So what happens if you get GD? What are the treatment options? Besides strict diet and exercising??
Depending on how serious... Some ppl will need insulin...

Minor ones diet n exercise can liao

But to monitor ourself we need to prick our finger for blood test around 7 times for 1 day..

Depending on how serious.. some ppl need prick test for 1 day only... n some need prick test for everyday..

I tried prick 2 days straighy my fingers all prick until blue black very painful ...

Thats where i feel the stress...

Ya, almost everyone thinks it's more fresh. Those popular wet markets, maybe. But from what i learnt from the suppliers, it's quite scary. Of course still can buy. Must use our eyes see and nose to smell then we know fresh or not.
I think depends on the fish monger. My dad is a fish monger, he sells fresh fish that he go buy every morning at 2am. There are time he comes back early or never go open stall because no fish supplier so I assume he never keep/freeze fish.
He also very particular about the freshness, he brings back cod fish sometimes say is not nice in outlook, got strain of blood. Rather eat on our own then selling...

I think depends on the fish monger. My dad is a fish monger, he sells fresh fish that he go buy every morning at 2am. There are time he comes back early or never go open stall because no fish supplier so I assume he never keep/freeze fish.
He also very particular about the freshness, he brings back cod fish sometimes say is not nice in outlook, got strain of blood. Rather eat on our own then selling...

@cinderelly, where is your dad's stall? I think we all go and buy from him lah... :p

Medela stay away from the medela swing model - everytime I visit their service center to get my pump repaired last time always got people bringing swing in with backflow issue. I have a hospital grade one but hard to fix and not for sale too.

yes, I also hv back flow issue and went to their service centre. so wu-lu

But to monitor ourself we need to prick our finger for blood test around 7 times for 1 day..

Depending on how serious.. some ppl need prick test for 1 day only... n some need prick test for everyday..

I tried prick 2 days straighy my fingers all prick until blue black very painful ...

Wah okay... I really don't want to prick my finger every day! MUST control!!!

why tears ?

i tot my confinement lady love me deep deep .. my thinking is want everyone to be able to sleep well ... so night time my boy take formula but i still wake up to pump and day time he's on BM

My friend told me she also broke down in tears while BF.... It's not easy I heard. Now I scared Liao lo... But I think I will try my best, provided got milk also...

FYI.. useful article on carrier..
http://www.megganmamma.com/2013/11/01/why-id-never-put-my-baby-in-a-baby-bjorn-carrier/

Haha I am quite noob when it comes to marketing.. i never buy fish before from a market.. i really dont know how to.. plus so many diff type of fish sia! i think i can only recognise salmon.. another thing is i dont know how to handle/cook fish haha... except for salmon cos grilled salmon still quite easy..

I also don't know what fish is what fish.. so rely on my fish monger dad. He say what's good he just bring back. So never go marketing. Sometimes he nag, say we all include my kids all fortunate. Get the freshest fish and don't know how expensive it was. From young my kids have fish every meal.

u want to sit in the nursing room for 1hr to pump meh?
and if frens waiting for u to pump finish.
more stress = milk flow slow
troublesome mah :p ...got baby to handle still need to pump when outside ... shiong

Hahaha I did that leh.. but without baby most of the times... haha and I will just ask my friends go shopping or something first.. then i go look for them when i am done..

Wah, I read what you all said about breastfeeding, can be a bit worrying! Some of those terms you guys mentioned are also so alien to me! Like foremilk, hindmilk....

I also wanna bf where possible. My sis bf her #1 for 18 months until pregnant with #2. I hope I am also able to breastfeed for so long. When I spoke to my CL about 100% breast feed, she was quite supportive and said that must be diligent if want to bf 100% although she said that if beginning there is no bm, then must supplement with formula.

Must be diligent and persevere! :)

Haha soon the terms will be your BFF!

Maduca can have foward facing? I keen on the ergo 360 le..
I'm waiting for taka bb fair so that I can use taka voucher that I bought for 10%, then again is online cheaper? I saw $210 cheapest on pupsik online.

I think cannot forward facing...

