(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

I just came back from the shop. Bought another half dozens of tops and bottoms, towels, mittens & booties and receiving blanket with hood. Wah, there are really so many different types. When I asked the lady for pants, she asked me if I want those that cover the feet!

This time round, the young lady allow me to change the color! The old lady didn't allow me to last time.

I bought a set each (6pcs) of long sleeve, short sleeve, shorts n pants that cover toes from the bugis shop. The lady was quite helpful, told me which designs that doesn't have the color (pink) that I dun want so I dun get any pink. I got the blue, yellow n whites. All in all I spent $47 for 4 sets of clothings. Better to get those button up rather than ribbon tie cos I find ribbon quite messy n easily come off just by wriggling n also if u have fussy baby u would want to dress bb fast n buttons r faster to fasten than ribbons.

Eskimo, my mum said the same about those ribbons. What wipes are you using? Just bought kodomo powder the other day. Everytime buying bb stuffs i feel so excited cos means date drawing nearer. You be seeing bb on mon right? So excited for you. You are under dr loh too? Csect for dr loh, can choose time?

Oh really? Ribbon one is more messier? My mother in law prefer this over button one. Thanks for the tips. I will get a few more button top then.

Reiki,
I'm using the pigeon wipes but kodomo ones also can sometimes Watsons has promotion less than $2 per pack n I would stock up kodomo. I use huggies ones before but tears easily so dun like it.

Yes!!! I'm seeing my baby on Monday
We weren't particular abt timing just the date so I left the timing to dr loh. He wants to operate me at 8am n I have to go in at 6am! *faint*

Those who just gave birth at tmc, Sade, whiteclover n luv, do tmc provide toiletries like shampoo, bath gel n toothbrushes etc? I wonder if i have to bring a set for hubby. I feel like packing for a holiday haha

Eskimobaby, happy for you! Can count down to the day Liao!!!! Have a smooth delivery hee. Maybe dr Loh prefers 8am so after that he can go TFC just in time haha.

Eskimobaby, yes they provide a toiletries set but I haven't opened it to see what's inside, haha... Monday's just round the corner!

Babysmurf, thanks! Replied ur PM.

I also just went to the shop and buy half dozen of long sleeve shirt and long pants , wash towel,2 packs of nappy cloth and 2 packs of bath towels . Went to OG to get other stuffs.there is offers package for Avent bottles.

Hope,
Yah I also think so. He didnt want to disrupt his consultation at tfc heee. Anyway earlier also good I dun have to fast so long kekeke

Sade, no leh...... I was afraid the wound wld be affected (although shld not b) so did not. Secondly also lazy lah
Wat abt u?

Sade- started last wed. Did 2 times already (not at the wound area. Will be starting on the wound area Tom onwards.

It is pretty good. I slept very soundly after the massage plus the breast massage helps to clear any booked duct for more milk supply.

Hi Whiteclover,
you're up this early...
My aunt did tell me to take a small sip of VSOP every night during confinement, in fact, she said to soak this herb "gao li" inside the VSOP. She said this drink is super good to the woman's body and her daughter-in law has had that for her 2 pregnancies. But I think if you're breast-feeding, do give a 2hr gap after consuming the liquor/DOM.

Znatasha - u too

Thanks for advice - Will start to drink. My mil keeps asking me to take wine to clear my water retention. Originally didn't want to cos of BF.

Luv - for the standing bath tub, did u get any bath insert? If hv, let me know which one u got.

Whiteclover, I did. Bought at the warehouse sale too. Not sure which brand but it's plastic with suction pads to keep it in place n comes in a bear design.

Happy full month to ur lil one!

Hi WhiteClover, hope you have a memorable first month celebration!

Hi Lil Ponyo/,Kitty Katty, I think the buttons or ribbons are a matter of personal preference - my Mother insists on ribbons as buttons, the pressie kind are hard against the babies' skin. Even if we don't snap shut the button against the skin, there is a bump on the clothes and will press on them when swaddled. I guess after they are 3 months and their skin not so fragile then buttons might be more convenient.

Hears from friends with babies that better to get separates instead of onesies as babies require multiple changes a day, spitting up or doing biz from the bottom end so having separates is much easier to change them. Also they are floppy and loosely jointed when born so its a challenge to pull heur arms and legs into onesies. Not sure if this is all true but just sharing close friends' experiences with their little ones.

