Ya absolutely !!! I thought they shld be independent as there could be other problems that require hospitalization other than pregnancy..eg dengue bla bla bla

Exactly! It's like discrimination. It's like stopping a loophole to prevent mummies from abusing HL but what if that person has dengue or appendicitis or well, other things? It's written in staff manual orh, so it's confirmed like tht one, they write v clearly.

That's very strict leh. Cuz ML and HL should not be considered interchangable for the reasons u mentioned.
like i mentioned before pple abuse HL before hence some HR are more strict

Ya absolutely !!! I thought they shld be independent as there could be other problems that require hospitalization other than pregnancy..eg dengue bla bla bla
when that happen then appeal .. but prior to giving birth those HL ( pregancy related
)will eat into ML lor ..
my MIL dont cook at all, by the time i reach home quite late, quite hard to cook dinner.
tingkat like dont have nice one.
tingkat come very early and they just leave it outside the door ..
the thought of it being cold and all the ants or roaches crawling over the tingkat ..i hate it already lolz

Actually sometimes I crave outside food, cuz my mum or MIL will cook everyday... Only Fridays and weekends I will eat out, but I will usually cook at least one lunch/dinner during the weekends.

Can you cook on your own at home??? Make something simple like porridge or boil some soup to have with rice??

Lucky you! Must treasure Homecooked food. I also tabao nearly everyday except for te 2 days I go parents or in laws place eat. Then I go mum place will eat ALOT. Lol. Sometimes will cook.. But only weekend or if on mc (ie that day see gynae so mc) will hv time to cook.

do you ladies everyday have home cooked food ah? i everyday either tapao or eat out till very bored. plus now must walk to tb very tiring

My hubby will cook a big portion of food on Sunday night which we will eat for dinner over the week. Lunch we will eat out or tapao. He probably sees cooking homecooked food as an act of love to the LO. After LO's birth, I intend to continue to let him take responsibility over most of the meals since he enjoys cooking anyway and can cook way better than me.

Lucky you! Must treasure Homecooked food. I also tabao nearly everyday except for te 2 days I go parents or in laws place eat. Then I go mum place will eat ALOT. Lol. Sometimes will cook.. But only weekend or if on mc (ie that day see gynae so mc) will hv time to cook.

Actually we are lazy to cook on weekdays that's why go to parents/in laws place for dinner... :p

My hubby will cook a big portion of food on Sunday night which we will eat for dinner over the week. Lunch we will eat out or tapao. He probably sees cooking homecooked food as an act of love to the LO. After LO's birth, I intend to continue to let him take responsibility over most of the meals since he enjoys cooking anyway and can cook way better than me.

I wish my hubby can cook, then I can pass the apron to him! I'm the chef at home cuz hubby can't really cook anything beyond instant noodle and egg to save his life.... =.=

I was like that too, only boil rice, make instant noodles etc. (couldn't even fry an egg coz I most likely would burn it!), until I was in Australia for 3 years+. My gosh, was I inspired to learn cooking there - exciting cooking shows on TV like Masterchef Australia, abundant fresh ingredients in the supermarket, beautiful kitchens and glossy cookbooks/ recipes!!! Cooking is the favorite national pastime there lor. Kids learn to cook at home before they learn maths, lol. Now I can cook basic dishes (mains and desserts) to feed myself if I really have to, although I'm too lazy/busy in SG to really do that.

Men usually pick up cooking (and the love of cooking) overseas where food is more expensive (e.g. Australia) or not as delicious (e.g. parts of the U.S.), and when they miss local food. Over here, sadly, I find the environment is not conducive to pick up home cooking, even if you have the most alluring cookbooks/ recipes, coz it's much cheaper and takes much less time to eat out or tapao than to cook. Unless they have the love of cooking, men will prefer the efficiency of eating out/ tapao-ing over home cooking.

