dunno go where sob sob ...
or Japan la... but more ex... I feel Taiwan is a very good subsitute for Japan... you will find that they have a lot of Jap influence in Taiwanese food/culture...

Initially Taiwan is nvr on my travel list cuz I saw the way their politicians behave in parliament machiam hooligans... but after my first visit there... my perception changed!

Congrats! My EDD 23 January. Looks like we migrate from SingaporeBrides to here! Let me know if you want mooncakes again this year. :)

Good reminder. I think I will ask my MIL or my mother to buy all the fish and meat for the CL, before prices go up...

Lee's Taiwanese right?? The female owner is Taiwanese, husband is Canadian (owns Blooie's Roadhouse at Jln Tua Kong). My parents' neighbour... Food is not bad, but owners so-so only. :p

Now I miss Ah Zong Mian Xian. I miss Taiwan! I think Taiwan would make a good babymoon destination!

Ask you a question, do u need strong sunlight to grow mint?? I grow basil at home... would like another herb to join my lonely basil plant.... I love smelling raw mint ....

I got good sunlight where I grow them. I can't say whether it needs good sunlight or not but I can say it's a very sturdy plant. I think I read somewhere mint is a weed? So can grow very well.

october we still can fly meh lolz i am toying with australia cos now their weather is below 10 ...shiok !!!
which part of OZ? October start to get hot already unless Melbourne

I'm going Melbourne in October... Hubby never been to Oz before that's why we are going... otherwise I would have gone to Taiwan.....

@PTB7674, you should plan soon! Otherwise no more tickets liao....

Btw, Melbourne in October is busy period, cuz it's their horse racing season and their arts fest happening at this time. My big boss (Melbourne native) says accommodation during this period should be quite tough to get, esp during weekends..... so you might want to take that into consideration...

Anyone got any feedback for pants expander? I've never used them before but after giving away all my maternity wear I think it's better to get pants expander instead of more maternity wear... Which I'm finding a challenge to find for good prices!

go taiwan la... not ex to go... the amenities are good for preggers and your son! Oct good weather to go too... not too hot ... you can always start off just in taipei... it can fillyou almost 5 days if you F & E with day trips

hahaha I sound like a taiwan tourism ambassador

Taiwanese are generally nice people, wun give you that dirty look even if you are in ur flip flops and thier sales person will still serve you with a smile.

In terms of safety, so far no one complained about pick-pockets,robbers,etc (unlike europe)

or Japan la... but more ex... I feel Taiwan is a very good subsitute for Japan... you will find that they have a lot of Jap influence in Taiwanese food/culture...

if i say japan ..my hubby sure IMMEDIATELY go book tix lolz ...
my issue with japan is their Fukushima leh... even though there are assurance that tokyo radiation is like any city around the world and not from fukushima but i got my reserve leh.. even though i also long to bring my son to their disneyland there ... see that is my dilemna

go europe - cant go too long cos limited leave want to keep to extend my ML
go Asia eg thailand / malaysia /vietnam /hk /indonesia- i sian of these places
go ASEAN eg japan reason as above... korea aso been there quite sianz
go USA - too far i scare my back will break lolz
GO Aust/ NZ - still toying with Australia idea ..nz skip cos they havent rebuilt nz due to that big quake

go taiwan - still thinking and thinking trying to find a good reason to go lolz

I'm going Melbourne in October... Hubby never been to Oz before that's why we are going... otherwise I would have gone to Taiwan.....

Btw, Melbourne in October is busy period, cuz it's their horse racing season and their arts fest happening at this time. My big boss (Melbourne native) says accommodation during this period should be quite tough to get, esp during weekends..... so you might want to take that into consideration...

You should stay causeway inn hotel! Very small but right below all the shopping shopping shopping!

You can stock up on Bellamy organics formulae when you are there too. Much cheaper. Or baby rice.. Just check that the expiry date can last your stocking

izzt .. ok thansk for your advice btw octorber fly ..make sure u get letter from gynae

if i say japan ..my hubby sure IMMEDIATELY go book tix lolz ...
my issue with japan is their Fukushima leh... even though there are assurance that tokyo radiation is like any city around the world and not from fukushima but i got my reserve leh.. even though i also long to bring my son to their disneyland there ... see that is my dilemna

go europe - cant go too long cos limited leave want to keep to extend my ML
go Asia eg thailand / malaysia /vietnam /hk /indonesia- i sian of these places
go ASEAN eg japan reason as above... korea aso been there quite sianz
go USA - too far i scare my back will break lolz
GO Aust/ NZ - still toying with Australia idea ..nz skip cos they havent rebuilt nz due to that big quake

go taiwan - still thinking and thinking trying to find a good reason to go lolz

You want to go to city location ah??? If city, I will definitely recommend Taiwan, otherwise Beijing/Shanghai lah... I like the history of Beijing, the cosmopolitan feel of Shanghai, but I don't like how the domestic tourists from the countryside, those 乡下人 behave in these big cities. They are very rude and don't know how to follow queue etc.... So between Taiwan and China, I will still recommend Taiwan...

