(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Hi Ladies, thank you all for the encouragement! Still trying to fatten babies up in utero with maternal milk, birdnest, chicken essence etc.

Chevy, the Robinsons sale items for babies I posted on the Facebook Group Page for this thread. Some comments that this sale isn't very good compared to private members' sale eg. Avent stuff only 20% instead of 25% and Lamaze toys only 20% instead of 25%. Maybe only the Cardmembers' price items will be worth it but I didn't buy anything at all except bottle caps from Avent...

Hi Lil, I rem other sisters here like Koirc, Znatasha, Usagi etc posting about how hormonal/emotional the third trimester was for them so don't fret about your outburst / future outbursts. It's not us - it's the hormones running amok! I had a meltdown couple of days back and yelled at my hubby too for going on with his life (surfing net, watching movies/TV etc, meeting his friends) instead of packing the house which has his stuff all over the place. I told him I would throw out every single thing of his if it wasn't cleared by this weekend. Then I burst into tears and said he wasn't ready to be a father and I was doing every thing for the babies - getting the hospital bag ready, packing their things, calling the maid agent repeatedly. He was horrified as that isn't like me - usually I try the honey before vinegar route and we hardly ever quarrel, maybe once a month/two months. so you are hardly alone with the outbursts and all! Just a few more days now so hang in there...when you are on maternity, you would have more time and maybe you can encourage DH to take some time off so you can make him do the heavy lifting around the house as you clear it up to prepare for the arrival of your prince!

Hi GirlGirl, was thinking about you - have you popped yet the past 2 days or will tomorrow be your big day? If so, wishing you all the best!

Hi BBLuck, the final IVF bill from KK can take months to come! I remember I only got mine this year when I completed the IVF in Sept last year...

Hi Min81, do consider carefully about the CL or at least have an agency on standby. My friend's mum volunteered to help her take care of her 4kg baby (natural birth and big so easier to care for) and after 1 week, told my friend to get a confinement lady in asap. Esp if your DH has no experience handling babies before, it can be a real challenge. Same story for my hubby's friend whose wife just popped. The in laws offered their help and in the end, did not know what to do/handle baby or nurse the wife back to health. Esp if you are planning on a subsequent pregnancy, getting enough rest and nursing your body back to health by someone experienced can be quite important.

Hi SmallBunny, think positive and talk to your 2 little boys to tell them to guai guai stay in there as long as they can. Most importantly is for you to get lots of rest and put your feet up whenever possible - more rest, less stress!

Hi Babysmurf, I still haven't gotten to my bottles yet - do you intend to put in ziplock bag and keep after you wash them this round? Or is there a better way you know to prepare the bottles for use when we get back from hospital? Update when you pop k - we might be around the same time and be neighbors. If all things go well, I go in, in the morning the day before Vesak Day!

wow Mofmm, how come your bill took so long to finalise.. ok.. hope they have already improved their efficiencies now.

babysmurf, do i still need to take eggs for protein?? I have cut down my eggs consumption ever since IVF bfp.. abit yucks..

Mofmm: I tested the steriliser then soon bian put the milk bottles inside. But do note that the avent classic bottle will have a unpleasant smell. U try to sock with diluted detergent for the mode first then sterilized. I didn't keep in ziplock bag. Plan to ask dh to sterilise on the day before he come n pick us home. Heehee. Cos after the process is done, don't open the lid can keep for 3hrs. I keep my breast pump in ziplock bag after sterilized.

Bb: my Edd is 1june. Dr tan said anytime can d Liao. Now is up to my girl.

Hi BB Luck, I think it's cos got to match against drugs we took from the Pharmacy and then deduct some bits against Medisave, then other bits against the government grant etc so take some time to generate the bill which was quite thick.

Hi Babysmurf, thanks for sharing. Then I guess I will ask my mum to sterlize for me the bottles too the day I can come home. I don't expect to have breast milk for the first few days, esp with a C section so I guess will wait till later to sterilize my breast pump parts. In the meantime, buy the tin of Formula Milk from KK pharmacy depending on gynae recommendation (scared babies lactose intolerant etc so better not buy first).

Mofmm: I standby 1small tin of simliac. Limited brand for newborn. Available brands I saw only simliac, s26 n 1more brand. Another one is soy based fm. Most of my nephews n nieces drink simliac.

For your info: do the teats have water coming out. Cos when I wash I try to squeeze no water come out. Hmmm

wow babysmurf.. bb girl!! congrats babysmurf..i'm excited for u... haa.. so u have to walk walk to help u for labour? my colleague was told to walk 4hrs/day nearing to her due date. in the end she suffer nearly 12 hrs labour.. tough.. but i admired her..