I was like that too, only boil rice, make instant noodles etc. (couldn't even fry an egg coz I most likely would burn it!), until I was in Australia for 3 years+. My gosh, was I inspired to learn cooking there - exciting cooking shows on TV like Masterchef Australia, abundant fresh ingredients in the supermarket, beautiful kitchens and glossy cookbooks/ recipes!!! Cooking is the favorite national pastime there lor. Kids learn to cook at home before they learn maths, lol. Now I can cook basic dishes (mains and desserts) to feed myself if I really have to, although I'm too lazy/busy in SG to really do that.

Men usually pick up cooking (and the love of cooking) overseas where food is more expensive (e.g. Australia) or not as delicious (e.g. parts of the U.S.), and when they miss local food. Over here, sadly, I find the environment is not conducive to pick up home cooking, even if you have the most alluring cookbooks/ recipes, coz it's much cheaper and takes much less time to eat out or tapao than to cook. Unless they have the love of cooking, men will prefer the efficiency of eating out/ tapao-ing over home cooking.
agreed man who "run away " from home are better cook than mummy's boy lolz

It's very true!! When they are alone and overseas, then they feel compelled to learn how to cook. I mean, it's probably the same for us as well. I also learnt to cook when I was in the UK because it's too exp and too unhealthy to eat out everyday. Hubby studied in SG and never stayed in hostel, and his mum, my MIL is a full time housewife, so no reason for him to learn....

Now back home, I miss the fresh produce in the markets. What we have here is nothing compared to freshly picked sweet strawberries or apples etc. When I went back to UK last year, I actually bought tomatoes, raspberries and rocket leaves back to SG, cuz they are so much cheaper than SG and they taste so good.

Was looking forward to doing the same in Melbourne in October, but the planned trip didn't materialise as hubby fractured his leg and we had to cancel the trip... :( Oh well, there's always next time...

my MIL dont cook at all, by the time i reach home quite late, quite hard to cook dinner.
tingkat like dont have nice one.
I'll try to cook about twice a week. Can try preparing the ingredients in morning or night before, so that once reach home. Start cooking and be done in 20mins.. haha
Eg, I'll marinate the fish and meat in morning, keep in fridge. Reach home, immediately cook rice & steam tofu&meat together + fry a fish. Simple dishes only. For rice, will cook 2 portions in 1 go, so that 2nd meal of the week is fried rice. Luckily hubby never complain that I cook the same thing every week. :D

Bah, it gets more and more depressing as the day wears on...

http://www.straitstimes.com/news/as...ctim-katrina-dawson-was-mother-three-20141216
http://www.straitstimes.com/news/as...ts-cafe-manager-tori-johnson-say-they-are-pro

As if morbidity is not constantly on my mind enough, I got news a very close friend of mine in the US was hospitalised today for kidney infection and kidney stone. The infection is under control but she has pulmonary hypertension so her heart may not be able to cope with the burden of surgery to remove the stone. I think my LO can feel that mummy is worried and sad. :(

when's your EDD ... mine is 11 Jan leh..so this week is 36wks wat
i dun keep track..baby centre keep track for me lolz so since computer is doing the tracking
how wrong can it be lolz

I same with u - 11 Jan. but this is my 2nd child and ppl say might be early. I'm looking at 6 Jan.
nw pray hard baby dun come out in Dec.

I'll try to cook about twice a week. Can try preparing the ingredients in morning or night before, so that once reach home. Start cooking and be done in 20mins.. haha
Eg, I'll marinate the fish and meat in morning, keep in fridge. Reach home, immediately cook rice & steam tofu&meat together + fry a fish. Simple dishes only. For rice, will cook 2 portions in 1 go, so that 2nd meal of the week is fried rice. Luckily hubby never complain that I cook the same thing every week. :D

Well done! My hubby got the same shortcut techniques as you to whip up meals in the shortest possible time.

Applaud for your effort! I think its very rush to cook during wkday and we lazy bums to wash dishes and clean kitchen.

Well done! My hubby got the same shortcut techniques as you to whip up meals in the shortest possible time.