If you don't mind resort, how about Maldives or Bhutan??

Before I knew I was pregnant, I was thinking of going Sri Lanka....

You want to go to city location ah??? If city, I will definitely recommend Taiwan, otherwise Beijing/Shanghai lah... I like the history of Beijing, the cosmopolitan feel of Shanghai, but I don't like how the domestic tourists from the countryside, those 乡下人 behave in these big cities. They are very rude and don't know how to follow queue etc.... So between Taiwan and China, I will still recommend Taiwan...
i dun need city location ...i am not shopping person but foodie ...i prefer scenic kind of location

maldive been there too lolz in case you dunno some resort there dun allow children hor ...
... bhutan like very exotic ...din really research much of that place

aiyah basically i am very fussy lolz ... that is why my hubby always say when you decided a location then tell me ... dun over load him with so many suggestion adn then i can come up with reason why not to go lolz

ok i set a timeline i will decide where to go after the 20 wks scan :D

Anyone got any feedback for pants expander? I've never used them before but after giving away all my maternity wear I think it's better to get pants expander instead of more maternity wear... Which I'm finding a challenge to find for good prices!

I bought the Belly Belt, which if you know how to sew, can make your own lah... http://thenaptimereport.blogspot.sg/2013/07/belt-it-baby-how-to-make-belly-belt.html

Currently at 16 weeks, I feel that I am still too small to wear the belly belt, cuz the extension will make my pants too loose, no extension, pants too tight to wear...

After wearing the belly belt, u need to wear a long top to cover, otherwise, can tell u wearing extension not very nice, otherwise cover with a maternity band (which you can also DIY http://www.makeit-loveit.com/2010/10/maternity-band.html).

Bhutan high altitude place... not very suitable for preggers...

I bought the Belly Belt, which if you know how to sew, can make your own lah... http://thenaptimereport.blogspot.sg/2013/07/belt-it-baby-how-to-make-belly-belt.html

Currently at 16 weeks, I feel that I am still too small to wear the belly belt, cuz the extension will make my pants too loose, no extension, pants too tight to wear...

After wearing the belly belt, u need to wear a long top to cover, otherwise, can tell u wearing extension not very nice, otherwise cover with a maternity band (which you can also DIY http://www.makeit-loveit.com/2010/10/maternity-band.html).
the maternity band is good idea lolz

i dun need city location ...i am not shopping person but foodie ...i prefer scenic kind of location

maldive been there too lolz in case you dunno some resort there dun allow children hor ...

aiyah basically i am very fussy lolz ... that is why my hubby always say when you decided a location then tell me ... dun over load him with so many suggestion adn then i can come up with reason why not to go lolz

ok i set a timeline i will decide where to go after the 20 wks scan :D

Taiwan
taipei
good food to eat...every night you can go different night market within taipei...kekeke
think cathay has tie up with ANZ card, only $468 to taipei but not sure with layover or not...

Not all resorts that are adults only - I know Anantara and Holiday Inn are both kids friendly. I believe I have seen kids at the Conrad as well...

Bhutan need to go on group tour I think, cuz they have quota on number of visitors a year...

Personally, I will go somewhere with access to decent medical facilities, in case something happens (*touchwood*) which requires medical attention.

Wah, all this talk abt holidays is giving me the wanderlust too! I brought my mum to Taiwan last Nov, but we only stayed in Taipei, which was a mistake I guess, cos we found it kinda boring. Plus my hubby don't know how to appreciate the night markets, so every day we eat Din Tai Fung, until I want to puke. Think next time definitely we will plan to travel out. B4 I found out I was preggy, we were planning a year end trip to Italy n Switzerland where my hubby has relatives, but now we are thinking babymoon to Melbourne instead, as it will be more preggy-friendly since we can rent a car n drive around instead of relying on public transport. Actually my hubby's first choice would be to go back to US in Nov by himself, to 大收购 all the cheap bb products there. But I vetoed that plan, cos then I don't get to go. Heehee.

Continuing on breastfreeding for first time mummy... I also learn the hard way in the first three weeks after that because of my job I am able to exclusive provide expressed BM to my bb till she is at 1 yr mark...

