(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Thanks sade...me also not thinking of using any Johnson prdts. When comes to such prdts, i cant depend on my mummy cos older generation only know Johnson prdts.

Sade, the other time you mention about tummy hard. I do notice that my tummy is also hard. Yesterday a gf touched my tummy and commented hard and said its normal cos if having boy usually tummy more pointed and hard.... Wanted ask dr M last week but was excited with the scanning and forgot about it. Your tummy hard since 2nd tri?

Usagi, you staying with mum? Dun over work hor.... Maybe can consider get those part time cleaner to come help with the dusting and cleaning.

Whiteclover, order from iherb cheaper than getting in sg? Will also be using Desitin for diaper rash.

Btw you all mention body lotion, so must apply on baby's body after every bath?

Reikibaby Ya my tummy was hard n tense during 2nd trimester. I refrained from touching it whenever it turn hard. Don't want to add further stress to it.
For body lotion I only intend to use if bb skin is dry. Don't wan to apply so many cream on her yet. Unless there is diaper rashes or dry skin. Ya also using desitin cream when needed.

Joanne,wow you're promoting very soon, all prepared?

Sade, yap now just wait for the part-time job to notify me if they need my help before I'm due. Gosh! The longest "break" I had so far.

I was shopping for stroller the other day, can't decide what to buy. Think will buy that next year after delivery.

Just got my hand-down bb cot. Now to decide where to put bb cot. My study room has PC and for some weird reason, the study table always get mouldy. I think it'll be un-healthy to put bb in same room as the mould spores. But the other room will be away from me... Sigh.

Oh any idea if we can use cetaphil, or eucerine or seamed on bb skin?

My aunt told me she uses stout to bath her grandchild. Very good for bb skin...

Oh no even desitin cream also made by Johnson. I din know that. But I know that desitin cream is quite strong. Maybe gotta find other alternative.

Hi ladies, happy hoildays ^^

Joanne, u must be getting excited. Another few more days. What time is your c-sect?

I need some advise here regarding breast pump. My gf wants to hand down her PISA to me but I will need to go get the accessories. On the other hand, we are personal friends with the distributor for medela pump, so he can give me good discount on the new model. Should I get the hand down pump or get the new model instead? All advise are appreciated. Thanks.

Kiki, i guess it depends alot on yourself. Whether will you be discipline and have the perserverance when pumping. Also your budget. Cos if you gg to pump that few times and give up then getting a hand down pump will be sufficient. Can save money for other baby items. However if $ is not an issue then get a new one. Personally my dh prefers a new one due to hygiene purpose, so even $ is an issue we will try get a new and affordable one.

kiki gal: it is up to u whether if u mind a pass down pump. For me i dun mind cos i also dunno if i will have breast milk anot. I can save money by using pass down

Hi Joanne, praying u have a smooth delivery! How many weeks will your twins be then?

Hi Lil Ponyo, glad you are feeling better! I'm still having some bad days with 10-15 times vomiting and some good days (less than 5pukes). Appetite is still not back though. When are you doing your detailed scan? Have you felt your little one move yet?

Reikibaby, typo error. It is babyganics, not babygaia. Didn't compare price for this though cos I ordered a lot of other things from iherb and this item was bulky, so ordered together. Also bot the country comfort baby oil from iherb for cradle cap(if any).

I Will still be using desitin (creamy version). All of my friends swear by this. They tried various methods for rash and all went back to square one and used desitin. Earthmama can also order from iherb or from smh thread. Don't get it from retail stores cos super expensive.

Kikigal - if price diff not much, better get a new pump. Medela pumps are open system, ie previous users milk may get stuck in the pump. Can google online. There is one review where the lady dismantle the entire medela pump and saw " milk remains" inside the pump.

Chevy I did bought the earth mama angel baby bottom balm from iherb.
Just that as what Whiteclover had mentioned, desitin cream is v good for nappy rashes. I will just hope no diaper rashes so no need to use desitin. Anyway I din buy that yet. Will only buy when needed.

dian tang, for breast feeding to be successful, have to read up more and then get to know friends who had successfully breastfed their babies so that they can give advices and also need lots of determination and hard works. Also supports from hubby is very important.
Def will have milk, but just that along the way, might encountered problems, n it's really depends on individual to carry on or not. Find that the first few days of latching has to be correct so that can gain confidence to breast feed successfully.

Mofmm - by next week my bbs will be 36 weeks plus. For twins they are considered full term at 37 weeks.

Kikigal - Doc has booked around 12 pm slot for me

Znatasha: shower your newborn with black beer. 1 can can us for a week. Once a day few drop with the water. Help the skin. Wouldn't let insects bite so easily next time or allergy to dust.

Don't over use. My cousin's sil overused end up the poor baby got skin problem. She likes used 1can in 2 days lol

Reiki baby, I just helped help them sort through old mails or doc that can be thrown so as to make space for storage of other things. Not staying with mum but bb will be there in future. So I just help abit. Now week 24, I can feel my stamina down, no joking. Just walking I feeling tired. Dunno is it coz I woke at 7 am daily.

I use the earthmama bottom balm as a barrier cream each time there's a change of diaper n desitin if there nappy rash. So far the bottom balm has served me well n I hardly had to use desitin.

Eskimo baby glad to hear. Made me feel more relived abt getting the earthmama bottom balm.
Eskimo baby n luv did u manage to breastfeed your first bb? N for how long?

Hello, ladies! A merry belated Christmas to all.

