(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Sade r u going for natural birth? Btw will ur hubby be taking 1week leave before your due date? When are u gonna stop working before due date?

Ladies, did you all prepare pacifiers? If yes, can share what brand you get? Thanks

Bbshower, you dh going to be on standby a week before your due date?

Sade, wow im always wondering what contractions feel like. Scared that I don't know it's contractions. How many weeks are you now? Full term already? So excited for you and Whiteclover, the next one to deliver.

Sade - for the bottle caps, another forum sister told me can buy from kiddy palace (unimom brand) and also from thomson (not sure if it's parentcraft or pharmacy)

ReikiBaby m also not sure how long or when shld he be on standby. QUite a headache for that somemore don't have so much leave.

Sade, Whiteclover, when are your EDD? So exciting... The ardious journey is finally going to see the end of the tunnel. No more wondering how bb is doing inside! Can see bb physically!!!

Speaking of hubby taking leave, does anyone know when the Govt will pass the resolution for two weeks paternity leave that NTUC proposed? I feel that will help. But dunno if it will benefit those of us who are due early in the year! Sigh.

Im not planning to get dh to take leave before due date. Cos i read if theres contraction or waterbag burst, usually still can take a bath before admitting esp when we are 1st timer mummy, so dilation wont be that soon. Wanted dh save his leave during my confinement.

Koirc, wow if can hv 2weeks paternity leave, it will be great! Dh can take another 2weeks hv be with me whole confinement..

Hope, yah i also planning get Avent. Thx

Hope...yah. Make sure i can get him. Lolx. Told dh he must be on standby in march and chk hp always. Cos everytime lunch time he dun chk his hp...so annoying.
Will you be putting a plastic sheet on bed near to due date? What if waterbag burst when we sleeping....hmmmm

Reikibaby, I thought of that also! Not sure lei.... Haha. Can put the waterproof sheet that I bought for bb cot?? Haha coz only my area need mah right?

Reikibaby, that was what NTUC proposed. But no sound no picture from Govt leh.

When does hubby need to be on standby? My hubby has a business trip he cannot pushed away on my week 35 leh!

Reikibaby, my DH is like yours. Always put his hp to silent when at work and don't know when I call.

Girl Girl, over the weekend then I properly look at the prices of baby stuff like sterlizer, bump, etc. Wah so expensive!!

Babysmurf, ya so excited. Leaving office in 1hr's time! Hee hee! Hopefully everything will be okay. Me too, my tummy quite hard and still can't find good position to sleep.

Koirc, are you currently staying in 2 bedroom too? Mofmm was saying she will wait till babies are born before looking for bigger place because it is indeed stressful to find some place and move within the next 4 months. Also buying apt is big commitment so very hard to rush things. And once we hit our 3rd trimester, even harder! So she is deciding to put baby+CL+maid in her 2nd bedroom for the time being. She will buy a bunk bed for CL & maid but give the maid the option during the 1st month to sleep in bunk bed (with ear plugs) or sleep in the living room.

Hope: will it be every hot to sleep on the waterproof sheet?

Lil: I now also headache search for house. Price soaring so high. Sold my flat n moving in to my mum's place. Now I got problem how to put a baby clot in my bedroom.

Koirc, you can get waterproof sheet from most departmental stores baby session. I bought mine at Taka sale. Hmm hypermarket etc also sell.

Babysmurf, I don't know Lei. But hmm I have a memory foam on top of my mattress... Don't want to wet the memory foam lei scared will damage it. I haven't try it yet.... Haha.

Lil Ponyo, sounds like a good idea. Yes, I'm staying in 2-BR now. But just thinking it might be a little cramp for two adults to squeeze into one room with bb hor? Sigh!

Hope, ok, thanks! I will check it out.

Whiteclover, i bought my waterproof mattress and pillow protector from smh bulk purchase too. Haha
Now i find it so difficult and tiring to move ard. So from clothes to lingerie and watever i can buy online i will do it. Lolz

Lil Ponyo: how was ur scan ? Hope u see the gender.
My class on sat was tiring cos walking walking for the maternity faculties tour. Many mummy to be sit down whenever they hav chance . They showed us the wards and delivery suite .

Really dunnoe when will gov announced the paternity n maternity leave. Keep us waiting...

Hope if u already 37weeks i guess shld start washing all baby clothes and bedsheets ba. For me i planning to wash end of this mth by then i only week 33, coz nx mth CNY le will be more busy ba.Kiasu a bit have everythg rdy

BB shower, ya trying for natural birth. My hb is a real estate agent, hence his working time is more flexible.
Hope, now i m in week 38. Ya me so looking forward but at the same times, worry abt it.
Oh u should start washing bb clothes now. since u r in week 31 alrdy.
Whiteclover, thanks alot. will go tmc and see it.

Sade so good then u will not be worried that no one is ard when u r due for delivery. When do u start washing baby items?