Just a few things to remember for first time mummy
1) Your full milk supply wont kick in until maybe 3-4 weeks after delivery (yes its is that depressing)
2) your infant will have a growth spurt every 3 weeks or so, you will find that your bb will root for your milk almost every hr and you start to doubt whether if bb drinking enough from you
3) during the first few days post delivery, the colostrum is very beneficial to bb, so how ever little you start pumping during these days, MUST give your BB. If you latch, you cant see or gauge how much your bb has drank so we always go by timing, like 15mins per breast
4) Drink PLENTY of water, soup, red dates longan water every hour... and latch/pump every 2 hours during the first month.
5) If you are engaging massage lady, they usually will help you to massage the breasts to regulate the milk flow
6) buy fernugeek supplement if you want to increase the supply but this supplement made me very gassy :p
7) before every pumping/latching, you can use the following methods (or all steps), these will help to regulate your milk flow (prevent blockages)
7.1 use warm hand towel to massage your breasts
7.2 circular massage your breasts
8) First time mummy, your nipples will surely crack and bleed if you latch/pump too often... cuz nipples not sanitized (sp)...after latching/pump use these methods to ease your crack nipples
8.1 apply your own breastmilk onto the nipples and let it dry
8.2 apply nipple cream onto the crack nipples and leave it till next latch/pump

Breastmilk is not a GRANTED thing, mummy has to work for it... more demand (latching/pumping) more supply ...

@ecym thanks for this write up, very useful info for first time mummies like me!:)

Wah, all this talk abt holidays is giving me the wanderlust too! I brought my mum to Taiwan last Nov, but we only stayed in Taipei, which was a mistake I guess, cos we found it kinda boring. Plus my hubby don't know how to appreciate the night markets, so every day we eat Din Tai Fung, until I want to puke. Think next time definitely we will plan to travel out. B4 I found out I was preggy, we were planning a year end trip to Italy n Switzerland where my hubby has relatives, but now we are thinking babymoon to Melbourne instead, as it will be more preggy-friendly since we can rent a car n drive around instead of relying on public transport. Actually my hubby's first choice would be to go back to US in Nov by himself, to 大收购 all the cheap bb products there. But I vetoed that plan, cos then I don't get to go. Heehee.

huh every day Din Tai Fung?! they have other eatery other than night market yar... if you just stay in Taipei for visits... there are nothing much... I am not keen in the Taipei 101 nor the shopping too... But Taipei is a good base to venture to nearer tourist sites like Jiufen, Pingxi District, MaoKong, Wulai and even Taruko... You can also go Taichung from Taipei with the High Speed Rail as a day visit but kinda ex cuz HSR not cheap not it only takes 40mins there...

Wah, the moment I woke up saw the post all about traveling... Yes! I like Taiwan too... almost went there once every 2 years. But I never go w my hb, we had hard time traveling together w 2 children. And babysitting is an issue..

@ecym thanks for this write up, very useful info for first time mummies like me!:)

no prob... its something that I wish to share cuz i see many first time mummies got depressed and give up too soon... nobody even the prenatal classes preb us well enough for breastfeeding... the nurses will always convey it is perfectly easy and natural to latch and breastfeed but it is often not the case... somebody can sticky my earlier write up to fb yar...its meant to share anyways...

i actually planned winter hokkaido with siblings ...i even enquired on which apartment which skii resort ...then 2 lines appeared on the kit ...so cancelled everything haiz

October I thought good month to see autumn leaves in Japan?

huh every day Din Tai Fung?! they have other eatery other than night market yar... if you just stay in Taipei for visits... there are nothing much... I am not keen in the Taipei 101 nor the shopping too... But Taipei is a good base to venture to nearer tourist sites like Jiufen, Pingxi District, MaoKong, Wulai and even Taruko... You can also go Taichung from Taipei with the High Speed Rail as a day visit but kinda ex cuz HSR not cheap not it only takes 40mins there...

Ya my hubby only know how to eat Din Tai Fung *face palm* We did go to all those places u mentioned, I like Maokong cable car v much. N guess my 天灯 wish came true cos here I'm, preggy n gassy n bloated (but v v happy) :p But end of day, I felt we missed out on some true Taiwan experience like sun moon lake, min shu, farms, gorges etc cos it was only a 5 day trip n we decided not to travel out. So next time definitely got to plan better. One other Asian city me n my hubby adore is Tokyo. We used to go there every March to see Sakura n just people watch. Until earthquake n all these radiation talk, then don't dare to go. Haiz. Maybe when I'm done with this whole child bearing business, we will venture there again.

I also wanna go babymoon... But I Kia si thou Gynae say okay to travel in 2nd tri before 3rd tri comes right? Hmm...