From: http://www.manducababycarrier.com.sg/manduca-baby-carrier-frequently-asked-questions.html#FAQ002

2) Can I carry my baby facing outwards in a manduca baby carrier?
We do not think that wearing a baby facing outwards is a good idea, which is why the manduca is not designed for this. We do not agree with outwards-facing babywearing because:

• a baby worn in this position is unable to withdraw from sensory overload caused by all the sights and impressions it is exposed to;
  • there is no easy possibility of eye contact with the wearer/parent;
  • this position does not permit the baby to be carried in the ‘frog legs’ position, which we recommend as excellent for the baby’s hips: the spine takes on a hollowed rather than rounded posture, which forces the hips into an unnatural position.
Imagine for a moment that you’ve just flung yourself onto the sofa after a hard day: what do you do with your legs to get comfortable? Don’t you tend to sit with them tucked up? It is this experience of pure comfort which we are attempting to give babies in the manduca.

my borderline one make me prick everyay leh...

in fact this pregnancy i volunteer to do the pricking myself on alternative day ... in the morning ... to see what is my level after a night sleep so far reading is good ..my bf also very healthy lolz good reading

I don't think salmon can steam cuz it's a frozen fish leh... Usually only the super fresh fish then suitable for steaming...

Have you tried pan frying your salmon instead?

Mmm pan fried salmon is nice! I use happycall.. quite easy...
Last time my mum place downstairs got a stall sell very nice pan fried salmon.. they used to be at airport.. but they close down le.. so sad..

My friend told me she also broke down in tears while BF.... It's not easy I heard. Now I scared Liao lo... But I think I will try my best, provided got milk also...

Me.. i broke down in tears too.. crying to my sis and mum.. really wasnt prepared for the difficulties of BF.. but it gets better! Try your best is the best you can do :)

Mmm pan fried salmon is nice! I use happycall.. quite easy...
Last time my mum place downstairs got a stall sell very nice pan fried salmon.. they used to be at airport.. but they close down le.. so sad..
yah panfried liao their skin crispy one nice lolz

dun be scare lah...just try your best ...

@cinderelly, where is your dad's stall? I think we all go and buy from him lah... :p
At admiralty mrt, that market...
I rem this incident that I visit him years back, an aunty was bargaining w him on pricing. And commented that why so ex, my dad say here all fresh fish, u want cheap fish go there (pointed another fish stall). So kpo I go and see that stall, omg, the fish like pouring in heaps.. not organise at all.. really one hell, one heaven.. in the end the aunty also buy from my dad..

my borderline one make me prick everyay leh...

in fact this pregnancy i volunteer to do the pricking myself on alternative day ... in the morning ... to see what is my level after a night sleep so far reading is good ..my bf also very healthy lolz good reading
Wahhh if ask me prick everyday i will die.....

I thought only cod is frozen n salmon n threadfin are fresh! Then y are they still selling so expensive! The price for threadfin is crazy! Can go up to $60+/kg!

Went mkt last wed, cod n threadfin are all sold out n fishmonger told me low supply coz Malay still celebrating hari raya. So expensive still sold out! Tsk! Don't knw how to buy during our cny period confinement loh... Stress

Husband auntie was commenting, we really know how to pick our dates, cny period everything also goes up..., confinement lady fee, food ++

I also prick myself for a wk for #1. Coz suspect gd after glucose test at gynae no.2. Lucky gynae#1 says everything alright don't have to continue to prick.

Today's topic Breastfeeding and baby carriers eh? It took me so long to read through the new threads. Been sleeping the whole day today ;)

For new moms who don't mind gg out during 1 month, I would recommend going to babycafe at Mother & Child at tanglin mall together. They have nurses/midwives there to help you Breastfeed and some refreshments for only $15 (last I check). They helped me a lot. Seeing other moms struggling with Breastfeeding also helped me a lot knowing I was not alone. But note they are really pro 100% Breastfeeding. So whatever advice they give try to see perspective from that end. I was really stressed w my #1 for Breastfeeding that I drank 6 bowls of soup for dinner.

