(2014/08) August 2014

I had bad experience with CL during my confinement last time. This time will hire a maid and order confinement tingkat. But have to pray hard that we can get a good maid.
Hihi i will be getting a maid too n will choosing in coming jun. 1 of my friend adviced me to choose maid who is above 25, divorce and have a toddler. She said maid w this condition will be more mature n serious in their work... she chose her maid base on this n her maid worked for her for 8 yrs.

haha, ok. will see got such maid in the list or not. you not hiring confinement lady also?

Hi Waiwish thanks for your encouragement :). Gynae said it could be due to placenta but he can't tell from U/S. I also don't know why sigh. He said so long not soaking up 1 pad it's ok.

I do know I tend to get it if I overstretch myself physically such as going to work or having very packed schedules. Am trying to put legs up more often also. Getting me very jittery to see fresh blood bleeding but guess this is my own pregnancy challenge.

I had that too during my week12. Was also shocked when I saw fresh red blood and rushed to doc at mid of night. Doc said that there is some blood clot at the placenta and gave me Utrogestan and was told to bed rest for the week. (Minimize walking and carry heavy stuff)..
So long no pain involved should be ok.

Thanks babykangarOo! Out of curiousity, how did your gynae see the blood clot at the placenta? My gynae said cannot see much of the placenta through U/S...:p

Mine was able to see a dark black line through u/s and he did a virginal scan and he pointed that out and said that was the blood. Fortunately, the black line disappear 2weeks later.
Doc was quite puzzled of what happened too. Cos I don't remember myself doing any strenuous job that day.

I had that too during my week12. Was also shocked when I saw fresh red blood and rushed to doc at mid of night. Doc said that there is some blood clot at the placenta and gave me Utrogestan and was told to bed rest for the week. (Minimize walking and carry heavy stuff)..
So long no pain involved should be ok.
Hihi i had some spotting too for 1st 3mth also rush down to gyna. n found out it was due to intake some chinese herb like ginseng n believe tat my body cant take it n also walked too much...

Thanks babykangarOo and joyfulmummy for your sharing - I think I will just take it easy though getting spotting again at 17 weeks makes me super paranoid now if I don't feel baby moving much. I have to be less gan jiong and relax more. Am trying not to walk around too much as well in the meantime for this week.

Hihi @Seaturtle... yah mi tooo as i m realli kan chong spider... always rushed down to see my gyna.. i see her like every 2 weeks.. i m still trying to learn to be calm n relax...i think it is not easy.... so i always see baby pic or cute baby fb to relax myself

Xlxin, I lose weight on my 1st trimester cos of nausea and only could start eating well when I am in my 16 weeks. Hehe.. My cousin who did not have nausea at all (Lucky her) also gain 5kg till now. We r both in our 20 weeks now. So don't feel bad abt weight gains. As long bb healthy. . A few more kg is absolutely fine.

Coming to 18 weeks tmr, I am still not feeling baby's movement. Help!!!

I'm paranoid, i need to be assured and in between gynae visits, I am not sure how I get to know the little one is kicking strong?
Anyone yet to feel baby movement at this stage?

I'm paranoid, i need to be assured and in between gynae visits, I am not sure how I get to know the little one is kicking strong?
I did not feel it till about 19-20 week. Don't worry. Rest in The Lord. Many of my friends can't feel till much later in the trimester.

Waiwish, I today 20 weeks.. so far only ticking on and off.. Real kicks.. I haven't felt yet. I am also getting paranoid but again.. there is nothing I can do but to wait for the next appointment. Hehe.. next Friday I am going for my detailed scan.. can't wait...

@waiwish if check up is ok don't think too much k. Baby is moving but maybe you don't recognize it yet. It can feel very much like air bubbles or too much gas.

I put on 5-6 kg already by 17th week and gynae said it's on track so I think just to have to control not to increase too much :p

I think the ideal weight gain for whole pregnancy shld be 12-14kg.

very hard to control coz keep feeling hungry, & nauseous if don't eat. sigh.

Ya.. I got really freaked out by my first trimester cos I cannot eat at all.. once I can eat.. I kind of like cherish and eat more! Lolz..

I'm coming 17 weeks. Put on 6-7kg.
I was advised to target weight gain at around 2kg per month during my last gynae appointment. My next appointment is on Mon.
I have cut down on my carbs (before pregnancy I was on a very low/no carb diet to maintain my weight since my wedding in 2012. But started to take full carb meals when I conceived) and started taking walks (2-3km, 2-3 times a week), leg toning exercises.
But still................................................................... weight spurt the past 2 weeks... >2kg gain in the past month.

Just went for my gynae visit, little life was kicking and moving, very active during the scan but i feel not a thing! So at least I feel assured now, that not feeling anything yet doesnt mean the baby isnt wrecking havoc in me!! :)

Gynae says some ppl are just less sensitive and some may take up to 20 or even 23 weeks to feel movement. So for those who have yet to feel much, take comfort in this :)

My weight is still relatively stagnant and gynae says i should aim to put on 2kg every month from 16 weeks onwards. So right after the visit, I got myself a large slice of pizza from pezzo and a box of chee cheong fun and yam cake. Im crazy stuffed now and really, this isnt the way to eat. I was just way too paranoid when I didnt see weight gain.

Maybe it will start to shoot up soon.

I m big size liao.. I hope the most I gain is 10 max! Very scare I cannot lose ah..

Dun worry, I had healthy slimming experience which I can share with you. I lost 5 kg in 8 wks before, thus I'm not too worried abt losing weight after labour. But still we shouldn't be too heavy for smooth labour.

