't kicking in well.

I tried to hand squeeze yesterday until boobs pain. I switched on the pump last night for the first time but almost nothing came out. In my hurry, I pressed the highest intensity and now my boobs are so sore. I had a drop of blood in the milk as well. Gosh.

My baby had no choice but to drink formula milk last night as she was wailing non stop! My CL told me that my baby drinks little but requests for milk multiple times. I know what she means as I have been feeding her non stop in this manner when we were in hospital.

I decided to rest and completely stop breastfeeding since 10.30pm last night. Cos no point forcing when I don't have a good supply using breast pump.

However, if I let the little one suckle, I am able to "satisfy" her for a short while. She usually dozed off after I feed and cry in 1-2hours time again for the past few days.

What should I do now?

Today is considered Day 4. Boobs are considered soft, but with sore nipples only from yesterday's incorrect use of breast pump.

Should I Continue breast pump?

or let the little one suckle on demand during the day and only express at night?

I am pro-BF mum. Please advise this noob mum

Don't be disheartened. For the time being, u can mix latch and pump if you can tahan the pain. 休息是为了走很长远的路,rest and heal if you must, motherhood and BF journey is a long way ahead. Mai ganchiong!

I recommend pumping tho, as regular timing and pumping strength will signal to the body the demand compared to less regular, weaker suction from a newborn. For pumping it shouldn't be painful, so u have to reduce the level. Massage b4 pumping in circle motions Ard the breast, then rub breasts between ur palms left and right, up and down. Push towards nipple. Squeeze areola... Then pump...

Once milk kick it you can decide again what to do. Latch and top up etc.

Gambatte!!!

My boy also the same. Always want to carry even during the day. Swaddle him. Pat pat his butt until my hand want to break.

I see improvement already. I latched my baby since morning. And I even hand squeezed breast milk in A syringe. 1ml but better than nothing!! I asked husband to help collect in syringe at 11 plus.

Then I latched again at 2+. She dozed off on husband tummy but got awakened by his snoring and requested for milk at 4pm again.

Haha me too thinking full mth is 1/8. I doing the celebration on Sunday. But the prayer n haircut I doing on sat n I can go out on that day. Can wait for that day to come

I'm doing baby full month
Also scroll through your bb photos when you pump. I have just learnt this. It's like a signal sent to our body to produce what's in demand. My CL told me her second daughter will experience a let down whenever she is outside and hears babies cry.

I agree on the scrolling through the baby photos when pumping. Seems like my milk will come out faster when I'm looking at his photos so I always have my phone with photos ready when I'm pumping in the MOTN.

Hope everything will be fine for you KWL! jiayou!

Hi mummies do you know when can we buy private shield plan for baby? My gal has jaundice so I need to get the all clear from pd before I buy?

Just call up ur insurance agent. They need time to prepare the plan n submit. Usually take abt 1mths

Hi @gan1972
Different insurers have different underwriting guidelines. It's best if you can get an all-clear from the pd to avoid getting exclusions, and then having to appeal after that...

My client's newborn was hosp for viral URTI (upper respiratory tract infection) and after she was discharged, she bought the shield plan for her baby. However she was still given an exclusion. So what happened was she waited about 3 months for a review with the pd, and I assisted her to appeal. And appeal was successful.

Many newborns suffer from jaundice, however in medical reports, there's both primary and secondary diagnosis, both of which insurers study very carefully. I'd recommend you to get an all-clear first. However, it's still best to speak to a consultant from an insurer you are comfortable with, different insurers have their own underwriting guidelines.