I also weep on day 2 coz no colostrum and baby already impatient and keep rooting for milk. This is especially so for boys and both our babies are big. Coincidentally, my baby also 3.44 kg at birth. I told my hubby "i'm so useless, until now no milk" His immediate reply was "你最伟大了。" Not to mention I cried even worst upon hearing this lol. I was plagued by raging hormones, kept crying for the past 2 weeks. Was chatting up with my gfs who have given birth before and realised its very normal to feel depressed postpartum.

I also gave in and gave my boy fm as the nurse came running to me and said my boy was wailing so loudly in the nursery -_- so i gave the go ahead to feed fm. Whatsmore my PD told me that baby was having some jaundice. So I din wanna have his jaundice worsen, fm it shall be.

Till now I still struggling with supply issues, my boy nipple confusion issues, mood issues, sleep issues hahahaha so many issues. Dun think too much. Rest well, especially we are c-sec mums.
I can totally relate babe..yesterday I just kept crying the whole day for no particular reason. Just felt inadequate, helpless and moody. Every time I look at baby, tears will start falling. Everytime my hubs try to console me or ask me what's wrong or even say something sweet, tears will start falling also. My friend told me it's normal and prob just the hormones. Feel better today though and hope things start looking up from here!

can I ask those who had natural delivery at TMC, how long did u stay? how many nights?
Depending on doc, usually is 2N after delivery. If you deliver at night or in the morning, doc might juz ask you to stay for 1N, which was my case. My doc gave me option to discharge but I stayed for another night cuz Bb cannot discharge yet.

Bbcripps

Hugs ... Please dun think in this way ...after birth are super sensitive... You are so great to overcome all the barriers .. Now finally have your charming with you...

Haha is it you are feeding him too much when you preggy , that's why he is looking for yummy food ... :p

Dun worry ... Just supplement with fm first , I thought that this time round I have no milk like first one.. Also sad.. But I determine to pump regularly to get all the yield ... From 5ml till now 200ml & above ... I'm happy.. Although not as much as my #2, but I'm really happy lol cos my elder girl actually request to have some of my bm ... Then those excess one will pass to my mum who will give to my niece and nephew to drink .. Kekeke ..

At the moment you should rest your mind , dun think too much and get stressed and upset .. It will affect your yield as well ..

Think of how you going to celebrate cny , bb shower ..

For those giving FM while waiting for yr milk to come, how many ml did u give?
Depends on individual bb .. For my gal , she's taking 45ml first few days , then after my milk kick in , she's drinking 60ml

Now at 6weeks old she's drinking 100ml. But she's not drinking well these 2 days only drink from 50ml to 90ml then will vomit out

Actually you can refer to the fm milk label . Have eg over there ..
ImageUploadedByForum1420736432.785657.jpg

Or you can refer to this .. I just took this from one of the clinic .. But dunno is it outdated or not

My boy started with 40ml in the hospital. Nurses were telling me he can actually drink more than 40ml but they stopped feeding at 40ml.

@bbcripps hey babe don't worry okie..think many of us first time mummies here might exp similar problems related to milk supply. I'm sure your boy will be ok with fm. Try to pump every 2-3hrs I'm sure you'll see your supply increase. @kittybaby12 I didn't have colostrum or milk till my 5th day. No choice but to feed fm but I just tell myself that I'll just try my best to pump whenever I can. My hubs don't want me to stress abt the pumping and milk issue..he keeps telling me to rest more and dont wake up to pump cos he heart pain I so tired. Anw now day 6 my milk supply is still quite pathetic. A 20 min session can prob yield only abt 15 ml..but I tell myself a little is better than none.
So u will keep in fridge for 15ml? Or use it to feed ur lo?

I can totally relate babe..yesterday I just kept crying the whole day for no particular reason. Just felt inadequate, helpless and moody. Every time I look at baby, tears will start falling. Everytime my hubs try to console me or ask me what's wrong or even say something sweet, tears will start falling also. My friend told me it's normal and prob just the hormones. Feel better today though and hope things start looking up from here!
hope it gets better for you. Mine only started to get better 3 weeks postpartum. The feeling is so terrible.

