(2014/01) January 2014

Hi lynHope!! ohhh yeah!! we may have chance to meet in TMC :D maybe we are with the same gynae too!! haha!

Hi musicgenie, during confinement also we can't eat cookie leh. Even like buying normal food like fish or vege may hv prob also, gotta stock up early.

fanntasy, Dr Adelina was my standby gynae when my gynae went holiday the last time! very sweet and pretty gynae!! i will be delivering in TMC too!

judging from my deliveries' experiences, i may deliver in either xmas or new year's time as i delivered my kids when 37-38 weeks and are all normal delivery. So either this bb is a xmas bb or maybe like his jie jie, a new year bb, hahaha!

cheer_bb : I was thinking to start searching now. Is it too early? Cos CNY period will be "hot" period leh.

Bblove : Oh yes, Dr Adelina is a nice lady..soft spoken i feel very comfortable talking to her. good luck bblove!! either xmas bb or new yr bb, so long as bb is healthy more impt =)

yes fanntasy, as long bb is healthy, i don really bother when bb want to come out which day he/she like. haha, I like her very much, was joking with my gynae that if one day she decided to retire, I will get Dr Adelina as my next gynae, lol!

GBOB, yoghurt contains proteins and calcium, so its a recommended food during pregnancy, don't worry. but i understand they tend to recommend Greek yoghurt as contains more protein and probably less sugars than the normal fruit yoghurts from supermarkets. but if you eat those normal yoghurts i'm sure they are fine too. just don't eat too much cos still got quite a bit of sugars
moderation is key.

fanntasy: ya i was thinking of starting to search now too, and get some recommendations from my friends who have delivered in the past half year or so. cos i'm worried that period will be 'hot' period and some CL may not be willing to work over CNY period.

Cheer, some of the mummies here booked already.. Earlier on some of us discussing the exorbitant prices around CNY.

I think can consider booking after first TM.. If book too late, might have difficulty finding someone willing to do cny. I booked about a month ago and even then had to call three before finding a CL willing to do cny.

Hi Bblove and fann,
I think a few of us have confirmed our confinement lady. I remember we had a short discussion on the rates of confinement lady during CNY in the earlier posts.

I had confirmed mine, 3.4K
Was told its higher coz CNY.

Better book early as CNY, not many confinement lady available as CNY is impt to chinese.

thanks Joynpeace! i started 2nd TM last week (14wk) so shld be ok to start already. I din noe need to do so early! omg... and i will face difficulty cos they mostly speak only chinese and my chinese is super half-past-six! :S

Bblove : Which gynae are you seeing now? haha but Dr Adeline clinic always very packed. always full!

Joynpeace : Thanks! I think i missed out the previous post. Will start to look for it now.

Crystalbelle : Noted, thanks for the info

What is the normal rate for CL? I mean during normal day, non CNY. About 3K also right?

Fanntasy, I think one of the mummies here said her EDD is early jan, so CL rate was $2k plus cos not crossing cny, so I guess that's the market rate for non CNY. I got mine for $3400 cos crossing cny, you can check the Facebook pag, easier to find the discussion,
I got recommendations from friends.. Cos not sure how reliable the SMH recommendations are..

fanntasy: can try asking any friends/colleagues who have delivered? that's what i did. there's also a few forum threads on CL recommendations. but some ppl seem to only have 1 or 2 posts and strongly recommend their CL kind, i take with a pinch of salt. prefer to get recommendation from ppl around me

crystallbelle, i am not having any confinement lady, be ordering the confinement food from TMC as my mum and mil will be dropping by my place. I had already booked my massage lady too.

<font color="aa00aa">fantasy, norm rate for CL not during cny is oni ard 2k or 2k-ish..I did mine 2 yrs ago oni $1.8! I booked mine for $3.4 this x lo..no choice sure kena cny..if u dun haf recommendations for CL, can try agencies..else ask ard ur frens n family c anyone who has given birth recently got any gd recommendations..tink u ask us here we'd haf booked them for ourselves liao..hee.</font>

Joynpeace : Ok noted. Thanks so much for the info..

cheer_bb : Ok.. i will try searching for it now...

Actually I am quite worried of engaging inexperience CL... is it alright if I were to ask how many years experience does she has? Is it offensive to ask this way?

Thanks all for the fruitful advices

Hi rach, ok ok noted!! wanna start my engine to search liao.. thanks!!

Haha bblove, I think TMC gynae all like very packed one hor... but sg government still complaining short of baby?? aiyo.

