After I breastfeed my baby and sit him up to burp, I always see that he spit out the milk and sometime this will choke him n he will cough. This really puzzle me. Anyone experience this with the baby?

I've been trying to pump 4-5 times a day and latch baby 1-2 times at least (for bonding too). Thankfully she has no issue of nipple confusion and accepts bottles well. Haha. Maybe my nips arent uniquely shaped. I just reached post partum week 1 and can produce about 400ml or more if im dilligently pumping. Totally clockwork and like a cow haha

Gleaflim u mean after u unlatch den sit up den bb choke?
For my bb is cos he drink v fast den i feel he nv swallow cos he will feel asleep... Den i can see the milk leaks out at the side when during latching..always choke during latching he sometimes turn purple too.. Scary!

I think it better that bb can spit out milk leh, hehe. Not sure how to avoid bb choking on milk too.. But when bottle feed it rarely ghappens.

Gleaflim u mean after u unlatch den sit up den bb choke?
For my bb is cos he drink v fast den i feel he nv swallow cos he will feel asleep... Den i can see the milk leaks out at the side when during latching..always choke during latching he sometimes turn purple too.. Scary!

I think it better that bb can spit out milk leh, hehe. Not sure how to avoid bb choking on milk too.. But when bottle feed it rarely ghappens.

Sometimes baby will choke while still latch on, sometimes choke when I sit him up. Yes. He always fall asleep while latching on. Very scary when the baby choke as dun know what to do to help him. Can hear him grasping for air. Me the same. If I bottle feed him with formula milk he seldom choke.

Very stressful. I pump every 2hr still 40ml combine only. Baby doesn't want to latch on. Don't is it block ducts or not enough milk.

Puplehunny,

Same as me, i also pump out only 40-60 max for 2 breast! When baby latch on she never get enough and i need to use bottle to feed her. Yesterday she latch on for 1.5hrs but still hungry, anyone can advise maybe the milk flow not enough compare to pump one???

I delivered without epidural too & can feel the episiotomy even he injected local anesthesia. I've tear & cut there and it's so difficult for me to walk & sit.

Been pumping 40ml every 2hrs. Nipples super swollen and sore. How do I know if the flange are suitable? Breasts are lumpy. Don't know what to do.

Hi Purplebuny,

Me too. Nipples are swell n sore after each pump. Pump 30mins/ session, no more milk come out but breast still feel lumpy like Nvr empty. Arrgh... Feel like giving up. :confused:

Hi Purplebuny,

Me too. Nipples are swell n sore after each pump. Pump 30mins/ session, no more milk come out but breast still feel lumpy like Nvr empty. Arrgh... Feel like giving up. :confused:
Yeah pumping doesn't clear all as much as bb sucking. I also have same problem. Now I understand why some people give up BF so quickly.

Mummies! Don't give up.....I was on the verge of giving up too when baby was just born. But I think about the money I could save on formula milk and then I persevered. Haha. Money-faced me.

Drink lots of fluid and water. If your baby can latch on,just latch on demand. Baby's sucking is the best pump and stimulation. If baby can't or don't want to latch,try power pump to boost supply. Also eat more spinach & salmon & drink milo. Heard these are milk boosters. Lastly...rest more if you can. Baby sleep,you sleep. I woke up one hour later today (too tired) and pumped out slightly more milk this morning.

Persevere, persevere & persevere!

Haiz.. Bb poo after every bm feeding. Oso Duno Fm or diapers cost more. :p

Now my breast look ugly, hard, lumpy, swollen and sore. Not forgetting got to pump 3hourly (tired), bb got slight jaundice (due to the confinement food I eat?), and got lots of wind ( due to my bm? Since I oso lots of wind).
Very disheartening. Somemore milk Nvr increase for days Liao. Has been stagnant at 80ml/ pump. :(

Maybe can try cold compress (cabbage) or warm compress using warm water n towel to massage b4 pumping if lumpy.
Another method is can pump 5-10mins before latching baby, so bb can help clear any block ducts that ur pump cannot do.
Yes agree with yew_yew, dun give up so fast. Even if u yield 40ml is ok, jus continue to pump dun see the amount, itthe quality tat matters. Everyone breast is different, some can store more some lesser ducts so less milk. But ultimately is the nutrients that we wanna give the best to bb. I drink milo everyday, and ate lots of chocolate too.