Wah! Morning mummy. Try to rest more! The hosp wake me up every three hours to feed baby. Oh no. The nightmare is gonna start when I get home later. Sleepless night
Wahaha ... I only feed my bb the first day after birth. Then after that I told the nurse to supplement with fm.. Then I can sleep .. Cos the bottom pain is quite bad ... Dun wish to move .. If bf means I need to move to carry , find the right position to feed .. So I tell nurse to feed bb while I rest :p

If you getting confinement lady , you still can rest ... Only need to pump regularly , maybe 3rd week then adjust your timing to bb also start to train yourself with bb so that you will not be stress after confinement

Most important is rest .. Bb sleep , faster follow sleep ...

I must be getting insufficient sleep that's why now I super emo and frustrated lol :p

4cm only..... faint!!!!!!

So painful.. laughing gas dun work for me this round.. maybe immune to it after 2 pregnancy. .. so opt epi..

But now seems epi not working very well too... jia lat ...
Epi not working well? How come. U can control the dosage yourself? Or it's auto?

Ya the laughing gas didn't work for me as well

My Gynae

So painful.. laughing gas dun work for me this round.. maybe immune to it after 2 pregnancy. .. so opt epi..

jiayou! Jiayou! Can increase the dosage? U wanna check with doc?

Wahaha ... I only feed my bb the first day after birth. Then after that I told the nurse to supplement with fm.. Then I can sleep .. Cos the bottom pain is quite bad ... Dun wish to move .. If bf means I need to move to carry , find the right position to feed .. So I tell nurse to feed bb while I rest :p

If you getting confinement lady , you still can rest ... Only need to pump regularly , maybe 3rd week then adjust your timing to bb also start to train yourself with bb so that you will not be stress after confinement

I must be getting insufficient sleep that's why now I super emo and frustrated lol :p
Ya Cl is coming over to my place later.
But my milk supply hasn't come in yet. Baby still feeding on colostrum): oh no. How? No milk supply can still pump anything out?

Jiayou... How close the contraction ?

I'm busy taking pic and sms while waiting for the intense contraction ...

For me different.. After training , I did not even use gas or injection. Just hold the side railing and moan and curl like caterpillar lol.. My Hb even took the pic how I curl up when there's contraction ...

He's smarter this time , did not ask me to breath or warning me the contraction hitting ... Cos last time I screamed at him and ask him to shout up whahahah ... He just keep quiet, even go out to take some snacks lol . Went out for 5 mins come back, I'm ready to push to welcome bb Liao .. Just in time

But my milk supply hasn't come in yet. Baby still feeding on colostrum): oh no. How? No milk supply can still pump anything out?
Just continue to pump . Use warm towel to massage the breast first.. Or drink hot milo first. That's what I did ... Eat oat cereal . It suppose to boost milk supply ... Dun worry .. Dun stress, supplement with fm first ... When the milk kick in , might not be sufficient for bb, still need to supplement with fm also .. Just do it. Dun feel bad or sad.. Stay happy and continue to pump , again rest is important - no rest no milk , stress = no milk :)

Remember dun take chicken essence and chicken for first 2 weeks ... So that wound can recover faster and will not get infected ...

I using warm salt water to rinse the wound .. It helps for my case ..

13 hrs in labour ward liao bb still dun wan come out.... zzzzzzz
Jiayou jiayou...tell bb mummy n daddy waiting for her arrival asking her today come out...so far the pain still manageable?

I dislike n abit angry on my elder sis...Ytd I told her that I want to wait for natural to kicks in guess what she herself when abt to deliver her 2nd bb her dau says placenta too low asking her to go for c-sec den she go c 2 drs for opinion for natural so to her c-sec takes time to recover now telling me c-sec not bad some ppl purposely opt for c-sec n her friend the next day can go down bed walk already, don't have to feel contractions or get cut for 10cm...c la whatever she says right? Den why she reject c-sec that time? Say one thing do another thing. I told her given a choice no one want to c-sec...