<font color="aa00aa">fanntasy, I wld tink it's perfectly fine to ask bout their yrs of experience..u r paying them for a service rendered ma..rite?</font>

fanntasy, think of it as you are interviewing them for a job ba. maybe that makes it a bit easier. as an employer we should definitely find out more abt the person we are thinking of hiring, years of exp, how they handle babies etc, how traditional they are, what duties you would like them to help with (cook for other family members? etc)

im intending to do that. once i figure how to ask in chinese heheheh :p

hahah cheer_bb, yeah u got the point.. interviewing them for a job.. okie can. i taken note liao..

normally we meet up with the CL before "aceepting" them right?

fantasy,
yes u can meet up the CL before confirm... I start sourcing once I had EDD from gyne.. hahaha... coz cny period mah...

joynpeace,
did your CL request to rest for few days during cny?? mine was 3.2k but she requested to be away for 5 days

lynHope, if your CL request to be away for 5 days, is the 5 days included in the 28 or 30 day confinement period you engage her to do? or will it count as take a break of 5 days, and when she come back she make up the 5 days?

me also TMC! looks like quite a number of us will be popping in TMC ya..

for confinememt, my mummy will do for me.. very lucky me. =)

Currently my EDD is 6 Jan 2013. But according to previous delivery.. always more accurate if base on my LMP. Therefore mine might be a Christmas or Boxing Day baby.

First time booking CL although third time mother as my hubby feel that I am not able to rest well when his mother help me do confinement. He wants me to really rest and build up my health ( people say after delivery, our body is like reborn, if you want to build up our health.. this is the best time)

Just crossing finger that the CL will be good

Luckily for me, my mum will be flying over to look after me for a whole 3 months!!!

Good to know that we will be having lucky snake babies
most importantly though is a smooth pregnancy

Lynhope, my CL said she will stay over cny period., very thankful. The other one I called also wanted to go home for five days over cny.
Went to baby baby fair at expo today., huge crowd! I'm not getting diapers n stuff yet though it looked very cheap.. Got a stroller though cos it was on further discount from the price offered at baby hyperstore at kaki bukit..

Shirlynn
Actually i cant really remember my LMP ....scan EDD will be more accurate rite?
I also heard 1st delivery will be delay too

May I ask what does a CL help out? Cos I'm thinking of asking my MIL to help but not sure if she knows what to do. Yet my in-laws house will not have an extra space to let a CL stay so I also don't think I can hire a CL. Sorry that i asked this cos first time mom so don't really know what to do.

Glasie, I think CL will cook confinement food for u, help u look after baby make sure u have ample rest n also teach how to look after baby

Hello.. Was at bb fair in expo n was told that I need to replace battery for my medela freestyle motor and cost 150 or something. Anyone has any idea on cheaper way in buying them? Thanks!

Hi GM.. I found this website kulily.com that sells the medela pumps much cheaper than most retail.. Anyone bought from them before? Don't know whether too good to be true. Any mummies have recommendation whether freestyle or Pisa better?

<font color="aa00aa">glasie, like wat GBOB said, CL mainly takes care of Bb, feeds n bath, n cooks ur meals..n washes Bb n ur clothes..basically jus take care of mummy n Bb welfare..some who r more chin chye mum mind helping to do wash hub clothes too n do simple cleaning of e hse if she's free..
Joy, I used PISA for my #1, n I found it gd..heard fm some tt freestyle suction not strong enuf..so tink Pisa is still e strongest..n e Pisa is passed to me aft my sis's used 2 rounds for her kids!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Joy, those tt sell a lot cheaper shd b US sets which dun come w local warranty..but shd b ok de..my frens n sis all bought US sets..u c try searching bulk purchases in forum who sells US sets..one of them is agape babies..</font>

Hi joynpeace: am looking to buy only the battery. Seems the most website sells the set.

Am using freestyle n its really light and portable. Also not that noisy as others.

hihi mommies,

so fast start shopping?? i am still feeling nausea, weak and tires easily. no mood to go shop..

joynpeace,

i used both pisa and freestyle before, i prefer freestyle. can pump 1 side when i BF bb and store the other side, also it is smaller and more portable and comes with handsfree kit then the PISA.

PISA pump older model and definitely noisier.

But then, as juju n shir and mei2 remember, i dun react well to pumps... my best pump are my hands.. i was taught to handexpress by mrs wong boh boi when they found out i dun let down well when i pump but i do very well when i latch my baby..

when i need to use a pump, it will be the avent manual pump.. will alternate that with hand express.. wish i can let down milk easily, cos i really like the freestyle..

So far i alrdy secured nrand new car seat &amp; stroller during bundle sale at bb hyperstore, mini washing machine frm forum.
2nd hand stuff frm frens incl pisa breastpump, bumbo &amp; playgym.
Think im super kiasu but jus wanna grab the gd deals first so dat i dun shell out more money ltr on.
Bought a pregnancy pillow at bb fair today, half price!

Juju, what's a mini washing machine? Is it just for washing baby's clothings? N may I know what brand the pregnancy pillow is? Wah u good leh. Manage to buy/get so many things le. I haven even buy stretch mark cream! Hahaha