(2014/10) Oct 2014 Mummies

R u having a sweet snack? Prob that's y the bb is hyper.

Mommies, u all sleeping on your sides? I still feel ok sleeping on my back leh but they say no good for bb.. True?
I just confirmed my post natal massage lady. She does pre natal as well but says horse year v busy.. No time.

Anyone gg to any massage or got recommendation? Thanks.

I tried to sleep on sides but most of the time my LO will kick me harder. Probably I disturb her sleeping position.

It's true that pregnant women better don't sleep flat. Maybe a while still ok. Even my gynae told me the same things.. I think is bcz of the blood flow.

Same same! Although im a side sleeper.. but cant sleep on my left all night.. my hand will go numb n head will pain.. so i will b like roti prata.. flip here n there.. haha

Me same here.. Just try flip here & there to get a good position that suits for my LO. I can be very awake when I turns.

I didn't apply any cream on tummy nor hips for all pregnancies, luckily tummy got no marks at all but hips got 2-3 purple marks, not very obvious though.

Today realised that my belly button was push out already and hubby comments my belly grow bigger again. No wonder my back is aching these 2 days.

I also don't apply anything at all & even for my #1 as I'm really lazy lah.. Recently my tummy also getting bigger, seems in short period time. Same experience of backache. :-(

@leocub @sheahappie

Didnt know Quinny is heavy.. okie i will have a look at combi, aprica and capella...
Then should i buy 2 strollers?? Like one of new born till certain age then another one when baby is bigger?? I realised strollers are not cheap.. can go up to 2k right??

All along since preg sleeping on my right is most comfortable leh.. jialat.. and recently i like sleeping on my back.. i also read that sleeping on the left is best.. oh no oh no oh no..

@verine22

I use combi lightweight for my NB baby till she's 2 years plus.. Now actually she still can use it but she do not want to sit on it. She just want to walk herself & when she's tired, she will ask us to carry her instead of resting in her stroller. Carry her is really v tiring..

Any idea which brand of disposable breast pads is good? During my #1 I'm using Tollyjoy brand. Thinking if shd get reusable or disposable breast pads. Which 1 u all choose? Which brand? Can share?

@ Verine22, no need to buy 2 strollers lah.. like what angel shared, some kid dont' like to sit in stroller when they reach a certain age. For mine, he is a lazy boy.. so we got a light weght one when he is older.
The Quinny is basically easier to transfer him when he is a bb as it serves as a car seat as well.

You & @agaga so blessed, no need to apply cream and yet no stretch mark. i forgot about my hips..must apply cream too else become wrinkled orange.

@angel_loi, i tried lucky bb and pigeon breastpads, prefer pigeon though.

Me too using pigeon brand disposable breastpad. Soft and comfotable, adhesive tape okay will stick whole day. But I don't breastfeed nor pump.

@agaga

Don't mind asking.. Y u don't breast feed or pump? U don't feel sore breast? I rmb last time during pumping milk, my another side drip milk too. End up the breast pads quite full & I need to change ard 3-4 times a day.

I had tried for both babies but failed. I had inverted nipples so breastfeeding is almost impossible for me, had tried using a syringe to pull nipple out but it was really painful and baby was really frustrated as nipple went back inverted very fast and had a hard time latching on. So I thought of pumping but I do not much milk or the pump is not powerful enough?!... tried medela electric pump but seems like nothing comes out. So I tried hand-express, after expressing for a good 10 mins on each side, only 5ml in total.
I had green papaya fish soup for every meal but still got no milk. So give up after 2 weeks of trying, don't want to be too stress over this.
No my nipple don't drip milk so a pair of breastpads a day are good enough.

This round as usual, I'll try to latch on, pump, hand express as much as I can otherwise breast got engorged also very painful.

Ya.. pigeon one softer & will stick whole day.

I dont bf too..but pump yes. Cos i duno how to manage bf when the other side has a let down. dumb rite? for pump, i use the Avent shell to collect the let down or pump both at the same time.
Maybe those who bf can share how to manage let down? Tks.

@agaga

I think I'm also slightly inverted nipples. My #1 having difficulties to suck & end up my nipples bleed on 2nd day. That day onwards, I don't let her latch on & just use medela swing pump. So far pumping still works well on me.. Pump for almost 2 months. As I know if baby latch on, will produce more milk & may feed till more than 6 months.

@angel_loi , bleeding! Oh really pei fu you all who go through much difficulty but still insist on giving breast milk. My nipples only crack I also can't stand already.

I'm those type that won't persist all the way de cos I believe formula milk also provide good nutrients to baby.

Also, if b.feed, mummy must really take note of what she's eating or drinking.

@leocub @sheahappie

Didnt know Quinny is heavy.. okie i will have a look at combi, aprica and capella...
Then should i buy 2 strollers?? Like one of new born till certain age then another one when baby is bigger?? I realised strollers are not cheap.. can go up to 2k right??
For my personal preference, i like capella. Sturdy n good. A few of my friends using that, their kids coming 4-5yrs old can still use and stroller still going strong. Most impt price ia reasonable.