By the way, talking about clothes, Spring Maternity has a range of babies clothes under their Bamboo collection and these are the softest prettiest tops I have felt (ribbon kind). Cost about $39 for 3pcs. Was at Vivo last night. Also egg maternity has a sale on bras (2/4 for 55) and clothes (less 20% if u buy at least 2pcs). Hmmm, and learnt for Mothercare, there is a sale (up to 80%) at their Harborfront outlet from 28 Feb for members and 1 March for non-members.

Happy shopping, all!

Chevy n Whiteclover Ya going to start massage soon.
wWhiteclover did u get clearance from Dr loh before starting your massage? enjoy the full month celebration!
I din drink during confinement, but is used in cooking. if u want to drink then pump before u drink. cos I m fully latch on so not drinking as bb wan to drink milk every now n then.

Sade, how's ur gal's feeding pattern now? My boy is also wanting to latch on constantly over a few hours recently. Hope it's just growth spurt.

Ladies, the $450 which we can claim frm medisave upon delivery, includes total sum of consultation+routine test+ultrascan?
Doesnt include vitamins etc and gst right?

luv still feed on demand. no schedule at all. max 14 times per day. n she wants milk almost every hour n made my milk production haywire cos she kept on sucking every hour n nv empty it.

Sade, how about introducing pacifier to let her suckle then feed her every 2-3 hrs so that she can empty the breast at each feed. Else she will not be taking in the nutitious part of the bm...cos foremilk too watery and may not be filling.

Sade, I didn't go for any massage. Dunno now still can go or not cos still got tummy

I was feeding my bb on demand too......but dunno when she started treating my nipples as pacifier. Now very jilat......sleep must nurse if not cant sleep......haiz.......now correcting this habit but heart pain to see her cry :_(

Reikibaby not really keen to give pacifier yet. there is different perspective abt hind milk. some sources said as long nurse till max 20min on one side n then offer the other breast. n start off from last breast as the hind milk is mixed into fore milk.
anyway it's not really within my control cos bb does get fussy at times n there isn't such a perfect scenario as what books or website said.

kikigal maybe u still can do massage better than not doing.
I totally understand what u meant. I had just started to ask my hb to try bottle feeding with bm once a day. n she seems to take it well. but I felt sad to see her drinking from bottle. it's really a v v strong bond doing latching. but me quite tired so have to start some bottle feeding. did u try bottle feeding too cos I rem u r going back to work soon right?

Sade- if u nurse 20 min on one side, after that , do u still pump?

Anyone facing this prob? Every 2 days, I gotta clear nose shit from baby. Otherwise, she gets nose block and cannot feed. Wondering why she gets so much nose shit.

Sade, yah theory and practical differs. Many frds suggested that i express out and bottle feed instead of latch. Cos they feels that only when expressed out then will know how much the baby is drinking. When my turn comes i will be able to understand your position better. Actualli i plan to bottle feed at night but seems like most of you who latched on, only starts tointroduce bottle at later weeks.

Whiteclover, I only pump once a day. Guess have to pump twice now.

I also need to clear bb nose shit too but not so frequent bah. How do u clean it?w

The PD taught us to use a nasal spray, then use one end of the tissue to pull it out.

I haven do it myself yet. All the while, the CL does it and she makes it look so effortless.

Reikibaby as long u take note of no of urine n poo each day n bb is growing then u can rest assured that bb is drinking enough. u hv to think carefully to latch or bottle feed. I will suggest to latch on initially so that to build up supply n then change bottle feed. I really feel the strong bond when doing fully latching on. but also v stress cos bb depends on me only to feed her. if bottle feed easier cos can rest at night as other ppl can help to feed bb.

Actually pumping takes more work than latching as u have to keep cleaning the parts after whereas latching doesn't have this extra part. If going back to work even after 4 months better to introduce bottle early by 5 weeks so that baby can get used to it. Headache comes if baby only wants to latch n refuse bottle when u return to work. I also dunno how I'll cope with bf even tho this is my 2nd one cos I see my SIL, first baby's pattern very different from 2nd baby.

Reikibaby don't forget bb is the best pump.

Whiteclover I only try to dig it out using plastic tweezer pigeon brand.

Sade, just recently started her on bottle. She only latch during the night feed. Agreed with eskimobaby that need to start early if not can be very stressful for both mummy and bb.

Whiteclover, I use the spray let the dirt soften then use nasal aspirator to suck it out

Eskimo baby mum is the greatest!

me alrdy intro bottle during her 2nd week but she rejected. so just re intro again during her 3rd n she is able to accept it but was only given bottle once a day.

Sade - for direct latching, do u wait for baby to finish on one side before moving to the other side? Or do u set a max time for 1 side and to move her to other side?

My baby sucks very long on one breast. Not sure if I shd stop her or to wait till she withdraws herself.