(2014/05) May 2014

Yes I bought pisa but now very little so thought no point pumping cos at most stained the funnel n valve then nothing left Liao! :/ fr when do u start using pump?

Cant ask her reduce strength?
Mayb mine nt so pain cos 1st session n cos she say haven heal.
She use ginger then herbs for the jamu massagr binding

Haha even my masage lady finds sm of spore confinement rules nt practical tis weather. N the part of no touch tap water quite impossible
Yes she reduced in the end. But the fat burning oil cannot reduce it's strength so she wiped off in the end cos I busy tahan!

Yes I bought pisa but now very little so thought no point pumping cos at most stained the funnel n valve then nothing left Liao! :/ fr when do u start using pump?
I suggest that you start sooner rather than later.. because the pump's suction is mimic to baby's latching and will be able to help you build up your supply.

Else if you total latch, supply build slower (and of course to the demand of your baby's..)

Mummies... to those who was given Hospitalisation Leave by your gynae, can I ask if you've given birth during the period of your HL, is your HL still valid?

I'm asking because I'm applying for my maternity leave now.. and wanted to get a few days of HL from my gynae before I give birth. Say gynae gives me 1 week HL, then i continue to apply 10 weeks of ML thereafter, but during my HL I gave birth.. does my ML then start on the day I give birth (thus cancelling the remainder of HL I was given?)

Mummies... to those who was given Hospitalisation Leave by your gynae, can I ask if you've given birth during the period of your HL, is your HL still valid?

I'm asking because I'm applying for my maternity leave now.. and wanted to get a few days of HL from my gynae before I give birth. Say gynae gives me 1 week HL, then i continue to apply 10 weeks of ML thereafter, but during my HL I gave birth.. does my ML then start on the day I give birth (thus cancelling the remainder of HL I was given?)
Mayb I can update u once cpf ppl reply me. Cos i also confused.
Bcos last day of my hl is the day my baby born.

Haha bt i start feel itchy liao,the binding

The 1st night i wore overnight till the next massage session...then 2nd day onwards super itchy from the Jamu, I woke up at 4am to shower it off!

I think ML starts once we gave birth...

erm, can quietly dun tell company??? haha., btw when is ur edd??

I suggest that you start sooner rather than later.. because the pump's suction is mimic to baby's latching and will be able to help you build up your supply.

Can I ask how do people use pumps to build ss? Coz with #1, I've always latched most of the time. So I'm not too sure how to make use of pump to build supply.

erm, can quietly dun tell company??? haha., btw when is ur edd??
hahaha difficult leh, since to qualify for maternity leave benefits we will have to submit the bb's birth cert?

my EDD is on the 27th, however I should be inducing on the 16th unless bb decided she comes earlier than that. 16th is already next Friday, and since next week is a short work week, I don't want to take from Monday. Was thinking of asking for HL for 15th and 16th.. then all the way 11 weeks straight of ML until first week of Aug then return to work.

Can I ask how do people use pumps to build ss? Coz with #1, I've always latched most of the time. So I'm not too sure how to make use of pump to build supply.

Scenario #1
Your baby latches well, and empties both sides of your breasts effectively.

You may pump right after baby has had his/her feed, the yield might not be alot but over time you will get more and more.

Scenario #2
Your baby latches well, but only takes one side of your breast.

After baby has had his/her feed, you can pump from the other side that he/she did not latch.

For both scenarios above, careful not to pump too long or you will risk oversupply (which is also difficult, and have to be addressed separately.. :p)

Scenario #1
Your baby latches well, and empties both sides of your breasts effectively.

You may pump right after baby has had his/her feed, the yield might not be alot but over time you will get more and more.

Scenario #2
Your baby latches well, but only takes one side of your breast.

After baby has had his/her feed, you can pump from the other side that he/she did not latch.

