I learned from nanny hands on. As for breastfeeding be mentally prepared for first time moms esp.... it will involve alot of tears and lack of sleep, engorged breasts and mastitis for some...reality check. I think having people ard you that are supportive is important to success in breastfeeding. I was lucky I only had my husband n nurses w me and they were very encouraging. More people with differing opinions I probably go mad - esp if they ask me to use formula and give suggestions that wldnt help.

Just my 2 cents worth :)

ya, when I had my 1st child, I seriously lack of sleep coz midnite hv to wake up few times to feed my boy. if nt die die still must wake up to pump my milk but I was too tired that I missed a few rounds and kena engorged breasts and had fever for 3 days. went back to gynae to take med. it was very tough when u are alone. my mum having the old ppl's mentality tot baby won't feel full drinking breast milk coz dun noe hw much he suck and whether is enough so she rather make milk powder. end up I throw all my milk. sigh. this time round I will do the call and be more hardworking

@Sugarlove87.. Dont worry too much.. when the time comes then you worry because you cant pre-empt what difficulties you will face.. just be positive about it.. learn about latching as much as you can during hosp stay.. ask LC for help if you need..

If you get the US set.. will be cheaper but doesnt come with SG warrantly.. there is some spree for the US set in the forum.. someone shared in FB..

I always envy those with no prob with supply.. my supply super demoralising.. pump 30min with freestyle only like 50ml.. pump every 3 hrs also the supply just wont go up.. papaya soup, hot compress etc all didnt help.. oh wells.. but i persevered for 1 year despite low supply.. which is what i can proudly say..

Good on you mummy! :)

But i think the grass is always greener on the other side. :p My problem was oversupply. By day 4 i was already pumping 240ml every 1.5 to 2 hours. I was literally glued to baby or the pump. And it didn't help that my boy couldn't clear the engorgement. Then i got lumps, blocked ducts and bleeding nips! He also could not reach the hindmilk and took in so much foremilk that his poo became frothy and green due to foremilk hindmilk imbalance. Then came the most dreaded diaper rash as he was pooing 20 times a day. Non stop action for me 24/7. Cannot even sleep more than 2 hours. Back then i really envied mummies who got to work on the supply and gradually bf the baby.

for me 6 months ..only to me once they start on solid ..nutritions come from solid not BF ...statistic also showed 6 months is ideal ( i also lazy lolz cos washing those pump equipment eveyrday ...and sterlizing them tiring leh lolz cos no helper too )

good job ... i guess the key is drink more soup and water bah ... and try to pump 2hrs mati like bb feeding every 2hrs once the 2hrs supply go up then drag 3 hrs ... at least that is wat i did ..if i did not remember wrongly lolz

I think i tried 2 hrs too.. but really 2 hrs means the milk lesser also.. end up the amount of milk add up is the same.. but more pumping n washing to do... zzzz.. i guess its just me.. i hope this time it will be much better!

FOr me, i only Bf for 1 mths really tiring and stressful as MIL is helping me do confinement. I bought Philips Avent pump, look like i need to change the parts as i have kept for 3 yrs wor.

ya, when I had my 1st child, I seriously lack of sleep coz midnite hv to wake up few times to feed my boy. if nt die die still must wake up to pump my milk but I was too tired that I missed a few rounds and kena engorged breasts and had fever for 3 days. went back to gynae to take med. it was very tough when u are alone. my mum having the old ppl's mentality tot baby won't feel full drinking breast milk coz dun noe hw much he suck and whether is enough so she rather make milk powder. end up I throw all my milk. sigh. this time round I will do the call and be more hardworking

i know what you going thru...been there done that lolz ... but i din throw away the milk ...he finished it lolz ..and my hubby already plan how to use the milk this round lolz ... get my boy to drink :confused: and he already rehearsing with my boy ... go tell mummy you wan to drink her milk kaoz ... o_O

yes, totally agreed tat papaya and hot compress no help. i also try the fenugreek also no use but I think subject to ppl too.
I managed to feed for 6mths. went back to work on the 4th mth and spent 1hr pumping milk in the toilet for just 50ml. sigh. think back, like so kelian.
now office after reno, no fridge, I dun noe pump liao store where for at least 5hrs.

i know what you going thru...been there done that lolz ... but i din throw away the milk ...he finished it lolz ..and my hubby already plan how to use the milk this round lolz ... get my boy to drink :confused: and he already rehearsing with my boy ... go tell mummy you wan to drink her milk kaoz ... o_O

I can't remember the milk can store in the freezer for how long. I use pigeon milk bag and state the date after each pump. when time's up, take out and throw. can still recall my freezer all fill with my milk and my bro is wondering wat is it.