Epi not working well? How come. U can control the dosage yourself? Or it's auto?

Ya the laughing gas didn't work for me as well
Was ok at first now refill liao effect like fading off.. nurse say same dosage leh.. may be my body trying reject it?? I also dun know.. Later I ask gynae

For me different.. After training , I did not even use gas or injection. Just hold the side railing and moan and curl like caterpillar lol.. My Hb even took the pic how I curl up when there's contraction ...

He's smarter this time , did not ask me to breath or warning me the contraction hitting ... Cos last time I screamed at him and ask him to shout up whahahah ... He just keep quiet, even go out to take some snacks lol . Went out for 5 mins come back, I'm ready to push to welcome bb Liao .. Just in time

My hubby best! Sleeping n snoring while I m in pain he say he very tired. Wonder he come here support me or come here sleep

Jiayou jiayou...tell bb mummy n daddy waiting for her arrival asking her today come out...so far the pain still manageable?

I dislike n abit angry on my elder sis...Ytd I told her that I want to wait for natural to kicks in guess what she herself when abt to deliver her 2nd bb her dau says placenta too low asking her to go for c-sec den she go c 2 drs for opinion for natural so to her c-sec takes time to recover now telling me c-sec not bad some ppl purposely opt for c-sec n her friend the next day can go down bed walk already, don't have to feel contractions or get cut for 10cm...c la whatever she says right? Den why she reject c-sec that time? Say one thing do another thing. I told her given a choice no one want to c-sec...

Dun be upset by her. She might mean good. But sometimes they dunno that what they advising is very contradicting to their actions.

Like my case, she can strongly recommend me to use this teats for bottle and formula milk saying it's good la, blah blah blah , then she herself not using ..

Then second time give birth , keep asking me to eat more la since I'm bfg.. Must produce for bb since bfg... When her turn , she did not eat a lot even she bfg ..

Ai ya always have a lot of problems one la .. Endless .. Now I listen to myself and own instincts.. Follow my heart ....anything just blame myself .. Rather than blaming anyone else

There's always pro and con for both natural and c'sean

But sometimes things might not work accordingly to what we want .

Ur dr cut below also? Will pain for how many days? U buy any spray? Nuh said now hospital nv give any spray they asked to use warm water to clean everyday the nurse said research shows that natural way recover faster...

Talking abt cl I abit headache liao...at 1st dr said will induce at week 38 like 2 weeks b4 cny so cl from msia agree to come but request to go back for 5days during cny my mum managed to find only this cl ok to come den go back for cny n come back aft that the rest all said go back for cny already don't feel like coming back...but drs now says if can wait for natural den cl said she dunno I'll give birth she will still proceed her tw trip from 10march...my mum said everyday talk to bb to come out right time finish confinement den cl go off...Fingers crossed now :)

Haha ur hub lesson learnt...lol

My hubby best! Sleeping n snoring while I m in pain he say he very tired. Wonder he come here support me or come here sleep
Hahaha ... Maybe after long hours waiting game he's tired. Let him rest a while . At least he's keeping you accompany and making you at ease by having snoring sound lol ... Asking you to rest/sleep first while waiting ..

Haha...mbe my hub will be the same also...lol

At home he usually sleep earlier than me everyday telling me he very tired n snoring aft few second...

Dun be upset by her. She might mean good. But sometimes they dunno that what they advising is very contradicting to their actions.

Like my case, she can strongly recommend me to use this teats for bottle and formula milk saying it's good la, blah blah blah , then she herself not using ..

Then second time give birth , keep asking me to eat more la since I'm bfg.. Must produce for bb since bfg... When her turn , she did not eat a lot even she bfg ..

Ai ya always have a lot of problems one la .. Endless .. Now I listen to myself and own instincts.. Follow my heart ....anything just blame myself .. Rather than blaming anyone else

There's always pro and con for both natural and c'sean

But sometimes things might not work accordingly to what we want .
Ya lor I told her I just don't understand why that time she so against c-sec now praise it...win liao lor even my mum say c-sec okie...