Hi Usagi, try to stock up cereal, bread, yogurt, cheese, milk and biscuits at home so that you can have a healthy dinner on your own if dinner plans with hubby don't work out. Sometimes it really is just too tiring to drive out to get some food and when the husband is being difficult/having a bad day, dinner can be an issue. Recently I asked my hubby to buy back fish porridge and he replied to say he will buy back what is convenient - hot dogs from Ikea! How unhealthy is that! At least ur hubby still cook for u black chicken

Hi Koirc and LilPonyo, yup it is not ideal but the CL is only for 28 days. After that it will be just the maid and the baby/babies in the 2nd bedroom. Thinking of installing aCCTV camera in the second bedroom so can monitor what is going on there. Home page of Singapore Motherhood seems to be having a promotion on this camera thingy.

Hi LilPonyo, hope your scan today went well - looking forward to your post on what your baby gender is. I am, like u, hesitant to buy the big items for the baby/ies until perhaps after 7 months, or at least afer the detailed scan. Think I read too many baby loss blogs when on the infertility journey. Meh

I asked about arrangements after birth cos my inlaws seem very VERY keen on having me leave the babies with them after I go back to work and taking them back only on the weekends. That sent me into a panic as I don't like the idea of not coming home to my babies or not having time with them 5 out of 7 days. My in-laws share your same concern that it is not good to leave baby alone with the maid hence their idea. I am still wracking my mind for an optimum solution but I know I do want my babies home with me after work.

Like you, I intend to go back to wk. I admire deeply those friends who have given up so much to become a SAHM. Already last week when I was informed by SQ that I lost my Krisflyer Gold membership (cos I have stopped flying for work for half a year when I first started TTC), I had a meltdown of sorts and took it out on hubby. His life goes on unaffected with this pregnancy while I have to sacrifice what I enjoy/have built up...so the last thing I want to lose is my career and the independence that comes with it.

I have found a CL who has done twins before. Gg to give her a deposit of S$300 this Wed. She told me that the practice is that if something unfortunate happens to the pregnancy, this deposit is refundable. This is 1 of the things you should check, and also confirm the no. of days she will be with you (usually 28). You might also want to ask if she has been trained by Thomson before, and if she is Malaysian, do remember to ask her and ensure that she has a valid work permit per MOM guidelines. I called Thomson to ask the rates for CL - about SGD3500, and for twins SGD3800 but I hear from friends that for a singleton, if you go through recommendations, the rate is SGD2100 only. Oh yes, do ask her when she is booked until - you don't want the case where if you deliver early (say by a week/two), she is already committed elsewhere. You may also want to talk to her about how familiar she is with breastfeeding issues, how marketing is to be done, who will buy the herbs etc.

Bb shower I started washing bb clothes sin week 30. In batches. It's better to start earlier. Cos as I m getting nearer to my edd, I started to receive lots of hands-on clothes n also new clothes. Till now I haven not finish washing all. Cos have to wash new clothes, old clothes, new towels, washcloth, swaddles, nappy diapers, etc. Quite tedious. Haha.

Mofmm: maybe u or your hubby have to xin gu abit. Morning send your babies to your in law place. At nite can take dinner with them then bring your babies home. My mum intend to help me take care no nite for her. So only mon to fri. Weekend is her free time. N nite time she can have aged rest.

HI Dian Tang, I think you've mistaken me for someone else. I have yet to buy the thermometer.

Hi Ladies, I am very tempted to buy things fr the SMH marketplace sites. Never buy anything online before. Is the beansprout pillow or the Braun thermometer (by kerryn soh) good purchase? Even have the CNY cookies...

I just set up my hand-down baby cot. Hunted for few days and places for the right size mattress. Finally got one slightly smaller in width for the cot but it's the only anti-dustmite with holes mattress that is close to the cot size.
Shopping is so tiring. I had dizzy spell and vomitted out my dinner again last night. Think walk for too long...

Sade, you really have alot to wash. All my bb clothes at my mum place cos she will be doing all the washing for me. Whenever i ask her when she washing, she will tell me not to worry, even, she wash the day i deliver, still enough time >.<

I only have half a dozen of sleepwear, half a dozen of bb gaigai clothes, 3 swaddles, 2 sets of mittens and booties. Ask my mum sufficient, esp the mittens and bootties and she said yes. looks like my mum is very steady. Next on my list will be new towels, washcloth and washing detergents.

Lately very 'fan' with baby cots. my room no space for one and my mum advise is that initial weeks best to have baby near me for easy night feeding. I'm thinking of getting the cot at a later month, probably after confinement. In the meanwhile get the snuggle nest so bb can co-sleep with us. But mine is a queen size bed...then poor dh will have little space on bed if put in a snuggle nest. And hopefully by the time bb outgrown the snuggle nest, ard 3-4 months, i can move him to the other room and sleep in his own cot....
Do you all think this idea is feasible?

BTW, any idea when is the next Robinson Private Sale.

Hope, the bp indeed very addictive. just received my swaddles. so happy.

Znatasha: ha ha ya it shd be whiteclover . She mentions she bought from smh spree . Oh ya I saw the CNY cookies and the pillow too .tempted to get too

Babysmurf : it is first session .. Ha ha

Bb shower : I think I throw everything in machine but maybe I use the baby detergent .