@highness , my bb also poo n farts after every feed! Use lots of diapers too. Haha. Ur bb how many days old? My boi jus cleared of his jaundice at Day 17. Phew~ jus make sure bb drinks regularly 3hourly, and sun him 2x a day.

Maybe can try cold compress (cabbage) or warm compress using warm water n towel to massage b4 pumping if lumpy.
Another method is can pump 5-10mins before latching baby, so bb can help clear any block ducts that ur pump cannot do.
Yes agree with yew_yew, dun give up so fast. Even if u yield 40ml is ok, jus continue to pump dun see the amount, itthe quality tat matters. Everyone breast is different, some can store more some lesser ducts so less milk. But ultimately is the nutrients that we wanna give the best to bb. I drink milo everyday, and ate lots of chocolate too.

@highness , my bb also poo n farts after every feed! Use lots of diapers too. Haha. Ur bb how many days old? My boi jus cleared of his jaundice at Day 17. Phew~ jus make sure bb drinks regularly 3hourly, and sun him 2x a day.

My gal is 8 days old, can cry really loud. Ytd due to engorement and tits bleeding, Nvr latch her. Today she can't really latch on Liao. Upset....

Sometimes she can cry for milk hourly. But ytd she oni wanna suck the milk bottle teats but not drinking. Worried die my hb.
I'm giving her FM at night feed so she's more full and won't wake up so frequent. So we can Zz more at nite.

I do share the same sentiments...Baby is 8 days old too! Trying to latch but she didn't....So i keep pumping every 2 hours...
Hubby asked me dont stress myself which I also agree but thinking of the breastmilk is the most nutritious for the baby!

Let's keep pumping! :)

My gynae and PD asked me to mix both FM and BM together for her.... She is doing ok!

dear all, thanks for all your blessings. i had a very fast 2 hour delivery, from the time waterbag was broken. dilation was very fast, 2 hours it went from 4-10cm. natural birth with epidural. :)

ImageUploadedByForum1431681544.006169.jpg

heres a pic of my gal..

Mummies. Sometimes, I also do want to give up when I encountered blocked ducts and sore nipples. One of my nipples is infected, has pus and super sore now still recovering. Thinking of giving up and give formula cos of convenience. Don't need to worry of supply.

But thinking of BM benefits, I preserve. I have 4 gals, elder only manage to bf for about 2mths but the rest of 3 gals bf longer and they don't wear spectacles but elder does.
My hb who wear spectacles hate it and prefer our kids don't. So we attribute it to bm.

I direct latch and to clear blocked ducts I will massage the breast while nursing BB. Super fast in clearing them. Mummies who direct latch can try.

When pumping, really must relax don't look at the output. I pump surfing internet and I can pump more. BB now 15 days and I managed to pump out 70ml in 30mins from 1 breast. Not much but enough for BB. Since I direct latch this will be my backup. I will always latch BB first before offering the backup to stimulate my supply.

Pumping is not a good gauge of how much you can produce. BB can get more milk from breast if she/he is correctly latch and nursing efficiently.

A question dawned on me...

Could I have gestational diabetes without me knowing? Coz I just do the usual urine test for glucose at my appts all along and I usually have my appts on morning before any food that's why I usually pass the urine test for glucose & protein and it could go undetected? Just wondering if this is the reason why baby is alrdy 3.2kg at 38 weeks scan. Tmr I should ask my gynae about it...

Mummies who own m1 Spectra, how do you know that it is fully charged.
I charged for roughly 6 hours the main unit battery indicator is always blinking at the last bar.
Batt indicator is at the charger or the main unit?

A question dawned on me...

Could I have gestational diabetes without me knowing? Coz I just do the usual urine test for glucose at my appts all along and I usually have my appts on morning before any food that's why I usually pass the urine test for glucose & protein and it could go undetected? Just wondering if this is the reason why baby is alrdy 3.2kg at 38 weeks scan. Tmr I should ask my gynae about it...