@agaga

Ya, that's really pain. I heard that Mt. A not allow to bring own breast pump over. Have to rent their breast pump at $25 per day. My friend just give birth on Feb, she experienced it.

@agaga

Ya, that's really pain. I heard that Mt. A not allow to bring own breast pump over. Have to rent their breast pump at $25 per day. My friend just give birth on Feb, she experienced it.
MT A using which brand of pump? I still thinking which brand cheap n good.. no money to buy expensive one..

@lervia

Mt A using big model breast pump. My friend told me the suction very good & fast..

ImageUploadedByForum1403861635.103206.jpg

I would suggest medela swing which I think pricing still acceptable as other brands also need cost ard $150 plus or more. Medela swing u can get $269 during promo. A lot of my friends change to medela as they are frustrated after using other brands.

@lervia

Mt A using big model breast pump. My friend told me the suction very good & fast..

View attachment 322221

I would suggest medela swing which I think pricing still acceptable as other brands also need cost ard $150 plus or more. Medela swing u can get $269 during promo. A lot of my friends change to medela as they are frustrated after using other brands.
Wah.. thats big....

Medela swing.. hmm.. will do some research.. i also heard medela good. But see the price i wan to faint..

If you intend to bf & intend to have > 1 kid, can invest in a good pump lah. Else just sell away, am sure will get a good price for Medela.

@leocub @lervia
Okokie.. i will go have a research on the few brands u all mention.. then see if the aug suntec fair have anot.. hehe..

Wah i didnt know bf soo difficult.. i heard my friend bf till swollen too.. so scary.. the nurse in the hospital will teach how to latch??

At Mt.A The lactation consultant came over to visit and teach me the correct way to breastfeed the very next day when baby is born. She came a few times that day but due to my inverted pair, I think she also give up on me...haha. then she never come again and I didn't call for her also since I got the position correct, it's just that my nipples don't allow my baby to latch.

Yes, that's right. Same on me that the lactation consultant will come over & guide.

This time u will be deliver at Mt. A too?

Initially wanted to ligate so got to choose TMC but afraid that there's side effect so hubby agreed to do Vasectomy instead. Now I can go Mt.A again...yeah.. :)

anyone knows if it's better to buy a playpen or cot?

Sorry I may not be able to give you a better choice. For me, I used to have a baby cot but baby don't like to sleep alone, I think she wants to smell me everytime ba... anyway I find that co-sleeping is more convenient also. So the cot stays there for a few weeks then to the storeroom.

Regards to nursery song cd, I got it from the Apple tree when my girl attended the class. I think you can just purchase from the RC.

You & @agaga so blessed, no need to apply cream and yet no stretch mark. i forgot about my hips..must apply cream too else become wrinkled orange.
Indeed I'm pretty lucky after comparing with my friend who gave birth to 2boys got freckles on her face permanently and her nose got enlarged since her 1st boy. Her last one gained 20kg and 1 year after birth just can't get rid of the extra kilos and got dried orange skin on flabby tummy, can see many dark lines on it also.

Hi mummies. I am dilemna to whether I should hire confinement lady. I got 2 kids one 8 and other just turns 2yr old. Last 2 confinement was done by mum. But this time round she is not doing. My hubby not working and look for job now. Financially we not that stable. I thought of doing myself but I can imagine the stress I be facing but the cost of confinement is $2500. Yet I wish to save up this money for kids usage. whats your advise?

Thats a tough choice.. mayb just order confinement cathering to relief ur stress on cooking. And mayb can engage a part time helper coming in once or twice a week to help out in household chores?

Sorry I may not be able to give you a better choice. For me, I used to have a baby cot but baby don't like to sleep alone, I think she wants to smell me everytime ba... anyway I find that co-sleeping is more convenient also. So the cot stays there for a few weeks then to the storeroom.

Regards to nursery song cd, I got it from the Apple tree when my girl attended the class. I think you can just purchase from the RC.
thanks agaga

anyone care to share if you are considering / bought a stroller for your babies ? & care to share the cost of the stroller?
I was told combi is the best, light & 1 hand fold but is it worth buying like $300-$400 stroller?

most strollers can use to 3 years old, so on long term it seems a good deal but what is babies doesn't like?

Combi is good but maybe you want to consider getting a 2nd hand or cheaper brand 1st or wait till the baby full mth then bring the baby to try before you buy. But 1st of all don't carry the baby all the times.

Yes, agreed with Zeropanda. I bought combi lightweight for my #1 too. It's really easier to manage & now my #2 coming soon on sep. Still can use.. My #1 start to use when she was 1 mths plus till she's 2 years old. Actually she still can sit on it till 4 but she don't want.. :-(

@Baobei2014

I bought my combi stroller on 2011. Cost ard $300 if I'm not wrong.. Can't rmb exact amt as my hubby paid for it. I guess now pricing ard $300-$400 depends on model. My sis in law is going to deliver soon on Oct too. She's also planning to get combi lightweight. :)

For your reference. These are the strollers that I'd bought :

Combi light weight umbrella stroller (second hand for $10) my #1 - 1yo gal used for 2-3years then spoil

Polka pram, reversible handle, heavy n bulky (second hand for $50) my #2 gal used since birth till 5mo

SeeBaby light weight umbrella stroller (brand new from JB, rm180) my #2 gal uses since 5mo till now 21mo still using, still serving her well, been to bangkok so should be quite comfy otherwise she can't sleep in it when i shop at pratunam market in the hot afternoon.

