(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Whiteclover I m actually also quite confused with it. Tmc said to change side aft 15-20 min. then other sources said to let bb nurse till she is done with one breast, burp n then change side. some said to latch till breast is soft n then burp n change side. all provided bb still wan to drink. so sometimes I mixed all these patterns up. felt that as long bb is growing with enough urine n poo then it's alright.
mostly I will wait for her to stop on one breast n then change side.
I had been reading The Womanly Art of breastfeeding by LA Leche league international.

HI Babysmurf, could just be a growth spurt from your baby now that you are in Week 25. I think it is around these couple of weeks that baby grow very fast. Once in a while, my tummy also super tight like my skin is being stretch till it's about to burst! When is your next scan? Mine is another 2.5 weeks away.

Thanks ladies on your suggestion on baby clothes. I did not end up shopping over the weekend. Ended up playing Candy Crush all weekend at home!! Lol!

Hi Babysmurf, I get that stomach tightening feeling too in the night when lying on back. It last about 1-2mins and happens 4-5 times before stopping. 2 nights back, I can feel a large round bump sticking out at the upper stomach area when tummy tightened - wonder if it is 1 of the twin's head or bum. Let us know what Dr Tan says about this tummy tightening thing k?

For June mummies, I realized yesterday that I better get cracking preparing the serious baby stuff soon (I only bought lamaze toys from OG and more toys from Suntec this weekend). Time is running out and I am getting more easily tired. Happy that so many baby fairs are coming up weekly - this Fri at expo, 28 March Mothercare and 6 march Taka baby fair! Yay for shopping!

Mofmm: okie. Tightness I still can Tehan. If the hitting on the top of my tummy uncomfortable. Cannot sit. Just check myself to Kkh. Update u later.

Hi babysmurf, sorry want to ask u. Last time u tcm with Tsb and do healing right. Is the healing expensive? Tsb is no longer at thong cai right?

Babysmurf rec ur email. thks.
I did felt tightness of the skin during pregnancy n also hardness too. hope u r feeling better now.

Hi Psp, I saw this date given by a member of the May2013 thread but do not have any other confirmation. Best to check Taka webpage on 1 March 2013 to confirm.

Hi Babysmurf, glad all is well with you and baby.

Babysmurf, just logged in. Glad to hear that you and baby are okay. I have been doing prenatal yoga regularly now and find that it really helps me and my body feels better, less congested and tight. If your doctor approves, maybe you can try?

MofMM, me too, have not done anything. Every week, I say we need to start cracking but when weekend comes, we just 'nua' at home and watch tv. Too lazy to go out! The only thing I have are 2 onesies given to me by my colleagues!

Lil, u followed that prenatal yoga link that I had provided? Relaxing n refreshing right?
I did it during pregnancy n I loved it. No backache pro for me.

Sade, yes! Thanks to you, I feel great! Definitely can feel more energized after that

Also, after I found out that I have a low lying placenta after my detailed scan around 2 weeks ago, I signed up for prenatal yoga classes at Como Shambhala because I needed to check with the teacher about which positions are safe for me. That gives me a better peace of mind about my practice at home.
So now, I do both - yoga at home and classes at Como.

Mummies and ladies who are Week 34 and above, my yoga teacher mentioned that doing Perineal Massage is very important after Week 34 to minimise vaginal tearing during birth. I googled it and was pretty eeked out (sorry!), so I just wonder if you did it too? And if it helped?

Lil Ponyo, I used to go Como too. Who is your instructor?
I didn't do perineal massage coz not sure how to do it so thought just leave it haha.

Sade, can check with you so you used the Thomson PD that dr Loh recommends after delivery and after that switch to your own PD near your place?

lil glad that u like it. think for low lying placenta, better don't do squatting pose. wow that's nice to hear that u r doing both types of yoga.

as for perineal massage, I did it from week 34. but I can't tell if it's effective or not cos mine turn out to be c sec.

hope Ya luckily I used that PD cos mine is emergency c sec as the PD arrived in time. my case was 6am. she's seems to be a nice lady but v busy. so most probably I will go to other pd next time.

Sorry asking stupid question. Now baby should be facing up or down at 25wks. Today the dr ask me told her I not too sure should be up. But got a shock ask my baby face during details scan which at 20wks scratch scratch. Dr Tan also didn't said anything only said baby will swim siwm ard. so is good anot to face down liao

Dian Tang, thanks for your concern
I did ask the doctor but he said to ask the yoga teacher and a good one would know what position to avoid. So far, both my yoga teachers have said no squatting for me, that's all. Hopefully, as the baby grows in 3rd trimester, it will pull the placenta up too.

Hi Hope, I go to both Lay Peng and Samantha's class at Como.