3.2kg at 38wks is fine mah? Not too big. I pass my urine test everytime as well, with or without meals beforehand. Dun worry too much :)

Puplehunny,

Same as me, i also pump out only 40-60 max for 2 breast! When baby latch on she never get enough and i need to use bottle to feed her. Yesterday she latch on for 1.5hrs but still hungry, anyone can advise maybe the milk flow not enough compare to pump one???

How old is your BB now? If you are latching on, is your BB correctly latched?
How to know BB is correctly latched? BB's chin is in the breast, BB's nose is away from the breast and BB covers more of the areola with his lower lip than the upper lip.

Below is the video link to good latching which I have posted earlier on.
http://www.breastfeedinginc.ca/content.php?pagename=videos

When the milk flow is slow use compression method to assist the flow so that BB won't fuss at the breast and will continue to drink.
Even when BB's eyes are closed, they will drink if there is milk flow.

Close to the end of a nursing period, milk flow won't be as fast when you started, so compression method helps. It works for me. If you have blocked ducts, milk flow will also be affected, so try to clear them.

3.2kg at 38wks is fine mah? Not too big. I pass my urine test everytime as well, with or without meals beforehand. Dun worry too much :)

Really ah? I really worried baby grow too big for natural delivery at 40 weeks. Maybe I am just scaring myself.

@4gals , my elder girl wore specs at 3mth old till 3yrs old. Had astig n was lucky we spotted it early n had it treated. Both me n hub aso wears specs so higher chance kids have astig that can lead to myopia. I agree theres lots of benefits tat i see in my kids tat manage to drink longer, like lesser chance of falling ill (most important is strong immunity)! You're a wonderful mom, having 4 kids n still perserve to bf!! How u manage ur time with the kids??
I feel like i neglect my kids wen the LO is out, cos need more attn n time to pump, rest, latch.. :( feel guilty

@furbee I direct latching with minimal pumping so got a bit more time. 3 of my gals go student care till 6pm. Elder in Sec 1. My hubby now will spend more time and communicating with the 4 gals. But when the gals are all at home in the evening, they will all want to see and carry didi.

Will also feel gulity of neglecting them but we try our best to spend time with them. But they are more independent and will entertain each other while we are busy. So not so bad lah.

Mummies who own m1 Spectra, how do you know that it is fully charged.
I charged for roughly 6 hours the main unit battery indicator is always blinking at the last bar.
Batt indicator is at the charger or the main unit?
Me! I also using Spectra M1.
I oso Duno when is fully charge wor. Tot read it somewhere is @ 4-5hrs..

Can seek your advice is my milk production normal for a one week old mummy? Last night i pumped at 3am manually for about 10 mins and produced 120 ml in total. This morning my boobs leaked and i pumped for 15 mins and yield about 300ml in total cos my boobs are engorged again...

I have stopped taking lactation stimulation pills prescribed by gynae.

Many thanks!

Wow.. Congrats! Dats a lot of milk!
This morning I pump after a 6hr break, total is 140ml niah, haha.. Bb is 9 days old.

Wow.. Congrats! Dats a lot of milk!
This morning I pump after a 6hr break, total is 140ml niah, haha.. Bb is 9 days old.
Hello! Hows your baby's feeds like? Frequent? My girl takes in about 30-50 ml per feed. Shes one week old and was abit premature haha

Hi Twirlycandies,

I read your post that u were given lactation stimulation pills. May I know what is the name of the pills and also the name of your Gynae?

I need to get these pills due to low milk supply.

Hi Twirlycandies,

I read your post that u were given lactation stimulation pills. May I know what is the name of the pills and also the name of your Gynae?

I need to get these pills due to low milk supply.

My gynae is doctor irene chua from gleneagles. The name of the pills is lactagreek. She prescribed me that upon my discharge but i only took for 2-3 days and stopped. She charged me $42 per box of 60 pills (2 pills/3 times a day).

HTH!

My gynae is doctor irene chua from gleneagles. The name of the pills is lactagreek. She prescribed me that upon my discharge but i only took for 2-3 days and stopped. She charged me $42 per box of 60 pills (2 pills/3 times a day).

HTH!

does it really help? I think I wanna prepare to get one too just in case.. heard GNC is also selling..