It's been a while. I'm back from my holiday and back at work too. How's everyone doing?

I went for my doctor appt on Christmas eve to see baby. Baby's growing well and I feel like my belly is bursting! Haha... And based on baby's weight, my EDD has now moved forward by 3 weeks!!!

Wow there's a lot going on the thread today!
Reikibaby, I'm using pigeon for all the cleaning, desitin for diaper rash and California baby for bath and shampoo.

Hi Koirc! Hope you have enjoyed your holiday! What's your EDD now and how heavy is bb?

Koirc, 3weeks ahead and your dr dinsay anything? Im just 10 daysahead and Dr Loh and Dr M say must close monitoring liao.

Whiteclover, oh...babyganics...okie...will read up on earthmama and babyganics.haha..definitely not cheap when comes to baby stuffs.

Thanks all for the advice. My distributor friend also advice me if really going to use the hand down PISA pump, best to sent it in for servicing. He also showed me the diff between the close and open system. For medela, only PISA is open system. Freestyle is closed system. In the end I got freestyle as the newer model is a upgrade of swing but freestyle seems better.

Joanne, ur bbs will be earlier than mine. Mine is scheduled at 6pm cos we requested between 5-7pm. Have a smooth delivery

I got a medela mini electric hand me down from my sis. Anyone has this? Except for the membrane, doesn't seem to need any other spare parts.

Usagi, stamina indeed decreasing. Just packing can let me hv a good night sleep. If go out shop...i can knock out.

Hope, for california baby, are you getting them from local stores or smh bp?

Hmmm...will also get this earth mama baby bottom....read the reviews..seems good.

Reiki baby oh ya, rem to get the earth mama nipple cream, read the reviews, it's v good too. Can buy from iherb. Maybe u can also get the shampoo n body wash too. But it's always out of stock.

Babysmurf, thanks for the stout info, ok will not use too much of that

went to hunt for tv for my parents yesterday and set it up for them. Not too sure if it's ok or not as I did use the tools to setup the stand. A bit worried

probably been walking too much these few days my sole hurt and I get calf muscle cramps easily

Sade, thx thx...i was reminding myself last night to ask u gals abt which nipple cream to get. Nipple cream is to be applied after every pump /breastfeed issit? Btw this earth mama brand selling in sg?

Znatasha, ask dh massage!!!! ;p

Reikibaby I just get it for standby in case of sore nipples.
Can apply aft every feed but not necessary. As read that the best nipples cream is our breast milk.
But initially few days not much milk hence apply the creams. But as long if latch on properly n correctly then no sore nipples.
I don't know whether the shop in Singapore is selling earth mama products. Maybe other ladies can advice? I guess even if sg is selling, it's def much exp than iherb bah.

hihi mummies, i am back from my holiday as well...eat, drink, sleep on cruise ship..and BB very active and kicking (maybe he/she seems to like the food there)...hehe

Reikibaby, I plan to use lansinoh lanolin for nipple cream (buy from smh thread).

For earthmama retail, there is a shop at square2 selling it but it is overpriced. U can go try the items first then buy from iherb or smh bulk purchase thread.

Sade, hahah... me no expert to give BF advice lah... but can share what I've learnt so far (which most of you may already know too).

1) Drink plenty of fluids and get as much rest and nutritious food as possible.

2) Latch on baby on demand if possible. Baby is the best pump!

3) In theory, demand = supply. We need to stimulate the breasts by latching/pumping to tell our bodies that we need to produce milk. The more we stimulate, the more milk we produce.

4) Hence, some suggest pumping after latching to signal to our bodies that we need to produce more BM if you want to increase supply.

5) Try to latch / pump every 2-3 hourly to establish supply in the first week. Once supply is stable then can slowly stretch out pumping time. Latching will prob still depend on baby's feeding needs.

6) Drink warm fluids, use hot towels and massage breasts before and during BF / pumping to encourage easier milk flow. Can also try supplements like Fenugreek and Mother's Milk tea to help with supply (though response may vary with individuals).

7) Our nipples need time to get used to the demands of suckling. Expect sore or even cracked nipples in the initial days or even weeks. But know that there's light at the end of the tunnel. Once they're used to the suckling and toughen up, BF won't be a painful affair as long as baby latches on correctly. If need be, can use nipple cream and nipple shields to help tide over the painful phase.

8) Monitor baby's pee and poo output to gauge whether he/she is getting enuf BM.

9) Ensure that baby latches on correctly and has the areola in his mouth rather than just the nipple. Incorrect latching will only frustrate baby and mummy. Have BF helplines and lactation consultants' contacts on hand so that you can seek professional help where necessary.

10) Find the BFg position that you and baby are most comfortable with. This will take trial and error. You might want to invest in a BF pillow to help support bb's weight while nursing. This is useful esp when bb gets older and heavier.

11) No matter what, do not let other pple's comments abt your BM supply get to you. Find a source of support because that is crucial in helping us maintain our sanity and positive spirits.

12) Last but not least, believe in ourselves and know that we are doing our best for our bbs. At the end of the day, it's all right even if we don't seem to have enough supply for baby as long as we have tried our best. Be proud that we are giving baby as much as we can.

Jiayou sisters!!

LuvNhope> thanks for the useful tips. Indeed all mummies need support for BF-ing our lovely babies....

now i am into my 17-18 weeks, belly start to show, but thanks to heaven, no red stretch marks yet....hehehe.... cannot wait for next mth apptment to see my baobei and hopefully know the gender...