Hi ladies, just did my scan this afternoon. We're having a boy
Hee hee, my DH is pretty funny. He confessed that he was secretly stressed about the gender and now he is so relieved because his parents are very traditional.

Lil Ponyo, your dh very cute. Tell him dun stress, can always try a 2nd one if girl mah. Anyway Congrats on having a prince. Can really save alot having a prince....in terms of accessories and clothings =)

Znatasha, diantang, got mine from maegan in the smh overseas spree section.

Just bought bravado nursing bras from www.allemom.com today. More expensive that those sold in smh forum but heard the quality is good.

My hb commented last nite that I am a changed person, nvr keep going shopping. Little does he know that I hv been shopping online and receiving packages when he is at work

Hi Lil Ponyo, congratulations!
Your hubby was sweet to keep this stressor a secret from you till you both confirmed the gender!

Hi ReikiBaby, my mum told me to get at least 5 sets of mittens cos babies always lick their mittens and get saliva on them (then later touch their eyes and face with the saliva-stained mitts) - one day can go through quite a few pair. Dun know how true this is but if the couple u have prove 2 b insufficient, it's easy n cheap to just buy a few more

Hi WhiteClover, haha, my package from Gilt just arrived 1/2 hr ago so I fully get what you mean. My hubby thinks that my spending has been reduced cos I have been sick (ms) the past few months but wait till the credit card bill comes in! Shopping online is so fun, esp if shipping is FOC!

Koirc, ya agree with you and Mofmm that it's not ideal living arrangement but given the circumstances, it could be the best option. If only property in Spore is not so expensive! Actually, we're not the kind that do a lot of forward planning. So, even as we apt hunt now, we are hardly considering future schools. I think we can only worry and tackle a few things at a time!

Dian tang, that tour does sound tiring! How many classes in total?

Mofmm, thanks for the tips on what to ask a CL. I have much to learn.

I know exactly what you mean about working and how our lives (and body) have changed while our husbands' lives are pretty much the same. When my inlaws were here last month, my father in law kept hinting for me to quit my job and have more kids! When we did the new year countdown, his new year wish is I get pregnant again soon! In my mind, I was thinking how come he never ask his son to quit and be a SAHD and I'll bring home the money.

It's funny how you should mention Gold Class because I'm losing my status too! Ha ha! My last work trip was July but I'm going for one next week. That will be my final one before
I'm grounded. Im going to HK so its a short flight. It's okay lah, when you really think about it, you don't get much as a Gold member anyway

Yeah, I can't imagine not seeing the baby/babies for 5 days. Are your in-laws open to coming to your house every day? You can entice them by saying you have a maid to help them out at your place. Either that, or like babysmurf said, to bring babies home every evening.

Last weekend at Robinsons, we were contemplating breast bump or steriliser but got cold feet and ended up buying a sandwich maker instead!

Oh by the way, I've put on 5.7kg compared to my pre-pregnancy weight. Is this on track? My doctor says its fine but EVERYTHING to him is fine!

Bb shower I used washing machine to wash.

Reikibaby Ya really lot of washing to be done. N also bedsheets n pillow cases. Haha. Cos last month rainy weather hence need more time to wash n dry. U have a v good mother to help u. Treasure her!

I bought my bb pillows from smh market place. It's under Gina handmade.choose her cos it's handmade n I like the pillow case design.

Lil, congrats on finding out baby's gender. I think your weight gain is ok as long as baby is growing. We hv same gynae, I couldn't help laughing when I saw your comments - I put on so much weight, 10kg by wk 18 n he also said it's fine! He's very chill I guess, good for anxious person like me..haha..

Mofmm, same I held off buying anything till after detailed scan for the same reason. Then I went on online shopping spree - bought stroller, clothes, baby carrier, car seat base n adapters, playmat..haha.

Talking abt SMH bulk purchase n spree thread, I find some items really good value. Clothes, fisher price rocker, breast pump, baby carrier..some up to 50% off! Only thing is may not hv warranty. But so far I'm very happy with my purchases.

Congrats lil on getting bb boy! Glad for u. N ur hubby is so funny!
For Robinson's sales, it's better to wait till private sales as u will have $30discount voucher. Can be used for $180 and above. More worth it. As mentioned earlier, do check out their facebook so that u will know when is the private sales.

Lil Ponyo: Congrats on having a baby boy.I also gained ard the same weight as you, the sonographer said my baby weight was okay too. My antenatal class consist of 8 sessions, the coordinator encourage me to start the class when i am 21 weeks.

online shopping/smh spree:
I was also doing online shopping in some website and now looking at the smh spree too. hehe.. soon i shd be making some purchases.

Baby smurf I am using freelance post natal massage, n she will bring her massage bed over. $60 per session. Recommended by my sil. Let me know if u want her contact.

Congrats, Lil ponyo on knowing the gender. Having boy boy for first kid is good, less stress if the elderly are traditional. Mine also a boy boy.