There is pros n cons for both but I can c if got choice ppl rather go for natural if no choice will just go for c-sec...the purpose is the same is to carry our lo in our arm safely...

Ya hub said just follow what we think is right for us or prove to her that I can do it w normal birth but in my heart why I need to prove it to her? Just to shoot her mouth off? I really don't feel like bothering her...pissed off

Ur dr cut below also? Will pain for how many days? U buy any spray? Nuh said now hospital nv give any spray they asked to use warm water to clean everyday the nurse said research shows that natural way recover faster...

Talking abt cl I abit headache liao...at 1st dr said will induce at week 38 like 2 weeks b4 cny so cl from msia agree to come but request to go back for 5days during cny my mum managed to find only this cl ok to come den go back for cny n come back aft that the rest all said go back for cny already don't feel like coming back...but drs now says if can wait for natural den cl said she dunno I'll give birth she will still proceed her tw trip from 10march...my mum said everyday talk to bb to come out right time finish confinement den cl go off...Fingers crossed now :)
Cut better than tear ba ... Tear dunno tear till where lol ... Anyway when he cut I can't be bothered as I busy screaming only Lo whahahah

I was given the antiseptic lotion to clean the wound... But the expiry date on the bottle is dec. when I give birth end nov ... I also dun bother to complain ..

When I'm back home , I use warm water mix with salt find that it's healing faster than using the lotion

I did not buy the spray. Since I find the salt water is good ..

So you still going for induce ? Well if the confinement lady cannot complete the 28days. You can only order confinement food . Just need help in washing bottles and shower bb.

Normally Nb baby will sleep most of the time . I'm a sleepy head ... I will sleep when there is opportunity ... Bb sleep I sleep , bb awake me too . Will take another half hour more to pump milk .

Just continue to pump . Use warm towel to massage the breast first.. Or drink hot milo first. That's what I did ... Eat oat cereal . It suppose to boost milk supply ... Dun worry .. Dun stress, supplement with fm first ... When the milk kick in , might not be sufficient for bb, still need to supplement with fm also .. Just do it. Dun feel bad or sad.. Stay happy and continue to pump , again rest is important - no rest no milk , stress = no milk :)

Remember dun take chicken essence and chicken for first 2 weeks ... So that wound can recover faster and will not get infected ...

I using warm salt water to rinse the wound .. It helps for my case ..
Ok thanks dear. Already took chicken cause the hospital food only has chicken. So no choice. But won't take any when I go back le..

Hahah I alsoscream at hubby when he tried to talk to me during my contractions lol

Haha...mbe my hub will be the same also...lol

At home he usually sleep earlier than me everyday telling me he very tired n snoring aft few second...
Hahah my Hb no need to tell me he's tired .. He can even sleep on the study chair while doing work ..

When on bed , he ko immediately , his show haven't start he already in lala land ...

Ya lor I told her I just don't understand why that time she so against c-sec now praise it...win liao lor even my mum say c-sec okie...

There is pros n cons for both but I can c if got choice ppl rather go for natural if no choice will just go for c-sec...the purpose is the same is to carry our lo in our arm safely...

Ya hub said just follow what we think is right for us or prove to her that I can do it w normal birth but in my heart why I need to prove it to her? Just to shoot her mouth off? I really don't feel like bothering her...pissed off
No need to prove to her ... Ignore her ba ... I have successfully master right ear in left ear out .. Lol selective hearing whahahah

Just be happy and content with your decision and let no one affects you

Ok thanks dear. Already took chicken cause the hospital food only has chicken. So no choice. But won't take any when I go back le..