Pumping I used to do quite a lot too. To ease the boredom I would watch korean soap dramas while pumping. But I really hate pumping... It's like milking a cow...

For antenatal classes, do take note on the baby care during the first year too. I find the first year the toughest, especially baby sleep..

For baby carriers, our next outing I don't mind bringing what I have to show. I have the pupsik pouch, a sarong and also the manduca. I also have the easy wrap but it's with my friend in oz now.

Your dad is one of those rare responsible fish mongers! I cannot find such uncle at my market. Most of the salmon from orange flesh turned to beige flesh but still selling. Even cod fish can turn from white to brown. Your dad is so far away from me. Else can buy from him!

Salmon.... hmmmm...

Any receipes ? I dun know how to cook salmon end up always have this fishy smell

I usually steam bake it inside a foil. Either teriyaki or with a lemon/orange slice and some sea salt.

But sometimes I also steam it with tomatoes, shiitake mushrooms, a dallop of butter and some fresh milk.

But! Only my kids take cooked salmon. I don’t like the taste. I only love salmon sashimi! :)

Today's topic Breastfeeding and baby carriers eh? It took me so long to read through the new threads. Been sleeping the whole day today ;)

For new moms who don't mind gg out during 1 month, I would recommend going to babycafe at Mother & Child at tanglin mall together. They have nurses/midwives there to help you Breastfeed and some refreshments for only $15 (last I check). They helped me a lot. Seeing other moms struggling with Breastfeeding also helped me a lot knowing I was not alone. But note they are really pro 100% Breastfeeding. So whatever advice they give try to see perspective from that end. I was really stressed w my #1 for Breastfeeding that I drank 6 bowls of soup for dinner.

Pumping I used to do quite a lot too. To ease the boredom I would watch korean soap dramas while pumping. But I really hate pumping... It's like milking a cow...

For antenatal classes, do take note on the baby care during the first year too. I find the first year the toughest, especially baby sleep..

For baby carriers, our next outing I don't mind bringing what I have to show. I have the pupsik pouch, a sarong and also the manduca. I also have the easy wrap but it's with my friend in oz now.

I didn't know there's such a cafe in sg! So many things I wish I knew earlier. Haha..

I also hate pumping. Because I don’t feel good about feeding the kids ebm because of the taste and end up letting hubby drink all the goodness instead.

I used to have a variety of carriers too! Lol. Sold off 3 MIM slings and 1 pupsik pouch. Left with my beco and patapum. Heehee.. :)

I thought only cod is frozen n salmon n threadfin are fresh! Then y are they still selling so expensive! The price for threadfin is crazy! Can go up to $60+/kg!

Went mkt last wed, cod n threadfin are all sold out n fishmonger told me low supply coz Malay still celebrating hari raya. So expensive still sold out! Tsk! Don't knw how to buy during our cny period confinement loh... Stress

Husband auntie was commenting, we really know how to pick our dates, cny period everything also goes up..., confinement lady fee, food ++

Oh yes, better stock up before cny.. price will be super high. Buy already, pack in portion and freeze it..

I usually steam bake it inside a foil. Either teriyaki or with a lemon/orange slice and some sea salt.

But sometimes I also steam it with tomatoes, shiitake mushrooms, a dallop of butter and some fresh milk.

But! Only my kids take cooked salmon. I don’t like the taste. I only love salmon sashimi! :)

Yes me too.. I don't like cooked salmon, only like sashimi. My father don't sells salmon too. Our family likes fish head, tail and fin. So every time, left all the meat behind. Forcing my mum to eat. All time favorite is just eat curry fish head our fish head steam boat. All attack the eyes.

I like fish cheeks. Such a glutton... This pregnancy just gobble gobble. I went to mos burger seeing all the discussion on it too haha. Now ogling at the 猪扒包recipe

Hello mummies, I'm in my 16th week now... today has been stressful as I keep experiencing frequent cramps in my tummy area... more so in lower abdominal area and they are quite frequent at times... and stimes I would feel pain near my crotch area as well. Thankfully, there is no bleeding.

Did u experience them this early in pregnancy as well? Is this normal?