Mofmm, I feel you girlfriend
I know exactly 100% how you felt during your meltdown. How come all DH seem to surf net, watch tv and go out with friends in the evenings?! I told my DH, that it is probably once or twice in my life that I will be 9 months pregnant and need more help & support, why can't he just stay home and help out more. Who knows, touch wood, my water can break anytime. Sigh...anyway, he got the message and seem to have double his efforts
I'm not leaving to chance and will be giving him a to-do-list this weekend. Ha ha! You too, hope you feel better now after your outburst. Try to relax and enjoy the calm before the adventure begins!

Min81, I see, it's good that your DH will not be working during school holidays. Well, have a pros & cons discussion with your DH regarding CL. The good thing is there are agencies who can arrangement CL for you with minimum notice.

Jasmine, good to hear that your HCG numbers are rising and you're fine. Continue to take care and rest more!

Jasmine,

Good to hear that your hcg level is rising well.. Take care and continue to bedrest!

BB,

There are many foods high in protein, can google on it and have a variety in moderation.. My tcm says to avoid tcm herbs in 1st trimester.. And avoid foods cooked with herbs just in case, eg, bak kut teh, herbal soups..

Mofmm, lil ponyo,

Okie thanks for the advice ladies
Will probably approach PEM if need CL at last min.. Or do you have any other agencies to recommend? Mil will probably only turn up to play with bb, and my mum just had lung surgery last yr, although she's ok now, don't think i wanna trouble her.. And erm, i'm the last bb she ever took care of! Haha.. so she probably doesn't remember much abt taking care of bb too..

Hi Lil, good qn - I think some men are programmed to see only what they want to see, and that doesn't include the mess abt the house or the bin that needs to be emptied! Friday now so enjoy the weekend, getting your baby bathtub and checking off the to-do list (that's a great idea - u really have to break down what must be done item by item b4 the men get it).

Hi Babysmurf, the teats is the 0 months teat is it? So strange how come water can't come out - you try shaking? See if water come out cos if we warm up to feed baby then need to test the temp by shaking out a bit on our arm anyway.
For the vaccination jabs, so best to go 5 in 1 at polyclinic then? Then the balance 1 jab that is not free we go PD to do?
For the FM, we got the $100 voucher from KK pharmacy cos we sign up the fast track program so thinking of using that to get the pharmacy milk once confirm by nurses which type is suitable. The other brand tt got FM is Enfalac.

Mofmm: yup the teat is nos.1. I try squeezing the teat no water.

The jabs u can do all in polyclinic. The 6in1 polyclinic also have just need to pay for it. Either baby bonus acct, cash or u can use medisave.

Hehe...I am still at home... Resting this week lo...

Bb seems to be getting ready .... Bag packed, documents checked.....

Really hope for the best...my Ma asked me to relax ....hahaha....

Hi Babysmurf, then what are you going to do about the teats? Go Philips Avent Svc centre? If 6in1 must pay then might as well do 5in1 since it is FOC after 1June right?

Hi GirlGirl, Tomorrow your baby girl will be in your arms and a new chapter will begin for you and hubby! Update us ok?

MofMM I do remind my boys they're only permitted to come out when I tell them it's time. But hard to get enough rest cos busy at work n my team member/leave cover on mc after minor op for 1 wk n I'm running a few urgent things.

I'm also moving house tomorrow. Just wrapped up some packing n showered. But now at I've hit 27wks really feel my energy level dropping. Been napping in office during lunch time but still exhausted. I guess itchy skin w my PUPP doesn't help cos I have trouble sleeping after waking up in middle of night.

Looking fwd to a short wk next wk n hopefully can unpack w maid's help during the week. Next step is start preparing for my boys cos I've only bought cots n bottles n nothing else. Need to collect stuff from friends n figure out what I need!

Hi Small Bunny, there is a big baby fair at Expo coming up on 30 May and you should b able to get what you need there. I went for the large fair in Feb and bought most of what I needed when I was about week 28 and I think that's 1 of the best things that I did. After week 31, the energy level really does drop exponentially and I can barely crawl out of bed. The weight of carrying twins also puts a strain on the back, ribs and lately knees - breathing and walking becomes a challenge as their increasing size mashes your internal organs and, the privates start to ache madly.