For both scenarios above, careful not to pump too long or you will risk oversupply (which is also difficult, and have to be addressed separately.. :p)
I see, I've been pumping after latching to empty breasts. 20 mins on each side but I don't seem to see improvement in supply leh. And baby still drinks like every 2 Hrly.

baby's intake also more as he/she grows mah :)

my case I got oversupply during the time when my #1 went for phototheraphy in hospital. I latch her every 3-hour and after that pump both sides despite her only takes one side. I was desperate for more milk back then so just pump and pump and pump. By the end of my confinement I was crying from oversupply cos my #1 would unlatch everytime I have letdown.. apparently the milk flow was too much and too fast for her to swallow so she ended up getting milk facial every 3-hourly

baby's intake also more as he/she grows mah :)

my case I got oversupply during the time when my #1 went for phototheraphy in hospital. I latch her every 3-hour and after that pump both sides despite her only takes one side. I was desperate for more milk back then so just pump and pump and pump. By the end of my confinement I was crying from oversupply cos my #1 would unlatch everytime I have letdown.. apparently the milk flow was too much and too fast for her to swallow so she ended up getting milk facial every 3-hourly
Envious leh. My yield after latching both sides probably between 40 to 60. After giving to him the expressed milk, he can only last 2 hrs. Don't know if he's having enough also sometimes.

Newborn stage is difficult to gauge their intake, what more with their constant growth spurts they might just want to drink more frequent sometimes. As long as he is gaining weight he is fine.

They say hot drinks helps with milk flow, and some nursing tea also will boost supply. All these worth trying for mummies wanting to increase supply :)

My yield is less than yours! Latch one side already then pump is only around 30-40ml....
As she was having jaundice she kept falling asleep at the breast and so difficult to wake her up.

They say hot drinks helps with milk flow, and some nursing tea also will boost supply. All these worth trying for mummies wanting to increase supply :)
I am taking mother's milk tea from traditional medicinals and also taking hot drinks but don't seem to help leh. Also taking fenugreek tablets...

Tomorrow after baby discharge going to bring her to see lactation consultant to find out why she keep fussing at the breast and whether she is latching on correctly cos she keep doing the latch and unlatched thingy and gets herself so frustrated.

That's very gd yield! I after latch both sides, pump or hand express both sides total <20 ml. But alrdy an improvement fr the initial 5ml or less. So no complaint. Now I try to save every drop e.g. Woken by baby in middle of nite then will drip a bit, quickly grab storage bottles to catch. Can catch 5 ml! ;)

Stormie I start using the pump as soon as I felt engorgement. Like clumsybabe my let down quite fast. So I have cut down to pump twice a day from both breast. For my case it's baby only suck 1 side and I will pump the other side.

Tomorrow after baby discharge going to bring her to see lactation consultant to find out why she keep fussing at the breast and whether she is latching on correctly cos she keep doing the latch and unlatched thingy and gets herself so frustrated.

My baby went through the same thing for a while. Could it be gas? Try burping or letting her fart before Relatching? Sometimes could be flow too slow. Calm her down first before Relatching.

That's very gd yield! I after latch both sides, pump or hand express both sides total <20 ml. But alrdy an improvement fr the initial 5ml or less. So no complaint. Now I try to save every drop e.g. Woken by baby in middle of nite then will drip a bit, quickly grab storage bottles to catch. Can catch 5 ml! ;)

How old is baby now? I got the medela milk collection shells do when I express and the other side leaks, can catch. Sometimes as much as 20ml. Imagine if I let it leak, wasted right?

Hang in there! You just delivered barely a week ago, you managed to pump out milk already quite good le

Thanks... but cos of the jaundice scare now I very scared she not getting enough milk cos doc said she was also dehydrated...
Yes I felt the same way cos #1 got bad jaundice n doc said likely #2 will get . So force myself to express after returning home!

Thanks... but cos of the jaundice scare now I very scared she not getting enough milk cos doc said she was also dehydrated...

I'm sure the pd and nurses would advise you if baby Sophie is dehydrated and not getting enough.. Rest assured! In any case she's coming home tomorrow le, so just latch and latch!!

Yeah the PD said she was dehydrated.

Going to latch and latch! Provided she wants to! Sigh!

Hahaha... any mommies here latching and also giving bottles without nipple confusion?

Yeah the PD said she was dehydrated.

Going to latch and latch! Provided she wants to! Sigh!