Thx in advance!

Hello mummies, I'm in my 16th week now... today has been stressful as I keep experiencing frequent cramps in my tummy area... more so in lower abdominal area and they are quite frequent at times... and stimes I would feel pain near my crotch area as well. Thankfully, there is no bleeding.

Thx in advance!
Guess its quite normal.. take a rest if u feel uncomfortable...

Cramps near tummy area might be the stretching of uterus or tummy skin...

Pain at crotch area is baby pressing on ur nerves... if it get worse consult ur gynae...

Yes me too.. I don't like cooked salmon, only like sashimi. My father don't sells salmon too. Our family likes fish head, tail and fin. So every time, left all the meat behind. Forcing my mum to eat. All time favorite is just eat curry fish head our fish head steam boat. All attack the eyes.

So good to have a dad who sells fish, cinderelly! Get to eat fresh fish so often. Your family must be very healthy. Good for the eyes and heart too. I love the skin too. Full of collagen. Haha

I suddenly feel like eating the fried oyster from taiwan night market! The one with lots of veggies and sauce. Yums.. And ay chung mian xian... Why sg doesn't have good taiwanese food!

Thx in advance!

Should be normal. But do highlight to your gynae.

I also get cramps at my lower abdomen and sometimes it feels like braxton hicks. My groin area will also feel 'suan' when i walk for too long. I also noticed huge blue veins popping out around the area. I try to sit down more often and the discomfort will be gone.

So good to have a dad who sells fish, cinderelly! Get to eat fresh fish so often. Your family must be very healthy. Good for the eyes and heart too. I love the skin too. Full of collagen. Haha

Haha.. No le, I'm a specky le.. But my dad eyesight v good, health report good too. prob is body ache, back pain, can't Stand for long, thousands of scar and wound.. All from work...

yes yes, those were the days. I remembered I went out with my frens during my 4mths maternity leave, always hv to rush home within 2-3hrs to pump milk. my frens who have no kids kept question y i got curfew is it. faint.
I even brought the breast pad to change if the existing is soak thoroughly. got once I forgot to bring and was stuck somewhere, I end up 2 wet patches on my top and hv to take cab rush home.

Yes yes yes! My friends also asked the same thing. And why i wore a cardigan even though it's so warm. They didn't notice my perpetually wet patches. Haha.. My breast pads had to be changed every two hours else it would be so heavy that it would fall out. I remember hiding inside toilets to hand express to clear my engorgement too. Lol!! :p :D

While we are at this topic, just want to share that i feel a dark coloured nursing cover with designs is better compared to a solid light or dark coloured one. In case of let downs and spraying bm, nobody will notice except us! Hahaha

Haha.. No le, I'm a specky le.. But my dad eyesight v good, health report good too. prob is body ache, back pain, can't Stand for long, thousands of scar and wound.. All from work...

Haha.. Myopia is inherited. Cannot be avoided. :)

Good to hear that! Think as we age we tend to get aches too. Scars and wounds too? Poor uncle!

Haha.. Myopia is inherited. Cannot be avoided. :)

Good to hear that! Think as we age we tend to get aches too. Scars and wounds too? Poor uncle!
My dad actually not that old, he is 54yo.. But aches, scar, wound are from his work.. Holding knifes and chopper to remove scales and chop fish, kana prick by fish bone etc... Ache and spine prob because everyday carry ice box fill of ice and fish etc... He cannot walk and stand for long. Walk like a penguin. Sometime jokingly joke that his hand trembles so much that when he spoon a soup, before reach his mouth all gone Liao.. Inside our heart of cos feel bad la..

I see. Younger than my dad who is 55. Sounds like my hubby too. He has scars and burns from work too. Tennis elbow and kneecap issues too. And he's only 31.. Your dad is still so humorous though! :)

I suddenly feel like eating the fried oyster from taiwan night market! The one with lots of veggies and sauce. Yums.. And ay chung mian xian... Why sg doesn't have good taiwanese food!

Went to star vista the other day n got this eatery called 李。the pork intestines mian sian not bad!