(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Reikibaby, dr loh advised going for c-sec. Finally he told me reason why - cos I did lap before and my fibroid was deeply embedded. He's worried that the womb will collapse if I do natural. Even if try natural, cannot push too hard and chance that may need to do emergency c-sec. Seeing him next week again then also pick date next week to do.

Whiteclover when is your appt? Just now I was at Dr loh's clinic. Y c section? When is ur confirm date then? Good weight for your bb.
Need to go next week for checkup again.

Sade, wow! So exciting!!! I have 10 more weeks to go!

Sade - just left clinic. I was wearing black dress. Need to tell dr loh preferred date when I see him next week. He said he just needs 24 hour notice
.Went for ctg scan just now again. Was sent to labour ward at level 2 to do ctg. The nurses there are very nice.

Koirc soon will be your turn too! Enjoy ur pregnancy now esp bb movements.

Whiteclover then I saw u n your hubby. I m wearing purple top with black leggings. Actually when I first walked past u along the corridors, I had a feeling that it's u. Haha. So my sixth sense is right. I rem ur legs are quite swollen.

Hi Lil Ponyo, I hope you are better! There will be good days n some bad days, as the dr explained. Was having a run of 3 gd days (just dry retching no vomiting) myself n was thanking the twins last nite when abt 3hrs later, I had a round of explosive vomiting, gastric juices n air n left over veg). U might be right about avoiding oily/spicy food like curry chicken cos I had kangkong (lots of oil n chilli) for dinner last nite.

As for wetting ur undies, like other sisters here, happened to me twice so far - once when puking and once when sneezing. Eeks. Now I know y my mum told me to buy waterproof pants. How was your meeting with your potential CL today?

Hi Egg Factory, I used vaseline for my nipples which were getting dry (peeling white flakes). Works for me so far.

Hi Babysmurf and GirlGirl, yup my tummy getting harder too (below belly button part esp). Are you all able to lie on your belly still? Now when I do so, I can feel the babies protesting - squirming sensation. Not sure how long I can lie on my tummy till (week ? )

Hi koirc, i attended one sat n one sun class. Will be attending sat 9.30 class in next few weeks. U?

Ladies - are u feeling anxious abt delivery? I get very scared when i think of it. Im very scared of pain ....

Tutu, I only attend once a week. I now attend the 9.30am class on Sat. I might have seen you in class before!

And tutu, speaking of pain, I am very scared too cos my last antenatal class, the trainer showed us how epidural will be administered. It looks so scary lor!

Reikibaby, Lil ponyo, koirc: i see. Me 16 wks. The strange thing is i gained 5 kg in first trimester but now stopped, even though i eat 6 times a day. Tcm Dr said 4-6 months is the time to gain weight. How do they know
your baby's weight? As in, how to differntiate between your weight and the baby's?

Thanks Mofmm , mine also peeling.. Oh dear u still having MS..but nvm it is worth it

Egg factory, i gained 3+ kg in 1st tri, and the whole of 2nd tri i did not gain any. But baby gained alot. what we eat goes to baby, which is good. Now in 3rd tri, i started to gain alittle and hopefully can ctrl so that i wont gain more. Measuring the baby tummy size, the dr is able to estimate bb weight. So dun worry. In fact many of my frens say 3rd tri will gain more weight...

Mofmm slping on tummy during pregnancy? Wondering how do u do it, must be very uncomfortable...Anyway i haven been slping well ever since pregnant...

Mofmm: I sleep on my side. Now can't sleep on my back. Very uncomfortable n me desk bounded job. Sit till tailbone aching pain lol.

Sade- didn't realize my swollen feet so obvious

I saw the bottle caps at the tmc pharmacy today - 3 for $3. Different brand from those at kiddy palace.

I signed up for cord life before appt w dr loh appt today. Now wonder if can still do, since mine will be c-sec.

Mofmm- better to sleep on yr sides. Sleeping on back also not advisable in later months.

Hope u haven buy yet. Just compared theunimom bottle caps w the ones from tmc pharmacy- the fit is better for the tmc bottle caps.

Maybe better to bring one of yr glass bottle to try first before buying.

Whiteclover I went to the shop at Tmc n din saw it. Din wen to the pharmacy. Just bought the caps from kiddy palace at 8plus.

Reikibaby - mine's glass bottles from the baby's formula milk given at hospitals. Useful to keep for storage of your breast milk. I 'inherited' them from friends and sisters. But can also ask from the nurses when you deliver (FOC). They come in pretty handy. Some ppl buy the glass bottles from brands eg evenflo.

That's why need to buy the bottle caps.

MofMM> i started to sleep on my left hugging bolster/pillow/snoopy soft toy since ard week 14. Lie on back probably during waking up time, then slowly move to right side to get off from the bed. Similar to babysmurf, my job currently is in office. Sometimes really got to walk a bit (e.g. to toilet) if not sure numb...

I tink BB can protest for not so comfy positions... i wonder how they know...Haha!

Ladies, must we really be confined in house during the confinement period? I am thinking of doing confinement in my MIL's place (as that's her condition since she needs to take care of the other grandson). If I can't take it there, I was thinking can I move back to my own place during the confinement?

Also, can we bathe the baby? Cos I don't think my maid can as she is young and single, not so sure if we can touch water during confinement..

Hi Whiteclover, my friend also c-sect and collected the cord blood for storage in cordlife.
But her doctor is not fr tmc, so not sure if the practice will be different

thanks znatasha - i'll go ask later.

u mean u are not going to bathe throughout yr confinement? how to tahan?

moving location during confinement shd be fine. my sister did that when her neighbour suddenly did major renovation and she shifted to my mum's place. most impt is that you r comfortable.

hi whiteclover, I mean bathe the baby hahaha...so it's ok to touch water to bathe the baby

I'll of course bathe everyday

Oh, must we really take the vinegar pork? I think my MIL don't know how to cook that...