You see ah, if my hubby can cook he can do that, cuz he can finish early and his office is very flexi hours, so he can reach home by 6plus... I'm the one with more fixed hours and I usually leave office later, so by the time I reach home, he'll probably be dying of hunger...

BUT he can't cook, so it's down to me. Hahahah. But I'm not complaining, cuz I do enjoy cooking and he does the dishes.

Also our parents/in laws places are between our workplace and home so we just pop by to say hi, and have dinner before going home....

so good got home cooked food. i only sometimes go back my mum place for dinner. an hour more to knock off and already thinking what to tabao for dinner. and the walking to coffeeshop. :(

nowadays got a lot of simple recipe to cook. Can do tomato rice in rice cooker. I find not bad but too bad I can't eat so much rice nowadays. haha
Take about 35 mins to cook?

my hub cook with me.. we are not great cook.. haha just try and error. Sometimes I cook he help prepare, sometimes he cook I prepare.
Nice or not nice just eat.. Normally cook during wkend.

We usually go to my mum's hse for dinner like 2-3x a wk, rest of the days, we tabao or eat out. :p
So nice of him! I will cook, prepare and wash.

Hubby won't help at all lol

So nice of him! I will cook, prepare and wash.

Hubby won't help at all lol

:) ok la~ haha coz I dunno how to handle some meat produce. haha he very scare to see me use a knife especially now my blood quite thin. haha
then u don't cook for him :p. hahaha
He doesn't help me if I make desserts or western food. He not a fan of those then he will tell me.. u can handle hor.. .then walk away.

i will ask gynae this sat for the range of dates i can choose from lolz ...
definitely 2014 BB not 2015 :p
Ya, I know its 2014 bb :p Just wondering if you have mentioned the date? haha Extra charge on wkend anot?

:) ok la~ haha coz I dunno how to handle some meat produce. haha he very scare to see me use a knife especially now my blood quite thin. haha
then u don't cook for him :p. hahaha
He doesn't help me if I make desserts or western food. He not a fan of those then he will tell me.. u can handle hor.. .then walk away.

Ya, I know its 2014 bb :p Just wondering if you have mentioned the date? haha Extra charge on wkend anot?
i havent choose the date lolz ..

to me no diff on the charges ... the moment it is elective .. it is up to gynae how she wan to charge lolz it is definitely extra on top of normal C sect

i havent choose the date lolz ..
to me no diff on the charges ... the moment it is elective .. it is up to gynae how she wan to charge lolz

I see.... coz I heard wkend charge got difference. haha

yeah... now due to lack of space ..sometime she damn lazy to even squirm and it is scaring me lolz so if i get the go sign ..better let her come out and STretch all she want lolz
Really ah! me 1 wk behind u, ytd she just squirm and stretch and make my tummy go weird angles... like alien gonna pop out...

I see.... coz I heard wkend charge got difference. haha

Really ah! me 1 wk behind u, ytd she just squirm and stretch and make my tummy go weird angles... like alien gonna pop out...
i think there is a diff between office hour ...and after office hour ... anyway she already quote me .. it will range between $2888 to 4888 lolz .. auspicious number leh lolz ... will see bah

i know you are 1 wk behind me ... my tummy sometime also odd angle .. she like to choose one side then stay put there... regardless at home or in office lolz
as mentioned... cos my tummy limited capacity ..she dun kick like last time .. just squirm and it is making me feel insecure mah cos the ambilical cord around neck kept clouding my head ... and somemore my gynae visit is not weekly ..but still 3 wkly and it is stressing me lolz ...
somemore my bp is like those techno sound wave lolz.. i also scare pre clampisa

i think there is a diff between office hour ...and after office hour ... anyway she already quote me .. it will range between $2888 to 4888 lolz .. auspicious number leh lolz ... will see bah

i know you are 1 wk behind me ... my tummy sometime also odd angle .. she like to choose one side then stay put there... regardless at home or in office lolz
as mentioned... cos my tummy limited capacity ..she dun kick like last time .. just squirm and it is making me feel insecure mah cos the ambilical cord around neck kept clouding my head ... and somemore my gynae visit is not weekly ..but still 3 wkly and it is stressing me lolz ...
somemore my bp is like those techno sound wave lolz.. i also scare pre clampisa