So it's good that you are moving house tomorrow and trying to sort things out while still in the second tri - try not to carry anything more than 5kg if you really have to carry and don't squat. Workwise - delegate if possible. My HR manager herself told me that a job is just a job and should not be more important than our family priorities. You will be on maternity in a matter of time and away for weeks, so you may want to consider taking on lesser than b4 on your plate since you might have to let someone else see it through anyway.

Hang in there and I'm sure your boys are listening to you to stay in their rent free premises as long as you say they can! Have a good weekend!

Lavender: i can understand ur concern y we need a CL . With her ard, ESP for my case, I can't do many things like bathing the baby, carrying the bb . And I can rest better and eat better with the confinement dishes she prepare for me . To me, I need all these in these month bef I could start taking care of bb next month. Bb always wake up at night for feeding too. So CL will do it too. I think it is worth it !

Mofmm, if im nit wrong, by taking 6-in-1, babies will hv 1 less jab to take...cos that jab of hep b will be combined with the 5-in-1. When you see the tears that your baby hv after every jab, you will wish that they are given less jab. We feel the pain for them...
As for feeling the warmth of milk when we heat up ebm, as long the ebm is not cold then baby can consume. Cos heat kills the good bacteria and nutrients in ebm. So room temp will be good.

Babysmurf, my dh said he din notice the smell from the bottles. Haha either he insensitive or there isnt any strong smell.
Water dun realli drip from the teats. But baby still have it when they suck. Which is good cos whhenever i knock over the bottle of milk, i know the milk will not spill out from the teats. You can feel the temp of milk from the bottle itself.

Min81, i din hv a cl. My mum stayed over during confinement. She did the cooking. She and i will look after bb at night but usuali she does the feeding at night while i pump. Dh took 2weeks leave so he did the hsechores n groceries shopping.
I still get to rest in the day etc. All i did was pump n sleep n latch n eat. I guess w/o a cl, im not so reliant on my mum so i learnt hw to take care if the baby from the beginning. So whenever my mum goes hm or even after confinement, i could easily take over the job. But u hv to make sure ur dh is the hands on kind. Cos my dh did everything which leaves me plenty of time to rest. We need eat n rest well during confinement. Cos the tonic u take during confinement also goes into ur bm and build up bb body n health too.

Girl girl,

Wishing you a safe and smooth delivery today! You must be so excited

Reikibaby,

Thanks for sharing your experience on confinement w/o CL
Will most prob be ordering confinement food for convenience so meals are taken care of.. Dh is very hands on so maybe that's why he's not so worried about us not having CL.. Hope all goes well
I suppose will approach agencies if really need CL at last min..

Hi Reikibaby, that is v helpful - thanks for explanation and advice.

Hi Min81, other than Pem, Thomson Medical Centre also provides CLs who have undertaken a course by them.

Reikibaby: thank. Survery done only the avent classic bottles with ring will give out a smell. So far I wash n sock in detergent. Then sterilized again no smell Liao.

Mofmm, been thru it, experienced it ...else i was totally clueless before popped. Hahah

Babysmurf, icic...hee...

Min81, u can go medical hall to chk if they hv confinement herbs package. I took a 30days herb package. So everyday i will cook different soup assigned by the medical hall to drink. Caters to the different needs you need weekly. 1st week mre of purging the old blood in you. Then 2nd week will nourish and bu qi and blood. Then hv soup for hair to prevent hair loss and soup for back and waist. So the 30day soup rather good. I had it daily on top of what my mum cooks for me. Not sure if its the soup that provides the nutrients for bm...my bb is always feeling warm even in aircon rm

Girl Girl, all the best and wish you a smooth delivery today!! You're gonna have your girl in your arms soon!!!

I did my scan this morning. Baby didn't put on that much weight since 2 weeks ago. Only around 280g. Doctor said baby will be approx 3kg when I deliver at week 38. Don't know why doctor still says my baby is bigger than average but when I check the fetal weight chart online, it shows lower than average. Anyway, doesn't matter lah, as long as baby is healthy, this all we need. On a funny note, the scan shows my baby frowning. Looks like a grumpy little fellow. DH said it must be too cramped in my belly! Oh yes, doctor also said baby has hair. How cute!

I've seen dr tan this morning. So happy can see heart beat on the screen. Baby measured at 6w5d. Edd is 6 jan. will be gng for another scan in 2 weeks time!

Lil: hope you can find a helper soon. Wow your scan is so detail. I hardly can see my baby from e scan. So blur.

Reiki baby : when you take e ebm from freezer, do u wait for the milk to thaw before u heat it up? What's procedure like?