Hello, i am not sure if it really helps my production of milk cos i only took for 3 days and stopped. We didnt request for it and it came in a bundle of other medicine and supplements prescribed upon my discharge :) but no harm trying i guess?

Wahhh.... been a while since I log in... and there's a lot of posts!!

Congrats to mummies who have alrdy given birth.
And to those still waiting, rest more, drink lots...

I pump about 3 times daily, esp when my girl decided not to empty my breasts properly. Every session will get abt 150ml. Every day I will get to store abt 2 packs of 120ml. I direct latch most of the times. Bottle feed only after morning and evening baths and sometimes in between when needed.

The freezer is almost full now. My breasts get full almost very quickly after pumps and feeds. It will double up too especially after I eat, even tho it's just a piece of bread.

I get very hungry too. I thot hungry phase will be over once delivered, but breastfeeding makes me even more hungry.

Anyone feels the same too?

@nazriah, yup. I get hungry easily too. That's the "side - effect" of breastfeeding.

4 years ago when I bf #2,I read that every woman has different amount of milk supply. 2 women can eat the same food,drink the same fluid and take the same milk boosters but 1 can produce lots of milk while the other can't. It's inborn.

Like twirlycandy, I also take lactagreek as prescribed by my gynae too but I don't produce as much milk.

So ya...I really envy some of you who are born with so much milk supply.

Can seek your advice is my milk production normal for a one week old mummy? Last night i pumped at 3am manually for about 10 mins and produced 120 ml in total. This morning my boobs leaked and i pumped for 15 mins and yield about 300ml in total cos my boobs are engorged again...

Many thanks!
wow that is alot of milk!

Hello! Hows your baby's feeds like? Frequent? My girl takes in about 30-50 ml per feed. Shes one week old and was abit premature haha
Hihi! My gal can take up to 60ml/ feed. But sometime she takes hourly. My bm now still sufficient for her cos at night we gv fm to make her feel fuller so all can sleep longer :p

Many thanks!

Twirlycandy, r u still latching on or exclusive pump? Normal? yes, cos u able to produce more milk which is a gd sign! But also easily engorged! Best to pump frequently n not let it engorge often cos can lead to blocked ducts wor.
Stock up ur milk when u have plentiful. My take is to store minimum 150-180ml per pack n freeze (see ur bag max limit). But do consider if u use normal freezer, try not to put beside meat, n to use it within 3mths. (Can aso put the frozen packs in ziplock bags easier to find n defrost)

Twirlycandy, r u still latching on or exclusive pump? Normal? yes, cos u able to produce more milk which is a gd sign! But also easily engorged! Best to pump frequently n not let it engorge often cos can lead to blocked ducts wor.
Stock up ur milk when u have plentiful. My take is to store minimum 150-180ml per pack n freeze (see ur bag max limit). But do consider if u use normal freezer, try not to put beside meat, n to use it within 3mths. (Can aso put the frozen packs in ziplock bags easier to find n defrost)
Hi furbee,

I pumped about 4-5 times throughout the day and latches at least twice a day for bonding. She has no nipple confusion thankfully. I store using pigeon storage bags in a mini fridge hubby bought...

Hi furbee,

I pumped about 4-5 times throughout the day and latches at least twice a day for bonding. She has no nipple confusion thankfully. I store using pigeon storage bags in a mini fridge hubby bought...
If store in mini bar fridge, can keep for how many days/months?
I pump every 3 hourly, each time about 150ml/bag. Now my fridge is full already, should I get a mini bar fridge? It will not freeze the milk right?

If its fridge is 5 days ...some mummies use the temperature as a gauge up to even 8days. Freezer 3mths, max 6mths ...
Ya mini fridge bar doesnt freeze milk...... Unless u get a standalone freezer. (If use long term can consider... Cos can store 6-max 12 mths) :)

Many thanks!
Wah seh!!! My BB 2 weeks old and everytime my pump output only yields 60ml for both breasts combined. Can I exchange one breast with u???:D

LOL! U r so funny! My girl is a borderline premie so her growth and intake of milk may be abit smaller compared to full term babies. Bt ok lah so far weight gt increase after 5 days.. Do u get engorgement if u dont pump too?