Really ah!!!! mine also like to stay on the left side and stay there... when I la down she will kick and stretch.. hm.. don't scare me about the ambilical cord.. haha I just shorten to bi-weekly. :p u check ur BP everyday right?

my one can be right or left ..no fixed location lolz

not scaring you lah... this cord thing always on my mind during last trim lah lolz ..cos i have known pple who lost their child due to that ...

yah i do check it .. like i said techno sound wave lor .. even though still within normal or high normal range but still ... scare lah :p

my one can be right or left ..no fixed location lolz

not scaring you lah... this cord thing always on my mind during last trim lah lolz ..cos i have known pple who lost their child due to that ...

yah i do check it .. like i said techno sound wave lor .. even though still within normal or high normal range but still ... scare lah :p

actually the cord thing I also worry but got any signs? less movement is the obvious right?
Did you highlight to the doc about ur pb measurements?

actually the cord thing I also worry but got any signs? less movement is the obvious right?
Did you highlight to the doc about ur pb measurements?
less movement is the only sign ... if it is not detected during scan ... if detect during scan ..then over active or less active ..must inform gynae

my gynae know lolz .. cos my bp also yoyo at her clinic .. sometime good sometime bad lolz .. that is why she want me to monitor at home ...

ooo I don't scan during my normal visit but will do a scan next wk to determine the size of bb. Will ask doc about the cord thingy. :p
Take care of youself lei.

i always ask doc these question lolz ..

fluid enuff ?
cord location ?
heartbeat ok ?

yah .. thanks ... u take care too .. let's all jiayu... we reaching the finishing line ...yeah
Yes the cord is scary.. I nearly lost my #1 as his cord was around his neck during delivery... already alert the on duty doc to request for c section when we feel it's not right and labour taken too long... (more to instinct ) but was told to wait longer.

Very very lucky my son is alright.... else I dun know how to survive...

My doc will volunteer these info to me, and he'll also tell me baby position (up/down etc) and also if placenta is okay.
Sometime mine will auto tell me sometime I will ask . For sure she will tell me weight and heartbeat ok . All others sometime I need to ask

Yes the cord is scary.. I nearly lost my #1 as his cord was around his neck during delivery... already alert the on duty doc to request for c section when we feel it's not right and labour taken too long... (more to instinct ) but was told to wait longer.

Very very lucky my son is alright.... else I dun know how to survive...
I can imagine your fear back them ..
Why they dun c sect .. Weird

That time I still dun know what's going on... it was my hubby who help me delivered my son with cord around his neck with only 1 midwife around no nurse no other helpers. I guess my hubby more shock than me as baby was practically snatch away from his hands with no explanation n suddenly many many nurse come in..... some more it's our #1.. totally no experience.

Guess that day high volume of deliveries n I am under subsidise so no doc was assigned to me. The on duty doc didn't look at me. Juz walk past n pop in to sign doc near the door area n walk away. Thus he juz brush off our request.

That time I still dun know what's going on... it was my hubby who help me delivered my son with cord around his neck with only 1 midwife around no nurse no other helpers. I guess my hubby more shock than me as baby was practically snatch away from his hands with no explanation n suddenly many many nurse come in..... some more it's our #1.. totally no experience.

Guess that day high volume of deliveries n I am under subsidise so no doc was assigned to me. The on duty doc didn't look at me. Juz walk past n pop in to sign doc near the door area n walk away. Thus he juz brush off our request.

Well thank goodness your #1 is okay... That's all that matters in the end, even though reading from a 3rd party perspective, I would have made a big fuss about the lack of attention on you...

Oh my gosh that sounds terrible! Thank God your son is ok!