Another 16wks to go. And y do my new lady boss also have to make me pissed off with her. Everytime take my own leave, she will ask for what purpose. Can't I take leave to rest. Sick n tired of her asking. Even today at office told her I unwell need to see dr. She started her list of Qs. Like am I see our clinic dr. Told her my gynea then she ask is my gynea nearby or which arrgh. Very mins can save at my current stage, can she stop her asking.

Done my checkup ytd. BB at 735g, and around 30cm as of 24 weeks...heehee...but still in breech position. Doctor say not to worry as bb will make her way down later ....

luv Ya should be. how's abt ur bb? how many poo n urine did ur bb boy had per day?
these few days had been raining n can't sun her.

Babysmurf, take it easy though I know it's easier said than done. It's not worth it to get upset with your boss. Your and baby's wellbeing, health and happiness is more important. Enjoy your scan tomorrow!

Girl Girl, wah your baby is growing well and strong at 735g! When I did my detailed scan when I just finished Week 22, my baby was only 484g. I wonder how heavy he will be when during my next scan when I'm completed 26 weeks.

Sade, how your c sec wound? healing well?

sade> good that ur gal jaundice is cleared...ya man these days everyday also rain. difficult to sun babies ....

Babysmurf> aiya close one eye lor...dun stress so much. time to go home, go home. BB more impt...

Lil Ponyo> ya lor...doctor say ok weight for my bb, then i happy lar...

Haven't come here for a few days... Still trying to catch up on all the posts.

But I have a question... Does anyone have any recommendation for short-term tingkat dinner delivery? My hubby will be away next week and I am so sick of eating out... Lazy to drive myself out too with big belly. So I want to order tingkat in. I ordered during my 2ww once but the company now doesn't take short-term order anymore.

Babysmurf it's good for bb to be head down. don't be angry abt yr boss, I also facing similar issue abt my superior n I always tell myself to stay Zen even thou it's not easy.

girl girl I rem my bb was in breech position too during my detailed scan at week 20. she turned head down during 3rd trimester. so not to worry still have time for bb to turn head down.

lil I haven wen back to see doc yet but the wound seems ok just that still numb when I touched my tummy.
your bb still has a lot of time to grow, eat more nutritious food, sure he will grow bigger n bigger.

Koirc> can try for Neo Garden? i dunnoe if they do for short term catering???

sade> ya lor...doctor say still got a lot of time for BB to turn head down... my guess is that bb likes to flip and turn... then gynae say soon my tummy will churn like washing machine +_+|||....

ladies, do you have dreams on labour/ delivery during week 35/36? Not sure if I'm under stress or what, keep having dreams on this these few days. REcently, a lot of family issue, mum not well again, aunts not happy that I'm going to my MIL's place to do confinement. They suggested me to give up the CL and train the maid to handle me and bb...My husband worried no experienced person to take care of me that's why decided to move to his mum's place after much tots. My maid scared of my MIL told my aunt that as well...
My MIL has a good heart but just that she likes to show off and control. She's quite old (70+) but still very steady. Sigh, everyday I get so worried about my family when my father calls to inform me on my mum's dementia condition...

My aunt just bombarded me again saying I shouldn't go to my MIL's place since it's crowded (her other 2 grandchildren and 1 maid there...). She said I'm the submissive type, she don't want me to get post-natal blue if I can't handle my MIL...She said she won't be able to help me if I go MIL's place and my parents can't visit me too...

HOw? really so pek-chek! to be stuck in between

Koirc, you can also try www.chillipadi.com.sg. They even have confinement food catering but also not sure about short term. Can ask them.

Thanks, Sade. It's just my tummy is so big now but my baby is only average. I'm just worried when my baby has grown, my tummy will be out-of-this-world big! Ha ha! When I go for yoga class and had to introduce myself to the class, I realised that I'm even bigger than those mommas who are 30/31 weeks!

I knew some CL are good. But all my relatives kept telling me that they're not good and since I've maid just teach the maid to cook confinement food and I can always handle the bb myself as it's easy job...

Ladies, is it that simple to handle bb like showering and feeding?

I'm just wondering if it's like what they said. But their daughter-in laws or daughters have them or CL to take care? I just wonder why they keep telling me that I can handle myself...

Znatasha, not sure abt other ppl, but I definitely cannot handle it myself. That's why I extended my CL for another month even though my MIL is with me and I have a helper.

Do u already have a CL? I got mine from pem and I was lucky... She's very good. Let me know if u want her name to book her for yr confinement.

Sade, good to hear that your baby jaundice cleared!
I think Eskimobaby has popped Liao Hee.

Hmm I'm going for check today. The last check after that incident, dr Loh was like saying I'm so scary contractions I also don't know. Haha I can only give him a weak smile haha. But bb is fine though in a weird position... If position doesn't check needs to C sec. He said maybe bb kick the placenta and asked me not to walk too much. I'm now counting down to full term which is next few days.... Will be a big relief for me when I hit 37 weeks!