Ya my hubby only know how to eat Din Tai Fung *face palm* We did go to all those places u mentioned, I like Maokong cable car v much. N guess my 天灯 wish came true cos here I'm, preggy n gassy n bloated (but v v happy) :p But end of day, I felt we missed out on some true Taiwan experience like sun moon lake, min shu, farms, gorges etc cos it was only a 5 day trip n we decided not to travel out. So next time definitely got to plan better. One other Asian city me n my hubby adore is Tokyo. We used to go there every March to see Sakura n just people watch. Until earthquake n all these radiation talk, then don't dare to go. Haiz. Maybe when I'm done with this whole child bearing business, we will venture there again.

one vote down :(

lolz

hahaha on the other hand, I visited taiwan 4x, I nvr been to a DTF there :p

I love min shu too! The owners are always so hospitable... Most of our stay in round island are minshu stay... only hotels are Taipei and Taichung's love hotels hahaha

Aiya, me too, we booked tickets to BKK after my honeymoon in march, den find out i pregnant in may (made in singapore...hahaha...) den gotto postpone till next year

But no dissapointment lah...Cuz we will be celebrating my birthday with our child (in mummy tum tum) soon!

I hope i got appetite to eat birthday cake then...

no prob... its something that I wish to share cuz i see many first time mummies got depressed and give up too soon... nobody even the prenatal classes preb us well enough for breastfeeding... the nurses will always convey it is perfectly easy and natural to latch and breastfeed but it is often not the case... somebody can sticky my earlier write up to fb yar...its meant to share anyways...

I'm the those few that gave up easily, after 1-2 weeks of pumping, there isn't much supply. Is just like few drops each breast, both combined merely 10ml. And during those 1-2 week, bb already drinking formula milk. So I had this idea that I don't have milk supply prob due to small breast... :( my first 2 pregnancy also like that..

My take... I would probably go if I am not preggy...
another vote down ... if i am not preggy i also go lolz ... it is because preggy i hestiate cos i dun wan to regret later
even though pple kept say it is ok no impact but better play safe than sorry ...but that is me lah it is not as though japan will sink ...can go other time ;)

Today's topic Breastfeeding and baby carriers eh? It took me so long to read through the new threads. Been sleeping the whole day today ;)

For new moms who don't mind gg out during 1 month, I would recommend going to babycafe at Mother & Child at tanglin mall together. They have nurses/midwives there to help you Breastfeed and some refreshments for only $15 (last I check). They helped me a lot. Seeing other moms struggling with Breastfeeding also helped me a lot knowing I was not alone. But note they are really pro 100% Breastfeeding. So whatever advice they give try to see perspective from that end. I was really stressed w my #1 for Breastfeeding that I drank 6 bowls of soup for dinner.

Pumping I used to do quite a lot too. To ease the boredom I would watch korean soap dramas while pumping. But I really hate pumping... It's like milking a cow...

For antenatal classes, do take note on the baby care during the first year too. I find the first year the toughest, especially baby sleep..

For baby carriers, our next outing I don't mind bringing what I have to show. I have the pupsik pouch, a sarong and also the manduca. I also have the easy wrap but it's with my friend in oz now.

Yeah good thought to share with new mummies! :D I may also bring my confinement shampoo/shower so mummies can smell/try before they commit to buying.. haha i dont really like it though..

Went to star vista the other day n got this eatery called 李。the pork intestines mian sian not bad!

It's near my work place.. so i been there a few times.. the lu rou fan not bad, so is the beef noodle soup (but standard differs from time to time, and i think lai lai's soup is nicer haha).. the fried sweet potato strips also nice!.. the only thing is that the price has increased substantially.. last time one set meal like around $17.. now its like about $22 le..

one vote down :(

lolz

Lol... ok la for me I prefer to err a bit on the safe side... As adults we should be ok but dunno the effects on a developing fetus. That said, my gf's gal was conceived on a ski trip to Hokkaido, perfectly healthy n chubby.

I'm the those few that gave up easily, after 1-2 weeks of pumping, there isn't much supply. Is just like few drops each breast, both combined merely 10ml. And during those 1-2 week, bb already drinking formula milk. So I had this idea that I don't have milk supply prob due to small breast... :( my first 2 pregnancy also like that..
u know what my colleague say ... start pumping when in hospital ...get the motion started ... and teh factory will start working ...

btw nothing to do with breast size lah...

Lol... ok la for me I prefer to err a bit on the safe side... As adults we should be ok but dunno the effects on a developing fetus. That said, my gf's gal was conceived on a ski trip to Hokkaido, perfectly healthy n chubby.
hokkaido quite far north lolz beside conceived only a group of cells ..but ours case is fetus developing so ... abit debatable lor

Speaking of breast size, I'm very upset my boobies didn't get the memo that they r supposed to grow to gigantic melon sizes when preggy. I'm still fitting into my usual bras! *sulk*

mine grew bigger but i am still wearing my usual bras.
haha too lazy to buy

wanted to go HK in early Oct.
gynae say still ok to travel but need a letter from him
DH say must save money cause one more mouth to feed:(

i want to eat the food in HK