Any ideas who shld I distribute e full month baby cake to? Friends and relatives? If I'm inviting to my celebration then do I
Still need to distribute cake??

Alison, out from freezer, normally takes about a day to thaw if left in fridge. Then heat up. But if you thaw under running water also can and heat it up after thawing. But if under running water you will hv to use all and cannot re-fridge again.

Lil: mine at wk 37 already dr estimate 3kg. Don't worry. Now I only scared too big difficult to go natural.

Nidellia n lavender: congrate. Delivery ard the same time. Like the few of us here. Heehee

Hi Lil, wow your scan so detailed - can even see if have hair. I think baby boys tend to frown quite a bit when they are newborn but they still look do cute like Xiaxue's baby boy.

Hi Nidellia, that is fantastic news!

I realize I have about 4 more days left before T day! Trying to sleep more but seem to be plagued by insomnia probably brought on by anxiety. My DH is finally struck by how his life is going to be irrevocably changed and set up the other car seat in his car and also set up 1 stroller. We also packed the packets of diapers, all the toys and the Hospital bag is packed in the hallway. What's left is the bottles and pumps to be washed and sterilized.

Mofmm: gd to hear. Tmr wash the bottles n pumps. What time is ur c sect?

Got feeling my girl girl come out soon. More heavy at my pelvis n tighter at my tummy. Then my 3yrs old nephew told his mum I going to pop. All my other cousins keep telling her see her Tmr (19may). Hahaha

Hallo ivf mommies

I'm new to this thread
Currently 10w2d preggie
Baby was 3cm from crown to rump during the 9w3d scan and looks very active on screen.
Anybody's edd also in dec?
I know min is nov right

I with kkh tps btw anyone there also?

Hi Babysmurf, I wasn't given steroid jabs for the babies. Just told to go blood test day b4 C sec scheduled on 23 May morning - actually scared but no choice babies never turn head down like your little one.
You are week 38 this week right? Just a matter of time hehe - given our yuan fen to meet, might v well end up neighbors leh. Im sure your princess want her own special date so didn't choose to arrive on your wedding anniversary.

Welcome Hanahuiyi! Until last week I was with TPS.

Welcome hanahuiyi. I with TPS too.

Dian tang: girlgirl has not update us here.

Mofmm: yup yup. Maybe after u, told my girl to come out on Vesak day heehee. Getting more n more breathless. As day go by, feeling more wet below. Don't which date she want to pop, have to keep waiting n monitor.

Thanks small bunny, lavender, babysmurf and mofmm!

congrats Hanahuiyi!

Congrats to girl girl for smooth delivery!!

haha babysmurf, you have a specific date for your bb to come out eh...hehee that day is my bday too!.

mofmm, very soon will be your turn too!!

hey babysmurf and mofmm, i've been seeing dr tan at clinic d. does it mean i m automatically TPS patient?

lavender, i dun hv nausea or vomitting. last 2 weeks, just more tired and butt pain at right side. other than that, nothing much. initially cant eat much. now back to normal diet. just need more rest though. dr tan says i should be glad i dun hv much symptoms.

Nidellia: I used to see dr tan in clinic d as private pt. until lately he change me to TPS to match my visit n his slot. Cos TPS he is there only on tue. If u r fine with tue, can ask the clinic to book u to TPS.

Nidellia: is the same at both clinic. Just that clinic D dr tan got more days there. TPS more cosy n less crowded. Heehee

Hi DianTang, GirlGirl in our May mummies group on FB?

Hi Babysmurf, now I know what you mean by the anti nauseau pills don't work anymore - I been vomitting every day on the morning after breakfast (and sometimes in the night). After week 37, really like the body trying to clear out space from our front end and back end (naturally). Also getting very very breathless I can't stand for long and walk a bit panting and dizzy.

Hi Nidellia, if u are a private patient, would encourage you to visit him at TPS if possible as you progress along. It's not so crowded and the seats are sofa seats, more comfortable. Newspaper, TVs and vending machine next to the recept where you can get free tea, hot chocolate, coffee etc. this is useful as you will need to do routine test every visit to pee on a strip. When I did the glucose test with a 3hour break between the drinks, TPS was comfortable for me to wait at -could loll on the couch and toilet v near.

Diantang, Oh ok, was thinking she might be and that's how you know if she had popped.

Gosh, I'm exhausted from just sitting in the hall sorting out the milk bottles, changing teats to all zero months - so far have 8 bottles done, hope its enough for 2 mouths.