Hahaha... any mommies here latching and also giving bottles without nipple confusion?
I latch n during massage, hubby used syringe to feed drop by drop. We were advised by Nuh to give bottle/teat only after 1 mth.

Wow which bottle and teat r u using?

I use pigeon wide neck. With #1, I insisted on no bottles for first month coz worried of nipple confusion. End up I got very tired and often find myself very frustrated coz lack of sleep due to her keep wanting to latch.

She's a lazy latcher too. Slept after ever 10 mins. With this one, cl assured me that it would be fine.

Plus during phototherapy in hospital, he was already given bottle I think. So I just did it at home. Latch and then expressed and cl will bottle feed.

I needed him to gain weight as he was borderline premie and he was often sleepy during latch due to jaundice.

I use pigeon wide neck. With #1, I insisted on no bottles for first month coz worried of nipple confusion. End up I got very tired and often find myself very frustrated coz lack of sleep due to her keep wanting to latch.

She's a lazy latcher too. Slept after ever 10 mins. With this one, cl assured me that it would be fine.

Plus during phototherapy in hospital, he was already given bottle I think. So I just did it at home. Latch and then expressed and cl will bottle feed.

I needed him to gain weight as he was borderline premie and he was often sleepy during latch due to jaundice.
Wow so he still latch even after given bottle? So lucky!!!

What happened?

If you are not comfortable with the way ur CL cleans baby's belly button just voice out to her the way u want it to be cleaned as how doc advise.
Alrdy told her. Now become mus monitor her wen cleaning. Tink her theory is lan liao then easy drop.jus nw i kp tel her mus kp dry

Wow so he still latch even after given bottle? So lucky!!!

Yes, thank goodness. In fact after one month, I gave my #1 the bottle too and she took it fine. Just have to be patient and keep trying to latch.

My cl says even those who are exclusive pumping, when their babes are really hungry and no choice, will still latch. Coz I was wondering how those who exclusive pump feed their babies when they bring then out. Bring ebm out too?

Very siong. I'd rather just direct latch. Plus I have no help, no time to pump also after cl leaves.

Yes, thank goodness. In fact after one month, I gave my #1 the bottle too and she took it fine. Just have to be patient and keep trying to latch.

My cl says even those who are exclusive pumping, when their babes are really hungry and no choice, will still latch. Coz I was wondering how those who exclusive pump feed their babies when they bring then out. Bring ebm out too?

Very siong. I'd rather just direct latch. Plus I have no help, no time to pump also after cl leaves.
Yah lor... I was fully pumping for my #1 too. She just refused to latch. It was really damn siong. Everytime want to go out was a logistic nightmare. Bring ebm, bring warmer, bring pump, bring freezer bag, aiyoh it was crazy.

So for #2 I really hope I can be successful in latching her before I intro bottle. Now really crossing my fingers that she was not bottle fed during phototherapy. And even if so, no nipple confusion. Really hope the lactation consultants can help tomorrow.

Yes must keep dry. Is she still using alcohol swabs? If so don't worry, it evaporates very fast so won't be wet... follow up with the cord powder.
Ya she use 2pcs at a time.end up my hubby go buy anth box. Its scare she go squeez the alcohol in so hav to monitor.
Goin to drop soon hope quick drop then shld b ok le .put powder for 5days according to pd

Yah lor... I was fully pumping for my #1 too. She just refused to latch. It was really damn siong. Everytime want to go out was a logistic nightmare. Bring ebm, bring warmer, bring pump, bring freezer bag, aiyoh it was crazy.

So for #2 I really hope I can be successful in latching her before I intro bottle. Now really crossing my fingers that she was not bottle fed during phototherapy. And even if so, no nipple confusion. Really hope the lactation consultants can help tomorrow.
I guess it's a lot of trying and trying and the method I typed out for you from the book. Maybe they fed your Lo through syringe during phototherapy? Don't worry, tomorrow hear what the LCs say.

They will make house call?

Sigh, my left boob always 不争气。cannot seem to produce beyond 40ml no matter how long. #1 that time already like that. Don't know how to increase ss with it.