for me 6 months ..only to me once they start on solid ..nutritions come from solid not BF ...statistic also showed 6 months is ideal ( i also lazy lolz cos washing those pump equipment eveyrday ...and sterlizing them tiring leh lolz cos no helper too )

good job ... i guess the key is drink more soup and water bah ... and try to pump 2hrs mati like bb feeding every 2hrs once the 2hrs supply go up then drag 3 hrs ... at least that is wat i did ..if i did not remember wrongly lolz

Not easy for working mums who have to pump! Need to sacrifice lunch time and scared the boss will mind etc. Then i heard when you reached a certain stage say 1 year, colleagues like to ask "huh! One year still drinking ebm??". Really not easy!! My boy didn't take bottle at all so i just latched all the way.

But i think the grass is always greener on the other side. :p My problem was oversupply. By day 4 i was already pumping 240ml every 1.5 to 2 hours. I was literally glued to baby or the pump. And it didn't help that my boy couldn't clear the engorgement. Then i got lumps, blocked ducts and bleeding nips! He also could not reach the hindmilk and took in so much foremilk that his poo became frothy and green due to foremilk hindmilk imbalance. Then came the most dreaded diaper rash as he was pooing 20 times a day. Non stop action for me 24/7. Cannot even sleep more than 2 hours. Back then i really envied mummies who got to work on the supply and gradually bf the baby.
wah ...you super cow leh...you are my ideal ...

Haah yes.. oversupply is the problem i will not encounter then.. i still envy you all though.. better more supply then too little supply haha.. i can go out one whole day.. no pump/latch and feel perfectly ok.. means also i can sleep thru the night but then i had to wake up to pump to try to up or at the very least maintain my already low supply..

wah ...you super cow leh...you are my ideal ...

Really is a cow wor! I was in that oversupply state for 25 months. Now weaned off for two months le still have milk. So tempted to re-latch my boy to relieve the hardness and blocked pores! But like cannot hor..

Medela stay away from the medela swing model - everytime I visit their service center to get my pump repaired last time always got people bringing swing in with backflow issue. I have a hospital grade one but hard to fix and not for sale too.

yes, totally agreed tat papaya and hot compress no help. i also try the fenugreek also no use but I think subject to ppl too.
I managed to feed for 6mths. went back to work on the 4th mth and spent 1hr pumping milk in the toilet for just 50ml. sigh. think back, like so kelian.
now office after reno, no fridge, I dun noe pump liao store where for at least 5hrs.

i tried fenugreek too.. and then decided to stop.. cos it wasnt helping.. they say breastmilk can help you save on milk powder $$.. but the money thrown into fenugreek is more than milk powder lor.. hmm get fridge on the go? or mini fridge? i think the icepack can last around 8 hours? that time when i was at event.. no fridge.. i went to get icecubes and put inside the cooler bag haha.. cos the ice pack not cold anymore..

during my #1 i also have to do in toilet ...so unhygienic ... but now ok liao...they have a nursing room but alot of mummies here so all have to fight lolz

Haah yes.. oversupply is the problem i will not encounter then.. i still envy you all though.. better more supply then too little supply haha.. i can go out one whole day.. no pump/latch and feel perfectly ok.. means also i can sleep thru the night but then i had to wake up to pump to try to up or at the very least maintain my already low supply..

I am totally opposite!! Lol. Cannot go out the whole day because i would end up with soaking wet clothes. People thought i vomited on myself or what. And if i were to eat fish, must rush home within two hours to latch and pump out. At night also no peace. Must sleep in my own pool of sticky yucky bm. Hahaha.. Those were the days!

Not easy for working mums who have to pump! Need to sacrifice lunch time and scared the boss will mind etc. Then i heard when you reached a certain stage say 1 year, colleagues like to ask "huh! One year still drinking ebm??". Really not easy!! My boy didn't take bottle at all so i just latched all the way.

Lol i got colleague pump for more than 2 years leh.. they were there before me.. and still there after i stop.. i actually salute them for continuing! my direct boss was very accommodating luckily so i can pump twice at work :)

my colleague pump for 3 yrs leh loz

during my #1 i also have to do in toilet ...so unhygienic ... but now ok liao...they have a nursing room but alot of mummies here so all have to fight lolz

Lol we had a schedule.. & at tt time a lot of pumping mummies.. so its back to back.. if one delay.. the rest all delay haha.. so also vv stress to keep to schedule.. some times i bring my laptop in to work while pumping.. those were the days..

I am totally opposite!! Lol. Cannot go out the wholecday because i would end up with soaking wet clothes. People thought i vomited on myself or what. And if i were to eat fish, must rush home within two hours to latch and pump out. At night also no peace. Must sleep in my own pool of sticky yucky bm. Hahaha.. Those were the days!

