(2014/05) May 2014

Anyine can advise me on breast pump parts? Doc giv me go ahead for breastfeedg though i hav health problems.

I dun tink i wil bf long.mayb 3mths? Cos aft back wrk baby wkdays b at mils le.so i load pump frm fren.she wil loan me her medela twin pump- i nd advise as wat replacement parts do i nd to buy?

I went moms n babes at wheellock n tell them the model of my pump... n they will advise which accessories to buy. spent abt 200 for all the parts

Rainbowstars, normal sterilizer can liao. Best to get warmer. Because if u use hot water, the bm will get separated. Warmer can control the water temp.
Thks for the advise.

Bt wen u al go outside hw u warm?
Hpfuly i really can perservere to bf tis time.also wan to experience since im closing factory aft tis

Usually I will pre thaw the frozen BM in advance, then let the pack sit in the warm water to warm it up. Tedious process of replacing the warm water continuously to bring to correct temp.

BF is really not easy i really peifu those who BF, and BF more than half yr type

• Practice pumping when you are rested, relaxed and your breasts feel full. Once a day try to breastfeed your baby only on one side and pump the other breast. Or pump for a few minutes if your baby skips a feeding or breastfeeds for only a short while. Read the Breastmilk Storage chart to learn how to store breastmilk. Be sure to use the right size breastshield so that your nipple fits comfortably. Medela makes different sizes of PersonaFit™ breastshields to fit all nipple sizes, from small to extra large.

anyone can explain to me the bold sentence?
does it means lik eg. u bf 8 times a day, one of the session u jus feed 1 side? the other 7 times, feed with both?

Err... usually to boast the amt for the initial mths. I will pump after latch on. Something like tat. They just advising u to latch on one side and pump the other side during one of the feeds.

I am deciding between buying a Medela US set without warranty or buying from here with warranty. Big price difference leh. Any thoughts ladies?

Hmm if you feel comfortable with having a US set, don't think going to have much problem. My Avent double pump is US set, I bought direct from Amazon. still working fine last I checked :)

Are there any upcoming baby fairs? I am back in Singapore already. :)

If I'm not wrong there's going to be one either end of this month or early next month. Can check Expo's website

Hmm if you feel comfortable with having a US set, don't think going to have much problem. My Avent double pump is US set, I bought direct from Amazon. still working fine last I checked :)

Me in dilemma too ESP since I had past problems with pumps. Think likely will trade in old one at Toh guan service centre to get some discounts.

There's this misconception about pumps losing suction over time.. I think it isn't true unless some parts are worn out and you didn't replace it. The motor shouldn't lose suction, it either works or it dies.

I was using an Ameda, it served me well for the first 5-6 months until I felt it no longer gives me the yield I used to get. Then after a lot of reading I realised that as the baby grows, her suction grows stronger too. What happened in my case was my girl's latch became stronger than the pump hence my breasts are used to the latch suction more.

I have another friend who swears by her Ameda, it didn't give her any complains at all cos she was pumping exclusively as her girl wouldn't latch. She and I both breastfed for more than 3 years.

If I'm not wrong there's going to be one either end of this month or early next month. Can check Expo's website

Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Will think about it.

So the first mth for breastfeedg cannot use bottles rite? Wat if we no milk thy not full how?
Read dun intro bottle or giv FM
I think have to balance out between giving milk in bottle and direct latch. My #1 reject bottle totally cos I total latched on demand during first 3 months with no bottles at all. Thinking back I'd do it differently now; maybe at least once a day bottle feed ebm.

oic. cos i read arnd like mostly say 1st mth dun bottle feed

I did think about it but prefer to buy from someone I know.
my fren lending me too. she is process of stopping BF.. so i jus nd to go buy parts.

last time i spend $ go buy pump...then aft tt giv up aft 4 days.. end up had to find buyer to sell my pump .so mafan n waste $

Dear mommies. . Jus checking ur bb already in the right position? Into my 32 weeks but bb still not in position :( kinda worried. .