Whiteclover,

My sil just delivered a couple of mths back at tmc by c-sect and also collected the cord blood for storage with cordlife.. Think you'll have to check with both doc and cordlife..

Dian tang, yes bb weight will inc faster during third trimester as bb is building up fats.

Tutu, if u r scared of pain then use epidural as soon as possible.

Hope Oic Thks for clearing my doubts. Btw do u know when to stop doing prenatal yoga?

White clover, guess u better check with dr loh abt the cord blood issue. Drop him an email. Glad that u had finally made a decision abt storing your cord blood. So most probably u r ahead of me.

Znatasha, pig vinegar trotter is good during confinement although it's fatty. It's help to get rid of wind and it's rich in calcium. If your mil can't cook it, then try to order online. I rem seeing some caterer selling it.

Thanks Mofmm, ya I try to stick to more clean and clear food for now. Don't try to be adventurous. Ha ha! I sleep on my side because sleeping on my back is getting uncomfortable now. My sleep is not great though. I wake up every time I need to switch sides.

Whiteclover, thanks for the info on glass bottle. I was googling on different bm storage, and read that storing in glass bottle is not recommended. In fact storing bm is preferred to be be in plastic milk bag or plastic containers.

Znatasha, if you bathe daily, make sure you use water that are boiled, or warm water. I probably will not bathe 1st week. Will just towel clean. As for bathing baby, unless you also use warm water. But according to a gf, during her 1st confinement, she actuali used tap water to wash hands, and apparently, her finger joints aches every now and then. Then at 2nd confinement, she refused to touch water and do a proper confinement, used cool boiled water orwarm water throughout, and her finger joint aching actuali recover and gone after her 2nd confinement.

Whiteclover, anyway cordlife will not charge if no cord collected. Probably you just have to let dr loh ou signed up with cordlife, but collect anot, let him decided based on the situation.

Lil, i noticed that if i take spicy food, even like zinger burger, i will have heartburn. And yah, me too, everytime change side, i will wake. Usualli i have to visit the toilet at least 2-3 times before my body decide to fall asleep. Keep feeling a weight at bladder but each time nothing to pee.

Ladies, i just read a Mother and Baby article about confinement. They interviewed Jin Jin Hua (TCM doc from Raffles) who said that the practice of not bathing originates from ancient China where the water was not clean and they were afraid of bacteria. But it should be ok to bathe in modern Singapore

Hi ReikiBaby, I'll prob use warm water to bathe baby. My friend was telling me to limit my water contact to reduce joint-ache like what you mentioned. Hmm...then I think I've no choice but to stay with MIL cos will have a senoir who knows how to bathe baby.

Oh, I also have the heavy full bladder feeling but nothing to pee now in my 3rd trimester. Tummy getting big esp after meal and hinder my movement. I also have swollen feet.

ya nowadays got those herbs to bathe during confinement. My mum will be getting these for me. Comes in indiv packs so just use 1 pack per day. Easier.

for the pig leg trotter, my mum can cook but i only know difficult to find the black dog vinegar (coz need to cook and mix diff type of vinegar). Last time my SIL do confinement, my mum cook and super nice! i end up eating the eggs :p

There was an interview with stefanie sun after she delivered and she mentioned that her CL told her to put some rice wine into a small spray bottle (eg toner) and to squirt it on her finger tips when she touch water. She said it was miraculous to reduce or prevent aches from touching water.

another way is to put some cheap white rice wine from ntuc and pour some on a container so that can use it to wash hands esp for night time.

Tutu, yes! See you tomorrow...

Egg Factory, Jin Jin Hua was my TCM physician. I believe what she says... Hahaha... I am definitely going to shower during confinement but it also depends on your CL. My friend's CL refused to even let her shower in herbs leh!

Precious baby, i nv rebond nor dye my hair during my pregnancy even thou i always dye my hairs sin young. My hair color is v off now. haha.

ya me too. I have somewhat frizzy and curly hair, but i did not do any rebond/dye/highlight since i doing ivf/icsi. So now my hair is short, and i just clip it with those cute cute clips... and use serum and light styling gel when i go out for work or go gai gai.

Sade, no worries I only know all these when I attend the classes Hee. Not sure when to stop but there are fellow pregnant ladies who are still attending class in their 38 weeks. So I guess it depends on individual? But usually the instructor will ask more questions for these ladies who are full term like bb position, any pelvic pain etc.

Hope Oic. I stopped last week. Cos felt too heavy to do yoga now.

Btw any ladies have craving for sweet stuffs? Cos for me I have strong craving for sweet drinks or desserts. Don't know it's because I have GD or I m having bb girl.

Sade I think it's ok to stop if you aren't comfortable. most importantly listen to your body! Are you excited or nervous? Going to due anytime! What is bb position now?

Precious baby, I also have a lot of white hair now. I have not dyed my hair since the pregnancy but I am planning try the henna dye that my colleague recommended since it's natural plant-based dye.

Ladies, does any one know which merchants will be at the Baby Fair next weekend?

precious baby, I've dyed my hair 3times since bfp. I used the organic hair dye 'enjoy'. It doesn't last but at least it cover my grey hair which make me so miserable.

Eskimo, i remembered you mentioned dr loh said no durians for you. Can ask whats ur bb weight at 29wks? Today dr loh say no durian for me. I told him i v guai with diet. He say yah cos i no weight gain at all. He ask me eat salad if i wan go natural...