Thanks SQ_babyU

Have u all booked ur massage lady for post natal? I just booked mine yesterday through whatsapp. Lol.. my cousin recommended her becos she will bring her own massage table.

I also have a blood clot on my placenta and resulted in spotting during my first trim. The gynea couldnt see it when she scan but it was found out during the oscar scan & genetic. Currently i have to see he every 2 weeks to monitor the situation. Just to ensure that baby is growing well & the blood clot doesnt become bigger.

My weight is still relatively stagnant and gynae says i should aim to put on 2kg every month from 16 weeks onwards. So right after the visit, I got myself a large slice of pizza from pezzo and a box of chee cheong fun and yam cake. Im crazy stuffed now and really, this isnt the way to eat. I was just way too paranoid when I didnt see weight gain.

Maybe it will start to shoot up soon.

try maternal milk. can really help put on weight. good for baby too.

@kopibeanie

i tried drinking maternal milk before bedtime, once every 3 or 4 days but I realised I get a bit heaty the next morning. And I have 3 uclers now, one the side of my tongue towards the end of the tongue and two at the base of the mouth. It's scary! I cant speak proper with all the uclers in there!

tempted to drink barley but I'm afraid it's too cooling. Anyone has remedies?

@kopibeanie

i tried drinking maternal milk before bedtime, once every 3 or 4 days but I realised I get a bit heaty the next morning. And I have 3 uclers now, one the side of my tongue towards the end of the tongue and two at the base of the mouth. It's scary! I cant speak proper with all the uclers in there!

Can't drink barley?? Omg. Weather so hot that I drank barley today.
Sometimes I even drank watermelon juice. Oh nooo

@kopibeanie

I was popping ulcers like nothing previously too. May be due to heaty or juz pregnancy hormones going haywire. gurgling salt water or mouth wash twice a day solved my ulcer problem. btw, I drink barley & fruit juice too. once in awhile shld be ok.

@kopibeanie

I had the same issue with maternal milk.. The one time I drank it, the next morning I get sore throat...
Stay far far away from it since then..

Can drink barley, it's more of a neutral to cooling, so it's not too cooling.. Still don't overdose on them..
Everything in moderation. =)

I had the same issue with maternal milk.. The one time I drank it, the next morning I get sore throat...
Stay far far away from it since then..

Can drink barley, it's more of a neutral to cooling, so it's not too cooling.. Still don't overdose on them..
Everything in moderation. =)
Think my TCM doc says there are two kind of barley. American barley which is used commonly at kopitiam is very cooling. So she says try not to drink. But can buy the china barley and brew ourselves. It is milder and more neutral.

Hi mummies... Im a first time mummy... edd will be August too! Will be turning 20 weeks this sunday but yet to feel any kick or movement from baby... how does it feel like?

@joyfulmummy and @happimummy thanks for sharing, I hope my spotting goes away soon. I think 2nd trim spotting freaks me out even more. My gynae still seeing me at 3 weeks' interval so I just wait and see.

I drink Frisomum actually and find it ok. I tried many brands' samples but find Frisomum gave me the least bloating so I sticking with it, even though I prefer Anmum's taste.

@waiwish - I chrysanthemum tea diluted with water. My fren who is 8 months preggy told me her TCM said chrysanthemum tea in moderation is ok so I have been drinking it on and off to cool my body down. I'm scared of falling sick and taking antibiotics, which was what happened at 7 weeks when I was down with a very bad cough.

Thanks for all the sharing. Shall brew some barley tmr, hopefully that helps with my ulcers. Hopefully what I've got in the kitchen is china barley.

Anyone started on birds nest? I'm still thinking if it really is any good, coz it's so ex.

Hi all, just to share. I asked my sinseh before abt taking barley. He said barley is not to be taken during preg based on Chinese medical records. If really need sth to cool, take Luo Han Guo or chrysanthemums, also nt excessive ok.

My parente and grandma also strictly tells me not to take barley due to too cooling for the body.. I never take barley at all till now

Hi all i also heard the same thing not to drink barley.. it said it is no good as it will contract the womb

I also heard the same thing. Too much barley will contract the womb then lead to premature birth. But I think this is a sweeping statement. Different people have different body type. Take everything in moderation. If you drink barley in large qty, then better monitor for side effects/contractions after that. If after drinking barley you experience stomachache then obviously you are not suitable to drink barley and you should just stop drinking throughout your pregnancy.

I think what u all mean is "too much" barley. What is "too much" 1 cup in 2 or 3 days doesn't sound like too much to me. Everything in moderation is ok.

I also heard the same thing. Too much barley will contract the womb then lead to premature birth. But I think this is a sweeping statement. Different people have different body type. Take everything in moderation. If you drink barley in large qty, then better monitor for side effects/contractions after that. If after drinking barley you experience stomachache then obviously you are not suitable to drink barley and you should just stop drinking throughout your pregnancy.
I agree. Everyone has different reactions to the foods they eat or drink

Hi ladies, just checking have you signed up or are attending pre-natal classes? If so can share where you are gg, and where to register?

My gynae is at Gleneagles so likely delivering there but not sure if they have prenatal classes. I heard Thomson has quite good ones.

Hi ladies, just checking have you signed up or are attending pre-natal classes? If so can share where you are gg, and where to register?

My gynae is at Gleneagles so likely delivering there but not sure if they have prenatal classes. I heard Thomson has quite good ones.

My pre-natal class starts next Fri, weekly at Mt. A. , total of 6 classes.
Also registered for their maternity tour.

My gyne from Thomson but gng to delivery at Mt. A after considering some feedbacks from ppl ard me.