Hahah I alsoscream at hubby when he tried to talk to me during my contractions lol
Hahaha hi-5 ! They just dunno the pain we going thru for the contraction .. Think it's easy , how I wish men can take over the giving birth job for women , let them experience 爸爸的伟大 lol

Oh I told the nurse that I dun want food with chicken , they will change for me

I'm so sad mummies, my boy didn't get to be discharged cos he was running a fever of 38.0 this morning n the PD admitted him to the NICU for 2 days to run blood n urine test. So far the preliminary test results are ok, fever subsided, so the PD suspects it could be just dehydration, which made me feel like crap, cos it's my fault that I couldn't produce enough milk, n I was so adamant on not supplementing. I mean, the lactation consultants all assured me the few drops of colostrum should be sufficient for the first few days, so I thought he would be ok. No experience mah. Then today suddenly become like so serious. I feel so so so guilty, like I have starved him. When they syringe-fed him formula milk this morning, he drank so hard n fast that the NICU nurse was surprised. Machiam like he want to swallow the whole syringe.

Think I scared my gynae this morning, when he came to do his rounds, I just burst into tears, which shocked him, cos through all the good n bad, from my miscarriage n d&c last year, to my diagnosis of placenta previa n bleeding episode this year, I have never dropped a single tear in front of him. But today I was sobbing so hard I was incoherent. Haha. Damn hormones.

Now all I can do is to pump every 3 hrs to try to stimulate my milk flow, but still not much coming out. Haiz. I opted to stay one more night here, think I will be discharge tomorrow. Hope my boy can go home on Sat. Haiz.

Must be the hormone...Dun worried too much ok. He will be ok since already feeding on FM. I'm oso a 1st time mum. Today consider 3rd day liao but still not a drop of milk or colostrum. And I give my boy FM which the LC sound so disapproving. Make me look like a bad mom too. But I really no milk and I dun want to starve my boy.
Anyway your boy will be ok to be discharge soon! Dun think too much. You just continue to pump and hope the milk will come in soon. That's wat I'm doing and hoping too...:)

@bbcripps hey babe don't worry okie..think many of us first time mummies here might exp similar problems related to milk supply. I'm sure your boy will be ok with fm. Try to pump every 2-3hrs I'm sure you'll see your supply increase. @kittybaby12 I didn't have colostrum or milk till my 5th day. No choice but to feed fm but I just tell myself that I'll just try my best to pump whenever I can. My hubs don't want me to stress abt the pumping and milk issue..he keeps telling me to rest more and dont wake up to pump cos he heart pain I so tired. Anw now day 6 my milk supply is still quite pathetic. A 20 min session can prob yield only abt 15 ml..but I tell myself a little is better than none.

hug hug first time mummies!! you will have your milk supply, just dont give up on pumping/latching...

drink more soup/water!!!

once colostrum emptied, milk will come... colostrum is thick one, what ever amt u pump, pass to nurse to feed to LO, dont waste! though little, colostrum can fill bb up!

"First Feeding
Your baby will be born with a suckling instinct, though it is stronger in some babies than in others. Since this instinct is intense immediately after birth, it is best to introduce him to the breast within the first hour or so of life. Not only will his suckling at your breast stimulate your breasts to produce more milk, thus beginning the establishment of a reliable milk supply, but it will signal your uterus to contract and decrease the chance of excessive bleeding after delivery.

This first feeding will also help him begin to learn how to nurse. Placing the newborn baby skin to skin against your chest will help to encourage your baby to smell the colostrum and want to latch on and begin his first feeding. In fact, the initial phase of breastfeeding is a learning process for both mother and baby.

Some newborns show little initial interest in nursing. Fortunately, newborns do not need much fluid, and their mothers’ breasts contain only small amounts of the very important colostrum. At this stage, it is more important that babies feed frequently than it is for them to feed for long periods of time. Since the breasts are not yet extremely full of milk, they remain soft and supple after delivery, making it easier for the baby to learn to suckle.

In these early days, it is normal for a baby to lose some weight. This weight loss consists of extra fluid accumulated during pregnancy. In the days after delivery, your baby’s appetite and need for fluids will increase. Approximately two to five days after birth, the colostrum production will give way to a higher volume of transitional milk."