Hi Whiteclover, I booked one CL last yr on my friend's recommendation. Then, I thought I will do confinement at home. But after I hired a maid in Dec, my relatives and father keep saying it's waste of money to have maid and CL. Under the relatives pressure, I gave up my CL and the deposit! THen my MIL said cannot just leave me or bb with maid, maid is so young and no experience at all so MIL insist I either hire the CL or do it in her place lor... then my aunts not happy...

I'm going to due soon and yet still can't please everyone...

Oh my other friend also get her CL from PEM, the CL is also very good... seems like a good agency to go to

Hope, me too I'm also counting down to week 37 (2 more weeks). I just want to get all this over and done with...

My tummy not that big compare to others and my bb is only 2kg at week 34...Have no appetite recently as always have the full feeling. Got trouble getting the comfortable position to sleep too, ribs hurt if I lie on my back, lie on side not comfortable as squashing the tummy and bb will protest and kick...

Znatasha, when is your next scan? Cheer up and relax? Very soon will be week 37! Did the doc say anything anout bb weight?

I had difficulty sleeping also then hubby bought this theraline maternity pillow for me. It's really good support for my back and u can sleep better without having to change position with so many other pillows. My baby has been kicking me more when I lie on my side but as long as its not too painful I'm still ok. There's once when she kicked until I can't get to zzz till 3am haha.

Eskimobaby: popped yesterday.

Znatasha: personally I feel that u should hire a CL to help u out during confinement. CL is only helping out 1-2mths. At the same time they can help to train your maid to take care ur baby. Ur mil's place a but crowded. U may not be able to rest well especially with younger kids ard. N your mil is will not be focus on you or your baby. Most of them thing u have to do yourself. Discuss with your hubby. Decide which everyway u r comfortable with. If at home u will be more comfortable n your hubby no need to rush to 2places.

Sade: I only scared baby now head down is it too early n will be premature.

Lil: my tummy also big big. Baby will updraging her hse to villa hahaha

Babysmurf, baby head can be down. Doest mean bb is ready to be pop. Down doesnt mean engaged. And even engaged also doesnt mean popping. There are cases wherr bb head is down and then last minute turn...so anything can happen.

Znatasha, unless your dh will be on leave to help you. Else hw you gg to bathe bb if you cant touch water. Old folks n relatives meant well but i think you and dh be firm and go ahead w ur decision. Most imptly your dh must be on your side. I pre warn dh many times to be on my side no matter what suggestions his mum gives. Cos the last thing i need is post natal depression. Cos my mum doing confinememt for me so mil cant say much. But till nw she still tries to discourage me to bf. Luckily my dh is there to stand up for me. I just smile it off. Conflcts between dil n mil will be there esp u say your mil wants to be in ctrl kind. So let dh do all the talking if needed.

Hi Ladies, thanks for your encouragement.

I think I'll stick with whatever plan for now, I did tell my dh that if I can't adapt to his mum's place then I'll move back.

I'm still not fully prepared for bb arrival... haven't wash all the stuff yet...and not done with shopping for bb's stuff too...getting kan cheong now...

I delievered my baby on Jan 2013 and I had stop breastfeeding due to low supply and due to busy with my #1. I would like to selling away following items. All my breast pump was pretty new as i hardly use it. Please pm me here or call me at 93622319 if you are interested. Thanks

1)Ameda Lactaline Dual Breast Pump (with warranty)
2)Pumpin pal set included:
Premium Breast Pumping Flanges (super shields -M size)
Hand-free Breast Pumping Strap
Air Dry Accessory Bag
3)Avent Manual Breast Pump - SCF 330 (with warranty)
4)Avent Per-sterilized Cup 5pcs & Cup Cover 5pcs (brand new)
5)Avent Ultra Comforatable Breast Shells (hardly use)
6)Pigeon Sillicon Nipple (brand new)
7)Lansinoh 25 pcs milk storage bags (Brand New)
8)Sacred Tea for Nursing Mother 1pack (brand new)
9)Lemongrass Confinement Shower Gel 1lite (brand new)
10) RPR Dry Shampoo Powder Spray (brand new)
11) Pureen Sterilising Tablets 56 (brand new)

Znatasha, yes what is most important is to do whatever you and dh are happy and comfortable with. There is no such thing as too much help! Personally, the last thing I do is to listen to my family or my in laws. Also, it is impossible to please everyone. So just relax, take a deep breath and enjoy the rest of your time before motherhood with your DH. I'm sure everything will fall into place.

Whiteclover, me too, I also engaged my CL for 2 months. Now I'm looking into infant care for the baby for when I return to work. Trying to decide between a private nanny or an infant care centre.

Thank you ladies! I will check them out.

Znatasha, funny thing! I have for the past two nights! I wonder if that's a pre-warning for labour!