I can only imagine sia.. hahahah..

Lol i got colleague pump for more than 2 years leh.. they were there before me.. and still there after i stop.. i actually salute them for continuing! my direct boss was very accommodating luckily so i can pump twice at work :)

2 years!! It's lots of hassle and hard work. Really not easy.

So good! I like this kind of bfing friendly companies. Heehee..

I can't remember the milk can store in the freezer for how long. I use pigeon milk bag and state the date after each pump. when time's up, take out and throw. can still recall my freezer all fill with my milk and my bro is wondering wat is it.
i read is 6 months ... so must practice first in frist out lolz

Really is a cow wor! I was in that oversupply state for 25 months. Now weaned off for two months le still have milk. So tempted to re-latch my boy to relieve the hardness and blocked pores! But like cannot hor..
my son already 3.9 yrs ... when he 3yrs i squeeze i still get a few drop ok ...but i stopped doing that cos wait the breast tot i still want continue to supply then siao liao

I am totally opposite!! Lol. Cannot go out the whole day because i would end up with soaking wet clothes. People thought i vomited on myself or what. And if i were to eat fish, must rush home within two hours to latch and pump out. At night also no peace. Must sleep in my own pool of sticky yucky bm. Hahaha.. Those were the days!

yes yes, those were the days. I remembered I went out with my frens during my 4mths maternity leave, always hv to rush home within 2-3hrs to pump milk. my frens who have no kids kept question y i got curfew is it. faint.
I even brought the breast pad to change if the existing is soak thoroughly. got once I forgot to bring and was stuck somewhere, I end up 2 wet patches on my top and hv to take cab rush home.

yes yes, those were the days. I remembered I went out with my frens during my 4mths maternity leave, always hv to rush home within 2-3hrs to pump milk. I even brought the breast pad to change if the existing is soak thoroughly. got once I forgot to bring and was stuck somemore, I end up 2 wet patches on my top and hv to take cab rush home.
cannot forget one ...if dun pump..come home it is hard rock damn painful...have to pump until dry ...

after the 1st experience ...i am controlling my sweet tooth too lolz cos when my result become borderline in 3rd trim i really go on strict diet lor ... and exercise everyday ... torture leh...
I also kenna gd for my #1... hard to control leh....

Thats why i refuse to test when i have #2... n this one i also dun wan test.. add stress for me ..

yes yes, those were the days. I remembered I went out with my frens during my 4mths maternity leave, always hv to rush home within 2-3hrs to pump milk. my frens who have no kids kept question y i got curfew is it. faint.
I even brought the breast pad to change if the existing is soak thoroughly. got once I forgot to bring and was stuck somewhere, I end up 2 wet patches on my top and hv to take cab rush home.

Actually can also bring pump out to pump? Got a lot of nursing rooms around.. some really very nice!! :D

I also kenna gd for my #1... hard to control leh....

Thats why i refuse to test when i have #2... n this one i also dun wan test.. add stress for me ..
i know u also cos we chat in the other forum wat lolz

huh? can refuse to do it :eek:

any idea whether medela do trade in for their old model to buy new one?
I bought swing 3yrs back during their warehouse sale for $200.

Wah, I read what you all said about breastfeeding, can be a bit worrying! Some of those terms you guys mentioned are also so alien to me! Like foremilk, hindmilk....

I also wanna bf where possible. My sis bf her #1 for 18 months until pregnant with #2. I hope I am also able to breastfeed for so long. When I spoke to my CL about 100% breast feed, she was quite supportive and said that must be diligent if want to bf 100% although she said that if beginning there is no bm, then must supplement with formula.

Must be diligent and persevere! :)

i know u also cos we chat in the other forum wat lolz

huh? can refuse to do it :eek:
My gynae can haha... told him its so stress to control strict diet n so stress to keep pricking myslef .. then he say ok.. but dun eat / drink too much sugar stuff

huh? like that also can :eek:

I dun have oven at home :(

I usually steam coz i search online receipe.. but seems fishy smell ..
then pan fried with butter lor

salmon cannot steam one ..very fishy smell ...they need ingredient to marinate to get rid of smell

I saw the manduca carrier videos on youtube! Beco is with legs out though. But the wideness can adjust according to age so no need open until so big too. It would be more convenient especially when i already had #1 that time. No need to limit myself to one place to nurse baby. Lol

Yes! But i will probably visit lesser places. And yup, i can eat the goodies! Haha :D
Maduca can have foward facing? I keen on the ergo 360 le..
I'm waiting for taka bb fair so that I can use taka voucher that I bought for 10%, then again is online cheaper? I saw $210 cheapest on pupsik online.