It really depend on your budget and requirements for the stroller.

For me I'm those type won't spend so much on baby item, can use can liao, although Polka brand stroller is heavy but we bought it becos of it's price and tthinking that only use for a few months so still okay as we got car as transport.

If you don't own a car and need to take public transport then you need to consider light weight, 1 hand operate and if the stroller can hold your shopping bag, drinks etc...

So for my #3, she'll be using Polka pram till her neck more stable then will use her jie jie Seebaby. If Jie jie still need a stroller then I'll get her those super light weight Seebaby (Qoo10 selling $39.90) (those ah gong ah ma bring grandchild to market type)

hi ladies, can i ask if anyone can add me into the fb group? my email is [email protected]

Edd was suppose to be suppose to be early nov but decided to c sec in late oct so will be an oct mummy.

thanks in advance

I bought combi stroller for #1... It was light, easy to fold and sturdy. He is coming to 2 and still use it when going to the market with my mil. U can go and try out the various brands and models to see which one suit ur needs :)
After he was born, I decided to buy Manduca baby carrier. It's more convenient when I bring him out alone.
As for breastpad, I absolutely love pigeon's disposable breast pad! Soft and the contour is good, adhesive is strong too.
When latching baby and there's letdown on the other breast, sometimes I just press on the nipple to 'stop' it. Or u can collect the let down milk using breast shells :)

I bought combi stroller for #1... It was light, easy to fold and sturdy. He is coming to 2 and still use it when going to the market with my mil. U can go and try out the various brands and models to see which one suit ur needs :)
After he was born, I decided to buy Manduca baby carrier. It's more convenient when I bring him out alone.
As for breastpad, I absolutely love pigeon's disposable breast pad! Soft and the contour is good, adhesive is strong too.
When latching baby and there's letdown on the other breast, sometimes I just press on the nipple to 'stop' it. Or u can collect the let down milk using breast shells :)

Joanne, not possible to get your mom / hubby to cook confinement meals for you? i think it is impt that we can get ample rest & good food during the period. of cos you & your hubby can take turns to take care of the bb.

@mama_joanne , agree with leocub, rest is important during this period, able to get your family or neighbour to cook for you? As I'd read about confinement tingkat review, it don't come cheap and most importantly some not even confinement dish or not nice at all. See if your relative or neighbour can help out a few hours in the day with your 2yo, I'm sure toddler will be super clingy when new born arrives.

Or where do you stay? I'm at Sengkang, maybe i can get my mom to cook for you and get your hubby to pick up before he left for work then you just need to heat up for lunch.

@mama_joanne , agree with leocub, rest is important during this period, able to get your family or neighbour to cook for you? As I'd read about confinement tingkat review, it don't come cheap and most importantly some not even confinement dish or not nice at all. See if your relative or neighbour can help out a few hours in the day with your 2yo, I'm sure toddler will be super clingy when new born arrives.

Or where do you stay? I'm at Sengkang, maybe i can get my mom to cook for you and get your hubby to pick up before he left for work then you just need to heat up for lunch.
Thanks for the help offered. Deeply appreciated and touched!! mum say she will try help me cook and bring it over. But I be taking care of baby myself. Hubby finding job so dont wish to waste money on confinement :)) ya I still thought of trying natural instead of c sec if situation allow. U all decide if natural or c sec? Yest my gynae ask me to book the hosp. I choose mt alvenia :)

@mama_joanne

Glad to hear that at least your mum able to help u cooks. During confinement, still try to get more rest & ask hubby helps to do some housework.

My #1 is normal delivery so this time round also will go for normal delivery at Mt. A too. My gynae said will help me book only on 30 weeks. Next week Friday is my routine check up, so excited to see my LO after a month.

@mama_joanne , great! At least your mom can settle your meal, think she'll more or less help out with the kids when she comes over so you can at least take a good nap with your baby in the afternoon. Hire a part time helper with the rest of the housechores is a good idea.

Your #2 is c-sec or natural? If is c-sec, I feel that you shld c-sec to avoid any complication.

I had c-sec in 2012 now going into 28weeks, i can always feel pulling muscle pain at the cesarean area which Dr. said it's normal as just c-sec not too long ago.

Oh ya, I need to inform my Dr. that I'm changing hospital from TMC to Mt.A during my next week appt. Still can't decide whether Ligation or Vasectomy (scared hubby back out in the end...lol... can't really trust him on this... although he did confirm with me)

Really hate the urgent feeling, just step out of bathroom after bathe, then have to go in to pee again. But only urine abit... sigh
Feel that I'm getting heavier and heavier. Think I'd gain 10kg already. My kneecap and foot is painful sometimes.

Hi mummies. My 2nd one is due mid to end oct.

Anyone looking for confinement lady? I have a contact for one. Very nice lady. PM me if you want.